以 10 個步驟為您的專案啟動會議提供強大動力

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJuly 22nd, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
以 10 個步驟為您的專案啟動會議提供強大動力文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

雖然您已付出很多努力讓您的專案順利啟動,然而很多時候,甚至在開始執行專案之前,就已感覺好像偏離了進度。這是因為每位專案團隊成員和專案關係人都會將不同的知識、期望值和優先事項帶到專案中。如果在工作開始之前您並未讓大家有機會達成一致,那麼無論您如何努力修正,專案中其餘的部分都會舉步維艱。好在有一個更好的方法:專案啟動會議。

啟動會議是讓團隊在開始工作前維持資訊同步的有效方式。啟動期間,您需要羅列專案主旨、深入研究細節並且討論接下來的步驟。這樣,無論您的專案計劃發展到哪一步,每個人都能與您維持同步。

什麼是專案啟動會議?

專案啟動會議是一次在專案開始前與團隊成員和專案關係人會面的機會,這樣大家就能在重要細節上維持一致,而且在關鍵里程碑上取得共識。取得專案章程核准並且建立專案計劃後,實際開始執行專案前,可規劃主持專案啟動會議。主持啟動會議時,您需列出專案主旨、目的、計劃等內容,同時預留時間供團隊成員提出疑問或釐清後續步驟。啟動會議尾聲時,整個團隊都應對您計劃要進行的事務、原因以及完成方式有共識。

啟動會議的目的是什麼?我是否真的需要?

一言蔽之:是的。啟動會議是向您的團隊傳達重要資訊並且讓其有機會進行現場提問的非常寶貴的方式。不同於在專案計劃中或透過電子郵件分享詳細資料,主持啟動會議可減少溝通不暢的機率,並且確保每個人都能從同一位置著手進行專案。若沒有啟動會議,團隊成員和專案關係人的專案期望值可能會不一致,進而導致範疇潛變,甚至發生專案失敗這種最壞的情況。

這並不意味著您需要為每個專案主持相同的啟動會議。某些專案,如面向客戶的工作或複雜的計劃,正式的啟動和重要的準備 (例如強而有力的簡報甚至示範,具體取決於專案類型) 能有所助益。其他諸如涉及較少專案關係人或更為直接的專案,可以在沒有投影片組或簡報的情況下進行相對不那麼正式的啟動會議。

不同類型的啟動會議

並非每一種啟動會議都相同。一般來說,每一種專案啟動會議都應包含大部分相同的因素,但瞭解幾種不同類型的專案啟動會議,有助於確定啟動會議所需的正式程度。

內部專案啟動會議

這是專案啟動最簡單的形式。內部專案啟動會議的目的是讓專案團隊步調一致且維持資訊同步,同時提供機會讓其在專案開始前提問。如同其他啟動會議,應提前為會議準備材料,但不必過於斟酌打磨。

專案範例:

所需素材:

  • 列舉專案重要詳細資料的專案計劃,其中包含成功指標、專案排程、專案關係人等內容。

  • 囊括專案結束時應實現內容的 SMART 專案目標

  • 定義專案範疇,以清楚界定專案應包含和不應包含的部分。

  • 可視化專案時間軸,其中附帶所有相關的專案里程碑,以指明何時完成重要工作內容。

除了在專案啟動期間分享這些材料以外,還可規劃在一處集中工作管理平台儲存專案資訊。這樣,每一位團隊成員都能輕鬆存取重要專案文件。

執行發起人專案啟動會議

若您的專案或計劃中有高階領導人,您可能需要主持一場更高階的啟動會議,以便讓所有高階領導人能夠維持資訊同步。在這一類型的啟動會議中,應著重於專案主旨與目的上,以及專案對於公司目標有何作用。

在啟動會議期間,您不需花費太多時間在某一個專案里程碑或細節上。您可能仍需要為專案團隊舉辦一場內部專案啟動會議。

專案範例:

所需素材:

  • 闡述清晰的專案主旨,需將此專案在業務上的作用與公司目的連結起來。

  • 您為此項計劃建立的適用的商業企劃案

  • 簡明的專案目標,可向專案關係人展示您在專案結束時將會實現的項目。

  • 列舉專案重要詳細資料的專案計劃,其中包含成功指標、專案排程、專案關係人等內容。

  • 專案藍圖,作為重要專案部分的高階時間軸使用。

  • 附帶所有重要專案資訊的執行摘要。可規劃展示執行摘要的高階版本,然後與專案關係人分享該文件,以便他們可以在啟動後閱讀更多詳細資料。

  • 正式的簡報或投影片組。

外部專案啟動會議或面向客戶的專案啟動會議

若您正在進行面向客戶的專案,您就需要在專案團隊與客戶方面的重要專案關係人之間主持一場啟動會議,以利針對專案目的與交付項目達成一致共識。此時的專案啟動會議版本應是最為精雕細琢的。

這一類型的專案啟動是您設定期望值並且對專案目的達成共識的機會。在此啟動會議期間,規劃時間用於介紹專案團隊,在您和客戶的溝通頻率上達成一致,並且說明有效協作的方式。確保您和客戶皆瞭解何時應將其納入其中以審核您的工作內容,或瞭解大家應如何溝通專案進度。

專案範例:

所需素材:

  • 列舉專案重要詳細資料的專案計劃,其中包含成功指標、專案排程、專案關係人等內容。

  • 專案簡介創意簡報,依工作類型而定。

  • 清晰定義的專案範圍,以清楚界定專案應包含和不應包含的部分。

  • 專案藍圖,作為重要專案部分的高階時間軸使用,且包含相關專案里程碑

  • 內含專案關係人各自角色的關係人清單。

  • 團隊進行溝通處 (例如:Slack、電子郵件、Asana),以及您分享專案狀態報告的方式。

  • 正式的簡報或投影片組。

敏捷專案啟動會議

大多數敏捷團隊都會在衝刺中執行專案,工作週期約為 2 至 4 週。您不需要為每一次衝刺舉行專案啟動會議,實際上這種做法會放慢團隊的步調。但您應至少一年規劃一次專案啟動會議,以確保團隊中的每個人都能維持步調一致。此外,若您的團隊開始一項專案,或您需要引導一位團隊新成員,則應主持一次專案啟動會議,讓每個人都能跟上進度。

敏捷專案啟動會議是一次確保團隊獲得衝刺期間所需一切的機會,這樣您就可以利用衝刺規劃衝刺回顧會議,專注於持續不斷的改進。

所需素材:

  • 成功標準,其中包括「實現」對於團隊而言的涵義。

  • 正式的團隊角色,尤其是在團隊執行 Scrum 時。

  • 您主持的團隊儀式及其舉行時間的清單。

  • 說明團隊進行溝通的位置和方式(例如:Slack、電子郵件、Asana) 的清晰溝通計劃。

  • 團隊每日站立會議日程。

規劃與主持成功的專案啟動會議的 10 個步驟

作為重要計劃的專案經理,您須負責在專案啟動會議期間進行規劃和簡報。同樣,若您執行的是大型計劃,且需要為這一工作計劃規劃啟動會議,雖然您可能期望某些專案負責人可以報告其資訊,但您很可能就是推動會議的那個人。

若您不曾規劃過啟動會議,請別擔心!此處介紹主持一場成功的啟動會議的 10 個步驟。

1. 籌備會議

主持專案啟動會議的第一步就是確定誰應參加會議,以及會議應進行多長時間。簡報的等級與細節取決於啟動會議所需的正式程度,即您是否邀請主管級專案關係人或外部合作夥伴?這次會議是否一場與您的核心專案團隊進行的非正式啟動會議?籌備會議時:

  1. 確定邀請人員清單。現在,您應已瞭解您所主持的專案啟動會議是哪一種類型,應通知誰參加會議。傳送會議邀請前,務必反覆檢查與會人員名單,確保您已納入所有相關的專案關係人

  2. 排定時間 (及持續時間)。務必為提問環節預留時間。

  3. 指派一名記錄人員。務必請一名您以外的人員進行記錄,以防有專案關係人無法參加會議。若您進行的是線上會議,可考慮同時錄製會議,這樣無法參加會議的團隊成員也能在稍後跟上進度。

  4. 建立一份會議日程。提前傳送會議日程,這樣就能確保每個人都為專案啟動會議做好準備。會議日程也是分享專案計劃及時間軸等所有素材的好機會,亦即您希望與會者在會議前事先預讀的資料。

專案啟動會議日程範例

[產品 UI] 會議日程、Asana 中的專案啟動會議 (任務)
免費會議日程範本

2. 介紹

若這是第一次與專案團隊進行會議,團隊中可能會有一些此前並未合作過的人員。可以藉助介紹或破冰提問來開始會議,幫助大家彼此認識。

3. 以專案目的開始

在專案啟動會議上同步資訊時最重要的事,就是您工作的方向及其為何重要的原因。根據近期的一項研究,僅 26% 員工清楚瞭解其個人工作與其公司目的的關聯。如果團隊成員對此並不明瞭,也就無法知道應該優先進行哪些工作,或不知道如何管理不斷轉變的優先事項

分享您的專案主旨時,請花些時間解釋專案與更廣泛的業務和組織的目的有何關聯。可回答「我們為什麼要做這些工作內容?」以及「我們正在朝著什麼方向努力?」這類問題。在會議的後期,您有機會深入探討專案細節和特定的工作流程,但在會議開始時分享專案的目的,是讓每個人都能維持資訊同步的最佳方式。

專案主旨範例

專案的主旨是要透過第三季度的數位品牌行銷活動,在北美和歐洲、中東及非洲市場中提升品牌知名度。

4. 分享專案計劃

理想情況中,您在會議日程中已分享過專案計劃,以便團隊成員可以有機會在會議前閱讀。在專案啟動會議期間,您不需重複專案計劃中的每一個細節,可改為著重探討專案時間軸、重要專案里程碑或重要交付項目等重要資訊。

專案計劃範例

[清單檢視] Asana 中的品牌活動專案計劃 (試算表風格的清單)
免費的跨職能專案範本

5. 列明專案範疇

範疇是以群組方式討論的最重要的問題之一,何者應排除在外也同等重要。確保每個人的期望值相同,這樣就能避免最後時刻發生意外或者隨專案進展而改變交付項目。應儘早澄清專案範圍,這往往也是預防導致專案延誤或偏離進度的範疇潛變問題的最佳方式。

專案範疇範例

專案目標:在第三季度中發佈展示廣告和影片廣告,以在北美和歐洲、中東及非洲市場中提升品牌知名度。

資源:

  • 品牌設計團隊 (6 位人員),每週 15 小時,為期 4 週

  • $50,000 的媒體支出預算

交付項目:

  • 登陸頁面設計

  • 展示廣告 (用於進行 A/B 測試的兩種變化),依據展示規格表確定範圍

  • 影片廣告 (6 秒和 30 秒廣告),依據影片規格表確定範圍

創意需求:展示

  • 透過動畫展示標誌和 CTA

  • 靜態橫幅和 HTML5 橫幅均需要

影片

  • 在前 5 秒內展示品牌

  • 包含旁白

登陸頁面

  • 廣告和登陸頁面應建立一致的視覺體驗

超出範疇的內容:

翻譯品牌行銷活動資產

6. 建立專案角色與職責

對於簡單的內部專案,可能不必這樣做,但如果您的專案團隊以前從未合作過,或者您需與外部合作夥伴合作,則應確保每個人都在角色和職責上達成共識。誰是專案的主要聯絡人?這個專案中有贊助者或高階領導人嗎?是否有一位或一組審核人?

不同的專案關係人需要納入到不同的專案階段中。若您的專案團隊在啟動會議期間並未明確角色與職責,應考慮建立並分享 RACI 圖表,作為行動項目使用。

專案角色範例
  • 執行者:Daniela Vargas

  • 當責者: Kabir Mandan

  • 指導者:Kat Mooney、Ray Brooks

  • 知悉者:Avery Lomax

7. 分享您追蹤專案資料與即時更新內容的位置

知識工作者在追蹤資訊和搜尋文件等工作附帶事務上平均花費其 60% 的時間。所有這些工作附帶事務都會導致團隊可用於處理重要工作的時間被佔用。

若要減少工作附帶事務,讓團隊更有效率,務必以集中事實來源保留所有重要專案工作內容。當所有專案資訊都儲存在一處易於尋找的地方,團隊就能快速找到專案文件,取得即時專案更新內容,查核相關專案里程碑,並且及時瞭解專案交付項目

8. 為提問環節預留時間

啟動會議後,您的專案團隊可能對於您展示的內容有些疑問,例如專案範圍或特定的任務期望值。務必在啟動會議尾聲時預留回答問題的時間。請記住,專案啟動會議的目的是讓每個人都能透過會議維持資訊同步,並且準備好著手進行工作。

9. 列舉接下來的步驟

專案啟動會議的最後部分應是回答問題,即「下一步是什麼?」此時,您應澄清工作記錄的位置,回顧會議中收集的行動項目。此舉也有助於快速說明團隊應首先進行何事。

接下來,闡明您計劃在何處以及如何分享專案狀態更新內容。會議過多是 2021 年三大生產力阻礙之一。與其安排面對面或線上狀態會議,不妨考慮透過工作管理系統分享專案狀態報告。透過此舉,團隊成員可持續有效地維持資訊同步,並且掌握所有新的變更內容。

10. 會議後待辦事項

會議結束,恭喜!結束後,讓記錄人員分享您共用專案中的所有會議記錄。若您是透過線上方式進行會議,請務必分享會議記錄和 / 或文字記錄。最後,如果會議中有任何行動項目,也請務必收集,並指派給相關的團隊成員。

啟動會議後

進行專案啟動會議後,您就可以開始專案工作了。在專案啟動後維持同步和明晰度的最佳方法,就是堅持使用一處集中事實來源及工作管理工具等協作方式。在一處地方分享您的所有工作內容、狀態更新和訊息,不僅可以讓團隊成員維持資訊同步,還可以將這些內容妥善儲存於此。

請深入瞭解 Asana 如何協助您組織工作,讓您的團隊瞭解需完成的工作、工作為何重要的原因,以及完成工作的方式。

相關資源

範本

Operations project plan

Supercharge your project kickoff meeting in 10 steps

You’ve put a lot of effort into getting your project off the ground—yet so often, it can feel like a project is off track before it even begins. That’s because every project team member and stakeholder brings different knowledge, expectations, and priorities to a project. If you don’t provide a chance for them to get on the same page before the work begins, the rest of the project will be an uphill battle no matter how much you try to course correct. Luckily, there’s a better way: project kickoff meetings.

Kickoff meetings are an effective way to get the project team on the same page—before the work begins. During a kickoff, you’ll outline the project’s purpose, dive into details, and discuss next steps. That way, wherever your project plan takes you, everyone is right there with you.

What is a project kickoff meeting?

A project kickoff meeting is a chance to meet with team members and stakeholders before the project starts so you can align on key details and get buy-in on critical milestones. Plan to host your project kickoff meeting after you've gotten your project charter approved and created your project plan, but before you've actually started working on the project. When you host a kickoff meeting, you’ll outline your project purpose, goals, plan, and more—while also making time for team members to ask questions and clarify any next steps. At the end of a kickoff meeting, the entire team should have a shared understanding about what you’re working on, why, and how the work will be accomplished.

What is the purpose of a kickoff meeting? Do I really need one?

In a word: yes. Kickoff meetings are an invaluable way to communicate key project information to your team and give them an opportunity to ask questions live. Unlike sharing these details in a project plan or over email, hosting a project kickoff reduces the odds of miscommunication and ensures everyone is starting the project from the same place. Without a kickoff meeting, team members and stakeholders could have misaligned project expectations, which leads to scope creep and, in the worst-case scenario, project failure.

That doesn’t mean you need to host identical kickoff meetings for every project. Some projects, like customer-facing work or complex initiatives, will benefit from a formalized kickoff with significant prep—like a robust presentation or even a demo, depending on the project type. Other projects, like those that involve fewer stakeholders or are more straightforward, could have a less formal kickoff meeting without a deck or a presentation.

The different types of kickoff meetings

Not every kickoff meeting looks the same. In general, every type of project kickoff meeting should include most of the same ingredients—but knowing the various types of project kickoffs can help you decide how formal or informal the kickoff meeting needs to be.

Internal project kickoff meeting

This is the project kickoff in its simplest form. The goal for an internal project kickoff meeting is to get the project team aligned and on the same page, and to provide an opportunity for them to ask questions before the project has started. Like any kickoff meeting, prepare materials in advance, but don’t worry about polishing your meeting.

Example projects:
Required materials:
  • A project plan that outlines key details of your project, including success metrics, project schedule, stakeholders, etc.
  • SMART project objectives that capture what you will achieve by the end of your project.
  • A defined project scope to set clear boundaries on what work is and isn’t part of this project.
  • A visual project timeline with any relevant project milestones to identify when key work will be completed.

In addition to sharing these materials during the project kickoff, plan to store project information in a central work management platform. That way, every team member has easy access to key project documents.

Executive sponsor project kickoff meeting

If your project or program has executive sponsors, you’ll likely want to host a higher-level kickoff meeting to get all executive leaders on the same page. In this type of kickoff meeting, plan to focus heavily on the project’s purpose and goals, as well as how the project will impact company objectives.

During this kickoff meeting, you shouldn’t spend too much time on individual milestones or details about the project. You’ll likely still want to hold an internal project kickoff meeting for your project team.

Example projects:
Required materials:
  • A clearly-articulated project purpose, which connects the business impact of this project to company goals.
  • If applicable, the business case you created for this initiative.
  • Succinct project objectives to show stakeholders what you will achieve by the end of your project.
  • A project plan that outlines key details of your project, including success metrics, project schedule, stakeholders, etc.
  • A project roadmap, which should serve as a high-level timeline of important project blocks.
  • An executive summary with all of this key project information. Plan to present the high-level version of the executive summary, then share the document with stakeholders so they can read more details after the kickoff.
  • A formal presentation or deck.
External or client-facing project kickoff meeting

If you’re working on a client-facing project, you’ll need to host a kickoff meeting between your project team and key stakeholders on the client side to align on project goals and deliverables. This should be the most polished version of your project kickoff meeting.

This type of project kickoff is your chance to set expectations and develop a shared understanding of the project goals. During this kickoff meeting, plan to spend some time introducing the project team, aligning on how frequently you and your client will be communicating, and clarifying what effective collaboration looks like. Make sure you and the client understand when they should be looped in to review your work or how you should communicate project progress.

Example projects:
Required materials:
  • A project plan that outlines key details of your project, including success metrics, project schedule, stakeholders, etc.
  • A project brief or creative brief, depending on the type of work.
  • A clearly-defined project scope to set clear boundaries on what work is and isn’t part of this project.
  • A project roadmap, which should serve as a high-level timeline of important project blocks and include any relevant project milestones.
  • A list of project stakeholders with their respective roles.
  • Where your team will communicate (e.g. Slack, email, Asana), as well as how you’ll share project status reports.
  • A formal presentation or deck.
Agile project kickoff meetings

Most Agile teams run their projects in sprints, which are two- or four-week cycles of work. You don’t need a project kickoff for every sprint—in fact, doing so would slow your team down. But you should plan a project kickoff meeting at least once a year to ensure everyone on the team is aligned. Additionally, if your team starts a new project or if you onboard a new team member, you should host a project kickoff meeting to get everyone up to speed.

The Agile project kickoff meeting is a chance to make sure your team have everything they need during a sprint, so you can use your sprint planning and sprint retrospective meetings to focus on continuous improvement.

Required materials:
  • Success criteria, including what “done” means for your team.
  • Formalized team roles, especially if your team runs Scrum.
  • A list of which team ceremonies you host and when they take place.
  • A clear communication plan of where and how your team should communicate (e.g. Slack, email, Asana).
  • Your team’s daily standup meeting agenda.

10 steps to plan and host a successful project kickoff meeting

As the project manager of a key initiative, it’s your responsibility to plan and present during the project kickoff. Similarly, if you’re running a larger program and planning a kickoff for that body of work, you’ll likely be the person driving the meeting—though you can count on the individual project leads to present their information.

If you’ve never planned a kickoff meeting—don’t worry! Here are 10 steps to hosting a successful kickoff meeting.

1. Prepare for the meeting

The first step to hosting a project kickoff meeting is to decide who needs to be there and how long the meeting should be. The level and detail of preparation will depend on how formal the kickoff meeting needs to be—are you inviting executive stakeholders or external partners? Or is this an informal kickoff with your core project team? As you prepare for the meeting:

  1. Finalize the invite list. By now you should know what type of project kickoff meeting you’re hosting, which should inform who attends the meeting. Before you send that meeting invite, make sure to go over the attendee list one more time to ensure you’ve included all relevant project stakeholders.
  2. Schedule a time (and duration). Make sure to save time for questions.
  3. Assign a note taker. Make sure someone other than you is taking notes in case there are stakeholders who can’t make the meeting. If you’re meeting virtually, consider recording the meeting as well, so team members who are unable to attend can catch up later.
  4. Create a meeting agenda. By sending out a meeting agenda ahead of time, you can ensure everyone is prepared for the project kickoff. Your meeting agenda is also a great chance to share any materials, like the project plan and timeline, that you’d like attendees to review before the meeting.
Example project kickoff meeting agenda

Asana project kickoff meeting agenda

Free meeting agenda template

2. Make introductions

If this is the first meeting with the project team, there’s a chance some people on the team haven’t worked together before. Start the meeting with some introductions or icebreaker questions to help everyone get to know each other.

3. Start with the project’s purpose

The most important thing to align on during the project kickoff meeting is what you are working towards, and why this work matters. According to a recent study, only 26% of employees have a very clear understanding of how their individual work relates to company goals. Without this clarity, team members don’t know what work to prioritize or how to manage shifting priorities.

When you share your project purpose, take some time to explain how the project connects to broader business and organizational goals. Answer the questions “Why are we working on this?” and “What are we working towards?” Later in the meeting, you’ll have a chance to dive into project details and specific workflows, but sharing the project’s purpose at the onset of the meeting is the best way to get everyone on the same page.

Project purpose example

The purpose of this project is to increase brand awareness in NAMER and EMEA through a digital brand campaign in Q3.

4. Share the project plan

Ideally, you’ve already shared the project plan in the meeting agenda so team members had the chance to read it over before the meeting. During the project kickoff meeting, you don’t need to go over every little detail of the project plan—instead, focus on key information like the project timeline, important milestones, or key deliverables.

Example project plan

Asana example project plan list

Free project plan template

5. Outline the project scope

One of the most important things to discuss as a group is what’s in scope—and equally as important, what’s out of scope. Make sure everyone has the same expectations going in, so there aren’t any last-minute surprises or changing deliverables as the project goes on. Clarifying the project scope early and often is the best way to prevent scope creep, which can delay or even derail your project.

Project scope example

Project Objective: Launch display and video ads in Q3 to increase brand awareness in NAMER and EMEA.

Resources:

  • Brand design team (six people), 15 hours per week for four weeks
  • $50,000 media spend budget

Deliverables:

  • Landing page design
  • Display ads (two variations for A/B testing), sized according to display spec sheet
  • Video spots (6 and 30 second spots), sized according to video spec sheet

Creative requirements: Display

  • Shows logo and CTA throughout animation
  • Both static and HTML5 banners are needed

Video

  • Features branding within first 5 seconds
  • Includes voiceover

Landing page

  • Ads and landing page should create a consistent visual experience

Out of scope:

Translating brand campaign assets

6. Establish project roles and responsibilities

You might not have to do this for a straightforward internal project, but if your project team has never worked together before or if you’re working with an external partner, make sure everyone is aligned on roles and responsibilities. Who is the main point of contact for the project? Does this project have a sponsor or executive leader? Is there an approver—or a group of approvers?

Different stakeholders need to be looped in at different stages of the project. If your project team isn’t clear on roles and responsibilities during the kickoff meeting, consider creating and sharing a RACI chart as an action item.

Example project roles
  • Responsible: Daniela Vargas
  • Accountable: Kabir Mandan
  • Consulted: Kat Mooney, Ray Brooks
  • Informed: Avery Lomax
7. Share where you’ll track project data and real-time updates

The average knowledge worker spends 60% of their time on work about work like chasing information and searching for documents. All of this work about work means your team has less time to focus on their high-impact work.

To reduce work about work and empower your team to be effective, make sure you have a central source of truth for all key project work. When all of your project information is in one easy-to-find place, your team can quickly locate project documents, get real-time project updates, check on relevant project milestones, and stay updated on project deliverables.

8. Make time for questions

After the kickoff, your project team may have questions about something you presented, like the scope of the project or certain task expectations. Make sure to leave plenty of time at the end of the kickoff meeting to answer any questions. Remember: the goal of the project kickoff is for everyone to leave the meeting on the same page and ready to get started.

9. Outline next steps

The last part of your project kickoff meeting should answer the question, “What comes next?” At this point, you should clarify where this work is being documented, and go over any action items that were captured in this meeting. It might also help to quickly outline what your team will be doing first.

Moving forward, clarify where and how you’ll share project status updates. Having too many meetings was one of the top three barriers to productivity in 2021. Instead of scheduling in-person or virtual status meetings, consider sharing project status reports virtually through a work management system. That way, team members can continue to efficiently align and connect over any new changes.

10. Post-meeting to-dos

Congratulations—the meeting is over! After you wrap up, ask the note taker to share any meeting notes in your shared project. If you met virtually, make sure to share the meeting recording and/or transcript as well. Finally, if there were any action items from the meeting, make sure those are captured and assigned to the relevant team member.

After the kickoff meeting

Once you’ve held your project kickoff meeting, you’re ready to get started on your project work. The best way to maintain alignment and clarity after your project kickoff is to maintain a central source of truth and collaboration—like a work management tool. By sharing all of your work, status updates, and messages in one place, you can not only get team members on the same page—you can keep them there.

Learn more about how Asana can help you organize work so your team knows what to do, why it matters, and how to get it done.


Create your next project plan with Asana