團隊士氣如何影響員工績效

Sarah Laoyan 撰稿者特寫照片Sarah LaoyanJuly 21st, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
團隊士氣提示的文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

建立團隊時,您會找具備正確技能的團隊成員來協助組織達成目標。而協助團隊充分發揮潛能的其中一環就是確保他們在工作中獲得支持,並且保持投入。此時團隊士氣即可發揮作用。隨著團隊成長,您要如何在所有團隊成員當中激發並維繫高昂的團隊士氣以及工作滿意度?

激發並維繫員工士氣的首要步驟是營建合適的公司文化。清晰的公司文化有助在出現問題時振奮士氣。準備好深入瞭解如何建立並維持強大士氣了嗎?以下說明如何辦到。

什麽是員工士氣?

團隊或員工士氣是員工看待其組織或企業的整體觀感。在此情境下,可將士氣描述為個人或團體對組織或企業擁有的信心。

士氣良好是指員工滿意度高,即一般而言,大家都對工作很投入。開始察覺到員工士氣低落時,可觀察到員工有諸多不滿。找找看是否有人過勞或對工作感到難以投入。儘管這些例子看起來很一般,卻有許多層面會影響員工士氣。

提高員工士氣的 3 個方法

激勵並維持士氣的首要做法是良好的團隊領導。身為團隊主管,您可以透過各種做法經營並維持員工的滿意度,包括:

1. 透過以身作則來領導

人類是社會性的動物,根據天性,我們會從擔任領導職的同仁身上尋找應該如何行動的線索。儘管每個人都有各自獨特的領導方式,您仍可透過以下幾種方式以身作則,從而營造強大的團隊士氣:

  • 參與您團隊的工作。您若參與團隊,就能向他們展現您不僅信賴他們執行的工作,更願意投入心思於他們的工作。投入度高的領導者,更瞭解團隊的工作表現。接著,再增強他們的信念,使之瞭解自己的個別工作如何銜接至更高層的企業目標,進而展現自己對他們的支持。

  • 不確定時,請在領導時發揮同理心。優秀的領導者會向員工展現自己對他們的關懷,不僅將他們視為員工,而是當成人來看待。同理心強的領導者會及時給予稱讚、在需要時允許彈性,並定期與團隊成員溝通,瞭解他們的感受。

  • 重視透明度。定期分享公司的變動資訊、您團隊正面臨的挑戰,甚或是您自己生活上所發生的事。向團隊展現您也是普通人,能夠創造一個安全的心理空間,讓他們也能誠實地分享自己的感受。

  • 尋求回饋。優秀的領導者會製造機會讓同仁開誠布公地提出回饋,並且謹記回饋的內容。無論您是透過一對一會議、在團隊活動中或匿名方式進行,聽取回饋有助員工感受到被傾聽。如此一來,員工比較不會與其他同事相互抱怨,影響士氣。

閱讀:依循 Asana 領導者的經驗學習如何以身作則

2. 建立與團隊間的互相信賴

若與團隊建立互信,您就能將責任分擔出去,使每個人獲得充分授權,進而以有成效且高度自主的方式完成工作。要辦到這一點,您可以授予他們一定的決策自由度,並鼓勵他們增強自己的綜合技能。您若信任員工能夠做出好的決策,他們就會覺得自己的意見和看法受重視,因而感到更有信心。這對整個團隊而言都有所助益,因為每位團隊成員都能各自發揮所長、分享觀點,讓這些特質應用得更有價值。

團隊若很努力工作,請記得給予員工他們應得的稱讚。找出帶來巨大影響的團隊成員,並針對他們貢獻的特定工作予以肯定。概括式的稱讚對鼓舞員工士氣發揮不了多大作用,然而強調具體貢獻則能顯示您重視他們的工作,以及他們對公司帶來的影響。

深具意義的員工肯定範例:

  • 「感謝你撥出時間參加臨時通知的會議。我知道你的排程很滿,所以很謝謝你靈活因應。」

  • 「你額外增加的這一頁投影片對整份簡報非常有價值,謝謝你分享你的專業知識。」

  • 「感謝你耐心處理那位棘手的客戶。你所展現的耐心是絕佳示範,值得我們團隊成員效法。」

3. 協助員工,讓他們在工作以外的場域也能擁有滿意的生活

團隊的整體福祉,與士氣之於工作負荷/資源同等重要。您若致力協助員工,俾使其在工作以外也能擁有健康、滿意的生活,他們就更能投入在工作當中,進而為其他團隊成員創造正向的工作環境。 

取得工作與生活間的平衡對於團隊福祉而言是關鍵的一環。若有人苦於追趕多個期限、照顧生病的孩子,同時還得在隔天工作時保持頭腦清晰,就會引發過勞。根據 Asana 進行的工作剖析調查,有 71% 的應答者表示自己於 2020 年間至少經歷過一次過勞。

鼓勵團隊取得健康的、工作與生活之間的平衡,能使團隊成長茁壯。給他們定期休息的時段 (較長的假期) 而不僅是每日的午餐休息時間。鼓勵員工休假不只有助提高員工生產力,更能提振士氣。 

若員工獲得的福利能夠讓他們在職場外擁有令人滿意的生活,他們的工作滿意度也就可能較高。托育補助/協助、育嬰 (育兒) 假、交通補助及健康醫療補助這類福利全都對員工投入工作有所幫助。這些福利都是針對工作以外的事項,且可能影響個人的日常生活。當公司能夠提供強而有力的福利時,員工就能專注地把工作做好,而不會對工作外的責任感到擔憂。儘管員工福利是由公司內部的少數員工/部門負責處理,團隊主管仍可透過為員工發聲,促進團隊獲得所需福利,從而使團隊成長茁壯。 

閱讀:充電假:運作方式、關鍵益處及常見問題

降低團隊士氣的可能因素

員工士氣是公司文化的重要環節,需要持續給予關注和照料。您若未積極經營強而有力的團隊文化,士氣就可能會下滑。以下是一些導致團隊士氣低落的因素:

高度壓力的公司文化

許多事可能會形成高度壓力的公司文化。頻繁的營運變動以及高異動率全都是可能為員工帶來高度壓力的事。 

組織中的頻繁變動會讓員工感到不穩定,進而對他們形成壓力。若公司無法決定如何組織其團隊成員或建立標準流程,員工就難以有效執行工作。例如團隊的經理可能設立某個具體流程,接著在幾個月之內,可能又有新的經理加入並設立完全不同的流程。必須在極短的時間內切換流程,這可能會帶來混淆和動盪。

高異動率也可能對團隊造成壓力。若必須持續訓練新進人員,就可能使團隊成員增加更多工作。除了聘僱流程外,新進員工也會需要花一定的時間才能對工作完全上手。當員工異動率很高時,團隊就沒有機會專注在被任用時公司賦予他們的任務,而必須更專注於協助新團隊成員的到職培訓。若團隊成員始終來來去去,就會需要花費更長的時間,才能完成幫助公司達成目標的工作。 

若團隊主管開始察覺異動率上升了,就必須開始實施策略,預防士氣下滑。營造穩健的團隊互動氣氛,以及讓不同團隊成員接受交互訓練,以確保某位成員退出時仍有適當的支持體系,這樣一來,無論公司哪個層級發生任何問題,您的團隊都能繼續生存。 

不穩定的領導階層

領導階層在公司文化和員工士氣上扮演重要的角色。若領導階層頻繁變動,員工就沒有足夠的時間與經理建立穩固的關係。花時間與直屬部屬建立一對一的關係很重要。您的員工需要知道您與他們站在同一邊。經理也有責任做為高層與基層間的橋梁,以實現更高階的公司目標和展望。若這個環節經常異動,員工就可能無法取得所需資訊,故無法感受到自己的工作呼應更高階的目的。

如同缺乏清楚的目標一樣,若缺乏整體公司的績效透明度,就可能迅速打擊員工士氣。若員工眼中所見都是高員工異動率、緊急會議、領導階層持續變動,等同於看出事情不對勁的明確徵兆。倘若領導者未能真正且公開透明地因應實際的挑戰,員工就可能對領導階層失去信心,因而士氣低落。

領導階層對員工清楚地溝通,可以對抗這些壓力因子。若領導階層讓員工清楚瞭解自己的角色、責任和流程,他們就能明確知道該執行什麼任務來達成目標。當明晰度提高了,團隊成員就能將心力投入在直接對公司目標有所貢獻的事項。

請閱讀:職場有效溝通的 12 個提示

在遠距工作期間維持員工的士氣

員工士氣隨時可能改變,而且有些帶來改變的成因可能與工作毫不相干。舉 COVID-19 全球疫情為例,許多人必須大幅改變日常工作的習慣,在一夜之間變成遠距工作。 

全球疫情曾是重大的外部壓力因子,且企業對此僅有甚小的掌控度。這項變動大幅改變了許多公司營運的方式。為了協助新的遠距團隊維持士氣,許多公司透過提供額外福利和支援,以利因應全球疫情帶來的壓力處境。Asana 在全球實施了公司假以及心理健康支援措施,從而維持穩健的團隊士氣,並在團隊成員學習如何在家工作的同時給予支援。 

為什麼您應重視員工士氣?

激發團隊士氣和營建公司文化是建立長期員工滿意度的重要步驟。但何以公司維持高昂的員工士氣如此重要?以下說明幾個背後的原因:

高昂士氣所代表的意義:員工較開心

員工開心且有良好的工作/生活平衡時,他們更可能產出品質更佳的工作成果。感到較少壓力的員工能夠更專注、有更高的創造力,且對接受變化和新穎構想更為開放。 

員工壓力較小,也就意味著他們較為健康。根據 Mayo Clinic 的發現,長期承受壓力的個人出現健康問題的風險較高,例如:消化問題、肌肉緊繃、頭痛、高血壓以及心理健康問題。當人們面對的壓力較少時,這些健康問題出現的可能性較低。健康 (包括生理與心理) 的員工能夠帶來更高的生產力,也較少因為身體問題而請假。

請閱讀:來自 Asana 領導層的建議:打造強大組織文化的 6 個提示

士氣高昂意味著較高的員工留任率

員工感到開心而投入,並且對公司有正向的觀感時,比較不會另尋新工作。不僅如此,快樂的員工更是吸引新進人才的最佳招募人員。投入度高的員工比較有可能推薦人才應徵開放的職缺,並且給予公司正面的評價。

quotation mark
我真心認為協作是解決世界最大挑戰的關鍵。在 Asana 工作讓我有機會協助團隊解決許多世界級的大型任務,即便只是透過微不足道的做法,為加入公司的新進人員準備好他們獲致成功所需的工具,也值得引以為傲。”
Asana 員工到職訓練主任 Cristina Gavin

高昂的士氣源自於優秀的領導

公司的領導和文化是茁壯員工士氣的基礎。想瞭解更多相關資訊,以便改善公司的領導能力嗎?您可以在 Asana 的資源庫中找到更多有關領導力的文章。

相關資源

文章

What is work anxiety? 10 tips to overcome your work worries

How team morale affects employee performance

Sarah Laoyan contributor headshotSarah LaoyanJuly 21st, 20217 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Team morale tips - header image

When you're building a team, you're looking for team members with the right skills to help your organization achieve its objectives. Part of helping your team achieve their full potential is making sure they’re supported and engaged at work. This is where team morale comes in. As your team grows, how do you create—and maintain—high team morale and job satisfaction across all of your team members? 

Building and sustaining employee morale starts with your company culture. A clear company culture can help guide morale when things go wrong. Ready to learn more about creating and maintaining strong morale? Here’s how.

What is employee morale?

Team or employee morale is the overall outlook that employees have towards their organization or business. In this context, morale can be described as the confidence that a person or group has in your organization or business. 

Good morale means that your employee satisfaction is high—people are generally engaged at work. When you start to see low employee morale, that means your employees are discontent. Look to see if anybody is experiencing burnout or is feeling disengaged with their work. While these are very general examples, there are many aspects that can affect employee morale.

3 ways to boost employee morale

Encouraging and maintaining morale starts with team leadership. As a team leader, there are a variety of things you can do to foster and maintain employee satisfaction, including:

1. Lead by example

Human beings are social creatures, and by nature, we look to those in leadership positions for cues on how to act. While everyone has their own unique way of leading, here are a few ways you can lead by example to create strong team morale:

  • Get involved in your team’s work. By being involved with your team, you're showing them that you not only trust them with their work, but that you’re engaged with their work. Engaged leaders better understand the work that their team does. Then, demonstrate your support by reinforcing how their individual work connects to broader business goals.

  • When in doubt, lead with empathy. Good leaders show employees that they care about them—not just as an employee but also as a person. Empathetic leaders give credit where credit is due, allow for flexibility when it's needed, and check in with team members regularly to see how they're feeling.

  • Lean into transparency. Regularly share information regarding company changes, challenges that your team is having, or even what's happening in your own life. Showing your team that you're also human creates a safe space for them to share their candid feelings as well.

  • Ask for feedback. A good leader creates opportunities for open feedback and takes that feedback to heart. Whether you do this in a 1:1, as a group, or anonymously, soliciting feedback can help your employees feel heard. That way, employees are less likely to discuss grievances with other coworkers in a way that can affect morale.

Read: How to lead by example, according to one Asana leader

2. Build trust with your team

When you build trust with your team, you’re sharing the responsibility so that everyone is empowered to do their jobs effectively and autonomously. You can do this by giving them the freedom to make decisions and encouraging them to grow their skillsets. When you trust your employees to make good decisions, they’ll feel more confident that their voice and opinion matter. This benefits the entire team because every team member can share their individual strengths and perspectives and put them to use in a meaningful way.

When your team is working hard, remember to give your employees the appreciation they deserve. Identify team members who are making an impact and recognize them for the specific work they have contributed. A blanket statement doesn’t do much for employee morale, but highlighting specific contributions shows that you care about their work and their impact on the company.

Examples of meaningful employee recognition:

  • “Thank you for making time to accommodate that last-minute meeting. I know you have a busy schedule so I appreciate your flexibility.”

  • “The extra slide that you added to the presentation brought a lot of value. Thank you for sharing your expertise.”

  • “Thank you for your patience handling that difficult customer. The patience you showcased is a fantastic example of what our team members should strive for.”

3. Help employees thrive outside of work

Your team’s overall wellbeing is just as important to their morale as workload and resources. When you’re committed to helping your employees live a healthy and satisfying life outside of work, they’re more likely to be engaged at work, creating a positive work environment for other team members. 

Work-life balance is a key part to your team’s wellbeing. If someone is juggling several deadlines, sick kids, and also trying to maintain a clear head for work the next day, that’s a recipe for burnout. According to the Anatomy of Work survey conducted by Asana, 71% of survey respondents reported feeling burnout at least once in 2020.

Enable your team to thrive by encouraging a healthy work-life balance. Offer regular breaks—extended time off—and not just daily lunch breaks. Encouraging employees to take time off not only helps employee productivity, but can also increase morale. 

Employees are also more likely to have higher job satisfaction if they have access to benefits that enable them to thrive outside of the workplace. Benefits like child care, parental leave, transportation, and healthcare can all contribute to employee engagement. These are all things outside of work that can affect someone's daily life, and when robust benefits are available, employees can focus on doing their jobs well instead of worrying about their responsibilities outside of work. While employee benefits are handled by a small section of employees, team leads can use their voice to advocate for the benefits that their team needs to thrive. 

Factors that can decrease team morale

Employee morale is an important aspect of company culture that needs consistent attention and care. When you aren’t intentional about creating a strong team culture, morale can decrease. Here are a few facts that contribute to low team morale:

Stressful company culture

Many things can contribute to a stressful company culture. Frequent operational changes and high turnover rate are all things that can create high stress for employees. 

Frequent changes in an organization can cause stress on employees by making them feel unstable. If a company can't decide how to organize their team members or establish standard processes, this makes it difficult for employees to do their work effectively. For example, a team may have a manager set a specific process, and then within a few months a new manager may join and set an entirely different process. Having to switch processes in a short amount of time can cause confusion and thrash.

A high turnover rate can also cause stress to your team. Having to continually train new hires can create more work for team members. In addition to hiring, it will take time for new employees to fully ramp up. When employee turnover is high, your team doesn’t have the opportunity to focus on the work they were hired to do, but are more focused on getting new team members onboarded. If team members are constantly being cycled in and out, the work that helps companies meet their goals will take longer to complete. 

If team leads start seeing an increase in turnover rate, it’s necessary to start implementing strategies to prevent a dip in morale. Establishing strong team dynamics and cross-training team members to ensure that there’s proper coverage if another team member is out can help your team stay afloat—regardless of what’s happening at the company level. 

Unstable leadership

Leadership plays a big part in company culture and employee morale. If there are frequent changes in leadership, employees don't have enough time to establish a relationship with their manager. It’s important to take time to build a one on one relationship with your reports. Your employees need to know that they have an advocate on their side. Managers also have the responsibility of being a connection to broader company goals and outlook. If that is constantly changing, employees might not get the information they need or feel connected to the broader purpose of their work.

Similar to the lack of clarity on goals, a lack of transparency on the performance of a company as a whole can quickly lower employee morale. If employees are seeing high employee turnover, emergency meetings, and constant shifts in leadership, those are sure fire signs that something is not going right. And when leaders don’t address real challenges with authenticity and transparency, employees can lose faith in leadership and experience lower morale.

Clear communication from leadership to employees can combat these stressors. If leadership is providing clarity to employees about their roles, responsibilities, and processes, they’ll know exactly what to do to meet those goals. With more clarity, team members can work on the things that contribute directly to company goals.

Read: 12 tips to effective communication in the workplace

Maintaining employee morale during remote work

Employee morale can change at any moment—and some of the reasons for that change may not be work-related at all. Let's take the COVID-19 pandemic for example. Many people had to drastically change their day-to-day work routines to shift—overnight—to remote work. 

The pandemic was a major external stressor that companies had very little control over. This change drastically shifted how many companies operated. To help their newly remote teams maintain morale, many companies adapted to the stressful circumstance of the pandemic by offering additional benefits and support. At Asana, we implemented global company holidays and mental health support to maintain a strong team morale and support team members as they learned how to work from home

Why should you care about employee morale?

Building team morale and company culture is an important step to establishing long-term employee satisfaction. But why is it so important to ensure that your company maintains high employee morale? Here are a few reasons:

High morale means happier employees

When employees are happy and have good work-life balance, they're more likely to produce higher quality work. Employees who experience less stress are more focused, creative and open to changes and new ideas. 

Less stressed employees also mean healthier employees. According to the Mayo Clinic, individuals who are chronically stressed can have an increased risk of health problems, such as digestive issues, muscle tension, headaches, high blood pressure, and mental health problems. When people are less stressed, these health problems are less likely to occur. Employee wellness, both physical and mental, can lead to higher productivity and less absenteeism due to health problems.

Read: 6 tips to build a strong organizational culture, according to Asana leaders

High morale means increased employee retention

When employees are happy and engaged and have a positive outlook on their company, they’re less likely to search for a new job. Not only that, happy employees are the best recruiters for new talent. Engaged employees are more likely to refer people to an open position and speak positively about the company.

I strongly believe that collaboration is the key to solving the world’s biggest challenges. Working at Asana gives me the chance to help teams tackle some of the world’s biggest tasks, even if it’s in a small way by preparing our incoming new hires with the tools they need to succeed.

High morale starts with great leadership

Your company’s leadership and culture are the foundation for strong employee morale. Interested in learning more about how you can improve leadership at your company? You can find more articles on leadership in Asana’s resource library.

Related resources

Article

How to build expert power (and become a better leader)