如何為您的團隊選擇專案管理軟體

Jenny Thai 撰稿人特寫照片Jenny ThaiJuly 21st, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
專案管理軟體文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

如果您的團隊曾經在啟動專案時遇到困難、無法取得即時的狀態更新、無法在期限內完成工作,或者以上皆是,請不要灰心,因為您並不孤單。管理專案是一項艱苦的工作,非常艱苦。但它也是一項很關鍵的工作,可以決定您的團隊是否具備實現目標的能力。

進入專案管理軟體。當然,任何工具都可能對您有所幫助,但花時間為您的團隊尋找合適的工具將使您能夠持續穩定地實現目標,並取得更大的成功。

如果這是您第一次接觸專案管理軟體,選擇工具可能會讓您感到不知所措。事實上,您可能還在思索您究竟為何需要專案管理軟體,遑論瞭解您需要的是什麼。再說,您有上百種選項和功能可以考慮,這讓人很難知道該從哪裡開始。以上正是我們編寫此篇 Asana 指南的原因。藉助此篇指南,您將學會:

  • 更全面地瞭解您的團隊所面臨的挑戰,從而能夠更好地說明您的需求。

  • 瞭解專案管理軟體能如何為您提供協助,這樣您就不必浪費時間嘗試不合適的工具

  • 定義評估工具時應考慮的標準,以便瞭解哪些功能對您的團隊最為重要

為什麼我需要專案管理工具?

您要如何確保您的團隊知道需要完成的工作有哪些?誰負責何項工作?什麼時候到期?對於以專案為單位的工作來說,規劃並組織所有這些基本要素和細節是必不可少的,同時也對團隊的成功至關重要。然而,這仍然是團隊和企業所面臨的最大挑戰之一。

那麼,要如何判斷您是否會受益於專案管理軟體呢?以下是您的團隊可能需要專案管理工具的四個原因:

  1. 您團隊中的每個人都使用不同的系統來管理他們的工作,因此團隊的專案、任務、檔案和溝通都分散在不同的工具中。

  2. 團隊成員不清楚要做什麼、優先事項為何,或者如何確定之,因此他們浪費了很多自己的時間 (可能也浪費了您的時間) 在問問題和尋找答案。

  3. 您傳達優先事項和請求狀態更新的流程主要涉及召開會議、寄送電子郵件,或者手動修改複雜的試算表。

  4. 由於以上所有原因,導致團隊成員經常錯過截止期限。

專案管理基礎知識:組織工作與建立權責

任何專案要取得成功,每位團隊成員都必須提供支援。但是,如果團隊成員不曉得自己背負那些期望、需要達成哪些期限和里程碑,或者該去何處尋找所需的資訊,他們如何能夠支援專案呢?

您需要在同一處組織您的工作

專案管理軟體可以容納您團隊的所有工作,讓您得以在同一處組織所有事項。您可以把它想像為一個小房間系統,團隊獲致成功所需的所有重要資訊 (包括需要完成的專案和任務、指派對象、截止日期、優先事項、檔案) 都安置於其中。

這麼一來,團隊成員便知道在哪裡可以找到需要的資訊,且每個人都清楚自己需要履行的職責。在考慮不同工具時,請評估以下內容:

  • 專案和任務的結構。各項工具是如何將專案分解為其組成部份?這與您如何將工作可視化無關,而是關乎訊息的層次結構。例如,您能否將大型任務分解為較小的任務 (意即子任務)?

  • 任務資訊。每項任務包含了哪些資訊?不同專案的任務結構是否一致?

您需要為工作建立明確的所有權和權責

您所選擇的專案管理解決方案必須能夠幫助您和您的團隊輕鬆指定指派對象、顯示工作之間的連結,以及何時進行工作。我們建議尋找的功能有以下這些:

  • 任務指派對象。您能否輕鬆地為每項任務指派所有者?每項工作是否有明確的責任歸屬?如果您想提升整個團隊的責任感,並確保每個人都按時完成工作,那麼這是一項必備的要求。

  • 任務相依性。顯示任務之間的相依性能讓團隊成員瞭解有哪些工作必須等待其他人先行完成 (以及要去哪裡找到之),才能開始進行自己的工作。

  • 開始日期與截止日期。當然,您需要設定明確的截止日期,但並不是所有任務都具有同等的基礎,有些任務需要花費比其他任務更長的時間。您可能也需要指定開始日期。藉此,您的團隊便能更清楚地掌握進行中的工作和其所需時長。開始日期也能幫助每個人更輕鬆地排定工作的優先順序。

藉助良好的系統組織基本資訊 (需要完成什麼工作、由誰負責、何時開始進行,以及何時到期),每個人都能夠更成功地讓工作順利進展並且按時完成。接著,您也可以開始改進團隊在其他領域的工作。

協作:集中管理團隊溝通和資訊

現今的團隊必須以更少的資源做更多的事情,還要以前所未有的速度行動並提升工作品質,這些都為團隊帶來巨大的壓力。有效的協作勢在必行,但合作仍然如此困難,這是為什麼呢?

一個原因是團隊通常沒有共享的工作空間,即一個能讓他們針對目標、專案、任務和檔案等進行規劃、管理和溝通的單一地方。相反地,他們的工作散落於眾多工具之中,這在許多方面都阻礙了協作的效力。

您需要集中管理團隊溝通

使用電子郵件或其他應用程式分享工作會導致永無止盡的往來紀錄,只為了為收件人提供情境資訊,而他們甚至無法找到所需的內容。團隊成員浪費時間尋找瞭解工作所需的相關溝通內容、回饋和其他資訊,卻往往發現這些資訊隱藏在其他人的收件匣中。

不論是提供回饋、分享狀態更新還是提出問題,您的專案管理工具都應該將所有的溝通內容集中於同一處,並將它們直接與相關的專案和任務連結起來。以下是一些需要尋找的功能:

  • 您可以在情境中 (即工作所在之處) 進行溝通嗎?請確保您能對任務發表評論、@ 提及其他團隊成員,以及整合其他您想使用的溝通應用程式。這些功能將有助於簡化工作,並將團隊溝通集中於同一處,讓每個人都能隨時取得所需的情境資訊。

  • 您可以進行非同步協作嗎?由於許多企業提供更具彈性的工作安排,團隊成員和專案關係人無論身在何處,都必須能夠掌握工作的最新狀態。您可以使用雲端工具,並尋找能讓您追蹤重要專案和任務以及取得通知的功能。

  • 您可以隨時隨地進行工作嗎?此外,請確保您所選擇的工具具備行動應用程式,這樣您便可以同時在手機或平板上跟進工作。

您的團隊需要一個工作空間

當計劃、檔案和溝通內容沒有集中管理時,就會形成資訊孤島。若團隊缺乏單一事實來源,便無法搜尋內容、連結跨團隊或跨專案的工作,也沒有辦法進行非同步協作。團隊成員會變得孤立無援,最終浪費時間重複彼此的工作。

專案管理軟體能將您團隊的所有專案和任務集中於一處,使您得以無縫地規劃、管理和針對工作進行溝通。以下是您在評估選項時可以自問的問題和需要尋找的功能:

  • 您可以將數位檔案上傳至與其相關的專案和任務中嗎?您的團隊必須能夠輕鬆地管理數位資產,才不會浪費時間搜尋或複製檔案。此功能是改善協作的基本關鍵要素,故請確保您所考慮的解決方案除了提供無限的儲存空間,還能讓您從電腦上傳檔案。

  • 您可以整合其他已經在使用的工具嗎?您的團隊還必須能夠無縫地連結日常使用的工具,例如 Google 雲端硬碟、Dropbox、Box 和 OneDrive。這些整合對於輕鬆管理共享檔案和幫助團隊提升工作效率而言至關重要。

  • 您可以輕鬆地分享、連結和搜尋工作嗎?為了提升透明度,您的團隊必須能夠檢視公開的專案和任務,以便輕鬆找到他們需要的內容。這麼做會消除資訊和資料孤島,團隊便能很容易地同步目標,且有助於避免團隊成員重複彼此的工作。

自訂功能與靈活度:自訂工具以滿足您團隊的需求

許多公司會僱請專業的專案經理甚至企業專案管理團隊負責監督工作。他們使用的縝密軟體通常是專為個人需求設計,而非團隊的需求。

在規模較小 (和小型) 的組織中,有時每個人都必須在未受專業培訓的情況下管理專案。事實上,現今有許多團隊成員都是「意外成為專案經理」,他們面臨許多共同的挑戰:

  • 團隊從事不同類型的專案,需要利用不同的工具進行管理。

  • 專案計劃發生變化。但修改計劃會導致混亂、大量的緊急情況和工作脫序。

  • 團隊重複處理相同類型的專案 (例如產品發表或新進員工到職),卻未能將流程標準化以便更快地展開工作,因而浪費了大量時間重複同樣的死板任務。

  • 團隊成員通常有不同的工作風格,並且需要符合他們個人偏好的工具。

您需要一個可以根據團隊需求進行自訂的工具

一個出色的專案管理工具可以幫助您的團隊專注於能為業務帶來成長的高價值工作。它必須具備足夠的靈活度,以管理您團隊的所有專案、快速輕鬆地適應變化,並節省花在日常工作上的時間。以下是您應該尋找的一些核心功能:

不同的檢視

您和您的團隊希望以何種方式可視化工作,是一項必須考慮的重要因素。有些工具提供各種不同的選項,有些則否。舉例來說,某團隊專注於帶有截止期限的專案,可使用時間軸行事曆將工作可視化,以便查看和瞭解工作所涉及的步驟、哪些任務依賴於其他任務,以及何時進行工作。

[時間軸檢視] Asana 中的客戶答謝活動專案

不過,如果是要追蹤進行中的專案工作,工作流程看板、清單或其他檢視可能會是較適合您團隊的選項。

[產品 UI] Asana 中的衝刺計劃專案 (看板)

當然,擁有多種可視化工作的選項,意味您的團隊可以選擇最適合每項專案和成員個人偏好的選項。

自訂欄位

藉助自訂欄位,您能以最適合您團隊和個別專案的方式追蹤各種資訊。例如,您可以使用一個欄位指示專案中每項任務的優先順序 (高、中、低),或指定工作所處的階段 (進行中、待核准等)。自訂欄位為您的團隊提供了無限選項,助您更好地管理和報告工作。

Asana 中自訂欄位的螢幕擷取畫面

可自訂的範本

許多工具都有提供專案範本庫以幫助您入門,但請確保您可以依據您的特定需求進行自訂,並儲存自己的範本。這麼一來,您便能將團隊日常處理的專案和任務流程標準化,或做進一步的完善。

採用:確保您的整個團隊都使用您的專案管理工具

理想情況下,您的團隊會快速且輕鬆地採用您選擇的專案管理工具。不幸的是,實施新軟體通常既複雜又富有挑戰性,因此您應該花時間瞭解對您和您的團隊而言,採用該工具會涉及的事項有哪些。

免費試用

您能否與您的團隊一起花幾週或更長的時間試用該產品,使每個人都能深入研究並測試其功能?作為試用體驗的一部分,請確保您能夠詳細瞭解該產品,甚至可以從頭到尾管理一項重要的專案。試用期結束後,請評估自己是否具備足夠的產品專業知識,能夠長期且成功地使用之。

教育工具與支援

請評估該工具的學習難易程度,以便您確定每位成員能夠多快上手。此公司是否有提供教程、產品示範、課程和指南,讓隊友可以按需求使用?您是否能獲得客戶成功團隊的支援?請務必在試用期間使用其中的一些資源,以確保它們能幫助您瞭解該產品。

易於實施

設定工具需要多長時間?建立專案需要多長時間?您是否能從試算表或文檔匯入工作,或使用範本立即開始?雖然您的團隊不一定會採用這些功能,但它們可以讓您更輕鬆地開始使用工具和進行快速測試。

易於使用的體驗

該軟體的介面是否簡單直覺?您的所有團隊成員 (不僅僅是受過專業培訓的專案經理) 都有辦法使用它嗎?其設計是否能預測使用者可能需要做的事情,並讓他們輕鬆採取行動?請務必記下您最常執行的操作,以及它們查找、理解和使用的難易程度。

範本

該軟體是否有包含常用工作流程的範本,以便您的團隊快速設定新專案並執行日常任務?您是否可以依據團隊的特殊需求自訂這些流程?請務必使用一兩個範本,確定它們是否會幫助您的團隊提高工作效率,並將更多時間花在高價值的工作上。

擴展與價格:尋找能與您的團隊一起成長的工具

好的,是時候討論絕大多數人最不喜歡的話題了:錢。就如同大多數團隊,您可能有一筆預算,因此您需要了解成本為何。您也應該確保您選擇的工具能夠隨著團隊的發展而擴展。您不會希望選擇了一種解決方案,但幾年後卻因為團隊規模擴大了一倍或價格變得太貴,而發現您需要的是不同的解決方案。

彈性的定價

一個剛開始使用專案管理軟體的小團隊和一個由經驗豐富的使用者所組成的大團隊有著截然不同的需求。許多供應商會根據相同或類似的因素 (例如您的團隊規模或可用功能) 提供不同定價方案,因此您可以選擇對您來說最物有所值的方案。同時,也請確保您可以在時機成熟時輕鬆升級。

可預測的定價方案

您是否瞭解您選擇的方案如何定價?是按席次 (人頭) 、統一費率、月租費,還是別的依據?這將幫助您判斷哪些工具的成本可能會隨著團隊成長而變得過高。

報告:與團隊成員及專案關係人分享進度與成果

報告進度是專案管理的一大部份。您需要掌握專案的進展情況,以便根據需要調整計劃和資源。領導階級需要知道您的專案是否會按時交付,因為他們很有可能仰賴該專案來實現特定的目標。而一旦專案完成,您和其他人當然也會想知道成果如何。

為了輕鬆產生可用且可分享給領導階級和隊友的有用報告,您選擇的工具必須能夠追蹤您所關切的專案資訊。正如先前提到的,您會想要追蹤每一項工作,包括工作何時到期以及由誰負責。接著,您也可能會想追蹤優先事項、階段和管道等資訊,以便依據那些條件建立特定的報告。

您可以在您的專案管理工具中尋找以下功能:

  • 狀態更新:您的專案是進度正常、存在風險,或者遭到阻擋?定期分享狀態更新能讓隊友以高階視角瞭解專案的進行情況。請確保您所選擇的工具在每項專案中都有一個專門用於分享進度更新的地方,以便隊友查找和參考。

  • 即時追蹤進度:工作完成後,您的專案管理工具應該自動為您追蹤此項進度。這麼一來,您便能知道有多少工作已經完成、是否有任何任務阻擋了其他任務,以及當下還剩下什麼工作需要進行。

  • 可分享的報告:您可以根據您所追蹤的資料建立報告,並與領導階級和團隊分享之,從而取得有意義的專案深入解析。除了標準報告之外,請確保您選擇的工具能讓您根據您所關心的資料建立自訂報告。

Asana 中的專案概觀報告

安全性:保護您的團隊工作

由於您在此工具中管理團隊的專案,您需要確信您的工作安全無虞。無論您的公司需求是什麼,您的專案管理工具都必須具備一些系統管理、資料和安全性的功能。

系統管理控制項

請確保您選擇的工具具有系統管理控制項,以便在需要時新增、管理及移除員工和訪客。您可能也會需要設定密碼強度準則、雙因素驗證、SSO 或 SAML等密碼需求以保護您的資料安全。最後,請確保該工具的資料管理功能 (像是根據需要匯出和刪除資料) 符合您的需求。

隱私權限

有些專案帶有較敏感的工作。請確保您的專案管理工具能讓您為專案和特定工作設定隱私權限 (例如公開或專屬),僅允許合適的人員查看這些內容。

不同的存取權限等級

協作工具中管理專案可以提高現行工作的可視度,但如果未能妥善管理存取權限,您的計劃也可能意外遭到編輯。

您選擇的工具必須能讓您根據成員在專案中的角色和參與度授予不同的存取權等級,例如可編輯或僅可評論。舉例來說,許多成員只需要查看專案資訊和評論任務,但不需要編輯之。

一般產品安全性

為確保專案和使用者資料安全無虞,您需要一些一般安全功能。請確保資料傳輸經過加密、定期執行安全測試和網路掃描、該工具符合通用隱私架構,並且具有您的 IT 團隊所需的任何安全認證。

您的團隊將會使用什麼工具?

是的,為您的團隊選擇合適的專案管理工具是一項艱鉅的任務,不能快速或輕鬆地做出決定。我們希望此篇指南能幫助您更好地瞭解團隊所面臨的挑戰和說明您的需求。現在,您可以在工具清單中篩選欲與團隊一起嘗試的工具,例如 Asana。

立即開始您的 30 天免費試用,瞭解 Asana 如何幫助團隊組織和管理專案、改善協作、更有效率地工作並達成目標。

瞭解為企業設計的 Asana

相關資源

文章

您的專案集管理入門指南

How to choose project management software for your team

If your team has ever had trouble getting a project off the ground, or getting a timely status update, or getting work done by deadline, or all of the above, take heart. You’re not alone. Managing projects is hard work. Really hard. But it’s also critical work that can either make or break your team’s ability to hit goals.

Enter project management software. Sure, any tool will probably help you, but taking the time to find the right tool for your team will enable you to consistently hit your goals and achieve greater success.

If you’re looking at project management software for the first time, choosing one tool can feel pretty overwhelming. In fact, you may still wonder why you even need project management software, let alone understand what you need. Plus, you have hundreds of options and features to consider, which makes it tough to know where to start. That’s why we at Asana wrote this guide. With it, you’ll learn to:

  • Draw a more complete picture of the challenges your team faces—so you can better outline your needs
  • Understand how project management software can help—so you don’t waste your time trying out tools that are a bad match
  • Define the criteria you should think about as you evaluate tools—so you know what features are most critical to your team

Why do I need a project management tool?

How do you make sure your team knows what work needs to get done? Who’s responsible for doing it? And when it’s due? Planning and organizing all these fundamental components and details is a must for project-based work—and critical to your team’s success. Yet it’s still one of the biggest challenges teams and businesses face.

So how can you tell if you’d benefit from project management software? Here are four reasons why your team might need a tool:

  1. Everyone on your team uses a different system to manage their work, so your team’s projects, tasks, files, and communication are scattered across tools.
  2. Team members don’t know what to work on, what their priorities are, or how to find out, so they waste a lot of their time (and likely yours too) asking and searching for answers.
  3. Your process for communicating priorities and requesting status updates mostly involves holding meetings, sending email, or manually revising complicated spreadsheets.
  4. Team members routinely miss deadlines. Because all of the above.

Project management basics: organizing work and establishing accountability

For any project to be a success, every team member needs to support it. But how can they if they don’t know what’s expected of them, what deadlines and milestones they need to meet, or where to find information they need?

You need to organize your work in one place

Project management software is a container for all your team’s work that enables you to organize everything in one place. Think of it like a cubby system in which all the essential information your team needs to be successful—the projects and tasks that need to get done, assignees, due dates, priorities, files—all have their place.

That way, team members know exactly where to find what they need, and everyone is clear about the responsibilities they need to fulfill. As you consider tools, evaluate the following:

  • Project and task structure. How does each tool break down projects into their components? This isn’t about how you visualize work; it’s about the hierarchy of information. For example, can you break large tasks into smaller tasks (that is, subtasks)?
  • Task information. What information does each task include? Is the structure of tasks consistent from project to project?
You need to establish clear ownership and accountability for work

The project management solution you choose should help you and your team easily designate assignees, show how work is connected, and when it’s happening. We recommend looking for these capabilities:

  • Task assignee. Can you easily assign an owner to each task? Is it clear who’s responsible for doing the work? This is a must if you want to foster greater accountability across your team and make sure everyone meets deadlines.
  • Task dependencies. Showing dependencies between tasks allows team members to see what work others need to complete first (and where to find it) before they can get started.
  • Start dates and due dates. Of course you need to set clear due dates, but not all tasks are created equal—some take more time than others. You might want to indicate start dates as well. This gives your team greater clarity about when work is happening and how long it will take. Start dates also help everyone more easily prioritize work.

With a good system for organizing fundamental information—what work needs to get done, who’s doing it, when it’s happening and when it’s due—everyone will have greater success keeping work on track and meeting deadlines. And then you can begin improving your team’s work in other areas as well.

Collaboration: centralizing team communication and information

Project management software collaboration features

Teams today are under enormous pressure to do more with less, move faster than ever before, and improve the quality of their work. Effective collaboration is imperative, yet working together is still so difficult. Why?

One reason is that too often teams don’t share a workspace—one place where they can plan, manage, and communicate about their goals, projects, tasks, files, and more. Instead, their work is spread across numerous tools, which hinders effective collaboration in a number of ways.

You need to centralize team communication

Using email or other apps to share work leads to never-ending threads that only give context to recipients—if they can even find what they need. Team members waste time searching for related communications, feedback, and other information they need to understand their work, often only to discover it’s hidden in someone else’s inbox.

Whether you’re giving feedback, sharing status updates, or asking questions, your project management tool should bring all your communications together in one place and tie them directly to the projects and tasks they’re associated with. Some capabilities to look for are:

  • Can you communicate in context—where the work is? Make sure you can comment on tasks, @mention other team members, and integrate with other communication apps you like to use. These features will help streamline work and keep team communication in one place so everyone has the context they need whenever they need it.
  • Can you collaborate asynchronously? As many businesses offer more flexible work arrangements, it’s essential that team members and stakeholders can stay up to date on work no matter where they are. Use a cloud-based tool and look for features that allow you to follow and get notifications about the projects and tasks that are important to you.
  • Can you work on the go? Also, make sure the tool you choose has a mobile app so you can keep up with work from your phone or tablet, too.
You need one workspace for your team

When plans, tasks, files, and communication aren’t centralized, they fall into silos. Teams don’t have a single source of truth, so they can’t search for content, connect work across teams and projects, or collaborate asynchronously. Team members become isolated and end up wasting time duplicating each other’s work.

Project management software brings all your team’s projects and tasks together in one place so you can seamlessly plan, manage, and communicate about your work. As you evaluate options, here are some questions to ask and capabilities to look for:

  • Can you upload digital files to their associated projects and tasks? It should be easy for your team to manage digital assets so no one wastes time searching for or duplicating files. This is a fundamental key to better collaboration, so make sure the solutions you consider allow you to upload files from your computer, in addition to offering unlimited storage space.
  • Can you integrate with the tools you already use? Your team should also be able to seamlessly connect with other tools they use every day, like Google Drive, Dropbox, Box, and OneDrive. These integrations are essential for easily managing shared files and helping your team work more productively.
  • Can you easily share, connect, and search for work? To increase transparency, your team should be able to view publicly available projects and tasks to easily find what they need. This eliminates information and data silos, enables teams to more easily align around goals, and helps team members avoid duplicating each other’s work.

Customization and flexibility: tailoring a tool to meet your team’s needs

project management software customization and flexibility features

Many companies hire professional project managers and even project management teams to oversee work. And often they use elaborate software designed specifically for their individual needs, not a team’s needs.

In smaller (and small) organizations, sometimes everyone has to manage projects—without the benefit of specialized training. In fact, many team members today are “accidental project managers” who are faced with a lot of common challenges:

  • Teams work on different types of projects that they feel require different tools to manage.
  • Project plans change. But revising them causes confusion, lots of fires, and derails work.
  • Teams repeatedly tackle the same types of projects (a product launch or onboarding new employees, for example), but haven’t standardized their processes to get work off the ground faster, so they waste a lot of time repeating the same rote tasks.
  • Team members often have different work styles and want tools that fulfill their individual preferences.
You need a tool you can customize to your team’s needs

A good project management tool helps your team focus on high-value work that grows the business. It should provide the flexibility to manage all your team’s projects, adapt to changes quickly and easily, and save time on routine work. Here are some core capabilities you should look for:

Different views

How you and your team want to visualize your work is an important factor to consider. Some tools offer a variety of options, and some don’t. For example, a team focused on deadline-driven projects may want to visualize work on a timeline or calendar to see and understand the steps involved, what tasks are dependent on others, and when work is happening.

screenshot of marketing campaign Asana timeline

But for a project to track ongoing work, your team may feel a Kanban board, list, or other view is a better option.

screenshot of company objectives Asana boards

Of course, having more than one option to visualize work means your team can choose what best suits each project and their own individual preferences.

GIF of list to calendar view?

Custom fields

With custom fields, you can track all sorts of information in a way that best suits your team and individual projects. For example, you may want to use a field to indicate the priority of each task within a project (high, medium, low) or designate the stage work is in (in progress, out for approval, etc). Custom fields give your team endless options to better manage and report on work.

screenshot of custom fields in Asana

Customizable templates

Many tools offer a library of project templates to help you get started, but make sure you can customize them to your specific needs and save your own, too. That way you can standardize and refine processes for the projects and tasks that your team routinely tackles.

project templates in Asana

Adoption: ensuring your entire team uses your project management tool

project management software adoption features

In an ideal world, your team will quickly and easily adopt the project management tool you choose. Unfortunately, implementing new software is often complex and challenging, so you should take time to understand what adopting the tool will involve—for you and your team.

Free trial

Can you try out the product with your team for a few weeks or more so everyone can dive in and test functionality? Make sure you can kick the tires and even manage an important project from start to finish as part of your trial experience. Once your trial ends, you’ll want to assess if you have the know-how to use the product successfully for the long term.

Educational tools and support

Evaluate how easy the tool will be to learn so you can determine how quickly everyone can get onboarded. Does the company offer tutorials, demos, courses, and guides that teammates can use on demand? Can you get support from a customer success team? Be sure to use some of these resources during your trial to make sure they’ll help you learn the product.

Ease of implementation

How long does it take to set up the tool? How long to set up projects? Can you import work from spreadsheets or docs or use a template to get started right away? While these features are not a guarantee your team will adopt, they can make it much easier for you to get started using and testing tools quickly.

User-friendly experience

Is the interface simple and intuitive? Can all your team members (not just project managers with specialized training) use it? Does the design anticipate what users might need to do and make it easy for them to take action? Make sure to note the actions you take most frequently and how easy they are to find, understand, and use.

Templates

Does the software include templates for common workflows and processes so your team can quickly set up new projects and execute routine tasks? Can you customize them to your team’s specific needs? Be sure to use a template or two to determine if they will help your team to be more productive and spend more time on high value work.

Scaling and pricing: finding a tool that grows with your team

project management software scaling features

Okay, time for almost everyone’s least favorite topic: money. Like most teams, you probably have a budget, so you’ll want to understand costs. You should also make sure the tool you choose can scale with your team as it grows. You don’t want to choose one solution only to discover a few years later you need something different because your team doubled in size or the price became too expensive.

Flexible pricing

A small team just getting started with project management software has much different needs than a larger team of experienced users. Many vendors offer plans based on the same or similar factors, such as the size of your team or available features, so you can choose the plan that will give you the most value for your money. Also make sure you can easily upgrade when the time comes.

Predictable pricing plans

Do you understand how the price for the plan you choose is determined—is it by seat (person)? A flat rate? Monthly fee? Something else? This will help you figure out which tools could become cost prohibitive as your team grows.

Reporting: sharing progress and results with team members and stakeholders

project management software reporting features

A big part of managing projects is reporting on progress. You need to know how projects are progressing so you can adjust your plans and resources as needed. Leadership will want to know if your project will be delivered on time since they’re likely counting on it to hit specific goals. And once your project is done, you and others will of course also want to know the results.

To easily generate useful reports you can use and share with leadership and teammates, the tool you choose needs to track the project information you care about. As we mentioned, you’ll want to track each piece of work, when it’s due, and who’s responsible for it. From there, you may also want to track information like priority, stage, and channel so you can create specific reports on that criteria.

Here are some capabilities to look for in your project management tool:

  • Status updates: Is your project on track, at risk, or blocked? Sharing regular status updates ensures teammates know where the project stands at a high level. Make sure the tool you choose has a dedicated place within each project to share status updates so they’re easy to find and reference.
  • Progress tracking in real time: As work is completed, your project management tool should automatically track this progress for you. This way, you know how much work has been completed, if any task is blocking another, and what’s left to do at any given time.
  • Shareable reports: Get meaningful project insights by creating and sharing reports with leadership and teammates based on the data you’re tracking. In addition to standard reports, make sure the tool you choose allows you to build custom reports from the data you care about.

Security: protecting your team’s work

project management software security features

Since you’re managing your team’s projects in this tool, you need to feel confident that your work is secure. Regardless of your company’s requirements, there are a few admin, data, and security features you’ll want to look for in a project management tool.

Admin controls

Make sure the tool you choose has admin controls so you can add, manage, and remove employees and guests when you need to. You may also want to set password requirements such as strength guidelines, 2-factor authentication, SSO, or SAML to keep your data secure. Lastly, ensure the tool’s data management capabilities, such as exporting and deleting data as needed, matches your needs.

Privacy permissions

Some projects contain work that is more sensitive. Ensure that your project management tool allows you to set privacy permissions, such as public or private, for projects and specific pieces of work so only the appropriate people can see them.

Varying access levels

Managing your projects in a collaborative tool increases visibility into the work being done, but it also opens your plans up to accidental edits if access isn’t managed carefully.

Choose a tool that allows you to grant different access levels, like editing or comment-only, to members based on their role and involvement in the project. For example, many members only need to see project information and comment on tasks but don’t need to edit them.

General product security

To ensure project and user data is safe and secure, there are some general security features you need. Make sure the transmission of data is encrypted, regular security tests and network scans are performed, the tool is compliant with common privacy frameworks, and it has any security certifications required by your IT team.

What tool will your team use?

Yes, the process of choosing the right project management tool for your team is a big endeavor. And it’s not a decision to make quickly or lightly. We hope this guide has helped you better understand your team’s challenges and outline your needs. Now you can narrow down the list of tools to try with your team—like Asana.

Start your free 30-day trial and see how Asana helps teams organize and manage their projects, improve collaboration, work more efficiently, and hit goals.