工作附帶事務如何妨礙實際工作

Molly Talbert 撰稿人特寫照片Molly TalbertMarch 21st, 2020
facebooktwitterlinkedin
工作附帶事務糟糕之處文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

世界各地的企業都在迅速變化。從遠距和靈活工作的興起,到組織內部溝通的方式,如今工作中許多方面都與幾年前有所不同。這如此巨大變化的最前沿,當屬我們在工作場所中的協作方式,以及有助於推動這一方式的新工具和軟體。

但是若管理不善,也並非所有變化和協作都是好事。

溝通和協作管道激增,隨之出現了無休止的通知和孤立存在的專案。隨著工作負荷的增長,資訊變得越來越分散,角色和職責也越來越模糊。我們試圖讓事情變得更加緊密,卻創造出許多其他問題,這些問題加起來就是一堆不必要、乏味的工作,也只是為了追蹤正在發生的事情。

換言之,如今的知識工作者正被大量的「工作附帶事務」所淹沒。

什麼是工作附帶事務?

您可能會疑惑,到底何謂「工作附帶事務」?Asana 的工作剖析索引調查了來自世界各地超過 10,000 名知識工作者,將工作附帶事務定義為:從有意義的工作中佔用時間的活動,包括溝通工作、搜尋資訊、在應用程式之間切換、管理不斷變化的優先事項以及追蹤工作狀態。

這在現實生活中到底會是何樣貌?工作附帶事務即您一天下來所做的、您受僱從事的實際技能工作 (例如行銷分析或編碼) 以外的事項。大多數人認為這是工作中平凡且耗時的事情。

根據 Asana 的工作剖析索引,一個人 60% 的工作時間都花費在工作附帶事務上,而非技術工作上。所有這些小時數加起來,相當於浪費了大量的時間。在全球範圍內,一年當中,知識工作者平均花費 103 小時在非必要的會議上,209 小時用於重複工作,352 小時用於談論工作。

您和您的團隊成員耗費在隨機任務上的所有時間,無法花費在受雇從事的技能工作上,這會產生負面連鎖反應,整個團隊和組織都會對此有感。

工作附帶事務如何對生產力造成損害

仔細想想,工作附帶事務不僅僅是會讓工作日變得更長、更難而已。由於它佔據了其他重要工作,因此會產生無數延遲的專案、錯過的截止時間和非必要的原地踏步。

它確實給個人和組織都帶來了麻煩。

縱觀全局,「工作剖析索引」發現,絕大多數知識工作者 (88%) 認同,時限緊張的專案和大型計劃皆會由於他們手頭上的任務量而進度落後或陷入困境。

有如此多的干擾和不同的資訊儲存庫,人們幾乎不可能掌握細節。許多組織並沒有適當的流程來規劃、組織和執行任務或管理專案。

在個人層面,工作附帶事務會顯著影響其日常工作負荷。

「工作剖析索引」還發現,工作附帶事務會導致工作負荷不平衡以及工作時間過長。人們錯過期限的主要原因是什麼?回復電子郵件和訊息、意料之外的會議、追著請求核准以及缺乏明確的目標和責任。

在之前的一項研究中,Asana 對澳大利亞、美國和英國的 6,000 名知識工作者進行了調查,80% 的知識工作者表示感覺快要筋疲力盡了。不平衡工作負荷的增加是四分之一員工壓力的主要來源,82% 的人表示當他們感覺到壓力時,對工作的參與度降低。

事實證明,更多的工作和協作並不一定會提高生產力和幸福感。但這絕對不會就此而已。

減少工作附帶事務,回歸到業務上

工作附帶事務是一個普遍存在的難題,但還是有一些方法可以解決。

許多不滿和壓力來源於缺乏明晰度和一致性。「工作剖析索引」發現,只有 43% 的受訪者清楚他們組織今年的目標,只有 46% 的人清楚他們的工作如何能為公司創造價值。

讓每個人都與大局維持一致,對於確保日常工作順利進行至關重要。若人們不知道他們的工作與高階目標如何保持一致,則難以維持積極性並產生有價值的工作。

在 Asana,我們使用明晰度金字塔,為公司中的每個人提供結構。無論是產品藍圖還是商業計劃,它都將長期目標與短期目標連結起來。金字塔的最頂端是願景,它指引著所有決策,其次是策略,然後是公司範圍的目標、部門目標、季度目標、個人專案和任務。這是佔據我們大部分時間的日常工作。但是,由於這些內容都朝著願景邁進,最終,每個人都會確切知道他們會如何為公司的總體目標做出貢獻。

當每個人都步調一致,且知道他們如何與策略性計劃和公司願景連結起來,您就需要重新思考技術,以有助於而非阻礙流程的方式加以運用。

如今,平均而言,員工每天會使用 10 個不同的應用程式。他們使用的應用程式越多,他們感到分心或拖延的時間就越長。對於許多成功、快速發展的公司而言,透過工作管理平台消除混亂,並且將每個人整合到一個系統中是必不可少的。

ClassPass 如何尋求明晰度

ClassPass 是一家快速發展的公司,可以在其中輕鬆尋找和預訂健身課程,其 25 人行銷團隊的任務,就是每年開展 200 多個宣傳活動,以提高公司的品牌知名度,擴大使用者群體。但大規模、快速地開展這些活動並不是一個簡單的過程。

行銷團隊使用電子郵件、聊天和試算表這樣的笨拙組合來協作開展活動,結果:

  • 沒有關於截止日期的事實來源或責任

  • 不斷需要狀態更新

  • 存在資訊孤島,且文件遺失於電子郵件往來紀錄中

  • 重複的工作請求應該合併

隨著 Asana 的引入,他們削減了許多應用程式,並且開始在一處地方進行協作。結果,他們減少了 25% 的團隊會議,團隊效率提高了 20%,而且宣傳活動的產出速度提高了 30-40%。

透過與全公司的目標維持一致,提高品牌知名度和註冊率,然後有效地運用技術,ClassPass 消除了以前困擾他們團隊工作的大部分混亂和工作附帶事務。

當員工感到與更大的願景連結在一起,且擁有能夠增強而非使其不堪重負的工具時,人們就能更有效地協作,掌控他們的工作負荷,並且更快地做出決策。結果很有希望可再次證明這一切。

下載工作剖析索引以深入瞭解。

相關資源

文章

將冒充者症候群轉變為自信:給經理人及個人的 15 個提示

How work about work gets in the way of real work

Project templates
  • In this article, you will learn:
    • What work about work is
    • How work about work hurts productivity
    • How to cut the work about work—and get back to business
    • How ClassPass found clarity

Businesses around the world are changing rapidly. From the rise of remote and flexible work to the ways organizations communicate internally, many aspects of work look different today than they did just a few years ago. At the forefront of so much change is the way we collaborate in the workplace and the new tools and software that help facilitate it.

However, if mismanaged, not all change or collaboration is good.

With the proliferation of communication and collaboration channels also come endless notifications and siloed projects. As workloads grow, information becomes increasingly fragmented and roles and responsibilities are murkier. By trying to become more connected, we’ve created a host of other problems that add up to a bunch of unnecessary and tedious work in order to keep track of what’s going on.

In other words, today’s knowledge workers are inundated by huge volumes of “work about work.”

What is work about work?

You may be wondering, what exactly is “work about work”? Asana’s Anatomy of Work Index, which surveyed over 10,000 knowledge workers from around the world, defined work about work as: the activities that take time away from meaningful work, including communicating about work, searching for information, switching between apps, managing shifting priorities, and chasing the status of work.

What does that actually look like in real life? Work about work is all of the activities you do throughout the day that aren’t the actual skilled work you were hired to do, such as marketing analysis or coding. It’s the mundane, time-consuming stuff that most people just assume comes with the job.

According to Asana’s Anatomy of Work Index, 60% of a person’s time at work is spent on work about work and not on skilled work. All of those hours add up to huge amounts of lost time. Globally, over the course of a year, the average knowledge worker spends 103 hours in unnecessary meetings, 209 hours on duplicative work, and 352 hours talking about work.

All that time spent on random tasks instead of the skilled work you and your team members were hired to do creates negative ripple effects that are felt throughout the team and organization.

How work about work hurts productivity

When you think about it, work about work doesn’t just make the days longer and harder. Since it takes away from other important work, the effects can be seen in countless delayed projects, missed deadlines, and needless wheel spinning.

And it spells real trouble for both individuals and organizations.

Looking at the big picture, the Anatomy of Work Index found that the vast majority of knowledge workers (88%) agree that time-sensitive projects and large initiatives have fallen behind or through the cracks due to the volume of tasks they have on their plate.

With so many distractions and different repositories for information, it’s nearly impossible for people to stay on top of the details. Many organizations don’t have the right processes in place to plan, organize, and execute tasks or manage projects.

On an individual level, work about work significantly impacts daily workloads.

The Anatomy of Work Index also found that work about work contributes to unbalanced workloads and long hours at work. The main reasons people stay late? Responding to emails and messages, unexpected meetings, chasing for approvals, and lack of clarity around goals and responsibilities.

In a previous study Asana did, surveying 6,000 knowledge workers across Australia, the U.S., and the U.K., 80% of knowledge workers reported feeling close to burn out. The growth in unbalanced workloads is the primary source of stress for a quarter of employees and, when people feel stressed, 82% say they feel less engaged with their job.

It turns out that more work and collaboration doesn’t necessarily add up to increased productivity and happiness. But this definitely isn’t the end of the story.

Cut the work about work—and get back to business

Work about work is a universal problem, but there are a few ways to combat it.

A lot of discontent and stress stems from a lack of clarity and alignment. The Anatomy of Work Index found that just 43% of respondents are clear on their organization’s objectives for the year and only 46% are clear on how their work adds value to the company.

Getting everyone aligned around the big picture is critical for making sure the day-to-day runs smoothly. If people don’t know how their work aligns with high-level goals, it’s hard to stay motivated and produce valuable work.

At Asana, we use the pyramid of clarity to provide structure for everyone in the company. It connects long-term objectives to shorter-term goals, whether it’s a product roadmap or a business plan. At the very top of the pyramid, is the mission, which guides all decisions, followed by strategy, then company wide objectives, departmental objectives, quarterly objectives, individual projects, and tasks. This is the everyday work that fills up most of our time. But, since they all ladder up to the mission, ultimately, everyone knows exactly how they’re contributing to the company’s overall objectives.

Once everyone is aligned and knows how they are connected to strategic initiatives and the company’s mission, you need to rethink technology, using it in a way that helps, rather than hinders, processes.

Today, the average employee uses 10 different apps every day. The more apps they use, the longer they spend feeling distracted or procrastinating. Cutting the clutter and bringing everyone into a single system with a work management platform is essential for many successful, fast-moving companies.

How ClassPass found clarity

At ClassPass, a rapidly growing company that makes it easy to find and book fitness classes, the 25-person marketing team was tasked with running over 200 campaigns per year to increase the company’s brand awareness and user base. But delivering those campaigns at scale—and quickly—wasn’t a straightforward process.

The marketing team used an unwieldy combination of email, chat, and spreadsheets to collaborate on campaigns, resulting in:

  • No source of truth or accountability on due dates
  • A constant need for status updates
  • Information silos and documents got lost in email threads
  • Duplicate work requests could have been consolidated

With the introduction of Asana, they cut out many applications and started collaborating in one place. As a result, they reduced team meetings by 25%, improved team efficiency by 20%, and produced campaigns 30-40% faster.

By aligning to the larger company goals—increase brand awareness and signups—and then using technology efficiently, ClassPass eliminated much of the confusion and work about work that had previously plagued their team.

When employees feel connected to a bigger mission and have tools that empower rather than inundate, people can collaborate more efficiently, take control of their workloads, and make faster decisions. Hopefully, the results will, again, speak for themselves.

Download the Anatomy of Work Index to learn more.

Manage your tasks, projects, and more with Asana