來自 Asana 領導層的建議:打造強大組織文化的 6 個提示

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsMay 10th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
組織文化文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

組織文化不只是星期五晚上一起喝啤酒而已,它是透過您組織內的一切計劃、溝通、行為,以及業務目標與價值觀共同形塑而成。組織文化會界定並塑造您的工作環境。建立好的組織文化需要時間與努力。請閱讀我們的文化建構提示,以及在公司發展正向文化的六個重要事項。

藉助 Asana 賦予團隊權能

在您的組織中,您可能會在準備推出的產品、贏得客戶的方法,以及人員的招聘等事項花費許多心思。畢竟,這些確實也都是公司營運流暢的重要關鍵。

然而,組織文化跟這一切同樣重要,卻經常被忽略。如果我們告訴您,良好的公司文化就是讓您的團隊從優質邁向卓越的祕方,您會怎麼想?

良好的文化是能夠經營出來的,但這需要團隊的領導階層下定決心全力實行。在 Asana,我們為文化投入時間與金錢——我們的共同創辦人經常說,他們對組織文化的關注程度和對開發 Asana 產品不相上下。這使我們在員工人數仍少於 200 人時便聘用了多元性與包容性總監,並為了人員營運總監的人選進行了五個月的面試,以確保能找到可以帶領我們塑造文化的完美人選。

為什麼我們要告訴您這些?因為我們相信,組織文化是發展良好業務、建立優質團隊,並最終達成優質任務的關鍵。在這篇文章裡,我們會帶您瞭解組織文化的本質、Asana 的領導者如何建構公司文化,以及在公司發展優質文化該做的六件事。以下將分別詳述。

什麼是組織文化?

組織文化是公司的核心,它指的是在公司內徹底實行規範、最佳實務、理念,以及共有價值觀。您的文化會定義及形塑您的工作環境。追根究底,發展組織文化便是建立人員計畫,幫助您一方面達成公司目標,另一方面保有公司價值觀

Asana 人員總監 Anna Binder 經常說文化「不只是週五晚上一起喝啤酒」,而是三個關鍵組織要素的連結:

  1. 組織的業務目標。您的組織在市場上想達成什麼樣的目標?如何達成?

  2. 公司價值觀。公司領導階層所抱持的價值觀決定了一切的基礎以及所有後續事態的發展。

  3. 人員與人員接觸點。請想想您組織內的所有計畫、溝通與組織行為。正是這些成千上百的接觸點造就了您的組織文化,囊括從您的預算、您的工作說明所使用的語言,到界定與宣達決策與業務目標的方式等一切大小事務。

公司文化的重要性

投資組織文化與領導能力,讓團隊成員能夠獲得良好的發展、全心投入工作,並感覺得到支援,正是業務成功的關鍵。藉由實踐公司價值觀,您可以規律而有意識地改良您的業務引擎、客戶支援、人員到職、新血招聘、內部流程,以及關於組織的近乎一切方面。

良好的文化能夠讓團隊感覺獲得支持,天天拿出最佳的工作表現,並因此可促進員工的凝聚力並提高留職率。藉由深厚的文化與價值觀,您可以:

  • 建立團隊導向的作業方式,讓您的團隊能繳出最佳的工作成果。

  • 降低摩擦,讓團隊成員能辨識並執行具備高影響力的專案。

  • 確保所有團隊成員無論性別、外表、種族、身分等特質,都有在組織中受到歡迎的感覺。

  • 將一切連結回組織的任務,讓每個人都能瞭解自己的工作在大局中的重要性。

  • 為團隊作業、協作與團隊凝聚樹立全組織通用的標準。

quotation mark
對我們而言,文化讓我們的員工得以儘可能輕鬆地執行最具影響力的工作,而這對我們的任務至關重要。這不僅能支援業務,使我們能夠達成使命,最終還能提高員工的滿意度、促進其成長。”
Asana 人員營運總監 Anna Binder
閱讀:我們如何設計出能推動業務成果的文化

發展組織文化的時機

基本結論是:越快越好。事實上,無論有沒有您的參與,文化都會自行建立。差別在於,如果您的公司文化未經主動發展及塑造,則您可能面臨組織混亂及架構不明的風險。這並不是好現象,因此請花時間培養您中意的文化。深厚的文化來自於有意的養成,而不是任其自行徒長。

在 Asana,組織文化是我們的創辦人心目中的首要事項之一,因此在我們執行業務、投入工作及彼此支援時,它也很自然地成為我們行事作風的一部分。

quotation mark
請堅持初衷。如果您因為這項工作目前感覺起來困難且令人分心而將其推遲,那麼您其實是在讓自己日後更難 (也許最終甚至不可能) 解決問題。文化會自我鞏固並隨著時間變得益發活躍,因此,儘早將之導向正確的方向非常重要。”
Dustin Moskovitz,Asana 共同創辦人兼執行長

6 個形塑公司文化的要素

因此,該如何塑造公司文化?每一間公司的組織文化都不相同,而讓您的文化獨一無二之處便是由您帶上檯面的事物。有了這層認識後,以下是六個在發展組織文化時需要思考的主要因素。

1. 建立共有價值觀

建立共有價值觀並身體力行是良好公司文化的基石。組織的核心價值觀會說明組織成員應如何彼此相待、員工可以期待獲得怎樣的待遇,以及公司的所有人共有的中心價值觀為何。

有一點很重要,那便是您不應創造由上而下的價值觀,而要給您的團隊機會共同創造文化上的價值觀。跟您的公司本身一樣,公司的價值觀應該是有人性的動態理念,並為您的團隊成員所信奉。

有時候,這可能表示需要重新思考或更新您的價值觀,特別是在公司的成長期。更新價值觀是根據公司所在的階段修正、重定義或新建價值觀的有力方式。事實上,Asana 每隔幾年就會經歷一次價值觀更新,以達成上述目的。以下是我們目前的定義:

Asana 的九大價值觀包括使命、明晰、授權與擔責、審慎、既快又好、共同創造、拒絕不必要的妥協、真誠以及人性化。

2. 投資多元性、包容性及歸屬感

組織文化的一大重點是確保您的團隊成員感到有所歸依,而這正是從多元性、包容性及歸屬感開始。建構多元的勞動力不只是正確之舉,實際上還能賦予您的團隊競爭力優勢。研究指出,擁有較多多元團隊的公司較具創新力、能做出較優質的決策,並且能更有效率地達成財務目標。

因此,您可如何投資多元性?以下提供幾個好方法,讓多元性融入您現有的文化:

  • 讓招聘及到職更具包容性。如果您想建構具備多元性的文化,請從一開始做起,也就是招聘與到職。請訓練您的招聘經理在招聘流程中創造具包容性的環境。吸引並尋找來自弱勢群組的求職者、專注於創造具包包容性的求職體驗。最後,請讓您的人力資源及人才招募團隊做好準備,在招聘與到職流程中成為多元性與包容性的倡議者。

  • 員工資源團體 (ERG)。ERG 對於弱勢群體與聯盟而言是值得信賴的安全空間,這些空間可為所有團隊成員建構社群感及歸屬感。雖然 ERG 通常是以公司層級設立,但它們通常是由希望形塑職場文化的團隊成員所領導。

  • 開誠布公活動。為了讓您的團隊感覺受到歡迎並且喜歡他們所屬的環境,請確保安全的空間讓他們能在工作時完全展現自我。例如,在 Asana,我們會舉行「開誠布公」活動,討論如身分認同與職場挑戰等通常會令人不自在的棘手話題。這些坦率而開放的對話讓團隊成員能充分地表達自我。

  • 具有包容性的空間。另一種讓團隊成員完全展現自我的方式,就是確保他們能自在地待在您的空間內。這可能包括準備哺乳室、祈禱室,以及一切性別認同與生理條件通用的性別中立洗手間。

quotation mark
我們正攜手打造更好的工作方式,並且向世界展現我們確實有可能創造出能同時支持透明度、信任和包容性的產品與文化。”
Asana 多元性與包容性總監 Sonja Gittens Ottley
閱讀:Asana 的多元、包容與平等方法

3. 以互信為文化的基礎

具有包容性的文化必須以信任為核心。員工必須覺得能安全地展現自我、進行實驗、承擔風險、面對失敗,並最終以個人與團隊的形式取得成功。組織文化的建構有一部分便在於創造讓任何職位、團隊或年資的員工都能感覺受到歡迎,並鼓勵分享概念與想法的環境。

為了建立互信的基礎,請創造能讓團隊成員交流並坦承相對的明確管道。有幾種方式可以將此納入您的公司文化:

  • 舉行與公司領導階層間的開放式論壇。提供接觸公司領導者並提出問題的管道,便是一種向團隊成員表達信任的作法。無論是帶領整個高階主管團隊一起參與,或是每月舉行向不同的公司領導人隨意發問的問答時間,都可以向您的員工展現您樂意回答他們的疑問,進而建立互信。

  • 向所有層級徵求回饋。開放的另一面在於接受來自團隊成員的回饋。不同的聲音通常是達成良好團隊合作的關鍵,並且建設性的批評可以幫助您與團隊成員建立更緊密的連結。請參閱我的文章,瞭解如何接受及提供建設性的回饋

  • 提高各個專案、流程與決策的可視度。有時候,團隊成員只是想知道情況,或瞭解某些決策的理由。請儘可能公開資訊,或在主要資源中宣達重要決策。在 Asana,我們自然都使用 Asana 保持同步及說明大局。

4. 適當分配責任

建立信任的核心是讓團隊成員掌握決策流程中的某些部分。有幾種方式可以達到這個效果,但最好的作法是分配責任。這可以讓您的團隊成員感覺向是有價值的貢獻者,而不只是機器裡面的螺絲釘。

quotation mark
當團隊中的每個人都被賦予權能和信任,得以徹底發揮他們的潛力時,每個人的能力都會大增,從而使公司能夠實現更多作為。我們的經驗是,有了合適的團隊,分散權力會讓組織整體更快樂,且更有效地完成最宏大的任務。”
Asana 共同創辦人 Justin Rosenstein
閱讀:如何將權限分配給公司中的每個人

在 Asana,我們的作法是使用一個稱為職能範圍 (AOR) 的系統。將組織中每個領域的責任分配給最適合對應工作的團隊成員。藉由 AOR 系統,非直接管理職位的團隊成員也有機會以領導者的身分成長,並掌握重要的決策,即便是新進人員亦然。

5. 提高明晰度,減少穀倉效應

對於建立良好的工作環境,以及營造隨之而來的優質公司文化,明晰度是其中的關鍵要素。工作非常容易在團隊與工具之間因為陷入穀倉效應而難以被發現。如果對於該做的事情,以及該做這些事情的原因沒有清晰的瞭解,那麼您就很容易認為自己在瞎忙。

如果您尚未建立清楚明確的方式將日常工作與公司目標連結起來,請務必儘快找出方法。最近的研究指出,只有 26% 的知識工作者對於自己個人的工作與公司目標的連結有非常清晰的瞭解。這是因為用投影片和試算表設定按季審核的目標,對於將目標連結至日常工作而言並不夠紮實。

請換個方式,藉由追蹤引發工作的公司目標提高動機並提供明晰度。請尋找能將日常工作連結至專案團隊成員目標的目標管理軟體。如此一來,團隊成員便可以清楚地瞭解他們即將為哪些目標以何種形式做出貢獻。

quotation mark
如果您領導的團隊是某個較大組織的一部分,那麼最重要的事情之一,就是幫助團隊中的每個人瞭解這個組織是如何對世界造成影響、您的團隊對於該組織的成功而言有何重要性,以及他們個人的工作對於整個團隊的成功而言重要性何在。”
Asana 共同創辦人 Justin Rosenstein
閱讀:如何建構目標、計劃與責任的明晰度

6. 建立優質的招聘與到職流程

組織文化從人們與您的公司互動的那一刻便開始了,包括看到徵才廣告、接起招募電話、出席現場面試,或到職報到首日。確保團隊成員感覺受到歡迎、清楚地瞭解您的招聘與到職流程,並能夠取得成功所需的資訊,對於建立深厚的組織文化至關重要。

招聘

有幾種方式可以建立具包容性的招聘流程以建構深厚的組織文化。

  • 評估薪資公平度以及可得薪酬。不同的弱勢少數群體之間有薪資差距並不是祕密。具包容性的招聘與健康的文化都有一個關鍵的部分,那便是確保團隊成員的薪資公平。請定期按性別與種族評估公司內與薪酬相關的主要指標,並且如果您還沒有這樣做,請儘快開始。如有必要,請進行更嚴謹的薪資公平性分析,以確保所有團隊成員都獲得公平的報酬。

  • 讓招聘經理接受無意識偏見訓練。每個人都有無意識偏見,因為這是我們的大腦在快速處理資訊時的心裡捷徑。然而,如果不能適當地辨識出這些無意識偏見,就可能導致判斷偏差,進而助長刻板印象。為了避免這種狀況發生,請為招聘經理與團隊成員舉行訓練課程,幫助他們在職場辨識及對抗無意識偏見。如果您不確定如何著手,我們有文章探討應努力克服以協助促進包容性的無意識偏見範例

  • 停止評估文化契合度。您可能經常聽見團隊成員說:「我喜歡他們,他們的文化契合度很好。」但這樣的陳述可能有誤導的作用。我們之中有許多人用文化契合描述從潛在聘用者身上得到的良好感受或正面氣質。問題是,我們本來就比較有可能對於和我們自己相似的人抱有這樣的好感。評估契合度很重要,但是請訓練您的招聘經理使用更精確的語言描述關於潛在聘用者的觀感。這些求職者是否體現了您組織的價值觀?體現的是那幾項?為什麼?他們是否贊同您的使命?請精確地說明理由。使用更具體的範例和語言可以幫助您恰當地評估求職者。

  • 直接說明多元性與包容性的重要性。請讓所有求職者知道,建構具包容性的文化是您公司的優先事項。請考慮在您的職缺介紹末尾加上一段聲明,表達您對包容性的承諾。如果您還沒這麼做,請儘快開始。以下是 Asana 所使用的聲明:

我們的理念是為人們提供支援,讓他們發揮最好的工作表現並獲得成功,且公司使命的核心是建構多元、平等、具包容性的公司。我們的目標是確保 Asana 堅持營造具包容性的環境,讓所有人無論是在應徵職缺或在公司裡工作時,都能感覺獲得平等的尊重與肯定。我們歡迎任何教育程度、性別認同與表達、性傾向、宗教、年齡、國籍、社經地位、健康狀況、兵役背景的求職者。 

到職

聘雇新的團隊成員後,請建立能反映您公司文化的到職流程。以下是幾種方式:

  • 讓新進人員瞭解,包容性至關重要。在到職體驗中強調多元性與包容性是讓新進員工感覺到獲得接納的一個簡單作法。利用如舉辦多元性與包容性 (D&I) 講座的方式,說明您公司對於包容性的承諾,則可讓新進人員知道這對公司而言很重要,並且也讓他們成為您公司中獨一無二的資產。

  • 創造支援與結構。新進人員很容易在最初的幾天感到不堪重荷。有個簡單的方法能提供支持,並讓新進人員感覺受到歡迎,那就是採用夥伴系統。讓每位新進人員搭配一位較資深的員工 (請注意,不要安排他們的主管),帶他們熟悉工作。除了他們的主管之外,夥伴可以幫助新進人員向同事發問,並且讓他們較為自在地度過第一週。

  • 確保新進人員擁有獲得成功所需的資源與時間。創造具包容性的到職體驗,有一部分便是要明白,並非所有人都是用相同的方式吸收資訊。如果您的新進員工即將參與到職課程,請提供簡報檔與資訊,讓他們可以用自己的時間複習。此外,也請給新進人員足夠的時間與空間消化所有與其角色相關的資訊。

quotation mark
對於讓員工感覺從報到第一天就獲得接納而言,到職流程是關鍵時刻。它會為一個人在您的公司留存的時間定下基調,並且讓他們對於在您的公司工作提供基本的認識與體驗。這便是為什麼建立具包容性的到職體驗對於創造具包容性的公司文化如此重要。”
Asana 多元性與包容性總監 Sonja Gittens Ottley
閱讀:從第一天起打造包容力:10 種方式建立具有歸屬感的到職體驗

良好的文化始於承諾

建構組織文化需要時間與決心,但是良好的文化可以讓您的團隊成員順利完成最具影響力的工作。

quotation mark
高績效的文化不會自然而然地發生。它們的設計、架構和建造都具有目的,而這個目的就是您的意圖。”
Asana 人員營運總監 Anna Binder

如果您才剛剛開始,請運用上述的提示為穩定的組織文化奠定堅固的基礎。請記住:您的團隊成員也會形塑公司文化。如果您有疑慮,請開誠布公。

相關資源

文章

Why 1:1 meetings are crucial to your team’s success

6 tips to build a strong organizational culture, according to Asana leaders

May 10th, 2021
Organizational culture article banner image

At your organization, you’ve probably thought a lot about the product you’re building, the way you’ll win customers, and the people you’re hiring. After all, these are critical ways to run your business smoothly. 

Equally important—but often overlooked—is organizational culture. But what if we told you that great company culture is the secret sauce that takes your team from good to exceptional? 

Good culture is achievable—but it takes a committed team of leaders focused on building culture to make it happen. At Asana, we’ve dedicated time and investment into building our culture—in fact, our co-founders like to say they approach company culture with the same intentionality they bring to developing the Asana product. This led to decisions like hiring our Head of Diversity and Inclusion when we had less than 200 employees and spending five months interviewing our Head of People Operations to make sure she was the perfect person to drive our culture forward. 

Why are we telling you all of this? Because we believe that organizational culture is the key to unlocking a great business, a great team, and ultimately, a great mission. In this article, we’ll walk you through what organizational culture is, how leaders at Asana have approached building company culture, and the six things to focus on to develop a great culture at your company. Here’s how.

What is organizational culture?

Organizational culture is the very core of a company. It refers to the practical and pervasive implementation of norms, best practices, ideals, and shared values within your company. Your culture defines and shapes your work environment. Ultimately, developing your organizational culture is about building people programs to help you achieve your business goals while remaining in-line with your company values.

Anna Binder, Asana’s Head of People, likes to say culture “is not beer on Fridays.” Instead, culture connects the three crucial parts of any organization: 

  1. Your organization’s business goals. What is your organization trying to achieve in the marketplace, and how will it get there?

  2. Your company values. Everything starts with the values held by company leadership and how well they walk the talk.

  3. Your people and people touchpoints. Think of all the programs, communications, and organizational behaviors within your organization. These hundreds and thousands of touchpoints make up your organizational culture—anything from your budget to the language you use in job descriptions to how decisions and business objectives are defined and communicated.

Why company culture is important

Investing in organizational culture and leadership where team members can thrive, engage with work, and feel supported is exactly what contributes to business success. By leveraging your company values, you can regularly and intentionally improve your business engine, customer support, onboarding, recruiting, internal processes, and nearly everything else about your organization. 

Good culture drives employee engagement and increases retention, because your team feels supported and able to do their best work every day. With strong culture and values you can:

  • Build team-oriented practices so your team can get their best work done.

  • Reduce friction so team members can identify and execute high-impact projects.

  • Ensure all team members feel welcome in your organization, regardless of gender, appearance, race, and identity. 

  • Connect everything back to your organization’s mission, so everyone understands why their work is a critical piece of the puzzle. 

  • Establish standards for teamwork, collaboration, and team building across your organization.

For us, it’s mission-critical that our culture enables our employees to do their most impactful work as effortlessly as possible. This supports the business, enables us to achieve our mission, and ultimately enhances employee satisfaction and growth.
Read: How we’ve designed a culture that fuels our business results

When to begin developing organizational culture

The bottom line is: as soon as possible. Truth is, your culture will develop with or without you. The difference is, without actively developing and shaping your company culture, you risk having a disorganized and ambiguous framework. Instead, take the time to nurture your desired culture. A strong culture comes from intentionality—rather than letting culture happen.

At Asana, organizational culture was one of the first things our founders thought about—and as a result, it became an integral part of how we do business, show up to work, and support each other. 

Be persistent; if you defer this work because it feels hard and distracting now, you’re just setting yourselves up for a much harder (and eventually perhaps impossible) problem to solve later. Culture reinforces itself and becomes more rigid over time, so it’s important to nudge it in the right direction as early as possible.

6 factors that shape company culture

So, how can you get there? Every company’s organizational culture is different—and part of what makes your culture unique is what you bring to the table. With that in mind, here are the six main factors to consider when developing your company culture. 

1. Build shared values

Building shared values—and living those values—is the bedrock of good corporate culture. An organization’s core values describe how group members should treat one another, how employees can expect to be treated, and what central values everyone at the company shares. 

It’s important to note that you shouldn’t just create top-down values, but instead give your team an opportunity to co-create cultural values. Just like your company itself, your company’s values should be living, dynamic ideals that your team members believe in. 

Sometimes, this can mean re-thinking or refreshing your values—especially as your company grows. A values refresh is a powerful way to refine, re-define, or build new values based on the stage your company is at. In fact, we went through a values refresh a few years ago at Asana to do just that. Here’s what we landed on:

The nine Asana values: mission, clarity, give & take responsibility, mindfulness, do great things fast, co-creation, reject false tradeoffs, be real, and heartitude

2. Invest in diversity, inclusion, and belonging

A key part of organizational culture is making sure your team members feel like they belong—and that starts with diversity, inclusion, and belonging. Building a diverse workforce isn’t just the right thing to do—it actually gives your team a competitive advantage. Research shows that companies with more diverse teams are more innovative, make better decisions, and are more effective at achieving their financial goals. 

So, how can you invest in diversity? There are a few great ways to embed diversity into your current culture, including:

  • Inclusive hiring and onboarding practices. To build a diverse culture, begin at the beginning: with hiring and onboarding. Train your hiring managers to create an inclusive environment during the hiring process. Aim to attract and source candidates from underrepresented groups. Focus on creating an inclusive candidate experience. Finally, equip your human resources and talent acquisition teams to be advocates for diversity and inclusion at every stage in the hiring and onboarding process. 

  • Employee Resource Groups (ERGs). ERGs are trusted, safe spaces for underrepresented groups and allies. These spaces build a sense of community and belonging for all team members. Though ERGs are typically set up at the company level, they’re usually led by team members who want to shape workplace culture. 

  • Real talk events. To make your team feel welcome and like they belong, make sure there’s a safe space for them to be their full selves at work. For example, at Asana we host ‘real talk’ events to discuss hard, often uncomfortable topics, such as experiences around identity and workplace challenges. These candid, open conversations allow team members to be their full selves.  

  • Inclusive spaces. Another way for team members to be their full selves is to make sure they’re comfortable simply being in your space. This can include dedicated mother’s rooms for working moms, prayer rooms, gender-neutral restrooms for all identities, and accessibility for all bodies. 

Together we’re building a better way to work, and showing the world that it’s possible to create both a product and a culture that supports transparency, trust, and inclusion.
Read: Asana’s approach to Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity

3. Ground your culture in mutual trust

An inclusive culture must be centered on trust at its core. Employees have to feel safe to be themselves, experiment, take chances, fail, and ultimately, succeed as individuals and as teams. Part of building your organization’s culture is creating a space where employees, regardless of title, team, or tenure, feel welcome and encouraged to share ideas and thoughts. 

To support mutual trust, create clear avenues for team members to engage and be honest. There are several ways you can build this into your company culture:

  • Hold open forums with company leadership. One way to show your team members that you trust them is to provide access to company leaders and ask questions that are on their mind. Whether you bring in your entire executive team or do monthly ask me anything Q&A sessions with different company leaders, showing your employees that you’re open to answering their questions builds reciprocal trust. 

  • Solicit feedback at every level. The flip side of being open is accepting feedback from your team members. Disagreement is actually key to good team collaboration, and constructive criticism can help you build closer connection with your team members. Learn how to give and take constructive feedback in our article.

  • Increase visibility across projects, processes, and decisions. Sometimes, team members just want to know what’s happening or why a decision was made. Where possible, keep information public, or share out important decisions in a central source. Naturally at Asana, we use Asana to stay in sync and share the big picture.

4. Distribute responsibility where appropriate

At the core of building trust is giving team members ownership over parts of the decision-making process. There are a variety of ways to do that, but one of the best ways is to distribute responsibility. Instead of your teammates feeling like cogs in a machine, they can feel like valued contributors.

When everyone on a team is empowered and trusted to manifest their full potential, each person becomes capable of so much more, which makes the company capable of so much more. Our experience is that, with the right team, distributed authority results in organizations that are happier and more effective in accomplishing their most ambitious missions.
Read: How to distribute authority to everyone in your company

At Asana, we do this through a system called Areas of Responsibility (AORs). AORs distribute responsibility for each area of the organization to the best team member for the job. With the AOR system, team members who aren’t in direct management roles have opportunities to grow as leaders and to own important decisions—even as new hires. 

5. Increase clarity, reduce silos

Clarity is key for a good working environment and, as a result, a good company culture. Too often, work is siloed between teams and tools, making it hard to find. Without a clear understanding of what you need to do—and why it matters—it can feel like you’re spinning your wheels without really going anywhere. 

If you don’t already, make sure you have a clear, tangible way to connect daily work to company goals. According to recent research, only 26% of knowledge workers have a very clear understanding of how their individual work relates to company goals. That’s because setting goals in a slide deck or spreadsheet that gets checked quarterly isn’t a strong enough connection to regular, daily work. 

Instead, increase motivation and provide clarity by tracking company goals where work happens. Look for a goal management software that connects daily work to the projects team members are working on. That way, team members can clearly see which goals they’re contributing to and how. 

If you’re leading a team that is part of a larger organization, one of the most important things you can do is to help everyone on your team understand how the larger organization is impacting the world, how your team is critical to the success of the organization, and how their individual work is important to the success of the team.
Read: How to lead with clarity of purpose, plan, and responsibility

6. Build great hiring and onboarding processes

Organizational culture starts the moment someone interacts with your company—like seeing an ad, taking a recruiter call, showing up for an onsite interview, or arriving to work on their first day. Making sure your team members feel welcome, clearly understand your hiring and onboarding processes, and have access to the information they need to succeed is critical to building a strong, inclusive organizational culture.

Hiring

There are a variety of ways to build inclusive hiring processes that lead to strong company culture. 

  • Evaluate pay equity and accessible compensation. It’s no secret that there is a wage gap between different underrepresented minorities. A key part of inclusive hiring and healthy culture is ensure you’re paying team members equally. If you don’t already, regularly evaluate key compensation-related metrics at your company by gender and race. If necessary, conduct a more rigorous pay equity analysis to ensure all team members are being compensated fairly.  

  • Train hiring managers about unconscious bias. Everyone has unconscious bias—these mental shortcuts are how our brain processes information quickly. But without proper recognition, unconscious bias can lead to skewed judgments and reinforce stereotypes. To avoid this, hold training sessions for hiring managers and team members to recognize and combat unconscious biases in the workplace.

  • Stop evaluating culture fit. A lot of times, you may hear a team member say “I liked them, they’re a strong culture fit.” But this statement can be misleading. A lot of us use cultural fit to describe good feelings or positive vibes we got from a potential hire. The problem is, we’re more likely to feel that way with people who are similar to us. Evaluating for fit is important—but train your hiring managers to use more precise language to describe how you feel about potential hires. Does this applicant embody your organization’s values? Which ones do they embody, and why? Do they align with your mission? Explain precisely how. Using more specific examples and language can help you properly evaluate applicants.

  • Clarify how important diversity and inclusion is up front. Let any job applicants know that building an inclusive culture is a priority for your company. If you haven’t already, consider adding a blurb to the end of your job description announcing your commitment to inclusivity. For example, here’s the one we use at Asana: 

We believe in supporting people to do their best work and thrive, and building a diverse, equitable, and inclusive company is core to our mission. Our goal is to ensure that Asana upholds an inclusive environment where all people feel that they are equally respected and valued, whether they are applying for an open position or working at the company. We welcome applicants of any educational background, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, religion, ethnicity, age, citizenship, socioeconomic status, disability, and veteran status. 

Onboarding

Once you’ve hired a new team member, build an onboarding process that reflects your company culture. Here are a few ways to do that:

  • Let new hires know inclusion matters. A simple way to make new employees feel included is to emphasize diversity and inclusion during the onboarding experience. Sharing your company’s commitment to inclusion, such as through a Diversity and Inclusion (D&I) onboarding session, can let new hires know that this is important to you and that the attributes that make them unique matter to your company.

  • Create support and structure. It’s easy for new hires to feel overwhelmed in their first few ways. One easy way to build support and make new hires feel welcome is to implement a buddy system. Pair every new hire with a longer-tenured employee—notably, not their manager—to show them the ropes. Having a buddy, in addition to their manager, can help new hires ask questions to a peer and get through their first week more comfortably. 

  • Make sure new hires have the materials—and time—they need to succeed. Part of creating an inclusive onboarding experience is recognizing that not everyone takes in information the same way. If your new hires are attending onboarding sessions, give them access to the presentation decks and information so they can review them in their own time, as well. Additionally, give each new hire the time and space to digest all the new information about their role.

Onboarding is a pivotal moment for making employees feel included from day one. It sets the tone for a person’s tenure at your company, laying the foundation for their knowledge of and experience working for your company. This is why building an inclusive onboarding experience is so important to creating an inclusive company culture.
Read: Inclusion starts on day one: 10 ways to build an inclusive onboarding experience

Good culture starts with commitment

Building organizational culture takes time and dedication—but a good culture can enable your team members to do their most impactful work.

High-performance cultures don’t happen organically; they’re designed, architected and built with intention: your intention.

If you’re just getting started, use the tips above to build a solid foundation for a stellar organizational culture. Remember: your team members will shape company culture as well. When in doubt, lean into honesty and transparency.

Related resources

Article

11 leadership styles that can help you make an impact