以 8 個步驟界定專案範疇的快速指南

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsMay 3rd, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
專案範疇文章橫幅圖片 Asana
立即試用 Asana

在進行專案管理時,目標不該太大或太小。相反地,專案規模應該恰到好處:大到足以囊括所有專案交付項目,但又小到可以作為可實現的目標

為此,您必須界定您的專案範疇。界定專案範疇可以幫助您在預算範圍內按時完成專案交付項目,而不會讓您的團隊工作過度。在本文中,我們將介紹定義和管理專案範疇所需的一切知識。

什麼是專案範疇?

專案範疇是一種方法,用於為您的專案設定界線,並明確定義您將努力實現哪些目標、期限和專案交付項目。藉由釐清您的專案範疇,您便可以確保在不拖延或工作過度的情況下實現您的專案目標及目的

界定專案範疇不是一個人的工作。反之,您應該與任何重要的專案關係人取得共識,並確保彼此之間資訊同步。舉例來說,若您正在準備一項產品行銷發表,您必須確保與公司相關團隊 (例如產品團隊、設計團隊和內容團隊) 的專案關係人保持同步。根據專案的複雜程度,您可能還需要定出變更控管流程,我們將在稍後為您介紹如何做到這點。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

什麼是專案範疇陳述?

專案範疇陳述就是一份用以說明專案範疇的書面文件。根據專案的複雜程度,您的專案範疇陳述可能是專案計劃中的一個章節,也可能是一份獨立自成的文件。此外,如果您與外部團隊或代理機構合作,您可以將專案範疇陳述轉化爲一份工作說明書 (SOW),以便鞏固您與供應商之間的協議。

閱讀:工作範疇與工作說明書:兩者有何差異?

什麼是範疇潛變?

當專案交付項目超出專案範疇時,就會發生範疇潛變。例如,假設您正在準備一項產品發表,但尚未草擬專案範疇陳述,結果專案進行到一半時,一位專案關係人將新聞稿加入專案的交付項目中,幾天後,另一位專案關係人又加入了有關新產品的部落格貼文。這些團隊未預料到或未準備好進行的新工作可能導致不必要的壓力,甚至造成專案原始交付項目的延遲。

當專案遭遇範疇潛變時,您最終會開始從事專案開始時沒有預料到的任務。這可能會導致專案延遲、過度工作,或交付項目品質低落 。

避免範疇潛變的最佳方法,就是建立一份紮實的專案範疇陳述,並在過程中儘早與任何相關的專案關係人分享。這樣,每個人便能對專案所涵蓋 (或不涵蓋) 的內容有一致的瞭解。

閱讀:7 種導致專案範疇潛變的常見原因,以及避免方法

儘早定義專案範疇能帶來的優勢

定義專案範疇是專案規劃的一項關鍵要素。若沒有明確的範疇陳述,則您的專案可能會超出團隊的完成能力,從而導致延遲或過勞。專案範疇可幫助您設想專案的整個生命週期,並確保您的最終目標是可實現的。具體來說,定義專案範疇可讓您做到:

  • 確保所有專案關係人都明確瞭解專案的界線

  • 管理專案關係人的期待並取得其認同

  • 降低專案風險

  • 適當地安排預算與資源規劃

  • 使您的專案與其主要目標相互契合

  • 避免範疇潛變

  • 為複雜的專案建立變更請求的流程

以 8 個步驟界定您的專案範疇

1. 由您的專案目的開始著手

在界定專案範疇之前,您必須首先說明您的專案目的。專案目的是您計劃要在專案結束時交付的資產。您的專案範疇最終會幫助您實現目標,但您必須先知道要實現的是什麼。

閱讀:如何撰寫高效的專案目標 (附帶範例)

2. 若您尚未制定資源計劃,請先進行之。

除了專案目的之外,您還需要瞭解有哪些資源可供您使用。在專案管理中,資源可以是從專案預算到團隊能力的任何內容。資源管理計劃概述了專案能夠取得的資源,以及這些資源將如何運用。

在建立專案範疇之前,請先準備好定出您的資源管理計劃。這麼一來,在草擬專案範疇陳述的時候,您便能明確知道有哪些可用的資源,並可據此調整您的專案範疇。

閱讀:資源管理入門指南

3. 收集任何額外的專案需求

早期專案規劃中還有其他重要的要素。但是現在,您應該專注於可能影響您專案範疇的任何其他事項。請記住:專案範疇是您記錄專案界線、主要目標、預算、資源和交付項目的方法。若還有其他可能影響這些事情的因素 (例如您的專案時間軸),請現在就將它們納入其中。

閱讀:業務需求文件範本:7 個關鍵元素 (附範例)

4. 草擬專案範疇陳述

是時候將您所編篡的所有內容彙整至同一處了,也就是您的專案範疇陳述。您的專案範疇陳述應該說明您將進行什麼、不進行什麼,以及背後的原因。

根據專案的複雜程度,您的專案範疇可能是一份條列式清單、一段較長的段落,或是一份完整的工作說明。不論篇幅有多長,您的專案範疇陳述都應該概述您的專案目標,並闡明專案將會涵蓋和不涵蓋的內容。

如果您需要在界定範疇時需要協助,請先回答以下這些問題:

  • 為什麼我們要進行這項專案?最終的目標和交付項目有哪些?

  • 我們面臨的限制有哪些?能夠取得多少預算、人手和資源?有哪些團隊成員將致力於此專案?

  • 我們的交付項目何時到期?需要依循的時間軸為何?

  • 有哪些內容超出範疇?

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

專案範疇陳述範例

假設您正在重新架設公司的網站。如此則您的專案範疇可能如下所示:

專案目的:將網站後端轉移至內容管理系統 (CMS) 平台,以便改善網頁速度和靈活度。

資源:

  • 網頁團隊 (3 人),每週工作時數 30 小時,為時 6 週

  • 工程經理 (1 人),每週工作時數 10 小時,為時 6 週

  • IT 與法務審核 (2 個團隊),每週臨時性工作時數 5 小時。

  • 內容管理系統預算 $7,000

交付項目:

  • 在 2021 年五月下旬培訓所有內容寫手

  • 在 2021 年六月以前將網站完全轉移至新的 CMS

專案藍圖與時間軸:

  • 4 月 26 日:開始界定 CMS 範疇

  • 5 月 10 日:IT 與法務審核

  • 5 月 17 日至 6 月 3 日:網頁團隊轉移

  • 5 月 31 日:內容寫手培訓

  • 6 月 4 日:CMS 上線

超出範疇的內容:

  • 新的數位資產管理 (DAM) 系統

  • 在新的 CMS 上建立可自訂的網頁

5. 取得重要專案關係人的認同與核准

在簽核您的專案範疇陳述之前,請務必先取得專案關係人的認同。這讓您有機會進行變更、重新設想專案目標,並決定專案應該包含和不該包含的部份。一旦專案開始進行,就更難更改專案範疇陳述中的任何要素,故請妥善地與任何重要的專案關係人就您的範疇進行溝通。

請閱讀:什麽是專案關係人分析,它為什麼很重要?

6. 視需要建立變更控管流程

如果您有很多專案關係人,或者正在管理複雜的計劃,那麼您可能應該建立一套變更控管流程。對於大型或複雜的專案,有些事項發生變化是無可避免的。也許您的時間軸太過樂觀,或者出現新的客戶回饋,導致您必須變更幾個重要的交付項目。但您也不希望任何人都能隨意更改,因為那可能會導致範疇潛變

變更流程是專案關係人在其變更獲得核准之前必須經過的一組既定流程。若要建立一套變更控管流程,請先為您的專案團隊和專案關係人訂定提出變更請求的方式,例如集中式的接收表單。接著,由一組預先選擇的重要專案關係人審查變更,並判斷該變更請求是否重要到值得加入。若該請求值得加入,請看看您是否能降低某些原定工作的優先層級,以避免範疇潛變。

7. 與團隊分享您的專案範疇陳述

在您的專案關係人看過並簽核了您的專案範疇之後,下一步就是將之與您的專案團隊分享。請確保您的團隊有一個位置能一站式存取所有工作,例如工作管理工具

8. 在專案進行期間回顧您的專案範疇陳述

經常回顧您的專案範疇文件能提供很多幫助,確保您的進度正常且沒有範疇潛變的風險。如果有人將尚未經過變更控管流程的新元素引進至專案中,請將專案範疇陳述提供給他們參考,並鼓勵他們將想法以請求或快速跟進的方式提出。

使用專案範疇建立健康的界線

專案範疇陳述是很棒的工具,能確保您的專案進度正常並取得成功。它同時也是為您的專案團隊提供支援和避免過勞的絕佳方式。不過,專案範疇只有在有效溝通的情況下時才會有用。請務必在專案早期就建立專案範疇文件,然後在專案期間不斷經常回顧。

相關資源

文章

If you like maximizing team impact, you’ll love resource allocation

The quick guide to defining project scope—in 8 steps

When it comes to project management, you don’t want to aim too big or too small. Rather, you want your project size to be just right: big enough to capture all of your project deliverables, but small enough to be an achievable goal.

The way to do that is to define your project scope. Defining the scope of your project helps you hit your project deliverables on time and within budget—without overworking your team. In this article, we’ll cover everything you need to know to define and manage your project scope.

What is project scope?

Project scope is a way to set boundaries on your project and define exactly what goals, deadlines, and project deliverables you’ll be working towards. By clarifying your project scope, you can ensure you hit your project goals and objectives without delay or overwork.

Defining your project scope isn’t a one-person job. Rather, you should align with any important project stakeholders and ensure that you’re all on the same page. For example, if you’re working on a product marketing launch, you want to make sure you align with stakeholders on relevant teams at your company, like the product team, the design team, and the content team. Depending on how complex your project is, you may also want to define a change control process—we’ll get into how you can do that later.

What is a project scope statement?

A project scope statement is simply a written document of your project scope. Depending on the complexity of your project, your scope statement could be a section of your project plan, or it could be its own stand-alone document. Additionally, if you’re working with an external team or agency, you may turn your project scope statement into a statement of work (SOW) to cement the agreement between you and your vendor.

What is scope creep?

Scope creep is what happens when project deliverables exceed the project scope. For example, imagine you’re working on a product launch, but you haven’t drafted a project scope statement. Halfway through the project, a stakeholder adds a press release to the project’s deliverables. A few days later, a different stakeholder adds a blog post about the new product. This added work that your project team was not expecting or prepared for could cause unnecessary stress or even delays to your project’s original deliverables.

When your project suffers from scope creep, you end up working on tasks you didn’t expect at the beginning of the project. This can lead to project delays, overwork, or low quality deliverables.

The best way to prevent scope creep is to create a solid project scope statement and share it with any relevant stakeholders as early in the process as possible. That way, everyone is on the same page about what your project does—and does not—cover.

[Read: 7 common causes of scope creep, and how to avoid them]

The benefits of defining your project scope early

Defining your project scope is a key element of project planning. Without a clear scope statement, your project could warp and grow beyond your team’s ability to complete it, causing delays or burnout. Your project scope helps you envision the entire lifecycle of your project and make sure your end goals are achievable. Specifically, defining your project scope allows you to:

  • Ensure all stakeholders have a clear understanding of the boundaries of the project
  • Manage stakeholder expectations and get buy-in
  • Reduce project risk
  • Budget and resource plan appropriately
  • Align your project to its main objectives
  • Prevent scope creep
  • Establish a process for change requests (for complex projects)

8 steps to define your project’s scope

1. Start with your project objectives

Before you can define your project scope, you first need to outline your project objectives. Project objectives are the assets you plan to deliver by the end of your project. Your project scope, ultimately, will help you get there—but you first need to know where “there” is.

[Read: How to write an effective project objective, with examples]

2. Make a resource plan if you haven’t already

In addition to project objectives, you also need a sense of which resources you’ll have available to you. In project management, a resource can be anything from project budget to team bandwidth. A resource management plan outlines which resources you have available for this project—and how they’ll be used.

Plan to define your resource management plan before creating your project scope. That way, you’ll know exactly what resources you have available when you’re drafting your project scope statement, and you can adjust the project scope based on that availability.

[Read: Your guide to getting started with resource management]

3. Collect any additional project requirements

There are other, important elements of early project planning. But right now, you should be focusing on anything else that might impact your project scope. Remember: project scope is your way of documenting your project’s boundaries, and what your main objectives, budget, resources, and deliverables are. If there’s anything else that might impact those things—like your project timeline, for example—collect that now.

4. Draft your project scope statement

It’s time to put all of the research you’ve compiled into one place: your project scope statement. Your project scope statement should explain what you will and will not do, and why.

Depending on the complexity of your project, your project scope statement could be a bullet-pointed list, a longer paragraph, or a full blown SOW. No matter how long it is, your project scope statement should outline what your project objectives are and indicate what your project will and will not cover.

If you need help defining scope, start by answering these questions:

  • Why are we working on this project? What are our ultimate goals and deliverables?
  • What restrictions do we have? How much budget, headcount, and resources are available? Which team members will be working on this?
  • When are our deliverables due? What timeline do we have to hit?
  • What is out of scope?
Example project scope statement

Let’s say you’re rebuilding your company website. Here’s what the project scope might look like:

Project objectives: Transfer website backend onto CMS platform in order to improve page speed and flexibility.

Resources:

  • Web team (three people), 30 hours of work a week for 6 weeks
  • Engineering manager (one person), 10 hours of work a week for 6 weeks
  • IT & Legal review (two teams), five hours of ad hoc work a week
  • $7,000 for CMS

Deliverables:

  • Training for all content writers in late May 2021
  • Entire website on new CMS by June 2021

Project roadmap and timeline:

  • April 26: Begin scoping CMS
  • May 10: IT & Legal review
  • May 17th–June 3rd: Web team transfer
  • May 31st: Content writers’ training
  • June 4th: CMS is live

Out of scope:

  • New DAM system
  • Customizable web pages on new CMS
5. Get buy-in and approval from key stakeholders

Before you sign off on your project scope statement, make sure you get buy-in from your project stakeholders. This is your chance to change things around, rethink your project’s objectives, and decide what is and isn’t part of the project. Once your project is underway, it’ll be harder to change any element of your project scope statement, so communicate your scope well to any important stakeholders.

[Read: What is a stakeholder in project management?]

6. Establish a change control process if necessary

If you have a lot of stakeholders, or if you’re managing a complex initiative, it might also be worth establishing a change control process. With large or complex projects, some things will inevitably have to change. Maybe your timeline was way too optimistic, or new customer feedback came in and you have to change several important deliverables. You don’t want your project to be impossible to change, but you also don’t want anyone to be able to make a change willy nilly, because that can lead to scope creep.

A change process is an established set of processes that stakeholders have to go through before their change is approved. To create a change control process, establish a way for your project team and stakeholders to submit change requests—for example, through a centralized intake Form. Then, a pre-selected set of important stakeholders should review the change and see if the change request is important enough to merit addition. If it is, see if you can deprioritize some work you were planning on doing, in order to avoid scope creep.

7. Share your project scope statement with the team

Your stakeholders have seen and signed off on your project scope—the next step is to share it with your project team. Make sure your team has a one-stop shop to access all of your work, like a work management tool.

8. Refer back to your project scope statement during the project

It’s helpful to reference your project scope document frequently to make sure you’re on track and not at risk of scope creep. If anyone introduces new elements to the project that haven’t gone through your change control process, refer them to the project scope statement and encourage them to submit their idea as a request or fast-follow.

Set healthy boundaries with project scope

A project scope statement is a great tool to make sure your project is on track and going to be successful. It’s also a great way to support your project team and prevent burnout. But a project scope is only useful if it’s been effectively communicated. Make sure to surface the project scope document early in your project. Then, continue referring back to it frequently during the project.

Create your next project plan with Asana.