領導力與管理:有何差異?

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsMarch 30th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
領導力與管理:有何差異?橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

您是一位領導者,還是一位管理者?如何確定?差異為何,為何如此重要?

我們經常將領導力和管理混為一談。我們大多數人都會交替使用這兩個術語,這沒有什麼問題。論及領導者時,我們通常指的就是管理者,而當論及管理者時,我們則將其視為領導者。但是,雖然同一個人可以兩者兼有,但不一定非要如此。

優秀的管理者不一定是出色的領導者,有些領導者可能並不具有「管理者」的頭銜。但若是要成為一家好的公司,組建一支強大的團隊,就需要兩者兼而有之。作為管理者,您可以在團隊成員的日常工作中為他們提供支持,為其賦權以完成最出色的工作。作為領導者,您可以分享更大的藍圖,讓團隊成員瞭解公司的整體願景。這兩個職位對於有效的團隊和協作型工作場所而言都至關重要。

無論您是管理者、領導者,還是身兼兩職,瞭解其中差異都能協助您發展兩者的技能。在本文中,我們會協助您定義領導力與依目的進行的管理,列舉兩者的一些相似與相異之處。

quotation mark
管理與營運息息相關; 其中包含制定優先順序、評估輕重緩急、僱用和解僱決策、薪酬決策等等。領導者更像是一位教練,甚至是精神導師。需負責維持活力,讓團隊中的每個人都能受鼓舞,並且幫助大家成長,確保每個人都朝著同一個方向前進。領導者必須成為各種變化發生時的中流砥柱和穩定性力量。”
Asana 共同創辦人暨執行長 Dustin Moskovitz
閱讀:Dustin Moskovitz 的領導力經驗談試用為管理者設計的 Asana

出色領導技能

有效的領導者可幫助他們的公司朝正確方向前進,他們知道如何分享目標,如何啟發人們朝著更大的方向發展。領導者不只是夢想著他們想去的地方,他們還會以身作則,一路上鼓勵團隊成員。如果您將公司視為一艘船,那麼領導者就是決定要航向何處的人,他們的目光會注視著地平線。

重要的領導品質包括:

  • 鼓勵。強大的領導者會鼓勵其團隊實現超越。他們會與群體分享其能量和熱情,以期取得能力範圍以外更大的成就。

  • 創造力。出色的領導者會跳脫思維框架,挑戰現狀。至關重要的是,領導者不僅僅關注自己的創造力,他們還會支持和培養團隊成員的創造力。

  • 指導。領導力的一個關鍵原則就是幫助您的團隊充分發揮其潛力。您可以改為透過輔導和指引團隊成員來實現,而不需規定或指派工作。

  • 解決問題。解決問題在決策制定過程的每一個環節中都是重要的技能。作為領導者,您可以在策略和概念層次上協助解決問題,例如強調重要的組織目標,運用解決問題策略識別任何可能阻礙團隊目標的問題。

  • 風險承擔。擔任領導角色的其中一環就是知道何時承擔風險,以及何時支持您的團隊成員去承擔風險。最出色的領導者會挑戰現狀,推動組織產生積極的變化。

quotation mark
對我而言,領導者是有遠見卓識者。他們鼓舞、激勵身邊的人,能看到他人的潛力。他們挑戰現狀,並且努力為組織作出積極改變。無論角色或頭銜是什麼,任何人都可以成為領導者,您只需要向前一步,挺身而出。”
Asana NAMER 銷售經理 Theresa Sciole

非管理者如何成為領導者?

無論領導者在組織結構圖上的地位如何,他們都能啟發並鼓勵他人。您可以在任何一家公司找到優秀的非管理職位上的領導者,尤其是在組織結構分散的公司。在分散式組織模型中,每個決策都有明確的決策者,但決策者不一定就是管理者。這類型的組織往往因快速運作和員工投入程度而獲益,而且作為這類團隊結構方式的附帶結果,這些組織往往會在各個層級中培養出更多的領導者。

閱讀:哪一種最適合您的公司?在 3 種不同的組織結構中制定決策

在 Asana,我們運用職能範圍 (AoR) 建立了分散式組織模型。AoR 使我們得以為組織中的每個領域委派責任,以此確保公司內的一切事務都能完成。此外,AoR 也為不擔任直接管理角色的團隊成員提供了成長為領導者的機會。

quotation mark
對我而言,「管理者」是一個頭銜,「領導者」則是一種心態或態度。成為管理者並不是成為有效領導者的先決條件,但有效的領導者往往就是成功的管理者。在實際中,管理者的頭銜定義了角色的範圍,但對團隊的影響則取決於他們的領導技能。”
Asana 工程經理 (行動端) Rahul Jiresal

出色管理品質

並非每個管理者都是領導者,不過這無傷大雅。出色的管理者可為他們的團隊成員提供明晰度和方向。他們是團隊的中堅力量,充當團隊工作和協作的支持系統。若以航船比喻,如果領導者是目光遠眺地平線的人,那麼管理者就是閱讀地圖的人。作為一名管理者,您就是規劃路線並且向團隊成員展示實現方法的人。

閱讀:有哪些只有管理者才能做到以利員工持續投入的事

重要管理技能包括:

  • 回饋。優秀的管理者致力於幫助團隊成員發展他們的技能,而做到這一點的關鍵方法就是透過清晰、建設性的回饋來實現。當您提供清晰、相關的回饋時,就能協助團隊成員確定成長機會。然後,您可以透過其他回饋會議和輔導,指引您的團隊成員將這些機會轉化為優勢。

  • 專業發展。除了幫助團隊成員完成出色工作,優秀的管理者還會支持每一位團隊成員的專業和職業發展。可以是協助團隊成員確定他們希望在五年內達到的目標,或者針對如何發展某些技能提供建議。

  • 委任。優秀的管理者不會總是自導自演,相反,他們會將工作委派給最適合這份工作的人。作為管理者,並不是指「我能做到」,而是指「我知道誰是最適合這份工作的人。」

  • 組織與規劃。要成為一名優秀的管理者,意味著需要培養專案管理技能,例如組織和規劃。這些技能可以協助您的團隊清楚瞭解即將進行的工作,並且在他們需要重新調整優先順序或重新考慮截止時間時為他們提供支援。

  • 解決問題。和領導者一樣,管理者也應善於解決問題。但是管理人員是在與領導者略有不同的層面上解決問題。通常而言,管理者使用解決問題策略來協助疏通任務,以便團隊成員能夠完成最出色的工作。這可能意味著需要協助團隊成員確定阻礙他們工作的依存關係,或者當專案時間軸發生變化時,重新考慮季度優先順序。

  • 團隊凝聚。好的管理者能認識到團隊的價值,而不僅僅是個人價值。工作描述的其中一環是創造團隊凝聚的機會。只要有機會,就建立彼此連結的情境,鼓勵團隊成員互相瞭解。 當團隊成員彼此瞭解時,他們會更願意進行協作與合作。

quotation mark
領導力關乎未來,而管理則關乎此地此刻。出色的領導者會鼓勵他人取得他們自己認為不可能的結果。另一方面,出色的管理者則是會帶來明晰度,提供回饋,並且協助團隊培養應對日常工作所需的能力和技能。”
Asana 網頁體驗經理 Bill Thanhouser

為何有人希望成為管理者而非領導者?

每個人都是不同的,並非每個人都適合領導職位。首先專注於成為一名管理者極具意義。管理者提供的是穩定性和指導,他們可能對創造宏圖願景不感興趣。

管理者甚至比領導者更為無私,他們會將團隊置於首位。第一次當管理者的人經常會說需要管理的工作很多。這是因為,管理者不僅要埋頭苦幹,還要不斷思考如何以最好的方式指引和輔導團隊成員。

如果您剛剛成為一名管理者,先專注於為您的團隊提供最佳體驗,然後再培養您的領導技能會很有幫助。畢竟,現在專注於發展管理風格,並不意味著以後就不能專注於培養領導品質。

閱讀:此管理風格如何協助您支持團隊
quotation mark
我認為團隊合作就像是一艘穿越無限冰蓋的船。在這個比喻中,船是團隊,冰塊代表可能要解決的問題,而目的地總是看不見也摸不著。經理的工作是弄清楚如何處理我們打破的冰塊——該把它放在哪裡、它如何影響計劃和團隊等。領導者的工作則是釐清船隻前進的方向,以及為何到達目的地值得我們打破所有這些冰塊。”
Asana 紐約駐點主管 Scott Carleton

管理與領導力重疊之處

領導者和管理者有一個關鍵的共同點:他們都希望為他們的團隊和公司帶來最好的成果。因此,儘管有時兩者以不同的方式處理事情,但領導者和管理者都懷著相同的目標進行工作。

領導者與管理者皆:

  • 將工作與公司目的加以連結。為了讓團隊成員盡其所能,他們需要瞭解其日常工作如何為團隊和公司目標做出貢獻。提供此種明晰度,可以幫助團隊成員更好地確定優先順序,以完成最具影響力的工作。

  • 價值雙向溝通。無論您是向整個團隊傳達目標,還是在一對一會議期間與團隊成員彼此連結,雙向溝通都是確保您的團隊感受到傾聽和重視的最佳方式。要成為優秀的雙向溝通者,不妨練習尋求回饋、處理所聽到的內容,然後據以採取行動。

  • 投資於團隊的發展。支持和指導團隊成員有著許多不同的方式。從指引和教練式輔導,到職業發展對話及一對一會議,領導者和管理者都致力於協助團隊完成最出色的工作。

quotation mark
對我而言,領導者是幫助你瞭解大局的人。團隊的願景是什麼?該願景和更高層次的組織目的或目標之間有什麼關聯?管理者是在需要時提供支持和指導的人,以便你在自己的崗位上發揮影響力,並幫助實現大局。這兩個角色有時會由團隊中的同一人擔任,有時則是由多人擔任,但兩者對於任何團隊的成功都至關重要。”
Asana 內容主管 Jenny Thai

領導者與管理者之間的 3 個差異

領導者和管理者之間有許多共同點,但兩者常會以不同的方式處理情況。為了盡可能支持團隊,領導者和管理者會透過三種不同的方式處理相同的情況。

quotation mark
雖然領導者和管理者都致力於鼓勵人們推動影響並取得成果,但管理者更關心這一旅程中的營運方面,而領導者則專注於鼓勵、賦權人們實現其目標。另一個關鍵區別是,領導者會不斷努力發展和推動變革,而管理者往往會希望維持現狀。”
Asana 北美西部客戶成功專責主管 Yevgeniya Davis

設定策略性願景並進行溝通

在任何一家公司擔任領導者,其中一部分工作就是協助制定和傳達公司的策略願景。近期一項針對 6,000 多名知識工作者進行的調查發現,只有 16% 的員工認為他們的公司在設定和傳達目標方面非常有效。作為領導者,您不僅有權力制定目標,還可以在整個公司內傳達目標。

領導者從大局著手,然後針對如何實現公司使命或願景宣言制定出明確目標。其中包括設定季度或年度公司目標,並且將這些目標傳達給您的團隊。例如,您可以將目標設定為在年底前將每月客戶流失率降低到 1% 以下。

閱讀:第一次進行策略規劃?請從此處開始。

管理者將這一策略願景與團隊的日常工作連結起來。作為管理者,您獲賦權以闡明團隊成員的日常工作對公司整體目標的貢獻。可透過建立這種連結,在實現公司目標的路上支持、鼓勵您的團隊。

例如,如果您的公司設定了在年底前將每月客戶流失率降低至 1% 以下的目標,則管理者可以協助將團隊專案與該目標連結起來。有時候,團隊成員可能很努力地改善公司的流失率,但可能不是總能如此明確,這一點是顯而易見的。例如,一位正在改進定價和包裝頁面的團隊成員透過協助客戶更好地瞭解其支付的費用,間接地為實現這一目標做出了貢獻。

quotation mark
出色的管理者就是領導者,但並非所有領導者都是管理者。兼任領導者的管理者會鼓勵他們的團隊,而不會指引他們。這樣的團隊會取得更好的結果,他們感覺自己也是解決方案的共同創造者,而非簡單地執行一個強有力、非協作的計劃。”
Asana 亞太區客戶成功總監 Shannon McNeil

將構想變為現實

領導者不僅會關注執行,而且會關注構想。領導者的首要任務是思考大局,並且傳達大局如何推動整個業務的價值。作為此過程的一環,您應練習針對大局問題開發構想和解決方案。

領導者也是鼓勵團隊完成出色工作的人。當您的公司決定了前進的方向,無論您是否參與了這個決定,你都會因為鼓勵團隊成員理解這個構想的價值,而成為一名出色的領導者。

quotation mark
對我來說,領導者講求的是影響、訓練、指導和引導他人取得成就的能力。領導者提供願景,他們的成功取決於團隊,而非他們自己。”
Asana 全球業務人才招募業總監 Chris Juliano

相反,管理者的工作則是專注於如何將構想變為現實。意即為專案配置人員、分配資源和預算以利實現目標。管理者在日常工作中支持和指引他們的團隊。他們是直接審查文件和核准工作的人。最後,一位出色的管理者會授權團隊成員去完成具有重大影響力的工作。

營建並支持公司文化

公司文化是讓團隊成員產生參與感、受支持感和獲得賦權去完成最出色工作的絕佳方式。針對團隊凝聚遊戲、學習與發展機會以及健全的員工到職工作流程進行投入,可讓團隊成員更快樂,在公司中更有參與感。

請閱讀:來自 Asana 領導層的建議:打造強大組織文化的 6 個提示

領導者和管理者在何處發揮作用?協助塑造和營建公司文化是領導者的責任。Asana 共同創辦人兼執行長 Dustin Moskovitz 寫道:「作為一名領導者,我明白為我們的公司文化奠定基調是我的責任。」領導者確立文化的模樣,效仿之,並最終鼓勵人們渴望參與並改善公司文化。

quotation mark
適應性強的領導者能夠有效地與不同群體的人合作,像教練般進行指導和鼓勵。他們會調整自己的領導風格以適應與他們共事的人,而不會採用『一刀切』的方法。”
Asana 協同銷售主管 Amy Grimes

另一方面,管理者是實際施行文化實踐和政策的人。此外,管理者也負責在組織層面上代表他們團隊的需求。當人們有任何回饋分享,領導者的工作就是將回饋整合到公司流程中以改善公司文化。傾聽和解決團隊回饋是健康公司文化的重要組成部分,但根據工作剖析索引,目前只有 15% 的知識工作者認為他們的組織完全聽到了他們的意見。

閱讀:如何將權限分配給公司中的每個人

領導力與管理:何者更優勝?

做一名領導者不一定比做一名管理者好,反之亦然。您可以兩者兼而有之,或者可以先專注於在其中一個領域發展技能。要決定關注哪些領導者品質,取決於您的團隊需要您提供什麼,以及您如何可以為他們提供最好的支持。

quotation mark
對我而言,領導者是能夠積極影響身邊人採取行動、指引方向和取得成功的人。領導者在所擔任的任何職位上都能產生影響,而不必擁有特定的職位。”
Asana EMEA 地區客戶成功經理 Nina Vogt

領導者和管理者都應致力於持續提升其協作與溝通技能。不妨嘗試這 10 個簡單步驟,提升團隊協作

相關資源

文章

Why you should prioritize employee empowerment

Leadership vs. management: What’s the difference?

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsMarch 30th, 20217 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Leadership vs. management: What’s the difference? banner image

Are you a leader, or a manager? How do you decide? What’s the difference—and why does it matter?

We often conflate leadership and management. Most of us use the two terms interchangeably with little downside. When we talk about leaders, we usually mean managers, and when we address managers, we think of them as leaders. But while the same person can be both, they don’t necessarily have to be.

Good managers don’t have to be great leaders—and some leaders may not have the title “manager.” But in order to have a good company and a great team, you need both. As a manager, you can support team members during their day-to-day work and empower them to get their best work done. As a leader, you can share the bigger picture so team members can buy into the company’s overall vision. Both positions are critical for an effective team and collaborative workplace.

Whether you’re a manager, a leader, or both, learning to differentiate between the two roles can help you develop skills for each. In this article, we’ll help you define leadership and management by objectives, outline some similarities between the roles, and highlight how they differ.

Management is operational; it’s about setting priorities, evaluating priorities, hiring and firing decisions, compensation decisions, things like that. A leader is more of a coach, or even a spiritual guide. She is responsible for maintaining energy, keeping everyone on the team inspired and helping them grow, and for ensuring everyone is aligned in the same direction. A leader must be a point of strength and stability across changes.
Read: Dustin Moskovitz shares his lessons on leadershipTry Asana for managers

Top leadership skills

Effective leaders help guide their company in the right direction—they know how to share goals and inspire people towards the bigger picture. Leaders don’t just dream of where they want to go, they also lead by example to motivate team members on the way there. If you think of a company as a ship, leaders are the ones who decide where to go—the people who have their eye on the horizon.

Key leadership qualities include:

  • Motivation. Strong leaders motivate their team to achieve the impossible. They share their energy and enthusiasm with the group in order to achieve more than they would have otherwise been able to by themselves.

  • Creativity. Good leaders think outside the box and challenge the status quo. Critically, leaders don’t just focus on their own creativity—they also support and nurture creativity in their team members.

  • Mentoring. A key tenet of leadership is helping your team grow to their full potential. You can do this by coaching and guiding your team members—instead of prescribing or assigning work.

  • Problem-solving. Problem-solving is an important skill at every level of the decision-making process. As a leader, you can help solve problems at the strategic and conceptual level—for example, highlighting key organizational goals and using problem-solving strategies to identify anything that might stand in the way of your team’s goals.

  • Risk taking. Part of holding a leadership role is knowing when to take risks—and when to support your team members to take risks, too. The best leaders challenge the status quo in order to drive positive change in their organization.

To me, a leader is a visionary. They encourage and motivate those around them and see the potential in others. They challenge the status quo and strive to make positive change for the organization. It doesn't matter what your role or title is, anyone can be a leader—you just need to lean in and step up.

How can someone be a leader without being a manager?

Leaders inspire and motivate people—no matter what their own status is on the org chart. You can find good non-manager leaders at any company, but especially at companies with distributed organizational structures. In a distributed organizational model, there is a clear decision maker for every decision, but that decision maker isn’t always a manager. These types of organizations tend to benefit from high velocity and employee engagement, and as a byproduct of the way these teams are structured, they tend to foster more leaders at every level.

Read: What’s right for your company? Decision making in 3 different organizational structures

At Asana, we’ve created a distributed organizational model through the use of Areas of Responsibility (AoRs). AoRs allow us to delegate accountability for each area of the organization to ensure everything that needs to happen in the company does. Additionally, AoRs give team members who aren’t in direct management roles opportunities to grow as leaders.

To me, ‘manager’ is a title, and ‘leader’ is a state of mind or attitude. Being a manager isn't a prerequisite to being an effective leader, but effective leaders often are successful managers. In practice, the manager's title defines the scope of the role, but the impact on the team is driven by their leadership skills.

Top management qualities

Not every manager is a leader—and that’s ok. Good managers provide clarity and direction to their team members. They are the backbone of the team, and function as the support system for teamwork and collaboration. In the ship analogy, if leaders are the people with their eyes on the horizon, managers are the ones reading the map. As a manager, you are the one plotting the course and showing your team members how you’re going to get there.

Read: What only managers can do to keep employees engaged

Key management skills include:

  • Feedback. Great managers are dedicated to helping team members develop their skill set, and a key way to do that is through clear, constructive feedback. When you provide clear, relevant feedback, you can help team members identify growth opportunities. Then, through additional feedback sessions and coaching, you can guide your team members as they turn those opportunities into strengths.

  • Professional development. In addition to helping team members get their best work done, great managers also support the professional and career development of each of their team members. This might mean helping team members identify where they want to be in five years or giving them advice on how to develop certain skill sets.

  • Delegation. Good managers don’t always do the work themselves—rather, they delegate work to the best person for the job. Being a manager isn’t so much about saying, “I can do that” but saying, “I know the best person for the job.”

  • Organization and planning. Being a good manager means developing project management skills like organization and planning. These skills can help you give your team clear insight into upcoming work, and support them if they need to readjust priorities or rethink deadlines.

  • Problem-solving. Like leaders, managers should also be good at problem-solving. But managing people means problem-solving on a slightly different level than leaders. Usually, managers use problem-solving to help unblock tasks so team members can get their best work done. This might mean helping team members identify a dependency that’s getting in the way of their work, or rethinking quarterly priorities if a project timeline got moved around.

  • Team building. Good managers recognize the value in a team, not just an individual. Part of the job description is creating team building opportunities. Whenever you can, set up situations for connection and encourage team members to get to know one another. When team members know one another, they will be more comfortable collaborating and working together.

Leadership is about the future, while management is about dealing with the here and now. A great leader inspires others to achieve results they themselves didn't think possible. A great manager, on the other hand, brings clarity, provides feedback, and helps their team develop the competencies and skill sets necessary to navigate their day-to-day work.

Why would somebody want to be a manager and not a leader?

Everyone is different—and leadership positions aren’t for everyone. There is a lot of value in focusing on being a manager first. Managers provide stability and guidance, and they may not be interested in creating the big picture vision.

Even more so than leaders, managers are selfless in the way they put the team first. First-time managers often remark about how much more work it is to manage. That’s because, instead of just focusing on putting their head down and getting good work done, managers are constantly thinking about how to best guide and mentor their team members.

If you just became a manager, it can be helpful to focus on providing the best experience for your team first and then developing your leadership skills later. After all, just because you’re focused on developing your management style now doesn’t mean you can’t dedicate yourself to building leadership qualities later.

Read: How this management style can help you support your team
I think of teamwork as a ship moving through an unlimited ice sheet. In this metaphor, the ship is the team, the ice represents possible problems to be solved, and the destination is always out of sight and unclear. It’s a manager’s job to figure out what to do with the ice we break—where to put it, how it impacts the plan and team, etc. It’s a leader’s job to clarify the ship’s direction and why it’s worth breaking all of this ice to get there.

Where management and leadership overlap

Leaders and managers have one key thing in common: they both want what’s best for their team and their company. As a result, even though they sometimes approach things in different ways, both leaders and managers work with the same goal in mind.

Leaders and managers both:

  • Connect work to company objectives. In order for a team member to do their best work, they need to understand how their daily work contributes to team and company objectives. Providing this clarity can help team members better prioritize to get their most high-impact work done.

  • Value two-way communication. Whether you’re communicating a goal to the entire team or connecting with a team member during a 1:1 meeting, two-way communication is the best way to make sure your team feels heard and valued. To become a good two-way communicator, practice sourcing feedback, processing what you’re hearing, and then acting on it.

  • Invest in the development of their team. Supporting and mentoring team members shows up in a lot of different ways. From mentoring and coaching to career development conversations and 1:1 meetings, leaders and managers are both invested in helping their team do their best work.

For me, a leader is someone who helps you understand the Big Picture. What's the vision for the team, and how does that vision connect to a broader set of organizational objectives and mission? A manager is the person who gives you the support and mentorship needed to make an impact in your role and help make that Big Picture a reality. Sometimes the same person will occupy both roles within a team. Sometimes it's multiple people. But both roles are important for the success of any team.

3 differences between leaders and managers

Leaders and managers have a lot in common, but they frequently approach situations in different ways. Here are three ways leaders and managers might approach the same situation differently in order to best support their team.

While leaders and managers both aim to motivate people to drive impact and achieve results, managers are more concerned with the operational aspects of that journey, whereas leaders are focused on inspiring and empowering people to accomplish their goals. Another key differentiator is that leaders continuously strive to evolve and push for change, while managers are often looking to maintain the status quo.

Building and communicating a strategic vision

Part of being a leader at any given company is helping to set and communicate your company’s strategic vision. A recent survey of over 6,000 knowledge workers found that only 16% of workers believe their company was very effective at setting and communicating goals. As a leader, you have the power to not only set but also communicate goals across the company.

Leaders think big picture, and then work to develop clear goals on how to achieve their company’s mission or vision statement. This includes setting quarterly or yearly company objectives and communicating those objectives to your team. For example, you might set the objective to reduce monthly customer churn to <1% before the end of the year.

Read: New to strategic planning? Start here.

Managers take that strategic vision and connect it to their team’s day-to-day work. As a manager, you’re empowered to clarify how a team member’s daily work contributes to overall company goals. By making that connection, you can help support and motivate your team on the path towards achieving company goals.

For example, if your company has set the goal to reduce monthly customer churn to <1% before the end of the year, a manager can help connect team projects to that goal. Sometimes, this will be obvious—a team member might be working on improving your company’s churn flow. But it might not always be so clear-cut. For example, a team member who is improving the pricing and packaging page is indirectly contributing to this goal by helping customers better understand what they’re paying for.

Great managers are leaders, but not all leaders are managers. Managers who are also leaders inspire their team rather than direct them. Those teams achieve even better results and feel like they're co-creators in the solution rather than simply being executors of a strongly held, non-collaborative plan.

Turning ideas into reality

Leaders don’t just focus on execution—they also focus on ideas. A leader’s priority is thinking big picture and communicating how that big picture is going to drive value across the business. As part of this process, you should practice developing ideas and solutions to big picture problems.

Leaders are also the ones who motivate their team to get great work done. Once your company has decided on a direction to move in—whether you were part of that decision or not—you can be a good leader by motivating team members to understand the value of that idea.

To me, being a leader is about the ability to influence, coach, mentor, and guide others toward an achievement. Leaders provide vision, and their success is defined by the team—not themselves.

Conversely, it’s a manager’s job to focus on how to turn ideas into reality. This may mean staffing projects, allocating resources, and budgeting to hit goals. Managers support and guide their teams through their daily work. They are the ones directly reviewing documents and approving work. Ultimately, a good manager empowers team members to get their high-impact work done.

Creating and supporting company culture

Company culture is a great way to make your team members feel engaged, supported, and empowered to do their best work. Investing in company culture through team building games, learning and development opportunities, and robust employee onboarding workflows can make team members feel happier and more engaged at the company.

Read: 6 tips to build a strong organizational culture, according to Asana leaders

Where do leaders and managers come into play? It’s a leader’s job to help mold and create company culture. As Dustin Moskovitz, Asana co-founder and CEO, writes, “As a leader, I know it’s my responsibility to set the tone for our company culture.” Leaders establish what the culture should look like, emulate it, and ultimately inspire people to want to participate and improve company culture.

“Adaptable leaders are able to effectively work with, coach, and inspire diverse groups of individuals. They adapt their leadership style to suit the person they are working with, instead of having a ‘one size fits all’ approach.

A manager, on the other hand, is the person who is actually implementing culture practices and policies. Additionally, managers are responsible for representing their team’s needs on an organizational level. Once they do share any feedback, it’s a leader’s job to fold the feedback into company processes in order to improve company culture. Listening to and solving team feedback is a critical part of healthy company culture—but according to the Anatomy of Work Index, only 15% of knowledge workers currently feel completely heard by their organization.

Read: How to distribute authority to everyone in your company

Leadership vs. management: which is better?

Being a leader isn’t necessarily better than being a manager, or vice versa. You can be both—or you can focus on developing your skills in one area first. Deciding which qualities of a leader to focus on depends on what your team needs from you, and how you can best support them.

For me, a leader is someone who positively influences those around them into action, direction, and success. A leader does not have to hold a specific job title—they drive impact in any position they hold.

Both leaders and managers should aim to continue improving their collaboration and communication skills. Try these 10 easy steps to boost team collaboration.

Try Asana for managers

Related resources

Article

What is management by objectives (MBO)? Steps, pros, and cons