甘特圖入門知識:繪制專案的完整指南

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJanuary 31st, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
甘特圖標題圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

甘特圖是一種水平長條圖,用以說明專案在其生命週期間的排程、相關任務或活動。瞭解甘特圖可以如何幫助您規劃任務並使交付項目順利進行。

您也許曾在工作空間或專案啟動會議中聽過甘特圖一詞。問題是,您不太確定何謂甘特圖、它如何有助於專案管理,或者該如何建立之。 

甘特圖可以做得相當複雜,但要掌握其基本概念並不難。在我們的指南中,您將會清楚瞭解甘特圖的組成結構、該在何時使用,以及有關建立甘特圖的技巧等。

什麼是甘特圖?

甘特圖是一種水平長條圖,用以說明專案的時間軸和任務。它能為您的團隊提供有關專案排程、將至里程碑和整體專案時間軸的視覺概覽。

甘特圖中的每一個水平長條都代表一個任務,長條的長度則代表該步驟或任務所需的時間。當您將甘特圖縮小以查看全貌時,它能提供專案經理和團隊一份概覽,顯示需要完成的工作有哪些、由誰負責以及何時進行。

甘特圖通常包含以下組成部份:

  • 任務日期與持續時間

  • 任務

  • 任務所有者

  • 里程碑

大多數甘特圖還能提供額外的情境資訊,說明專案任務相互連結的情形、指派對象是誰,以及有哪些將至的重要期限和里程碑。使用動態的甘特圖,隊友可迅速掌握他們負責的工作有哪些,並瞭解這些工作對專案整體的影響為何。

[時間軸檢視] 甘特圖專案,帶有相依性及截止日期的 Asana 時間軸檢視
利用 Asana 繪製專案時間軸

甘特圖的關鍵路徑

在建立甘特圖時,瞭解關鍵路徑所扮演的角色十分重要。關鍵路徑是一種降低專案延遲風險的方法,有助於防止個別任務導致後續任務延遲,從而延宕整個專案並可能錯過期限。

您可以使用甘特圖判斷有哪些任務是您必須完成,方能使整個專案獲致成功且準時完成,這就是關鍵路徑。

甘特圖歷史沿革

最早的甘特圖版本是由 Karol Adamiecki 在 1896 年所發明,他稱之為 harmonogram (諧波圖)。由於 Adamiecki 的成果是以俄文及波蘭文發表,因此很難遍及英語國家。1910 年,Henry Gantt (亨利甘特) 自行在美國推廣了類似的圖表,當時他設計該圖表來顯示工廠員工在某項任務上花費的時間長度。此後,這兩個圖表系統就漸漸融合成我們今天所知道的現代版甘特圖。

甘特圖原本用於追蹤工廠工人的任務,後來成為廣受歡迎的專案排程追蹤工具。起初,甘特圖是畫在紙上的,故只要排程改變了,圖就得重畫。後來,專案經理使用紙片或塊狀物來代表甘特圖的長條,這樣便可視需要加以移動。

甘特圖有哪些用途?

雖然您可以將甘特圖用於各種專案和計劃,但瞭解甘特圖的常見用途和其背後的原因會很有幫助:

  • 組建和管理複雜的專案:專案的規模愈大,就有愈多任務需要管理。甘特圖可協助專案經理輕鬆將專案可視化,並將其拆分為較小的任務。

  • 監控任務相依性:專案發生延遲是常有的事。甘特圖可幫助專案經理自動化任務相依性,這麼做可確保下一個階段或任務會等到前面的工作完成才開始。   

  • 掌握專案進度:甘特圖可供您監控進度和里程碑,讓您按需要輕鬆調整專案計劃。 

何時該使用甘特圖

以下是三種常見的甘特圖使用方式。

1. 規劃行銷活動

大型行銷活動需要大量協作與協調,此時容易發生無法追蹤所有變動事項的情況。甘特圖概述了一系列任務及其指派對象和所需時長,從而簡化此流程。這麼一來,團隊不僅可以知道誰負責什麼工作,還可瞭解自己的工作對其他人或大型目標所產生的影響。

2. 為客戶說明交付項目

甘特圖可幫助您向客戶展示所有交付項目的時間軸,並依據所需時長設定期望值。透過此方式說明計劃,可讓客戶清楚瞭解交付項目的範圍,以及完成每一個項目所需的時長,這樣他們不僅能知曉您交付項目的時間,也知曉您何時會執行工作。

3. 規劃產品發佈

對於產品發佈,您可以使用甘特圖,從構思到發佈及其他事項逐一說明整個計劃。使用甘特圖將這些內容可視化後,您可以在開始之前更輕鬆地指出衝突之處、看到各個步驟之間的相依性,並且對發佈前及發佈時的一切事項都能有清楚的概觀。

如何製作甘特圖

雖然每個甘特圖看起來都不盡相同,但無論您使用什麼軟體,都需要採取一些基本步驟才能起步。

1. 定義時間範圍

您的甘特圖應該呈現一個具開始及結束日期的專案。甘特圖若要在時間軸上呈現專案,那麼時間軸就會需要起始點及結束點。

提示:雖然所有專案都應具有明確的結束點,但您可能會在專案結束後與客戶進行一些額外的後續任務,故您需要為這些項目新增日期。

2. 新增具開始及結束日期的任務

在較宏觀的專案時間軸中,當任務具有明確的開始及結束日期,才能使用長條圖輕鬆將其可視化,甘特圖也才能發揮最大效用。若沒有添加開始日期,任務便會顯示為時刻點,這樣便很難在整個時間軸中以視覺化的方式具體呈現之。

提示:設定明確的開始和結束日期也可幫助您的團隊輕鬆瞭解何時應該開始執行任務。這樣一來,他們便不會不曉得某個大型專案明天就到期。

3. 明辨相依性

在大型專案中,有些任務自然必須等待其他任務先完成才能開始進行。為了使專案進展順利,並讓每個團隊都達致資訊同步,您可以在甘特圖中將任務之間的相依性可視化。

在以下的範例中,能否發佈產品的部落格貼文會取決於該篇貼文的審閱工作,而審閱工作又依賴於該篇貼文的撰寫工作。同樣地,團隊必須先編寫完電子郵件,才能發佈電子郵件宣傳活動。將這些任務之間的相依性繪製出來,可幫助接下來的團隊掌握他們在其專案階段中可以開始進行的工作。

甘特圖產品行銷發佈

4. 里程碑詳解

里程碑不同於甘特圖中大多數的任務,它是固定的時間點。請將里程碑視作檢查點,用以標示已完成的大量工作。它可以讓您的團隊瞭解需要優先處理的事項有哪些,並可在工作完成時作為慶賀的美好時刻。

提示:里程碑通常發生在專案階段結束時,但沒有一種單一方式可為您的團隊建立里程碑,尤其是因為每個團隊和專案看起來都不同。里程碑的範例可能如下所示:

  • 會議

  • 專案核准

  • 任務起始點

  • 階段中點查核

  • 階段完成點

5. 隨計劃變更修改工作內容

計劃的改變總是無可避免,這也是為什麼甘特圖軟體必須能夠配合您的需求。需要有一種能讓您輕鬆拖放任務、自動依據動作轉換相依性的工具。這樣,即使計劃發生變更,您仍然可以持續保持專案進展順利。

利用 Asana 繪製專案時間軸

甘特圖的優勢和不足

雖然甘特圖很有幫助,但並不一定適合每個專案。為了更加瞭解甘特圖 (相較於時間軸) 是否適合您和您的專案,請在開始建立甘特圖之前考慮以下幾點。

優點

  • 取得專案時間軸的鳥瞰檢視:甘特圖是您專案的藍圖。這個工具可幫助您追蹤各項里程碑應於何時達成,以及您達成里程碑的進度是否正常。由於甘特圖提供的是鳥瞰檢視,它是一個非常有用的工具,可向高階管理層或客戶展示以進行快速概覽。

  • 查看任務彼此連結的情形:透過添加每項任務的開始和完成日期並繪製相依性,您可將每項工作對另一項工作的影響可視化。這麼做有助於您在開始之前識別問題並解決相依性衝突。

  • 改善團隊的資源管理為每項工作添加所有者可以幫助您瞭解誰正在進行什麼工作、何時進行,以便更好地管理個別成員的工作負荷。由於所有內容都是依序繪製的,故您能夠查看個別隊友或團隊一次是否有太多事情要做,然後根據需要將任務重新指派或排程。

缺點

  • 設置更加耗時:制定甘特圖非常耗時,尤其當您使用的是 Microsoft Excel 試算表時更是如此。即便您使用了範本,仍可能需要進行調整和自訂,才能符合您團隊的特定需求。

  • 難以在您進行計劃處管理專案:傳統甘特圖在專案的規劃階段最有用。規劃好工作後,您可能需要使用不同的工具或平台來管理日常活動,這導致您很難知道團隊的單一事實來源在哪裡。

  • 添加更多增細節會導致混亂:在甘特圖上添加專案截止期限和協作者的情境資訊,可能會讓其從一份易於檢視的圖表變成讓人不知所措、雜亂無章的圖表。

傳統甘特圖的替代方案

幸運的是,還有可以替代甘特圖的方案,讓您可以鳥瞰所有工作的組織情況,而沒有以試算表為基礎的傳統甘特圖的常見限制。

更好的計劃組建工具

甘特圖基礎 - 更好的組建計劃工具

像 Asana 這樣的工作專案管理工具可以協助您在規劃工作的同一處地方管理、協調並新增詳細資料,設定所有事項的同時,仍然可以節省時間。

閱讀:工作管理介紹

例如,您可以使用 Asana 的時間軸設定您的專案計劃,這是一種可以讓您說明所有工作融合情況的甘特圖式檢視。時間軸顯示了每一個步驟的執行時間、所需時長以及責任人。和甘特圖不同的是,時間軸可以輕鬆設定、維護,還可以讓您的團隊在您規劃工作的地方進行協作。

利用 Asana 繪製專案時間軸

其他可視化專案管理類型

甘特圖基礎 - 其他可視化專案管理類型

依據您需要管理的工作類型,除了在時間軸中將專案計劃可視化,還可以改為使用更輕巧、便捷的行事曆或工作流程看板進行設定。藉助 Asana,您還可以在多種專案檢視之間來回切換。可在時間軸、清單、看板或行事曆檢視中檢視任一專案,這樣,您的團隊就能以他們偏好的方式查看工作了。您可以在 Premium 版免費試用中測試這些檢視方式。

閱讀:讓專案計劃可視化的 3 個方法:時間軸、行事曆和看板

使用 Asana,如行家一般規劃專案

無論您是選擇使用甘特圖還是類似的替代方案,對於每一個團隊而言,不管您是不是專案經理,讓專案計劃可視化都是關鍵的一步。它可以讓您展示工作片段的融合情況、與團隊分享,還可以依據工作進度調整計劃,讓一切事項進展順利。

制定專案計劃,見證 Asana 如何將各個部分加以彙整。

相關資源

文章

範疇潛變的 7 個常見成因,以及如何加以預防

Gantt chart 101: A complete guide to mapping your projects

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJanuary 31st, 20227 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Gantt chart article banner image
Try Asana now

Summary

A Gantt chart is a horizontal bar chart used to illustrate a project’s schedule and related tasks or events during the project lifecycle. Find out how this type of chart can help you map tasks and keep deliverables on track.

Maybe you’ve heard the term Gantt chart used around the workplace or in a project kickoff meeting. Problem is, you’re not quite sure what that is, how it helps with project management, or how to make one. 

While these charts can get quite complex, the basics aren’t hard to nail. In our guide, you’ll get a clear breakdown of what Gantt charts are, when to use them, tips for creating one, and more.

What is a Gantt chart?

A Gantt chart is a horizontal bar chart used to illustrate the timeline of a project and its tasks. This gives your team a visual overview of your project schedule, upcoming milestones, and overall project timeline. 

Each horizontal bar within the chart represents a task, and the length of each bar represents the amount of time that step or task will take. When you zoom out to look at the full picture, these charts give project managers and teams an overview of what work needs to get done, who’s doing it, and when.

Gantt charts typically include the following components:

  • Date and duration of tasks

  • Tasks

  • Task owner

  • Milestones

Most Gantt charts also offer additional context about how project tasks connect to each other, who they’re assigned to, and what important deadlines and milestones are coming up. With a dynamic timeline, team members have at-a-glance insight into what they’re responsible for and how their work impacts the project as a whole.

[Product ui] Gantt chart project, organized timeline view in Asana with dependencies and due dates (Timeline)
Create a Gantt chart template

Critical path for project timelines

When it comes to creating Gantt charts, it’s important to understand the role of a critical path. A critical path is an approach that helps mitigate instances where an individual task could cause a delay in the subsequent tasks—therefore causing a delay in the overall project and potentially missed deadlines.  

You can use these charts to determine which tasks you need to complete for the entire project to be successful and finish on time—hence, the critical path.

History of the Gantt chart

The earliest version of a Gantt chart was invented by Karol Adamiecki, who invented what he called the harmonogram in 1896. Adamiecki published his findings in Russian and Polish, which made them difficult to access in English-speaking countries. In 1910, Henry Gantt independently popularized a similar chart in the United States, which he devised in order to represent how long factory workers spent on a given task. These two systems have since been merged to create what we know of today as the modern-day Gantt chart.

From tracking factory employees’ tasks, these charts then became a popular way to track project schedules. Originally, these charts were drawn on paper—which meant that, whenever the schedule changed, the charts had to be redrawn. Later, project managers used pieces of paper or blocks to represent the task bars, so they could move them around as needed.

What is a Gantt chart used for?

While you can use a timeline view for a variety of projects and programs, it’s helpful to understand what these charts are commonly used for and why:

  • Build and manage complex projects: The bigger the project, the more tasks there are to manage. Gantt charts can help project managers easily visualize a project and break it down into smaller tasks.

  • Monitor task dependencies: Project delays happen. Visualizing work in a timeline helps project managers automate task dependencies, which ensures that the next phase or task doesn’t start until the previous one has finished.   

  • Keep track of project progress: Track and monitor progress and milestones, so you can quickly adjust your project plan if needed. 

When to use a Gantt chart

Below are three common ways you might use a this type of chart.

1. Mapping out a marketing campaign

Larger marketing campaigns require a lot of collaboration and coordination—and it’s easy to lose track of all the moving pieces. That's why it's so important to visualize all of your work as a sequence of tasks with assignees and details about how long each initiative will take. This way, teams don’t just know who’s responsible for what, but also how their work impacts others or the larger goal.

2. Outlining deliverables for a client

When you show clients a timeline of all of your deliverables, you can clearly set expectations around how long each will take. By outlining plans this way, you can give stakeholders and clients a clear idea of the scope of your deliverables, and how long each one will take to accomplish—so they won’t just know when you’re delivering an item, but also when you’ll be working on it.

3. Planning a product launch

For product launches, you might use a timeline to map out the entire plan from ideation to launch and beyond. By visualizing this in a timeline, you’re then able to more easily spot conflicts before you begin, see dependencies between steps, and get a clear overview of everything that’s happening leading up to the launch, and when.

How to make a Gantt chart

While no two Gantt charts look exactly alike, there are some basic steps you’ll need to take to get you off the ground, no matter what software you use. 

Create a Gantt chart template

1. Define the time range

Your Gantt chart should be a project with a start and end date. Think of this chart as a way to represent your project over a timeline—your timeline needs a beginning and end point.

Tip: While all projects should have a clear end point, it’s likely that you’ll have some additional follow-up tasks with your client after crossing the finish line, so you may need to add in some dates after the fact for these items.

2. Add tasks with start and end dates

In order to effectively visualize your to-dos, make sure each individual task has a specified beginning and end date—this way they can be easily visualized on a bar chart. If you don’t add task start dates, then your tasks will show up as moments in time, which might be harder to visualize within the bigger picture.

Tip: Clear start and end dates also make it easy for your team to understand when they should begin working on a task. That way, they aren’t caught unawares by a big project that’s due tomorrow.

3. Clarify dependencies

With large projects, it’s natural to have some tasks that can’t get started until other tasks are complete. To keep the project running smoothly, and every team on the same page, you can visualize dependencies between tasks in your Gantt chart.

In the example below, the ability to publish the product blog post is dependent on reviewing the blog post—which in itself is dependent on drafting the blog post. Similarly, the team can’t launch the email campaign until it’s been drafted. Drawing dependencies between these tasks will help the next team stay up to date on what they’re able to start working on in their phase of the project. 

Gantt chart product marketing launch

4. Pinpoint milestones

Unlike most tasks in a Gantt chart, milestones are fixed points in time. Think of them as checkpoints to signify that large pieces of work are complete. They help your team know what to prioritize, and can be great moments of celebration when they’re completed.

Tip: Milestones often take place at the end of project phases, but there’s no one single way to create milestones for your team, especially since every team and project looks different. Examples of milestones might look like:

  • Meetings

  • Project approvals

  • Task starting points

  • Mid-phase check ins

  • Phase completion points

5. Modify work as plans change

Plans will inevitably change, which is why your Gantt chart software should be able to adapt to your needs. Look for a tool that allows you to easily drag and drop tasks, and that automatically updates dependencies in real time. That way, you can always keep your project on track, even as plans shift.

Map project timelines with Asana

Pros and cons of Gantt charts

While these charts can be helpful, they aren’t always the best for every project. To better understand if this type of project chart is right for you and your project vs. a timeline, here are a few considerations before you leap into creating one.

Pros

  • Get a bird’s-eye view of your project timeline: A Gantt chart is a roadmap of your project. This tool helps you track when you should reach each milestone—and whether or not you’re on track to do so. This type of timeline view offers a bird’s-eye perspective on your work, making it a particularly useful tool to present to senior management or clients for a quick overview.

  • See how tasks relate to each other: By adding start and finish dates to each task and drawing dependencies, you can visualize how each piece of work affects another. This helps you identify problems and fix dependency conflicts before you start.

  • Improve team resource management: Adding an owner to each piece of work can help you see who’s doing what and when to better manage individual workloads. Since everything is plotted out sequentially, you’ll be able to see if an individual teammate or team has too much to do at one time, then reassign or reschedule tasks as needed.

Cons

  • More time consuming to set up: Setting up a Gantt chart can be time consuming, especially if you’re using a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet. Even if you use a template, you might still have to make adjustments to customize it to your team’s specific needs.

  • Difficult to manage the project in the same place you planned it: Traditional Gantt charts are most useful in the planning phase of a project. Once you’ve mapped out your work, you’ll likely need to use a different tool or platform to manage day-to-day activities, making it hard to know where your team’s single source of truth is.

  • Adding more details gets messy: Adding context around deadlines and collaborators to your project plan on a Gantt chart can turn it from easy-to-view map to overwhelming sheet of chaos.

Alternatives to traditional Gantt charts

Fortunately, there are alternatives to clunky charts that still give you a bird’s-eye view of how all your work fits together—without the typical limitations of a traditional, spreadsheet-based chart.

Better tools to build your plan

work project management tool like Asana can help you manage, coordinate, and add details to your work in the same place you plan it—while also spending less time setting everything up.

Read: Introduction to work management

For example, you could set up your project plan using Asana’s Timeline, a view that lets you map out how all the pieces of your project fit together. Like a Gantt chart, Timeline shows you when each step will happen, how long it will take, and who’s responsible. Unlike a Gantt chart, Timeline is easy to set up, maintain, and lets your team collaborate on work in the same place you planned it.

Map project timelines with Asana

Other types of visual project management

[Product UI] Brand campaign project example (Boards)

Depending on the type of work you’re managing, a calendar or a Kanban board could work as a more lightweight and quicker to set up alternative to visualizing your project plan in a timeline. With Asana, you can also switch between project views. View any project in either Timeline, List, Boards, or Calendar View, so your team can see their work in the way they prefer. You can test out all of these views with a free Premium trial.

Read: 3 Visual Project Management Layouts (and How to Use Them)

Plan projects like a pro with Asana

Whether you end up using a Gantt chart or a similar alternative, visualizing your project plan is a key step for every team—whether you’re a project manager or not. It allows you to show how all the pieces of your project fit together, share it with your team, and adapt your plan as work progresses to keep everything on track.

Map out your project plan and watch the pieces come together with Asana.

Related resources

Article

What is the PRINCE2 project management methodology?