專案里程碑:設定、達成、慶祝

Jenny Thai 撰稿人特寫照片Jenny ThaiJune 14th, 201900
facebooktwitterlinkedin
專案里程碑:設定、達成、慶祝 - Asana 橫幅圖片

若您熱衷於專案管理 (我們也希望如此),您就會明白經過良好組織的計劃可以節省時間和資源。實際上,專案管理研究所發現,「投資於專案管理的組織可節省 13 倍的開支,因為其策略計劃皆可更成功地完成。」

但是,並非所有專案計劃的建立都能如此。假設您正在執行最新的計劃,其中包括目標、任務、任務所有者和截止時間,還有依存項和交付項目。您很有信心這會是一件能夠帶著團隊走向成功的專案規劃藝術作品。但是否忘記把專案里程碑也囊括其中呢?

如果您的專案中沒有里程碑,可能會為自己帶來反效果。專案里程碑可以簡化您作為專案負責人的角色,因為它可以讓團隊瞭解目標,同時也為專案關係人展示其感興趣的進度內容。好消息是,專案里程碑可輕松新增至任何專案 (即使是已經進行的專案),並且帶來多種好處。

一起來看看專案里程碑是什麼,以及它可為您帶來什麼功能。

什麼是專案里程碑?

專案里程碑在專案時間軸上標記出特定點。它們是一種檢查點,用以確定某項活動或一組活動的完成時間,或是新階段或活動發佈的時間。您可以區分出里程碑和時間軸上的其他元素,因為它不需要花時間去完成。可以將之看作是一種讓事情持續進展的路標。

試用 Asana 中的專案規劃功能

專案里程碑為什麼如此重要?

里程碑功能強大,因為它表明了專案計劃的前進進度。它讓每個人都可以檢視進度並判斷輕重緩急,因而有助於激勵並協調團隊。它還可以幫助您監控期限、識別重要日期,並且看出專案中潛在的瓶頸。若您要從專案時間軸中抽離任務,里程碑仍然會依據專案的重要步驟或階段提供大綱。

閱讀:如何建立一個可讓您進展順利的專案計劃

專案里程碑和專案管理的其他方面容易讓人混淆,因此我們再來回顧其中的差異。

里程碑與目標

目標指您希望未來可以達成的事項;里程碑即您此前已經完成的內容。可以把里程碑看作是階梯上的梯級,供您一步步達成目標。

下載電子書:Asana OKR 設定攻略

範例:某行銷團隊正在進行全公司範圍內的品牌再造計劃,這是一項擁有多個變動部分的大型專案,團隊可設定一個在第三季度結束時完成專案的目標。他們接著可以全程使用里程碑來標記重要決策或完成的活動,如所選顏色、建立的設計範本、核准的發佈計劃等。

里程碑與專案階段

里程碑通常與專案階段 (如初始起點、規劃、執行和結案) 的開始或完成相一致。某一個專案階段可能會需要數週或數月時間來完成,也需要多個任務和團隊成員;而里程碑則是一種不佔用時間的主要進度「檢查標記」,在確認和報告中非常重要。

範例:對於品牌再造專案,初始階段將涵蓋多個任務,如焦點群組收集新形象塑造和創意腦力激盪會議的想法。初始階段結束時的里程碑則標明團隊已準備好走向下一個規劃階段。

里程碑與專案交付項目

專案交付項目指產品或成果,而里程碑則是指某個時刻。有時候,交付項目就是完成里程碑的一個證明。

範例:品牌再造專案的交付項目可包括更新後的風格指南 PDF 檔案以及相關標誌檔案。這些專案的完成值得關注 (甚或慶祝一番)。因此,行銷經理可以新增一個代表這一成就的里程碑。

里程碑與任務

任務是壘砌專案的小磚塊,需要花時間才能達成。里程碑並無時間區間,而更像是一種標記符號,用以標記完成了一組任務。

範例:品牌再造專案中有大大小小的各項任務,如創作標誌、設定社交媒體帳戶、撰寫新聞稿等。里程碑則是標明了一組相關任務的完成。

將專案里程碑融入您的專案計劃中

專案里程碑可以新增至任何類型的專案計劃中,以便順利執行。排定行程時使用里程碑特別有用,因為里程碑和相關任務或階段如影隨形;設定里程碑有助於聚焦在目標日期上,並依需要調整專案計劃。

您還可以享受里程碑帶來的樂趣!例如,規劃如何在核對完主要專案里程碑後慶祝一下。這種認可方式可提振士氣並改善同仁間的互動。

閱讀:在 Asana 中表達您的讚賞

您可以在任一階段將里程碑新增至專案,因此不必等到下一個專案啟動才開始。此外,如果您有一些週期性專案,可立即在範本中加入里程碑,以便在之後需要時使用。

建立專案里程碑排程的方法

將專案里程碑想像成某個時刻,而非目的、交付項目或任務。如此,您可以建立里程碑來代表專案中的重要檢查點。查看您的專案排程,指出每一個檢查點或重要時刻。例如,如果您正在規劃一場產品發佈,您可能需要建立里程碑,用以表示發佈訊息最終確定、發佈產品網頁以及實際發佈產品。

常見問題:一個專案中應有多少個里程碑?

專案中所需的里程碑數目並不固定。有些專案中只有兩到三個里程碑,其他專案可能也會差不多或有很多。與其試圖達成一定數目的里程碑,不如只為專案進展過程中所發生的重要活動設定里程碑。請記住:里程碑應為時刻,而達成里程碑的任務則應在專案中的其他位置表示。

設定專案里程碑截止時間

由於里程碑是特定時刻,而非追蹤您需要達至該時刻的進度,因此您應該為計劃發佈或生效而設定里程碑期限。例如,若您正在規劃一場線上活動,您應針對線上活動舉行的日期而非所需的準備工作設定里程碑。里程碑表示專案進度中的重要時刻,並協助您判斷專案是否成功。

專案里程碑範例

專案里程碑標明了重要時刻。您可以使用專案中的里程碑來表示一些活動,如已收到重要交付項目、已完成專案啟動、已核准最終計劃、已完成請求審核、已核准設計、已完成專案階段等,難以盡數。

一起來看看里程碑如何服務於您的團隊的四個範例。

  1. 標記重要任務。須在特定時間完成否則將阻礙專案的任務,如用於行銷活動的創意概念核准。

  2. 醒目提示段落或階段結束。重要工作項目的段落或階段結束,像是從每一個部門收集用於公司規劃的預算請求。

  3. 聚焦主要活動或交付項目。主要活動或交付項目,如完成了公司正在開設的新辦公室的建造,這樣您就可以遷入人員了。

  4. 關注實現目標和關鍵成果。專案目標和關鍵成果 (KR),例如在近期發佈的產品中實現了三個月營收目標。

試用 Asana 中的專案規劃功能

報告專案里程碑

設定里程碑是個好的開始,但是唯有追蹤並報告里程碑,您才能獲得所有益處。和專案關係人溝通時,如果他們不希望或不需要任務層次的詳盡更新,此時里程碑就是絕佳的報告工具。這種「大格局」的資料有助於立即瞭解已經完成哪些階段,專案是否進展順利並且可以達成其未來的重要里程碑,以及您距離目標實現還差多遠。您仍然可以深入查看更詳細的內容,查看與里程碑牽連的任務,有助於瞭解幫您達成里程碑的步驟和所有者,或找出途中可能會遇到哪些阻礙。

追蹤里程碑可以讓您專注於最重要的工作內容,並查看專案的真實狀態,同時可以在您分享專案進度時有依據而更自信。請確保您的專案管理工具中包含報告里程碑的狀態更新,以便讓團隊成員和專案關係人掌握有關團隊已實現內容的進度,以及下一個您正努力達成的里程碑。

閱讀:專案管理的優勢為何?

專家提示:無法達成里程碑目標時該怎麼做

有時候,團隊可能會錯過里程碑的期限。這種情況確實會發生,但基於里程碑的重要性各有差異,錯過期限有可能會真的重挫您的進度,而延誤您的計劃或發佈。

若您沒有達成里程碑目標,就和您的團隊一起停下腳步,先查明錯失里程碑的原因。里程碑排定是否出錯,還是超出了能力範圍?查看為實現里程碑而執行的任務和交付項目。是否有其中之一出現延誤?擁有眾多不斷推進的任務片段之時,往往難以準確掌握什麼時間發生了什麼事情。未來若要防止此類失誤發生,可尋找一種擁有可視化元件的專案管理工具,這樣您就能以時間軸、行事曆和工作流程看板等不同方式查看專案了。

閱讀:讓專案計劃可視化的 3 個方法:時間軸、行事曆和看板

提防陷阱:一般專案里程碑常見問題

設定里程碑是一門藝術,而非科學。設定里程碑沒有一定正確或錯誤的方式。話雖如此,團隊剛開始設定里程碑時,還是可避免以下這些常見的錯誤:

  • 設定太多里程碑。您所需要的里程碑數目取決於計劃的規模和範圍。請避免「為了設定」而設定特定數目的里程碑。反之,應著眼於團隊為取得專案進展而需要完成的重要任務。

  • 將里程碑當成任務使用。里程碑應表示某個時刻。若要追蹤您為實現目標而要完成的工作,應改為使用任務。然後,用里程碑來表示需要完成一組任務的時刻。

  • 分離里程碑和其他工作內容。按時完成且執行成功專案的最佳方式就是在同一處地方管理所有工作內容。請確保您的專案管理工具能讓您在同一處管理任務、設定里程碑並且將專案進度可視化。

閱讀:7 項常見的範疇潛變以及如何加以避免

開始並設定里程碑

現在您瞭解了什麼是專案里程碑,及其對專案規劃、執行和報告所帶來的積極作用。將之視作專案管理帶上的另一種工具,一種您確信會充分利用的工具。當您開始使用里程碑進行規劃時,組建專案計劃時一定會離不開它的。

準備好開始使用專案里程碑進行規劃了嗎?首先,您需要對的工作管理工具。不妨瞭解一下 Asana,這是為您的團隊而設計的最佳工作管理工具,也是市場上的領導品牌。

試用 Asana 中的專案規劃功能

相關資源

文章

The beginner's guide to Agile methodologies

Project milestones: set them, achieve them, celebrate them

If you’re a fan of project management (and we hope you are), you know that organized plans save time and resources. In fact, the Project Management Institute found that “organizations that invest in project management waste 13 times less money because their strategic initiatives are completed more successfully.”

Not all project plans are created equal, however. Let’s say you’re working on your latest plan. It has goals, tasks, task owners, and deadlines. It has dependencies and deliverables. You’re confident that it’s a work of project planning art that will carry your team to success. But did you remember to include project milestones?

If your project doesn’t have milestones, then you’re doing yourself a disservice. Project milestones simplify your role as project leader because they give your team marks to aim for while also showing stakeholders your progress at a level they’re interested in. The good news is that project milestones are easy to add to any project (even those already in progress), and they provide multiple benefits.

Let’s look at what project milestones are and what they can do for you.

What is a project milestone?

Project milestones mark specific points along a project’s timeline. They are checkpoints that identify when activities or groups of activities have been completed or when a new phase or activity is launched. You can differentiate milestones from other elements of a timeline because they take no time to complete; think of them as signposts that keep things on track.

Why are project milestones important?

Milestones are powerful because they demonstrate forward progress in your project plan. They help motivate and align your team by enabling everyone to view progress and judge priorities. And they help you monitor deadlines, identify important dates, and recognize potential bottlenecks within the project. If you were to strip the tasks from your project timeline, the milestones would still give an outline of the key steps or phases of the project.

[Read: How to create a project plan that actually keeps you on track]

It can be easy to confuse project milestones with other aspects of project management, so let’s review the differences.

Milestones vs. goals

Goals are what you wish to achieve looking forward; milestones take a look back at what you’ve already done. Think of milestones as rungs on the ladder to achieving a goal.

[Download ebook: The Asana playbook to OKR setting]

Example: A marketing team working on company-wide rebranding initiative—a big project with many moving parts—might set a goal to complete the project by the end of the third quarter. They could then use milestones along the way to mark key decisions or activities as complete, such as colors selected, design templates created, launch plan approved, etc.

Milestones vs. project phases

Milestones often coincide with the start or completion of project phases (such as initiation, planning, execution, and closure). A project phase may take weeks or months to complete, involving multiple tasks and team members; a milestone is a zero-time “checkmark” of major progress that is important to acknowledge and report on.

Example: For a rebranding project, the initiation phase will cover many tasks, such as focus groups to gather ideas on the new branding and creative brainstorming sessions. A milestone at the end of the initiation phase would mark the team’s readiness to move to the planning phase.

Milestones vs. deliverables

A deliverable is a product or result, whereas a milestone is a moment in time. Deliverables are sometimes evidence of the completion of a milestone.

Example: Deliverables for the rebranding project could include the updated style guide PDF and associated logo files. The completion of these projects is worth noting (and even celebrating!), so the marketing manager could add a milestone denoting that achievement.

Milestones vs. tasks

Tasks are the building blocks of your project, and they take time to achieve. Milestones have no duration and are more like lines in the sand that mark a group of tasks as complete.

Example: A rebranding project will have many smaller and larger tasks, such as creating logos, setting up social media accounts, and writing press releases. A milestone might mark the completion of a group of related tasks.

Fitting project milestones into your project plans

Project milestones can be added to any type of project plan to help it run smoothly. They can be particularly helpful when it comes to scheduling because milestones will need to be placed alongside the relevant tasks or phases; setting up milestones helps you concentrate on target dates and adjust the project plan as needed.

You can also have fun with milestones! For example, plan celebrations for when major project milestones are checked off. This type of acknowledgment boosts morale and improves engagement.

[Read: Show your appreciation in Asana]

You can add milestones to a project at any stage, so don’t wait for your next project kickoff to get started. Also, if you have recurring projects, work milestones into your templates now so that you have them in place for the future.

How to create a project milestone schedule

Think of your project milestones as moments in time—rather than goals, deliverables, or tasks. As such, you should create milestones to represent important checkpoints in your project. Take a look at your project schedule, and pinpoint any checkpoints or important moments. For example, if you’re planning a product launch, you’d likely create milestones to represent finalizing the launch messaging, launching your product web page, and actually launching the product.

FAQ: How many milestones should a project have?

There’s no set number of milestones your project should have. Some projects will only have two or three milestones—others might have closer to a dozen. Instead of trying to hit a certain number of milestones, set milestones for important events that are happening during your project’s progress. Remember: milestones should be moments in time—the tasks it takes to hit those milestones should be represented elsewhere in your project.

Setting project milestone deadlines

Because milestones are moments in time and don’t track the processes you need to get to that moment, you should set your milestone deadlines for when the initiative is launched or goes live. For example, if you’re planning a virtual event, your milestone should be set for the day the virtual event takes place—not the prep work it takes to get there. Milestones denote important moments in your project progress, and help you gauge whether or not your project was successful.

Project milestones examples

A project milestone marks a significant point in time. You can use milestones in your projects to represent events such as key deliverables received, project kickoff completed, final plan approved, requirements review completed, design approved, project phase completed, and much more.

Let’s walk through four examples of how milestones can work for your team.

  1. Mark critical tasks. Tasks that must be completed at a specific time or the project will be blocked, such as a creative concept approval for a marketing campaign.
  2. Highlight the end of a phase or stage. The end of a phase or stage of a major piece of work, like gathering budget requests from every department for company planning.
  3. Spotlight a major event or deliverable. A major event or deliverable, such as finishing the build out of a new office your company is opening so you can begin moving people into it.
  4. Focus on hitting goals and key results. Project goals and key results (KRs), such as hitting your three-month revenue target for a product that was recently launched.

Reporting on project milestones

Setting milestones is a good start, but you won’t reap the full benefit until you track and report on them. Milestones are great reporting tools for communicating with stakeholders who don’t want or need the nitty-gritty of task-level updates. This “broad stroke” data helps you instantly see which phases have been completed, if the project is on track to hit its future key milestones, and how close you are to your goal. You can still drill down to a more granular level, looking at the tasks tied to your milestones; this can help you see which steps and owners helped you get to a milestone or identify roadblocks that might have been in the way.

Tracking milestones lets you home in on your most important work and see the true status of projects, while giving you the knowledge to share project progress confidently. Make sure your project management tool includes status updates that report on milestones, so you can keep team members and stakeholders in the loop about what your team has accomplished and what milestone you’re working towards next.

[Read: The benefits of project management]

Pro tip: what to do when you don’t hit your milestone goals

Sometimes, your team will miss your milestone deadline. That happens—but depending on the importance of your milestone, doing so can really set you back and delay your initiative or launch.

If you don’t hit your milestone goals, take a step back with your team to figure out why you missed the milestone. Was your milestone incorrectly scheduled, or too ambitious? Look at the tasks and deliverables that were contributing to your milestone. Was one of them delayed? Oftentimes, with so many moving pieces, it’s hard to know exactly what’s happening when. To prevent these types of mistakes in the future, look for a project management tool that has a visual component, so you can see your projects in different ways like timelines, calendars, and Kanban boards.

[Read: 3 ways to visualize your project plan]

The don’ts: common project milestone pitfalls

Setting milestones is an art, not a science. There’s no exact right or wrong way to do it. That being said, these are some of the common pitfalls that teams encounter when they first start setting milestones:

  • Setting too many milestones. The number of milestones you need will depend on the size and scope of your initiative. Avoid aiming to set a certain number of milestones “just because.” Instead, pay attention to the key tasks your team needs to accomplish in order for your project to progress.
  • Using milestones as tasks. Milestones should represent a moment in time. To track the work you need to do to get there, use tasks instead. Then, use milestones to represent when a group of tasks should be completed.
  • Keeping your milestones separate from other work. The best way to hit your deadlines and run a successful project is to manage all of your work in one place. Make sure your project management tool allows you to manage tasks, set milestones, and visualize your project progress in one place.

Go forth and set milestones

Now you know what project milestones are and how they can positively impact the planning, execution, and reporting of your projects. Consider them another tool in your project management belt—one you’re sure to get a lot of use out of. Once you start planning with milestones, you’ll never want to build a project plan without them.

Are you ready to get started planning with project milestones? You’ll need the right work management tool first. Check out Asana, a leader in the market and the best work management tool for your team.

Learn more about Asana for project management

More Asana Resources