透過範例瞭解疊代流程

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsDecember 6th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
瞭解疊代流程 Asana 文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

如同敏捷,疊代流程也是能讓我們自動聯想到工程團隊的詞之一。但大多數團隊都以某一、兩種方式進行疊代,而使用疊代方法可有助於減少風險管理效率,並且以更靈活、更動態的方式處理問題。

若您想嘗試一番疊代流程,本文就是為您準備的。我們會為您介紹如何定義疊代流程,以及如何在您自己的團隊中實施此流程。

什麼是疊代流程?

疊代流程即組建、調整和改善一項專案、產品或計劃的實際作法。運用疊代開發流程的團隊會進行建立、測試和修改,直到對結果滿意為止。您可以將疊代流程看作是一種試錯方法,可以讓您的專案逐步朝目標靠近。

疊代流程是精實方法論和敏捷專案管理的基本組成部分,但任何團隊都能實施這些流程,而不僅限於敏捷團隊。在疊代過程中,您會不斷改進您的設計、產品或專案,直到您和您的團隊對最終的專案交付項目滿意為止。

什麼是非疊代流程?

在非疊代流程中,您和您的團隊需要合作完成一個最終產品,而不必在過程中嘗試新構想。一般而言,非疊代流程在概念化和建立階段需要更多時間,讓一切能夠在測試階段如預期進行。

瀑布模型是最常見的非疊代流程。在瀑布模型中,您和您的團隊需要在專案開始前定義專案階段。每一個階段都會在上一個階段全部完成時再開始。專案開始前,要求與資源通常都會固定,團隊也會儘可能避免變更專案計劃

例如,假設您正在與一家設計機構合作創作一本電子書。您首先需要提供電子書的所有文案。然後,設計機構會得到這些文案並進行設計。最後,您的內部團隊需編輯設計後的電子書文案,確保一切完善。這是瀑布模型的一個範例,每個階段都需依賴上一步 (即,您不能在設計電子書之前對其進行文案編輯)。

依您所在的團隊和您執行的專案類型,非疊代流程可能會極具挑戰性,因為這些流程並非即時組建,以供您的團隊進行疊代和持續改進。工程中有太多的未知和意外,工程團隊尤其傾向於使用疊代流程而不是非疊代流程,但任何團隊都能從中受益。

漸增設計是否與疊代流程相同?

大多數團隊會交替運用漸增設計和疊代流程,而實際上,兩者往往並行不悖。不過兩者之間仍有一些差異。

在疊代流程中,您的團隊會依據回饋或新資訊來完善和改進您的專案。疊代流程的關鍵在於反覆試驗:專案會因為這些變動而持續完善。

在漸增設計 (有時稱為漸增開發) 中,您需在第一個版本或交付項目的基礎上增加新功能並組建更完善的內容。要進行漸增設計流程,團隊需有目的地產生出最終專案交付項目的基礎版本,以便儘快推出 (如同 Facebook 的古老格言:快速行動,打破常規)。然後,團隊需透過建立包含比初始版本更多功能的漸增版本,以此疊代和改進初始版本。他們需要持續如此,直到交付項目具備所需的全部功能。

大多數使用疊代流程的團隊也會使用漸增設計,反之亦然。好的疊代流程同時也是漸增式的,這樣您就可以持續完善您原有的交付項目。好的漸增設計同時也是疊代式的,因為您需要做到回應客戶回饋,並且依據需要進行調整。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

疊代流程範例

工程

許多工程團隊運用疊代流程來開發新功能、實施錯誤修復,或進行 A/B 測試新策略。通常來說,工程團隊會建立幾個他們認為效用同等的疊代,然後與使用者一起進行測試。他們會記錄痛點與成功之處,然後持續組建出經過測試後表現最佳的疊代。

產品開發

您可能會驚訝地發現,大多數產品開發都是要疊代進行的。回想您曾經為自己購買的各種個人高科技產品,在您購買之前已有一個舊版本,之後可能也會有新版本。想想看手機近年來的發展,喇叭變得越來越輕巧便攜,甚至同一品牌的冰箱也因應新型家庭的需求而不斷變化。這一切都是疊代流程。

行銷

某些行銷團隊會採用疊代流程,而某些則不然。但在一定程度上,很多行銷都是疊代進行的。例如,一些行銷團隊可能會測試不同的廣告文案,瞭解哪一種能獲得更好的參與度,或者傳送兩個版本的電子郵件新聞,比較其點閱率。或者,品牌行銷團隊可以使用疊代設計流程來確定最適合目標受眾的圖像。

銷售

雖然大多數銷售團隊面向客戶的工作並非疊代式,但其中某些任務仍可從疊代流程中獲益。例如,銷售團隊可運用疊代方法傳送冷郵件。他們可能會讓其代表傳送幾種不同的電子郵件主旨列並分析其結果。然後,團隊可以實施其中最成功的主旨列。

疊代流程的 5 個步驟

疊代流程可在專案生命週期期間提供協助。在疊代流程的幾個步驟中,您的目標和要求應作為專案的起點。然後團隊需運用測試、原型設計和疊代,以期實現最佳結果。以下介紹方法:

1. 規劃與要求

在疊代流程的這一步驟中,您需要定義專案計劃,並且與您的整體專案目的維持一致。您需要在此階段列出所有硬性要求,即專案成功所必然達成的事項。若無此步驟,您就會面臨疊代過後卻無法實現目標的風險。

2. 分析與設計

在這一步驟中,您與團隊需專注於業務需求以及專案技術要求上。如果說第一步是列出目標的過程,第二步則是針對最終可實現目標的設計進行腦力激盪。

3. 實施

在第三步驟,您的團隊需要建立專案交付項目的第一次疊代。此次疊代需以您的分析與設計為依據,且應符合最終專案目標。此次疊代的細緻程度與您投入的時間需依專案而定。

4. 測試

擁有一次疊代後,您需要以最合理的方式進行測試。例如,若您正在進行網頁改進,您可能會需要針對目前的網頁進行 A/B 測試。若您正在設計新產品或功能,請考慮邀請潛在客戶進行可用性測試

除了測試以外,您也應該與專案關係人進行確認。請邀請他們評估疊代內容並提出回饋

閱讀:什麼是「計劃 - 執行 - 檢查 - 行動 (PDCA)」循環?

5. 評估與審查

進行測試後,您的團隊需評估疊代是否成功,並且對任何需要變更的事項進行調整。此次疊代是否實現了專案的目標?原因是什麼?若有任何事項需要變更,您可以重新啟動疊代流程,回到第二步以建立下一次疊代。請記住,在所有疊代中,您的初始計劃與目標都應維持一致。繼續在上一次疊代的基礎上進行建構,直到獲得滿意的交付項目為止。

若您重新啟動疊代流程,請確保每個人仍與專案目標維持一致。疊代流程可能需時數以週計或數以月計,取決於您要進行多少次疊代。每次重新啟動疊代流程時,將疊代集中於專案目的之上,可有助於確保始終朝著目標發展。

疊代流程的優勢與挑戰

疊代模型未必適合每一種團隊或每一個專案。以下介紹適用於您團隊的疊代流程的優點與缺點。

優點:

  • 提高效率。由於疊代流程中包含反覆試驗,因此與非疊代流程相比,通常可以幫助您更快獲得所需的結果。

  • 增加協作。您的團隊不再按照事先確定的計劃和規範工作 (它們也需要花費大量時間來建立),而是一起積極地工作。

  • 增加適應性。在實施和測試階段學習新事物時,您可以調整疊代,以利實現您的目標,雖然這意味著要做一些您在疊代流程開始時不曾想到會做的事情。

  • 更具成本效益。若您需要變動專案的範圍,只需在此流程中投入最少量的時間和精力即可。

  • 可併行作業。與瀑布模型等其他非疊代方法不同,疊代不一定依賴於之前的工作。團隊成員可以併行處理專案中的多個元素,這樣可以縮短整體時間。

  • 減少專案層次上的風險在疊代流程中,可在每次疊代中識別和處理風險。不要在專案開始和結束時處理大型風險,而應始終努力處理低層次風險。

  • 更可靠的使用者回饋。當您擁有一個使用者可以與之互動或查看的疊代時,他們就能夠向您提供回饋,告知您對他們來說何者有用,何者無用。

缺點:

  • 增加範疇潛變的風險由於疊代流程的反覆試驗特質,您的專案可能會以您意想不到的方式發展,並且超出您的原始專案範疇

  • 規劃與要求欠缺靈活性。疊代流程的第一步是定義您的專案要求。在疊代流程中變更這些要求可能會中斷您的工作流程,且導致您所建立的迭代與專案目的不符。

  • 時間軸模糊不清。因為團隊成員需建立、測試和修改疊代,直到得到令人滿意的解決方案為止,所以疊代時間軸無法明確定義。此外,對於不同增量的測試,時長可能會有所不同,這也會影響整個疊代流程的時間軸。

嘗試、試驗,再嘗試

最終,每個團隊都可以從疊代流程中學到一些東西。如果可以的話,請以不害怕犯錯的反覆試驗的心態對待工作。感到不確定時,請靈活處理並進行協作。此外,無論您是否實施疊代方法,都應努力在工作中持續改進

若想獲得更多提示,請閱讀 25 種基礎專案管理技能

免費試用 Asana

相關資源

文章

Understanding the 4 Agile ceremonies

Understanding the iterative process, with examples

April 20th, 20217 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Understanding the iterative process Asana article banner image

The iterative process is one of those words that, like Agile, automatically makes us think of engineering teams. But most teams iterate in one way or another, and using an iterative method can help you reduce risk, manage efficiency, and approach problems in a more flexible and dynamic way. 

If you want to give the iterative process a try, this article is for you. We’ll walk you through how to define the iterative process, as well as how to implement this process on your own team. 

What is the iterative process? 

The iterative process is the practice of building, refining, and improving a project, product, or initiative. Teams that use the iterative development process create, test, and revise until they’re satisfied with the end result. You can think of an iterative process as a trial-and-error methodology that brings your project closer to its end goal. 

Iterative processes are a fundamental part of lean methodologies and Agile project management—but these processes can be implemented by any team, not just Agile ones. During the iterative process, you will continually improve your design, product, or project until you and your team are satisfied with the final project deliverable.

So what is a non-iterative process? 

In a non-iterative process, you and your team would work together to come up with a final product without necessarily trying new ideas along the way. Typically, non-iterative processes require more time during the conceptualization and creation phase, so that everything works as intended during the testing phase. 

Waterfall is the most common non-iterative process. In the waterfall model, you and your team will define project phases before the project starts. Each phase begins once a previous phase is completed in its entirety. Requirements and resources will typically be locked before a project begins, and the team avoids changing the project plan as much as possible. 

For example, imagine you’re working with a design agency to create an ebook. You first need to provide all of the copy for the ebook. Then, the design agency will take that copy and create designs. Finally, your internal team will copyedit the designed ebook to make sure everything looks ok. This is an example of the waterfall model because each phase relies on the previous step (i.e. you can’t copyedit the designed ebook until it’s been designed).

Depending on the team you’re on and the type of projects you run, non-iterative processes can be challenging because they don’t build in time for your team to iterate and continuously improve. Because there are so many unknowns and surprises in engineering, engineering teams in particular tend to use iterative processes instead of non-iterative ones, but any team can benefit. 

Is incremental design the same thing as iterative processes? 

Most teams use incremental design and iterative processes interchangeably, and in practice, they often go hand-in-hand. But there is a difference between the two terms.

In an iterative process, your team works to refine and improve your project based on feedback or new information. The key to the iterative process is trial and error: the project gets better over time as a result of these changes. 

In incremental design—sometimes called incremental development—you will add new features and build better things on top of your first version or deliverable. To run an incremental design process, teams will purposefully produce a bare-bones version of their ultimate project deliverable in order to get it out the door as quickly as possible (like Facebook’s old mantra—move fast and break things). Then, the team will iterate and improve upon the initial version by creating increments that include more features than the initial version. They will continue to do so until their deliverable has all of the functionality it needs to have. 

Most teams that use iterative processes use incremental design and vice versa. Good iterative processes are also incremental so that you can continuously improve on your original deliverable. Good incremental design is also iterative because you need to be able to respond to customer feedback and pivot if necessary.

Try project management with Asana for free

Example iterative processes

Engineering

Many engineering teams use the iterative process to develop new features, implement bug fixes, or A/B test new strategies. Often, an engineering team will create a few iterations that they think are equally promising, then test them with users. They’ll note pain points and successes, and then continue building out the one that tested the best.

Product development

You might be surprised to realize that most product development is very iterative. Think of any personal technology you’ve ever purchased for yourself—there was likely a previous version before the one you bought, and maybe a version afterwards, as well. Think of the development of mobile phones throughout the years, how speakers have gotten smaller and more portable over time, or even the way refrigerators from the same brands have changed to adapt to new family needs. All of these are iterative processes. 

Marketing

Some marketing teams embrace iterative processes, others not so much. But to a certain extent, a lot of marketing is iterative. For example, some marketing teams might test different advertising copy to see which one gets better engagement, or send out two versions of an email newsletter to compare click-through rates. Alternatively, a brand marketing team could use iterative design processes to identify the imagery that works best for their target audience.

Sales

Though most of a sales team’s customer-facing work isn’t iterative, some of their tasks can benefit from iterative processes. For example, a sales team might take an iterative approach to sending cold emails. They might have their reps send a few different email subject lines and analyze the results. Then, the team can implement the most successful subject lines moving forward.

The 5 steps of the iterative process

The iterative process can help you during the lifecycle of a project. During the steps of the iterative process, your goals and requirements will serve as the project’s starting point. Then, your team will use testing, prototyping, and iteration to achieve the best possible result. Here’s how:

1. Planning and requirements

During this step in the iterative process, you will define your project plan and align on your overall project objectives. This is the stage where you will outline any hard requirements—things that must happen in order for your project to succeed. Without this step, you run the risk of iterating but not hitting your goals. 

2. Analysis and design

During this step, you and your team will focus on the business needs and technical requirements of your project. If step one was the process of outlining your goals, step two is when you brainstorm a design that will help you ultimately hit those goals. 

3. Implementation

During the third step, your team will create the first iteration of your project deliverable. This iteration will be informed by your analysis and design, and should work to hit your ultimate project objective. The level of detail and time you spend on this iteration will depend on the project.

4. Testing

Now that you have an iteration, you will test it in whatever way makes the most sense. If you’re working on an improvement to a web page, for example, you might want to A/B test it against your current web page. If you’re creating a new product or feature, consider doing usability testing with a set of potential customers. 

In addition to testing, you should also check in with your project stakeholders. Ask them to weigh in on the iteration, and provide any feedback. 

5. Evaluation and review 

After testing, your team will evaluate the success of the iteration and align on anything that needs to change. Does this iteration achieve your project objectives? Why, or why not? If something needs to change, you can restart the iterative process by going back to step two to create the next iteration. Keep in mind that your initial planning and goals should remain the same for all iterations. Continue building upon the previous iteration until you get to a deliverable you’re happy with.

If you restart the iterative process, make sure everyone is still aligned on your project goals. The iterative process can take weeks or months, depending on how many iterations you run through. Centering your iteration on your project objectives every time you restart the iterative process can help you ensure you don't lose track of your north star.

The benefits and challenges of the iterative process

The iterative model isn’t right for every team—or every project. Here are the main pros and cons of the iterative process for your team.

Pros:

  • Increased efficiency. Because the iterative process embraces trial and error, it can often help you achieve your desired result faster than a non-iterative process. 

  • Increased collaboration. Instead of working from predetermined plans and specs (which also takes a lot of time to create), your team is actively working together.

  • Increased adaptability. As you learn new things during the implementation and testing phases, you can tweak your iteration to best hit your goals—even if that means doing something you didn’t expect to be doing at the start of the iterative process. 

  • More cost effective. If you need to change the scope of the project, you’ll only have invested the minimum time and effort into the process. 

  • Ability to work in parallel. Unlike other, non-iterative methodologies like the waterfall method, iterations aren’t necessarily dependent on the work that comes before them. Team members can work on several elements of the project in parallel, which can shorten your overall timeline. 

  • Reduced project-level risk. In the iterative process, risks are identified and addressed during each iteration. Instead of solving for large risks at the beginning and end of the project, you’re consistently working to resolve low-level risks.

  • More reliable user feedback. When you have an iteration that users can interact with or see, they’re able to give you incremental feedback about what works or doesn’t work for them.

Cons:

  • Increased risk of scope creep. Because of the trial-and-error nature of the iterative process, your project could develop in ways you didn’t expect and exceed your original project scope

  • Inflexible planning and requirements. The first step of the iterative process is to define your project requirements. Changing these requirements during the iterative process can break the flow of your work, and cause you to create iterations that don’t serve your project’s purpose.

  • Vague timelines. Because team members will create, test, and revise iterations until they get to a satisfying solution, the iterative timeline isn’t clearly defined. Additionally, testing for different increments can vary in length, which also impacts the overall iterative process timeline. 

Try, trial, and try again

Ultimately, every team can learn something from the iterative process. When possible, approach work with a trial-and-error mentality. When in doubt, lean into flexibility and collaboration. And—whether or not you implement the iterative method—always strive for continuous improvement in your work. 

For more tips, read our article on 25 essential project management skills.

Try Asana for free

Related resources

Article

What is a product backlog? (And how to create one)