專案藍圖是什麼,以及為何您需要它

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsNovember 2nd, 2020
facebooktwitterlinkedin
專案藍圖:何謂專案藍圖以及您為何需要它 (橫幅圖片)
立即試用 Asana

以正確的方式開啟您的專案非常重要。不論是策劃線上活動這類的短期活動,或者是推行新 IT 工具這類的長期計劃,傳達您的高階專案概要並使專案關係人了解專案情形,是順利啟動優質專案的關鍵要素。

那麼,該怎麼做呢?您可能會率先製作一份專案章程商業企劃案,以取得專案的許可。完成這一步之後,便可以建立專案計劃書,以提供專案工作的重要計劃。接著,您可以開始安排專案的啟動,並邀請所有專案關係人參加腦力激盪會議。根據專案的需求,您甚至可以草擬一份創意概要。然而,雖然這些策略對於專案的啟動都很重要,但專案藍圖仍然是將專案排程可視化和整合業務目標的最佳途徑。

什麼是專案藍圖?

專案藍圖是針對您的專案可交付項目、關鍵里程碑,以及整體專案目標所製作的一份高階概要。它應該是專案開始時所建立的第一份文件。以專案藍圖作為專案的起跳板,您便能夠據以建立其他重要的專案規劃文件,例如專案計劃書和專案排程表。

若您未曾使用過專案藍圖,則您可能會不確定該如何區分它與其他的專案規劃要素。以下為您介紹它們的不同之處:

專案藍圖與專案計劃書

專案藍圖和專案計劃書有許多共同點,例如兩者都應該建立於專案初始時,且都是動態的文件,而非靜態的、一成不變的政令。然而,不同於專案計劃書,專案藍圖僅應專注於專案的高階概要。故請避免在建立專案藍圖時拘泥於過多細節,因為那會淡化整份文件的重點。請記住:專案藍圖是一份鳥瞰圖,而不是詳細標示何時轉彎的路線指引。

若要建立一份出色的專案計劃書,您需要深入描述專案的細節,例如專案的時間軸、預算、各個專案關係人的角色,以及任何將用以評估專案的成功指標。

閱讀:如何建立一個可讓您進展順利的專案計劃

專案藍圖與產品藍圖

產品藍圖是產品團隊針某項計劃於某段特定時間內推出的新產品之願景。您的產品藍圖作為團隊對於這些新產品的單一事實來源,通常包含了繁瑣的細節,像是新產品發佈的優先順序或範圍、任何涉及的產品或工程關係人,以及行銷材料帳目等。

儘管名稱相似,但產品藍圖和專案藍圖是完全不同的東西。任何專案 (不僅是產品發行的專案) 都可以且應該有一份專案藍圖。例如,您會需要替您的團隊正在規劃的線上活動或者 IT 團隊正準備推行的新專案建立專案藍圖。在這兩種情況下,您的專案藍圖皆是針對專案目標及達成方式所做的概述。

專案藍圖與甘特圖

甘特圖是專案的視覺呈現。它看起來像時間軸,以水平的長條圖呈現專案任務和可交付項目。有時候,團隊會選擇使用時間軸檢視的甘特圖建立專案藍圖,並在甘特圖中以水平的長條圖元件呈現隨時間推移的高階計劃。

不過,甘特圖除了能製作專案藍圖之外,還有許多其他的功能。甘特圖讓使用者能夠輕鬆地將任務之間的關聯性和相依性可視化,同時也可讓專案各部分間的配合關係,以及任何即將來臨的重要里程碑一目了然。

閱讀:第一次使用甘特圖嗎?請從此處開始。

即便您計劃使用甘特圖建構您的專案藍圖,也請確保所選擇的工具提供多種可視化工作的方法,並且能在不同的視覺圖表之間輕鬆切換。除了時間軸以外,您也需要可視化工作流程看板、待辦清單和行事曆。這麼一來,您不但可以建立高效的專案藍圖,專案關係人亦能夠以最適合他們的方式檢視工作內容。

專案藍圖的優勢

若您從未建立過專案藍圖,您可能會問:「真的有必要建立專案藍圖嗎?」的確,並不是所有專案都需要專案藍圖 (稍後會詳細介紹)。然而,如果您的工作具有時效性,那麼專案藍圖便是用以向專案關係人傳達高階目標的最佳方式。在進行專案啟動會議之前建立專案藍圖,可以提供以下三個主要優勢。

1. 概述您的專案目的

專案藍圖的主要目的,是在安排專案啟動會議和建立專案計劃書之前先行設定專案目標。您的專案藍圖應該說明專案目前所處的情形以及最終將達成的結果。雖然它不會提供太多關於如何達成目標的細節,但是儘早制定專案目標將有助您清楚理解目標為何並實現之。

舉例來說,想像您正在替社群媒體行事曆製作專案藍圖。您很清楚當下的情形為何,即現有的追蹤數以及與觀眾的互動率,而專案藍圖能夠助您定義期望達成的結果以及達成目標的時限。也許您希望在接下來的 6 個月內達成 Instagram 追蹤數雙倍成長,或是在接下來的一年提升兩倍互動率。不論您的計劃是什麼,專案藍圖都可以幫助您和專案關係人了解專案的整體情勢。

2. 獲得對專案可交付項目的認可

定義專案的重要可交付項目,是建立專案藍圖的其中一部份。在舉行專案啟動會議之前確定重要的可交付項目有哪些,您便能知道該邀請誰來參加會議、提供專案關係人更適切的專案概要,且最終獲得他們的認可。

例如,假設您正在替一項顧客回饋追蹤專案製作專案藍圖。您的藍圖提供了專案的概述、解釋現有的顧客回饋追蹤流程如何運作,以及這項專案將如何在藍圖所呈現的過程中逐步改進。不過,這份藍圖同時也會助您釐清在專案截止前預期達成的可交付項目有哪些。您可能希望替所有的顧客回饋建立一個可排序和可搜索的資料庫,或者在下一個會計年度結束前獲得至少一百則顧客回饋。擁有這些明確定義的可交付項目,是製作專案藍圖時不可或缺的關鍵。

3. 管理專案關係人的期待

專案概述:完成。可交付項目:完成。您建立專案藍圖的終極目的,是分享專案關係人需要知道的重要資訊,並且取得他們對可交付項目、里程碑和專案排程表的認可。若能在最初的啟動會議上就提供所有這類的資訊,您的專案關係人便能對專案範疇和時間框架有一個高層次的了解。

例如,想像您正在替一個新的行銷活動製作專案藍圖。在專案啟動會議上,跨部門的專案關係人可能對於專案的進行方向及所期待的可交付項目有一套自己的想法。不過,您的任務並不是主持一場腦力激盪會議,而是提供關於重要里程碑和專案目標的明確計劃。這麼一來,您便能從一開始就妥善管理專案關係人的期待,並確保專案能盡可能成功。

閱讀:7 種導致專案範疇潛變的常見原因,以及避免方法

專案藍圖範例

建立專案藍圖的方法並非只有一種,您應該使用能將工作最佳視覺化的方式建構您的藍圖。這裡的兩個範例將替您提供指引。

線上活動之專案藍圖

[時間軸檢視] 在 Asana 中以甘特圖時間軸呈現的線上活動專案藍圖範例

IT 專案藍圖

[時間軸檢視] 在 Asana 中以甘特圖時間軸呈現的 IT 專案藍圖

涵蓋多個「泳道」的專案藍圖:在此範例中,IT 部門正在規劃第四季度的三大計劃,其中每項計劃都有各自的概述和目標。然而,由於 IT 部門的成員們將同時進行這三項計劃的工作,故若能在一個中央位置檢視專案藍圖,將對專案的進行很有幫助。這麼做的話,整個 IT 團隊便能擁有一個單一事實來源,藉以彙整這三項即將實施的計劃。

如何建立專案藍圖

要建構出色的專案藍圖,您需要有方法可視化專案的時間軸、可交付項目和排程表。這些要素綜合起來便成為了您的專案藍圖,也就是一份專案的高階概要,其中說明何時該進行何事,以及專案的協作者和關係人大致將參與哪些行動。請留意以下四個建立專案路線圖的要素:

  1. 說明專案的排程。此專案何時開始?何時結束?先制定您的專案排程表,確保可交付項目和里程碑皆有合理的時間軸。

  2. 定義可交付項目和里程碑。在專案結束之前需要完成哪些可交付項目?是否有具體的日期或專案里程碑

  3. 釐清所有潛在的風險。有任何風險是團隊需要負責嗎?是否有任何潛在的阻礙可能危及專案的完成?

  4. 納入專案關係人。將您的專案藍圖分享給相關的專案關係人,藉以取得他們的認同。

建立及分享專案藍圖的最佳方法,是使用像 Asana 這類的工作管理工具。Asana 可提供專案關係人一個集中事實來源,讓他們對專案進行全面的檢視,而非僅仰賴您的專案藍圖。藉由分享這個集中事實來源,您的團隊將能最有效地規劃、管理並執行任務。

深入瞭解

每一項專案都需要專案藍圖嗎?

並不是每項專案都需要專案藍圖。舉例來說,如果您的專案範疇較小 (例如下個月的部落格追蹤行事曆,或低優先性的錯誤更正計劃),那麼使用專案藍圖便可能是殺雞用牛刀。不過在這種情況下,與專案關係人的保持聯繫仍是有益的,且您也仍然需要替專案資訊準備一個集中事實來源。但若沒有必要的話,就不需強行制定專案藍圖。

閱讀:什麼是「計劃 - 執行 - 檢查 - 行動 (PDCA)」循環?

團隊的 GPS 導航

有了高效的專案藍圖,您便能使團隊明白目的地為何、該如何到達,以及有哪些人一起並肩同行。專案藍圖是專案規劃的起始點,而建立強大的藍圖則是開啟優質專案的最佳方式。

正在嘗試建立您的第一份專案藍圖嗎?不防試試 Asana。Asana 是工作管理領域的領導者,也是您團隊的最佳工具。

相關資源

範本

Risk management plan template

Project roadmaps: What they are and why you need them

Making sure you start a project on the right foot is critical. Whether it’s a short-term campaign like planning for a virtual event or a long-term initiative like rolling out a new IT tool, communicating your high-level project overview and getting your stakeholders on the same page is a key element of launching a great project.

So: how do you do it? You might start by scheduling a project kickoff and brainstorming session with all relevant stakeholders. Maybe you start by creating a project plan before the meeting to keep you on track. But while these strategies can be critical elements of a project launch, a project roadmap is the best way to organize your project strategy and align on business goals.

What is a project roadmap?

A project roadmap is a high-level overview of your project deliverables, key milestones, and overall project goals. It should be the first thing you create when you get started on a project. With your project roadmap as a jumping-off point, you can create other important project planning documents, like a project plan and a project schedule.

If you’ve never used a project roadmap, it can be a little confusing to differentiate it from other project planning elements. Here’s how they differ:

Project roadmap vs. project plan

Your project roadmap and your project plan have a lot in common. They should both be created at the beginning of a project, and they’re both living documents—rather than static, set-in-stone decrees. But unlike your project plan, your project roadmap should only focus on a high-level overview. Make sure you don’t get bogged down in too many specifics when you’re creating your project roadmap, since that would dilute the focus of the document. Remember: it is a bird’s eye view, not turn-by-turn directions.

To create a good project plan, you’ll want to dive into some nitty-gritty details—like your project timeline, what your budget is, what each individual stakeholder’s roles are, and any success metrics you’ll be using to grade your project.

[Read: How to create a project plan that actually keeps you on track]

Project roadmap vs. product roadmap

A product roadmap is your product team’s vision for the features you plan to launch in a given time period. Your product roadmap is your team’s single source of truth for these launches. It’ll typically include nuanced details like the priority or scope of the launch, any product and engineering stakeholders that are involved, and the marketing bill of materials—just to name a few.

Despite the similarity in names, a project roadmap is a completely different ball game. Any project, not just a product launch project, can and should have a project roadmap. For example, you’d want to create a project roadmap for a virtual event your team is planning or an upcoming project your IT team is rolling out. In both cases, your project roadmap is the overview for your project goals and how you’re going to get there.

Project roadmap vs. Gantt chart

A Gantt chart is a visual representation of a project. It looks like a timeline, and uses a horizontal bar chart to represent tasks and deliverables. Oftentimes, teams choose to build their project roadmaps in timeline view Gantt charts, and they use the horizontal bar chart component within the Gantt chart to represent high-level initiatives over time.

However, Gantt charts have a lot of functionality outside of project roadmaps. Gantt charts make it easy to visualize the relationships and dependencies between tasks. They also provide at-a-glance insight into how the pieces of your project fit together, and any important milestones that are coming up.

[Read: New to Gantt charts? Start here.]

Even if you plan to build your project roadmap as a Gantt chart, make sure you’re choosing a tool that offers various ways to visualize work and the ability to easily switch between visualizations—not just as a timeline, but also as a Kanban board, to do list, and calendar. That way, not only will you be able to create an effective project roadmap, but your stakeholders will also be able to view the work in whatever view works best for them.

The benefits of a project roadmap

If you’ve never created a project roadmap before, you might be asking: Is this really necessary? And while every project doesn’t need a project roadmap (more on that later), if your work is time-bound, a project roadmap is the best way to communicate your high-level goals to your stakeholders. There are three main benefits to creating a project roadmap before your kickoff meeting.

1. Outline your project objectives

The main purpose of a project roadmap is to set your project objectives before you schedule your kickoff meeting and create your project plan. Your roadmap should give you a sense of where you are and, ultimately, where you’re going. Even though it won’t have too many details about how you’re getting there, having your project objectives laid out this early on can help you gain clarity and hit your goals.

For example, imagine you’re creating a project roadmap for your social media content calendar. You know where you are—that’s how many followers you currently have, the engagement you’re getting from your audience—and your project roadmap helps you define where you want to be, and by when. Maybe you want to double your followers on Instagram in the next 6 months. Or maybe you want to 2X your engagement rate in the next year. Whatever your plan is, your project roadmap can help you and your stakeholders see the big picture.

2. Gain buy-in on project deliverables

As part of creating your project roadmap, you’re establishing what deliverables are important for this project. Having those deliverables established before you go into your kickoff meeting can help you know who to invite to your meeting, provide a better overview of the project to your stakeholders, and—ultimately—gain buy-in.

For example, let’s say you’re creating a project roadmap for a customer feedback tracking project. Your roadmap provides the overview, explaining how your customer feedback tracking process currently works, and how your project will improve it over the course of your roadmap. But your project roadmap also helps you clarify what project deliverables you expect to have by the end of it. Maybe you’re working to create a repository of all customer feedback that’s sortable and searchable. Or maybe you want at least 100 pieces of customer feedback by the end of the fiscal year. Having those clearly-defined deliverables is key.

3. Manage stakeholder expectations

Overview: check. Deliverables: check. Ultimately, you’re creating your project roadmap in order to share important information your stakeholders need to know, and gain buy-in on your deliverables, milestones, and project schedule. By having all of this information at your initial kickoff meeting, your project stakeholder can get a high-level view of your project scope and timeframe.

For example, imagine you created a project roadmap for a new marketing campaign. During the kickoff meeting, cross-functional stakeholders might have their own ideas for where they want the project to go and what deliverables they’re expecting. But instead of leading a brainstorming kickoff meeting, you’re providing a clear-cut plan of the important milestones and project goals. That way, you’re managing stakeholder expectations right from the start, and ensuring your project will be as successful as possible.

[Read: How to set, achieve, and celebrate project milestones]

Project roadmap examples

There’s no one way to create a project roadmap—you should structure your roadmap in the best way to visualize your work. But here are two examples to help you get started.

Virtual event project roadmap

Virtual event project roadmap

This project roadmap is in a Gantt-chart format because there’s only one focus: getting the virtual event up and running by a certain date. Other than the event itself, which is displayed as a milestone, all of the bars on the project roadmap represent a rough schedule and general overview of tasks. The goal of this roadmap overview is to help stakeholders align on the timeline, and get a high-level view of the project schedule and objectives.

IT project roadmap

IT project roadmap

This project roadmap captures multiple “swimlanes”—in this case, the IT department is planning three big initiatives in Q4, each with a distinct overview and goals. But because members of the IT department will be working across all three of these initiatives, it can be helpful to see the roadmap in one central place. This way, the entire IT team has a central source of truth for all three of their upcoming initiatives.

How to create a project roadmap

To build a good project roadmap, you need a way to visualize your project timeline, deliverables, and schedule. Put together, these elements create your project roadmap—a high-level overview of what is happening when, and (broadly speaking) what initiatives your project collaborators and stakeholders will be involved in. There are four main elements to creating a project roadmap:

  1. Outline the project schedule. When does your project begin? When will it end? Starting with your project schedule can help you ensure you have a reasonable timeline for your deliverables and milestones.
  2. Define deliverables and milestones. What deliverables will be finished by the end of the project? Are there any specific dates or project milestones to account for?
  3. Clarify any potential risks. Are there any risks your team should account for? What potential blockers could stand in the way of successful project completion.
  4. Loop in project stakeholders. Share your project roadmap with relevant stakeholders to get buy-in.

The best way to create and share your project roadmap is with a work management tool—like Asana. With Asana, your stakeholders have a central source of truth. They can gain a bird’s-eye view, and not just of your roadmap. By sharing a central source of truth, your team will be best equipped to plan, manage, and execute on tasks.

Learn more

Does every project need a roadmap?

Not every project needs a project roadmap. For example, if your project has a small scope—for example, a blog tracking calendar for the next month, or a low priority bug fixing initiative—it might be overkill to create a project roadmap. In that case, it’s still beneficial to check in with project stakeholders regularly, and you should still aim to have your project information in a central source of truth. But don’t force a project roadmap where it isn’t necessary.

A GPS for your team

With an effective project roadmap, you can give your team a sense of where you’re going, how you’re getting there, and who’s coming on the journey with you. Your project roadmap is the beginning of the rest of your project planning, and creating a strong roadmap is a great way to begin a healthy project.

Are you ready to build your first project roadmap? Try Asana, a leader in work management, and the best tool for your team.

Start managing projects in Asana today.