燃盡圖:燃盡圖是什麼?如何使用?(附範例)

Asana 團隊撰稿人圖片Team Asana
January 30th, 2024
facebookx-twitterlinkedin
[資源] 燃盡圖:燃盡圖是什麼?如何使用?(附範例) 文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

摘要

燃盡圖透過圖表呈現剩餘的工作以及完成這些工作所需的時間。當團隊是透過衝刺來運作時特別有幫助,因為團隊可在執行過程中有效瞭解任務能否如期達成。瞭解如何建立自己的燃盡圖。

您的週一是以衝刺會議開始一天,您發現開發方面的工作有問題,可能會導致延誤幾天,心裡甚至納悶著:不知是否有足夠的時間在下週前完成所有工作?

我們多數人都曾處於跟時間賽跑的類似情境,要在團隊的排程中找到足夠時間完成專案可能極具挑戰性。此時燃盡圖就能發揮作用。

燃盡圖有助於分析您必須執行的工作,以及完成這些工作所需的時間。它是以視覺化方式呈現的絕佳工具,讓您更妥善地管理團隊的工作負荷,從而按照輕重緩急優先執行排程的重要事項。我們不妨進一步瞭解燃盡圖,以及如何建立您自己的燃盡圖。 

什麼是燃盡圖?

燃盡圖以視覺化方式呈現剩餘的工作以及完成這些工作所需的時間。藉由估計完成任務、解決問題、完成測試的所需時間,您就能判斷專案的完成日期。

什麽是燃盡圖

使用燃盡圖來計算團隊是否有足夠時間完成工作,很有效率。當工作是以簡短的疊代方式執行時,通常會使用此圖。它不僅有助判斷專案的完成日期,更能讓您深入解析團隊的運作方式。

燃盡圖可分為兩種類型:敏捷燃盡圖、衝刺燃盡圖。敏捷團隊使用敏捷燃盡圖,來快速推動任務。以簡短衝刺形式運作的開發團隊則會使用衝刺燃盡圖。

需要衝刺規劃的相關協助嗎?請使用我們的衝刺規劃範本,確保下一個衝刺進度正常。

用 Asana 管理敏捷團隊

燃盡圖與燃起圖

燃起圖用來追蹤已完成多少工作。燃盡圖和燃起圖這兩者都能提供您重要資訊,瞭解專案不同變動項目的進度,因此經常會合併使用。

燃盡圖如何運作?

燃盡圖的運作方式是估計所需完成的工作量,再將之對應於完成工作所需耗費的時間。其目的在於準確呈現時間之分配,以及針對未來資源的規劃。

各種團隊都可能使用燃盡圖,但最常使用的是敏捷團隊,因為用燃盡圖分析衝刺這類的簡短疊代效果最佳。現在您知道燃盡圖如何運作了,我們接著瞭解如何解讀燃盡圖。

如何解讀燃盡圖

燃盡圖是由許多元素所組成。很重要的一點是瞭解構成燃盡圖的每個組成部分,如此一來,才能有效解讀並建立自己的燃盡圖。

燃盡圖通常包含:

  • X 軸 (水平軸):X 軸是水平軸,代表要完成專案的剩餘時間量,通常以天數來表示。

  • Y 軸 (垂直軸):Y 軸是垂直軸,代表完成專案所需的投入量。

  • 實際工作線段:實際工作線段代表的是實際剩餘的工作量。這通常有別於一開始的估計,因為隨著過程中產生的問題,完成工作所需要的時間也會增加。有些情況下,實際工作線段可能會呈筆直狀,但由於專案會有問題和預測外的工作,因此通常不會以線性路徑呈現。

  • 理想剩餘工作線段 (估計工作量):理想剩餘工作線段代表的是在理想情境中您所估計的工作量。相較於實際工作線段,這通常會是較為筆直的線段。

  • 故事點:敏捷團隊通常會使用故事點來估計剩餘的工作量。故事點會繪製於燃盡圖的座標軸上。例如,Y 軸可能有 0 至 100 的數字,表示投入量的故事點,而 X 軸則可能有 1 至 30 的數字,表示可用於完成工作的剩餘天數。

  • 衝刺目標:成效卓著的燃盡圖還有最後一個元素:衝刺整體目標。例如:衝刺目標可能是 12 天內 50% 投入量的筆直線段,然而您的實際工作可能不會剛好達成此目標。一個好的做法是設立目標,以便朝此目標向前持續推展任務。

儘管用燃盡圖來快速評估剩餘工作與完成工作所需時間之比例時,甚為理想,但卻無法顯示專案過程的所有事項。例如,燃盡圖不會顯示專案發生的變化,因此很難分辨究竟改變是因為完成了待辦項目抑或是因為故事點產生變化。

有鑑於此,燃盡圖通常會搭配 (產品所有者管理的) 產品待辦項目以及變更管控流程一起使用,以便有效追蹤專案進度。

如何建立燃盡圖

現在您瞭解了燃盡圖是什麼,身為專案經理的您應如何建立燃盡圖?燃盡圖儘管看似簡單,仍有一些步驟必須完成。

我們不妨從估計投入量到追蹤每日進度,看看建立燃盡圖有哪五個步驟,從而估計需要的工作量。

步驟 1:估計投入量

建立燃盡圖的第一個步驟是估計完成特定衝刺所需的投入量。不妨思考您的理想基準,以便做此估計。換言之,想想一定的時間範圍內最理想的時間量為何?

舉例來說,若您的理想基準是在 5 天用 80 個工時來完成衝刺,這相當於每天需要 16 個工時。接著,您應從 80 (表示 80 個小時) 開始繪製投入量的工作曲線,並追蹤這些剩餘日數的投入量。大致看起來如下所示:

  • 第 1 天:80 個工時

  • 第 2 天:64 個工時

  • 第 3 天:48 個工時

  • 第 4 天:32 個工時

  • 第 5 天:16 個工時

估計您的投入量後,您就能開始追蹤每日進度,進而展開燃盡線段。

步驟 2:追蹤每日進度

有了估計值後,就能開始追蹤每日進度,您可以透過簡單的圖表或時間軸工具辦到這一點。建議追蹤完成每項任務需要多少時間,以及這樣的投入量可多快達成目標。 

以下範例說明每日進度的呈現方式。

每日流程之追蹤

第五天結束時,每項任務加總為 80 個小時,一如步驟一所估計。

利用 Asana 繪製專案時間軸

步驟 3:計算實際投入量

計算估計值後,請使用類似的圖表來追蹤要完成各任務所需的實際投入量。這部分可能與估計值相同,但很可能基於衝刺的複雜度不同而稍有差異,也有可能遇到拖慢專案時程的問題而略有差異。

在燃盡圖上繪製時,實際工作線段很可能不是完美筆直的。出現彎折和波狀的投入量很正常,因為大部分專案都會在過程中遇到偏離預期進展的情況。

步驟 4:取得確定的資料集

建立燃盡圖的第四個步驟是納入確定的資料集。此資料來自最初的投入量估計值,以及步驟 2 的實際工作記錄。

藉由收集自己的估計值,再與記錄的時間兩相比較,您就能做到。一個不錯的做法是在共用空間存放您記錄的時間,讓團隊成員可以在整個專案期間存取資料。

收集資料後,您可以將之繪製於燃盡圖,以便查看透過視覺方式呈現的圖形。

步驟 5:繪製燃盡圖

最後一個流程步驟是將資料集繪製在燃盡圖上,您只要在 Y 軸上填上估計的投入量即可。上述的範例是從 80 小時開始,繼續向下燃燒至 16 小時。X 軸則是從第一天開始,然後持續至第五天。

完成故事點後,就能開始繪製理想的剩餘時間以及實際時間。除非最後的結果是,您的實際工作量與一開始的預計投入量完全一致,否則這兩條線段看起來會略有不同。

以下透過例子說明此範例燃盡圖應有的外觀。

繪製燃盡圖

如您所見,實際工作線段與理想值略有不同。開始時工作投入量比預期要更高,但在結束時卻比預期要更低。因此,儘管路徑略有差異,最終結果卻是相同的。

使用燃盡圖的優點

燃盡圖是以視覺方式呈現需執行工作以及完成工作所需時間的絕佳方式,因此對使用衝刺法工作的團隊而言,是完美工具。

使用燃盡圖的其他優點還包括:

  1. 呈現直接的比較:燃盡圖呈現需執行工作與完成衝刺所需投入量之間的直接比較,因此有助於為任務與更高階的目標建立連結,確保任務能依據衝刺目標設定的速度展開。

  2. 確保團隊目標與進度一致:有了每日投入量記錄,以及適當位置將所需工作以視覺化呈現,團隊成員就有統一的資訊來源,進而得以追蹤任務,並就手上的任務相互聯繫。

  3. 針對團隊生產力提供深入解析:燃盡圖不僅在視覺化呈現工作方面有理想的應用,更能提供深入解析,讓您瞭解團隊的生產力,以及他們工作的速度表現如何。若發現實際工作情況與理想值有極大差距,您就能設法協助團隊提高生產力。 

基於這些優點,燃盡圖因而成為追蹤團隊工作負荷、投入量和生產力的絕佳工具。對於喜愛以視覺化呈現任務和整體專案目標的人來說,它可提供的完美應用更是不可言喻。

閱讀:讓專案計劃可視化的 3 個方法:時間軸、行事曆和看板

使用燃盡圖追蹤進度

現在您已知道如何解讀及使用燃盡圖,就能建立自己的燃盡圖了。這樣做有助於讓團隊成員連線至一個統一的資料來源。對執行敏捷專案的 Scrum 團隊而言,這可大幅減少追蹤剩餘工作時的盲目猜測,更棒的是,在範疇潛變發生前,您早就已做好準備,可以及早發現並加以預防。

若您正在尋找其他方法確保團隊的目標及進度一致,並且能追蹤工作,不妨使用可以辦到這一切的專案管理工具。無論連結任務與目標或計劃範本,乃至於整個專案過程中的一切事項,Asana 都能助您一臂之力。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

相關資源

文章

6 ways to develop adaptability in the workplace and embrace change

Burndown chart: What it is and how to use it (with example)

Team Asana contributor imageTeam AsanaOctober 11th, 20216 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
[Resources] Burndown chart: what it is and how to use it (with example) article banner image

Summary

A burndown chart is a graph that represents the work left to do versus the time it takes to complete it. It can be especially useful for teams working in sprints as it can effectively show whether your deadlines are able to be met along the way. Find out how to create your own burndown chart.

You start your Monday off with a sprint meeting. You find out there was an issue with development which could set you back a couple of days. You wonder, is there even enough time to get it all done by next week?

Most of us have been in a similar time crunch scenario, and finding enough time in your team’s schedule to complete your projects can be challenging. That’s where a burndown chart comes in. 

A burndown chart helps analyze the work you have to do versus the time it takes you to complete it. This can be an excellent tool to visualize and better manage your team’s workload so you can prioritize your schedule. Let’s dig into what a burndown chart is and how to create one of your own. 

What is a burndown chart?

A burndown chart is a visual representation of the remaining work versus the time required to complete it. By estimating the time it takes to complete tasks, issues, and testing, you can determine the project completion date.

what is a burndown chart

A burndown chart is used to efficiently calculate whether your team has enough time to complete their work, and is commonly used while working in short iterations. Not only can it help determine project completion dates, but it can also give you insight into how your team works.

There are two types of burndown charts: Agile burndown charts and sprint burndown charts. An Agile burndown chart is used by Agile teams to enable tasks to move quickly. A sprint burndown chart is used by development teams when working in short sprints. 

Need help with sprint planning? Use our sprint planning template to keep your next sprint on track.

Try Agile software with Asana

Burndown chart vs. burnup chart

A burnup chart is used to track how much work has been completed. Both a burndown chart and a burnup chart keep you informed about different moving parts within a project, which is why they are frequently used together. 

How does a burndown chart work?

A burndown chart works by estimating the amount of work needed to be completed and mapping it against the time it takes to complete work. The objective is to accurately depict time allocations and to plan for future resources. 

Burndown charts are used by a variety of teams, but are most commonly used by Agile teams. That’s because these charts are best at analyzing short iterations such as sprints. Now that you know how a burndown chart works, let’s find out how to read a burndown chart.

How to read a burndown chart

A burndown chart consists of many different components. It’s important to understand each of the pieces that make up a burndown chart so that you can effectively read and create one of your own.

A burndown chart typically includes:

  • X-axis (horizontal axis): The X-axis is the horizontal axis and represents the remaining effort needed to complete the project. 

  • Y-axis (vertical axis): The Y-axis is the vertical axis and represents the amount of time left to complete the project. This is usually shown in days. 

  • Actual work line: The actual work line represents the actual work remaining. This is often different from the initial estimate as issues arise and the time it takes to complete work grows. The actual work line might be straight in some cases, but tends to be a less linear path due to project issues and unforecasted work. 

  • Ideal work remaining line (estimated work): The ideal work remaining line represents the amount of work you estimated in an ideal scenario. This is often a more straight trajectory compared to the actual work line. 

  • Story points: Agile teams typically use story points to estimate the work remaining. In a burndown chart, the story points are represented on these axes. For example, the X-axis may have story points of 0-100 representing effort, and the Y-axis may have story points of 1-30, representing the days left to complete the work.

  • Sprint goal: Lastly, an effective burndown chart will contain the overall sprint goal. For example, your sprint goal could be a straight line of effort at 50% in 12 days. While your actual work may not meet this goal exactly, it’s a good idea to have a goal to aim for in order to keep tasks moving forward. 

While burndown charts are great for quickly evaluating the ratio of work remaining and the time it takes to complete that work, it doesn’t show everything about the trajectory of a project. For example, a burndown chart doesn’t show the project changes. This makes it difficult to tell if changes are because of the backlog items being completed or because of a change in story points. 

This is why burndown charts are often paired with a product backlog, managed by the product owner, and a change control process to effectively track project progress.

How to create a burndown chart

Now that you know what a burndown chart is, how do you, the project manager, go about creating one? Burndown charts may look simple, but there are a few steps that you’ll need to complete before finalizing your chart. 

From estimating effort to tracking daily progress, let’s look at the five steps to create a burndown chart to estimate the amount of work needed. 

Step 1. Estimate effort

The first step to create a burndown chart is to estimate the effort needed to complete a given sprint. You can do this by considering your ideal baseline. In other words, the ideal amount of time in a given timeframe.

For example, let’s say your ideal baseline is to complete your sprint in 5 days with 80 hours of work. That equates to 16 hours of work per day. You would then begin your effort trajectory at 80 (representing 80 hours) and track your effort for the remaining days. This would look something like this:

  • Day 1: 80 hours of work

  • Day 2: 64 hours of work

  • Day 3: 48 hours of work

  • Day 4: 32 hours of work

  • Day 5: 16 hours of work

Once you have your estimated effort, you can begin tracking your daily progress in order to start your burndown line.

Step 2. Track daily progress

Once you have your estimates, you can begin tracking your daily progress. This can be done in a simple chart or timeline tool. You’ll want to track how much time it takes to complete each task and how that effort is pacing toward your goal. 

Here is an example of what your daily progress should look like.

daily process tracking

At the end of the fifth day, each of the tasks should add up a total of 80 hours as estimated in the first step. 

Try timeline with Asana for free

Step 3. Compute the actual effort

After calculating the estimates, use a similar chart to track the actual effort it takes to complete each task. This may be the same as your estimate, but it’s likely to be slightly different depending on the complexity of the sprint and if you run into issues that delay your project timeline

Your actual work line will most likely not be a perfectly straight line once plotted on your burndown chart. It’s normal to see ebbs and flows of effort, as most projects run into some deviations along the way. 

Step 4. Obtain the final dataset

The fourth step of creating a burndown chart involves obtaining the final dataset. This data comes from the initial effort estimates and your actual work log from step two.

You can do this by gathering your estimates and comparing them against your logged time. It’s a good idea to keep your logged time in a shared space where team members can access the data throughout the project.

Once you gathered the data, you can work on plotting them on your burndown chart to see a visual representation.

Step 5. Plot the burndown

The final step in the process involves plotting your datasets on your burndown chart. You can do this by filling in your estimated effort on the Y-axis. In the example above, this would begin at 80 hours and continue down to 16 hours. On the X-axis, you’ll start with day one and continue to day five. 

Once you’ve completed your story points, you can begin drawing your ideal remaining time and your actual time. These lines will likely look slightly different unless your actual work ended up being the precise effort estimated at the beginning.

Here is an example of what your burndown chart would look like with this example. 

plot the burndown

As you can see, the actual work line is slightly different from the ideal. The work effort was higher than anticipated at the start, but lower than expected at the end. Therefore, while the path was slightly different, the end result was the same.

The benefits of using a burndown chart

A burndown chart is a great way to visualize the work needed to be done versus the time it takes to complete it. This makes it a perfect tool for teams who work in sprints. 

Additional benefits of using a burndown chart include:

  1. Shows a direct comparison: A burndown chart shows a direct comparison between the work needed to be done and the effort needed to complete the sprint. This helps teams connect tasks to larger goals and can keep tasks moving on pace with sprint goals. 

  2. Keeps teams on the same page: With a daily effort log and a place to visualize the work needed, team members have one source of information that they can track and connect to about the tasks at hand.

  3. Gives insight into team productivity: Not only is a burndown chart great at visualizing work, but it can also give you insight into how productive your team is and how quickly they work. If your actual work is drastically different from your ideal, then you can work on helping your team be more productive

These benefits make using a burndown chart an excellent tool for tracking team workload, effort, and productivity. Not to mention, it’s perfect for those who prefer to visualize their tasks and the overall project goals. 

Read: 3 ways to visualize a project plan: Timelines, calendars, and boards

Track progress with a burndown chart

Now that you know how to read and use a burndown chart, you can create one of your own. Building your own burndown chart can help connect your team members to one source of data. For Scrum teams who work on Agile projects, this can drastically reduce the guesswork of tracking the remaining work left. Not to mention, you’ll be prepared to identify and prevent scope creep before it happens. 

If you’re looking for additional ways to keep your team on the same page and track work, consider a project management tool that can do it all. From connecting tasks to goals to planning templates and everything in between, Asana can help. 

Try project management software for teams

Related resources

Article

What is a project sponsor? (Role + duties breakdown)