改善團隊工作效率的九個方法

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsAugust 26th, 202000
facebooktwitterlinkedin
改善團隊工作效率的九個方法橫幅圖片

在任何工作週中,即使是最好的團隊也會遇到阻礙效率的障礙。毫無效果的會議、電子郵件塞滿信箱,還有不知道其他人在做些什麼,這些都會阻礙您的團隊完成待辦清單上的項目。

團隊效率指團隊透過移除工作場所中的摩擦和干擾,就能實現具有重大影響力的工作數量。團隊效率並非僅僅為了提升生產力,而是如何建立一處有效率的工作場所,鼓勵健康的團隊合作,進而提升團隊的整體表現。

如何提升團隊效率?

若要提升團隊效率,您必須消減具有重大影響的工作所面臨的阻礙,您的團隊可能每天都會遇到這些阻礙。根據工作剖析報告,全球各地的僱員將其大部分時間 (60%) 花費在工作管理事務上,僅餘 27% 的時間可以投入到需要特殊技能的工作。當您提升團隊效率時,您的團隊就能因此把時間重投至最重要的工作中。

閱讀:業務中的效率與有效性:團隊同時需要兩者的原因

提升團隊效率的 9 步指南

為幫助您和您的團隊提升效率,可使用以下 9 種提示,助您增長專案管理技能,並提升團隊工作的速度和品質。

1. 淘汰非必要會議

如 Dave Barry 所言,「若您要找一個詞來說明人類尚未發揮且永遠無法發揮全部潛力的原因,這個詞就是『會議』。」

提升團隊效率的最簡單方法之一,就是擺脫非必要會議。不是說所有會議都不好。若有明確議程、與會人員適當且每個人都做好準備,以便為解決方案做貢獻,這樣的會議也可以是有效率的,但情況並非總是如此。

若規劃時沒有明確議程或目標,即使一場會議只有 30 分鐘,也會日積月累,蠶食團隊可用於實現實際目標的大量時間。您 (和您的團隊) 可以反思一下,是否真的需要這些會議。

常見問題:我該如何確定會議是否重要?

排定會議前,反思一下會議是否確有必要。有時候,就算另一種溝通方式可能更有效,我們還是會條件反射般排定一次會議。淘汰掉非必要會議後,您就可以讓每個人有更多時間專注在重要的工作上。例如,若您正在排定一場會議,用於分享和更新專案狀態,是否可以改為向團隊傳送數位更新內容呢?

團隊會議替代方案:

另外,您可能會受邀參加一些您覺得毫無必要的會議。例如,若您在會議中的角色定義並不明確,是否真的需要出席呢?可考慮向會議組織者傳送訊息,詢問是否應該出席。

閱讀:工作會議浪費時間嗎?運用以下提示加以改進。

2. 提升會議效率

有時候會議很重要,團隊彼此面見時可以完成偉大傑作。但是,無論您規劃的會議是何類型,還是有一些簡單的方法可以讓它更可執行、更高生產力、更有效率:

  1. 會議前,建立並分享日程。若要在會議期間提升效率,請確保每次會議都有一個目標。確定會議潛在目標也有用處,可以避免會議無的放矢。建立並分享會議日程,讓每個人都能保持同步。如果有任何閱讀或補充文件,請在日程中一併分享。

  2. 在會議協定上取得一致。無論您的會議是需要親自出席還是線上進行,都請向團隊或公司制訂並分享群組基準。團隊成員是否要將筆記型電腦收好?如果是線上會議,是否應該開啟視訊?如果有幾個人要分享些什麼,誰首先分享?可在會議前先分享這些協定。

  3. 記錄可執行內容。會議前,指派一位人員負責會議記錄。在同一位置分享會議記錄與日程的話會較為理想。可連同記錄一起捕捉帶有截止日期和指派對象的行動項目。

  4. 收集回饋,提升生產力。定期與團隊查核,確認會議對他們而言是否有價值。如果從特定會議中受益匪淺的人數不多,則改為透過數位更新或專案狀態報告來實現同步。

獲得:免費會議日程範本

3. 依據重要結果為工作排出優先順序

某一天,您的每一位僱員都有十個跨多個專案的不同任務需完成。此時,每個任務看起來都重要且緊急。他們該從何著手?他們應該在何處投入大部分時間和精力,才能收效最大?

當然,某些任務和專案相比另一些更為重要。這就是有一組明確定義目標以及實現目標的工作構想發揮作用之處。您的短期目標可為長期目標提供穩固基礎,如產品藍圖或版本發佈。若清楚掌握哪些任務與公司或部門範圍的目標相一致,將有助於讓每個人保持同步,也使團隊成員能夠作出對全局有正面影響的決策。

將公司目標與個人工作連結起來

當您清楚理解如何推進工作才能實現公司目標和目的時,您就可以更明白哪些專案和任務會產生最重大的影響。事實上,根據工作剖析,明晰其工作對所在組織的使命有何影響的僱員,其積極性將雙倍於同儕。

轉向影響較小的任務前,先專注於這一類工作事項。若某個任務或專案對公司更大、更重要的目標、目的或使命無甚作用時,可重新思考其是否為必須。

Claire Knebl 是 Ritual 的行銷總監,帶領著一支表現優良且具有高參與度的團隊,以持續提升客戶體驗為己任。「開始任何活動之前,我都會花一週時間去瞭解目標客戶的想法。我會盡可能用心瞭解他們,常常會在閒談中瞭解他們的日常生活方式。」

4. 刪除、推遲、委派或縮減優先程度較低的工作

有時候您的團隊成員工作量過多,這種情況無法避免。若沒有一個專門協助他們刪除、推遲、委派或縮減優先程度較低工作的系統,將會影響他們的工作效率。事實上,根據我們的研究,85% 的僱員表示他們有過勞的情況,而 42% 則認為工作太多導致士氣低落。

藉助良好的工作負荷管理,您就可以提升團隊工作效率,激發職場樂趣了。有一個簡單的管理團隊工作負荷方式,就是刪除、推遲、委派或縮減優先程度較低的任務。再看看您的專案整體情況,確定出哪些工作需要完成,哪些任務需優先進行:

  • 若專案中的某一方面對公司整體目標無甚作用,則依據提示 2 中概述的原則,將之刪除

  • 如果有一個更緊迫的專案對團隊目標有更大的影響,請完成該任務,並且推遲一項不太重要的任務,在有更多時間的時候再行解決。

  • 若有兩項同樣重要的任務指派給一位人員,可將其中一項委派給另一位尚有餘力的團隊成員。

  • 如果某項任務無法推遲、刪除或委派,也可以想辦法縮減完成任務所需的時間量。可消除與此任務相關的會議,縮短會議時間,或減少頻率。您還可以先完成專案中最需要優先的部分,將其餘部分推遲。

常見問題:如何使用工作負荷管理開展工作?

工作負荷管理即您在團隊中分派和管理工作的方式。若要開始進行工作負荷管理,首先需要洞察團隊的工作負荷和工作量。您可以使用工作負荷管理平台來追蹤這些資訊,可藉此瞭解團隊的工作負荷。然後,當您將所有團隊負責的任務和工作一一列舉後,就可以依據團隊的工作量分派資源了。藉助這一洞察,您還可以依需要調整團隊工作負荷,防止發生過勞和倦怠。

閱讀:如何有效管理團隊的工作負荷

作為 Ritual 的行銷總監,Claire Knebl 建議每週將精力投入到三件事情上。「通常,每週只能完成三件大事。第一件應是重要且策略性的。第二件應同樣重要但略為簡單,以便更早完成,從待辦清單中移除。第三件應為需要尋求支援的任務。」

5. 指派工作時,善用團隊優勢

沒有兩個完全一樣的僱員。每個人都有其獨特經驗、優勢和弱勢,如此才能成為團隊中有價值的成員。同樣,不同的人喜歡做不同的工作。例如,團隊中的某個人喜歡研究並整理成報告,而另一位隊友則可能寧死也不愿彙編研究結果。

瞭解團隊中誰擅長特定技能,尋找讓他們可以享受工作時間的方式,有助於提升任務和專案的效率。此外,若您知道某個人對於執行某項特定任務更為熱衷,那他們以更優品質、更快速度完成工作的可能性也就更高。讓團隊執行更有收穫或更有挑戰性的工作,有助於每個人發揮最大潛能。

6. 開始前,指明團隊工作內容

當您瞭解需要完成的工作及其責任人時,就可以為您的團隊制訂可遵循的行動計劃了。一開始就擁有一份精心設計的清晰計劃,可避免此後需要處理額外工作管理事務。

開始時,確保每一個團隊專案都有一份清晰的計劃。從一開始就規劃專案,可確保每個專案里程碑都有切實可行的時間軸,一直到完成為止。每個人都瞭解誰負責完成哪一個部分,而且對正在進行及已經完成的事情有著全盤瞭解。然後,在整個計劃中協調和排定所有專案,充分利用團隊的時間。

7. 專案計劃中必不可少的元素

  1. 目標

  2. 成功指標

  3. 專案關係人與角色

  4. 預算

  5. 里程碑與交付項目

  6. 時間軸與排程

  7. 溝通計劃

閱讀:如何建立一個可讓您進展順利的專案計劃

使用工作管理工具,有助於設定所有可以實現大型目標的小型任務。請記得使用 Asana 中的範本,有助於複製此前執行的流程,確保不會遺漏任何步驟,也不會錯失任何工作內容。

7. 鼓勵跨職能協作

在不同部門工作,並不意味著不能一起合作。畢竟,你們都在為實現與相同的公司目標而努力。掌握其他團隊正在進行的工作,可以在工作和目標重疊之時,鼓勵團隊協作

工作管理工具可提升跨團隊可視度,將專案中的每一個階段對應到一組獨立的目標上。這些工具可以作為集中式中樞使用,用以和團隊中的其他人分享正在進行的工作內容,並確定不同責任人可彼此協作的領域。透過與團隊分享單一事實來源,您可以促進團隊合作,並為具有重大影響的工作排除阻礙,讓您的團隊更為高效。

Carta 是經美國證券交易委員會註冊的股票過戶代理機構,幫助上市公司及私營公司發行並管理證券。其守規專業人員 Jina Kim 藉助 Asana,在其所有業務部分之間鼓勵協作,查看人、事、時,並且瞭解每個團隊和團隊成員專案之間的影響。

「例如,有一天,支援團隊前來,發現產品在一夜之間發生了變化,他們需要以某種方式尋找問題。」Jina 就觀察所言。

8. 推廣全天無會議

參加會議可能會破壞生產力,難以維持流程順暢並完成專案。至少預留完整的一天在辦公室中投入到深度工作中,即騰出用來完成專案的不受干擾、不需參加會議的幾個小時,這樣美好的工作時光可極大提升效率生產力

在 Asana,我們設立了週三零會議政策,這樣一來,每個人都可以輕鬆進行工作,而不必擔心要開會。我們讓僱員避免安排週三內部會議,而是考量彼此的工作排程。這樣,所有團隊成員都可以有大量時間「進行」工作,而不必把時間花在討論工作上。團隊因此有更多時間來分析、執行和審查專案中的關鍵流程。很多僱員都把「零會議的週三」看作是一週中最開心的一天,而且常常會看到許多專案在週三越過終點線。

閱讀:在工作中運用心流狀態力量的 6 個提示

9. 定義不同溝通管道的目的

每個團隊都會使用大量溝通工具,但是只有當團隊知道如何利用時,這些工具才能發揮作用。大多數團隊都面臨工具過多的問題,僱員平均每天在 10 個應用程式之間來回轉換。這樣不僅會發生情景切換疲勞,而且需要的時候也難以找到遠在他方的資訊。

要幫助他們,需要清楚定義每一個溝通管道的目的。對於與廠商和客戶的對外溝通,固定使用電子郵件的方式。對於直接回答問題,使用類似 Slack 這樣的應用程式。至於有關可執行工作的規劃、管理和溝通,則可以固定使用 Asana 這樣的工作管理工具。

常見問題:多少工具才算是太多?

溝通工具固然可以讓團隊更高效,但使用時有失協調,實際上會增加工作量。如果您看到某個工具的目的和另一個管道 (有著額外且獨特的功能) 重複了,就應該淘汰掉。如此,您的團隊彼此溝通時所需的工具變少,而且也發揮出每一個工具的最大作用。

在 Asana 這樣的工作管理平台中,您可以整合所有最喜愛的業務工具。這樣,您的團隊就可以在同一處地方存取所有需要的情景內容了。

幫助您的團隊成為最高效的團隊

提升效率是一個持續的過程。看起來可能有些讓人不知所措,但簡單的工具和手段有助於讓團隊中的每個人更有效率。使用這些工具,您和團隊的工作都可以更流暢,效率也就水到渠成,成為專案中自然的部分。深入瞭解 Asana 如何協助您和您的團隊更有效率,以及如何將之在組織中付諸實踐。

相關資源

文章

Parkinson’s Law: How to overcome it to increase productivity

9 ways to improve your team’s efficiency at work

During any given work week, even the best teams run into roadblocks that hinder efficiency. Unproductive meetings, email bloat, and not knowing what everyone else is working on can prevent your team from crossing items off your to-do list and doing them well.

Team efficiency refers to how much high-impact work your team can do—simply by removing workplace friction and distraction. Team efficiency isn’t productivity for productivity’s sake—rather, it’s how you can build an effective workplace and encourage healthy teamwork to improve your overall team performance.

How do you improve team efficiency?

To improve team efficiency, you have to reduce the barriers to high-impact work that your team encounters on a daily basis. According to the Anatomy of Work, global employees spend the majority of their time (60%) on work about work, and only 27% of their time on skilled work. When you improve team efficiency, you’re giving your team their time back to focus on the work that matters most.

Download the Anatomy of Work Report

Your guide to improving team efficiency

To help you and your team increase your efficiency mojo, use these nine tips to help you improve both the speed and quality of your team’s work.

1. Eliminate unnecessary meetings

To quote Dave Barry, “If you had to identify, in one word, the reason why the human race has not achieved, and never will achieve its full potential, that word would be ‘meetings’.”

One of the easiest ways to improve your team’s efficiency is to get rid of unnecessary meetings. That’s not to say all meetings are bad. Meetings can be productive, provided that there is a clear agenda, that the right people attend, and that everyone is prepared to contribute to a solution, but that’s not always the case.

If planned without a clear agenda or objective, even short 30-minute meetings can add up and eat into the amount of time your team has to work toward tangible goals. Instead, ask yourself (and your team) if you really need that meeting.

FAQ: How can I tell if a meeting is important?

Before scheduling a meeting, ask yourself if it’s really necessary. Sometimes, we default to scheduling a meeting when another form of communication might be more effective. By eliminating unnecessary meetings, you can give everyone more time to focus on the work that matters. For example, if you’re scheduling a meeting to share an update on a project’s status, could you send your team a digital update instead?

Team meeting alternatives:

Alternatively, you might be invited to a meeting you feel is unnecessary. For example, if your role in the meeting isn’t clearly defined, is your presence definitely needed? Consider sending the meeting organizer a message to ask if you should attend.

[Read: Do your work meetings waste time? Use these tips to improve.]

2. Improve meeting efficiency

Some meetings are important, and teams can get great work done when they meet together. But no matter what type of meeting you’re planning, there are some easy ways to make it more actionable, productive, and effective:

  1. Create and share an agenda before meeting. To improve team efficiency during meetings, make sure every meeting has a goal. It might also be helpful to identify the meeting’s non-goals, to ensure the meeting doesn’t get sidetracked. Create and share a meeting agenda so everyone is on the same page. If there’s any reading or supplemental documents, share them in the agenda as well.
  2. Align on meeting conventions. Whether you’re meeting in-person or virtually, define and share meeting conventions as a team or company. Should team members put their laptops away? If it’s a virtual call, should video be turned on? If multiple people have something to share, who goes first? Share these conventions before meeting.
  3. Take actionable notes. Before meeting, assign one person to take meeting notes. Ideally, take notes in the same place you shared your agenda. Along with notes, capture action items with due dates and assignees.
  4. Collect feedback to increase productivity. Check in regularly with your team to make sure meetings feel valuable to them as well. If few people seem to be getting a lot out of particular meetings, continue moving that sync to a digital update or project status report instead.

Download our free meeting agenda template

3. Prioritize work based on key results

On any given day, each of your employees may have ten different tasks to complete across multiple projects. In the moment, each of them seems important and urgent. Where should they start? Where should they devote the bulk of their time and brainpower to do their best work?

Naturally, some tasks and projects are more important than others. That’s where having a well-defined set of goals and an idea of how your work ladders up to them comes into play. Your shorter-term goals provide a firm foundation for longer-term goals, such as a product roadmap or release. Having a clear vision for what tasks align with company- or department-wide goals helps keep everyone on the same page and empowers individual team members to make decisions that impact the big picture.

[Download ebook: The Asana Playbook to OKRs]

Connecting company goals to individual work

When you have a clear understanding of how your work ladders up to company goals and objectives, you can better understand which projects and tasks will have the largest impact. In fact, according to the Anatomy of Work, employees who have clarity on how their work impacts their organization’s mission are 2X as motivated as their counterparts.

Focus on those pieces of work before you move onto less impactful tasks. If a task or project is not supporting your company’s larger, more overarching goals, objectives, or mission, rethink whether it’s necessary or not.

Claire Knebl, Director of Marketing at Ritual, leads a high-performing and engaged team by obsessing over customers. “I take a week to get into my target customer’s mindset before starting any campaign. I focus on learning as much as I can about them, often through informal conversations, to learn how they live every day.”

4. Delete, defer, delegate, or diminish lower priority work

Inevitably, there will be times when members of your team have too much on their plate. Without a system in place to help them delete, defer, delegate, or diminish lower priority work, their work efficiency will suffer as a result. In fact, according to recent research, 85% of employees report they’ve experienced overwork, and 42% believe that staff morale is low because of too much work.

You can improve your team’s efficiency at work and boost workplace happiness with good workload management. One easy way to manage your team’s workloads is to delete, defer, delegate, or diminish lower priority tasks. Take a look at your project’s bigger picture and identify what work needs to be done and which tasks are a priority:

  • Building on the principle outlined in tip two, if an aspect of a project does not support an overarching company goal—delete it.
  • If there is a more pressing project that has a greater impact on team goals, complete that task and defer a less important task for when you have more time to tackle it.
  • If there are two tasks of equal importance assigned to one person, delegate one of those tasks to another team member with more bandwidth.
  • If there is a task you can’t defer, delete, or delegate, find ways to diminish the amount of time it takes to complete. Eliminate meetings related to this task, shorten meetings, or reduce their frequency. You can also work on the highest priority parts of a project and defer the rest until later.
FAQ: How can I get started with workload management?

Workload management is how you distribute and manage work across your team. To get started with workload management, you first need insight into your team’s workload and capacity. Then, once you’ve put together a full list of all of the tasks and work your team is responsible for, you can allocate resources based on team capacity. With this insight, you can also adjust team workload as needed, to prevent burnout and boredom.

[Read: How to effectively manage your team’s workload]

As Director of Marketing at Ritual, Claire Knebl recommends choosing three things to focus on each week. “You can usually only get three big things done in a week. The first should be something important and strategic. The second should also be important but simpler that can get crossed off the list earlier. And the third should be a reach for support.”

5. Leverage your team’s strengths when assigning work

No two employees are alike. Each person has different experiences, strengths, and weaknesses that make them a valued member of your team. Similarly, different people enjoy doing different work. For instance, one person on your team may enjoy conducting and organizing research into a report, while a different teammate would rather chew glass than compile research findings.

Knowing who on your team excels at a particular skill, and finding ways for them to spend time on work they enjoy, can help streamline tasks and projects. Additionally, if you know a person is more excited to work on a specific task, they’ll be more likely to work with a higher degree of quality and complete the task faster. Giving your team work they find personally rewarding or challenging can help everyone to do their best work.

6. Map out your team’s work before beginning

Once you know what needs to be done and who will do it, it’s time to make a plan of action for your team to follow. Having a well-thought plan that’s been clearly mapped out from the beginning can eliminate additional “work about work” at a later time.

To start, make sure each of your team’s projects have a clear plan. Planning out a project from the start ensures that realistic timelines are in place for each project milestone, all the way up to completion. Each person knows who is responsible for completing a piece of the puzzle and has 360-insight into what’s underway and what has been completed. Then, coordinate and schedule all of your projects across your program that makes the most of your team’s time.

7 essential elements of a project plan
  1. Goals
  2. Success metrics
  3. Stakeholders and roles
  4. Budget
  5. Milestones and deliverables
  6. Timeline and schedules
  7. Communication plan

[Read: How to create a project plan that actually keeps you on track]

Using a work management tool can help you set up all of the smaller tasks that lead to accomplishing a larger goal. Making use of existing or custom templates within Asana can help you replicate a process that’s worked before and make sure that no step is left out and no work slips through the cracks.

7. Encourage cross-functional collaboration

Just because you work in a different department doesn’t mean you can’t work together. After all, you’re working toward the same goal as part of a larger company. Knowing what other teams are working on can encourage teams to collaborate with one another when work and goals overlap.

Work management tools can increase cross-team visibility, mapping each phase of a project back to a singular set of goals. These tools can serve as a centralized hub to share what you’re working on with the rest of the team and identify areas where people of different responsibilities can collaborate. By sharing a single source of truth with your team, you can boost teamwork and reduce the barriers to high-impact work so your team can be more efficient.

At Carta, an SEC-registered transfer agent that helps public and private companies issue and manage securities, compliance specialist Jina Kim relies on Asana to encourage collaboration across all of their business units, see who is working on what, and understand how each team and team member’s projects impact one another.

“For example, the support team comes in one day and they realize that something has changed in the product overnight, they need a way to find out,” observed Jina.

8. Promote full days without meetings

Attending meetings can disrupt your flow of productivity, making it harder to “get in the zone” and finish a project. Having at least one full day at the office devoted to deep work—that sweet, sweet block of several uninterrupted, meeting-free hours to dedicate to a project—can go a long way toward improving efficiency and productivity.

At Asana, we have No Meeting Wednesday, which allows everyone to engage in heads-down work without worrying about meetings. We ask employees to avoid scheduling internal meetings on Wednesdays and to be considerate of one another’s schedules. This allows all team members to have large blocks of time to “do” work instead of just talking about work. As a result, the team has more time to analyze, execute, and review critical processes on projects. Many employees cite No Meeting Wednesday as their favorite day of the week and often see projects crossing the finish line on Hump Day.

9. Define the purpose of different communication channels

Every team has a variety of communication tools at their disposal, but they’re only useful if your team knows how and when to use them. Most teams are already dealing with tool overload—the average employee shuffles between 10 apps per day. Not only is that context-switching tiring, it can also be hard to find information when you need it, further down the road.

To help them out, clearly define the purpose of each communication channel. For outside communication with vendors and clients, stick to email. For immediate answers to questions, use an app like Slack. And to plan, manage, and communicate about actionable work, stick to a work management tool like Asana.

FAQ: How many tools is too many?

While communication tools can make your team much more efficient, using them inconsistently can actually create more work. If you see a tool’s purpose can be replicated through another channel (with additional, unique benefits), it should be eliminated. As a result, your team will need fewer tools to communicate with each other and use each one to their best benefit.

In a work management platform like Asana, you can integrate all of your favorite business tools. That way, your team has access to all of the context they need all in one place.

Help your team be their most efficient yet

Improving efficiency is a continuous process. It may seem overwhelming, but simple tools and tactics can help make everyone on your team more efficient. And the more fluent you and your team become in using these tools, efficiency becomes second nature and a built-in part of any project. Learn more about how Asana can help make you and your team more efficient and get ideas to put into practice within your own organization.

Want to manage projects with Asana? Start a trial today.

More Asana Resources