如何編寫執行摘要 (附有範例)

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsDecember 11th, 2020
facebooktwitterlinkedin
如何編寫執行摘要 (附有範例) 文章橫幅圖像
立即試用 Asana

專案管理最大的優勢之一,是為所有的團隊工作提供一個規劃、管理,以及執行的方法。這種能一目了然的資訊通常很有幫助。不過有的時候,專案的新成員或執行決策者會要求一份簡化版的專案介紹。這個時候,您需要用簡明扼要的方式分享專案的要點,同時又不會失去讀者的注意力。

最好的方式就是使用執行摘要。倘若您未曾撰寫過執行摘要,本文提供了所有您需要知道的資訊,讓您學會如何規劃、編寫,並與團隊分享您的執行摘要。

什麼是執行摘要?

執行摘要是一份文件的概要,其長度及範圍會根據摘要所針對的文件而有所不同。但一般而言,執行摘要的長度可以從一至兩頁不等。在執行摘要中,您將分享讀者及重要的專案關係人需要知道的所有資訊。

藉助 Asana 規劃專案

請這樣想像:單純閱讀您的執行摘要,高階的專案關係人是否能握有成功所需要的所有資訊?如果是的話,那麼您的摘要便發揮了其作用。

執行摘要通常會出現在以下這些文件中:

一般來說,執行摘要包含四個部分:

  1. 首先說明這份文件旨在解決什麼問題或需求。

  2. 概述建議的解決方案。

  3. 解釋解決方案的價值為何。

  4. 總結這項工作的重要性。

什麼是專案管理中的執行摘要?

在專案管理中,執行摘要是一種替跨職能協作、團隊領導,以及專案關係人帶來明晰度的方法。您可以將它想像成專案的「電梯簡報」,讓沒有時間或需求了解所有專案細節的團隊成員能夠快速抓到重點。

延伸閱讀:適用所有場合的 15 個創意電梯簡報

若比較專案管理中的執行摘要和商業計劃書中較傳統的執行摘要,主要的差異在於前者需要建立於專案開始之前,而後者則是在商業計劃書完成之後才加上。舉例來說,若要替一份環境研究撰寫執行摘要,您會需要在研究結束後編寫一份關於結果和發現的報告。然而,在撰寫專案管理中的執行摘要時,您需要說明的則是專案預期達成的目標,以及這些目標的重要性。

同樣的四個部份也適用於專案管理中的執行摘要。

  1. 首先說明專案預期解決什麼問題或需求。為什麼要進行這個專案?是什麼樣的洞見、顧客回饋、產品計劃,或者其他需求催生了這個專案?

  2. 概述建議的解決方案或專案的目標。 此專案要如何針對您所闡述的第一部分解決問題?專案的遠程目標和近程目標有哪些?

  3. 解釋解決方案的價值為何。專案完成後會發生什麼事情?第一個部分所提及的問題將如何改善或解決?

  4. 總結這項工作的重要性。這個部分讓您有機會再次說明問題及專案的重要性,也可以幫助您定義受眾,了解您的方案將如何解決他們的問題。最後,請納入所有相關的後續步驟。

如果您未曾撰寫過執行摘要,您可能會想知道它如何與專案管理中的其他要素互相搭配。以下是執行摘要的詳情:

執行摘要與專案計劃書

專案計劃是一份藍圖,用以說明您的專案需要完成哪些關鍵要素才能達成專案目標。專案計劃書包含了您的目標、成功指標、 專案關係人和角色、預算、里程碑、可達成的成果、時間軸和排程表,以及專案的溝通計劃

執行摘要是專案計劃書中最重要資訊的總結。請試想:當管理團隊剛落腳您的專案,甚至還沒有機會閱讀專案計劃書時,有哪些絕對關鍵的資訊是他們需要知道的?這些就是執行摘要的內容。

閱讀:概念驗證 (POC):如何證明可行性

執行摘要與專案概要

專案概要和執行摘要通常有一些類似的要素:兩者都含有重要專案資訊的總結。然而,專案概要應該直接附屬於您的專案。您的專案與專案概要之間應該要有清楚可見的直線連結。

雖然您可以根據所使用的專案管理工具將執行摘要納入專案之中,但執行摘要也可以是一份獨立自足的文件。

執行摘要與專案目的

您的執行摘要應該在第二部分 ( 概述建議的解決方案或專案目標 ) 列出您的專案目的並由之擴展。除了專案目的之外,您的執行摘要也應該說明為什麼達成專案目的會替組織增加價值,並詳述您將如何實現之。

執行摘要的優勢

您可能會問:為什麼我應該替專案撰寫執行摘要?有了專案計劃書還不夠嗎?

好吧,就如我們先前提到的,不是每個人都有時間或需求深入了解您的專案,並能一眼就看出專案的目標是什麼以及它們為何重要。Asana 這類的工作管理工具能幫助您擷取專案的許多重要資訊,讓您與您的團隊清楚知道誰正在進行哪項工作以及時限為何。執行摘要並不是設計給正積極執行專案的隊友,而是設計給身處專案之外、需要快速了解專案內容和其重要性的專案關係人。

有效的執行摘要可以讓專案關係人在不需深入研究所有細節的情況下,就能對整個專案和其重點有全盤性的了解。接著,如果他們需要更多資訊,可以查看專案計劃書,或是在您的工作管理工具中瀏覽任務。

如何編寫出色的執行摘要 (附有範例)

每個執行摘要都包含四個部分,請遵循此範本撰寫出色的執行摘要。當您完成了您的執行摘要,請再閱讀一遍,確保其涵蓋專案關係人需要知道的所有重要資訊。

1. 首先說明專案預期解決什麼問題或需求

在執行摘要的開頭,請先說明何以此文件 (及它所代表的專案) 很重要。花點時間概述問題所在,包括任何研究或客戶提供給您的回饋。闡明此問題为何重要,對您的客戶有何關聯,以及為什麼解決它很重要。

例如,想像您是一家手錶製造公司的員工。您的專案旨在設計一款更簡單、更便宜的手錶,既能吸引奢侈品買家,又能同時瞄準新的客戶群。

執行摘要範例:

在近期的客戶回饋會議中,有 52% 的客戶表示需要一款更簡單且更便宜的產品。在針對選擇競爭對手手錶的顧客所做的調查中,有 87% 的回應提到了價格。為了向現有客戶提供最佳的服務並開拓新市場,我們需要開發一系列的手錶,在這個市場上以合適的價格販售。

2. 概述建議的解決方案或專案的目標

您已經概述了問題所在,現在請解釋您的解決方案是什麼。不同於摘要或大綱,在此您應該採取指示性的態度。也就是說,您應該努力說服讀者您的解決方案是正確的。這個段落不是讓您用來集思廣益,而是用來支持您所建議的解決方案。

由於執行摘要是建立於專案的開端,就算沒有制定出所有的可交付成果和里程碑也沒關係。不過,這是一個讓您概括描述專案將如何進行的機會。如果您需要協助以替專案的主要可交付成果及時間軸建立一份高階概要,請考慮在撰寫執行摘要之前建立一份專案藍圖

以下繼續我們的執行摘要範例:

我們新手錶系列的起售價格將比現有最便宜的選擇低 20%,依據材料和機芯的不同,有些選擇可能會便宜 40% 以上。為了提供這些價格,我們將會執行以下操作:

  • 提供新的手錶材料,可能包括矽膠或木材

  • 使用高品質的石英機芯取代自產的自動機芯

  • 推出客製化的錶帶選項,將焦點由傳統的奢侈品轉向選擇和彈性

請注意,每支手錶仍然會經過嚴格的品質控管,以維持與現有商品同樣的一流速度與精確度。

3. 說明解決方案的價值

此時您應該開始提供更多細節,說明您的解決方案將如何影響及改善一開始提出的問題。如果有的話,您預期達成什麼樣的結果?這個部分應該包含所有相關的財務資訊、專案風險,或者潛在的收益。同時,您也應該將此專案連結回公司的目標或目標及關鍵結果 (OKR)。這項工作如何反映您的公司目標?

以下繼續我們的執行摘要範例:

新產品比我們目前最便宜的選擇便宜 20% 至 40%,我們預期能夠打進休閒手錶市場,同時持續擁護我們的奢侈品牌。這將幫助我們達成 2022 財務年的第 3 個目標,也就是品牌的拓展。 這些新產品可能帶來每年超過 3 百萬美元的利潤,將助我們實現 2022 財務年的第 1 個目標,也就是年利潤達 7 百萬美元。

早期的客戶回饋會議指出,較便宜的選擇並不會影響奢侈品牌的價值或形象,不過這確實是設計過程中應該考慮的風險。為了降低此風險,產品行銷團隊將在發行前的六個月開始啟動上市策略。

4. 總結這項工作的重要性

您已經與執行決策人士分享了所有這些重要的資訊,現在,最後這個部分讓您有機會引導他們了解這項工作對組織的影響及重要性。在您的執行摘要中,有任何內容是他們應該刪去的嗎?

完善我們的執行摘要範例:

更便宜、更多樣的產品不但能讓我們打入新市場,同時也會幫助品牌正向擴展。隨著消費者對這些新產品的關注,加上較便宜手錶的預期需求,我們期望能夠達成每年 2% 的市佔率成長。請閱讀我們的上市策略顧客回饋文件以獲得更多資訊。

執行摘要範例

當您組合所有內容後,您的執行摘要可能看上去像這樣:

Asana 中的執行摘要範例
藉助 Asana 規劃專案

撰寫執行摘要時的常見錯誤

您不會在一夜之間成為撰寫執行摘要的專家,這沒有關係。開始時,請使用本文所提供的四部分範例做為指南。接著,隨著您持續精進您的執行摘要撰寫技巧,請避免以下這幾個常見錯誤:

避免使用專業術語

您的執行摘要是一份文件,上至執行決策者,下至專案貢獻者,任何人都應該能夠閱讀並理解之。請記住,您比您的專案關係人更加貼近每日工作和個人的任務,因此,請重複閱讀一次您的執行摘要,確保沒有不必要的專業術語。如果可以的話,請解釋該術語的含義,或直接不使用之。

請記住:執行摘要不是一份完整的報告

執行摘要就只是一份摘要。如果您發現自己太過執著於某些特定任務、截止日期,或附件的細節,請試著退一步問問自己,這些資訊是否真的應該出現在執行摘要中。有些細節很重要,能增加摘要的可行動性和吸引力。但請注意,專案所夾帶的大量資訊應該透過您的工作管理工具獲取,而非執行摘要。

請確保摘要能夠獨立自足

雖然您對這個專案有從裡到外的了解,但是您的專案關係人並沒有。一旦完成了您的執行摘要,請再看一遍,確保這份摘要能夠獨立自足。您的專案關係人是否需要任何脈絡才能了解這份摘要?如果是的話,請將其編入摘要中,或者考慮附上連結,做為額外的資訊補充。

總是進行校對

執行摘要是一份動態的文件,如果不小心遺漏了一個錯字,您總是可以回頭修改。然而,對您的執行摘要進行校對,或是發送給同事以讓不同的人過目,並不會有什麼壞處。

總結來說:執行摘要是不可或缺的

執行摘要是讓每個人都知悉專案最新動態並取得共識的好方法。如果您有很多的專案關係人需要快速了解專案正在解決的問題及其重要性,那麼執行摘要便是替他們提供所需訊息的完美方式。

欲了解如何將高階策略及計劃連結每日的工作執行,請閱讀

免費試用 Asana

相關資源

文章

Affinity diagram: How to organize information

How to write an executive summary, with examples

One of the best things about project management is that it provides a way to plan, manage, and execute all of your team’s work. Oftentimes, it’s helpful to have this information available at-a-glance. But sometimes, new project members or executive stakeholders want a simplified view of your project. Instead, you need a concise way to share the project’s main points—without losing your reader’s attention.

The best way to do that is with an executive summary. If you’ve never written an executive summary, this article has all you need to know to plan, write, and share them with your team.

What is an executive summary?

An executive summary is an overview of a document. The length and scope of your executive summary will differ depending on the document it’s summarizing, but in general an executive summary can be anywhere from one to two pages long. In the document, you’ll want to share all of the information your readers and important stakeholders need to know.

Imagine it this way: if your high-level stakeholders were to only read your executive summary, would they have all of the information they need to succeed? If so, your summary has done its job.

You’ll often find executive summaries of:

  • Business plans
  • Project proposals
  • Research documents
  • Environmental studies
  • Market surveys
  • Project plans

In general, there are four parts to any executive summary:

  1. Start with the problem or need the document is solving.
  2. Outline the recommended solution.
  3. Explain the solution’s value.
  4. Wrap up with a conclusion about the importance of the work.

What is an executive summary in project management?

In project management, an executive summary is a way to bring clarity to cross-functional collaborators, team leadership, and project stakeholders. Think of it like a project’s “elevator pitch” for team members who don’t have the time or the need to dive into all of the project’s details.

The main difference between an executive summary in project management and a more traditional executive summary in a business plan is that the former should be created at the beginning of your project—whereas the latter should be created after you’ve written your business plan. For example, to write an executive summary of an environmental study, you would compile a report on the results and findings once your study was over. But for an executive summary in project management, you want to cover what the project is aiming to achieve and why those goals matter.

The same four parts apply to an executive summary in project management:

  1. Start with the problem or need the project is solving. Why is this project happening? What insight, customer feedback, product plan, or other need caused it to come to life?

  2. Outline the recommended solution, or the project’s objectives. How is the project going to solve the problem you established in the first part? What are the project goals and objectives?

  3. Explain the solution’s value. Once you’ve finished your project, what will happen? How will this improve and solve the problem you established in the first part?

  4. Wrap up with a conclusion about the importance of the work. This is another opportunity to reiterate why the problem is important, and why the project matters. It can also be helpful to reference your audience and how your solution will solve their problem. Finally, include any relevant next steps.

If you’ve never written an executive summary before, you might be curious about where it fits into other project management elements. Here’s how executive summaries stack up:

Executive summary vs. project plan

A project plan is a blueprint of the key elements your project will accomplish in order to hit your project goals and objectives. Project plans will include your goals, success metrics, stakeholders and roles, budget, milestones and deliverables, timeline and schedule, and communication plan.

An executive summary is a summary of the most important information in your project plan. Think of the absolutely crucial things your management team needs to know when they land in your project, before they even have a chance to look at the project plan—that’s your executive summary.

Executive summary vs. project overview

Project overviews and executive summaries often have similar elements—they both contain a summary of important project information. However, your project overview should be directly attached to your project. There should be a direct line of sight between your project and your project overview.

While you can include your executive summary in your project depending on what type of project management tool you use, it may also be a stand-alone document.

Executive summary vs. project objectives

Your executive summary should contain and expand upon your project objectives in the second part (Outline the recommended solution, or the project’s objectives). In addition to including your project objectives, your executive summary should also include why achieving your project objectives will add value, as well as provide details about how you’re going to get there.

The benefits of an executive summary

You may be asking: why should I write an executive summary for my project? Isn’t the project plan enough?

Well, like we mentioned earlier, not everyone has the time or need to dive into your project and see, from a glance, what the goals are and why they matter. Work management tools like Asana help you capture a lot of crucial information about a project, so you and your team have clarity on who’s doing what by when. Your executive summary is designed less for team members who are actively working on the project and more for stakeholders outside of the project who want quick insight and answers about why your project matters.

An effective executive summary gives stakeholders a big-picture view of the entire project and its important points—without requiring them to dive into all the details. Then, if they want more information, they can access the project plan or navigate through tasks in your work management tool.

How to write a great executive summary, with examples

Every executive summary has four parts. In order to write a great executive summary, follow this template. Then once you’ve written your executive summary, read it again to make sure it includes all of the key information your stakeholders need to know.

1. Start with the problem or need the project is solving

At the beginning of your executive summary, start by explaining why this document (and the project it represents) matter. Take some time to outline what the problem is, including any research or customer feedback you’ve gotten. Clarify how this problem is important and relevant to your customers, and why solving it matters.

For example, let’s imagine you work for a watch manufacturing company. Your project is to devise a simpler, cheaper watch that still appeals to luxury buyers while also targeting a new bracket of customers.

Example executive summary:

In recent customer feedback sessions, 52% of customers have expressed a need for a simpler and cheaper version of our product. In surveys of customers who have chosen competitor watches, price is mentioned 87% of the time. To best serve our existing customers, and to branch into new markets, we need to develop a series of watches that we can sell at an appropriate price point for this market.

2. Outline the recommended solution, or the project’s objectives

Now that you’ve outlined the problem, explain what your solution is. Unlike an abstract or outline, you should be prescriptive in your solution—that is to say, you should work to convince your readers that your solution is the right one. This is less of a brainstorming section and more of a place to support your recommended solution.

Because you’re creating your executive summary at the beginning of your project, it’s ok if you don’t have all of your deliverables and milestones mapped out. But this is your chance to describe, in broad strokes, what will happen during the project. If you need help formulating a high-level overview of your project’s main deliverables and timeline, consider creating a project roadmap before diving into your executive summary.

Continuing our example executive summary:

Our new watch series will begin at 20% cheaper than our current cheapest option, with the potential for 40%+ cheaper options depending on material and movement. In order to offer these prices, we will do the following:

  • Offer watches in new materials, including potentially silicone or wood
  • Use high-quality quartz movement instead of in-house automatic movement
  • Introduce customizable band options, with a focus on choice and flexibility over traditional luxury

Note that every watch will still be rigorously quality controlled in order to maintain the same world-class speed and precision of our current offerings.

3. Explain the solution’s value

At this point, you begin to get into more details about how your solution will impact and improve upon the problem you outlined in the beginning. What, if any, results do you expect? This is the section to include any relevant financial information, project risks, or potential benefits. You should also relate this project back to your company goals or OKRs. How does this work map to your company objectives?

Continuing our example executive summary:

With new offerings that are between 20% and 40% cheaper than our current cheapest option, we expect to be able to break into the casual watch market, while still supporting our luxury brand. That will help us hit FY22’s Objective 3: Expanding the brand. These new offerings have the potential to bring in upwards of three million dollars in profits annually, which will help us hit FY22’s Objective 1: 7 million dollars in annual profit.

Early customer feedback sessions indicate that cheaper options will not impact the value or prestige of the luxury brand, though this is a risk that should be factored in during design. In order to mitigate that risk, the product marketing team will begin working on their go-to-market strategy six months before the launch.

4. Wrap up with a conclusion about the importance of the work

Now that you’ve shared all of this important information with executive stakeholders, this final section is your chance to guide their understanding of the impact and importance of this work on the organization. What, if anything, should they take away from your executive summary?

To round out our example executive summary:

Cheaper and varied offerings not only allow us to break into a new market—it will also expand our brand in a positive way. With the attention from these new offerings, plus the anticipated demand for cheaper watches, we expect to increase market share by 2% annually. For more information, read our go-to-market strategy and customer feedback documentation.

Example of an executive summary

When you put it all together, this is what your executive summary might look like:

Example executive summary in Asana

Common mistakes people make when writing executive summaries

You’re not going to become an executive summary-writing pro overnight, and that’s ok. As you get started, use the four-part template provided in this article as a guide. Then, as you continue to hone your executive summary writing skills, here are a few common pitfalls to avoid:

Avoid using jargon

Your executive summary is a document that anyone, from project contributors to executive stakeholders, should be able to read and understand. Remember that you’re much closer to the daily work and individual tasks than your stakeholders will be, so read your executive summary once over to make sure there’s no unnecessary jargon. Where you can, explain the jargon, or skip it all together.

Remember: this isn’t a full report

Your executive summary is just that—a summary. If you find yourself getting into the nitty-gritty of specific tasks, due dates, and attachments, try taking a step back and asking yourself if that information really belongs in your executive summary. Some details are important—you want your summary to be actionable and engaging. But keep in mind that the wealth of information in your project will be captured in your work management tool, not your executive summary.

Make sure the summary can stand alone

You know this project inside and out, but your stakeholders won’t. Once you’ve written your executive summary, take a second look to make sure the summary can stand on its own. Is there any context your stakeholders need in order to understand the summary? If so, weave it into your executive summary, or consider linking out to it as additional information.

Always proofread

Your executive summary is a living document, and if you miss a typo you can always go back in and fix it. But it never hurts to proofread or send to a colleague for a fresh set of eyes.

In summary: an executive summary is a must-have

Executive summaries are a great way to get everyone up to date and on the same page about your project. If you have a lot of project stakeholders who need quick insight into what the project is solving and why it matters, an executive summary is the perfect way to give them the information they need.

For more tips about how to connect high-level strategy and plans to daily execution, read our ebook: How to build an organizational strategy.

Create your next project plan with Asana.