如何撰寫高效的專案目標 (附帶範例)

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsDecember 11th, 2020
facebooktwitterlinkedin
如何撰寫高效的專案目標 (附帶範例)
立即試用 Asana

完成專案後,該做什麼?

若沒有一個可瞭解您的專案目的是什麼的系統,也就無法輕鬆得知:專案是否成功?目的是否實現?是否錯失標的?

起草一份專案目標並非難事,但在評估專案是否成功時,須確保它是可衡量且實用的方式。本指南將協助您掌握專案目標,充實您的專案管理技能

什麼是專案目標?

專案目標即您計劃在專案結束時所實現的事項。其中可包括交付項目與資產,或某些無形的要點,例如提高生產力或動力。您的專案目的應是可實現的、有時間限制的,而且是您可在專案結束時加以衡量的具體目標。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

專案目標是專案管理中的重要元素,若沒有專案目標,也就無法簡明扼要地在專案開始前與專案期間溝通您的目標,也無法在專案結束後擁有一個評估成功與否的衡量方式。

若您剛開始接觸專案目的,不妨參考其與其他專案管理元素之間的差異:

專案目標與專案目的

雖然某些團隊可能會將專案目的和專案目標交替使用,但目的與目標之間仍存在一項明顯差異。一般而言,專案目的等級高於專案目標。您的專案目的應說明專案成功時應實現什麼成果,以及您的專案與整體業務目標維持一致的程度。

而專案目標則是比專案目的更詳細、更具體。雖然很多專案目標可能會影響業務目標,但您的專案目標應更著重於專案結束時的實際、具體的交付項目。

  • 專案目標範例:在接下來的兩個月內,為客戶增加五種尋找產品內回饋表單的新方法。

  • 專案目的範例:使工程團隊更易於接收和回應客戶回饋。

專案目標與業務目標

專案目標僅表示特定專案的目的與績效指標。您的專案目標應適用於其相關專案,且應足夠具體,以便引導團隊評估專案是否成功。

業務目標則要大於單一專案。與專案目標不同,業務目標會推動您的業務軌跡和速度。您的業務目標應是整個公司或部門的長期準則。這些目標會在一個季度或一年中指引您的公司目的,應以您的團隊所使用的任何目標設定方法撰寫,例如目標與關鍵結果 (OKR)

  • 專案目標範例:在本季度結束時,將我們公司的淨推薦評分 (NPS) 提升至 62

  • 業務目標範例:在我們的類別中成為頂尖服務提供商。

專案目標與專案計劃

您的專案計劃即團隊為成功實現專案目標與目的所需完成的關鍵元素的藍圖。但是,您的專案計劃應包含幾個額外的關鍵元素,例如專案關係人、交付項目、時間軸等。

應在執行專案計劃前規劃建立專案目標,因為您的目標可能會推動專案計劃的其他元素,例如交付項目和成功指標。但撰寫專案目標後,您可能需要與專案關係人以專案計劃的形式進行分享。

  • 專案目標範例:在第三季度結束時,將電子郵件的點擊率 (CTR) 參與度提升 10%。

  • 專案計劃範例:請參閱我們專案規劃指南中的計劃範例。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

專案目標與專案里程碑

第一眼看上去,「目標」與「里程碑」似乎是同一回事,兩者都是專案中的標的。但一般而言,專案里程碑的範圍應小於專案目的。

專案里程碑即在專案時間軸中標記特定成就的檢查點。里程碑本身不表示工作內容,而是記錄一組任務或交付項目的完成情況。雖然項目里程碑很重要,但您的專案目標涵蓋的是整個專案。

  • 專案目標範例:在註冊截止日期 (6 月 23 日) 之前獲得 20,000 份關於我們線上活動的請柬回覆。

  • 專案里程碑範例:2021 年 6 月 8 日:即將舉行的網頁推廣線上活動上線。

專案目標與專案交付項目

專案交付項目即在專案結束時需完成的資產,例如,在行銷活動中,交付項目可能會是新的廣告或網頁。一般而言,專案目的會定義什麼是交付項目,但您的目標涵蓋的範圍不止於交付項目。

除了涵蓋交付項目以外,您的專案目標也應定義交付項目所帶來的好處和成果,特別是因為這些交付項目與您的專案目標及業務目的的宏大計劃有關。

  • 專案目標範例:在年底之前將每月的客戶流失率降低至 1% 以下。

  • 交付項目範例:針對所有流失的客戶發起贏回活動。

專案目標的優勢

清晰的專案目標有助於瞭解專案目前的進度。若沒有專案目標,就無法輕鬆瞭解專案成功與否,也無法為接下來需要執行的專案規劃可改進之處。

當團隊成員無法清楚瞭解其工作內容是否能配合大型專案及公司目標,他們的動力與參與度就會降低。根據 Asana 目標報告,僅 26% 的知識工作者清楚了解其個人工作對於公司目標的作用。誠然,您的專案目的並非公司目標,但卻是將個人工作及您的專案工作與公司目標聯繫起來的中間橋樑。

因此,當您擁有清晰定義的專案目的時,您的團隊成員就可以持續評估其工作,並且在偏離時重新專注於目的上。將您的目標看作是指南針,從而協助您的團隊繼續朝著正確的方向前進。

撰寫出色專案目的 5 個步驟

撰寫出色專案目標的秘訣,在於建立清晰且實用的目標。您可以透過 SMART 法來完成,SMART 表示:

  • 明確 (Specific)

  • 可衡量 (Measurable)

  • 可實現 (Achievable)

  • 切實可行 (Realistic)

  • 有時間限制 (Time-bound)

如需全面瞭解這一方法,請參閱我們的文章:瞭解如何撰寫更出色的 SMART 目標

1. 在專案開始時設定專案目標

為了讓您的目的能夠指引專案成果,您需要在開始時設定,並且用於指引您的專案。如前所述,您的專案目的是專案計劃的關鍵元素,專案計劃同樣需要在專案開始時建立。

2. 在目標設定流程中納入您的專案團隊

專案目標獲得的支持越多,就會越成功。您的專案關係人需要清楚瞭解專案的目標,這樣他們就可以最有效地處理專案計劃的其餘部分以及專案期間產生的工作。

3. 建立簡潔而清晰的專案目標陳述

如果這是您第一次撰寫專案目標,您可能會試著要列出所有細節,不過,請試著儘可能讓專案目標更簡潔。將專案目標看作是指引專案成果的陳述,專案目標陳述應為一到兩句話的長度。其餘像是專案預算或關係人等資訊,則應包含在專案計劃中。

4. 確保您的目標是您可控制的事項

這就是首字母縮寫字 SMART 的用武之地,可協助您建立定義明確、真實且可控的專案目標。這個架構中有 5 個元素:

  • 具體。務必讓您的專案目的陳述清楚涵蓋團隊目前正在進行的專案。避免撰寫範圍過大的專案目標,這樣的目標無法直接與專案成果連結。

  • 可衡量。在專案結束時,您需要一種可以清楚回顧並確定專案是否成功的方式。請確保您的專案目的是可以清楚衡量的,例如百分比變更或資產的具體數目。

  • 可實現。是否可以合理期待在您的專案中實現專案目標?這一點事關專案範疇,若您的專案範圍是不切實際的,則您的專案目的也會如此。若沒有可實現的專案目的,您的專案可能就會面臨範疇潛變、延誤或工作過度的問題。

  • 真實。建立專案目的時,應對專案資源有大致上的瞭解。確保您的目標可在專案的時間範圍和資源下達成。

  • 有時間限制。您的專案目標應考慮到專案時間軸的長度。務必將可用於處理專案的時間考慮在內。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

5. 在專案生命週期期間查核您的專案目標

明白個人工作為所在組織提升了多少價值的員工,其工作動力可提升 2 倍。若要讓您的團隊維持一致、保持動力,請務必定期為他們查核及更新專案目標。可在您的專案狀態報告中,包含一個與專案目標關聯的段落。分享專案目前是否進度正常、存在風險或偏離進度。這樣,必要時,您的專案團隊就可以重新調整,並以最有助於專案目標達成的方式繼續前進。

出色專案目標與拙劣專案目標的範例

撰寫專案目標並非易事,需要為您的專案耗費時間來撰寫。不過沒關係!請參考以下三個出色與拙劣的目標範例,寫出您自己的專案目的:

範例 1:商業專案目標

  • 拙劣:發佈新的首頁。

這個專案目標缺少了很多重要特徵。雖然這個目的可衡量、可實現且可行,但並不具體,也沒有時間限制。首頁何時上線?重新設計的重點應是什麼?

  • 出色:建立全新的首頁資產和文案,著重介紹四個客戶故事和使用案例。在第二季度結束時推出以客戶為中心的新首頁。

此專案目標非常紮實。它具體 (建立新的首頁資產與文案)、可衡量 (發佈更新後、以客戶為中心的首頁)、可實現且可行 (著重介紹四個客戶故事和使用案例)以及有時間限制 (第二季度結束)。

範例 2:非營利性專案目的

  • 拙劣:將我們生產流程的永續性提高 5%

雖然這個專案目標比上一個範例中的更具體,但仍然缺少幾個重要特徵。這個目的是可衡量的 (5%),但並不具體,也沒有時間限制,因為它沒有具體說明「永續性」是什麼意思,也沒有說明何時應該改進生產流程。因此,我們確實無法知道它是否可實現或是否可行。

  • 出色:在接下來的 12 週內,將營運浪費減少 5%,並且將回收產品的使用量增加 20%。

這個專案目標建立於前者的基礎之上,因為此時我們已有一個具體的目標。同時,這個專案目標包含了用於衡量目標的方式 (5%... 20%)。這個目標看起來宏大長遠,但其時間限制 (在接下來的 12 週內) 使其既可實現,又可行。

試用為非營利組織打造的 Asana

範例 3:個人專案目標

  • 拙劣:改進績效評估

無論您是否相信,大多數個人專案目的都是不具體或無法衡量的。這是因為我們很難將成功指標轉向內部,轉向我們自己。但是為了瞭解我們是否改進並且實現了我們的個人目標,我們需要建立一個更清晰的專案目標。

  • 出色:在 2021 年 3 月和 9 月的績效評估中,至少獲得 5 分中的 4 分。

此時,我們有一個可以用來查核所有正確方塊的專案目標:它是具體的 (獲得 5 分中的 4 分)、可衡量 (5 分中的 4 分) 可實現且可行 (5 分中的 4 分為我們提供了應對任何意外困難的空間) 以及有時間限制 (在 2021 年)。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

客觀來說,專案目標是個好東西

設定專案目標,有助於團隊獲得明晰度、在工作上維持一致,而且可以完成更多工作。但請記住:專案目標只是整體專案計劃中的一個部分。若要深入瞭解如何在專案規劃階段提高明晰度與一致性,請參閱我們的撰寫專案計劃指南。

相關資源

範本

Milestone chart template

How to write an effective project objective, with examples

You finished your project, now what?

If you don’t have a system in place to know what your project objectives are, you don’t have an easy way to know: Did your project succeed? Did you hit your goals? Or did you miss your target?

Crafting a project objective isn’t hard, but you have to make sure it’s a measurable, helpful way to evaluate project success. This guide will help you get started with project objectives and supercharge your project management skills.

What are project objectives?

Project objectives are what you plan to achieve by the end of your project. This might include deliverables and assets, or more intangible objectives like increasing productivity or motivation. Your project objectives should be attainable, time-bound, specific goals you can measure at the end of your project.

Project objectives are a critical element of project management—without them, you don’t have a succinct way to communicate your goals before and during the project, nor do you have a measurable way to evaluate your success after the project ends.

If you’re just getting started with project objectives, here’s how they differ from other project management elements:

Project objectives vs. project goals

Though some teams may use these interchangeably, there is a distinct difference between project objectives and project goals. In general, project goals are higher-level than project objectives. Your project goals should outline what happens once your project is successful, and how your project aligns with overall business objectives.

Project objectives, on the other hand, are more detailed and specific than project goals. Though many project objectives may impact business objectives, your project objectives are more focused on your actual, specific deliverables at the end of the project.

  • Example of a project objective: Add five new ways for customers to find the feedback form in-product within the next two months.

  • Example of a project goal: Make it easier for the engineering team to receive and respond to customer feedback.

Project objectives vs. business objectives

Project objectives are just that—objectives and performance indicators for individual projects. Your project objectives should apply to the project they’re about, and they should be specific enough to guide your team in evaluating project success.

Business objectives are bigger than a single project. Unlike project objectives, your business objectives will fuel your business trajectory and velocity. Your business objectives should be long-term guidelines for your entire company or department. They will guide your company goals for a quarter or year, and they should be written in whatever goal-setting methodology your team uses, like objectives and key results (OKRs).

  • Example of a project objective: Increase our company Net Promoter Score (NPS) to 62 by the end of the quarter.

  • Example of a business objective: Become the premier service provider in our category.

Project objectives vs. project plan

Your project plan is a blueprint of the key elements your team needs to accomplish in order to successfully achieve your project goals and objectives. However, your project plan should include several additional key elements, like your project stakeholders, deliverables, timeline, and more.

Plan to create your project objectives before working on your project plan, since your objectives will likely drive other elements of your project plan, like deliverables and success metrics. But once your project objectives are written, you’ll likely share them with stakeholders by way of the project plan.

  • Example of a project objective: Increase click through rate (CTR) engagement on email by 10% by the end of Q3.

  • Example of a project plan: See an example plan in our guide to project planning.

Project objectives vs. project milestones

At first glance, “objectives” and “milestones” sound like the same thing—they’re both targets within a project. But project milestones, in general, should be smaller in scope than project objectives.

A project milestone is a checkpoint that marks a specific achievement in your project timeline. Milestones themselves don’t represent work—rather, they record the accomplishment of a group of tasks or deliverables. While project milestones are important, your project objectives encompass your whole project.

  • Example of a project objective: Obtain 20,000 RSVPs to our virtual event before the closing date for signups (June 23rd).

  • Example of a project milestone: June 8th, 2021: Web page promotion upcoming virtual event goes live.

Project objectives vs. project deliverables

Project deliverables are the assets you want to have at the end of your project—in a marketing campaign, for example, a deliverable could be a new ad or a web page. In general, your project objectives will define what your deliverables are—but your objectives should also be broader than your deliverables.

In addition to capturing deliverables, your project objectives will also define the benefits and outcomes to come from those deliverables, especially as they relate to the grander scheme of your project goals and business objectives.

  • Example of a project objective: Reduce monthly customer churn to >1% before the end of the year.

  • Example of a deliverable: Launch winback campaign for all lapsed customers.

The benefits of project objectives

A clear project objective helps you know where you’re going with your project. Without a project objective, you don’t have an easy way to know if your project succeeded or failed—nor can you plan improvements for the next project you work on.

When team members don’t have a clear sense of how their work fits into the larger project and company goals, they’re less motivated and less engaged. According to the Asana Goals Report, only 26% of knowledge workers have a clear understanding of how their individual work contributes toward company goals. Granted, your project objectives aren’t company goals—but they’re the middle step that connects individual work to your project work to your company goals.

So when you have clearly-defined project objectives, your team members can consistently evaluate their work and refocus on the objectives if they’ve gotten misaligned. Think of your objectives as a compass to help your team continue moving in the right direction.

5 tips to write SMART project objectives

When we say SMART we mean intelligent, but we also mean the SMART system. SMART is an acronym to help you make sure your objectives are clear and achievable. SMART goals are used in various ways by all sorts of teams, especially within project management. SMART stands for:

  • Specific
  • Measurable
  • Achievable
  • Realistic
  • Time-bound

By writing SMART project objectives, you can ensure your objectives are clearly written and helpful for your team. Here’s how to do it:

1. Set your project objectives at the beginning of your project

In order for your objectives to guide the results of the project, you need to set them at the beginning and use them to guide your project. As we mentioned earlier, your project objectives are a key element of your project plan, which you should also create at the beginning of your project.

2. Involve your project team in the goal-setting process

The more buy-in you get, the more successful your project objectives will be. Your stakeholders need to have a clear understanding of the objectives of the project, so they can approach the rest of your project plan and the work that happens during the project most effectively.

3. Create brief, but clear, project objective statements

If this is your first time writing a project objective, you may be tempted to outline every detail—but try to keep your project objective short if you can. Think of it as a statement to guide the results of your project—your project objective statement should be about one to two sentences long. The additional information, like your project budget or stakeholders, will be captured in your project plan.

4. Make sure your objectives are things you can control

This is where the SMART acronym comes in to play. In order to create clearly-defined project objectives, you want to follow the SMART framework. This ensures your projects are realistic and controllable, with a specific success guide. In particular, your project objectives should be:

  • Specific. Make sure your objective statement clearly covers the project your team is currently working on. Avoid writing overly broad project objectives that don’t directly connect to the result of the project.

  • Measurable. At the end of your project, you need a way to clearly look back and determine if your project was a success. Make sure your project objectives are clearly measurable things—like percentage change or a specific number of assets.

  • Achievable. Are your project objectives something you can reasonably hope to achieve within your project? The “A” in SMART project objectives ties in to your project scope—if your project scope is unrealistic, your project objectives likely will be, too. Without Achievable project goals, your project may suffer from scope creep, delays, or overwork.

  • Realistic. When you’re creating your project objectives, you should have a general sense of your project resources. Make sure your objectives are something you can achieve within the time frame and with the resources you have available for this project.

  • Time-bound. Your project objectives should take into account how long your project timeline is. As part of your SMART objectives, make sure you factor in the time you have available to work on your project.

5. Check in on your project objectives during the project’s lifecycle

Employees who understand how their individual work adds value to their organization are 2X as motivated. In order to keep your team aligned and motivated, make sure to check in and update them on your project objectives frequently. In your project status reports, include a section that connects back to your project objectives. Share whether your current project is on track, at risk, or off track. That way, your project team can recalibrate if necessary and move forward in a way that best contributes to your project objectives.

Examples of good and bad project objectives

It’s not easy to write a project objective, and it’ll take time for you to get in the groove of writing these for your projects. That’s ok! Check out these three examples of good and bad objectives to help you write your own:

Example 1: Business project objective
  • Bad: Launch new home page.

This project objective is missing many of the SMART characteristics. Though this objective is measurable, achievable, and realistic, it’s not specific or time-bound. When should the home page be live? What should the redesign focus on?

  • Good: Create net-new home page assets and copy, focusing on four customer stories and use cases. Launch refreshed, customer-centric home page by the end of Q2.

This project objective is SMART. It’s specific (create net-new home page assets and copy), measurable (launch refreshed, customer-centric home page), achievable and realistic (focusing on four customer stories and use cases), and time bound (by the end of Q2).

Example 2: Nonprofit project objective
  • Bad: Increase sustainability in our production process by 5%

Though this project objective is more specific than the previous bad example, it’s still lacking several SMART characteristics. This objective is measurable (by 5%), but it’s not specific or time-bound, since we don’t specify what “sustainability” means or by when the production process should improve. As a result, we don’t really know if it’s achievable or realistic.

  • Good: Reduce operational waste by 5% and increase use of recycled products by 20% in the next 12 weeks.

This project objective is much SMART-er (see what we did there?). We now have a specific objective. This SMART project objective also includes a way to measure the goal (by 5%... by 20%). The objective is a little ambitious, but the fact that it’s time-bound (in the next 12 weeks) makes it both achievable and realistic.

Example 3: Personal project objective
  • Bad: Improve performance reviews

Believe it or not, most personal project objectives aren’t SMART. That’s because we have a hard time turning success metrics inwards, onto ourselves. But in order to know if we improved and achieved our personal goals, we need to create a clearer project objective.

  • Good: Get at least a 4/5 on both the March and September performance reviews in 2021.

Here, we have a project objective that checks all of the SMART boxes: it’s specific (get at least a 4/5), measurable (4/5), achievable and realistic (4/5 gives us room for any unanticipated difficulties), and time-bound (in 2021).

Objectively speaking, project objectives are a good idea

Setting a project objective can help your team gain clarity, align on work, and get more work done. But remember: project objectives are just one part of your overall project plan. To learn more about how you can increase clarity and alignment during the project planning stage, read our guide to writing project plans.

Create your next project plan with Asana.