什麼是專案風險管理?促進成功的 6 個步驟

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsMay 5th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
什麼是專案風險管理?促進成功的 6 個步驟文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

風險管理計劃詳細說明了您的專案團隊如何分析和緩解潛在的專案風險。瞭解專案風險管理流程的六個步驟,以促進專案成功。

當您能有效地進行計劃和管理時,專案才能取得最大的成功。培養您的專案管理技能並實施經過驗證的專案管理風險緩解策略會有所幫助。但即使是最完善的專案也會面臨風險。

預防專案風險的最好方法就是直接面對之。藉助風險管理計劃,針對這些未知事件進行積極主動的規劃,可有助於帶領您的專案團隊航向風平浪靜,而不會陷於意外的風暴當中。 

若您以前從未制定過風險管理計劃,那麼您可能已經在過去的專案中遭受過意外風險所帶來的後果。瞭解有關專案風險管理的更多資訊,並嘗試透過這六個簡單的步驟來構建您自己的風險管理計劃。

什麼是專案風險管理計劃?

專案風險管理計劃是一份文件,當中詳細說明了您的團隊如何識別、分析和應對尚未發生的潛在專案風險。

專案風險與專案管理中的問題

專案風險與專案管理中的問題
  • 專案風險是指任何可能影響專案成功的事情,它可能會使專案時間軸延誤、超出預算,或以其他方式削弱專案的成效。

  • 專案問題是指任何已對專案成功造成影響的事情。解決問題是一種被動而非主動的方法。

藉助有效的風險管理計劃,您可以處理並降低專案生命週期中可能出現的各種潛在風險,從而使您的專案維持進度正常、符合預算並朝目標發展。

藉助 Asana 規劃專案

何時應使用專案風險管理

好的專案風險管理計劃不能被動反應,而是應該主動出擊。理想情況下,您應在專案的規劃階段提出風險管理計劃。透過此舉,您可以盡可能識別各種潛在的風險及其影響,並在專案進行期間監控這些風險。您將能夠密切關注這些風險、防微杜漸,而不再無意中身受其害。

或者,如果您需要為已經啟動的流程處理其專案風險,請考慮使用限制理論。限制理論是一種架構,可幫助您識別專案或流程中最薄弱的環節,並處理該風險所帶來的影響。

專案風險管理的 6 個步驟

管理專案風險的重點在於識別、規劃並監控潛在風險。並非每件事情都會出錯,甚至可能最終沒有任何地方出錯。但主動進行風險評估與事件管理有助於您做好準備並且快速修正路線,這樣您便能按時在預算內實現所有的專案目標

若您打算開始進行專案風險管理,此處介紹的 6 個步驟可協助您編寫專案風險管理計劃。針對每一個步驟,請使用 Asana的專案風險計劃,為您展示您下一個專案的風險管理計劃可包含哪些內容。

1. 識別

為識別風險,請將所有潛在的專案風險事件彙總成一份清單,以建立一份專案風險管理計劃。風險事件指的是任何可能影響專案進度、預算或成功的事件。

有許多方法可以開始進行風險識別流程,包括:

  • 與專案相關者面談。 識別專案風險的最佳方法就是詢問專案關係人、領導階層及該領域的專家。若他們曾參與過類似的專案,可向其請教曾遇到的風險以及防範方法。即便他們不曾參與類似專案,也請務必與關鍵的專案關係人進行查核,確保不會遺漏任何重要的專案風險。

  • 與專案團隊進行腦力激盪。您的專案團隊是日復一日與您一起執行專案的人員。在開始進行專案前,請詢問他們所觀察到的潛在風險有哪些,並可考慮主持一場腦力激盪會議,藉此識別專案中的重大風險。

  • 記錄並確認您的假設。根據專案管理知識體系 (PMBOK®)假設是指任何與專案有關,且您認為會成真的事情,但這些事情不保證是事實。您可能會在沒有意識的情況下依據假設作出專案決策。但在缺乏記錄和驗證假設的情況下,這麼做會讓自己暴露於專案風險當中。倘若您的假設實際上並不正確,則專案基礎可能會變得不穩,進而危及專案的成功。

  • 檢查您的核對清單。請檢查您的團隊或部門是否已經建立了一份常見風險的核對清單。若還未建立,請開始著手進行,以便為未來的專案成功做好準備。

  • 執行風險評估矩陣風險評估矩陣將風險的嚴重性分為四個類別:災難、嚴重、危險和輕微。這有助於安排優先層級,確定應優先解決哪些潛在風險。 

在識別重要的風險事件時,請將其記錄於風險管控表中。顧名思義,風險管控表即專門用於記錄所有專案風險的清單。您的風險管控表應就您已識別的已知風險回答幾個問題,包括:

  • 發生此風險事件的可能性有多大?

  • 發生的概率為何?

  • 發生此風險時的影響和嚴重程度為何?

  • 我們的風險應對計劃是什麼?

  • 考慮到可能性和影響,優先順序等級應是什麼?

  • 誰負責處理這項風險?

即便您無法在此時回答所有問題,也請別擔心,有些內容會在稍後的步驟中再次討論。

專案風險管理空白風險管控表

2. 分析

針對您已識別的每一項風險,請分析其可能性、嚴重程度以及應對措施。依據專案風險的複雜程度,可考慮與專案團隊或重要的專案關係人進行風險分析。若要確定嚴重程度,請思考該風險會對專案目標造成什麼樣的影響。是否會延誤時間表、超出預算,或減損專案交付項目的影響力? 接著,請為每項風險擬定一份應對計劃。您的應對計劃不一定是當下的行動項目,而是您的團隊為了快速調整和解決風險所將採取的行動。

[舊產品 UI] 附帶嚴重程度範例的專案風險管理風險管控表 (清單)
藉助 Asana 規劃專案

3. 安排優先順序

若要針對風險事件安排優先順序,請問問自己:根據您的風險管控表和分析,哪些風險最有可能發生、最有可能對專案的成功造成損害?最需要處理的風險是發生機率較高、嚴重程度也較高的風險。所有潛在風險都必須加以監控和應對,但這些會是您需要投入最多關注、檢查頻率最高的風險。

專案風險管理優先順序安排風險管控表

4. 指派

這個步驟是選擇性的,不過仍然建議進行。即使風險尚未發生,儘早指派風險所有者仍是非常有幫助的,這樣團隊成員便能提前做好準備。風險所有者不僅應該監控風險,同時也應擔任開發風險緩解計劃的負責人。

專案風險管理風險管控表

5. 監控

至此,您的專案已經啟動。希望您可以順利實現最終的專案目標。但請務必持續積極主動地監控您的風險,以免發生讓人不快的意外。為此,請依循以下做法:

  • 傳送定期狀態更新,以便專案團隊和專案關係人維持資訊同步。請記住,風險管理應該主動進行,而不是被動反應。

  • 與個別風險經理進行非同步查核。每一位風險「所有者」都應監控其風險事件是否出現危險訊號。作為專案經理或團隊負責人,請定期與他們進行查核,確保一切進展順利。

  • 密切關注您風險管控表的最新情況。若風險發生的可能性改變了,或者風險計劃已更新,這些變更都應反映於您的風險管控表中。如同大多數專案管理的元素,您的風險管理計劃應該是您團隊用以保持進度正常的動態文件。

協作對於風險監控也非常重要。很多時候,團隊成員注意到潛在問題或新風險突然出現,但可能因缺乏權能而無法立即通報。請務必建立起團隊協作、開放和真誠的文化。

延伸閱讀:加強團隊協作的 10 個簡易步驟

6. 應對

若風險確實發生,便是時候加以應對了。有了妥善的風險管控表和風險管理計劃,您便能有一份很好的應急計劃來應對風險。

請記住:雖然風險管理確實有助於預防風險,但風險管理的重點並不是要預防風險。專案風險管理更著重於針對風險做好準備,提前備妥良好的計劃,以免發生措手不及的情形。

請瀏覽我們的範本庫,透過範本編寫您的風險管理計劃,或建立屬於您自己的自訂方法。

專案風險管理的目標

實施風險管理計劃可以幫助您的團隊為意外事件做好準備。但事實上,並不是每個專案都需要深入的風險管理計劃。若您的專案相對簡單,您可能只需要與團隊成員快速聊聊,便可集思廣益以解決任何潛在風險。 

這些專案規模較小,不會佔用團隊成員的大量時間或外部資源 (例如預算或能力),且可能是您之前已成功完成的流程。

專案風險管理的目標

若您執行的是複雜的計劃,其中包含諸多跨職能專案關係人和重要資源,則可能需要專案風險管理計劃助您一臂之力。在這類型的專案中,團隊成員可能需要投入大量的時間和能力,或需要準備大量資金。藉助風險管理計劃,您可確保專案不會超出其專案範疇,並在最終邁向成功。

將專案風險管理統整至您的下一次專案規劃會議中

出色的專案需有出色的計劃,而風險管理就是早期規劃流程中的一個關鍵環節。請務必將專案風險管理計劃納入所有早期規劃文件 (例如專案簡介) 當中。這麼一來,每個人都能存取您的風險管理計劃,並可積極主動地應對發生的風險。

如需更多專案規劃指引,請瞭解 Asana 如何幫助您在同一處位置追蹤目標、定義里程碑和進行溝通。 

藉助 Asana 規劃專案

相關資源

文章

If you like maximizing team impact, you’ll love resource allocation

What is project risk management? 6 steps to boost success

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJanuary 31st, 20225 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
What is project risk management? 6 steps to boost success article banner image
Try Asana now

Summary

A risk management plan details how your project team analyzes and mitigates potential project risks. Learn the six steps of the project risk management process to boost project success.

A project is most successful when you plan and manage it effectively. Developing your project management skills and implementing tried-and-true project management mitigation strategies can help. But even the most well-developed projects will have risks.

The best way to prevent project risks is to face them head-on. Proactively planning for these uncertain events with the help of a risk management plan can help you steer your project team into calm waters—instead of getting caught in the middle of an unexpected storm. 

If you’ve never developed a risk management plan before, you may have suffered the consequences of unexpected risks on past projects. Learn more about project risk management and try these six easy steps to build your own risk management plan.

What is a project risk management plan?

A project risk management plan is a document that details how your team identifies, analyzes, and responds to potential project risks that haven’t occurred yet.

Project risk vs. issue in project management

Project risk vs. issue in project management
  • A project risk is anything that could impact a project’s success by either delaying the project timeline, overloading the budget, or leading to reduced project performance in some other way.

  • A project issue is anything that already has impacted a project’s success. Solving issues is a reactive approach rather than a proactive one.

With an effective risk management plan, you can address any potential risks that might crop up during the lifecycle of a project and mitigate them so your project stays on track, on budget, and on target. 

Plan projects with Asana

When to use project risk management

A good project risk management plan isn’t reactive—it’s proactive. Ideally, you should create your risk management plan during the project planning phase. That way, you can best identify any risks and their potential impact and monitor those risks during the project. Instead of being caught unaware, you’ll have your eye on those risks in case they do become troublesome.

Alternatively, if you want to address project risks for a process that's already been kicked off, consider using the theory of constraints, which is a framework to help you identify the weakest link in a project or process and address the impact of the risk.

The 6 steps of project risk management

Managing project risk is all about identifying, planning for, and monitoring potential risk. Not everything will go wrong, and it’s even possible that nothing will go wrong. But proactive risk assessment and incident management can help you be prepared and course correct quickly. This ensures you hit all of your project objectives on time and within your budget.

If you’re getting started with risk management, here are six steps to help you write a project risk management plan. For each step, use Asana’s project risk plan to show you what a risk management plan could look like for your next project.

1. Identify

To identify risks, create a project risk management plan by putting together a list of all potential project risk events. A risk event is anything that could impact your project’s schedule, budget, or success.

There are a variety of ways to begin the risk identification process, including:

  • Interview project stakeholders. The best way to identify project risks is to ask stakeholders, leadership, and experts in the topic. If they’ve run similar projects, ask them what risks they ran into and how you can prevent them. Even if they haven’t run similar projects, make sure to check in with key project stakeholders to ensure you’re not missing any important project risks.

  • Brainstorm potential risks with your project team. Your project team is who you will be working with on this project day in and day out. Before you get started on your project, ask them what they see as potential risks and consider hosting a brainstorming session to identify serious risks to your project.

  • Document and ratify your assumptions. According to the Guide to Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®), assumptions are anything about the project you think will be true—without being a guaranteed fact. You may base project decisions on your assumptions without even realizing you’re doing so. But by doing so—without documenting and verifying your assumptions—you open yourself up for project risk. If the assumptions you have aren’t actually true, then the foundations of your project may become unstable, which may jeopardize your project success.

  • Check your checklists. See if your team or department has built a checklist of common risks. If they haven’t, start documenting one to set yourself up for success on future projects.

  • Perform a risk assessment matrix. A risk assessment matrix categorizes severity into four buckets: catastrophic, critical, marginal, and minor. This helps to prioritize which potential risks to tackle first. 

As you identify important risk events, put them into a risk register. As the name suggests, a risk register is a dedicated list of all of your project risks. Your risk register should answer several questions about the known risks you’ve identified, including:

  • What is the likelihood of this risk event?

  • What is the probability of occurrence?

  • What is the impact and severity if the risk occurs?

  • What is our risk response plan?

  • Given the likelihood and impact, what is the priority level?

  • Who owns this risk?

Don’t worry if you can’t figure all of this out now—some of these will come in the later steps. 

[Product UI] Project risk management blank risk register example (Lists)

2. Analyze

For each risk you’ve identified, analyze the likelihood, severity, and response plan. Depending on the complexity of your project risks, consider doing your risk analysis with your project team or with key stakeholders. To decide severity, think of how the risk will impact your project objectives. Will it delay your timeline, undermine your budget, or reduce the impact of your project deliverables? Then, for each risk, come up with a response plan. Your response plan isn’t necessarily an action item for right now—rather, it’s what your team will do to quickly pivot and address the risk.

[Product UI] Project risk management risk register with severity example (Lists)Plan projects with Asana

3. Prioritize

To prioritize your risks, ask yourself: based on your risk register and analysis, which risks are most likely to happen and be most potentially damaging to your project’s success? The most important risks to address are those that have a high probability of happening and also a high severity. You’ll want to monitor and respond to all potential risks, but these are the ones you want to pay most attention to and check in on most frequently.

[Product UI] Project risk management prioritized risk register example (Lists)

4. Assign

This step is optional—but recommended. Even though your risks haven’t happened yet, it’s helpful to assign a risk owner early, so your team members are prepared. This person should not only monitor the risk but they’ll also be the point person for developing a risk mitigation plan.

[Product UI] Project risk management risk register example (Lists)

5. Monitor

At this point, your project has begun. Hopefully, you’re tracking well towards your ultimate project objectives. But make sure you continue actively monitoring your risks in order to avoid any nasty surprises. To do this:

  • Send regular status updates so your project team and project stakeholders are all on the same page. Remember: risk management should be proactive—not reactive.

  • Check in asynchronously with your individual risk managers. Each risk “owner” should be monitoring their risk event for red flags. As the project manager or team lead, check in with them regularly to make sure everything is going well.

  • Keep an eye on your risk register for any updates. If the likelihood of a risk changes or the risk plan is updated, that change should be reflected in your risk register. Like most elements of project management, your risk management plan should be a living document that your team uses to stay on track.

Collaboration is also really important for risk monitoring. Too often, potential problems or new risks crop up that a team member noticed, but maybe didn’t feel empowered to flag right away. Make sure you’re building a culture of team collaboration, openness, and honesty.

Read: 10 easy steps to boost team collaboration

6. Respond

If at any point a risk becomes reality, it’s time to respond. With your risk register and risk management plan in place, you should have a great contingency plan to deal with risks.

Remember: risk management isn’t about preventing risks—though it does help. . Rather, project risk management is the practice of preparing for risks and having a great plan in place so you aren’t caught flatfooted.

Get started on your risk management plan template by browsing our template gallery or building your own custom method.

The goal of project risk management

Implementing a risk management plan can help prepare your team for unexpected events. But truthfully, not every project needs an in-depth risk management plan. If your project is relatively straightforward, you might just need a quick chat with your team members to brainstorm and address any potential risks. 

These projects are small in scope, don’t take up a lot of team member time or outside resources (like budget or bandwidth), and may be processes you’ve successfully completed before.

The goal of project risk management

If you’re working on a complex initiative that involves a lot of cross-functional project stakeholders and important resources, you’d benefit from a project risk management plan. These are projects where you may be investing a significant amount of team member time and bandwidth or preparing a large financial investment. With a risk management plan, you can ensure the project stays within the project scope and, ultimately, succeeds.

Incorporate project risk management into your next project planning session

Successful projects have great plans—and risk management is a key to that early-stage planning process. Make sure to incorporate your project risk management strategy into any early-stage planning documents, like your project brief. That way, everyone has access to your risk management plan and they can proactively react to any high risks that do occur.

For more project planning guidance, find out how Asana can help you track goals, define milestones, and communicate all in one place. 

Plan projects with Asana

Related resources

Article

How to use a gap analysis to achieve business goals