SWOT 分析:什麼是 SWOT 分析以及如何使用 (附有範例)

Alicia Raeburn 撰稿人特寫照片Alicia RaeburnApril 8th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
SWOT 分析說明文章橫幅圖像
檢視範本

摘要

SWOT 分析可協助您辨識特定專案或整體商業計劃的優勢、劣勢、機會及威脅。這個工具可幫助您的團隊有策略地規劃,並提前掌握市場趨勢。下文我們將描述 SWOT 架構的各個部份,並提供逐步說明,以便協助您執行自己的分析。

您是否正在尋找讓您的組織從競爭中脫穎而出的方法?SWOT 分析是一種用於識別優勢、弱點、機會與威脅的技巧,進而替您的業務發展一套策略規劃。雖然乍聽之下似乎很困難,但實際上卻相當容易。 

不論您是在尋找外部機會或內部優勢,我們將透過有用的範例,逐步引導您完成自己的 SWOT 分析。

什麼是 SWOT 分析?

SWOT 分析是一種替您的業務甚至特定專案識別其優勢、弱點、機會與威脅的技巧。雖然 SWOT 分析廣泛使用於小型企業、非營利組織,乃至於大型企業等組織,但它也適用於個人及專業用途。

SWOT 分析是簡單而強大的工具,能助您判別進步所需的競爭機會。透過此方法,您不但可以努力改進您的團隊與業務,還能同時遙遙領先於市場趨勢。

SWOT 代表什麼?

簡單來說,SWOT 一詞代表優勢 (Strengths)弱點 (Weaknesses)機會 (Opportunities),以及威脅 (Threats)。其中的每一項因素都非常重要,以便為組織的成長制定適當的規劃。這就是此分析的用武之地。

優勢、弱點、機會、威脅

當各項因素一起分析時,SWOT 的架構能讓您以更宏觀的視角瞭解您目前的處境以及如何踏出下一步。讓我們更深入瞭解每一個字母代表的意義,以及它們如何助您判別有待改進的領域。

優勢

SWOT 中的優勢 (Strength) 是指表現良好的內部措舉。這可以與其他措舉或外部競爭優勢進行比較。對這些領域進行檢查有助您瞭解哪些部分目前運作良好。您便可以將您知道有效的做法 (也就是您的優勢) 運用於其他需要額外支援的領域,例如提升您的團隊效率

在您開始研究組織的優勢時,請先自問以下幾個問題:

  • 有哪些地方是我們做得好的?

  • 我們的組織有什麼獨特之處?

  • 我們的組織有哪些地方受到目標受眾的青睞?

以下是一則協助您入門的優勢範例。

客戶服務:我們的淨推薦值 (NPS) 分數高達 90 分,說明相較於競爭對手,我們的客戶服務是世界一流的。

弱點

SWOT 中的弱點 (Weaknesses) 是指表現不佳的內部措舉。請先分析您的優勢再研究弱點,以便建立成功和失敗的基準線。識別內部弱點是您改進專案的起點。

類似於檢查優勢的過程,當您開始識別您的弱點時,您可以問問自己這些不同的問題:

  • 哪些措舉的表現不佳?原因是什麼?

  • 有哪些地方可以改進?

  • 什麼樣的資源能夠幫助我們提高績效?

以下是一則關於弱點的範例。

電子商務的可視度:由於缺乏行銷經費,我們的網站可視度十分低落,且行動應用程式交易量持續下跌。

機會

SWOT 中的機會 (Opportunities) 結合了您現有的優勢、弱點,以及任何可能提升您競爭地位的外在措舉。這些機會可能是您想要改進的弱點,或是在分析的前兩個階段中未發現的領域。

由於有許多方式可以發掘機會,故在開始之前考慮以下這些問題會很有幫助:

  • 我們可以利用哪些資源改進弱點?

  • 我們的服務中是否有任何市場缺口?

  • 我們的年度目標是什麼?

以下是基於上述優勢和弱點的機會範例。

行銷活動:為了提升電子商務的可視度,我們將於 YouTube、Facebook 和 Instagram 上執行廣告活動。

威脅

SWOT 中的威脅 (Threats) 是指有可能導致問題的領域。威脅與弱點不同,因為威脅是外在的,且通常不在您的掌控之中。這可能包括任何事情,例如全球疫情大流行或是競爭格局中發生的變化。

以下是您在識別外在威脅時可以自問的幾個問題:

  • 有哪些業界中的變化可能會引發問題?

  • 有哪些新的市場趨勢即將萌芽?

  • 我們的競爭對手在哪些方面優於我們?

以下是一則可能使您的業務遭遇問題的威脅範例。

新競爭對手:由於新的電子商務競爭對手即將在下個月啟動,因此我們的客戶數可能會下滑。

SWOT 分析範例

建立 SWOT 分析最受歡迎的其中一個方法,是將優勢、弱點、機會及威脅以可視化的方式呈現。這個格式稱為 SWOT 矩陣。通常的做法是將矩陣分為四個獨立的方形區域,使其相連並組成一個更大的方形。

SWOT 矩陣非常適合用來收集資訊和記錄驅動決策的問題。不僅便於日後參考,亦能可視化任何出現的模式。

以下的範例將助您瞭解如何開始進行您的 SWOT 分析。

SWOT 分析範例

如果正確且有效地使用,您的矩陣會是評估組織優勢與弱點的絕佳工具。建立矩陣後,您就可以專注於實際利用您所發現的機會。

藉助 Asana 規劃專案

如何進行 SWOT 分析

SWOT 分析可以透過多種方式進行。 有些團隊喜歡見面並在板子上寫下想法,而有些團隊則偏好建立正式的 SWOT 矩陣。 無論您選擇以何種方式建立 SWOT 分析,在規劃過程中發揮創意可以讓新構思流動不息,並產生更獨特的解決方案。

有幾個方法可以確保您的 SWOT 分析徹底且正確執行。其中一些技巧包括:以有利於團隊合作的方式集結您的團隊、提前準備以便有效利用時間,以及在想法的選擇上發揮創意。一起來仔細看看一些協助您入門的提示吧。

提示 1:考量內部因素

內部因素是源自於內部流程的優勢與弱點。由於您對內部因素的結果有較佳的掌控,若您有辦法,這些因素往往很容易解決。

當遇到內部因素時,您可以開始以幾種不同的方式實施改進。

  1. 與部門關係人會面,制定有關如何改進現況的商業計劃。

  2. 研究並實施專案管理工具這類有助您簡化流程的新工具。

您解決內部因素的方式將取決於問題的類型。針對複雜的改進計劃,您甚至可能會需要結合使用兩者。

提示 2:評估外部因素

外部因素源於您無法控制的流程。這包括了競爭對手、市場趨勢,以及任何由外到內對您的組織造成影響的事物。

外部因素較難解決,因為您無法直接掌控其結果。您可以做的是調整自己的流程,以減輕負面外部因素所帶來的影響。您可以透過以下方式解決這些問題:

  1. 與市場趨勢競爭

  2. 在市場趨勢出現之前進行預測 

雖然您無法控制外部環境,但您可以控制您的組織如何對其做出反應。

假設您希望與市場趨勢競爭,這裡的範例是競爭對手推出了一項新產品,其表現優於您自己的產品。 雖然您不能拿走該產品,卻可以努力推出更好的產品以減緩銷售量的下降。或者,您可以嘗試預測市場趨勢,以便在外部因素實際發生時做好準備。

提示 3:團隊合作成就夢想

雖然是老生常談,但團隊合作對於腦力激盪創新的新想法非常有效。請邀請來自不同部門的不同團隊成員,以便採納來自公司各個部門的想法。請留意您邀請的團隊成員數目,因為邀請太多參與者可能會導致失焦或參與度過低。成效最佳的腦力激盪會議大約包含 10 位隊友。

提示 4:發揮創意

為了產生富有創意的想法,您必須先營造合適的情境,意即建立有趣的機會發想方式。相關的範例包括隨機選擇匿名的想法、討論明顯的不良範例,或進行團隊凝聚遊戲以振奮團隊。

提示 5:排名想法

有趣的部分結束後,就該對最佳機會進行排名了。排名可以由團隊或較小型的領導者團隊來完成。最好的做法是討論每個想法,並按照 1 至 10 分的等級將其排名。在根據團隊能力和整體影響達成對首要想法的共識後,您便可以由商業企劃案開始著手實施這些想法。

SWOT 分析為何重要?

SWOT 分析能助您改進流程及為成長做規劃。雖然它與競爭力分析有些相似,但不同之處在於 SWOT 分析同時評估內部與外部因素。分析這些機會及威脅的關鍵領域能帶來深入解析,讓您的團隊為成功做好準備。

SWOT 分析為何重要?

SWOT 分析的用處不僅限於組織。您可以使用個人的 SWOT 分析檢查生活中那些領域可以從改進中受益,包括您的領導風格乃至於溝通技巧。不論您選擇何種使用方式, SWOT 分析都很重要,原因有三:

1. 識別機會領域

執行分析的最大益處之一,是能夠確定成長的機會。對於知道自己想要改進但不確定如何開始的初創公司和團隊來說,這是一個很好的起點。

機會可以來自許多不同的途徑,例如外部因素 (例如使您的產品更多樣化以取得競爭優勢) 或內部因素 (例如改進團隊的工作流程)。 無論哪種方式,妥善利用機會都是團隊成長的絕佳方式。

2. 識別可改進的領域

改進現有專案是持續成長的另一個不二法門。 在 SWOT 分析過程中識別弱點和威脅可以為您鋪路,讓您制定更出色的商業策略。

歸根結底,從錯誤中吸取教訓是出類拔萃的最佳方式。 一旦找到可以簡化的領域,您就可以與團隊成員一起集思廣益制定行動計劃,意即使用您所知道的有效方法並利用您公司的優勢。

3. 識別可能存在風險的領域

無論您是否有風險管控表,在風險造成疑慮之前就識別之總是至關重要的。SWOT 分析可助您掌握可能在風險決策流程中產生影響的任何可行動項目。

將您的 SWOT 分析與 PEST 分析搭配使用或許會有所助益。後者檢查的是外部解決方案,例如政治、經濟、社會和技術因素,所有這些都可以幫助您提前識別潛在的風險。

利用 SWOT 分析規劃成長

SWOT 分析可以作為識別關鍵優勢、弱點、機會與威脅的有效方式。瞭解您目前的處境以及欲前進的方向,將有助於團隊與組織整體的成長。

別忘了,小小的創意和協作可以產生莫大的影響。請利用這 100 則團隊激勵語錄鼓勵您的團隊跳脫既定的思考框架

免費試用 Asana

相關資源

網路研討會

How Asana uses Asana for IT and technical program management

SWOT analysis: What it is and how to use it (with examples)

Team Asana contributor imageTeam AsanaJuly 1st, 20217 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
SWOT analysis explained article banner image

Summary

A SWOT analysis helps you identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats for a specific project or your overall business plan. It’s a tool that can help your team plan strategically and stay ahead of market trends. Below, we describe each part of the SWOT framework and provide step-by-step instructions to help you conduct your own analysis.

Looking for a way to separate your organization from the competition? A SWOT analysis is a technique used to identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats in order to develop a strategic plan for your business. While it may sound difficult, it’s actually quite simple. 

Whether you’re looking for external opportunities or internal strengths, we’ll walk you through how to perform your own SWOT analysis with helpful examples along the way. 

What is a SWOT analysis?

A SWOT analysis is a technique used to identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats for your business or even a specific project. While most widely used by organizations from small businesses and non-profits to large enterprises, a SWOT analysis can be used for both personal and professional purposes. 

While simple, a SWOT analysis is a powerful tool for helping you identify competitive opportunities for improvement. This way you can work to improve your team and your business while staying ahead of market trends. 

What does SWOT stand for?

Simply put, SWOT stands for strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. Each of these factors is important to examine in order to properly plan for organizational growth. That’s where the analysis comes in. 

Strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats

When analyzed together, the SWOT framework can paint a larger picture of where you are and how to get to the next step. Let’s dive a little deeper into each of these terms and how they can help identify areas of improvement. 

Strengths

Strengths in SWOT refer to internal initiatives that are performing well. This could be compared to other initiatives or an external competitive edge. Examining these areas helps you understand what’s already working. You can then use the techniques that you know work—your strengths—in other areas that might need additional support, like improving your team’s efficiency

When looking into the strengths of your organization, ask yourself the following questions to get started:

  • What do we do well?

  • What’s unique about our organization?

  • What does our target audience like about our organization?

Here’s an example of a strength to help get you started. 

Customer service: Our customer service is world-class compared to our competitors seeing as we have an NPS score of 90. 

Weaknesses

Weaknesses in SWOT refer to internal initiatives that are underperforming. It’s a good idea to analyze your strengths before your weaknesses in order to create the baseline of success and failure. Identifying internal weaknesses provides a starting point for improving those projects.

Similar to examining strengths, you can ask yourself different questions to get started on identifying your weaknesses:

  • Which initiatives are underperforming and why?

  • What could be improved?

  • What resources could improve our performance?

Here’s an example of a weakness.

E-commerce visibility: Our website visibility is low due to a lack of marketing budget, with mobile app transactions continuing to decrease.

Opportunities

Opportunities in SWOT are the result of your existing strengths and weaknesses, along with any external initiatives that will put you in a stronger competitive position. These could be anything from weaknesses that you’d like to improve or areas that weren’t identified in the first two phases of your analysis. 

Since there are multiple ways to come up with opportunities, it’s helpful to consider these questions before getting started:

  • What resources can we use to improve weaknesses?

  • Are there market gaps in our services?

  • What are our goals for the year?

Here’s an example of an opportunity based on the above strengths and weaknesses. 

Marketing campaign: In order to improve e-commerce visibility, we’ll run ad campaigns on YouTube, Facebook, and Instagram.

Threats

Threats in SWOT refers to areas that have the potential to cause problems. This is different from weaknesses as threats are external and generally out of your control. This can include anything from a global pandemic to a change in the competitive landscape. 

Here are a few questions to ask yourself to identify external threats:

  • What changes in the industry are cause for concern?

  • What new market trends are on the horizon?

  • Where are our competitors outperforming us?

Here’s an example of a threat that could leave your business vulnerable to problems. 

New competitor: With a new e-commerce competitor set to launch within the next month, we could see a decline in customers. 

SWOT analysis example

One of the most popular ways to create a SWOT analysis is by visually representing strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats. This format is called a SWOT matrix. It’s usually organized into four separate squares that meet to create one larger square. 

A SWOT matrix is great for collecting information and documenting the questions that brought you to your decisions. Not only will it be handy to reference later on, but it’s also great for visualizing any patterns that arise. 

Here’s an example to give you an idea of how to get started on your own. 

SWOT analysis example

When used correctly and effectively, your matrix can be a great toolkit for evaluating your organization’s strengths and weaknesses. Once you’ve created your matrix, you can focus on how to actually implement the opportunities you found. 

Try project planning in Asana

How to do a SWOT analysis 

A SWOT analysis can be conducted in a variety of ways. While some teams like to meet and throw ideas on a board, others prefer to create a formal SWOT matrix. However you choose to create your SWOT analysis, getting creative with your planning process allows new ideas to flow and results in more unique solutions. 

There are a few ways to ensure that your SWOT analysis is thorough and done correctly. Some of these tricks include gathering your team in a way that’s conducive for teamwork, preparing beforehand so you use time efficiently, and getting creative about how you choose ideas. Let’s take a closer look at some tips to help you get started.

Tip 1: Consider internal factors 

Internal factors are strengths and weaknesses that stem from internal processes. These tend to be easier to solve if you have the means since you have more control over the outcome. 

When you come across internal factors, you can start implementing improvements in a couple of different ways.

  1. Meet with department stakeholders to form a business plan around how to improve your current situation.

  2. Research and implement new tools, such as a project management tool, that can help streamline these processes for you. 

The way you go about solving internal factors will depend on the type of problem. You may even need to use a combination of both if it’s a complex improvement plan. 

Tip 2: Evaluate external factors

External factors stem from processes outside of your control. This includes competitors, market trends, and anything else that’s affecting your organization from the outside in. 

External factors are trickier to solve as you can’t directly control the outcome. What you can do is pivot your own processes in a way that mitigates negative external factors. You can work to solve these issues by:

  1. Competing with market trends

  2. Forecasting market trends before they happen 

While you won’t be able to control an external environment, you can control how your organization reacts to it. 

Let’s say, for instance, that you’re looking to compete with a market trend. An example of this is a competitor introducing a new product to the market that’s outperforming your own. While you can’t take that product away, you can work to launch an even better product to mitigate any decline in sales. Alternatively, you can attempt to forecast market trends so you’re prepared when external factors do occur. 

Tip 3: Teamwork makes the dream work

It may be an age-old saying, but teamwork is incredibly effective for brainstorming new and innovative ideas. Invite different team members from various departments. That way, ideas from each part of the company are represented. Be intentional about the number of team members you invite, since too many participants could lead to a lack of focus or participation. The sweet spot for a productive brainstorming session is around 10 teammates. 

Tip 4: Get creative

In order to generate creative ideas, you have to first invite them. That means creating fun ways to come up with opportunities. Some examples of this are randomly selecting anonymous ideas, talking through obviously bad examples, or playing team building games to psych up the team. 

Tip 5: Rank ideas

Once the fun is done, it’s time to rank the best opportunities. This can be done as a team or with a smaller group of leaders. The best way to do this is to talk through each idea and rank it on a scale of one through 10. Once you’ve agreed on your top ideas based on team capabilities and overall impact, you can work on implementing them by starting with a business case

Why is a SWOT analysis important?

A SWOT analysis can help you improve processes and plan for growth. While similar to a competitive analysis, it differs in that it evaluates both internal and external factors. Analyzing key areas around these opportunities and threats will equip you with the insights to set your team up for success. 

Why is a SWOT analysis important?

A SWOT analysis isn’t only useful for organizations. With a personal SWOT analysis, you can examine areas of your life that could benefit from improvement, from your leadership style to your communication skills. However you choose to use it, a SWOT analysis is important for these three reasons. 

1. Identifies areas of opportunity

One of the biggest benefits of conducting an analysis is to determine opportunities for growth. It’s a great starting point for startups and teams that know they want to improve but aren’t exactly sure how to get started. 

Opportunities can come from many different avenues, like external factors such as diversifying your products for competitive advantage or internal factors like improving your team’s workflow. Either way, capitalizing on opportunities is an excellent way to grow as a team.

2. Identifies areas that could be improved

Improving existing projects is another foolproof way to continue growing. Identifying weaknesses and threats during a SWOT analysis can pave the way to a better business strategy.

Ultimately, learning from your mistakes is the best way to excel. Once you find areas that can be streamlined, you can work with team members to brainstorm an action plan. This will mean using what you know works and building off of your company’s strengths. 

3. Identifies areas that could be at risk

Whether you have a risk register in place or not, it’s always crucial to identify risks before they become a cause for concern. A SWOT analysis can help you stay on top of any actionable items that may play a part in your risk decision-making process. 

It may be beneficial to pair your SWOT analysis with a PEST analysis which examines external solutions such as political, economic, social, and technological factors—all of which can help you identify potential risks ahead of time.

Plan for growth with a SWOT analysis

A SWOT analysis is can be an effective technique for identifying key strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats.  Understanding where you are—and where you want to go—will help you grow as a team and organization. 

Don’t forget, a bit of creativity and collaboration can go a long way. Encourage your team to think outside of the box with 100+ team motivational quotes

Try Asana for free

Related resources

Article

30-60-90 day plan: How to onboard new hires with ease