如何有效管理團隊的工作負荷

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJuly 29th, 202000
facebooktwitterlinkedin
有效管理團隊的工作負荷

為了在團隊中找人代理自己的工作而感到頭痛嗎?這個問題其實很常見。身為領導者,您肩負重大責任,必須讓團隊成員保持專注、維持生產力、按時完成工作。您還必須確保團隊的工作負荷是合理分配的。如同系統工作及生產力專家 Julie Morgenstern 精闢所言:「如果讓高績效員工做過多工作,他們會開始埋怨自己負荷過重,因而導致這些員工流失。」想在團隊的工作負荷中取得平衡,這不是一項簡單的任務,為此,我們樂於提供協助,讓您的管理更有效率。

何謂工作負荷管理?

工作負荷管理是在團隊中有效分配及管理工作的流程。成功的工作負荷管理,可將員工績效提至最高,並且有助於消除雜亂無章的現象,在每一天結束時讓您和您的團隊獲得滿足感,而不是幾近崩潰。團隊成員有信心能完成自己的工作量,並且以更快的速度達成更佳的工作品質。

為什麼工作負荷管理很重要?

近來研究顯示,全球的知識工作者中,有 80% 的人員表示自己工作過多,接近過勞。此外,每五名員工中有四名 (82%) 表示,當自己處於壓力中時,工作的投入程度會下降。透過工作負荷管理,您可更有效率地在團隊中分配工作,此舉不僅可降低飽受壓力之員工的過勞情況,更能盡早避免他們產生超負荷的感受。藉由工作負荷管理工具,您可即時掌握團隊成員手上的任務,從而有效地管理團隊的工作負荷,取得更佳的平衡,而不助長過勞的環境。

免費試用 Asana 工作負荷管理功能

工作負荷管理五步驟指南

不曾認真想過工作負荷管理嗎?您不是唯一的一個;國際主管暨經理研究所表示,針對這項非常必要的技能,很少有人受過真正的訓練。

好消息是,您可以透過一些工具,讓所有人、事、物同步向前推進 (請參閱以下第五項)。然而,為了讓工具對管理團隊成員的工作負荷發揮真正助益,您必須確保其他專案管理技能亦保持在最佳狀態。請將以下五個步驟化成實際行動,從而成功地管理團隊的工作負荷。

1. 弄清楚團隊的工作負荷及工作能力

由於團隊的工作散見於多個不同的專案簡介、計劃及工具中,要確實瞭解您需要解決的工作總量十分困難。而要掌握各個團隊成員手上的工作量或能接手的工作內容,瞭解工作總量正是關鍵。您若能讓各項計劃井然有序,就能解決該難題並掌握團隊的工作負荷:

1. 將您團隊負責的專案和流程統整為一個完整清單。這可能包括團隊正推動的專案,也可能是他們參與的跨部門工作。

深入瞭解:運用專案集,在一處地方監控所有計劃

2. 為每項工作決定範圍及時機。這是有多個交付項目的大型複雜專案,還是範圍較小的專案?您的團隊負責每個專案或流程中的多少部分?

3. 將專案拆分成較小任務及工作流。一旦您能以宏觀角度掌握團隊的工作,請將其轉化為較小單位,以便瞭解每週或每天的工作內容。

4. 根據重要性及急迫性來安排工作的優先順序。如此一來,您也會瞭解團隊需要先解決什麼問題,從而針對各專案工作,安排更好的時程。

儘管如此,瞭解您需要解決多少工作,僅解決了一半的問題。除此外您還必須瞭解團隊和各個成員尚有多少能力。將會議、假期及例行性事務納入考量後,每個團隊成員還剩多少精力投入這些專案?請評估各團隊成員的工作負荷,或請他們為您做出評估,以便理解他們還能接手什麼工作。

工作負荷測量的具體行動:

您的分析團隊在第二季必須交出九種不同的報告。這些是全新的混和報告,需要花更多時間製作,且系統設定時已有這些報告的重複內容。在您開始將報告指派給個別的團隊成員之前,請先瞭解其時機 (每分報告需要交付的時間)、重要性 (這會阻礙什麼工作進行?),以及您預期會花費多少時間建立各報告。

根據此研究,您現在就能知道分析團隊負責多少額外的工作。由於明白有些報告的優先順位較低,您甚至可以在發現工作負荷超出小團隊的能力時,明智地推遲較不重要的請求,並接手較具影響力的請求。

常見問題:如何賦予團隊權限,讓他們更有效能更有效率?

高效能的團隊把事情做對,有效率的團隊做對的事情。理想情況中,團隊既高效能又有效率,如此才能確保既把事情做對,也做對的事情。

閱讀:業務中的效率與有效性:團隊同時需要兩者的原因

如果您還沒有這麼做,請務必讓團隊裡的所有人使用同一個工作管理工具,如此一來,他們才能清楚知道誰負責在什麼期限前完成什麼事。此外,工作管理工具應輕易整合於您最喜愛的業務工具,團隊才能省下切換應用程式及查找試算表的時間,將更多時間投入於發揮實際影響力的工作。當然,您要找的工作管理工具必須具備內建工作負荷管理元件,這樣您才能在工作開展時,追蹤團隊的工作負荷。

閱讀:工作管理介紹

2. 分配資源,並拆分成個別的工作負荷

分配資源,並拆分成個別的工作負荷

既然您已對團隊必須做的所有事有了概念,現在就可以弄清楚誰應該在什麼時間完成什麼事了。雖然指派工作給個別人員聽起來好像很直接了當,但根據哈佛商業評論的專家指出,實際上做起來可能相當複雜。

以下是身為團隊領導者的您可以做的五件事,從而確保所有人的工作負荷達到平衡狀態,且易於管理:

  1. 先將最優先的工作指派出去。將團隊的待辦事項及專案依照優先順序排列於清單中,然後先行找人負責最高優先項目。

  2. 平衡開始與截止日期。現在,您已瞭解誰需要做何事,可以開始排定每一個任務或專案了。您還可以實施時間管理策略,例如時間段等,協助團隊成員更有目的地完成工作。

  3. 針對各任務或專案,請務必讓合適的人接手負責。您需考量他們的空檔、綜合技能和經驗。

  4. 讓您的團隊參與對話,具體方法是詢問他們認為自己還有多少額外的工作餘裕。如此一來他們不僅能確實掌握自己的工作負荷及工作能力,更能感到自己被賦予權限,參與規劃。

  5. 指派特定任務給任何人時,一律讓他們知道指派給他們的原因。這麼做是在一開始就提高參與度並設定期望值的絕佳方法。

資源分配的具體行動:

您需要兩個人負責將至的行銷活動廣告設計,而您的團隊有五人。您可以任意指派這項工作,但若您先瞭解團隊成員的背景 (例如:他們之前有負責過行銷活動嗎?)、確認是否有任何團隊成員可能已經工作過多,然後再詢問您心目中的最佳人選,看他們是否覺得自己有能力接手這個新專案,這樣做將能獲得更佳效果。

常見問題:如何管理相互衝突的期限及優先順序?

規劃工作負荷時,難免會有預期外的難題。有時候,最適合執行某個專案的團隊成員已經忙於應付另一個同等優先的專案。有時候,您的整個團隊已經瀕臨極限,很難再增加他們手上的工作。儘管無法總是找到完美的方案,但若能事先瞭解團隊的工作負荷,您就能預期這些資源問題,在問題發生之前先加以因應。

例如,若知道有短交期的優先交付事項將至,您是否就能把該月份中較不重要的工作提前或延後?當您可清楚查看團隊的工作餘裕時,短期內或長遠來看,您都更能協助管理他們的工作負荷。

閱讀:何謂專案管理中的交付項目?

3. 跟團隊成員確認進度並視需要調整工作負荷

依據需要調整團隊工作負荷

即便是最妥善的計劃和專案時程也有遇到障礙的時候,而您需要為此作好準備,才能在錯過期限前即時加以調整。

若要追蹤各團隊成員如何管理目前的工作負荷,請主動安排定期的團隊成員一對一查核會議,獲得最新資訊。若查核會議顯示某個團隊成員已因職責而感到工作過多,應進一步瞭解誰可能還有餘裕接手其他工作。

當您重新指派任務或專案時,請務必與團隊溝通,好讓他們瞭解何以有這項變動,以及他們現在為什麼必須投入不同的任務。找機會指導他們,協助他們變得更有效率、更有條理,並時時肯定團隊成員的工作成果。

閱讀:助您完成出色工作的 18 個時間管理提示、策略和速成技巧

查核會議的具體行動:

您留意到兩個客戶經理每晚都加班,而另一個則是在凌晨傳送電子郵件給您。這可能是他們工作過多的徵兆。您應跟團隊成員安排個別的查核會談,瞭解他們當下工作的情況;如有必要,主動提出變動或延遲職責,並為表示有需要的人員提供指導。若您還沒有這麼做,請開始為團隊成員個別安排定期的查核會議,以免未來發生類似的問題。

行家秘訣:別忘了團隊文化

除了一對一查核會議外,務必留下時間舉辦整個團隊的交流和慶祝活動。無論團隊是同在辦公室裡、分散各地,或遠距合作,面對面交流都很重要。視團隊的規模而定,您可考慮是否舉辦每週一次的站立會議、每兩週一次的歡樂時光,或每月一次更大型的聚會活動。

閱讀:團隊如何在遠端工作中保持互相連結

4. 當工作負荷繁重時,應改善團隊效率

儘管大部分時間專注於大方向,您仍應鼓勵團隊發展自己專屬的管理系統,以便管理工作負荷。當任務眾多時,他們必須用有效率的方法做對的事,這一點至關重要。

  • 提出適合其個人風格的時間管理策略,例如時間箱或時間段。

  • 盡可能減少團隊必須出席的會議。找出不用花這麼多時間的新式溝通方式。

  • 協助團隊瞭解專案管理的內涵,以及有條理的計劃如何能節省時間。

閱讀:繁重的工作負荷意味著更大的壓力。以下說明您可以如何因應這個問題。

團隊效率的具體行動

您的一個下屬總是提早交付工作,您透過對話知道了他們使用一些新策略,使工作更有效率。您應鼓勵該人員與團隊分享這個經驗,並試著建立一個分享空間,讓團隊成員發現節省時間的秘訣時,就在此發佈。

常見問題:如何賦予團隊權限,讓他們更有效能、更有效率?

高效能的團隊把事情做對,有效率的團隊做對的事情。理想上會希望團隊既高效能又有效率,如此才能確保既把事情做對,也做對的事情。

閱讀:業務中的效率與有效性:團隊同時需要兩者的原因

如果您還沒有這麼做,請務必讓團隊裡的所有人使用同一個工作管理工具,如此一來,他們才能清楚知道誰負責在什麼期限前完成什麼事。此外,工作管理工具應輕易整合於您最喜愛的業務工具,團隊才能省下切換應用程式及查找試算表的時間,將更多時間投入於發揮實際影響力的工作。想當然爾,您要找的工作管理工具必須具備內建工作負荷管理元件,這樣您才能在工作開展時,追蹤團隊的工作負荷。

閱讀:工作管理介紹

5. 引進工作管理工具

工作管理工具

試想您能在同一個位置查看每個專案和每個團隊成員正在進行的所有事。與其談論如何節省時間,不妨開始使用工作或專案管理工具,直接達成這個目標。

採用工作管理工具後,每個團隊成員就能查看自己的工作成果如何促成更大的團隊及公司計劃。溝通在任務執行之際就達成了,因此找到您所需的資訊只要花費五秒鐘,而非五分鐘。 可個別檢視或整體檢視的時間軸,讓所有人都能按時完成工作,

工作管理工具的具體行動:

您已將生產排程的所有任務和步驟載入工作負荷管理工具,且工作進行得很順利。因為所有團隊成員均可檢視狀態,以及自己在流程裡扮演的角色,您因而能避免衝突、節省時間。

行家秘訣:訂立團隊約定

整個團隊都會使用的工作管理工具,就是最佳的工作管理工具。然而很重要的一點是,針對工具的使用訂立團隊約定及最佳作法。這麼做不僅可讓團隊更易於採用新工具,更能減少開始使用的障礙,因為團隊將不需擔心自己「誤用」工具。您的工作管理工具應具備使用指南影片,以協助開始使用。請留一些時間,與團隊一起閱讀/觀看這些素材,並訂立一致的約定。

讓團隊為成功做好準備

您是否覺得自己被賦予了能力,可以改善時間及工作負荷管理技能?請記得,工作負荷管理所追求的就是以有效率的方式指派工作、管理任務,以及向專案關係人報告專案的最新進度。上文整理出的這些秘訣,搭配如 Asana 這樣的工作管理工具使用後,可協助您整理好任務的期限和優先順序,進而有效管理團隊的繁重工作負荷。

免費試用 Asana 工作負荷管理功能

相關資源

電子書

聰明地開始,漂亮地收尾

How to effectively manage your team’s workload

Are you having a difficult time delegating work to your team? You’re not alone. As a leader, you have the huge responsibility of keeping your team members focused, productive, and on track. You also have to make sure that your team’s workload is divided fairly. Organizing and productivity expert, Julie Morgenstern, put it best: “If you overwork your high performers, you will lose them because they start to resent the fact that they’re doing more.” Balancing your team’s workload is no easy task and we’re here to help you effectively manage it.

What is workload management?

Workload management is the process of efficiently distributing and managing work across your team. When successfully done, workload management maximizes employee performance and helps melt away chaos, leaving you and your team feeling satisfied at the end of each day rather than overwhelmed. Team members will feel confident about their work volume and deliver higher quality work at a faster pace.

Why is workload management important?

Recent research shows that 80% of global knowledge workers report feeling overworked and close to burnout. Further, four out of five (82%) of employees say they feel less engaged at work when they’re stressed. Workload management enables you to distribute work across your team more effectively, to not only reduce burnout for stressed employees, but prevent them from feeling overworked in the first place. Workload management tools provide real-time insight into the tasks your team has on their plate, so you can manage your team workload effectively and promote balance, not burnout.

Get started with workload management

The five-step guide to workload management

If you haven’t given much thought to workload management, you’re not alone; the International Institute of Directors and Managers reports that few people are actually trained in this much-needed skill.

The good news is there are tools that can help you keep everyone and everything moving forward simultaneously (see item five below). But in order for a tool to really help you manage your team members’ workloads, you’ll need to make sure some other skills are in prime shape. Put these five steps into action so you can successfully manage your team’s workload.

1. Figure out your team’s workload and capacity

With your team’s work scattered among multiple different project briefs, plans, and tools, it’s hard to understand just how much total work you all need to tackle. Having that knowledge is key to figuring out how much each team member is doing or what they can take on. You can get past that and figure out what your team’s workload actually is by getting your plans in order:

  1. Put together a full list of projects and processes your team is responsible for. These can be projects your team is driving, or cross-functional work they’ll be contributing to.

[Read: Monitor all of your initiatives in one place with Asana Portfolios]

  1. Determine the scope and timing of work for each. Are these big, complex projects with multiple deliverables or are these smaller in scope? How much of each project or process is your team responsible for?
  2. Break down projects into smaller tasks and workstreams. Once you have a big picture understanding of your team’s work, break it into smaller chunks so you can know what their weekly or daily loads look like.
  3. Prioritize work based on importance and urgency. This way, you’ll also know what your team needs to tackle first and can better schedule when you’ll be working on each project.

Knowing how much work you need to tackle is only one half of the equation, though. You’ll also have to know how much bandwidth your team and each individual has. Once you’ve taken into account meetings, vacations, and recurring responsibilities, how much does each team member have left to devote to these projects? Assess each team member’s workload, or ask them to do so for you, to get a sense of what else they can take on.

Workload measuring in action:

Your analytics team has to produce nine different reports in Q2. It’s a mix of net new reports, that will take longer to build, and repeatable ones they already have systems set up for. Before you start assigning them out to individual team members, get an understanding of timing (when does each have to be delivered by), importance (what work is this blocking?), and the amount of time you expect it to take to create each.

Based on this research, you now know how much additional work your analytics team is responsible for. You may have even discovered that it’s too much for your small team’s bandwidth, but knowing that some of the reports are low-priority, can smartly defer less important requests in favor of more impactful ones.

FAQ: How do I manage team and employee workload?

The best way to manage team workload is to get started with a work management tool. Tracking down all of the work your team is doing and how much capacity they have is hard enough—but you also need a way to store, access, and regularly update this information so you can manage your team’s workload moving forward. Look for a tool that serves as a central source of truth not only for work management but also workload management—that way you can track your team’s work, and their workload, in the same place. At Asana, we (naturally) think Asana is a pretty great way to get started with workload management.

[Read: Asana Workload: Now with effort and capacity planning]

2. Allocate resources and break down individual workloads

Team workload management

Now that you have an overview of everything your team needs to do, you can now figure out who will be working on what and when. And while assigning out the individual pieces of work may sound straightforward, as the sage folks at the Harvard Business Review report have pointed out, it can actually be quite complicated.

Here are five things you, as the team’s leader, can do to keep everyone’s workloads balanced and manageable:

  1. Assign out the highest priority work first. Order your team’s list of to-dos and projects in terms of priority, and work on staffing the top priorities first.
  2. Balance start and due dates. Now that you know who will be doing what, schedule in each task or project. Use a timeline or calendar to visualize your workloads, so you can balance each individual’s workload.
  3. Make sure you’re matching the right people to each task or project. Take into account their availability, as well as their skill sets and experience.
  4. Include your team in the conversation by asking them what extra bandwidth they believe they have. Not only will they know their own workloads and capacity the best, but they’ll also feel more empowered when you involve them in planning.
  5. Always let someone know why you’re assigning a particular task to them. This is a great way to increase engagement and set expectations from the outset.
Resource allocation in action:

You need two people to work on ad designs for an upcoming campaign, and have five people on your team. You could assign the work randomly, but you’ll get better results if you look at team members backgrounds’ (e.g., have they worked on previous campaigns before?), check for any team members who may already be overloaded, then ask your top picks if they feel they have the capacity to take on this new project.

FAQ: How can I manage conflicting deadlines and priorities?

Workload planning isn’t always as smooth as we’d like it to be. Sometimes the team members who are best suited for a project are already busy with another, equally high-priority initiative. Sometimes, your entire team is in crunch mode, and it’s hard to imagine adding more work to their plates. While there may not always be a perfect answer, knowing your team’s workload in advance can help you anticipate these resourcing problems and address them before they hit.

For example, if you know there’s an upcoming, high-priority deliverable with a short turnaround time, can you shift lower priority work earlier or later in the month? When you have a window into your team’s bandwidth, you’re better equipped to help them manage their workload—both in the near- and long-term.

3. Check in with your team members and adjust workloads as needed

Asana workload

Even the best-laid plans and project timelines hit roadblocks, and you’ll need to be prepared to make adjustments in real time before deadlines are missed.

To track how each team member is managing their current workloads, be proactive by setting a regular 1-1 check-in with your team members for updates. If those check-ins reveal that a team member feels overloaded with responsibilities, check to see who might be able to take on something else.

When you reassign tasks or projects, be sure to communicate with your team about the changes so they understand why they’re now being pulled in a different direction. Consider coaching opportunities to help them become more efficient and organized and always recognize your team members’ hard work.

Check-ins in action:

You’ve noticed that two of your account managers are staying late night after night, and another one is emailing you in the wee hours of the morning. This could be a sign they’re overloaded. Schedule check-ins with each person on your team to see where they stand with their work; offer to shift or defer responsibilities if needed, and provide coaching to anyone who reveals a need. If you don’t already, schedule a regular check-ins for each team member going forward to avoid similar problems cropping up in the future.

Pro tip: Don’t forget about team culture

In addition to 1-1 check-ins, make sure to save time for team-wide moments of connection and celebration. Whether your team is in the office, distributed, or remote, it’s important to have face time and connect. Depending on the size of your team, consider planning a weekly stand up meeting, a biweekly happy hour, or a larger monthly gathering.

[Read: How our team stays connected while working remotely]

4. Improve team efficiency when workloads are heavy

While you’re mainly focused on the big picture, encourage your team to develop their own system to manage their workload. When there’s a lot to do, it’s important that they’re doing the right things, efficiently.

[Read: Heavy workloads equal more stress. Here’s what you can do about it.]

Team efficiency in action

One of your direct reports always turns in their work early, and through conversations you learn that they have been using some new strategies to work more efficiently. Encourage that person to share their experience with the team, and consider creating a shared space where team members can post time-saving tips as they come across them.

FAQ: How can I empower my team to be more effective and efficient?

If you don’t already, make sure everyone on your team is using the same work management tool so they have clarity on who’s doing what by when. Your work management tool should also easily integrate with your favorite business tools, so your team spends less time switching between apps and digging through spreadsheets, and more time on their high-impact work. And of course, look for a work management tool that has a built-in workload management component, so you can track team workload right where work happens.

[Read: An introduction to work management]

5. Onboard a work management tool

Marketing campaign timeline

Imagine being able to see everything that’s going on with every project and every team member in one single location. Talk about saving time. Using a work or project management tool does just that.

When you adopt a work management tool, every team member is able to see how their work feeds into larger team and company initiatives. Communication happens within tasks, so finding the information you need takes five seconds instead of five minutes. Timelines keep everyone on track because projects can be viewed individually or together.

Work management tool in action:

You’ve loaded all the tasks and steps of your production schedule into a workload management tool, and work is moving smoothly. Because all team members have a view of the status and where they fit in the process, you’re able to avoid conflicts and save time.

Pro tip: Establish team conventions

The best work management tool is one your entire team is using. But it’s important to set team conventions and best practices for using your tool. Not only will that make it easier for your team to adopt your new tool, but it’ll also reduce the barrier to entry, because your team won’t have to worry that they’re using the tool “incorrectly.” Your work management tool should have a how-to guide and videos to help you get started—set some time aside to go through those with your team and establish shared conventions.

Set your team up for success

Are you feeling empowered to improve your time and workload management skills? Remember, workload management is all about efficiently assigning work, managing those tasks, and updating stakeholders on your projects. The tips we’ve outlined above, combined with a work management tool like Asana, can help you sort through conflicting deadlines and priorities to manage your team’s heavy workload.

Learn more about Asana for workload management

Start managing your team’s workload with Asana today.

More Asana Resources