衡量成功的 22 種業務目標類型

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsMay 29th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
衡量成功的 22 種業務目標類型文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

摘要

清楚的業務目標有助您實現使命宣言與公司的長期願景。這類目標可能包括財務目標,以及特定於組織的目標。請瞭解您可設立的 22 個業務目標類型,此外也可瞭解何時應使用業務目標,抑或是其他 14 個目標架構。 

無論您是在小型企業、新創企業服務,擔任大型企業的團隊主管,或是重要的企業主,您都有責任找出協助組織達成長期目的之業務目標。確立目的和策略目標是瞭解當下狀態,以及如何抵達終點的最佳方法。

本文說明 22 種不同類型的業務目標,以及如何把目標變得可達成。接著,請根據您確立目的的原因,瞭解您可確立的 15 種不同目標類型。

什麼是業務目標?

業務目標是您為了實現公司的長期願景,而立下目標、致力要達成的結果。不妨把業務目標看做是衡量整體商業成功的指標。

達成業務目標意味著您的方向正確,正朝公司的遠大目的邁進。這類業務目標應著眼於大規模組織的影響力。好的業務目標必須是可衡量、具體且有時間限制的。

延伸閱讀:利用這些提示及範例,撰寫出色的 SMART 目標

22 種業務目標類型

根據衡量和影響組織成功的因素來設立業務目標。例如,您可設立下列業務目標:

財務類業務目標

1. 獲利能力:若公司仰賴外部投資人,則獲利能力導向的業務目標就很重要。達成 (並維持) 獲利能力可長期確保處於不敗之地,進而得以朝公司的整體願景邁進。

2. 營收:營收導向的業務目標有助您在收入與成本之間取得平衡,以利企業持續經營。您可以設立業務目標,來達成特定的年度營收額,或在一段時間內實現營收的特定百分比增長。

3. 成本:成本指的是您要在業務上花費多少費用。減少成本有助您增加營收並實現獲利能力。與成本相關的業務目標有助您管控生產或營運成本,從而改善企業的財務績效。

4. 現金流:現金流指出入企業的金錢。現金流可能為正值 (賺取多於花費),也可能是負值 (花費多於賺取)。如同獲利能力一樣,現金流導向的業務目標有助您為長遠的財務表現奠定成功的良好基礎。

5. 永續成長:為了使企業持續成長,您必須尋找永續成長的經營方式。以永續成長為基礎而設立的業務目標,有助您進行財務預測、員工聘僱成本及其他財務考量方面的規劃。

以客戶為中心的業務目標

6. 具競爭力的價值定位:商業策略的一大重點在於思考您的產品或服務與同市場的其他競爭者相比之後,表現如何。當您著眼於具競爭力的價值定位,並據此設立業務目標,就能確保產品或服務符合市場期望,或運用具競爭力的價值定位,在關鍵領域擊敗競爭對手。

7. 市佔率:此業務目標指您公司產品或服務佔據多少的市場比例。市佔率愈高,能達成的業績量就愈高。若您試著在市場中提升能見度,設立此種類型的業務目標就很有幫助。您可以透過社交媒體計劃、集中的廣告活動或品牌追蹤和績效等工具來辦到。

8. 客戶滿意度:為了成為成功的企業,您必須讓客戶開心。以客戶滿意度為重的業務目標有助您提升客戶服務。基於不同的業務目標,這可能會是客戶愛用者計劃、改善的技術支援中心或面對客戶的其他類似服務。

9. 品牌辨識度:品牌是讓您的組織從群體中脫穎而出的重點。品牌辨識度是瞭解客戶對品牌看法,以及他們如何看待您的獨特品牌與競爭對手的重要方式。瞭解並提高品牌辨識度,是長期行銷策略的重要環節。

10. 銷售:通常業務目標會與改善或改良銷售週期相關。舉凡降低客戶獲得成本 (CAC)、改進潛在客戶之追蹤,乃至於增加交叉販售等在內的任何事項,都可能包含在其中。

11. 流失:商業領域中所提到的流失率是指一段特定的時期內您所失去的客戶數。減少流失是增加營收並確保客戶對所提供產品或服務感到滿意的絕佳方式。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

內部業務目標

12. 員工滿意度和參與度:企業經營的重要元素也包括員工對工作環境的觀感。提高員工滿意度和參與度,能讓企業擁有較快樂的員工,減少過勞,增加團隊的工作效率。

13. 員工留任率:員工在公司能待多久,是一項關鍵的內部業務目標。增加終身聘並減少人員流動率,有利於藉助知識淵博的員工來完成更複雜的專案。

14. 公司成長:為了讓企業成長,您也必須讓聘僱的人員數成長。要讓公司永續成長可能很困難,因此企業通常將公司成長設立為關鍵的業務目標。

15. 組織文化:組織文化是指形塑團隊成員在公司內互動的理念、價值和群體規範。良好的文化會提升員工參與度並增加留任率,因此許多公司會設立企業文化為導向的業務目標。

16. 變更管理:透過變更管理順利實施大規模組織變更。儘管組織通常不會每年設立此類型的業務目標,但若即將面臨巨大變動,則設立此目標就可能很有幫助。

17. 生產力:Asana 不認為生產力是「儘可能做最多」,而是將之視為一種最佳化時間的利用,並把工作做到最好的方法。提高員工生產力有助您的團隊以更有效率的方式完成高影響力的工作。

18. 員工成效:團隊不只需要有效率,還必須知道該做哪些對的事。最卓越的公司著眼於效率和成效,因此而有了成效導向的商業目標。如欲深入瞭解,請參閱效率與成效之差異的相關文章。

19. 多元與接納:友善的公司文化有很大的一部分來自於確保員工有歸屬感。投資多元與包容計劃有助您的企業對現有及可能加入的員工變得更友善。

請閱讀:團隊士氣如何影響員工績效

與規範相關的業務目標

20. 品質管控:實施品質管控措施做為業務目標,有助確保產品或服務處於您期待的水準。如此一來,就能提高客戶關係,並增加整體營收。

21. 合規性:若企業在將至的未來有任何必須滿足的合規需求,將這類合規要求設為業務目標就能確保及時達成目標。

22. 永續經營或減少浪費:有些企業會設立減少浪費或提升永續經營的業務目標。儘管這可能不會直接影響企業,但證明自己的企業具有環保意識有助於打動您鎖定的特定受眾。

您適合哪些目標架構?

確切找出您必須設立哪種類型的目標可能很棘手。每個目標架構都略有不同,而正確實施才能協助您獲致成功。

您設定的目標類型,將視您執行的商業活動以及選擇的具體目標而定。若目標有一定的時間範圍,不妨選擇短期目標。較大型的目標則有其獨特的架構。

如不確定從何著手,請參閱這 15 個適用於不同情境的目標架構:

1. 業務目標:根據會衝擊公司長期成功與否的營運因素設立目標。

2. 商業計劃又稱為商業策略計劃。用文件記錄企業的目標,並規劃您要如何達成。

3. 願景宣言設立全組織均可依循的方向準則。

4. 宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (BHAG)設立適用於整個組織的延伸性目標

5. 公司的核心價值讓團隊擁有一致的核心原則。

6. 策略計劃在策略規劃的流程期間闡明三年至五年的公司目標。

7. 策略目標設立您要在策略計劃結束時達成的目標。

8. 關鍵成功因子闡明若要達成策略目標,您必須達成哪些高層次目標。

9. 策略管理按照策略計劃執行,以便達成公司目標。

10. 商業目標設定預設目標,以便在一定的時間範圍內達成。

11. 目標與關鍵結果 (OKR)設立並傳達年度公司目標。

12. 關鍵績效指標 (KPI)設立量化目標。

13. 專案目標表達您要在專案結束前完成哪些事項。

14. 專案交付項目識別專案的輸出項。

15. 專案里程碑在專案時間軸上標記具體的檢查點。

更多目標設定資源

除了業務目標外,若要讓組織運轉順利,有清楚的遠期目標也很關鍵。請參閱目標設立資源中心中的提示,瞭解如何設立遠期目標,並達成高影響力成果。接著,當一切就緒後,您就可開始使用 Asana 追蹤目標。您可藉助 Asana 把公司遠期目標與支持這些目標的工作全都連結在同一個位置。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

相關資源

影片

See Asana Goals in action

22 types of business objectives to measure success

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsSeptember 16th, 20215 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
22 types of business objectives to measure success article banner image

Summary

Clear business objectives help you achieve your mission statement and long-term company vision. These objectives can range from financial objectives to organization specific objectives. Take a look at 22 types of business objectives you can set—plus, learn when to use business objectives vs. 14 other goal frameworks. 

Whether you work at a small business, a start up, or as a team lead at a larger enterprise, as a key business owner, you’re responsible for identifying the business objectives that will help your organization hit its long-term goals. Setting goals and strategic objectives is the best way to know where you’re going and how to get there. 

In this article, learn about 22 different types of business objectives and how to make them achievable. Then, take a look at the 15 different types of goals you can set, depending on why you’re setting those goals.

What is a business objective? 

Business objectives are the results you are aiming to achieve in order to accomplish your longer-term company vision. Think of business objectives as metrics to measure your overall business success.

Hitting your business objectives means you’re on the path towards achieving larger company goals. As such, business objectives should focus on large-scale organizational impact. Good business objectives are measurable, specific, and time-bound. 

Read: Write better SMART goals with these tips and examples

22 types of business objectives

Set business objectives based on factors that measure and impact your organization’s success. For example, you might set the following business objectives:

Financial business objectives

1. Profitability: A profitability-focused business objective is important if your company is relying on outside investors. Achieving—and maintaining—profitability ensures your long-term success so you can make progress towards your overall company mission. 

2. Revenue: Revenue-focused business objectives help you balance your income with your costs in order to stay in business. You might set business objectives to achieve a certain annual revenue goal, or to increase revenue by a certain percentage over a period of time. 

3. Costs: Costs refer to how much money you’re spending on your business. Reducing costs can help you increase revenue and achieve profitability. Business objectives related to cost can help you control production or operations cost to improve your business’s financial performance. 

4. Cash flow: Cash flow refers to the money moving into and out of your business. Cash flow can be positive—when you’re making more than you’re spending—or negative—when you’re spending more than you’re making. Similar to profitability, a cash flow-oriented business objective can help set you up for long term financial success. 

5. Sustainable growth: In order to grow as a business, you need to grow sustainably. Setting business objectives around sustainable growth can help you plan your financial projections, employee costs, and other financial considerations. 

Customer-centric business objectives

6. Competitive positioning: A big element of your business strategy is thinking about how your product or service compares to others in the same market. By setting a business objective focused on competitive positioning, you can ensure your product or service reaches parity with what’s expected in the market, or use competitive positioning to outdo your competitors in a key area. 

7. Market share: This business objective refers to how much market share your company’s product or service takes up. The larger the market share, the more reach your business has. Setting this type of business objective is helpful if you’re trying to grow your presence in the market. You can do this through social media initiatives, concerted advertising campaigns, or brand tracking and performance. 

8. Customer satisfaction: In order to succeed as a business, you need happy customers. Focusing on a customer satisfaction-based business objective can help you better serve your customers. Depending on the business objective, this might focus on a customer advocacy program, a better help desk, or something similarly customer-facing. 

9. Brand awareness: Your brand is what makes your organization stand out from the crowd. Brand awareness is an important way to understand how your customers think of your brand, and how aware they are of your distinct brand vs. your competitors. Understanding—and increasing—brand awareness is a key part of your long-term marketing strategy.

10. Sales: You’ll often find business objectives related to improving or refining the sales cycle. This could include anything from reducing customer acquisition cost (CAC), developing better lead tracking, increasing cross-selling, or something else.

11. Churn: In business, your churn rate refers to how many customers you lose over a set period of time. Reducing churn is a great way to increase your revenue and ensure your customers are satisfied with the product or service you provide. 

Achieve strategic goals with Asana

Internal business objectives

12. Employee satisfaction and engagement: Part of your business is how your employees feel about working there, too. Increasing employee satisfaction and engagement leads to happier employees, reduced burnout, and more effective teams. 

13. Employee retention: A key internal business objective is how long your employees spend at your company. Increasing tenure and reducing turnover can help you achieve more complex projects with knowledgeable employees. 

14. Company growth: In order to grow your business, you also need to grow the number of people you employ. Growing your company sustainably can be difficult—which is why businesses often set company growth as a key business objective. 

15. Organizational culture: Organizational culture is the ideals, values, and group norms that shape how team members interact within your company. Good culture drives employee engagement and increases retention, which is one of the key reasons so many companies set organizational culture-focused business objectives. 

16. Change management: Smoothly implement large-scale organizational change with change management. Though you typically won’t see organizations set this type of business objective year after year, it can be a helpful objective to set if you have large changes on the horizon. 

17. Productivity: At Asana, we don’t think of productivity as “doing the most you can,” but rather as a way to optimize your time and get your best work done. Increasing employee productivity can help your teams achieve their high-impact work more efficiently. 

18. Employee effectiveness: Teams don’t just need to be efficient—they also need to know the right things to work on. The best companies aim for efficiency and effectiveness—which is where an effectiveness-based business objective comes into play. To learn more, read our article about the difference between efficiency and effectiveness

19. Diversity and inclusion: A big part of a welcoming company culture is making sure your employees feel like they belong. Investing in diversity and inclusion programs can help your business be more welcoming to your current and potential employees. 

Read: How team morale affects employee performance

Regulation related business objectives

20. Quality control: Implementing quality control measures as a business objective can help you ensure your product or services are at the level you want them to be. This in turn leads to better customer relationships and overall increase in revenue. 

21. Compliance: If your business has any compliance needs to meet in the near future, setting those compliance requirements as a business objective will ensure you hit your targets on time. 

22. Sustainability or waste reduction: Some businesses set business objectives to reduce waste or increase sustainability. While this may not directly impact your business, proving that you’re environmentally minded can help you reach specific audiences you’re targeting. 

Which goal framework is right for you?

Figuring out exactly what type of goal you need to set can be tricky. Each goal framework is slightly different—and implementing the right one can help you achieve success. 

The type of goal you set will depend on the business activities you’re running and the specific goals you have. If your goals have a set time frame, you may want to go with short-term objectives, whereas larger goals have their own unique frameworks. 

If you’re not sure where to start, check out these 15 goal frameworks for different situations: 

1. Business objectives: Set goals based on operating factors that impact your company’s long-term success.

2. Business plan: Also called a business strategy plan. Document your business’ goals and plan out how you’ll get there.

3. Vision statement: Set an organization-wide North Star.

4. Big Hairy Audacious Goals (BHAGs): Set organization-sized stretch goals.

5. Company values: Align your team around core principles. 

6. Strategic plan: Clarify your three to five year company goals during the strategic planning process. 

7. Strategic goal: Set the goals you want to achieve by the end of your strategic plan.

8. Critical success factors: Clarify the high-level goals you need to achieve in order to achieve your strategic goals. 

9. Strategic management: Execute against your strategic plan in order to achieve your company goals. 

10. Business goals: Set predetermined targets to achieve in a set period of time.  

11. Objectives and key results (OKRs): Set and communicate annual company goals.

12. Key performance indicators (KPIs): Set quantitative goals.

13. Project objectives: Share what you want to achieve by the end of a project.

14. Project deliverables: Identify a project’s output.

15. Project milestones: Mark specific checkpoints along a project’s timeline.

More goal setting resources

Clear goals are critical to keep your organization functioning. In addition to business objectives, check out our goal setting resource hub for tips on setting goals and achieving high-impact results. Then when you’re ready, get started with Asana for goal tracking. With Asana, you can connect your company goals to the work that supports them—all in one place. 

Try goals with Asana for free

Related resources

Article

10 questions to ask before finding a mentor