如何建立一個可讓您進展順利的專案計劃

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsAugust 26th, 2020
facebooktwitterlinkedin
文章橫幅圖片:可讓您進展順利的專案計劃
立即試用 Asana

專案計劃是讓所有專案相關事務井然有序且進度正常的關鍵要素。出色的專案計劃有助您運用所有必要部分來著手工作——從目標到預算,乃至於里程碑和溝通計劃,且全都儲存於同一處。把您的時間省下來 (並免除一些惱人的事),建立工作計劃,從而讓專案獲致成功。

什麽是專案計劃?

專案計劃 (有時也稱為工作計劃) 是團隊必須達成才能成功完成專案目標的關鍵元素藍圖。您的專案計劃應包括專案排程的相關資訊、範疇、截止日期和交付項目,且應建立在平台中,好讓團隊的每個人可以存取。在工作管理系統中建立專案,您就能規劃、追蹤並就工作提出報告,並且是在同一處完成這一切。

免費的跨職能專案範本

若您仍不確定什麼是專案計劃,可參考此處說明,瞭解它與其他專案元素有何差異:

專案計劃與工作計劃

專案計劃和工作計劃指的是同一件事。不同團隊或部門可能會偏好使用這其中一個詞彙,但說到底,這兩個詞彙都是描述同一件事:大方向行動步驟清單,而您需要這些步驟才能達成專案目標

專案計劃與專案章程

專案章程是您可用來在專案開始前,取得關鍵專案關係人簽核的一項工具。因此,您應在開始規畫專案計劃前,先一步建立專案章程。專案章程是簡化版的專案計劃,應該只包括您的專案目標、範疇及權責劃分。接著,在章程獲得核准後,您就可建立專案計劃,以便提供較深入的藍圖並納入專案的關鍵元素。

延伸閱讀:專案章程需要的三個要素

專案計劃與專案範疇

專案範疇應定義專案的規模和界線 ,它是專案計劃的一部分,因此您應該向所有專案關係人闡明並分享專案範疇等資訊。若您曾擔心發生範疇潛變,可回頭參考您專案計劃內預先定義的範疇,以便加以調整,使進度正常。

若要製作清晰明瞭的策略計劃,您應納入專案排程,但工作計劃需要的不僅於此。您還應該說明其他關鍵元素的方向,例如專案關係人、目標和里程碑。

請閱讀:用 8 個步驟定義專案範疇之快速指南

專案計劃與敏捷專案

敏捷專案管理是協助團隊將工作拆解成可疊代、可協作部分的一個架構。敏捷架構經常搭配 Scrum 和衝刺法一起執行。如同任何專案一樣,敏捷團隊在開始著手工作前,就已有制定好的專案計劃,因而可獲益良多。

閱讀:運用 Asana 進行敏捷與 Scrum 管理

專案計劃為什麼如此重要?

專案計劃為整個計劃豎立架構。若沒有專案計劃,您在整個專案管理流程中會錯失第一個關鍵步驟。清楚撰寫的專案管理計劃為所有專案關係人提供方向,同時確保每個人當責。它為您確認在專案實際開始前,就有您所需要的資源。

專案計劃也讓您在擔任領導執行的負責人時,於專案上在規劃階段,就預料任何可能面臨的潛在挑戰。這樣一來,您可確保專案是可達成的,或在必要時修正方向。根據國際專案管理學會 (PMI),專案規劃和專案成功之間有強烈的正相關——您規劃的愈好,獲得的成果愈佳。因此,克服規劃階段的挑戰,也會讓專案的效率和結果更出色。 

[清單檢視] Asana 中的品牌活動專案計劃 (試算表風格的清單)

7 個步驟寫好專案計劃,以確保進度正常

若要建立清楚的專案管理計劃,您需要追蹤所有變動部分的方法。無論您規劃的是何種專案類型,每個工作計劃都應包括:

不確定每一項各表示什麼意思,或長什麼樣子嗎?我們一起深入瞭解細節吧?

第 1 步:定義您的目的及目標

您制定此專案計劃一定有個原因,可能是要讓您、您的團隊或您的公司達成一個最終的目的。但若沒有測量成功的方式,您要如何知道自己已達成目的?

每個專案計劃都應有清楚、值得期待的成果。明確指出目標不僅可為專案計劃提供邏輯脈絡,更能使所有人同步掌握資訊,並專注於他們想要達到的成果。此外,研究顯示,明瞭自己工作如何向上輔助公司目標的員工,其積極性高過其他人 2 倍。然而,卻只有 26% 的員工明晰地掌握專案狀況。這是因為大部分目標設定的作業是獨立於實際的工作外進行的。若能在您的工作計劃中定義目標,您就能將團隊執行的工作與您希望達到的專案目標連結起來。

專案目的和專案標的之間有何差異?

一般而言,您的專案目的應比專案目標高一個層次。當您撰寫專案目的時,請著重簡述若您的專案成功會發生哪些事,以及您的專案如何與企業達成一致目標。另一方面,擬定專案目標則要專注於您要在專案結束時達成的實際具體交付項目。

您的專案計劃提供團隊所需方向,以便透過專案目的來達成您的目標。將目標直接整合在您的計劃文件中,您就能確保專案的方向正確,不會迷失。定義專案範疇時,或制定專案排程時,應回頭檢查您的目標,確認工作確實是朝有利達成主要目的方向展開。

閱讀:如何撰寫高效的專案目標 (附帶範例)

第 2 步:設立成功指標

您定義目標後,應設立關鍵成功指標,以便確認目標可以測量。儘管您的目標可作為預期結果,您仍需要成功指標讓自己瞭解您的表現及進度是否按部就班,以便達成結果。要做到這一點,最好的方法是設立 SMART 目標。有了 SMART 目標,您就能確保成功指標清楚可測量,在專案結束時您就能回頭看並清楚分辨自己是否達成。

例如,某項活動的目標可能是在 6 月 22 日舉行一年一次 3 天的 SEO 專家討論會。該目標的成功指標可以設為:至少 1,000 名與會者參加討論會。這樣既清楚又可測量。

第 3 步:指明專案關係人及角色

執行專案通常意味著要把協作者拉進來一起執行。在您的專案管理計劃中,應列出哪些團隊成員會構成專案的一部分,以及各個人員的角色是什麼。這樣有助您決定每項任務由誰負責 (我們稍後會說明這部分),並讓專案關係人知曉您期待他們如何參與專案。

在此流程期間,應確認定義專案關係人可能會有的各種不同角色和責任。例如,對專案的成功,誰應該直接負責?任何事進行最終確認前是否有任何簽核人員應被通知?哪些跨職能專案關係人應被納入專案計劃中?有沒有您應該納入的任何風險管理因子

不妨考慮使用如 RACI 表的系統來幫助決定,由誰掌舵,由誰核准決策,由誰執行專案,以及需要一律向誰告知專案進度。

接著,在您羅列所有角色和專案關係人後,應確認有將該文件納入您的專案計劃。確認計劃之後,您的工作計劃就能當成跨部門的事實來源。

請閱讀:成功管理多個專案的九大策略

第 4 步:訂定預算

執行專案通常需要耗費金錢。無論是聘用自由工作者寫內容,或為活動找外燴公司,您很可能都要支付一些費用。

既然您已在專案計劃定義目標和專案關係人,不妨使用該資訊來訂定預算。例如,若這是跨職能專案,涉及多個部門,是否將由所有部門分攤專案的花費?若您有具體的目標指標,例如參加者或新使用者人數,那麼您提議的預算是否足以支撐這項活動投入的成本?

在專案規劃期間 (以及花費開始前) 訂定預算,您就能取得核准,而一旦取得核准,您就能在專案執行期間做出明智、符合經濟效益的決策。適當分配該預算也會變得比較容易,因為您早已在專案計劃中涵蓋目標和專案關係人等資訊了。規劃可協助您決定專案的哪些部分應該花費多少費用—之後也就不會發生任何意外。

第 5 步:就里程碑及交付項目達成共識

規劃專案很重要的一個環節是設定里程碑,也就是代表某項成就的具體目標。里程碑不需要開始和結束日期,但達成里程碑代表您在專案期間完成重大的成就。里程碑可用來測量進度。例如,您正在為您的公司開發一項新產品,在您的專案時間軸上設定里程碑,藉以指出產品原型何時會確認,將有助於測量您目前的進度如何。

另一方面,專案交付項目則是您達到里程碑時實際的產出物。在這個產品開發的例子中,我們產出原型這項交付項目時,即達成了里程碑。若您使用我們的免費專案計劃範本開始著手,您就可輕鬆訂定交付項目和里程碑並組織專案。這樣一來,團隊裡的每個人都清楚明瞭專案範疇內的工作,以及團隊應致力達成的里程碑。

閱讀:如何設定、達成並慶祝專案里程碑

第 6 步:訂定時間軸和排程

為了達成專案目標,您需要對整個專案時間軸和排程提供一定的明晰度,以利您的專案關係人一目了然。就您提出的時間架構達成共識,有助您在策略規劃會議上更妥善地安排優先順序。

並非所有專案都有清楚的時間軸。若您正執行一項具有未知日期的大型專案,不妨建立專案藍圖,而非羅列細節的專案時間軸。這樣一來,您就能表明各項不同任務間的執行順序,而不一定要設立精確的日期。

您納入高層次的責任劃分資訊後,就應將精力運用在細節了。開始時,請在您的工作計劃範本中,將專案分解成各個任務,確認沒有跳過任何流程。較大的任務甚至可以再細部拆解成較小的子任務,以便更易於管理。

接著,應指派各項任務和子任務的開始日期和結束日期。您會開始實際看到一切任務在前後連貫的專案時間軸中和諧運作。務必加入專案關係人,指名由誰在何時負責執行什麼任務。

[時間軸檢視] Asana 中的品牌行銷活動專案、甘特圖風格檢視
閱讀:如何以 7 個步驟建立專案時間軸

第 7 步:分享您的溝通計劃

我們已確立多數專案包括多個專案關係人。這表示他們之間的溝通風格也會有所不同。您有機會一開始就在專案計劃中的此特別專案設下期望值。制定構通計劃非常必要,這燴確保所有人知曉當下發生什麼事、專案如何進展,以及接下來要進行的事項。此外,萬一面臨阻礙,您將早已有制定好的清楚溝通系統。

您在擬定溝通計劃時,應考慮下列問題:

  • 有多少專案相關的會議是您需要的?這些會議的目標是什麼?

  • 您將如何管理狀態更新?您會在哪個位置分享這些資訊?

  • 您會使用哪個工具管理專案,以及溝通進度和更新資訊?

[專案簡介] Asana 中品牌行銷活動溝通計劃之範例

如同您專案計劃的其他元素依樣,務必讓溝通計劃在您的專案計劃中容易取得。專案關係人和跨職能協作者應該要能在專案的規劃和執行階段期間輕易找到這些指導原則。

閱讀:為什麼清楚的溝通計劃比您想像的更為重要

專案計劃範例

接下來,為了協助您瞭解專案管理計劃的該有模樣,下文提供兩個行銷和設計專案的計劃範例,這些範例將引導您進行自己的專案規劃。

專案計劃範例:年度內容行事曆

假設您是公司的內容總監,建立和交付所有內容的內容行銷行事曆是您的責任,而這些將於明年發佈。您知道自己的第一步是要建立自己的工作計劃。以下是建議的大概內容:

目的及成功指標

您確立根據內容行事曆的建立和執行目的是要提高 10% 的互動。您的成功指標是電子郵件的開啟率和點擊率、公司社交媒體的追蹤者人數,以及您的各篇內容在搜尋引擎上的排名。

專案關係人和每個人的角色

此專案終將有五人參與其中。

  • 內容總監 (您):擬定並維護行事曆

  • 撰稿人 Brandon 與 Jamie:為每篇內容提供大綱及文案

  • 編輯 Nate:編輯並針對內容提供回饋

  • 製作人 Paula:在撰寫及編輯完成後發佈內容

預算

你的專案計劃預算及一年的內容價值為 $50,000。

里程碑與交付項目

您的第一個里程碑是完成顯示該年所有主題的內容行事曆。交付項目是可分享的行事曆版本。這項里程碑和交付項目均應在您的專案排程中清楚標記出來。

時間軸與排程

您已決定內容行事曆專案計劃的排程會如以下這樣安排:

  • 10 月 15 日 - 11 月 1 日:研究階段,尋找內容主題的點子

  • 11 月 2 日 - 11 月 30 日:確認您要撰寫的主題

  • 12 月 1 日 - 1 月 1 日:建立行事曆

  • 1 月 1 日 - 12 月 31 日:內容將由 Brandon 與 Jamie 撰寫,再由 Nate 編輯

  • 1 月 16 日 - 12 月 31 日:Paula 將開始發佈並在一整年中持續定期地執行。

溝通計劃

您會召開啟動會議,以及接著的每月更新會議,作為溝通計劃的一部分。每週狀態更新將在週五下午傳送。所有專案相關的溝通將在一個專案管理工具內完成。

免費的編輯行事曆範本

專案計劃範例:網站重新設計

在此範例中,您的網站終於要更新為重新設計的網站了。(其實更像是整個大改造。) 此專案將需要一個詳細的計劃,特別是基於它的範疇廣大,且各方專案關係人的期望值很高。以下是您專案計劃可能包含的內容:

目的及成功指標

您工作計劃的整體目的是在年底前增加有關公司網站的對話達 15%。您的成功指標將是每日註冊免費試用的造訪人數以及註冊轉換率。

專案關係人和每個人的角色

  • 專案主管:規劃並管理專案

  • 使用者經驗研究 (UXR) Sophie:執行研究並對各項目提供深入解析

  • 設計 James 與 Jenny:提供網站的新設計

  • 內容負責人 Shelly:為任何新元件或網頁撰寫文案和內容

  • Web 開發人員 Kate:實施新網站

  • Web 開發主管 Rob:實施 QA 並發佈新網站

  • 行銷主管 Emily:提供專案相關的回饋和核准

預算

重新設計新網站的預算是 $30,000。

里程碑與交付項目

研究階段完成,且 Sophie 傳送報告建議如何透過設計和內容 (即交付項目) 向前推展時,您就達到第一個里程碑。

時間軸與排程

  • 3 月 - 5 月:Sophie 將執行關於網站重新設計的所有必要研究。

  • 5 月 - 7 月:James 與 Shelly 將同步建立設計和網站。

  • 8 月初:Kate 將利用 James 的設計與 Shelly 的內容發佈新網站。

溝通計劃

至於溝通計劃,則將使用一個專案管理工具在同一處保存所有任務、溝通訊息和資產,使所有專案關係人容易找到這些資訊。啟動會議將在任何工作開始前召開,且每一個里程碑結束時也會開會。所有其他溝通,包括狀態更新和收到的工作請求也將在專案管理工具中記錄。

免費的 Web 設計流程範本

ClassPass 如何從頭到尾完整地管理專案計劃

ClassPass 行銷營運部資深專案經理 Kerry Hoffman 監督所有由創意、成長及內容團隊負責的行銷專案。以下是她管理專案計劃的三大策略:

  • 預先找出專案關係人:無論專案的規模大小如何,知道誰是專案關係人,以及他們在專案裡的角色都很重要,如此一來,您才能確保自己在每個階段納入對的人員一同參與。這也會在團隊開始工作前,使審查和核准流程變得清楚明瞭。

  • 就您想以何方式溝通專案達成共識:確立您的專案溝通應在何處和何時進行,以便確保關鍵資訊保存於正確的位置,讓每個人同步掌握資訊。

  • 保持調整的彈性並學習其他人的做事風格:專案並不總是照著計劃走,但落實合宜的整合管理,您就能讓專案持續運作順利。此外,應瞭解專案成員喜歡的工作方式,以便在您建立計劃時將此部分納入一併考量。這有助您開始執行時,讓事情進展得更順利。

請閱讀:ClassPass 的 Kerry Hoffman 與大家分享創意產出的最佳做法

撰寫您的下一個專案計劃,儼然行家

恭喜!您已正式成為工作計劃的行家。透過幾個步驟、一點點時間,以及許多組織工作,您就成功將專案計劃撰寫完成。

接下來,您將使自己和您的團隊維持進度正常,並及早克服挑戰。使用如 Asana 這類的專案管理工具,您就能充滿自信地按部就班完成專案計劃的每個步驟。

免費的跨職能專案範本

相關資源

範本

Risk management plan template

Stay on track with a project plan that actually works

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJuly 13th, 202211 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Project plan that works to keep you on track article banner image
Try Asana now

Summary

Organize your projects with project plans to keep things on track—before you even start. A project plan houses all the necessary details of your project, such as goals, tasks, scope, deadlines, and deliverables. This shows stakeholders a clear roadmap of your project, ensures you have the resources for it, and holds everyone accountable from the start. In this article, we teach you the seven steps to create your own project plan.

Project plans are essential to keeping your project organized and on track. A great project plan will help you kick off your work with all the necessary pieces—from goals and budgets to milestones and communication plans—in one place. Save yourself time (and a few headaches) by creating a work plan that will make your project a success.

What is a project plan?

A project plan—sometimes called a work plan—is a blueprint of the goals, objectives, and tasks your team needs to accomplish for a specific project. Your project plan should include information about your project schedule, scope, due dates, and deliverables for all phases of the project lifecycle. But not all project planning processes are created equal—which leads some teams to underutilize them or skip over them completely. To write an effective project plan, you need to be methodical (follow a series of steps), specific, and clear when it comes to your ideas and execution strategy.

Free cross-functional project template

If you're still unsure about what a project plan is, here's how it differs from other project elements:

Project plan vs. work plan

A project plan and a work plan are the same thing. Different teams or departments might prefer one term or another—but they both ultimately describe the same thing: a list of big-picture action steps you need to take to hit your project objectives.

Project plan vs. project charter

A project charter is an outline of your project. Mostly, you use project charters to get signoff from key stakeholders before you start. Which means your project charter comes before your project plan. A project charter is an outline of a simple project plan—it should only include your project objectives, scope, and responsibilities. Then, once your charter has been approved, you can create a project plan to provide a more in-depth blueprint of the key elements of your project.

Read: 3 elements every project charter needs

Project plan vs. project scope

Your project scope defines the size and boundaries of your project. As part of your project plan, you should outline and share the scope of your project with all project stakeholders. If you’re ever worried about scope creep, you can refer back to your pre-defined scope within your project plan to get back on track.

Read: The quick guide to defining project scope—in 8 steps

Project plan vs. agile project

Agile project management is a framework to help teams break work into iterative, collaborative components. Agile frameworks are often run in conjunction with scrum and sprint methodologies. Like any project, an Agile project team can benefit from having a project plan in place before getting started with their work.

Read: Asana for Agile and Scrum

Project plan vs. work breakdown structure

Similar to a project plan, your work breakdown structure (WBS) helps you with project execution. While the project plan focuses on every aspect of your project, the WBS is focused on deliverables—breaking them down into sub-deliverables and project tasks. This helps you visualize the whole project in simple steps. Because it’s a visual format, your WBS is best viewed as a Gantt chart (or timeline), Kanban board, or calendar—especially if you’re using project management software.

Read: Work breakdown structure (WBS): what it is and how to use it

Why are project plans important?

Project plans set the stage for the entire project. Without one, you’re missing the first critical step in the overall project management process. When you launch into a project without defined goals or objectives, it can lead to disorganized work, frustration, and even scope creep. A clear, written project management plan provides a baseline direction to all stakeholders, while also keeping everyone accountable. It confirms that you have the resources you need for the project before it actually begins.

A project plan also allows you, as the person in charge of leading execution, to forecast any potential challenges you could run into while the project is still in the planning stages. That way, you can ensure the project will be achievable—or course-correct if necessary. According to a study conducted by the Project Management Institute, there is a strong correlation between project planning and project success—the better your plan, the better your outcome. So, conquering the planning phase also makes for better project efficiency and results.

[Product UI] Brand campaign project plan in Asana, spreadsheet-style list (Lists)

7 steps to write a project plan to keep you on track

To create a clear project management plan, you need a way to track all of your moving parts. No matter what type of project you’re planning, every work plan should have:

Not sure what each of these mean or should look like? Let’s dive into the details:

Step 1: Define your goals and objectives

You’re working on this project plan for a reason—likely to get you, your team, or your company to an end goal. But how will you know if you’ve reached that goal if you have no way of measuring success?

Every successful project plan should have a clear, desired outcome. Identifying your goals provides a rationale for your project plan. It also keeps everyone on the same page and focused on the results they want to achieve. Moreover, research shows that employees who know how their work is contributing to company objectives are 2X as motivated. Yet only 26% of employees have that clarity. That’s because most goal-setting happens separate from the actual work. By defining your goals within your work plan, you can connect the work your team is doing directly to the project objectives in real-time.

What's the difference between project goals and project objectives?

In general, your project goals should be higher-level than your project objectives. Your project goals should be SMART goals that help you measure project success and show how your project aligns with business objectives. The purpose of drafting project objectives, on the other hand, is to focus on the actual, specific deliverables you're going to achieve at the end of your project. Your project plan provides the direction your team needs to hit your goals, so you can create a workflow that hits project objectives.

Your project plan provides the direction your team needs to hit your goals, by way of your project objectives. By incorporating your goals directly into your planning documentation, you can keep your project’s North Star on hand. When you’re defining your project scope, or outlining your project schedule, check back on your goals to make sure that work is in favor of your main objectives.

Read: How to write an effective project objective, with examples

Step 2: Set success metrics

Once you’ve defined your goals, make sure they’re measurable by setting key success metrics. While your goal serves as the intended result, you need success metrics to let you know whether or not you’re performing on track to achieve that result. The best way to do that is to set SMART goals. With SMART goals, you can make sure your success metrics are clear and measurable, so you can look back at the end of your project and easily tell if you hit them or not.

For example, a goal for an event might be to host an annual 3-day conference for SEO professionals on June 22nd. A success metric for that goal might be having at least 1,000 people attend your conference. It’s both clear and measurable.

Step 3: Clarify stakeholders and roles

Running a project usually means getting collaborators involved in the execution of it. In your project management plan, outline which team members will be a part of the project and what each person’s role will be. This will help you decide who is responsible for each task (something we’ll get to shortly) and let stakeholders know how you expect them to be involved.

During this process, make sure to define the various roles and responsibilities your stakeholders might have. For example, who is directly responsible for the project’s success? Are there any approvers that should be involved before anything is finalized? What cross-functional stakeholders should be included in the project plan? Are there any risk management factors you need to include?

Consider using a system, such as a RACI chart, to help determine who is driving the project forward, who will approve decisions, who will contribute to the project, and who needs to remain informed as the project progresses.

Then, once you’ve outlined all of your roles and stakeholders, make sure to include that documentation in your project plan. Once you finalize your plan, your work plan will become your cross-functional source of truth.

Read: 9 strategies for successfully managing multiple projects

Step 4: Set your budget

Running a project usually costs money. Whether it’s hiring freelancers for content writing or a catering company for an event, you’ll probably be spending some cash.

Since you’ve already defined your goals and stakeholders as part of your project plan, use that information to establish your budget. For example, if this is a cross-functional project involving multiple departments, will the departments be splitting the cost of the project? If you have a specific goal metric like event attendees or new users, does your proposed budget support that endeavor?

By establishing your project budget during the project planning phase (and before the spending begins), you can get approval, more easily track progress, and make smart, economical decisions during the implementation phase of your project. Knowing your budget beforehand helps you with resource management, ensuring that you stay within the initial financial scope of the project. Planning helps you determine what parts of your project will cost what—leaving no room for surprises later on.

Step 5: Align on milestones, deliverables, and project dependencies

An important part of planning your project is setting milestones, or specific objectives that represent an achievement. Milestones don’t require a start and end date, but hitting one marks a significant accomplishment during your project. They are used to measure progress. For example, let’s say you’re working to develop a new product for your company. Setting a milestone on your project timeline for when the prototype is finalized will help you measure the progress you’ve made so far.

A project deliverable, on the other hand, is what is actually produced once you meet a milestone. In our product development example, we hit a milestone when we produced the deliverable, which was the prototype. You can also use project dependencies—tasks that you can’t start until others are finished. Dependencies ensure that work only starts once it’s ready. Continuing the example, you can create a project dependency to require approval from the project lead before prototype testing begins.  

If you’re using our free project plan template, you can easily organize your project around deliverables, dependencies, and milestones. That way, everyone on the team has clear visibility into the work within your project scope, and the milestones your team will be working towards.

Read: How to set, achieve, and celebrate project milestones

Step 6: Outline your timeline and schedule

In order to achieve your project goals, you and your stakeholders need clarity on your overall project timeline and schedule. Aligning on the time frame you have can help you better prioritize during strategic planning sessions.

Not all projects will have clear-cut timelines. If you're working on a large project with a few unknown dates, consider creating a project roadmap instead of a full-blown project timeline. That way, you can clarify the order of operations of various tasks without necessarily establishing exact dates.

Once you’ve covered the high-level responsibilities, it’s time to focus some energy on the details. In your work plan template, start by breaking your project into tasks, ensuring no part of the process is skipped. Bigger tasks can even be broken down into smaller subtasks, making them more manageable.

Then, take each task and subtask, and assign it a start date and end date. You’ll begin to visually see everything come together in a cohesive project timeline. Be sure to add stakeholders, mapping out who is doing what by when.

[Product UI] Brand campaign project in Asana, Gantt chart-style view (Timeline)
Read: How to create a project timeline in 7 steps

Step 7: Share your communication plan

We’ve established that most projects include multiple stakeholders. That means communication styles will vary among them. You have an opportunity to set your expectations up front for this particular project in your project plan. Having a communication plan is essential for making sure everyone understands what’s happening, how the project is progressing, and what’s going on next. And in case a roadblock comes up, you’ll already have a clear communication system in place.

As you’re developing your communication plan, consider the following questions:

  • How many project-related meetings do you need to have? What are their goals?

  • How will you manage project status updates? Where will you share them?

  • What tool will you use to manage the project and communicate progress and updates?

[inline illustration] Communication plan for brand campaign in Asana (example)

Like the other elements of your project plan, make sure your communication plan is easily accessible within your project plan. Stakeholders and cross-functional collaborators should be able to easily find these guidelines during the planning and execution phases of your project.

Read: Why a clear communication plan is more important than you think

Example project plan

Next, to help you understand what your project management plan should look like, here are two example plans for marketing and design projects that will guide you during your own project planning.

Project plan example: annual content calendar

Let’s say you’re the Content Lead for your company, and it’s your responsibility to create and deliver on a content marketing calendar for all the content that will be published next year. You know your first step is to build your work plan. Here’s what it might look like:

Goals and success metrics

You establish that your goal for creating and executing against your content calendar is to increase engagement by 10%. Your success metrics are the open rate and click through rate on emails, your company’s social media followers, and how your pieces of content rank on search engines.

Stakeholders and each person’s role

There will be five people involved in this project.

  • You, Content Lead: Develop and maintain the calendar

  • Brandon and Jamie, Writers: Provide outlines and copy for each piece of content

  • Nate, Editor: Edit and give feedback on content

  • Paula, Producer: Publish the content once it’s written and edited

Budget

Your budget for the project plan and a year’s worth of content is $50,000.

Milestones and deliverables

Your first milestone is to finish the content calendar, which shows all topics for the year. The deliverable is a sharable version of the calendar. Both the milestone and the deliverables should be clearly marked on your project schedule.

Timeline and schedule

You’ve determined that your schedule for your content calendar project plan will go as follows:

  • October 15 - November 1: The research phase to find ideas for topics for content

  • November 2 - November 30: Establish the topics you’ll write about

  • December 1 - January 1: Build the calendar

  • January 1 - December 31: Content will be written by Brandon and Jamie, and edited by Nate, throughout the year

  • January 16 - December 31: Paula will begin publishing and continue to do so on a rolling basis throughout the year.

Communication plan

You’ll have a kick-off meeting and then monthly update meetings as part of your communication plan. Weekly status updates will be sent on Friday afternoons. All project-related communication will occur within a project management tool.

Free editorial calendar template

How ClassPass manages project plans from start to finish

Kerry Hoffman, Senior Project Manager of Marketing Operations at ClassPass, oversees all marketing projects undertaken by the creative, growth, and content teams. Here are her top three strategies for managing project plans:

  • Identify stakeholders up front: No matter the size of the project, it’s critical to know who the stakeholders are and their role in the project so you ensure you involve the right people at each stage. This will also make the review and approval process clear before the team gets to work.

  • Agree on how you want to communicate about your project: Establish where and when communication should take place for your project to ensure that key information is captured in the right place so everyone stays aligned.

  • Be adaptable and learn other people’s working styles: Projects don’t always go according to plan, but by implementing proper integration management you can keep projects running smoothly. Also, find out how project members like to work so you take that into account as you create your plan. It will help things run smoother once you begin executing.

Read: Creative production best practices from Kerry Hoffman at ClassPass

Write your next project plan like a pro

Congratulations—you’re officially a work planning pro. With a few steps, a little bit of time, and a whole lot of organization, you’ve successfully written a project plan.

Keep yourself and your team on track, and address challenges early by using a project management tool like Asana. Work through each of the steps of your project plan with confidence, and streamline your communications with the team.

Plan projects with Asana

Related resources

Article

If you like maximizing team impact, you’ll love resource allocation