您的工作會議很浪費時間嗎?請運用以下技巧加以改進。

Molly Talbert 撰稿人特寫照片Molly TalbertAugust 26th, 2020
facebooktwitterlinkedin
停止浪費時間開會文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

如果現在打開您的工作行事曆,下週共安排了幾場會議?大多數的行事曆都充斥著會議邀請,員工通常在關掉行事曆時期望有一天開會不再令人感到浪費時間。請繼續閱讀本文,因為我們即將幫助您改造您的方法,並確保您的會議確實有效。

閱讀:分散式團隊協作的 3 個方式

您有一半的可能性會不喜歡開會。在 Igloo software 員工之間進行的調查中,47% 的受訪者認為會議通常不具成效。但光是希望會議不浪費時間並不會讓情況好轉。那麼,要如何才能打破無效會議的循環呢?

首先,請花點時間看看有效會議是多麼重要。有效的會議能促進協作和溝通,進而維持員工的動力。舉例而言,員工會議可以涵蓋影響整個部門或公司的關鍵主題。但如果組織不當,便會破壞協作和溝通,導致會議效率低落。與會者在離場時可能會懷疑是否真的有必要舉行這場會議。

因此,本著提高生產力和整體士氣的初衷,請思考為什麼有些會議會被認為是「浪費時間」。是因為這些會議在某些方面有過度的地方 (太頻繁舉行或時間太長),還是因為有所不足 (缺乏重點或可行動的結果)?我們囊括了會議之所以浪費時間的四個常見原因,並列舉了可供您立即採取的切確作法,以便您加以改進並開始進行有效的會議

事不宜遲,讓我們來解決您的會議難題。

「我的行事曆上排了太多會議」

當會議提醒每小時都在整點準時響起時,您很難找到專注的時間深入研究您的下一個專案。您想要花時間好好進行重要的工作,但會議卻似乎佔據了您的一整天。根據 Asana 的工作管理投資報酬率 (ROI) 報告,耗費在會議上的時間正是生產力的最大阻礙。以下這些方法有助於減少無效率的會議,您便能把時間節省下來進行有意義的工作。

取消不必要的會議

每個工作日都有數以萬計的會議舉行 (在美國,每天大約有 5 千 6 百萬場會議),但究竟有多少會議是真正必要的?複雜的議題和腦力激盪會議最適合透過面對面或視訊會議的方式進行,但如果您只是要分享資訊,不妨考慮另一種更有效的方法。書面的狀態報告、15 分鐘的站立會議或進度查核,這些方法在許多使用案例中同樣有效,並讓您有更多機會可以取消下一場會議。

設立零會議日

充滿會議的行程表會打斷深度工作,您需要有時間專注,才能處理複雜的問題和重要的專案。即便您能夠取消不必要的會議,專注時間若定期被打斷,仍會對您的整體產出造成負面影響。主導您的時間對於提升生產力而言至關重要。請嘗試推廣零會議運動,讓團隊能有一天不開會 (例如週四或者任一工作日)。讓這項措舉成為團隊文化的一部份,並鼓勵其他人尊重零會議日。有需要的話,請將行事曆部份遮蔽,讓其他人知道您正忙於工作,且會在此期間拒絕邀請。

說「不」

每份會議邀請都有拒絕的選項,但您有多常選擇拒絕?請查看會議的日程、與會者和會議長度。讓您自己和您的團隊都能謹慎看待投入工作的時間,若您無法看出這麼做能帶來什麼好處,請選擇「拒絕」。您可以在事後隨時取得會議紀錄,以便在需要時進行跟進。但放心,這不太可能造成太大影響。

閱讀:如何撰寫高效的專案狀態報告

「會議時間太長了」

您是否一直在想能否將會議時間減半?可能可以。不過,為了進行更好的時間管理,您必須自己決定您的時間有多寶貴,並在會議上發揮創意。請考慮使用以下這些技巧:

將您的時間視為寶貴的資產

因為時間很寶貴。平均而言,一次的會議時間約為 50.6 分鐘。但這並不表示每次的會議都必須要開那麼久。

規劃會議日程 (下文將更詳細說明) 時,應估計每個主題需要花費多少時間,將這些時間加總,再適當選擇會議時間總長度。或許您只需要 15 分鐘,又或許您需要 45 分鐘。無論是哪種情況,若與會者得知所分配的時間 (例如某個特定主題 10 分鐘),他們就會更專心。由於感到將立即結束,因此會針對任務進行討論,進而確保所有日程項目均有所涉及。如此一來,您就不需要因為來不及討論的項目而再安排另一次新會議。

試試站立會議

這是什麼?在科技業,站立會議是一種快速的每日狀態會議,團隊成員站著報告他們完成了什麼、將進行什麼,以及他們所預見的問題。

如果您有週期性的狀態會議,與其訂下會議室舉行整整 30 到 60 分鐘的會議,不如試試與您的團隊進行 15 分鐘的站立會議。與會者不必站在一起擠在辦公桌旁。您可以在早上一起喝咖啡、天氣晴朗時在戶外見面,或者在大廳齊聚。關鍵在於選擇一些不同於常規的方式,才能維持成員的參與度,也給您自己一個時限。請利用計時器幫助您習慣較短的時間框架,同時讓成員承擔起自己的責任。依據您的群組規模,您可以給每個人 30 秒到 1 分鐘的發言時間,並且堅持執行下去。

「會議缺乏重點」

當每個人都想討論他們的週末計劃時,便很難在會議中保持專注。尤其如果您的團隊是分散式或遠端團隊,和不常見到的人們寒暄可能是件樂事。不過,提前規劃您的會議並設定清楚的期待,可能可以讓您的團隊早點開始享受週末,而不光是討論之。請將以下這些想法付諸實際行動:

確定會議的目的與目標

請儘早開始此流程,寫下需要完成的事情,而非匆忙地建立會議日程。在會議開始前制定明確的日程,可以為與會者提供清晰的訊息,並使所有人都步入正軌。請將日程存放於一個中央位置 (例如工作管理工具),以便輕鬆將日程項目與任務和專案時間軸連結起來。另外,請在日程中加上時間段,這樣您就不會花費太多時間在任一主題上。如果您想加入一點團隊凝聚時間,可以安排 5 分鐘的隨興聊天以啟動會議,但請務必把握好時間,以便接續討論其他重要的主題。

在會議開始前分享日程和其他有用的情境資訊

請盡可能將日程與會議邀請一起寄出。如果您在安排會議之前就已經開始建立日程,也許您會發現團隊其實沒有必要聚在一起開會!無論情況如何,帶有日程的會議邀請可讓人們在會議內容與其目標不符時選擇不參加。

在建立日程時,如果您是在工作管理工具中進行安排,您還可以讓與會者在會議前與您協作並添加日程項目。這讓您能夠新增任務,也提供與會者一個機會,讓他們一起準備合適的討論主題。若要輕鬆為各種類型的會議建立日程,請利用以下這些範本:

閱讀:我們的工作方式行不通:瞭解如何提升生產力

「會議的效率不如預期」

雖然邀請所有您想得到的人員參加會議似乎是個明智的選擇,但實際上卻會降低與會者的生產力。想在會議期間達成艱鉅的目標?或者至少讓您的專案能按時完成?請查看這些技巧,讓您的生產力在進行這些策略會議時達到巔峰。

選擇合適的與會者,並說明他們所扮演的角色。

您的每場會議都有合適的人員參與嗎?每個人都知道他們所扮演的角色以及他們被邀請的原因嗎?如果一半的日程僅適用於 15 名與會者中的 3 名,您可能需要重新考慮您的日程和 (或) 參加者名單。這是在安排會議前建立日程的另一個重要原因。在制定好日程並且送出行事曆邀請後,若有某位關鍵的專案關係人無法參加,請將會議改期,而不要試著在沒有他們的情況下舉行會議,因為您很有可能會需要再安排一場跟進會議。

指派一名記錄人員

請在會議前指派一名會議紀錄員。當有一個人負責記錄時,其他人便能專心參與會議,而無需建立他們自己的紀錄。會議紀錄對於可能錯過會議或選擇不參加的人也很有幫助。請確保在會後立刻分享紀錄,且所有與會者都知道能在哪裡找到之。工作管理工具是一個存放會議紀錄和日程的好地方,它可讓您把所有東西都存放在同一處。

編寫更出色的會議紀錄的 9 個技巧

隨進度指派行動項目

您可以隨著日程的進展進行這些決策,並讓紀錄人員將之記錄下來。或者,如果您有使用工作管理工具,請建立任務並即時指派之。請確保您的任務包含了截止期限、指派對象,以及每項行動項目的其他重要日期。如果您無法就日程項目做出明確決定,請將完成檢閱的任務指派給某名成員,並且信任他們的決定。這麼做能使隊友完成出色的工作。

再次愛上開會

每個人都經歷過糟糕的會議,這沒有關係。請利用以上這些技巧使會議對您有所助益,而非成為您的阻礙。將自己塑造成一個榜樣,以便團隊養成更好的會議習慣。同事們會注意到,並且很快就會採用您的改變以改進他們的會議。Asana可以作為指南,讓您的會議數量減少、長度更精簡,且更具影響力。當您發現會議對於實現您的目標必不可少時,它便能幫助您保持正軌和高效工作。

相關資源

網路研討會

Universal Reporting: How to get 360 degree visibility into your organization’s work

Do your work meetings waste time? Use these tips to improve.

If you pulled up your work calendar right now, how many meetings are scheduled over the next week? Most calendars are overloaded with meeting invites and, more often than not, employees walk out of them hoping that one day it won’t feel like meetings are a waste of time. Stay tuned, because we’re going to help you revitalize your approach and ensure your meetings are effective.

[Read: How to collaborate remotely with your team]

There’s a 50/50 shot that you dislike meetings. In a survey conducted by the folks at Igloo software, 47% of respondents found meetings to be generally unproductive. But simply wishing that meetings didn’t waste time won’t make them better. So, how can you break the cycle of unproductive meetings?

First, take a minute to give good meetings some love. When run effectively, meetings foster collaboration and communication, keeping employees motivated. A staff meeting, for example, can cover critical topics that affect the entire department or company. But, if it’s not well organized, collaboration and communication are undermined, causing a meeting to be unproductive; attendees may come out of the staff meeting wondering if it was really necessary.

So, in the spirit of increasing productivity and overall morale, consider why some meetings take home the “meetings are a waste of time” prize. Is it because they either have too much of something (they happen too often or they’re too long), or not enough of something else (focus or actionable outcomes)? We’ve called out four common ways meetings waste time below and listed specific things you can do immediately to improve them and start running effective meetings.

Without further ado, let’s tackle your meetings’ trouble spots.

I have too many meetings on my calendar

When your meeting reminder pings every hour on the hour, it’s tough to find focus time to dive into your next project. You want to give the important work you’re doing the time it deserves, but meetings seem to be dominating your day. According to Asana’s ROI of Work Management Report, time wasted in meetings is a top barrier to productivity. Here are a few things to try to reduce unproductive meetings and save more time for impactful work:

Cancel unnecessary meetings

Millions of meetings take place each and every work day (estimates range up to 56 million per day in the U.S.), but how many are truly necessary? While complex topics and brainstorming sessions are best suited through in-person or video meetings, if you’re simply sharing information, consider another more efficient method. Written status reports, a fifteen-minute stand-up, or online check-ins work just fine for many use cases and allow you to press the cancel button on your next meeting more often.

Establish a no-meeting day

Schedules riddled with meetings interrupt deep work—that focused time you need to tackle complex issues and important projects. Even if you get better at canceling unnecessary meetings, regular interruptions in your focus time can have a negative impact on your overall output. Owning your time is critical to boosting your productivity. Try spearheading an initiative that keeps your team’s calendars meeting-free on, say, Thursdays—or any other weekday. Make it part of the culture, and encourage others to respect the no-meeting day. If you need to, block out parts of your calendar to show people that you’re heads down working and that you’ll decline invites during that time.

Say “no”

Every meeting invite has the option to decline, but how often do you click that box? Look at the agenda, the attendees, and the duration. Empower yourself and your team to be careful about where you commit your time at work, and click “decline” if you don’t see the benefit. You can always ask for the notes afterwards so you can follow up if need be. Chances are, though, you’ll be just fine.

[Read: How to write an effective project status report—instead of scheduling a meeting]

My meetings are too long

Are you constantly wondering if the duration of your meetings could be cut in half? They likely can be. But it’s up to you to decide how you value your time and get a little creative with your meetings for the sake of time management. Consider these tips:

Think of your time as a valuable commodity

Because, well, time is valuable. The average meeting length is 31-60 minutes—a convenient correlation to calendars that offer you increments of 30 and 60 minutes for scheduling. But that doesn’t mean every meeting has to be that long.

When you plan your meeting agenda (more on that below), estimate how much time you’ll need for each topic, add up the times, and then choose the overall meeting length appropriately. Maybe all you need are 15 minutes, or maybe you need 45. Whatever the case may be, participants will be more focused when they know they’ve got, let’s say, 10 minutes for a particular topic. A sense of immediacy will keep the discussion on task and ensure all agenda items are covered so you don’t have to schedule a new meeting for the items you failed to get to.

Try a stand-up

What’s that? In the tech world, a stand-up is a quick daily status meeting where team members are literally standing as they report on what they’ve just done, what they’re doing next, and what problems they see ahead.

If you have a recurring status meeting, try a 15-minute stand-up with your team rather than booking a conference room for a full 30-60 minutes. You don’t have to literally stand together huddled near your desks. You can meet over coffee in the morning, outside on a nice day, or in a lobby area. The key is to pick something different from the norm so people stay engaged—and to give yourself a deadline. Use a timer to get used to the idea of the shorter timeframe and hold people accountable as well. Depending on the size of your group, you may want to give everyone 30 seconds to a minute of speaking time—and hold them to it.

My meetings lack focus

Staying focused during a meeting when everyone wants to talk about their weekend plans can be difficult. Especially if your team is distributed or remote, it can be a fun time to catch up with people you don’t see very often. But planning ahead and setting clear expectations for your meeting might actually get your crew enjoying their weekend earlier, rather than just talking about it. Put the following ideas into action:

Identify the purpose and goal of the meeting

Start the process early, writing down what needs to be accomplished, rather than creating an agenda on the fly. Having a concrete agenda in place before the meeting offers clarity to attendees and keeps everyone on track. Keep it in a central place, like a work management tool, to easily tie agenda items to tasks and project timelines. Also, add time blocks to your agenda so you don’t spend too much time on any one topic. If you do want to work in a little time for team bonding, you can kick off a meeting with five minutes of unstructured chit chat—but be sure to stay on top of the time so you can move onto other important topics.

Share the agenda and other helpful context ahead of the meeting

Send the agenda with the meeting invite if at all possible. If you start creating an agenda before you set up the meeting, maybe you’ll find that you don’t actually need to get together! In any case, sending an agenda with the invite will give people permission to opt out if the material isn’t in line with their goals.

When you create your agenda, if you set it up in your work management tool, you can also have attendees collaborate and add items before the meeting. This gives you the chance to add tasks and offers attendees an opportunity to come prepared to discuss the right topics. To easily build an agenda for all kinds of meetings, take advantage of these templates:

[Read: The way we work isn’t working: here’s how to become more productive]

My meetings aren’t as productive as I’d like

While inviting everyone you can think of to your meetings may seem like the right choice, it may actually be making them less productive. Looking to move mountains during your meetings? Or at least keep your project on time? Check out these tips for ultimate productivity during those strategy sessions:

Select the right attendees, and outline their roles

Are the right people in the room for each of your meetings? Does everyone know their role and why they were invited? If half the agenda applies to only three out of fifteen attendees, you’ll want to rethink your agenda and/or guest list. This is another important reason to create an agenda before you schedule the meeting. Once you’ve created your agenda and sent out the calendar invite, if a key stakeholder can’t make it, reschedule rather than trying to meet without them, as you’ll likely have to schedule a follow-up anyway.

Assign a note taker

Designate your note taker before the meeting. When one person is in charge of notes, the rest of the group can focus on participating rather than creating their own record. Notes are also helpful for anyone who might have missed the meeting or chosen to skip. Make sure notes are shared immediately after the meeting and that all attendees know where to find them. A work management tool is a great place to file meeting notes and agendas—you can keep everything in the same place.

[Read: The three essential pieces to work management]

Assign action items as you go

You can make these decisions as you progress through the agenda, and your note taker can record them. Or, if you use a work management tool, go ahead and create the task and assign it in real time. Be sure to include deadlines, the assignee, and other important dates on each action item. If you can’t come to a clear decision on an agenda item, assign someone the task of finishing the review and trust them to make the decision; this empowers teammates to do great work.

Love your meetings again

Bad meetings happen to everyone. It’s ok. Use the tips above to make meetings work for you, not against you. Brand yourself as a role model for better meeting habits. Colleagues will take notice, and they may soon adopt your changes to improve their meetings as well. Asana can serve as a guide toward fewer, shorter, more impactful meetings. And when you find a meeting is necessary to meet your objectives, it can serve as a way to keep you on track and productive.

Manage your team’s work with Asana. Start a trial today.

More Asana Resources