專案啟動:成功實現專案管理的第一步

Caeleigh MacNeil 撰稿人特寫照片Caeleigh MacNeilJune 4th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
專案啟動:成功實現專案管理的第一步文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

摘要

執行專案啟動可確保您為新專案奠定穩健的基礎。它是專案管理的第一個階段,您在此階段概述專案的目的,以及專案將帶來什麼商業價值。接著,您就可用此資訊獲得關鍵專案關係人的支持。本文說明專案啟動的重要性,並概述四個關鍵步驟,以利您展開專案時,就贏在起跑點。

「讓我們從頭開始,這是很棒的起點。」

我們或許不是背對奧地利的阿爾卑斯山哼唱著 Do-Re-Mi (多-雷-咪),但 Julie Andrews (朱莉·安德魯斯) 在劇中的明智建議,不僅適用於音樂的學習,更同樣適用於專案管理。好的開始為成功的專案管理奠定必要的良好基礎。透過專案啟動之執行,您可以確保自己展開專案前,確認所有應確認的事項。

什麽是專案啟動?

專案啟動指的是展開新專案的第一個步驟。您會在專案啟動階段確立自己執行此專案的用意,以及專案將帶來哪些商業價值,接著再用此資訊取得關鍵專案關係人的支持。

「專案啟動」一詞源自美國專案管理學會 (PMI) 所創的五階段模式。PMI 在其《專案管理知識體系指南》(又稱 PMBOK® 指南) 中概述此模式,將專案的生命週期區分成這五個階段:

  • 專案啟動:給專案廣泛的定義並取得支持。

  • 專案規劃:制定詳細目標和專案藍圖。

  • 專案執行:使用前兩個步驟的資訊展開專案。

  • 專案績效:使用關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 衡量成效。

  • 專案結案:向專案關係人匯報。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

專案啟動與專案規劃

您會在專案啟動階段賦予專案高層次的定義,以展現其商業價值。一旦取得關鍵專案關係人的支持並證明專案可行,接著就會進入專案規劃階段。此時您會提供更多細節來定義具體目標交付項目專案藍圖。不妨這樣看待:您想要提供足夠的資訊,以便在啟動階段獲得核准,然後在取得核准之後,再花時間一一確認專案規劃的詳細資訊。

為什麼專案啟動階段很重要?

開展新專案令人感到躍躍欲試,但有一個重點是,要在不假思索地進入規劃階段前,確認自己的計劃確實會帶來更多價值。這就是專案啟動的用處,因為它透過結構化的方式展現專案具備商業企劃案的價值,並且證明您要執行的工作是可行的。專案啟動也能讓您確保,在專案初期就把專案關係人納入溝通的資訊流中,進而能取得必要的資源、清楚掌握專案內容,並預防專案執行過程中產生代價高昂的障礙。

閱讀:哪些原因導致專案失敗?7 個常見的原因以及解決方法

專案啟動流程:從這 4 個步驟開始著手

您已想到極具吸引力的新專案構想,那麼接下來呢?以下說明專案管理第一個階段如何著手進行,以及如何為新專案奠定穩固的基礎。

1. 建立專案章程或商業企劃書

在此 (第一) 步驟中,您應展現專案的必要性,以及它將帶來什麼效益。其中一個做法是制定專案章程,或者您也可以撰寫商業企劃書。這兩種文件是以相同的核心概念為基礎,兩者皆用來概述關鍵的專案要點,透過提案向專案關係人提出訴求。兩者主要差異在於範疇:專案章程用於較小型的計劃,而商業企劃書則用於需要重要資源的較大型專案。舉例來說,您可能會針對公司網站首頁的改版設計建立專案章程,而會針對全公司的品牌重塑建立商業企劃書。

無論是使用專案章程或是商業企劃書,此階段都是展現專案將如何帶來更多商業價值,以及何以您需要預算、設備或團隊成員等特定資源的機會。以下提供概略範本,說明這兩種文件通常包含哪些元素:

專案章程

專案章程旨在展現專案的重要性、它將帶來的成果以及將由哪些人員來執行,所有資訊均包含在下列元素中:

  • 目的:專案的目標與目的

  • 內容專案範疇,包括專案預算的概要說明

  • 人員:關鍵專案關係人、專案贊助者、專案成員

延伸閱讀:專案章程需要的三個要素

商業企劃書

商業企劃書除了包含專案章程的所有元素外,還有這些額外元素:

  • 全方位的財務分析,包括專案將實現的投資報酬率 (ROI) 之估計

  • 專案風險分析及風險管理計劃

  • 內含如何進行決策 (例如 RACI 表) 的行動計劃、溝通計劃,以及商業企劃書一旦獲得核准後您將採取的後續步驟

閱讀:撰寫有效商業企畫案的新手指南

2. 確認關鍵的專案關係人,並進行專案簡報

接下來應判斷應由哪些人簽核您的專案章程或商業企劃書。這會包括對專案成果握有決定權的關鍵專案關係人,例如:您向其請求預算或資源的高階主管、專案贊助者或跨職能團隊。若不確定誰是關鍵的專案關係人,不妨問自己以下這些問題:

  • 誰必須核准我的專案?

  • 誰將為我的專案提供資源?

  • 誰能影響我的專案?

您也可進行專案關係人分析,藉此確認自己沒有忽略任何重要人士。採用這個方法時,應將專案關係人區分為四個主要群組:具有高度影響力及高度利益相關者、具有高度影響力但低度利益相關者、具有低度影響力但高度利益相關者、具有低度影響力及低度利益相關者。歸類在第一個群組 (具有高度影響力及高度利益相關者) 的任何人員都可能是必須在啟動階段核准您專案的關鍵專案關係人。

請閱讀:什麽是專案關係人分析,它為什麼很重要?

除主要專案關係人以外,此時也是確立哪些其他人員可能會受到專案衝擊或與它利害關係的好時機。儘管這些人不需要正式核准您的計劃,但若能及早提供資訊給他們,可能會很有幫助,特別是若專案將對他們的工作帶來衝擊時,更是如此。他們或許也能透過深入解析或資源的形式提供額外支援。

在啟動階段獲得專案關係人支持不僅有助您取得核准、支援和資源,更能提高專案的能見度,預防專案生命週期的後續階段發生代價高昂的阻礙。

3. 執行可行性研究

此時的您已完成專案提案、展現專案帶來額外價值且符合公司的整體策略計劃。接著就是執行可行性研究的時機,藉此確認在您可掌握的資源前提下,是可能完成此專案的。

簡言之,可行性研究旨在評估專案能否成功。它會針對以下問題提供答案:

  1. 我的團隊是否擁有完成專案所需要的資源?

  2. 此專案是否有足夠的投資報酬率 (ROI),值得投入心力執行?

若這兩個問題您都能給予肯定的答覆,就有穩固的基礎可以展開專案。若可行性研究的結論是,您並沒有足夠的預算或資源,您就有充分的理由回覆專案關係人並請求更多預算和資源。若專案的 ROI 不到可接受的程度,您可用這些資料調整專案計劃,或徹底轉向,尋求全然不同的機會。

閱讀:如何在專案管理中運用可行性研究

每個專案都需要可行性研究嗎?

可行性研究通常用在較大型的專案,這類專案需要重要的公司資源。針對長期影響微乎極微的小型專案,您可能不需要執行可行性研究。若您過去已管理過類似的專案,您的競爭對手已經成功實現類似的計劃,或您已在過去三年內執行過類似的可行性研究,也可跳過此步驟。應謹記,可行性研究需要花費時間和資源來完成,因此在開始執行之前,務必確認實際有需要再進行。

4. 收整您的團隊與工具

專案已獲得核准,而且也證明其可行性了,此時您終於可以開始收整團隊、工作空間及工具。以下提供一些要點幫助您著手進行:

  • 優秀的團隊願意為了專案的成功付出許多心力,而要找到具備合適經驗和技能的隊友可能需要時間。一個好的做法是在專案確認後,就儘早開始這個過程,特別是若您需要聘用新員工或接洽承包商時,更是如此。基於公司的各種程序,您可能必須事先提出請求,才能將現有員工重新指派到自己的專案。

  • 思索您要如何組織團隊架構例如:您想要簡單的階層式架構,讓所有團隊成員向單獨一位團隊主管彙報嗎?或者您認為按照地理區域來區分團隊成員比較合理?

  • 您的工作地點將影響您的工作表現。若您計劃以遠距方式管理專案,請確認已架設正確的基礎架構,能夠管理虛擬團隊。若您的團隊將駐點工作,請記得及早在專案啟動會議前請求工作所需的辦公室空間。

  • 選擇正確的工具。思考您的團隊會以何種方式合作完成每日任務,例如:您會使用電子郵件、Google 文件,或更強大的專案管理軟體?不妨考慮使用 Asana 這類的工具,藉此在同一位置集中管理團隊的通訊、指派任務時清楚指明所有者和截止日期,並透過為您團隊量身打造的方式輕鬆組織專案。

閱讀:如何為您的團隊選擇專案管理軟體

下一步:專案規劃

藉助專案啟動階段,您為專案奠定了穩健的基礎。進而得以證明專案有其商業需要、取得必要核准、確認工作可行性,並開始集結團隊。

辦到這一點之後,您就得以確認專案計劃的細節並決定具體的目標、交付項目、里程碑和專案藍圖。所以,不妨放手規劃吧!預祝大家在可見的未來完成許多出色的專案啟動工作 (以及成功的專案)。

藉助 Asana 規劃專案

相關資源

網路研討會

Create an impactful annual plan with Asana

Project initiation: The first step to successful project management

Caeleigh MacNeil contributor headshotCaeleigh MacNeilOctober 6th, 20216 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Project initiation: The first step to successful project management article banner image

Summary

Project initiation ensures that you lay a strong foundation for a new project. It’s the first of five project management phases, when you outline why you’re doing the project and what business value it will deliver. Then, you can use that information to secure buy-in from key stakeholders. In this article, we describe why project initiation matters and outline four key steps to start your project off on the right foot.

“Let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start.” 

We may not be singing do-re-mi against a backdrop of the Austrian Alps, but Julie Andrews’ sage advice applies just as well to project management as it does to music. A good beginning lays a necessary foundation for successful project management. And with project initiation, you can make sure you’re checking all the right boxes before your project kicks off.   

What is project initiation?

Project initiation is the first step in starting a new project. During the project initiation phase, you establish why you’re doing the project and what business value it will deliver—then use that information to secure buy-in from key stakeholders. 

The term “project initiation” comes from a five-phase model created by the Project Management Institute (PMI). PMI outlines this model in their Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, also known as the PMBOK® Guide. The model divides a project’s lifecycle into these five stages: 

  • Project initiation: Broadly define your project and secure buy-in.

  • Project planning: Create detailed goals and a project roadmap.

  • Project execution: Launch your project using information from the first two steps. 

  • Project performance: Measure effectiveness using key performance indicators (KPIs)

  • Project closure: Debrief with stakeholders. 

Try project management with Asana

Project initiation vs. project planning

During the project initiation phase, you define your project at a high level in order to demonstrate its business value. Once you secure buy-in from key stakeholders and prove that your project is feasible, you then move on to the project planning phase. That’s when you define your specific objectives, deliverables, and project roadmap in more detail. Think of it this way—you want to provide enough information to secure approval during the initiation phase, then spend time ironing out project planning details after you get the green light. 

Why does the project initiation phase matter? 

Starting a new project is exciting, but it’s important to make sure your initiative will actually add value before jumping into the planning phase. That’s where project initiation comes in—it offers a structured approach to demonstrate your project’s business case and prove that the work you’ll do is feasible. Project initiation also ensures that you loop in stakeholders early on, so you can secure essential resources, gain visibility for your project, and prevent costly roadblocks down the road. 

Read: What causes project failure? 7 common culprits and their solutions

The project initiation process: 4 steps to get started

So you’ve come up with an enticing new project idea—now what? Here’s how to approach this first phase of project management and lay a solid foundation for your new project.

1. Create a project charter or business case

In this first step, you demonstrate why your project is necessary and what benefit it will bring. You can do this with either a project charter or a business case. These two documents follow the same fundamental idea, since they’re both used to outline key project details and pitch your initiative to stakeholders. The main difference between them is scope—you can use a project charter for smaller initiatives, and a business case for larger projects that require significant resources. For example, you might create a project charter for a redesign of your company homepage, and a business case for a company-wide rebrand. 

Regardless of whether you use a project charter or a business case, this is your chance to demonstrate how your project will add business value and why you need specific resources like budget, equipment, or team members. Here’s a rough template of what these two documents typically include: 

Project charter

A project charter demonstrates why your project is important, what it will entail, and who will work on it—all through the following elements: 

  • Why: The project’s goals and purpose

  • What: The scope of the project, including an outline of your project budget

  • Who: Key stakeholders, project sponsors, and project team members

Read: 3 elements every project charter needs

Business case

A business case includes all the components of a project charter, along with these additional elements: 

  • A comprehensive financial analysis, including an estimate of the return on investment (ROI) your project will bring 

  • An analysis of project risks and a risk management plan

  • An action plan that includes how decisions will be made (such as a RACI chart), a communication plan, and next steps you’ll take if your business case is approved 

Read: The beginner’s guide to writing an effective business case

2. Identify key stakeholders and pitch your project

Next up, determine who needs to sign off on your project charter or business case. This includes key stakeholders who have a say in the outcome of your project—for example, executive leaders, project sponsors, or cross-functional teams that you’re requesting budget or resources from. If you’re not sure who your key stakeholders are, ask yourself the following questions: 

  • Who needs to approve my project? 

  • Who will provide resources for my project? 

  • Who can influence my project? 

You can also create a project stakeholder analysis to ensure you’re not overlooking any important players. This methodology involves dividing stakeholders into four main groups: those with high influence and high interest, high influence and low interest, low influence and high interest, and low influence and low interest. Anyone in the first bucket (high influence and high interest) is likely a key stakeholder that should approve your project during the initiation phase. 

Read: What is a project stakeholder analysis and why is it important?

Aside from key stakeholders, now is also a good time to identify other individuals who may be impacted by or interested in your project. While these people don’t need to officially approve your initiative, it might be helpful to give them an early heads-up, especially if this project will impact their work. They may also be able to provide additional support in the form of insight or resources.  

Getting stakeholder buy-in during the initiation phase not only helps you secure approval, support, and resources—it also increases project visibility and prevents costly roadblocks later on in the project life cycle. 

3. Run a feasibility study

At this point you’ve pitched your project, demonstrating that it adds value and fits with your company’s overall strategic plan. Now, it’s time to run a feasibility study to confirm your project is possible with the resources you have at your disposal. 

Simply put, a feasibility study evaluates whether your project could be successful. It answers the following questions: 

  1. Does my team have the required resources to complete this project?

  2. Will there be enough return on investment (ROI) to make this project worth pursuing? 

If you can answer yes to both questions, you have a solid rationale to move forward with your project. If your feasibility study concludes that you don’t have enough budget or resources, you’ve created a strong case to go back to stakeholders and request more. And if your project’s ROI isn’t up to snuff, you can use that data to tweak your project plan—or pursue a different opportunity entirely. 

Read: How to use a feasibility study in project management

Does every project need a feasibility study? 

Feasibility studies are typically used for larger projects that require significant company resources. You might not need to run a feasibility study for smaller projects with minimal long-term impact. You can also skip this step if you’ve managed a similar project in the past, your competitors are already succeeding with a similar initiative, or you’ve run a similar feasibility study within the past three years. Keep in mind that a feasibility study takes time and resources to complete, so make sure it’s really necessary before you dive in. 

4. Assemble your team and tools

Now that your project is approved and its feasibility proven, you can finally start to assemble your team, workspace, and tools. Here are some pointers to get you started: 

  • A good team can go a long way in making your project a success, and it can take time to find people with the right experiences and skills. It’s a good idea to start this process as soon as possible once your project is confirmed—especially if you need to hire new employees or onboard contractors. And depending on your company’s procedures, you may need to file a request in advance to reassign existing employees to your project. 

  • Consider how you want to organize your team structure. For example, do you want a simple hierarchical structure with team members reporting into single team leads—or does it make more sense to divide your team by geographical region?

  • Where you work can influence how you work. If you’re planning to manage your project remotely, make sure you have the right infrastructure set up to manage a virtual team. And if your team will work onsite, keep in mind that you may need to request office space well in advance of your project kick-off meeting

  • Choose the right tools. Consider how your team will work together on daily tasks—for example, will you use email, Google docs, or more robust project management software? You may want to consider a tool like Asana, which allows you to centralize team communication in one place, assign tasks with clear owners and due dates, and easily organize projects in a way that's tailor-made for your team.

Read: How to choose project management software for your team

Next up: Project planning

The project initiation phase empowers you to lay a strong foundation for your project. It ensures that you prove the business need for your project, secure necessary approvals, confirm the feasibility of your work, and start to assemble your team. 

With that done, you’re free to finalize the details of your project plan and determine your specific objectives, deliverables, milestones, and project roadmap. So happy planning, and here’s to many great project beginnings (and project successes) to come.

Try project planning in Asana

Related resources

Article

Begin with the end in mind to maximize your potential