Wie Projektzeitleisten und -zeitpläne zur Erleichterung der Arbeit erstellt werden

Ein neues Geschäftsprojekt kennzeichnet oft den Beginn eines neuen Abenteuers mit verschiedenen Beteiligten, Fristen, Zielvorgaben und Tools. Egal, ob es sich bei Ihrem Projekt um eine neue Produkteinführung, ein Event, den jährlichen Redaktionskalender oder sogar um die Einführung neuer Mitarbeiter handelt – Sie benötigen fast immer einen Zeitplan, um das Projekt zu realisieren.

Ein solcher Projektzeitplan enthält klare Arbeitsschritte, Prozesse und eindeutige Verantwortlichkeiten, damit Ihr Team stets nach Plan vorgeht und immer darüber informiert ist, wer was bis wann erledigt und wie alle Vorgänge miteinander zusammenhängen. Auch wenn es im Vorfeld einige Zeit in Anspruch nehmen kann, steigert ein gut ausgearbeiteter Projektplan die Effizienz, Zuverlässigkeit und Klarheit des Projektes. Und diese drei Begriffe sind Musik in jedermanns Ohren (besonders für Ihren Chef, der Ihnen die Projekte anvertraut). Infolgedessen können Sie auch die Anzahl der Tools reduzieren, die Ihnen bei der Verwaltung eines Projekts helfen sollen, aber den Prozess in Wirklichkeit verkomplizieren.

Ihre Visitenkarte zeigt vielleicht nicht den Titel eines Projektleiters unter Ihrem Namen, aber in Realität ist es genau die Rolle, die Sie bei vielen Projekten in Zukunft übernehmen werden. Seien Sie stolz darauf! Wenn Sie lernen, wie ein Projektmanager zu denken, erfüllen Sie alle Voraussetzungen, um Ihre Arbeit erfolgreich auszuführen.

[Bericht herunterladen: Der ROI von Work Management]

So erstellen Sie Projektzeitpläne

Da Sie nun schon gedanklich auf Ihre Rolle als Projektmanager eingestellt sind, ist es an der Zeit, mit der Planung zu beginnen und einen Projektzeitplan zu erstellen. Falls Sie mit dem Projektplanungsprozess noch etwas unvertraut sind, finden Sie hier eine Liste von Schritten, die Sie beim Erstellen Ihres Projektzeitplans befolgen können:

  1. Projektziele definieren. Schreiben Sie auf, was Ihre wichtigsten Meilensteine oder gewünschten Ergebnisse sind, die dieses Projekt am Ende zum Erfolg führen.
  2. Alle Beteiligten identifizieren. Erstellen Sie eine Liste aller Personen, die an Ihrem Projekt beteiligt sein müssen. Das betrifft auch Personen, deren Funktion lediglich darin besteht, etwas zu genehmigen.
  3. Projektfrist festlegen. Zu wann muss das Projekt vollständig abgeschlossen sein? Planen Sie genügend Zeit für auftretende Schwierigkeiten ein, die Ihnen mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit früher oder später begegnen werden.
  4. Alle Schritte und Aufgaben auflisten. Nehmen Sie die in Schritt 1 definierten Meilensteine und angestrebten Ergebnisse und teilen Sie sie in kleinere Aufgaben und Unteraufgaben ein. Auf diese Weise gehen Sie sicher, dass alle grundlegenden Schritte bedacht wurden.
  5. Allen Aufgaben eine verantwortliche Person zuweisen. Entscheiden Sie, wer welche Aufgabe und Unteraufgabe übernimmt, und sorgen Sie dafür, dass alle gleichermaßen über die entsprechenden Fristen informiert sind. Bedenken Sie, dass Ihre Kollegen wahrscheinlich zur gleichen Zeit auch an anderen Projekten arbeiten. Berücksichtigen Sie bei der Zuweisung deshalb das Arbeitspensum Ihrer Kollegen, damit sie sich nicht überlastet fühlen.
  6. Fälligkeitstermine für jede Aufgabe beginnend von der Projektfrist rückwärts festlegen. Geben Sie an, wie lange die Fertigstellung einer jeden Aufgabe dauern wird (ihr Start- und Enddatum), und beachten Sie dabei, dass sich Verzögerungen oftmals nicht vermeiden lassen. Auch die Abfolge ist wichtig und zu berücksichtigen, da bestimmte Aufgaben erledigt sein müssen, bevor andere beginnen können.
  7. Organisieren Sie Ihren Projektzeitplan in einem Tool und teilen Sie ihn mit Ihrem Team. Nachdem Sie Ihren Projektzeitplan erfolgreich erstellt haben, ist es wichtig, dass alle Beteiligten Einsicht erhalten und Aufgaben bearbeiten können. Die Suche nach einem Tool, das Ihnen beides ermöglicht, ist ausschlaggebend für den Erfolg Ihrer Projekte.

Sobald Sie einen detaillierten Projektzeitplan erstellt haben, wird sich Ihre praktische Projektmanagement-Arbeitszeit deutlich verringern. Dadurch haben Sie (und Ihr Team) mehr Stunden am Tag, die Sie für Qualitätsarbeit aufwenden können. Dafür wurden Sie schließlich ursprünglich eingestellt, nicht wahr?

Beispiele für Projektzeitpläne

Wenn Sie alle oben genannten Schritte durchgeführt haben, steht Ihnen eine übersichtliche Zeitleiste zur Verfügung, die den Zeitplan und die einzelnen Schritte Ihres Projekts darstellt. Nachfolgend finden Sie einige Beispiele, wie diese aussehen könnten:

Beispiel eine Zeitleiste zur Eventplanung

Planen Sie eine virtuelle Veranstaltung? Ihr Zeitplan zeigt Ihnen alles, was wann vor dem großen Tag zu erledigen ist.

Beispiel für eine Projektzeitleiste, Eventplanung

Asana-Tipp: Verschaffen Sie sich mit einer Projektmanagement-Vorlage zur Eventplanung eine Starthilfe für Ihre nächste Veranstaltung.

-Beispiel einer Zeitleiste für eine Produkteinführung

Erstellen Sie für Ihr nächstes neues Produkt einen Projektstrukturplan, indem Sie alle wichtigen Arbeitsschritte sowie alle Abhängigkeiten erfassen. Sie können sie dann in einer einzigen, für alle einfach zugänglichen Zeitleiste einsehen. Damit verläuft die Arbeit Ihres Teams stets nach Plan.

Beispiel einer Projektzeitleiste, mobile App

Asana-Tipp: Beginnen Sie Ihre nächste Produkteinführung mit einer Vorlage.

-Beispiel einer Zeitleiste für eine Marketingkampagne

Mit einem Projektplan, der jeden Vorgang zeitlich auflistet, wissen Sie genau, was an einem bestimmten Datum in Ihrer Marketingkampagne vor sich geht:

Beispiel für eine Projektzeitleiste, Marketingkampagne

Asana-Tipp: Beginnen Sie Ihre nächste Marketingkampagne mit einer Vorlage.

Ihr Projektzeitplan steht. So geht’s weiter:

Der Zweck einer Projekt-Zeitleiste besteht darin, mehr Arbeit effizienter zu erledigen. Indem Sie das Gesamtbild Ihres Projekts im Blick haben und einen gut durchdachten Plan erstellen, haben Sie weniger Stress und sind produktiver. Wenn Ihr Zeitplan schließlich feststeht, sind noch zwei weitere wichtige Schritte zu unternehmen.

Teilen Sie den Zeitplan mit Ihrem Team

Durch die gemeinsame Nutzung Ihres Zeitplans sind allen Teammitgliedern ihre Verantwortlichkeiten für das Projekt klar. Außerdem haben sie so die Möglichkeit, Informationen über ihren Projektabschnitt bereitzustellen. Beginnen Sie damit, den Projektplan an alle Beteiligten zu senden und bitten Sie um spezifisches Feedback (Fragen, Bedenken oder Ideen).

Bleiben Sie organisiert, indem Sie alle Rückmeldungen an einem zentralen Ort erfassen und dafür allen eine feste Frist setzen, damit sich Ihre Teammitglieder rechtzeitig zu Wort melden. Sobald Sie alle Rückmeldungen gesammelt haben, erstellen Sie eine aktualisierte Version des Projektzeitplans und teilen Sie diesen abermals mit allen Beteiligten.

Passen Sie Ihren Plan während der Umsetzung an

Heraklit wusste schon im antiken Griechenland, dass das einzig Beständige der Wandel ist. Das gilt auch für den Zeitplan Ihres Projekts. Wenn Sie mit dem Projekt angefangen haben, achten Sie darauf, Ihren Zeitplan laufend zu überprüfen. Nehmen Sie bei Bedarf Änderungen vor, wenn unvorhergesehene Umstände eintreten.

Die Verwaltung Ihres Projektzeitplans und aller Projektmaterialien an einem zentralen Ort ermöglicht allen Beteiligten eine einzige Informationsquelle und sorgt dafür, dass stets die aktuellste Version der Zeitleiste verwendet wird.

Effizienz steigern: Erstellen Sie Vorlagen aus Ihren Zeitleisten und Zeitplänen

Um noch mehr Zeit bei der Planung von Projekten zu sparen, verwenden Sie bewährte Vorlagen. Dadurch müssen Sie das Rad nicht jedes Mal neu erfinden, wenn Sie ein neues Projekt starten.

Wenn Ihr aktuelles Projekt ein jährliches Event ist – sagen wir, eine Anbieter-Expo – sollten Sie einen soliden Projektzeitplan aufstellen, auf dem Sie das nächste Mal aufbauen können. An welchen anderen Projekten arbeiten Sie noch, die jedes Mal den gleichen Prozess durchlaufen? Zum Beispiel könnten sich einige Aufgaben Ihrer Anbieter-Expo mit denen Ihres virtuellen Kundenmittagessen-Events überschneiden, das Sie später in diesem Jahr veranstalten. Eine Vorlage für den Projektzeitplan bedeutet, dass Sie zukünftige Projekte schneller und effizienter beginnen können.

Wann sollten Sie einen Projektzeitplan erstellen?

Wenn Sie neue Verantwortlichkeiten übernehmen und sozusagen als Projektmanager handeln, dann sind Sie darauf angewiesen, effizient zu arbeiten und Projektzeitpläne zu erstellen. Das ist der Moment, an dem sich der Umstieg auf ein All-in-One-Tool lohnt. (Ja, solche Tools gibt es!)

Work Management Tools bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, dynamische Projektzeitpläne (und vieles mehr) zu erstellen. Diese sorgen dafür, dass alle Beteiligten in allen Projektphasen Einblick in die Geschehnisse haben. Auf diese Weise können Sie sich von E-Mails, Tabellen und Chats verabschieden, die nicht untereinander verknüpft sind und keine einheitliche Kommunikation ermöglichen.

Durch die Erstellung und Verwaltung Ihres Projektzeitplans in einem zentralen System können Sie jeden nötigen Arbeitsschritt erfassen und seine Dauer mit einem Projektkalender bestimmen, Aufgaben und Unteraufgaben erstellen sowie die verantwortliche Person festlegen. Wenn Sie Ihren Projektplan anpassen müssen, lassen sich die Änderungen schnell im Tool vornehmen und alle Beteiligten werden automatisch benachrichtigt. Die unterschiedlichen Ansichten Ihres Zeitplans passen sich allen Arbeits- und Lernstilen an und Ihre Workflows laufen reibungslos ab, da Sie immer wissen, wer was bis wann erledigt.

[Lesenswert: Erstellen Sie Ihre eigenen Team- und Projektkalender]

Intelligenter arbeiten – mit Projektzeitplänen

Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Sie sind nun (sozusagen) Projektleiter und gleichzeitig auf dem besten Weg, intelligenter zu arbeiten. Sie haben die richtige Einstellung und wissen jetzt, worauf es ankommt, um Ihrem Projektmanagement-Prozess neuen Wind einzuhauchen und diesen effizienter zu gestalten. All das (und noch viel mehr) erhalten Sie mit einer Work-Management-Lösung wie Asana. Betrachten Sie Asana als Ihr All-in-One-Tool für den Erfolg Ihres Projektes. Viel Spaß bei der Planung!

Beginnen Sie noch heute mit der Erstellung von Projektzeitplänen in Asana.

Weitere Materialien von Asana

Project Schedules 101: Why You Need Them and How to Make Your Own

Molly Talbert contributor headshotMolly TalbertJuly 27th, 20224 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
How to create project schedules to make work easier article banner image
Try Asana now

Summary

It’s harder to lose sight of deadlines and goals when they’re right in front of you. Project schedules map your project tasks on a timeline, so you always know what comes next. In this article, we’ll walk you through the seven steps to create a project schedule and share some of our favorite templates to get you started.

A new project at work often signals the beginning of another adventure filled with stakeholders, deadlines, deliverables, and tools. But whether your project is a new product launch, a vendor event, the annual editorial calendar, or even employee onboarding, you’ll need a project schedule to get you there.

Empowering yourself to create a project schedule with clear plans, processes, and responsibilities is essential to keep your team on track, know who’s doing what by when, and see how all the pieces connect. While it may take some time up front, a well-done project schedule will increase efficiency, accountability, and clarity. And those three words are music to everyone’s ears (especially your boss who entrusted this project to you). You’ll also be able to cut back on the tools that are supposed to help you manage a project but are actually making the process harder.

Your business card may not have the title project manager under your name, but guess what? For this project, and many you’ll encounter in the future, that’s your de facto role. Embrace it! When you learn to think like a project manager, you’ll be on your way to making work work again.

What is a project schedule?

A project schedule provides a general overview of your project, including the timeline, project tasks, dependencies, and assigned team members. Essentially, a project schedule should be able to tell you everything you need to know about your project at first glance. By outlining all the high-level details and components of your project, you can track project progress in real-time and ensure that you’re on track for success. 

Connecting the dots of your project schedule

Often, project managers use a work breakdown structure (WBS) to bring the project schedule to life. Work breakdown structures help you coordinate work and assign it to team members. The WBS is a visual hierarchy of your task list, broken down into task dependencies so you can see how each one relates. The first level will have the parent task, the next level would be dependent tasks on those, and so on.

Levels of a work breakdown structure

7 steps to create a project schedule

When you begin planning and drafting your project schedule, you want to include all project activities. At first, the project management scheduling process may feel a bit foreign to you—that’s normal! By following these steps, you can get more comfortable creating your own process for project schedule development, and use it every time you plan a project.

  1. Define your project goals. Write down key milestones or deliverables that will make this project successful in the end.

  2. Identify all stakeholders. Make a list of every person that needs to interact with the project team, even if their role is a simple sign-off.

  3. Determine your final deadline. Decide when you need to be completely finished with the project. Be sure to give yourself enough time to account for conflicts or changes that might come up later during schedule management.

  4. List each step or task.Take those milestones and deliverables you defined in the first step and break them down into smaller tasks and subtasks to be sure all bases are covered.

  5. Assign a team member responsible for each task. Decide who will take on each task and subtask, and be transparent with deadlines. Remember that your colleagues likely have other projects going on at the same time. Be mindful of their workload so they don’t feel overloaded.

  6. Work backward to set due dates for each task. Figure out how long each task will take to complete (its start and end date), knowing that delays are inevitable. Sequencing is important to consider as well since certain tasks will need to be finished before another can start.

  7. Organize your project schedule in one tool, and share it with your team.

    You’ve successfully built your project plan and now it’s important to organize it in a way that everyone involved can see and work from it. Finding a tool that can help you do both will be critical to your success.

Once you have a detailed project schedule in place, your hands-on project management time will decrease, and you (and your team) will have more hours in the day to spend on quality work. 

Create a project schedule template

Using the critical path method to create project schedules

The critical path methodology is designed to help you create a roadmap of the specific tasks that get you from point A (the beginning of the project) to project completion. With the CPM, you identify the most important (critical) tasks, their dependencies, and a timeline for when they need to be completed for the project to be considered successful.

Critical path method: How to use CPM for project management

Project schedule examples

Once you’ve followed all of the above steps, you will have a clear schedule that outlines your project’s schedule and steps. Below are a few examples of what these might look like:

Event planning schedule example

Planning a virtual event? Your schedule will map out everything that needs to get done, and when, before your big day.

[Product UI] Event planning project example (Timeline)

Free event planning template

Product launch schedule example

For your next new product, create a work breakdown structure by mapping out all of your steps and dependencies, then view them in one, easy-to-share project to keep your team on track.

[Product UI] Product marketing launch project in Asana (timeline view)

Free product launch template

Marketing campaign schedule example

Know exactly what’s going on at any given date in your marketing campaign with a project plan that schedules out every piece:

[Product UI] Marketing campaign plan project in Asana, spreadsheet-style view with project deliverables (Lists)
Free campaign management template

How is a project schedule used in project management?

Your project schedule impacts project execution. During project management, you can use your project schedule to ensure that you’re hitting key deadlines and staying on track. Project schedules also help inform project management processes and planning, including:

  • Project scope: By defining your project scope, you can ensure that you have the proper resource allocation for a certain project—such as time, budget, and staffing. You can then apply your scope to your project schedule to help you determine the timeline.

  • Resource management: Part of project management is ensuring that you have the resource availability to get from the start date to the finish date. Your project schedule will help you stay on deadline, preventing scope creep that can lead to potential overspending and overworking the team.

Next steps after you complete your project schedule

The purpose of a project timeline is to get more work done, more efficiently. Seeing the overall picture of your project and creating a well-thought-out plan means less stress and more productivity. Once you’ve completed your plan, there are two more essential steps to take.

Share it with your team

By sharing your project schedule, team members will clearly understand their responsibilities for the project and have an avenue to give insights on their pieces of the plan. Start by sending the project schedule to everyone involved and ask for specific feedback (questions, concerns, or ideas).

Stay organized by offering a central location to deliver all responses and give a firm deadline to promote timely action from team members. Once you’ve collected all feedback, create an updated version of the project schedule and re-share it with all stakeholders. Additionally, make sure your project schedule is included in all of your important project planning documentation, like your project brief and executive summary.

Adapt it as you go

The only constant is change. That goes for your project plan as well. Once you’ve kicked off the project, make sure you’re checking on your schedule consistently. Build out a change management plan, so you can adapt your schedule when unforeseen circumstances arise.

Managing your project schedule, and all project assets, in a central location will help everyone have a single source of truth and ensure the most updated version of the project schedule is being used.

Improve efficiency: Turn your plans and schedules into templates

To save even more time planning projects, use a proven template and stop reinventing the wheel every time you press “Go” on a new project.

If your current project is an annual event—say, a vendor expo—then it’s a no-brainer to get a solid project schedule in place now, so you can build off it for the next one. And what other projects do you work on that go through the same process each time? For example, your vendor expo might share comparable tasks with the virtual client luncheon you are hosting later this year. Having a project schedule template means you’ll be able to launch future projects faster and more efficiently.

Create a project schedule template

Bringing your project schedule to life

It's one thing to map out your project timeline—but it's another to visualize that work in real-time. You've put in all of this time and effort into creating a project schedule, but the final step is using a tool to share it with your team. 

With a project scheduling tools, you can map out your entire project schedule in visual Gantt-chart like timelines, Kanban boards, or project calendars. Developing and managing your project schedule in a centralized system allows you to create each step and determine its duration with a project calendar, build tasks and subtasks, and assign them to the appropriate person.

As you need to adjust your project plan, you can quickly make changes in your project management software and all stakeholders will be notified. This gives your team clear visibility at all stages of the project workflow, on what’s happening and when. Ultimately, this helps you connect project deliverables with associated initiatives and reduce potential bottlenecks by keeping your whole project life cycle in view.

Work smarter, with project schedules

Project schedules keep you organized and on track—something every project manager (and their teams) can get behind.

You can do all of the above (and more) with a work management solution like Asana. It’s your all-in-one project scheduling software, with built in task management that allows you to do so much more with every project.

Create a project schedule template

Related resources

Article

If you like maximizing team impact, you’ll love resource allocation