Excel 時間軸與行事曆的最佳替代方案

Molly Talbert 撰稿人特寫照片Molly Talbert
February 8th, 2024
facebookx-twitterlinkedin
Excel 時間軸與行事曆的最佳替代方案文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

擬定專案的各個步驟是建立清楚計劃的關鍵,但若您只看任務清單,就可能很難以可視化呈現工作如何相互連結,以及每項任務何時截止。這時專案時間軸和行事曆就派上用場了。這兩者都以可視化的視覺呈現方式顯示您的專案計劃,因此您可以在工作進行的當下即時查看、瞭解相依性,並在遇到阻礙前先一步發現阻礙。

開始規劃專案時,您的第一個直覺可能是開啟 Excel 並在應用程式中開始建立您的專案時間軸和行事曆。但請退一步稍待一秒鐘,沒錯,儘管您可以使用 Microsoft Excel 建立專案行事曆或時間軸,這卻不見得總是工作的最佳工具。對於數字計算和建立樞紐分析表而言 Excel 是絕佳工具,但它的設計並非用來管理專案或以時間軸、行事曆和其他有用版面配置來顯示資訊的。

與此不同的是,像 Asana 這類的協作工作管理軟體則有助團隊規劃及管理專案,且已內建了時間軸和行事曆檢視 (無須公式或合併儲存格),來幫助團隊以可視化的視覺方式呈現他們的工作。

本文中,我們將說明 Excel 在哪些關鍵的專案管理需求上顯得捉襟見肘、相較於工作管理軟體它的表現如何、專案時間軸範例及行事曆範例,以及針對您的專案建置時所需採取的步驟。

閱讀:如何以 7 個步驟建立專案時間軸

Excel 時間軸及行事曆與工作管理軟體

Excel 是非常實用的工具,但並非針對管理專案而設計。以下說明使用 Excel 管理專案的三個陷阱,以及您可以如何切換到專用的工作管理工具,來改善您管理專案的方式:

一致的專案結構

  • Excel:由於試算表是由個別儲存格組成的空白畫布,因此建立您的專案排程時,您必須決定哪些資訊應放入哪些儲存格。設立結構可能很耗時,且很難掌握每個關鍵細節。此外,每個人都能設定他們有別於您的行事曆和時間軸,這會造成跨專案的不一致。

  • 工作管理軟體:由於它是特別設計用來管理您的所有專案及任務的,因此這個工具具備有助您制定計劃的內建結構。通常會透過標準方式來擷取各部份的工作、組織工作,且有額外的欄位可擷取如指派對象和截止日期等重要資訊。此外,您可在不同檢視中快速設定自己的計劃 (如行事曆、時間軸、清單或工作流程看板),並且將相同的結構用於多個專案

集中、可行動的計劃和時間軸

  • Excel:試算表中每個儲存格的資訊並未繫連至實際被執行的工作。您仍需要使用電子郵件、對話和其他工具來溝通,並與隊友就專案工作進行合作。因此,關鍵的專案細節就散落在不同位置,而重要的情境資訊可能很容易遺失。

  • 工作管理軟體: 您可在同一處與團隊共同組織、追蹤及溝通專案幾乎所有部分。這樣一來,每個人都清楚必須完成什麼事、誰負責哪個部分,各個項目何時到期。接著,您可以直接在工具中溝通、協作並附加檔案,使一切資訊相互連結,資訊容易找到。

閱讀:為什麼清楚的溝通計劃比您想像的更為重要

即時更新專案資訊

  • Excel:由於工作其實不是在試算表中發生的,因此當範疇、責任和期限改變時 (或單純只是任務完成時),您就必須在每個儲存格中手動更新資訊。這類的工作附帶事務可能耗費時間,尤其遇到複雜專案或時間表更是如此,而資訊就可能很快變得過時,或因此疏忽了細節。

  • 工作管理軟體:有人完成任務、重新指派一部分工作,或改動專案裡的截止日期時,時間軸或行事曆會自動更新,反映這些改變。這有助專案成員對計劃感到有信心,確保清楚的責任劃分,並且隨時都能強調工作當下的狀態。

您應使用行事曆還是時間軸?

選擇使用專案行事曆抑或是時間軸,取決於專案的複雜度以及您想要查看的資訊。以下說明這兩個可視化專案計劃類型的使用時機:

專案行事曆

[行事曆檢視] Asana 中的品牌活動專案

您想要根據日期範圍和期限來查看工作何時進行時,專案行事曆的版面配置就很實用。從制高點檢視截止日期,您就可視需要調整專案計劃。

專案時間軸

[產品 UI] Asana 中的品牌行銷活動專案,甘特圖式檢視 (時間軸)

當您必須查看工作的順序和工作分組情況、以及工作何時進行時,甘特圖這類的時間軸, 就很實用。它也顯示重疊的情況 (工作同時進行),且有助您發現銜接不佳的相依任務。

閱讀:第一次使用甘特圖嗎?請從此處開始。

在工作管理工具中的時間軸和行事曆範例

在以下的範例中,我們會使用 Asana 說明使用協作管理工具作為您的專案行事曆或時間軸,而不用 Excel 試算表會是什麼情況。

編輯和內容行事曆

[產品 UI] Asana 中的編輯行事曆專案 (行事曆檢視)

在試算表管理您的編輯行事曆需要很多前置工作和手動更新,或是在隨時有最後一刻的突發事件或日期變動發生時,必須大幅移動儲存格。然而,若有工作管理工具,您就能將編輯行事曆連結到內容製作流程,以便瞭解各部分內容處於哪個開發階段,並且可以視需要快速改動發佈日期。

免費的編輯行事曆範本

行銷活動

在試算表中建立行銷活動計劃就像在玩俄羅斯方塊遊戲。只要您想到有事情適合放進去,就會突然出現打亂一切的新任務。 然而,當您在 專案管理工具中使用時間軸檢視時,則很容易安排任務的排程,查看時間衝突,並改動工作,這樣一來,您就可以準時發佈行銷活動。

免費的行銷活動管理範本

活動策劃

[時間軸檢視] Asana 中的客戶答謝活動專案

若要成功舉辦活動,有許多必須追蹤的細節 ,以至於很可能不久後就變得難以在試算表中管理每項任務、每個廠商以及內部專案關係人,因為您必須不斷地更新資訊。藉助工作管理系統,您則可以建立由可行動任務組成的時間軸、讓職責和期限清楚明白,並且讓所有聯絡人資訊和創意資產與任務相互連結,如此一來,您的活動就可以順利舉行,毫無閃失。

免費的活動策劃範本

產品發佈

[時間軸檢視] Asana 中的產品發表時間軸、甘特圖風格檢視

由於變動的部分和要協調的團隊如此多,因此當您在 Excel 時間軸中管理產品發佈時,很容易因為無法查看工作如何相互連結,導致錯過關鍵步驟。在工作管理工具中,您可設定任務的日期範圍和相依性、查看時間衝突並調整工作,並附加檔案到任務,以利所有人知道何時發生什麼事。

免費的產品發佈範本

如何建立更出色的專案時間軸或行事曆

您現在既已瞭解各種檢視的使用時機,以及在工作管理工具中建立專案時間軸或行事曆的優勢,以下說明如何在 Asana 中建立:

  1. 建立一個 新專案或使用 CSV 匯入工具匯入現有的 Excel 專案計劃

  2. 闡明為了完成專案必須先完成的各個步驟及各個工作部分。

  3. 設定每個工作部分的開始及截止日期,使工作進行的時間點清楚明瞭。

  4. 將工作指派給隊友,讓職責劃分清楚,而您則可要求隊友對其負責。

  5. 按一下時間軸或行事曆標籤頁,在最適合您的檢視模式中親眼查看專案計劃

  6. 視需要改動工作並調整您的計劃,以便確保專案的進度正常,並遵守期限。

若想要獲得靈感或需要一點額外協助,請造訪 Asana 的範本庫。您可從超過五十個範本中自由選擇,無論您的團隊執行什麼工作,都能快速輕鬆地啟動專案。

讓試算表管理專案成為歷史

成功的專案始自清楚的計劃。在正確的工具中建立專案時間軸或行事曆,您的團隊就能提高生產力、有效地協作,並對專案計劃感到有信心。

若您尚未佈署 Asana,請先開始免費試用。您將能存取數十種範本,立刻開始規劃下一個專案。

The best alternative to Excel timelines and calendars

Alternative to Excel calendars and timelines
  • In this article, you’ll:
    • Learn how Excel compares to project management software for creating timelines and calendars
    • View examples of project timelines and calendars
    • Get the steps to set up a calendar or timeline for your project

Mapping out each step of a project is critical to creating a clear plan. But it can be hard to visualize how work connects and when everything is due if you’re only looking at a list of tasks. That’s where project timelines and calendars come in. Both offer a visual way to display your project plan so you can see when work is happening.

Your first instinct might be to open up Excel and start creating your project timeline or calendar in there, but take a step back for a second. While, yes, you can use Excel to create your project calendar or timeline, it’s not always the best tool for the job. Excel is great for calculating numbers and creating pivot tables, but it wasn’t built to manage projects or display information in timelines and calendars.

On the other hand, collaborative project management software, like Asana, helps teams plan and manage projects and has built in timeline and calendar views (no formulas or cell-merging required) to help teams visualize their work.

In this article, we’ll cover where Excel falls short for critical project management needs, how it compares to project management software, examples of project timelines and calendars, and steps to create one for your project.

Excel timelines and calendars vs. project management software

Excel wasn’t made for managing projects. Here are three pitfalls of using Excel to manage projects, and ways you can improve the way you manage projects by switching to a designated project management tool:

A consistent project structure
  • Excel: Since a spreadsheet is a blank canvas of individual cells, you need to determine what information goes into one when creating your calendar or timeline. It can be time consuming to set up the structure and hard to capture every critical detail. Plus, everyone can set up their calendars and timelines differently, which creates inconsistencies across projects.
  • Project management software: Since it’s specifically designed to manage projects, this tool has built-in structure to help you map out your plan. There are usually standard ways to capture each piece of work, organize the work, and additional fields to capture important information like assignee and due date. Plus, you can quickly set your plan up in different views—like a calendar, timeline, list, or board—and use the same structure across multiple projects.
A centralized, actionable plan and timeline
  • Excel: In a spreadsheet, the information in each cell isn’t tied to the actual work being done. You still need to use email, chat, and other tools to communicate and collaborate about project work with your teammates. As a result, critical project details are scattered in different places and important context can easily get lost.
  • Project management software: You can organize, track, and communicate about every piece of project work with your team in one place. This makes it clear to everyone what needs to be done, who is responsible for each piece, and when it’s due. Then you can communicate, collaborate, and attach files right in the tool so everything stays connected and information is easy to find.
Project updates in real time
  • Excel: Because work doesn’t actually happen in your spreadsheet, you need to manually update the information in each cell when scope, responsibilities, and deadlines change, or simply when tasks get completed. This can be time-consuming, especially for complex projects or timelines, and information can quickly become outdated or slip through the cracks.
  • Project management software: When someone completes a task, reassigns a piece of work, or moves a due date in the project, your timeline or calendar will automatically update to reflect these changes. This helps project members feel confident in your plan, ensures it’s clear what they’re responsible for, and where work stands at any given time.

Should you use a calendar or timeline?

Choosing whether to use a project calendar or timeline will depend on the complexity of your project and the information you want to see. Here’s when to use each type of visual project plan:

Project calendar

Example of project calendar

This view is useful when you want to see when work is happening based on date ranges and deadlines.

Project timeline

Example of a project timeline

Timelines are useful when you need to see the sequence of work and how it’s grouped together, in addition to when it’s happening.

Examples of timelines and calendars in a project management tool

In the following examples, we’ll use Asana to illustrate the what using a collaborative project management tool for your project calendar or timeline (depending on your needs) over an Excel spreadsheet looks like.

Editorial calendars

Editorial calendar example in Asana

Managing your editorial calendar out of a spreadsheet requires a lot of upfront work and manual updating or moving cells around whenever last-minute stories pop-up or dates shift. With a project management tool, however, you can connect your editorial calendar to the content production process so you know where each piece is in the development cycle and can quickly shift publish dates around as needed.

Marketing campaigns

marketing campaigns calendar example

Building out your marketing campaign plan in a spreadsheet is like playing a game of Tetris. Just when you think something fits, a new task pops up that throws it all off. When you use the timeline view in your project management tool, however, it’s easy to schedule tasks, see timing conflicts, and move work around—so you can launch your campaign on time.

Event planning

Event planning timeline

To produce a successful event, there are so many details to keep track of and it quickly becomes too difficult to manage every trask, vendor, and internal stakeholder in a spreadsheet you have to constantly update. With a project management tool, you can create an actionable timeline of tasks, make responsibilities and deadlines clear, and keep all of the contracts and creative assets connected to tasks—so your event goes off without a hitch.

Product launches

Product launch timeline example

With so many moving pieces and teams to coordinate with, it’s easy to miss critical steps when managing your product launch in an Excel timeline because you can’t see how work connects. In a product management tool, you can set date ranges and dependencies for tasks, see timing conflicts and adjust work, and attach files to tasks—so everyone knows what’s happening, when.

How to create a better project timeline or calendar

Now that you know when to use each view and the benefits of building your project timeline or calendar in a collaborative project management tool, here’s how to create one in Asana:

  1. Create a new project or import your existing Excel project plan with the CSV importer.
  2. Map out each step and piece of work that needs to be done to complete your project.
  3. Set start and due dates for each piece of work so it’s clear when it’s happening.
  4. Assign the work to teammates so responsibilities are clear and you can hold teammates accountable.
  5. Click the Timeline or Calendar tab to visually see your project plan in the view that works best for you.
  6. Move work around and adjust your plan as needed so you can keep your project on track and hit your deadlines.

Say goodbye to managing projects in spreadsheets

A successful project starts with a clear plan. By building your project timeline or calendar in the right tool, your team can be more productive, collaborative effectively, and feel confident in your project plan.

If you don’t have Asana yet, get started with a free trial of Asana Premium.

Create a timeline or calendar in Asana today.