如何使用關鍵成功因素 (CSF) 支持您的策略性計劃

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia Martins
October 11th, 2022
facebookx-twitterlinkedin
如何使用關鍵成功因素 (CSF) 支持您的策略性計劃文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

目標設定就像建造金字塔:一切都有賴於強大的基礎。如果沒有穩固的基礎,您就無法設定最頂層的部分,而從頭開始建立這個基礎可能會非常困難。

此時就是關鍵成功因素 (CSF) 的用武之地。CSF 即您的團隊實現目標所需的一系列關鍵成果因素。關鍵成功因素結合三至五年的策略計劃,可協助您建立起強大的目標設定基礎。然後,在這個穩固的基礎上組建具體的專案交付項目和目標,從而每次都能按時實現目標。

若您此前從未設定關鍵成功因素,或您在進行策略規劃時不知從何著手,此處為您提供開始進行所需的一切。

什麼是關鍵成功因素 (CSF)?

關鍵成功因素 (CSF) 即您的組織為實現策略目的而必須實現的高階目標。雖然由於 CSF 與組織商業策略之間密切相關,而通常在整個部門或組織中使用,但您仍可以在專案、計劃或組織層次中實施 CSF。實現關鍵成功因素,通常會為組織帶來有意義的價值和正向的收穫。

值得注意的是,CSF 為高階策略目標,其中不一定包含執行的細節。例如,假設您設定了一個關鍵成功因素,用以提升品牌知名度。這是一個較為遠大的目標表,可為組織帶來巨大的價值和市場份額。為了真正實現這一關鍵成功因素,需要由專門的專案和團隊進行一系列計劃,設定量化的關鍵績效指標 (KPI),以便清楚瞭解團隊希望在何時實現目標。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

關鍵成功因素 (CSF) 範例

關鍵成功因素可以是任何事物。這類比較遠大的目標有助於指引團隊朝著所需方向前進。隨後,專案經理可運用 CSF 作為計劃指南,並確保為成功做好準備。

您所設定的關鍵成功因素需以組織的整體策略目標為依據。依據您的組織為接下來三至五年的成長所制定的計劃,您可能會建立這幾個 CSF:

  • 更新行銷教戰手冊

  • 新的產品功能

  • 績效管理審核

  • 組建強大的銷售團隊,贏得新客戶

關鍵成功因素的歷史

成功因素的概念是由麥肯錫公司的顧問 D. Ronald Daniel 在 1961 年首先提出。後來,John F. Rockart 在《哈佛商業評論》中發表了一篇文章,將之編撰並命名為關鍵成功因素法。在這篇 1979 年的文章中,Rockart 將 CSF 定義為:

quotation mark
[關鍵成功因素即] 為數不多的幾個領域,其結果在符合要求的情況下能夠確保組織取得成功且富有競爭力的績效。這些關鍵領域數量極少,在這些領域中,「事情必須順暢進行」,企業才能蓬勃發展。如果這些領域中所取得的成果未能讓人滿意,則該組織在這段時間中的產出將低於預期。”
John F. Rockart

策略目標、CSF、KPI 等之間的關係

進行目標設定時,有很多這類由縮寫字表示的項目需要處理和追蹤。每一種目標設定方法都略有不同,但不要因為這些縮寫字而不知所措。若要瞭解每一個縮寫字代表的含義以及如何運用,不妨來看一下典型的策略規劃流程。

以策略計劃著手

策略規劃是所有目標設定流程的基礎。設定目標前,您首先需要建立您的策略。策略計劃有助於定義組織前進的方向,以及實現這些目標所需要採取的行動。

閱讀:第一次進行策略規劃?請從此處開始。

明確您的 KPA 和 KRA

KPA 即關鍵績效領域,也就是對於成功至關重要的業務領域。例如,若您在軟體公司中工作,關鍵績效領域可能會是軟體上線且無錯誤。或者,若您在製造業公司工作,相關的 KPA 可能會是設備運作正常且功能齊全。

瞭解關鍵績效領域以便在開始設定目標時確定您想要關注的領域非常重要。回到我們的軟體範例上,如果您的軟體經常遇到錯誤或停機,則改善或減少停機問題就是不錯的目標。

KRA 即關鍵結果領域,也就是您在策略計劃中確定的重點領域。KRA 的範圍比目標更廣泛。例如,您的業務關鍵結果領域可能會是「收益能力」或「效率」。然後,在設定目標時,需準確描述您要在這些領域中改進的地方。

選擇您的目標設定方法

有了策略計劃後,就可以實施目標設定方法了。兩種主流目標設定方法為 OKR 和 CSF (與 KPI 結合)。在實際中,只需計劃使用兩種目標設定方法之一,因為兩者非常相似。

運用 OKR 建立簡單而靈活的架構

OKR 即目標與關鍵結果。若您此前從未設定目標,以 OKR 著手就是不錯的選擇,因為它遵循的是一種簡單的架構:

  • 我會以 [關鍵結果] 衡量 [目標]。

目標就是您所期望達成的願景,像是提升品牌知名度、創造業界最低碳足跡,諸如此類。

關鍵結果則是用以衡量目標進度的指標,例如網頁造訪人次突破一百萬、超過 25% 的產品材料使用可堆肥材質等。

請閱讀:什麼是目標與關鍵結果 (OKR)?

使用 CSF 和 KPI 以量化方式衡量組織進度

CSF (關鍵成功因素) 的功能與 OKR 中的 O (objective - 目標) 相似。這些是組織為了實現三至五年策略計劃而努力實現的主要目標。

若要讓 CSF 可行動,可將之與關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 結合。KPI 是衡量團隊或組織在重要業務目標方面實現進度情況的量化指標。好的 KPI 可讓您瞭解是否順利實現關鍵成功因素從而實現策略目標。

閱讀:什麼是關鍵績效指標 (KPI)?

CSF 的不同類型,以及其為何重要

傳統上,關鍵成功因素分為五種不同類型。瞭解 CSF 的類型,有助於確保在規劃即將到來的目標期間時不會錯失任何關鍵成功因素。

1. 與產業相關的關鍵成功因素

有時候,為了維持競爭力,您的組織必須追趕某些特定的關鍵成功因素。為了追蹤與產業相關的關鍵成功因素,您的團隊需要主動追蹤並預測產業趨勢。

與產業相關的關鍵成功因素範例:

  • 進行創新從而領先於競爭對手的發明產品

  • 為滿足客戶期望而實現包裝或製造永續性

  • 超越產業平均水準的客戶服務

2. 競爭性關鍵成功因素

競爭對手的行為及其成功與否對您組織所產生的影響,會影響這些關鍵成功因素。這並非指與您的競爭對手所做事務一一比較,而是客戶如何看待您與競爭對手的業務之間的關係,會左右和影響這些關鍵成功因素。

競爭性關鍵成功因素範例:

  • 是否被視為「精品」品牌

  • 是否吸引特定的客戶群體

3. 短暫性關鍵成功因素

顧名思義,短暫性因素不會長久影響您的公司。相反,這些關鍵成功因素是短暫性、有限的,這些因素會對您的業務產生有利或不利的影響。識別並克服這些因素 (若適用) 可有助於持續業務成長。

短暫性關鍵成功因素範例:

  • 業務模式的非預期、暫時性變更

  • 因特殊、暫時性問題而減少工作人員數量

  • 招聘人才以協助開設新辦公室或地區活動

4. 環境性關鍵成功因素

這類關鍵成功因素是您的組織所無法直接掌控的因素,但這些因素仍然非常有價值。主動標記並追蹤環境因素,是提前預防未來發生任何潛在問題、防止非必要風險發生的好方法。

環境性關鍵成功因素範例:

  • 經濟低迷

  • 對您的業務造成影響的政策變動

  • 產業規定

5. 管理職位關鍵成功因素

與 CSF 的四種主要類型不同,管理職位關鍵成功因素是特定人員和職位所獨有的類型,而非組織所有。若您擔任管理職位,不妨考慮設定 CSF,以便增進您的管理與領導技能

管理職位關鍵成功因素範例:

閱讀:此管理風格如何協助您支持團隊

確定 CSF 的 5 個步驟

關鍵成功因素是設定並追蹤成功標準的絕佳方式。若您準備好著手進行,請遵循以下 5 個步驟,邁向成功。

  1. 建立策略計劃。CSF 的建立基礎是您組織必須有三至五年的策略計劃,因此若您還沒有策略計劃,請先行建立。由於策略計劃確定的是多年的高階目標,因此它是后續 CSF 的關鍵組成部分。

  2. 與高階專案關係人共同審核策略計劃。建立策略計劃後,請召集策略管理專案團隊,即建立關鍵成功因素的關鍵專案關係人。檢閱策略計劃,並確定業務流程以及對組織來說至為重要、攸關成敗的關鍵結果領域 (KRA)。例如,您可能會將客戶滿意度確定為即將到來的目標期間的 KRA。

  3. 確定您的關鍵成功因素並且在組織範圍進行分享。確定出 KRA 後,附加相關的關鍵成功因素有助於實現目標。例如,若您的 KRA 為客戶滿意度,則關聯的 CSF 就是透過專門的客戶服務團隊改善客戶關係。確定 CSF 後,請與您的團隊分享,徵求回饋。

  4. 連結 CSF 與 KPI,使其可行動。若要將您的 CSF 轉換為行動,請將其與可量化的關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 連結起來。例如,如果您的 CSF 是透過專門的客戶服務團隊來改善客戶關係,則可以將第一個 KPI 設定為在季度尾聲之前建立一個至少有 10 名團隊成員的客戶成功團隊,同時將第二個 KPI 設定為在會計年度結束前實現 12 小時的客戶服務回應時間。

  5. 監控與衡量。建立 CSF 和 KPI 後,還需要加以監控,以獲致成功。若您還未進行監控,請設定目標追蹤系統,以便追蹤並管理您組織的最上層目標,以及為實現這些目標而進行的專案與計劃。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

建立、制定策略、順暢進行

良好的關鍵成功因素有助於團隊專注於策略計劃中最重要的部分,從而實現您的目標。若您此前並未追蹤 CSF,請務必使用 Asana 目標等目標管理工具進行追蹤。這樣,每一位團隊成員都可以清楚瞭解確切的 CSF、KPI 以及每一個計劃的進度。

How to use critical success factors (CSFs) to support your strategic plan

June 18th, 20216 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
How to use critical success factors (CSFs) to support your strategic plan article banner image

Goal-setting is a lot like building a pyramid: It all relies on a strong base. You can’t set the very top pieces without a steady foundation—but building that foundation from scratch can be tough.

That’s where critical success factors (CSFs) come in. CSFs are a list of the key success factors your team needs to hit in order to achieve your goals. Critical success factors, combined with a three- to five-year strategic plan, help you create a strong goal-setting base. Then, build specific project deliverables and project goals off of that steady foundation to hit your goals on time, every time. 

If you’ve never set critical success factors before, or if you aren’t even sure where to start when it comes to strategic planning, here’s everything you need to know to get started. 

What are critical success factors (CSFs)?

Critical success factors (CSFs) are high-level goals that your organization must meet in order to achieve your strategic objectives. You can implement CSFs at the project, program, or organizational level, though they’re most frequently used by entire departments or organizations because of their close connection to an organization’s business strategy. Hitting your critical success factors usually results in meaningful value and positive income for your organization.

Notably, CSFs are high-level strategic goals—they don’t necessarily include execution details. For example, imagine you set a critical success factor to increase brand awareness. This is a lofty goal—and one that drives significant value and market share for your organization. To actually achieve this CSF, dedicated projects and teams work on a variety of initiatives and set quantitative key performance indicators (KPIs) to get a clear picture of exactly what your teams want to achieve by when.

Examples of critical success factors (CSFs)

A critical success factor can be anything. These lofty goals help you orient your team towards where you need to go. Then, project managers use CSFs to guide their own initiatives and ensure they’re ready for success.

The critical success factors you set depend on your organization’s overall strategic goals. Here are a few CSFs you might create, depending on the plans your organization has for the next three- to five-years of growth:

  • Updated marketing playbook

  • New product features 

  • Performance management reviews

  • Building a robust sales team to acquire new customers

The history of critical success factors

The concept of a success factor was first developed in 1961 by D. Ronald Daniel, a consultant for McKinsey & Company. Later, John F. Rockart published an article in the Harvard Business Review codifying and naming the critical success factor method. In that 1979 article, Rockart defines CSFs as:

[Critical success factors are] the limited number of areas in which results, if they are satisfactory, will ensure successful competitive performance for the organization. They are the few key areas where ‘things must go right’ for the business to flourish. If results in these areas are not adequate, the organization’s efforts for the period will be less than desired.

The relationship between strategic goals, CSFs, KPIs, and more

When it comes to goal-setting, there are a lot of acronyms to juggle and keep track of. Each goal-setting methodology is slightly different—but don’t let the acronyms overwhelm you. To understand what each acronym stands for, and how they stack up, let’s take a look at a typical strategic planning process. 

Start with your strategic plan

Strategic planning is the parent of any goal-setting process. Before you set goals, you first need to establish your strategy. A strategic plan helps you define where your organization wants to go and what actions you need to take to achieve those goals. 

Read: New to strategic planning? Start here.

Identify your KPAs and KRAs

KPAs, otherwise known as key performance areas, are the areas of your business that are critical to your success. For example, if you work at a software company, one key performance area might be your software being online and bug-free. Alternatively, if you work at a manufacturing company, a relevant KPA might be your facilities being up and fully functional. 

It’s important to understand your key performance areas in order to identify areas that you want to home in on when you begin setting goals. To go back to our example of a software company, if your software is frequently experiencing bugs or downtime, a good goal is to improve or reduce that downtime. 

KRAs stand for key result areas—these are focus areas you identified in your strategic plan. KRAs are broader than goals. For example, a key result area for your business might be “profitability” or “efficiency.” Then, when you set goals, describe exactly what you need to improve in those areas. 

Choose your goal-setting methodology

Once you have your strategic plan, it’s time to implement a goal-setting methodology. The two main goal-setting methodologies are OKRs and CSFs (in combination with KPIs). In practice, only plan to use one of the two goal-setting methodologies, since they’re very similar. 

Use OKRs for a simple but flexible framework

OKR stands for Objectives and Key Results. If you’ve never set goals before, OKRs are a good place to start because they follow a simple framework:

  • I will [objective] as measured by [key result].

The Objective is the goal you want to achieve—increase brand awareness, create the lowest carbon footprint in your industry, that sort of thing.

The Key Result is the metric by which you measure your progress towards your objective—drive one million web visitors, ensure one-quarter of your product’s material is compostable, and so on.

Read: What are objectives and key results (OKRs)?

Use CSFs and KPIs to quantitatively measure how your organization is progressing

CSFs—critical success factors—function similarly to the O in OKRs. These are the main objectives your organization is working towards in order to hit your three- to five-year strategic plan. 

To make CSFs actionable, pair them with key performance indicators (KPIs). KPIs are quantitative metrics of how your team or organization is progressing towards important business objectives. A good KPI gives you a sense of whether you’re on track to achieve your critical success factors and, as a result, your strategic goals.

Read: What is a key performance indicator (KPI)?

The different types of CSFs—and why they matter

Traditionally, critical success factors are broken out into five different types. Understanding the types of CSFs helps you make sure you aren’t missing any critical success factors as you plan for the coming goal period.

1. Industry-related critical success factors

Sometimes, there are certain critical success factors that your organization must keep up with in order to remain competitive. In order to track industry-related CSFs, your team needs to proactively track and predict industry trends. 

Examples of industry-related critical success factors: 

  • Innovation to stay ahead of competitor’s inventions

  • Sustainability in packaging or manufacturing to meet customer expectations

  • Customer service that goes above and beyond the industry average

2. Competitive critical success factors

These critical success factors are impacted by what your competitors are doing, and how their success or failure impact your organization. This isn’t a 1:1 comparison to what your competitors are doing—rather, these CSFs are influenced and impacted by how your customers see your business in relation to your competitors. 

Examples of competitive critical success factors: 

  • Being considered a “luxury” brand

  • Appealing to a certain customer demographic

3. Temporal critical success factors

As the name suggests, temporal factors aren’t going to permanently affect your company. Rather, these critical success factors are temporary, limited factors that favorably or unfavorably  impact your business. Identifying and overcoming these factors—if applicable—supports continued business growth. 

Examples of temporal critical success factors:

  • Unexpected but temporary changes to your business model

  • Reduced staffing capacity due to a specific, temporary issue

  • Hiring talent to support the opening of a new office or region

4. Environmental critical success factors

These critical success factors are things your organization has no direct control over—though that doesn’t make them any less valuable. Proactively labeling and tracking environmental factors is a great way to get ahead of any potential problems in the future and prevent unnecessary risk. 

Example environmental critical success factors: 

  • A downturn in the economy

  • A change in policy that impacts your business

  • Industry regulation

5. Management position critical success factors

Unlike the four main types of CSFs, management position critical success factors are unique to a specific person and position—rather than to an entire organization. If you are in a management position, consider setting a CSF to improve your management and leadership skills

Example management position critical success factors:

Read: How this management style can help you support your team

5 steps to identify CSFs

Critical success factors are a great way to set and track success criteria. If you’re ready to get started, follow these five steps for success.

  1. Create a strategic plan. CSFs build on your organization’s three- to five-year strategic plan, so start by creating that if you haven’t already. Because a strategic plan identifies your high-level objectives for multiple years, it’s a key building block for CSFs further down the road. 

  2. Review the strategic plan with executive stakeholders. Once you’ve created your strategic plan, assemble your strategic management project team—the key stakeholders who create your critical success factors. Go through the strategic plan and identify business processes and key result areas (KRAs) that are critical, make-or-break-it areas for the organization. For example, imagine you identify customer satisfaction as a KRA for the coming goal period. 

  3. Identify your critical success factors and share them with your broader organization. Once you’ve identified your KRA(s), attach related critical success factors to help you achieve your goals. For example, if your KRA is customer satisfaction, an associated CSF is to improve customer relationships through dedicated customer service teams. Once you identify CSFs, share them out with your broader team for feedback. 

  4. Connect CSFs to KPIs to make them actionable. To transform your CSFs into action, connect them to quantifiable key performance indicators (KPIs). For example, if your CSF is to improve customer relationships through a dedicated customer service team, create a KPI to build a customer success team with at least 10 team members before the end of the quarter and a second KPI to hit a 12 hour customer service response time by the end of the fiscal year.

  5. Monitor and measure. Once your CSFs and KPIs are created, all that’s left is to monitor them for success. If you haven’t already, set up a goal-tracking system to track and manage your organization’s top level goals—as well as the projects and initiatives that feed into those goals. 

Create, strategize, flourish

Good critical success factors help your team home in on the most important parts of your strategic plan in order to hit your goals. If you’ve never tracked CSFs before, make sure you’re doing so in a goal management tool, like Asana Goals. That way, every team member has clarity on your exact CSFs, the KPIs to help you get there, and the progress of each initiative. 

Related resources

Article

How to set Big Hairy Audacious Goals (BHAGs) to do the impossible