以 7 個簡單步驟建立專案時間軸的方法

Molly Talbert 撰稿人特寫照片Molly TalbertJuly 29th, 202000
facebooktwitterlinkedin
建立專案時間軸與範本

需要管理專案嗎?擺脫試算表或毫無條理的待辦清單,在時間軸中檢視工作就是專案管理的好處之一。時間軸可顯示計劃中的各個段落的融合情況。為什麼您還猶豫不前呢?若沒有正確的技術,建立專案時間軸就會既麻煩又須親力親為。

不需煩惱。無論您的職稱、行業或部門為何,這裡都提供一個建立專案時間軸的分步範例。請依以下步驟,瞭解專案時間軸建立方法,可讓您掌握一切並建立自己的專案時間軸範本

50 多種適用於各種專案類型的 Asana 範本

1. 概述您的專案簡介,其中包括目標、時間範圍和相依性。

為使所有專案關係人都能與計劃保持一致,每一個專案都應以專案簡介作為開始。它相當於一個藍圖,用於解釋整個專案的目的、目標、里程碑和願景。以下是您需在簡述中回答的幾個問題:

  • 您的專案內部和外部目標是什麼?

  • 哪些內部和外部專案關係人屬於專案的一部分?他們的角色是什麼?

  • 專案的時間範圍是?

  • 專案的關鍵里程碑為何?

一起將這一步付諸實踐吧。您負責安排今年的客戶答謝宴會,您對此的個人目標是要盡可能組織妥善、富有成效且高效率。您有信心可以做到,並透過撰寫活動簡述來理解這一切。對於上述四個問題,您的回答會是:

您的專案內部和外部目標是什麼?

內部目標是要在 $15,000 的預算內規劃一場盛大的客戶活動。外部目標則是實現 50% 的請柬回覆率以及 80% 的出席率。

哪些內部和外部專案關係人屬於專案的一部分?

內部專案關係人指活動規劃委員會 (John、Sam、Tara、Linda)、客戶成功副襄理以及行銷團隊。外部專案關係人包括所有目前的客戶、特定供應商 (外燴公司、活動場所等)。

專案的時間範圍是?

專案計劃於 1 月 15 日啟動,而活動則排定於 8 月 30 日。

應以哪些任務作為專案里程碑?

發佈登記頁面、確保場地安全以及簽約特定廠商。

當您已列出專案簡介和目標,就可以開始倒向執行,理解每一個實現目標所需的步驟,並開始建立專案時間軸。

2. 列舉完成專案所需的所有步驟

成功的專案時間軸的誕生,需要您建立一份清單,列出整個專案規劃流程中直至實現最終目標所需的一切事項,無論是報告還是活動皆應俱全。應思慮周全,鉅細靡遺。清單中應列出可讓專案按時、按預算完成的所有任務。

此時還無需過於擔心所有步驟的順序或何時需完成,我們稍後會討論這一點。

例如,我們的客戶答謝宴會的細目可能如下:

  • 撰寫活動計劃

  • 確定預算

  • 確認活動場所

  • 選擇外燴服務

  • 選擇活動主題

  • 為活動設計創意構思

  • 設定請柬回覆頁面

  • 傳送邀請

  • 宣傳活動

  • 訂購小禮品

  • 測試音訊/視訊

  • 定案簡報

  • 準備所有活動宣傳資料和小禮品

  • 事件日期核對清單

對於較長或較複雜的步驟,可以將之分解為較小型、易於整理的子任務。這不僅有助於理解每一步驟的真實範圍,同時可確保不會遺忘每一個小細節,讓事情更易於管理。

在我們的活動範例中,為了減少「選擇外燴服務」這一步驟的繁瑣工作,我們將專案中的這一部分分解為易於處理的片段:

  • 建立一份候選外燴服務商清單

  • 取得每一位外燴服務商的報價

  • 比較報價和餐單

  • 挑出上選

  • 選擇外燴服務

  • 確定合約

3. 預估每一步驟所需時間以便建立時間軸

擁有一份專案逐一步驟的完整清單後,您需要為完成每一個步驟分配一些時間。此時,在給予充足時間讓團隊完成任務和維持在整體時間範圍內這兩者之間,需要取得平衡。瞭解每一個任務所需花費的時間後,您就可以妥善規劃和安排每一個任務,從而建立出專案藍圖。

繼續回到我們的客戶答謝活動範例中,執行「選擇外燴服務」這一步驟以及其下的每一個子任務,並預估個人任務所需花費的時間。

選擇外燴服務 (9 週)*

  • 建立一份候選外燴服務商清單 (1 週)

  • 取得每一位外燴服務商的報價 (3 週)

  • 比較報價和餐單 (1 週)

  • 挑出上選 (2 週)

  • 選擇外燴服務 (1 週)

  • 確定合約 (1 週)

依據我們的時間規劃,選擇外燴服務公司的流程總計需要 9 週時間。運用倒向執行的方法,您可以確定何時需要開始特定步驟,並在專案時間軸上填入確切日期。

4. 安排相依性及步驟順序

執行專案時,某些步驟可以同時進行,尤其是在任一重複任務由不同隊友負責的時候。但是,也有一些步驟必須在另一個步驟結束後才能開始或完成。意即,某些步驟依存於其他需先完成的步驟。例如,選擇外燴服務商後才能訂購食物。這就是時間軸不可或缺的眾多原因之一。可視化查看每一個步驟、步驟之間的重疊情況,以及每一個步驟所需花費的時間,都有助於維持進度。

此時也應確定每一步驟的責任人。儘早為專案中的每一部分事項指派責任人,有助於發現並調整時間或資源方面的衝突,避免將來出現意外和延誤。在第 6 步中,您將瞭解向相關人員分享專案時間軸、明確職責的方法。

閱讀:資源管理入門指南

在我們的範例活動中,其中一個任務就是送出邀請。儘管這一特定步驟看起來很容易,但在考慮送出邀請前,還需要完成幾件事情。邀請函須經過精心設計,而在選出活動主題之前我們無法設計邀請函。某一任務需在另一個任務開始前進行。例如:

活動主題 (活動策劃團隊) → 設計構思 (Linda) → 選擇設計 (活動策劃團隊) → 建立邀請函(Linda) → 傳送邀請函 (Tara)

花點時間一一安排每一個任務的相依性和順序 (或次序) 非常值得。您很快就可以看到專案片段彙整後的效果。決定事項執行者也非常重要。誰需要確定活動主題?誰需要設計邀請函?不要等到任務要開始了才指派給某個人,儘早解決所有問題可以避免衝突或小問題。

幸運的是,邀請流程和外燴廠商選擇可以同時進行 (可在我們的專案時間軸中看到這一點)。

5. 畫出您的時間軸

您開始想像到專案時間軸可能呈現的樣子了嗎?與其只在腦海裡描繪這一圖像 (以及所有任務和截止日期),不如在紙上 (或在螢幕上) 刻畫這些內容。您的第一直覺可能是開啟一個 Excel 試算表或者 Powerpoint 檔案,但還有其他選擇。以上兩者的設計初衷並不是規劃或管理專案,由此可能會遇到一些麻煩,而您可以透過選擇更好的工具加以避免

為此,可以選擇 Asana 取而代之,這是一款專為建立並管理專案時間軸而設計的專案管理工具。它不僅可以節省畫出時間軸的時間 (因為您不需要試圖修改合併儲存格,還要加入公式才能將試算表轉換為專案時間軸),還可以在專案啟動後持續管理時間軸。專屬專案管理工具可讓您隨著工作的開展輕鬆調整時間軸,並且為專案關係人提供有關變更和進度的更新。

使用合適的工具,您的時間軸就可以和您的有關工作結合,始終保持最新狀態。專案進展順利還是失控脫序,就取決於此。

在 Asana 中畫出時間軸的方法

使用 Asana 時間軸功能建立您的專屬專案排程

  1. 在清單中輸入所有專案步驟,作為任務

  2. 為每一個任務新增開始和結束日期

  3. 為每一個任務新增任務所有者

  4. 畫出任務之間的相依性

  5. 點選「時間軸」檢視,即可看到您的清單轉換為可視化時間軸。

Asana 中的活動答謝時間軸

提示:若您已經在試算表中建立好計劃,您可以使用我們的 CSV 匯入工具整合將其快速匯入至 Asana 中。

閱讀:每一位活動經理都應使用的活動策劃工具

協助您開始使用的專案時間軸範本

快速設定專案時間軸最輕鬆的方式,就是利用專案範本開始。以下是一些由 Asana 建立的專案範本,您可以立即使用。每一個專案都以清單檢視開始,但您可以點選「時間軸」標籤,將其轉換為時間軸:

6. 與專案關係人分享

還記得在此流程一開始就在簡述中新增了所有專案關係人的清單嗎?現在您已建立起時間軸,和每一位參與其中的人分享就變得非常重要。我們保證,看到您規劃得如此清晰時,他們會非常開心。您將他們參與專案的部分變得越輕鬆,在整個流程中您所得到的讚賞也會越多。

當您使用專案管理工具建立時間軸時,分享即變得既便捷又流暢。無需各種電子郵件和一堆文件,您的專案關係人也可以立即掌握人、事、時。

對於客戶答謝活動,除了直接責任人,我們還希望可以將時間軸分享給參與整個專案的每一個人。人們隨時都可以追蹤參與專案的部分及其相依性,而無需向您索要資訊。

7. 管理與因應:在專案啟動後運用專案時間軸的秘訣

您若執行過任何專案,就知道計劃總趕不上變化。儘管如此,若您做好因應的準備,處理變化似乎就沒那麼困難。時間軸不僅是計劃的絕佳工具,還能協助您在延宕或變動無可避免地發生時,加以調整。

任意改動任務,不見得會導致綁手綁腳或中斷整個專案。專案如果有一部分延遲了,這時身為專案所有者的您會很清楚,這對專案的其餘部分會帶來什麼衝擊。接著,您將有能力據此改動一切事務,從而使整個專案仍繼續向前推展,保持生產力。

根據平衡職涯報導,專案若出現變動,可在專案的特定步驟加以管控,然而一旦改變已成定局,就該更新時間軸了。由於計劃變動時,時間軸會很快失去時效性,因此仰賴專案管理工具 (而非仰賴電子郵件或試算表) 有相當大的助益。身為專案所有者的您,有責任向所有專案關係人說明哪一個才是唯一的事實來源 (您的時間軸),並確保該來源隨時獲得更新。

  • 立即採取行動。一旦變化已確定,就應立刻更新時間軸,反映出該項變化。

  • 通知專案關係人。受專案時間軸變化所影響的所有人,均應瞭解變化對他們所帶來的衝擊,並且能透過視覺化的資料查看專案時間軸上的變化。

  • 判斷影響。一旦更新了時間軸,您就能瞭解是否有哪些時段過於緊密、哪些專案關係人手上的任務過多。是否可改動某項任務,以確保有更多時間完成?有沒有其他人能接手該項職責,或盡一臂之力?

結束上述情境範例前,讓我們做一個假設,您好不容易事先安排並選定一家外燴服務商,由他們辦理客戶感恩晚餐會。在即將簽訂合約之際,外燴公司來電表示他們自己重複接單。很遺憾地,您必須找到一家新的外燴公司。

我們可以用時間軸調整排程 (以及受變動所衝擊的任何人、事、物)。若正向思考這項挑戰,我們既然已經歷經任務初期的各項事務,並從時間軸反映的內容看到變化,那麼儘管這是個令人沮喪的問題,我們仍能更強烈地感受一切都在掌控中,因為時間軸讓我們有條理,且始終保持進展順利。

探索時間軸協助您將專案可視化的方式

專案時間軸的常見問題

瞭解如何建立有條理的專案時間軸,代表您在瞭解如何使用這個強大工具上,已跨出了很大的一步,儘管如此,您可能仍有其他疑問。這個問題很常見。以下是幾個關於專案時間軸的常見問題及答案。

時間軸和甘特圖有何不同?

甘特圖較著重工作流程及任務相依性,是比較線性的呈現,而且未將同時發生的變化或多項事務納入考量。時間軸則具有彈性,可輕鬆因應專案計劃內的變化,讓更新工作流程變得豪不費力。兩者都是視覺化的工具。

如何追蹤專案進度,特別是管理多個專案的情況下?

用於管理多個專案的專案集

要在試算表中辦到這件事相當困難,但若使用專案管理工具就輕鬆得多。您可一次透過多個檢視查看某個專案,或者也可透過一個專案集檢視管理多個專案

換句話說,您可以視覺化呈現自己何時可將較多時間運用於特定任務、何時已達工作能力的極限,進而視需要加以調整,取得團隊工作負荷的平衡。

有自信地建立下一個專案時間軸

有了專案計劃還不夠。決定如何執行也同等重要。計劃開展時間軸或排程之擬定,乃是規劃階段的關鍵環節,而且可讓專案管理變得更有效率。

將此逐步流程應用於所有專案管理時間軸,您將能始終專注於任務,並減少壓力。請試用看看,依照您的業務需求加以調整,並和別人分享!

若要更進一步發揮專案時間軸的功能,請用 Asana 建立您的下一個時間軸。

相關資源

文章

The beginner's guide to Agile methodologies

How to create a project timeline in 7 simple steps

Create project timeline and template
  • This article will show you how to create a project management timeline by:
    • Outlining your project brief, including goals, and timeframe
    • Listing out all of the steps you need to complete your project
    • Estimating how much time each step will take
    • Mapping out dependencies and sequence of steps
    • Drawing your timeline
    • Sharing it with stakeholders
    • Tips for using your project timeline after project kickoff

Managing a project? Then you know a project timeline will show how all the pieces of your plan fit together and keep your team on the same page. So what’s the problem? It’s likely that you don’t have access to a strong process or know how to even get started.

Fret no more. Here’s a step-by-step guide to creating a project timeline—no matter what your job title, industry, or department is. Follow these steps and learn how to build project timelines that put you in the driver’s seat.

1. Outline your project brief, including goals, and timeframe

To keep all project stakeholders aligned on the plan, every project should start with a project brief. It’s a way to explain the purpose, goals, and vision of the overall project. Here are a few questions to answer in your brief:

  • What are your goals for the project, both internally and externally?
  • Which internal and external stakeholders are a part of the project? What are their roles?
  • What is the timeframe for the project?

Let’s put this step into practice. You’re responsible for planning this year’s client appreciation dinner. Your personal goal for the event is to be as organized, productive, and efficient as possible. You’re confident you can do it, and understand it all starts by putting together a cohesive brief for your event. Your answers to the three questions listed above are:

What are your goals for the project, both internally and externally?

The internal goal is to plan a high-impact client event under $15,000. The external goal is to achieve a 50% RSVP rate and 80% attendance rate.

Which internal and external stakeholders are a part of the project?

The internal stakeholders are the event’s planning committee (John, Sam, Tara, Linda), the VP of Client Success, and the Marketing team. Externally, the stakeholders include all current clients, and certain vendors (catering company, event venue, etc.).

What is the time frame for the project?

The project planning kicks off on January 15 and the event is scheduled for August 30.

Once you have your project brief and goals outlined, you’ll be ready to work backwards and figure out all of the steps you need to take to get there.

2. List out all of the steps you need to complete your project

In order to have a successful project timeline, you’ll need to create a list of everything that will need to happen throughout the project planning process. Think both big and small. Any tasks that will help you get your project completed on time and on budget should go on this list.

At this point, don’t worry too much about the order of all of your steps or when you need to get them done — we’ll cover that later.

For example, the breakdown for our client appreciation dinner might look like this:

  • Write an event plan
  • Finalize budget
  • Confirm event venue
  • Select catering
  • Choose event theme
  • Design creative concepts for event
  • Set up an RSVP page
  • Send invitations
  • Advertise event
  • Order swag
  • Test A/V
  • Finalize presentations
  • Prepare all event collateral and swag
  • Day of checklist

For longer or more complex steps, break them into smaller, easy-to-digest subtasks. Not only will it help you figure out the true scope of a step, but it’ll also ensure you don’t forget any small detail and make tackling it more manageable.

In our event example, to make the “Select catering” step less overwhelming, we would split this part of the project into digestible pieces:

  • Create a list of possible caterers
  • Get quotes from each caterer
  • Compare quotes and menus
  • Meet with top picks
  • Choose caterer
  • Finalize contract

3. Estimate how much time each step will take

Once you have a comprehensive list of every step in your project, you’ll then allocate an amount of time each will take to complete. When doing this, balance giving your team enough time to get tasks finished and staying within your overall time frame. Once you know how much time each task will take, you’ll be able to properly schedule out and sequence each task.

Continuing on with our client appreciation event example, let’s take the “Select catering” step, along with each of its subtasks, and estimate how much time the individual tasks will take.

Select catering (9 weeks)
  • Create a list of possible caterers (1 week)
  • Get quotes from each caterer (3 weeks)
  • Compare quotes and menus (1 week)
  • Meet with top picks (2 weeks)
  • Choose caterer (1 week)
  • Finalize contract (1 week)

Based on our time projections, the process of selecting a catering company will take a total of nine weeks. By working backwards you can determine when you need to start on this particular step.

4. Map out dependencies and sequence of steps

As you’re running a project, some steps can be worked on simultaneously—especially if different teammates are responsible for each of the overlapping tasks. However, others cannot be started or completed until another step is finished. In other words, some steps are dependent on others getting completed first. This is one of the many reasons why a timeline is so important. Visually seeing each step, how they overlap, and the amount of time each one takes will keep you on course.

This is also the time to figure out who’s responsible for each step. Assigning who’s responsible for what to every part of the project early on will help you spot and adjust timing or resource conflicts, and avoid future surprises and delays. In Step 6 you’ll learn how to share you project timeline with those involved, making responsibilities crystal clear.

One of the tasks for our example event is to send out invitations. While this particular step seems like an easy one, there are several other things that need to happen before we can even think about sending invitations. The invites must be designed, and we can’t design them until a theme has been chosen for our event. One task needs to occur before another starts. For example:

Event theme (Event Planning team) → Design concepts (Linda) → Choose design (Event Planning team) → Create invitation (Linda) → Send invitations (Tara)

It’s worth the time to map out each dependency and the sequence (or order) of each task. You’ll quickly start to see your project puzzle coming together. Deciding who will do what is critical as well. Who will be working on finalizing the event theme? Who will design the invitations?

The good news is the invitation process and catering selections can be happening at the same time (which will be shown on our project timeline).

5. Draw your timeline

Are you beginning to visualize what your project timeline could look like? While it’s not practical to keep that image (and all those tasks and due dates) in your head, it is realistic to get them down on paper (or on screen). Your first instinct might be to open up an Excel spreadsheet or powerpoint— but wait. Since neither were designed to plan or manage projects, you’ll run into some challenges you could avoid by choosing a better tool.

Instead, opt for a project management tool that’s designed to build and manage project timelines—like Asana. Not only will it save you time drawing your timeline (since you won’t have to attempt to hack merge cells and add formulas to turn a spreadsheet into a project timeline), it will allow you to continue managing your timeline after the project kickoff. Dedicated project management tools allow you to easily adapt your timeline as you work, and update your stakeholders on changes and progress.

With the right tool, your timeline will be tied to your underlying work and will always stay up to date. It can be the difference between a project running on track and one going haywire.

How to draw a timeline in Asana

Use Asana’s Timeline feature to create your own project schedule:

  1. Enter all of your project steps as tasks in a list
  2. Add start and end dates to each task
  3. Add a task owner for each one
  4. Draw dependencies between tasks
  5. Click on “Timeline” view to see your list translated into a visual timeline.

Event appreciation timeline in Asana

Tip: If you’ve already created your plan in a spreadsheet, you can quickly import it into Asana using our CSV importer integration, and skip to step four.

Project timeline templates to get you started

The easiest way to set up a project timeline quickly, is to start with a project template. Below are a couple of project templates by Asana you can use now. Each project starts as a list view, but you can click the “Timeline” tab to convert it into a Timeline:

6. Share it with stakeholders

Remember when you added a list of all project stakeholders to your brief at the very beginning of this process? Now that you’ve built your timeline it’s important to share it with everyone involved. We can promise they will be thrilled to see how clear your plan is. The easier you make their part of the project, the more kudos will be coming your way throughout the process.

When you use a project management tool to build your timeline, sharing it is quick and seamless. Forget emails and multiple docs—in no time, your stakeholders will know who’s doing what by when.

For the client appreciation event, we will want to share our timeline with everyone involved in the entire project, not just those who have immediate responsibilities. At any time someone will be able to track their part of the project and its dependencies.

7. Manage and adapt: Tips for using your project timeline after project kickoff

If you’ve ever worked on any project, you know things don’t always go as planned. However, when you’re prepared to adapt, changes don’t seem so difficult to handle. Timelines aren’t just great for planning; they will also help you adjust as delays inevitably happen.

Moving tasks around doesn’t have to be daunting or disrupt the entire project. If one part of the project runs into a delay, as the project owner, you will have clarity on the impact of the rest of the project. Then, you’ll be empowered to move things around accordingly so the overall project can still move forward productively.

Adapt with Timeline

As The Balance Careers notes, project changes can be managed within their own specific steps, but once the change is final, it’s time to update your timeline. Because timelines go out of date quickly when plans change, relying on a project management tool, rather than email or spreadsheets, offers a major benefit. As the project owner, it’s your responsibility to communicate to all stakeholders what the single source of truth is (your timeline) and make sure it’s always updated.

  • Take immediate action. As soon as the change is confirmed, update your timeline to reflect it.
  • Notify stakeholders. Anyone that is affected by the change to your project timeline should understand how it impacts them and be able to visually see the change on the project timeline
  • Determine the impact. Once your timeline is updated, you’ll be able to see if there are time periods that are overcrowded and stakeholders that have too many tasks. Can you move a task to ensure more time? Can someone else take over that responsibility?

To wrap up our event example, let’s say you managed to choose a caterer for the client appreciation dinner ahead of schedule. You’re about to finalize the contract when a call comes in that the catering company double-booked themselves. Unfortunately, you must find a new catering company.

We can use our timeline to adjust the schedule (and anything or anyone that is impacted by this change). The positive part of this challenge is that we’ve already gone through several of the initial tasks and can see that reflected on the timeline. While this is a frustrating problem, it feels more manageable because our timeline has kept us organized and on track.

Common questions about project timelines

Knowing how to create a well-organized project timeline is a great first step towards understanding how to utilize this powerful tool, but you may still have a few more questions. You’re not alone. Here are answers to a couple common questions people have about project timelines:

What’s the difference between a timeline and a Gantt chart?

Gantt charts focus more on workflow and task dependencies. They are more linear and don’t account for changes or multiple things happening at once. Timelines are flexible and adapt easily to changes in project plans. They allow the workflow to be updated effortlessly. Both serve as visual tools.

How can you track project progress, especially if you’re managing multiple?

Project portfolio for managing multiple projects

This is tough to do in spreadsheets, but easier in a project management tool. There are multiple views to be able to see one project at a time, or you can manage multiple projects through a portfolio-style view.

In other words, you can visualize when you’ll have more time to work on specific tasks and when you’re at capacity, then can adjust as needed to even out your team’s workload.

Create your next project timeline confidently

It’s not enough to just come up with a project plan. Determining how to execute it is just as important. Developing a timeline or schedule of how the plan will evolve is critical to the planning phase, and also makes managing the project more efficient.

Using this step-by-step process for every project management timeline will keep you on task and less stressed. Try it out, adapt it to your business, and share it!

To take your project timelines even further, create your next timeline using Asana.

Create your next project timeline with Asana.