建立專案排程,讓工作更輕鬆的方法

Molly Talbert 撰稿人特寫照片Molly TalbertJuly 29th, 202000
facebooktwitterlinkedin
建立專案排程,讓工作更輕鬆的方法 - 標題圖像

工作上的新專案通常標誌著另一場冒險的開端,其中充滿各種專案關係人、截止日期、可交付項目和工具。無論您的專案是為了新產品的發表、供應商活動、年度編輯行事曆,甚至是員工的到職,您都需要一份專案排程幫助您實現目標。

清晰的計劃、流程和責任歸屬對於團隊的順利進展至關重要,建立一份包含上述重點的專案排程,您將對專案的人、事、物有清楚的掌握,並了解專案的各個部分如何彼此連結。雖然事前準備需要花一些時間,但是一份優秀的專案排程表將可提升效率、權責和明晰度。這三點對任何人來說都是佳音,尤其是將此專案交付予您的上司。您還能夠減少使用那些原本應該助您管理專案,實際上卻使過程變得更加困難的工具

在您的名片上,名字下方的職稱或許不是專案經理,但您知道嗎?對於這項專案,以及未來您將會遇到的其他許多專案而言,專案經理就是您實際上扮演的角色。欣然地接受它吧!當您學會向專案經理一樣思考時,您將會重新定義您的工作開展方式。

下載報告:工作管理的投資報酬率 (ROI)

建立專案排程的方法

現在您已經準備好且願意擔任專案經理,是時候開始規劃和草擬專案排程了。由於您可能對專案管理排程的流程有些陌生,這裡列舉了一些您可以在建構專案計劃時採取的步驟:

  1. 定義您的專案目標。寫下最終能促成專案成功的關鍵里程碑或可交付項目。

  2. 確認所有專案關係人。制定一份清單,並列舉每一位參與專案的人員。就算某位專案參與者的角色只是簽核,仍須名列其中。

  3. 確認您的最終期限。最後,您需要在何時完全完成此專案呢?請確保預留給自己足夠的時間處理衝突。無庸置疑,衝突總是會出現的。

  4. 列舉每一個步驟或任務。請將步驟 1 中定義的里程碑和可交付項目分解為較小型的任務和子任務,確保所有基礎項目都包括於其中。

  5. 為每一個任務指派負責的團隊成員。請決定每個任務和子任務的執行者,並清楚定出任務的截止日期。請記住,您的同事很可能正同時進行其他專案。請留意他們的工作負荷,以免發生過勞。

  6. 逆向操作替每一個任務設定截止日期。由於工作的延誤無可避免,因此需要了解每個任務的所需時長 (即開始和結束的日期)。考慮任務的排序非常重要,因為有些特定的任務需要率先完成,另一些任務才能接著開始。

  7. 在單一工具中整理您的專案排程,並與團隊分享。您已經成功建立了一份專案計劃,現在必須將計劃組織起來,使每位參與者都能查看並據以執行他們的工作。尋找能助您同時實現兩者的工具將對您的成功至關重要。

一旦制定了詳細的專案排程,您親自執行專案管理的時間便會減少,且您 (和您的團隊) 都會有更多時間可以投入有品質的工作。這不就是您居此職位的終極理由嗎?

專案排程範例

在實行以上步驟後,您就會擁有一份清晰的排程表,用以指明專案的排程和各個步驟。以下是一些可能的使用範例:

活動策劃排程範例

要規劃一場線上活動嗎?您的專案排程需要在這個大日子來臨之前,列出所有需要完成的事項,以及完成的時間。

Asana 小提示:使用專案管理範本快速開始您的下一個活動計劃。

產品發佈排程範例

藉由可視化所有專案步驟及專案相依性,您便可以替下一個新產品建立工作的分解結構。接著,在同一個易於分享的專案中檢視這些步驟,即可使您的團隊進展順利。

Asana 小提示:使用範本快速開始您的下一次產品發佈。

行銷活動排程範例

利用專案計劃替專案的每一項任務進行排程,讓您切確掌握行銷活動中每天將進行的事項。

Asana 小提示:使用範本快速開始您的下一個行銷活動。

完成專案排程後的下一步

專案時間軸的目的是以更有效率的方式完成更多工作。查看專案的整體情形並制定深思熟慮的計劃,可以替您減低壓力並提升生產力。在您的計劃完成之後,還有兩個重要的步驟需要執行。

與您的團隊分享專案排程

透過分享專案排程,團隊成員可以清楚理解其專案職責,且有機會就所負責的計劃部分提出見解。請先開始傳送專案排程給每位參與者,並徵求特定的回饋,例如問題、顧慮或想法。

為了維持條理,請提供一個訊息集中處,用以傳遞各種回應、給定確切的工作截止日期,並促進團隊成員的及時行動。在收集所有回饋後,請更新專案時間軸,並重新分享給所有的專案關係人。此外,也請確保所有重要的專案規劃文件 (例如專案簡報和執行摘要) 都有包含您的專案排程。

隨著專案進展調整您的排程

古希臘時期,Heraclitus 在思考什麼是唯一不變的事物時,發現唯一恆久不變的就是「變化」本身。您的專案計劃也是持續在變動的。在啟動專案後,請記得定期檢查排程。若出現意料之外的情況,可依據需要加以調整。

請在一處集中的位置管理您的專案排程和所有專案資產,使每個人都擁有一個單一的事實來源,並確保所有人皆使用最新版本的專案排程。

提升效率:將計劃和排程轉換為範本

若要節省更多規劃專案的時間,可以使用經過驗證的專案範本。如此一來,每當啟動新專案時,就不需要再從頭編寫計劃。

若您現有的專案是廠商博覽會之類的年度活動,那麽現在就可以輕鬆制訂一份扎實的專案排程,以便當作下次活動的排程範本。您手上還有哪些專案每次都需要經過相同的流程呢?例如,您的廠商博覽會可能與今年稍後要主持的線上客戶午餐會有一些相似的任務。有了專案排程範本,您就可以更快速且高效地發佈未來的專案了。

應該在何處制定專案排程?

若您實際擔任專案經理一職,也開始透過制定專案排程更有效地完成工作,是時候升級使用多合一工具了 (沒錯,這種工具確實存在)。

藉助工作管理工具,您便可以建立動態的專案排程以及直觀的甘特圖式時間軸,使所有專案關係人都能清楚查看專案的每個階段。和那些欠缺連結的電子郵件、試算表和圖表們說再見吧!

在一處集中的系統中制定並管理您的專案排程,能讓您建立起專案的每一個步驟並判定其執行時間。您可以使用專案行事曆建立任務及子任務,並將之指派給適合的人員。若您需要調整專案計劃,可以在工具中快速變更,而且所有專案關係人都會收到通知。排程表的不同檢視可以迎合各種工作和學習風格,且因為您可以隨時掌握專案的人、事、時,故您的工作流程將得以完美地匯整。

閱讀:運用 Asana 建立自己的團隊和專案行事曆

藉助專案排程,更智慧地工作

恭喜!身為真正的專案經理,您已經踏上聰明工作之路。您已經具備適當的心態和步驟,可以開始改造您的專案流程,使其煥然一新。您可以藉助像 Asana 這類的工作管理解決方案,實現上述所有 (和更多) 的功能。它就是促成您專案成功的多合一工具。祝規劃愉快!

相關資源

文章

Product development process: The 6 stages (with examples)

How to create project timelines and schedules, to make work easier

Project timelines
  • In this article, you’ll learn:
    • A process for creating project timelines
    • Examples of project timelines
    • Tips for keeping your schedule on track once it’s done
    • Ways to be even more efficient with templates and tools

A new project at work often signals the beginning of another adventure filled with stakeholders, deadlines, deliverables, and tools. But whether your project is a new product launch, a vendor event, the annual editorial calendar, or even employee onboarding, you’ll need a timeline to get you there.

Empowering yourself to create a project schedule with clear plans, processes, and responsibilities is essential to keep your team on track, know who’s doing what by when, and see how all the pieces connect. While it may take some time up front, a well-done project schedule will increase efficiency, accountability, and clarity. And those three words are music to everyone’s ears (especially your boss who entrusted this project to you). You’ll also be able to cut back on the tools that are supposed to help you manage a project but are actually making the process harder.

Your business card may not have the title project manager under your name, but guess what? For this project, and many you’ll encounter in the future, that’s your de facto role. Embrace it! When you learn to think like a project manager, you’ll be on your way to making work work again.

How to create project timelines

Now that you’re ready and willing to move ahead as a project manager, it’s time to start planning and draft a project timeline. Since the project scheduling process may feel a bit foreign to you, here is a list of steps you can take as you build your project timeline:

  1. Define your project goals. Write down what your key milestones or deliverables are that will make this project successful in the end.
  2. Identify all stakeholders. Make a list of every person that needs to be involved in your project, even if their role is a simple sign-off.
  3. Determine your final deadline. Ultimately, when do you need to be completely finished with the project? Be sure to give yourself enough time to account for conflicts that, no doubt, will come your way.
  4. List each step or task. Take those milestones and deliverables you defined in Step 1 and break them down into smaller tasks and subtasks to be sure all bases are covered.
  5. Assign a team member responsible for each task. Decide who will take on each task and subtask, and be transparent with deadlines. Remember that your colleagues likely have other projects going on at the same time. Be mindful of their workload so they don’t feel overloaded.
  6. Work backward to set due dates for each task. Figure out how long each task will take to complete (its start and end date), knowing that delays are inevitable. Sequencing is important to consider as well since certain tasks will need to be finished before another can start.
  7. Organize it in one tool, and share it with your team. You’ve successfully built your project timeline and now it’s important to organize it in a way that everyone involved can see and work from it. Finding a tool that can help you do both will be critical to your success.

Once you have a detailed project schedule in place, your hands-on project management time will decrease, and you (and your team) will have more hours in the day to spend on quality work. Ultimately, isn’t that why you were hired?

Examples of a project timeline

Once you’ve followed all of the above steps, you will have a clear timeline that outlines your project’s schedule and steps. Below are a few examples of what these might look like:

Event planning timeline example

Planning an event? Your timeline will map out everything that needs to get done, and when, before your big day.

Example of a project timeline, event planning

Asana tip: Get a jump start on your next event plan with a template.

Product launch timeline example

For your next new product, map out all of your steps and dependencies, then view them in one, easy-to-share timeline to keep your team on track.

Example of a project timeline, mobile app

Asana tip: Get a jump start on your next product launch with a template.

Marketing campaign timeline example

Know exactly what’s going on at any given date in your marketing campaign with a timeline that schedules out every piece:

Example of a project timeline, marketing campaigns

Asana tip: Get a jump start on your next marketing campaign with a template.

What to do with your completed timeline or schedule

The purpose of a project timeline is to get more work done, more efficiently. Seeing the overall picture of your project and creating a well-thought-out plan means less stress and more productivity. Once you’ve completed your timeline, there are two more essential steps to take.

Share it with your team

By sharing your timeline, team members will clearly understand their responsibilities for the project and have an avenue to give insights on their pieces of the plan. Start by sending the project schedule to everyone involved and ask for specific feedback (questions, concerns, or ideas).

Stay organized by offering a central location to deliver all responses and give a firm deadline to promote timely action from team members. Once you’ve collected all feedback, create an updated version of the project timeline and re-share it with all stakeholders.

Adapt it as you go

Heraclitus was on to something in ancient Greece when he mused that the only thing that is constant is change. That goes for your project timeline as well. Once you’ve kicked off the project, make sure you’re checking on your timeline consistently. Adapt it as necessary when unforeseen circumstances arise.

Managing your project schedule, and all project assets, in a central location will help everyone have a single source of truth and ensure the most updated version of the timeline is being used.

Improve efficiency: Turn your timelines and schedules into templates

To save even more time planning projects, use a proven template and stop reinventing the wheel every time you press “Go” on a new project.

If your current project is an annual event—say, a vendor expo—then it’s a no-brainer to get a solid project schedule in place now, so you can build off it for the next one. And what other projects do you work on that go through the same process each time? For example, your vendor expo might share comparable tasks with the client luncheon you are hosting later this year. Having a project timeline template means you’ll be able to launch future projects faster and more efficiently.

What tools to use to make a project timeline or schedule

If you’re embracing a new role as a de facto project manager—as well a more efficient way to approach your work by creating project timelines—it’s probably time to upgrade to all-in-one tool, too. (Yes, these exist!)

Work management tools are available to help you build dynamic project timelines (and so much more) that provide clear visibility at all stages and to all stakeholders. Say so long to email, spreadsheets, and chats that don’t talk to each other.

Developing and managing your project timeline in a centralized system allows you to create each step and determine its duration, build tasks and subtasks, and assign them to the appropriate person. As you need to adjust your timeline, you can quickly make the change in the tool and all stakeholders will be notified. Different views of your timeline accommodates all work and learning styles and your workflows will come together seamlessly because you’ll always know who’s doing what by when.

Work smarter, with timelines and schedules

Congratulations, de facto project manager, you’re on the road to working smarter. You have the mindset and the steps you need to start revamping—revitalizing—your process for projects. You can do all of the above (and more) with a work management solution like Asana. Consider it your all-in-one tool for project success. Happy planning!

Start creating project timelines in Asana today.