15 個秘訣助您建立真正有用的待辦清單

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJanuary 11th, 202100
facebooktwitterlinkedin
更好的待辦清單標題影像

待辦清單是一份清單,上面列出需要完成的事項。也就是說,基本上任何事情都可以放入清單。然而,光是把待辦事項寫下來,並不代表這份清單就真的有用。有效地追蹤工作時限可以幫助您安排事情的優先順序,並出色地完成工作。但很多時候,待辦清單不僅雜亂無章,且和實際在做的事情沒有關聯,而這會降低思緒的清晰度,並導致必須處理更多的工作待辦事項。

好消息是,編寫待辦清單不一定總是徒勞無功。利用以下這 15 個秘訣可以充分掌握您的待辦事項,建立真正有用的待辦清單。

第一件事:告別書面待辦清單

如果您還沒開始這麼做的話,要建立真正有用的待辦清單,第一步就是使用待辦清單應用程式來編寫清單。手寫的待辦清單會讓人在劃掉清單上的事項時,產生一種非常滿足的感受,但這卻也是追蹤待辦事項時最糟糕的方法。事實上,手寫的待辦清單不僅雜亂,也容易出錯或遺失,效率十分低落。

反之,您應該從使用待辦清單應用程式開始著手。與手寫的待辦清單不同,待辦清單應用程式的優勢包括:

  • 整理與安排工作的先後順序。使用手寫待辦清單時,如果想要改變任何事項的順序,您都得重寫整份清單。而使用待辦清單應用程式時,則可以很輕鬆地拖曳和放置項目。不僅如此,大部分的待辦清單應用程式都提供自訂標籤,方便追蹤工作的優先順序。

  • 不會遺失。不同於手寫待辦清單,您不可能「遺失」線上的待辦清單。您可以隨時存取清單,所以不論身在何處都可以記下待辦事項。

  • 為您的待辦事項添加額外的背景資訊。大多數的待辦清單應用程式都能讓您在描述區加入額外的資訊。在書面待辦清單中,只有幾個字的空間可以描述待進行的工作。而在待辦清單應用程式中,每個待辦事項都有可展開的描述區,用以新增相關的任務詳情、工作文件,或是重要資訊。

  • 在同一個地方建立多個分立的清單。在選擇待辦清單應用程式之前,請確保該應用程式能夠建立多於一份「清單」。舉例來說,您可能會想建立一份個人工作的待辦清單、一份團隊工作的待辦清單,以及一份關於個人專業發展的清單。如果該應用程式支援多重清單,便可以將所有的待辦事項都存放在同一個地方。

  • 設定截止日期、提醒和通知。若是不能及時完成工作,則待辦清單便會失去意義。有了待辦清單應用程式,您便可以追蹤工作的時限,並設定提醒或通知,確保待辦事項能夠及時完成。

  • 協作 如果個人的待辦清單組織完善且有清楚的優先順序,便可以更有效地為團隊的專案和行動做出貢獻。換句話說,您愈是有條不紊,與團隊的協作便會愈輕鬆容易。

免費試用 Asana 待辦事項清單功能

倘若您尚在尋覓待辦清單的應用程式,不妨試試 Asana。Asana 是一種工作管理工具,可幫助您整理工作,確實掌握待辦事項的內容、任務的重要性,以及完成工作的方式。您可以利用 Asana 追蹤工作事項、將之連結至更大規模的專案、串連團隊成員,並確保所有事項穩當無虞。

建立更有效的待辦清單:我的任務範例

15 個秘訣助您建立更有效的待辦清單

若您已準備好讓您的待辦清單更上層樓,請試試以下這 15 個秘訣,讓您思緒清晰、效率加倍。請留意,這些小撇步是假設您已正在使用待辦清單應用程式整理工作及提升效率

1. 記錄一切大小事項

與其事後忘記一開始想要做的事情,不如先將之記錄下來留待稍後完成。很多時候,我們會在沒有準備好寫下想法時突然靈光乍現,而靈感的出現是不等人的。 如果腦中突然出現關於如何改進某專案的想法,或是值得向上司提出的好主意,將它新增到待辦清單中就對了。

這也是為什麼選擇具有出色行動裝置體驗的待辦清單應用程式極其重要。如此一來,即便您正在外出,也可以不費力地在應用程式中先記下筆記,之後再回到電腦前繼續進行。

減少我們對大腦和記憶的依賴,會使未來的自己生活更加輕鬆。Asana 能幫助人們降低大腦的認知負擔並提供清晰的思緒。

2. 清單、清單、更多的清單

待辦清單之所以讓人感到崩潰,其中一個原因是它們包含了太多隨機混雜的枝微末節。您在工作上可能必須同時兼顧多個專案,如果在存入檢視稍後活動簡介的提醒時,旁邊有另一個活動的供應商筆記,那麼這可能會令人很快地陷入困惑當中,也難怪您會覺得不知所措。

如果想要掌握待辦清單並達成最佳工作表現,不妨考慮建立多重清單。例如,確保每個專案或大規模行動都有屬於自己的清單。此外,考慮替手上的工作建立一份立即可行動的待辦清單、一份關於未來專案發想的清單,以及一份關於個人提醒事項的清單。如此一來,您只需要開啟與執行中事項相關的待辦清單,藉此更專注於需要完成的事項。

深入瞭解:更有效率的線上工作待辦清單應用程式

3. 根據工作流程、優先順序或截止日期整理待辦清單

每天重新整理待辦清單即便有時候能帶來樂趣,但還是相當浪費時間。為您的待辦清單建立良好的結構,可以避免這種情形發生。若您的應用程式支援此功能,可以考慮替不同類型的工作建立區段。如此一來,便可按照自己的喜好,依據專案或者優先順序為工作排序。

建立更有效的待辦清單:優先順序與工作流程

4. 建立可行動的待辦清單

待辦清單並不是存放想法或目標的地方。網羅細節確實很重要,但如果將所有事情都放在同一份清單裡,則重要的工作可能會因此而遺失或埋沒。您應該避免這種作法,而使用專案管理工具或目標管理系統記錄這些項目。如此一來,您不但依然能夠存取所有靈光一閃時的想法和重要的目標,並且也不會使待辦清單變得凌亂。

將想法及目標與主要的可行動待辦清單分開存放固然重要,但在多種工具之間不停切換可能會造成困擾。因此,您應該尋找像 Asana 這樣的工具,以同一個工具保存所有資訊。

5. 先點出動作,再補充細節

除了確保每一個待辦事項皆為可行動事項,我們也建議使用動詞作為大部分待辦事項的標題開頭。這雖然不是決定成敗的準則,不過,以動詞開頭確實能夠幫助您迅速掌握每個項目的重點。

例如,待辦事項「三張 Facebook 廣告圖片」並沒有傳達太多訊息。而如果在開頭加上「設計」一詞:「設計三張 Facebook 廣告圖片」,這個項目就會瞬間變得更加清楚,且具有很高的可行動性。以動詞作為標題開頭的待辦清單能讓您對手頭上的事項一目了然。

6. 為待辦事項排定優先順序

為了確保能夠正確且及時地完成工作,必須知道在眾多待辦清單之中,哪些清單是最重要的。不論您是將最重要的清單置頂,或者使用自訂標籤來標示順序,請確定關鍵事項具有高度的可見性,以免不慎遺漏。

推薦閱讀:如何安排,才能讓最重要的工作取得最高的優先順序

這並非代表一定得先處理最重要的工作。有時候,以比較簡單的任務開啟新的一天,是讓工作順利進行的最佳方法。或者,您可能遵循 80/20 的規則,即在 20% 的時間內完成 80% 的工作,且您也喜歡盡快將大部分的工作完成。就算不是先進行高優先性的工作,也要確保您知道在一天結束之前,應該完成的事項有哪些。

過去,我回到家之後,會在八點哄兒子上床睡覺,接著收發電子郵件到午夜,試圖地毯式地整理一串串的郵件和當下發生的事情。而現在,我完全可以利用 Asana 飛快地完成同樣的任務,因為我非常清楚哪些事情是重要的。

7. 總是附上截止期限

在完成待辦事項時,您不只需要明白該做什麼,同時也必須知道該在何時完成。如果在錯誤的日期完成任務,即便所有重要的任務都達成了,也沒有多大意義。換句話說,您必須隨時清楚何項任務由誰負責、該在何時之前完成。即便沒有一個明確的截止期限,也要記下一個日期並推動任務的進行,而非讓所有人一起錯過截止日。

8. 將大工作分解為多個小任務

準確完成待辦事項最大的困難之一,就是看到某項工作在明天到期,但隨後便意識到「哇,這實際上要花一週才能完成」。

如果您經常遇到這樣的問題,請考慮將工作分解為較小的任務。 也許您的工作週五才到期,但這是一項需要數天才能完成的艱鉅任務。 將這項工作分解為多個小型的待辦事項,讓您可以在本週早些時候完成,這對專案的成功至關重要。

Asana 讓我們瞭解自己實際執行的工作總量,進而可讓我們重新安排優先順序,並就當下執行中的工作類型重新規劃策略。

9. 批次處理相似的任務

批次處理工作時,您不僅是在完成待辦事項,同時也在提升生產力。每當轉換任務或者開始新專案時,大腦會需要時間調整和重新校準。事實上,人類並不是很擅長同時進行多項任務,因此,如果能夠將更多的待辦事項組合在一起,便能大幅減輕大腦的負擔。

尤其要注意可以批次處理和簡化的日常工作。如果有些事情是每天固定會做的,您或許根本不會考慮自己在這些事情上花費多少時間,但這些時間積少便成多。如果每日有固定的任務,請留意它們實際佔用了多少時間。接著,看看是否能夠更有效率地處理這些事項。這些工作能夠批次處理或自動化嗎?擺脫這些工作不僅可以替您的待辦清單大掃除,更可以提高您的工作效率。

10. 慶祝每一個進展

每一次將清單上的事項刪去,都代表達成了一項成就。這很不簡單!您應該慶祝自己的每一個進展,即便只是拍拍肩膀給自己一點小鼓勵。

Asana 的其中一項企業核心價值是心度 (heartitude)。沒錯,這是一個虛構的詞,但同時也是一個與我們內心緊密貼近的詞。心度意味著在工作的日子中,將時間花在享受樂趣以及創造富含意義的體驗。如果您使用過 Asana,那麼您可能曾經在完成待辦事項時,看見獨角獸和雪怪飛過螢幕。您可能會問為什麼?但真正的問題是:為什麼不呢?

Asana 有許多功能 (例如完成任務時飛過螢幕的獨角獸) 讓工作不再只是「必須」完成的事情,而更像是某種有趣的體驗。
建立更有效的待辦清單:Asana 慶祝

11. 在一天結束時對清單進行分類

與其花半個上午的時間來梳理待辦清單,不如在前一天晚上就將任務組織好。這樣當您開始一天的工作時,就已經確切地知道待辦事項有哪些。利用前一天晚上五到十分鐘的時間,便能確保自己已做好準備,在隔天早晨能立即開啟新的一天。

12. 關閉通知

通知功能對於妥善完成工作而言有莫大的助益,且所有良好的待辦清單應用程式都具備這項功能。然而,「貪睡」和勿擾模式也具有同等的重要性。歸根結底,組織工作是為了能夠更有效率,而有時候這意味著您需要的是專注,而非因為隨機的響鈴而分心。

分心可能帶來高昂的代價,所以我們要專注於盡可能地根除分心。使用 Asana 時,由於每個人都知道事情的境況以及各自負責的事項,所以沒有人需要起身,因此人們得以投身於工作流程,在不受干擾的環境中開展任務。
推薦閱讀:找回專注力與降低數位干擾的 7 個提示

13. 追蹤不須處理的事項

沒有人願意把時間花在不重要的工作上。因此,儘管我們總是想要囊括待辦清單中的細節,適時地剔除不必要的事項也是很重要的。

如果您正在追蹤待辦事項的優先順序,想必您已經對最重要和最不重要的項目有一定的了解。那麼,在必要的時候,便不必害怕降低工作的優先層級。所謂的追蹤待辦事項,並不是要處理每天的每件小事,而是要掌控手上的任務,以便完成最重要的工作。

14. 留意進度落後的事項

我們都曾經有過這種經驗:某項任務上週就已到期,但我們卻仍未著手進行。不過,當您注意到這種情況時,應該問問自己為什麼還未完成任務。是什麼因素讓您遲遲沒有開始?您是否需要重新規劃優先順序,或者委託其他人來幫忙完成?這項任務是否有您所不了解之處,因而阻礙了您?瞭解拖延的原因可以幫助您提升效率,也能夠更有效地預防進度落後。

15. 在單一平台上協作

在理想的情形中,您想要的不只是追蹤自己的待辦清單。如果沒有辦法了解整個團隊的工作情形,再怎麼有組織和優先排序也起不了大作用,反之亦然。最有效率的團隊會共享一個集中事實來源,揭露工作狀況的變化。如此一來,每個人都清楚哪些任務由誰負責執行,而整個團隊便可一起專注於達成最佳的工作表現。

很自然地,我們認為 Asana 是達成這個目標的好方法。使用 Asana,您的團隊將得以整理待辦事項、理解其重要性何在,以及該如何完成所有工作。如此,受益於清晰思緒並得以提升效率的不會只有您個人。

深入瞭解

將「學習如何建立待辦清單」從清單中劃除

制定待辦清單的目的是讓您的工作井井有條,並幫助您審視工作內容。有了這 15 個秘訣,這將不再是難事。然而,若您希望製作待辦清單用於追蹤工作項目,那麼您也需要了解團隊成員的工作情形。請使用具備更多強大功能 (例如任務管理專案管理) 的待辦清單。

有興趣深入瞭解嗎?歡迎閱讀 Asana 的專案管理的優勢一文。

相關資源

文章

Data-driven decision making: A beginner’s guide

15 secrets for making a to-do list that actually works

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJanuary 11th, 20218 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
better to do lists header image

A to-do list is just a list of things you have to-do. That means basically anything and everything can be on your to-do list—but just because you’ve written your to-dos down doesn’t mean your to-do list is actually useful. Effectively tracking when your work is due can help you prioritize and get great work done. But too often, that list of work to-dos is disorganized and disconnected from the actual work you’re doing—which leads to less clarity and more work about work.

The good news is, writing a to-do list doesn’t have to be an exercise in futility. Take control of your to-dos with these 15 secrets for making a to-do list that actually works.

First thing’s first: Say goodbye to the written to-do list

If you haven’t already, the first step for creating a to-do list that actually works is to build it in a to-do list app. Written to-do lists provide the wonderfully satisfying feeling of crossing something off, but they’re also the worst way to keep track of your to-dos. The truth of the matter is, a written to-do list is disorganized, prone to mistakes, easy to lose, and ineffective.

Instead, get started with a to-do list app. Unlike a written to-do list, the benefits of a to-do list app include:

  • Sorting and prioritizing work. If you want to change the order of your written to-do list, you have to rewrite the whole thing. But with a to-do list app, you can easily drag and drop items. Not only that—most to-do list apps offer a way to track priority with custom tags.

  • Impossible to lose. Unlike a handwritten to-do list, you can’t “lose” an online to-do list. You’ll always have access to the list, so you can jot down to-dos wherever you are.

  • Add additional context to your to-dos. Most to-do list apps offer a way for you to add additional information in the description. In a written to-do list, all you have are a couple of words to describe what you need to work on. But with a to-do list app each to-do has an expandable description, where you can add any relevant task details, working docs, or important information.

  • Create separate lists in the same place. Before you choose a to-do list app, make sure you can create more than one “list” in the app. You might want to create a to-do list for personal work, another for your team’s work, and a third for your professional development, for example. A to-do list app with multiple list options allows you to store all of these to-dos in one place.

  • Set due dates, reminders, and notifications. Your to-dos don’t mean much if they’re not done in time. With a to-do list app, you can track when work is due, and set up reminders or notifications to make sure you get your to-dos done in time.

  • Collaboration. When your individual to-do list is organized and your priorities are clear, you can better contribute to team projects and initiatives. In other words, the more organized you are, the easier it’ll be to collaborate with your team.

Try to do lists with Asana for free

If you’re looking for a to-do list app, try Asana. Asana is a work management tool designed to help you organize your work so you know exactly what to do, why it matters, and how to get it done. Use Asana to track your work and connect it back to larger projects, loop in teammates, and make sure nothing falls through the cracks.

Make better to do lists - My Tasks Example

15 secrets for a better to-do list

If you’re ready to take your to-do list to the next level, try these 15 tips to maximize your clarity and reduce inefficiencies. Note that most of these tips assume you’re using a to-do list app to organize your work and increase productivity.

1. Capture everything

It’s better to write something down and mark it as complete later than to forget what you wanted to do in the first place. Oftentimes, some of our best brainstorming come when we’re not prepared to write them down—but inspiration doesn’t wait to strike. If you have a passing thought about something you could do to improve a project or a great idea to pitch to your boss, simply add it to your to-do list.

This is also why it’s important to choose a to-do list app with a great mobile experience. That way, if you’re on the go, you can jot down a note without having to remember it until you get back to your computer.

Reducing the reliance on the human brain and memory makes life easier for your future self. Asana helps us decrease cognitive load for people and provide clarity.

2. Lists, lists, and more lists

One of the reasons to-do lists get so overwhelming is they tend to contain a random mishmash of everything. You might be working on multiple projects at work, and trying to store a reminder to review your upcoming campaign brief next to a note about sourcing vendors for an event can get confusing—fast. No wonder you’re feeling overwhelmed.

To take control of your to-do list and get your best work done, consider making more than one list. For example, make sure each project or large initiative has its own list. Additionally, consider creating one list for work that’s immediately actionable, another for future project ideas, and a third for personal reminders. That way, you can open the to-do list that’s relevant to the work you’re doing right now, in order to better focus on what you need to get done.

Learn more: A better online to-do list app for work

3. Organize your to-do list by workflow, priority, or due date

Re-organizing your to-do list every day is a waste of time—even if it is sometimes fun. Resist the temptation by creating a really great structure to your to-do list. If your app supports it, consider building sections for different types of work. That way, you can sort work by project or priority, depending on your preferences.

Make better to do lists - priority and workflow

4. Make it actionable

Your to-do list is not the place to store thoughts or goals. Those details are important to capture, but if you keep everything in one to-do list your important work might get lost or buried. Instead, aim to capture those items in a project management tool or goal management system. That way, you still have access to all of your one-off thoughts and important goals, without cluttering your to-do list.

Even though it's important to store thoughts and goals separately from your main, actionable to-do list, having to switch between muliple tools can get overwhelming, fast. Instead, look for a way to capture all of this information in the same tool, like Asana.

5. Verbs first, details later

In addition to making sure every to-do is actionable, we recommend starting most to-do titles off with a verb. While this isn’t a make-or-break rule, starting to-dos with a verb will help you know exactly what each to-do is about.

For example, the to-do Three Facebook ad images, doesn't tell you much. If you add “design” to the front of the to-do title, all of a sudden the to-do is actionable and clear: Design three Facebook ads images. To-do lists with verb titles give you at-a-glance insight into what’s on your plate.

6. Prioritize your to-dos

In order to make sure you get the right work done on time, it’s important to know which of your to-dos are most important. Whether you put the most important to-dos at the top or use custom tags to flag priority, make sure you have visibility into your critical work, so you don’t miss anything.

Read: How to prioritize your most important work

That isn’t to say you have to do your most important work first. Sometimes, starting the day off with an easy task is the best way to get the ball rolling. Or maybe you live by the 80/20 rule, which says you can complete 80% of your work in 20% of the time, and you like getting those out of the way. Even if you don’t do your high priority work first, make sure you know what you need to do before the day is out.

I used to come home, put my son to bed at eight, and then I would be on my email until midnight, trying to fundamentally sort through chains and what was happening. And now, I literally can blast through my Asana because I know exactly what’s important.

7. Always include a deadline

When it comes to hitting your to-dos, you don’t just need to know what to do—you also need to know when to do it by. Finishing all of your important tasks doesn’t mean much if they’re finished on the wrong day. In other words, you always need to know who’s doing what by when. Even if you don’t have a hard deadline, it’s better to jot down a date and move it than miss the deadline all together.

8. Break big work into smaller tasks

One of the biggest struggles with accurately hitting your to-dos is seeing something that’s due tomorrow but then realizing, “Woah, this is actually a week’s worth of work.”

If you frequently run into this problem, consider breaking work into smaller tasks. Maybe your work isn’t due until Friday, but it’s a big task that’s going to take multiple days to complete. Having that work broken up into to-dos you can complete earlier on in the week will be critical to your project’s success.

Asana allowed us to see the overall amount of work that we were actually doing, and then it allowed us to be able to reprioritize and re-strategize the types of work that we were doing.

9. Batch similar tasks

When you work in batches, you’re not only hitting your to-dos—you’re also increasing your productivity. Every time you switch tasks or start on a new project, your brain needs some time to adjust and recalibrate. The truth is, humans aren’t actually good at multitasking, so the more to-dos you can group together, the easier it’ll be on your brain.

In particular, look out for daily work that you could batch and simplify. If there are things you do every day, you probably don’t even think about how long you’re spending on them—but that time can really add up. If you have daily tasks, take note of how long they’re actually taking you. Then, see if you can be more efficient with them. Can you batch them or automate them? Removing this work not only cleans up your to-do list, but makes you more productive.

10. Celebrate your progress

Every time you check something off your to-do list, you’ve accomplished something. That’s a big deal! You should celebrate, even if it’s only a little pat on the back.

At Asana, one of our core company values is heartitude—a made up word, sure, but one that’s near and dear to our hearts. Heartitude means taking time to have fun and create meaningful experiences during your working day. If you’ve ever used Asana, you might see unicorns and yetis fly across your screen when you mark a to-do complete. Why? The real question is—why not?

Asana's features, like unicorns flying across the screen when you complete a task, make work less of a ‘have to’ and more like a fun experience.
Make better to do lists - Asana celebrations

11. Triage your list at the end of the day

Instead of spending half of your morning combing through your to-do list, organize your tasks the night before so, when you log on, you already know exactly what’s on the docket. By spending five to 10 minutes the night before, you can make sure you’re ready to take on the day immediately the next morning.

12. Turn off notifications

Notifications are a huge benefit to getting good work done, and any good to-do list app will have notifications to spare. What’s equally important, though, is a “snooze” or Do Not Disturb feature. Ultimately, you’re organizing your work so you can be more productive—and sometimes that means you need to focus, instead of being distracted by a random ping.

Distractions are costly, so we've focused on eliminating them wherever we can. With Asana, people are able to get into a flow and do their work without disruption because everyone knows where things stand and what they're responsible for—no stand up required.
Read: 7 tips for finding focus and reducing digital distractions

13. Track what you don’t need to do

You don’t want to sink time into unimportant work. So while you always want to capture details in your to-do list, it’s also important to cull it when necessary.

If you’re tracking to-do priority, you already have insight into what’s most and least important. Then, if necessary, don’t be afraid to deprioritize work. Tracking your to-dos isn’t about doing every little thing every single day—it’s about getting control of your tasks so you can get your most important work done.

14. Watch for stragglers

We all have those tasks that were due last week that we still haven’t gotten around to doing yet. But if you notice those tasks, ask yourself why they haven’t been done. What’s keeping you from them? Do you need to reprioritize them, or delegate them to someone else? Is there something about the task that you don’t understand that’s holding you back? Knowing why you’re delaying can help you be more efficient and nip those stragglers in the bud.

15. Collaborate on one platform

Ideally, you don’t want to track your to-dos in a vacuum. Being organized and prioritized is only so helpful if you don’t have visibility into your team’s work—and vice versa. The most effective teams are those that share a central source of truth for where work is happening. That way, everyone knows exactly who’s responsible for which tasks, and you can focus on getting your best work done as a team.

Naturally, we think Asana is a pretty good way to do this. With Asana, your team can organize what to do, why it matters, and how to get it done. That way, you’re not the only one benefiting from increased clarity and reduced inefficiencies.

Learn more

Check “learn how to make a to-do list” off the list

Making a to-do list is about getting organized and gaining visibility into your work—and with these 15 tips, you’ll do just that. But if you’re looking to make a to-do list to track work, you also need a way to give and gain visibility into your team members’ work. Look for a to-do list that offers additional robust features like task management and project management.

Interested in learning more? Read about the benefits of project management with Asana.

Related resources

Article

The beginner's guide to Agile methodologies