如何設定 OKR

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJuly 19th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
如何設定 OKR 文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

看到成功的企業,很容易讓人認定是這些企業的核心構想造就了它們現在的地位。Intel 發明了微晶片、Netflix 開創了隨選提供的影片串流,而 Google 則打造了現代化的搜尋引擎。然而,只靠一個構想將讓您僅止於此。

真正把雜亂無章的新創公司轉而變為業界領先的企業,通常並不是憑藉他們原創的構想,而是他們的執行

例如,Google 是搜尋引擎的代名詞,但並不是因為 Larry Page 和 Sergey Brin 當時具有徹底原創及無敵聰明的構想。事實上,它是網際網路早年出現的第 18 款搜尋引擎。真正讓 Google 在眾多競爭者脫穎而出的,是 Page 和 Brin 執行其願景的方法,不僅專注,而且在明晰度方面也有卓越表現。

回顧 Google 的成功歷史,Page 特別提出 Andy Grove 的 OKR (目標及關鍵成果) 法,認為這是他公司成功的關鍵因素。

「OKR 已協助帶領我們實現了 10 倍的成長,許多時候還超過了這一水準。」 Page 在 John Doerr 2018 年的做最重要的事一書中這樣寫道,「ORK 有助我們將或許甚至看似瘋狂、大膽的願景 (『組織全世界的資訊』) 變得更可能達成。」

請閱讀:什麼是目標與關鍵結果 (OKR)?

設定這些目標真的有價值嗎?簡單的答案是:有。實施這套目標設定法的組織始終因專案及計劃執行得更順利而獲益。有了清楚的目標,您就可以有效地將絕妙的構想轉變為更出色的商業活動。

執行或許具有挑戰性,但不見得很複雜。您只需要持續一致、專心致志以及規劃。以下說明如何將目標從不錯的構想轉變成可永續發展的長期管理做法。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

步驟 1:為您的企業設立規則

OKR 公式之設計深具彈性,足以滿足大部分的用途。然而,許多組織會將之視為嚴謹的架構,並拒絕偏離規範性的方法。一旦選擇這麼做,就會產生災難性後果。

在您實施這個目標設定法前,建議您就 OKR 要如何在公司運作先設立基本的規則。這些規則應定義目標要如何在您的團隊和組織運作。具體來說,有三個要考量的元素:週期、進度查核流程,以及實際確立。

  • 週期: 簡單來說,這就是您設立目標的頻率。根據我們的經驗,每年設立目標可以締造最佳成果,因為這些目標會成為您策略的支柱。儘管如此,若您的組織前進的速度很迅速,您也可選擇更頻繁地設立目標:每半年、每一季,或甚至每個月一次。

  • 進度查核流程:您設定要更新和審視進度的排程。同樣地,您的組織會有獨一無二的最佳排程。若您的目標很宏大,進展緩慢,那麼雙週或每月進度查核可能就已足夠。然而,若您的目標較小,進度火速,就必須更經常定期查核進度。

  • 實際確立: 有三個基本模式—由上到下 (由領導者設立目標和關鍵結果)、由下到上 (由個人設立目標和關鍵結果)、混合 (由領導者設立目標,再由個人設立關鍵結果)。 您需視公司規模和結構來決定哪個模式是最理想的選擇。

步驟 2:共同確立全公司目標

現在您已設立計劃的基本規則,一切就緒,即可開始在整個組織推行該架構。請記得:OKR 的意思是目標與關鍵結果。因此您應該要能以一個句子總結:我將[目標],衡量方式為[關鍵結果]

開始時,應為您的組織共同建立頂層目標。這些目標是您下一年度策略的支撐,是重要且具重大意義的活動,可帶領您實現成功願景。從整個組織大量收集來自所有專案關係人的構想,然後透過來自高層的深入分析加以去蕪存菁。

但請留意別讓輸出超出掌控。隨著愈多觀點不同的人加入對話,目標的數量就可能迅速膨脹。

以下是一些絕佳的全公司目標範例:

儘可能讓子目標的設計可被反證及清楚衡量。在目標週期達尾聲時,您應要能夠獲得結論,說出自己是否達成每個子目標。

步驟 3:確立全公司的關鍵結果

決定自己的全公司目標後,您必須確認自己要如何追蹤這些目標的進度。這時您就需要關鍵結果

若要寫出出色的關鍵結果,請試著使用 SMART 法

SMART 目標

SMART 是由幾個英文字首字母組成的縮寫字:

  • 具體 (Specific):您究竟在朝什麼目標努力?

  • 可測量 (Measurable):您將如何評估是否可達成自己的關鍵結果?

  • 可達成 (Achievable):此關鍵結果是您可達成的合理目標嗎?請務必記得,即便是延伸性目標也應該是能夠達成的。

  • 實際 (Realistic):就您所擁有的可用資源和時間來看,要達成此關鍵結果是否很實際?

  • 有時間限制 (Time-bound):您的關鍵結果是否有清楚的時間軸和截止日期?

延伸閱讀:利用這些提示及範例,撰寫出色的 SMART 目標

您的關鍵結果應該具挑戰性。若您確定自己一定會達成,那麼您就對自己不夠嚴格。如同其他公司一樣,我們依循知名投資者暨 OKR 大師 John Doerr 的建議,並將目標訂在達成每一時期關鍵結果的 70%。若我們實際達成的比例高過於此,我們就知道自己在規劃時野心不足。

延伸閱讀:Asana 提示:設定可達成目標的 3 個方法

針對每個關鍵結果,應確實對所謂的達成、部分達成或錯失關鍵結果各代表什麼意思形成共識。若要達到最大效果,您應在該時段一結束就測量成功。此外,對何謂成功有清楚的概念,可幫助您的團隊隨時間的前進完善並調整您的目標設定流程。

步驟 4:為團隊和個人設定關鍵結果

若要從這個目標設定法獲得最大效益,您的公司目標必須向下展開至整個組織,引導單位較小的團體和個人執行其工作。

公司往往設立了目標,卻直到一季或一年結束都未能再次審視一開始的目標。然而,一旦您的目標與每日的工作斷了連結,就很容易產生不一致的偏離,並使團隊失去朝目標前進的動力。相反地,研究顯示,當員工瞭解他們的個別工作是如何促成組織達成目標,他們的動力就會加倍。

因此,若要為您公司設立絕佳的關鍵結果,請務必讓日常工作與全公司目標相互連結。辦到這件事的一個簡單做法是,使用混合目標設定法,讓高階管理階層團隊設立公司目標,但由較小團隊設立關鍵結果。當團隊獲得設立自己關鍵結果的自主性時,他們會對於要在哪裡挹注資源、投入心力有更深刻的理解,進而能產生最佳結果。

閱讀:什麼是關鍵績效指標 (KPI)?

步驟 5:隨您的進度追蹤目標

定義您組織的目標和關鍵結果之後,就該找出您和您團隊必須執行以便達成目標的計劃和專案了。

設立目標的其中一個優點是,目標有助以度量的方式確認整個組織的事項優先順序。將您的目標與正要完成的工作相互連結,以便達成目標,您就更能輕易報告朝向目標的進度,並處理可能阻礙您完成目標的任何問題。

將您組織的目標與日常工作連結起來,也可讓您的員工投入於他們的工作。人們會想知道他們做的哪些事是重要的,而向他們展現的最佳方式就是把他們的工作與高層目標相互連結。因此,當他們瞭解自己的日常工作如何銜接至更高階的目標時,他們就會充滿鬥志,在工作上做出最佳表現。

請閱讀:最大化 OKR 的效益

請務必定期查核您的進度。與其將您的目標設定在簡報投影片或試算表中,不妨投資一個目標設定平台,以利輕鬆連結公司目標與關鍵結果。如此一來,每個團隊就能清楚明瞭他們的工作如何向前推進公司目標。

步驟 6:改善您的流程

計劃週期完成後,您的工作其實還未結束。與其立刻進入下一週期,不妨請您的團隊暫停一下,為自己的關鍵結果評分。個人應負責評價自己擔任所有者的關鍵結果,並撰寫一份簡短的書面報告,說明評分的依據。

若您未達成所有關鍵結果,沒關係。事實上,確實達成所有關鍵結果的團隊可能並未設立足夠具有野心的目標。Asana 將目標設定在達成我們關鍵結果的約莫 70%。

人們為自己的關鍵結果打完分數後,經理人應收集結果並向上整合至自己的目標。設定 OKR 的眾多優點之一就是透明度,因此我們建議經理人為自己的目標打分數,並與整個組織分享整體結果。

您的評分完成後,應細究週期中哪些部分成效不彰,並記錄哪些部分成效尤佳。在未來的週期中,您就能讓自己的長處獲得加乘效果,並在弱點部分給予補足。若您錯失目標或關鍵結果,應和團隊召開工作會議,以利反思並從中學習。

專注於旅途過程,更要抵達目的地

設立目標時,您不應只專注於自己是否有在目標週期的尾聲把每個項目交差了事。相反地,當您設定 OKR 後,您就開始發展一個架構,應用來思索目標、如何將工作與公司目標連結起來,以及 (最終) 如何就您最具雄心壯志的專案取得共識和執行的方式。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

相關資源

影片

See Asana Goals in action

How to set OKRs

It’s easy to look at successful businesses and assume it was their core idea that got them where they are. Intel invented the microchip, Netflix pioneered on-demand video streaming, and Google built the modern search engine. But an idea will only get you so far.

What turns a scrappy startup into an industry-leading company often isn’t their original idea, but their execution.

For example, Google is the name in search—but not because Larry Page and Sergey Brin had a totally original and utterly brilliant idea. They were, in fact, the 18th search engine to arrive on the scene in the early days of the internet. What carried Google beyond its competitors was how Page and Brin executed their vision with exceptional focus and clarity.

Reflecting on Google’s success, Page singled out Andy Grove’s OKR (Objective and Key Results) methodology as a key factor in his company’s success.

“OKRs have helped lead us to 10x growth, many times over,” Page wrote in John Doerr’s 2018 book Measure What Matters. “They’ve helped make our crazily bold mission of ‘organizing the world’s information’ perhaps even achievable.”

[Read: What are OKRs?]

The role OKRs play in successful companies is consistent from organization to organization: the goal-setting methodology helps refine execution and turn great ideas into better businesses.

While execution can be challenging, it doesn’t have to be complicated. All you need is consistency, dedication, and planning. Here’s how you turn OKRs from a nice idea into a sustainable, long-term management practice.

Step 1: Setting OKR rules for your business

The OKR formula is designed to be flexible enough to fit most purposes. Yet many organizations treat it as a rigid framework and refuse to deviate from a prescriptive methodology. This is a recipe for disaster.

Before you implement OKRs, we recommend setting basic rules for how OKRs will function at your company. These rules define how OKRs work in your teams and your organization. Specifically, there are three elements to consider: cadence, check-in process, and OKR creation.

  • Cadence: This is simply how often you set OKRs. In our experience, setting objectives annually delivers the best reward as they become the pillars of your strategy. However, if your organization moves rapidly, you have the option to set OKRs more frequently—half-yearly, quarterly, or even monthly.
  • Check-in process: The schedule you set to update and review your progress. Again, your optimal schedule is unique to your organization. If your goals are grand and slow-moving, a bi-weekly or monthly check-in may suffice. However, if your goals are smaller and progress rapidly, you ought to check-in more regularly.
  • OKR creation: There are three basic models—top-down (leaders set both objectives and key results), bottom-up (individuals set both objectives and key results), and hybrid (leaders set objectives and individuals set key results). Deciding what model works best for you depends on your company size and structure.

Step 2: Co-creating company-wide objectives

Now you’ve set the basic rules of your OKR program, you’re ready to start rolling out the framework across your organization. Remember: OKRs stand for Objectives and Key Results. You should be able to sum up your OKR in one sentence: I will [objective] as measured by [key result].

Start off by co-creating top-level objectives for your organization. These are the pillars of your strategy for the next year. They’re the important and substantial activities that lead to the success of your mission. Crowdsource ideas from stakeholders across your organization and refine them with in-depth analysis from your top brass.

But be careful your output does not grow out of control. As more people with different perspectives join the conversation, the number of objectives can quickly balloon.

Some examples of great company-wide objectives are:

As often as possible, design your objectives to be falsifiable and clearly measurable. At the end of your OKR cycle, you should be able to conclusively say whether or not you met each objective.

Step 3: Creating company-wide key results

Once you’ve decided on your company-wide objectives, you need to work out how you’ll track your progress toward those goals. That’s where the key results part of OKRs come in.

When you’re creating key results, we suggest trying the CRIB test:

  • Clarity: Will you clearly know whether or not you hit your key result?
  • Result-oriented: Is your key result focused on outcomes, rather than the work required to achieve it?
  • Important: Do you care about the result? Would you be disappointed if you failed?
  • Big: Are your key results large enough to effectively measure progress towards your objective?

Your key results should be challenging. If you’re certain you’re going to nail them, you’re not pushing hard enough. Like other companies who set OKRs, we follow storied investor and OKR guru John Doerr’s advice and aim to hit 70% of our key results in each period. If we achieve more than that, we know we weren’t aggressive enough in our planning.

[Read: 3 tips to set achievable goals]

For every key result, make sure to align on what achieving, partially achieving, or missing the KR means. To be most effective, you should measure your OKR success once the period is over—and having a clear sense of what success means can help your team refine and adjust your OKR setting process as time goes on.

Step 4: Setting OKRs for teams and individuals

To get the most from this goal-setting methodology, your company OKRs must flow down through your organization, guiding the work of smaller teams and individuals.

Too often, companies set goals and fail to revisit them until the quarter or year is up. But when your goals are disconnected from daily work, it’s easy for work to become misaligned and for teams to lose motivation towards the goal. Conversely, research shows that when employees do understand how their individual work contributes to their organization’s goals, they’re 2X as motivated.

So to set great OKRs at your company, make sure you’re connecting day-to-day work with company-wide OKRs. One easy way to do that is to use a hybrid OKR setting approach, where your executive level teams set company objectives, but smaller teams set the key results. When you give teams the autonomy to set their own KRs, they have a much deeper understanding of where to invest their resources and efforts to generate the best results.

Step 5: Track OKRs as you go

Once you have defined your organization’s objectives and key results, it’s time to identify the programs and projects you and your team will work on to achieve your goals.

One of the benefits of setting OKRs is that they help scale prioritization across your organization. By connecting your goals to the work being done to achieve them, you make it easier to report on your progress towards goals, and address any problems that might stop you from completing a goal.

Connecting your organizational goals to day-to-day work also keeps your employees engaged in their work. People want to know that what they do matters, and the best way to show them is to connect their work to high-level goals. So when they understand how their day-to-day work fits into the bigger picture, they feel empowered to do their best work.

[Read: Maximizing the benefits of OKRs]

Make sure to check in on your OKR progress regularly. Instead of setting OKRs in a slide deck or spreadsheet, invest in a goal-setting platform that makes it easy to connect company objectives to key results. That way, every team has visibility into how their work is moving company objectives forward.

Step 6: Improve your processes

Once your planning cycle is completed, your work still isn’t finished. Instead of immediately moving on to the next cycle, ask your team to pause and grade their OKRs. Individuals should be accountable for grading the key results they have ownership of and for writing a short write up explaining the grading.

It’s okay if you don’t hit all of your KRs. In fact, teams that do hit all of their KRs may not have set aggressive enough goals. At Asana, we aim to hit about 70% of our KRs.

After people grade their key results, managers should collect the results and roll them up into their objectives. One of the many benefits of setting OKRs is transparency, so we suggest managers grade their objectives and share the overall results throughout your organization.

With your grading complete, dig into what didn’t work during the cycle and make a note of what worked well. For future cycles, you will be able to double down on your strengths and support your weaknesses. If you’ve missed either objectives or key results, host working sessions with your teams to reflect and learn.

Good OKRs focus on the journey, as well as the destination

When you set OKRs, you shouldn’t just focus on whether or not you check the box off at the end of the OKR period. Rather, by setting OKRs, you’re developing a framework for how to think about goals, how to connect your work with company objectives, and—ultimately—how to align and execute on your most ambitious projects.

Download the Asana Playbook to OKRs

Want to create a visual project plan with Asana? Start a trial today.

More Asana Resources