如何設定宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (BHAG) 來辦到不可能的任務

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJuly 27th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
如何設定宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (BHAG) 來辦到不可能的任務文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

我們能達成一項不可能的任務,通常是因為我們打從一開始就相信自己可以辦到。

這正是 BHAG (即宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標) 背後的中心思想。如同首次登陸月球、發明網際網路這類的事情一樣,比賽開始的那一刻,終點線似乎遙不可及。

要表確立幾乎不可能達成的長期目標很困難,要分享這些目標更是令人想到就害怕。然而,若要設定並達成關鍵的核心目的,您可藉助 BHAG 的一臂之力來達成。以下說明如何做到。 

什麼是宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (BHAG)? 

宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (BHAG) 是具啟發性的長期目標,旨在提升您的公司至嶄新層次。BHAG 設定的艱鉅任務需要用 10 至 25 年方能完成,需要投入的不僅是努力和專業知識。若想達成這類長達數年的計劃,您必須打從一開始就相信計劃是可能達成的。透過這些巨大目標之設定,即可突破公司的營運界線,向團隊提出大步跨越的挑戰。 

BHAG 代表什麼?

BHAG (讀為 [bee-hag]) 是宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (Big Hairy Audacious Goal) 四個英文字的首字母縮寫詞,最早由 Jim Collins 和 Jerry Porras 於 1994 年的《Built to Last: Successful Habits of Visionary Companies》一書中使用。

按照兩位作者最初的定義,BHAG 通常指的是類似組織規模之大的延伸性目標,且幾乎不可能達成。試想 1961 年美國總統約翰‧甘迺迪的宣言,期許美國在 10 年內把人送到月球。在 1961 年,這樣的說法聽起來似乎更像是個夢,而不是未來可能實現的真實事蹟。然而,透過該目標之設定,甘迺迪卻啟發美國達成這個看似不可能的夢想。 

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

BHAG 的 4 個類型

所有 BHAG 都有一個共通之處:那就是高進取度的長期目標。有四種不同類型的 BHAG, 它們分別為:

1. 靶心導向型 BHAG

這是最傳統的目標,因此也是組織最常設定的宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標類型。靶心意味著您致力要在特定一段時間範圍內達成的一件事。靶心導向型 BHAG 通常是可量化的,例如:在特定年度以前達到特定的營收目標。但它也可以是質化的,例如:在特定日期之前登陸月球,就是質化的靶心導向型 BHAG。

如何設定靶心導向型 BHAG: 

  • 確認您選擇的目標足夠大,能夠啟發組織,並且足夠長遠,需要至少需要花 10 年才能達成。 

  • 靶心導向型 BHAG 不是短期目標,因此不應聚焦在組織中的單獨一個組別,或商業目標的單一層面,而是要找出囊括整個組織目標的靶心。

靶心導向型 BHAG 範例:

  • Microsoft 的知名目標是把「電腦帶到每張辦公桌上以及每個家庭中。」 

  • Walmart 在 1990 年的目標是在 2000 年以前讓銷售額達到 1,250 萬美元。 

潛在陷阱,以及如何預防: 

  • 既然要設定單一目標,務必確認該目標具啟發性。若看似幾乎不可能達成也沒關係,因為這就是 BHAG 的精髓所在。 

  • 若靶心導向的 BHAG 是以營收為基礎,可能特別能夠鼓舞某些團隊,但請確認每位團隊成員對此目標都能有可發揮之處。

  • 若您的目標較偏量化一些,請確認有清楚的成功衡量方法。 

2. 競爭型 BHAG

競爭型 BHAG 是讓團隊團結起來對抗強大競爭者的一種方法。畢竟人都喜歡為處於劣勢的一方加油打氣。挺身接受您落後的事實而同時保很可能勝利的信念,光這一點就可以成為鼓舞您團隊的強大力量。競爭型 BHAG 也是凝聚團隊精神、營造必須打敗對手之急迫感的絕佳方法。使用得宜時,可把它當成每個人的努力重點,進而使一間不錯的公司搖身一變成為卓越的企業。 

如何設定 BHAG:

  • 找出您團隊與之競爭對抗的組織或事物,而且有很長一段時間,團隊都會與這些組織或事物持續處於競爭狀態。 

  • 確立自己是否想要在其中一個領域或所有領域擊敗對手。 

  • 與團隊分享您的目標,激發他們的競爭鬥志。 

競爭型 BHAG 範例:

  • NASA 曾設立目標,要在 1970 年以前讓人登陸月球,這就是一個競爭型 BHAG,因為美國正與當時的蘇聯競相成為第一個辦到此事的國家。

  • 1960 年代期間,Nike 是嶄露頭角的一間公司,而他們當時的原始目標便是「打倒 Adidas」。

潛在陷阱,以及如何預防: 

  • 確認的確有明確的品類主管或競爭者。若模稜兩可,則會讓 BHAG 變得模糊不清。 

  • 唯有您是處於劣勢的一方時,才能使用此類 BHAG。應避免選擇相差不遠的第二競爭對手,因為這樣一來,啟發性就不特別具有足夠的力道。

  • 不要覺得自己必須固守常見的法則。您不一定總要直接打敗某人。相反地,不妨試著用有創意的方式建立競爭型 BHAG。例如:若您不是處於劣勢的一方,您仍可針對所有競爭對手設定打敗品項單位,以及獲得特定市佔率的競爭型 BHAG。

3. 角色模範型 BHAG

您不見得是發明家才能建立好的 BHAG。畢竟,要在您的品項中出類拔萃就已經足具挑戰性了。此時角色模範型 BHAG 就可派上用場。若要設定目標,請先找出運作良好的一件事,並設定仿效該次成功的目標。可使用角色模範型 BHAG 來仿效競爭對手的成功之道,或仿效其他產業的成功經驗。

如何設定角色模範型 BHAG:

  • 找出您憧憬的事物或其他人已達成的目標,使該事物本身成為 BHAG。

  • 若是嶄露頭角的公司,角色模範型 BHAG 會最有成效。

角色模範型 BHAG 範例:

  • 哈佛大學創校的 249 年後,史丹佛大學隨之創校,一開始該校自稱自己為「西岸的哈佛」。

潛在陷阱,以及如何預防: 

  • 設定角色模範型 BHAG 以前,請找出哪些元素造就角色模範的成功。您不必死板地全面複製作為角色模範的公司,不妨找出他們成功的一個層面,再加以效法之。

  • 若您並非剛要嶄露頭角的組織,請避免使用角色模範型 BHAG 風格。 

4. 內部改造型 BHAG

內部改造型 BHAG 與其他三種 BHAG 類型的不同之處在於,此類型意味著要對您的商業模式進行偌大變更。若您正要讓商業策略轉向,則可以使用這樣一個 BHAG 來呈現這個變更,以及您希望從變更中獲得的成果。

如何設定內部改造型 BHAG:

  • 找出您需要做的大規模、涉及全組織變更。這可能包括變換市場、更改商業策略或組織全面重整。 

  • 使用 BHAG 來呈現新的商業目標,以及何以需要做此變更。

內部改造型 BHAG 範例:

  • Netflix 從 DVD 郵購服務商轉型成全球第一家串流服務供應商。

  • Best Buy 從只提供面對面購物服務轉變為領先業界的數位科技公司。 

潛在陷阱,以及如何預防: 

  • 實施內部改造很困難。在這麼做之前,請確認這對您的公司而言是否為最佳選擇。頻繁的變動可能會降低團隊士氣。 

  • 準備好進行內部改造時,請實施變更管理流程,儘可能使轉銜的過程天衣無縫。 

請閱讀:什麽是變更管理?建立成功變更管理流程的 6 個步驟

BHAG 範例

在您開始草擬自己宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標前,請先參閱一些 BHAG 範例。值得留意的一點是,這些 BHAG 也是公司的宗旨宣言,因為這些正是公司致力達成的主要事項。組織通常會直接定義宗旨或願景宣言,甚至沒發現自己是用 BHAG 來定義。 

Google有系統地組織全世界的資訊

NPR建立一個以更多知識為基礎的公民社會

Facebook縮小世界上人與人之間的距離

Airbnb打造一個人人都能夠隨處找到歸屬的世界

Feeding America確認所有人都能有平等的機會取得營養的食物

SpaceX將文明帶到多個星球

Khan Academy提供免費的一流教育給世界各地的每一個人

Spotify發揮人類創造力的潛能

米高福克斯基金會 (Michael J. Fox Foundation)找到治癒巴金森氏症的療法

閱讀:Michael J. Fox 巴金森研究基金會如何藉由 Asana 將治癒的可能性向前推進一步

與其他目標設定法相比,BHAG 有何不同

BHAG 是高度進取的長期目標。然而,並非所有目標都是 BHAG。下文比較宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標與其他目標設定法的異同:

BHAG 與 KPI

關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 是衡量團隊或組織朝重要商業目標進展的量化指標。應儘可能設定季度或年度 KPI,以便追蹤您是否朝達成策略目標邁進。

BHAG 在規模上遠大於 KPI。KPI 是在 3 個月、6 個月或 12 月的基準上衡量成功與否,而要達成 BHAG 所要花費的時間不應少於 10 年。某些 BHAG 花費的時間可能高達 25 年才能完成!

閱讀:什麼是關鍵績效指標 (KPI)?

BHAG 與 OKR

目標與關鍵結果 (OKR) 是目標設定法,協助團隊設定可衡量的目標。OKR 範本有以下陳述:我將達成 [目標],並以 [關鍵結果] 加以衡量。通常這類目標是部門或組織層級,設定為一年達成。關鍵結果用來追蹤朝目標前進的進度,可以針對部門、團隊或個人層級加以設定,並且時間跨度可能短至一個月,也可能長達一年。 

朝年度 OKR 邁進並獲得進展,您就能為成功奠定基礎,且有助達成您的 BHAG。然而就像 KPI 一樣,OKR 就範疇上而言,也遠小於 BHAG。成功完成 10 年或 20 年的 OKR 後,您可能最終就能完成 BHAG。

請閱讀:什麼是目標與關鍵結果 (OKR)?

BHAG 與 SMART 目標

SMART 是以下五個英文單字的首字母縮寫詞:具體 (Specific)、可衡量 (Measurable)、可達成 (Achievable)、實際 (Realistic)、有時限 (Time-bound)。這種目標設定架構確保大家可針對目標採取行動。您可以將 SMART 法應用至任何目標設定流程。 

例如:若您要將 SMART 法用於 BHAG,只要確認自己的 BHAG 符合 SMART 的所有條件即可。 

延伸閱讀:利用這些提示及範例,撰寫出色的 SMART 目標

BHAG 與策略規劃

策略計劃是定義組織接下來三到五年前進方向的工具。此種長期規劃的形式有助組織透過明晰度和專注來達成宏大的目標。

儘管就範疇而言,策略計劃比 OKR 更大,然而相較於 BHAG,其範疇則較小。應根據您的 BHAG 建立策略計劃,以便逐步朝向目標邁進。一旦準備好更新接下來三至五年的策略計劃後,您就能建立另一個策略計劃,更進一步向 BHAG 前進。

閱讀:第一次進行策略規劃?請從此處開始。

BHAG 與願景宣言

在實務上,BHAG 和願景宣言極為相似。這兩者都是具啟發性的目標,著眼於公司的長遠規劃及成功。 

BHAG 和願景宣言的主要差異在於宣言的大膽程度。有些宣言大膽而鼓舞人心,但並不會像真正的 BHAG 違背信念。有時候,工作表現出色以及服務客戶,不僅在於追求「足夠」而已。 

舉 TED 為例,TED 演講的主辦者,其願景宣言是散佈構想。這並非 BHAG,因為這並不是具革命性的一件事,但透過這些講者,他們仍舊產出令人讚嘆的內容,並且每天啟發了全球各地的人們。 

閱讀:撰寫完美願景宣言的 7 個步驟

追蹤並完成宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標

您已設定 BHAG,那麼下一步呢?把它完成。為了朝成功邁進,請務必使用目標設定工具。目標設定工具有助您在同一位置管理一切,確保公司目標與支撐這些目標的工作方向一致。如此一來,您就能讓團隊始終進度正常,獲得啟發。

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

相關資源

文章

-

How to set Big Hairy Audacious Goals (BHAGs) to do the impossible

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJuly 27th, 20217 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
How to set Big Hairy Audacious Goals (BHAGs) to do the impossible article banner image

When we achieve the impossible, it’s often because we believe we can do it in the first place.

That’s the mentality behind BHAGs, or Big Hairy Audacious Goals. These are things like the very first moon landing and the invention of the Internet—finish lines that seemed impossibly far away when the race began.

Articulating long-term, nearly impossible goals is hard—and sharing them can be scary. But if you want to set and achieve your core purpose, you can do so with BHAGs. Here’s how. 

What is a Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG)? 

A Big Hairy Audacious Goal (BHAG) is an inspiring, long-term goal that takes your company to the next level. BHAGs are daunting tasks that take 10-25 years to complete. They take more than hard work and know how. To accomplish these multi-year plans, you have to believe they’re possible in the first place. By setting these massive goals, you’re pushing the boundaries of what your company does and challenging your team to make massive forward progress. 

What does BHAG stand for?

BHAG (pronounced bee-hag) stands for Big Hairy Audacious Goals. The term was first coined in 1994 by Jim Collins and Jerry Porras in their book "Built to Last: Successful Habits of Visionary Companies."

When they’re first set, BHAGs often seem like organization-sized stretch goals that are nearly impossible to complete. Think of President John F. Kennedy’s 1961 proclamation that the United States would land a man on the moon before the decade was over. In 1961, such a claim seemed more like a dream than a possible future reality. But by setting that goal, President Kennedy inspired the United States to achieve the seemingly impossible. 

Try goals with Asana for free

The 4 types of BHAGs

All BHAGs share one thing in common: they’re ambitious, long-term goals. But there are different types of Big Hairy Audacious Goals you can set. The four BHAG types are:

1. Target-oriented BHAGs

These are the most traditional goals and therefore, the most common types of Big Hairy Audacious Goals that organizations set. The target represents something you’re aiming to achieve within a certain time frame. Target-oriented BHAGs are often quantitative—for example, hitting a certain revenue target by a certain year. But they can also be qualitative. The goal to land on the moon by a certain date, for example, is a qualitative target-oriented BHAG.

How to set target-oriented BHAGs: 

  • Make sure you’re selecting a target that’s big enough to inspire your organization, and far enough away to take at least 10 years to achieve. 

  • Target-oriented BHAGs aren’t short-term goals, so they shouldn’t focus on only one arm of your organization or one aspect of your business goals. Rather, identify a target that encompasses your organization’s goals.

Example target-oriented BHAGs:

  • Microsoft’s famous goal to put "a computer on every desk and in every home." 

  • Walmart’s 1990s goal to reach $125 billion in sales by the year 2000. 

Potential pitfalls and how to avoid them: 

  • Since you’re setting a single target, make sure the target is something inspiring. It’s okay if it seems nearly impossible to achieve—that’s what makes this goal a BHAG. 

  • A revenue-based target-oriented BHAG is exciting for some team members, but make sure it’s something every team member can get behind.

  • If your target is more qualitative, make sure there’s a clear way to measure success. 

2. Competitive BHAGs

Competitive BHAGs are a way for you to unite your team together against a large competitor. After all, everyone loves cheering for the underdog. Leaning into the fact that you’re behind but have a good shot of winning can be a powerful motivator for your team. Competitive BHAGs are also a great way to rally team spirit and create a sense of urgency that you need to beat your competitors. When used correctly, they serve as a focal point for everyone’s efforts that can take your company from good to great. 

How to set competitive BHAGs:

  • Identify something or someone your team is competing against, and will likely continue competing against for a long time. 

  • Establish if you want to beat them in one area or in all areas. 

  • Share the goal with your team to inspire their competitive spirit. 

Example competitive BHAGs:

  • NASA’s goal to land a man on the moon before 1970 was a competitive BHAG, since the United States was competing with the Soviet Union to be the first country to do so.

  • In the 1960s, when Nike was an up-and-coming company, their original goal was to “Crush Adidas.”

Potential pitfalls and how to avoid them: 

  • Make sure there’s a clear category leader or competitor. Ambiguity makes this BHAG confusing. 

  • Only use this BHAG if you’re the underdog. Avoid picking a close second competitor, since that isn’t particularly inspiring.

  • Don’t feel like you have to stick to the common formula. You don’t always need to directly beat someone. Instead, try to be creative with this BHAG. For example if you’re not the underdog, you can still set a competitive BHAG of beating the category and capturing a certain percentage of market share against all of your competitors.

3. Role model BHAGs

You don’t need to be an innovator to create a good BHAG. After all, achieving excellence in your category is challenging enough. That’s where role-model BHAGs come in. To set these goals, identify something that’s working well and set a goal to emulate that success. Use this type of BHAG to emulate the success of a competitor or success from a different industry.

How to set role model BHAGs:

  • Identify something you admire, or a goal someone else has achieved that’s a BHAG in its own right.

  • These BHAGs are most effective if you’re an up-and-coming company.

Example role model BHAGs:

  • Stanford University, which was founded 249 years after Harvard was established, originally (and informally) dubbed itself the “Harvard of the West.”

Potential pitfalls and how to avoid them: 

  • Before setting this BHAG, identify what makes your role model successful. You don’t want to be a carbon copy of the role model company. Instead, identify one aspect that they’ve succeeded at and emulate that.

  • Avoid using this BHAG style if you aren’t an up-and-coming organization. 

4. Internal transformation BHAGs

Internal transformation BHAGs are different from the other three types of BHAGs in that this type represents a large change to your business model. If you’re pivoting your business strategy, you can use a BHAG to represent that change—and what you hope to get out of it.

How to set internal transformation BHAGs:

  • Identify a large, organization-wide change you need to make. This could include shifting your market, altering your business strategy, or overhauling your organization. 

  • Use a BHAG to represent your new business goals and why you made that change.

Example internal transformation BHAGs:

  • Netflix’s switch from mailing DVDs to becoming the world’s first streaming service.

  • Best Buy’s transition from an exclusively in-person shopping experience to becoming a digital leader in technology. 

Potential pitfalls and how to avoid them: 

  • Implementing an internal transformation is difficult. Before doing so, make sure it’s the best thing for your company. Frequent change can reduce team morale

  • When you’re ready for an internal transformation, implement a change management process to make the transition as seamless as possible. 

Read: What is change management? 6 steps to build a successful change management process

Example BHAGs

Before you get started drafting your own Big Hairy Audacious Goals, take a look at some example BHAGs. Note that some of these BHAGs are also company mission statements, since they’re the main thing the company is aiming to achieve. Oftentimes, an organization will set out to define a mission or vision statement, without even realizing they’re using BHAGs to do so. 

Google: Organize the world’s information

NPR: To create a more informed public

Facebook: Bring the world closer together

Airbnb: Create a world where anyone can belong anywhere

Feeding America: Ensuring equitable access to nutritious food for all

SpaceX: Make humanity multiplanetary

Khan Academy: To provide free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere

Spotify: To unlock the potential of human creativity

Michael J. Fox Foundation: Finding a cure for Parkinson’s disease

Read: How The Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research gets closer to a cure with Asana

How BHAGs compare to other goal setting methodologies

BHAGs are ambitious, long-term goals. But not every goal is a BHAG. Here’s how Big Hairy Audacious goals stack up to other goal-setting methodologies: 

BHAGs vs. KPIs

Key performance indicators (KPIs) are quantitative metrics of how your team or organization is progressing towards important business objectives. Aim to set KPIs on a quarterly or yearly basis to track whether or not you’re on track to achieve your strategic goals. 

BHAGs are much larger than KPIs. While KPIs measure success on a three, six, or 12 month scale, BHAGs should take no less than 10 years to complete. Some BHAGs take upwards of 25 years to complete!

Read: What is a key performance indicator (KPI)?

BHAGs vs. OKRs

Objectives and key results (OKRs) are a goal-setting methodology to help teams set measurable goals. The OKR template states I will [objective] as measured by [key result]. Typically, Objectives are year-long goals set at the department or organization level. Key Results, which track progress towards the objective, can be set at the department, team, or individual level, and can span anywhere from a month to a year. 

Making progress towards your yearly OKRs can set you up for success and help you accomplish your BHAG. But, like KPIs, OKRs are much smaller in scope than BHAGs. After completing 10 or 20 years of successful OKRs, you may finally be able to complete your BHAG. 

Read: What are objectives and key results (OKRs)?

BHAGs vs. SMART goals

SMART is an acronym that stands for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Time-bound. This goal-setting framework ensures goals are actionable. You can apply the SMART methodology to any goal-setting process. 

For example, if you were to use the SMART methodology with BHAGs, you simply ensure your BHAGs fit all of the SMART criteria. 

Read: Write better SMART goals with these tips and examples

BHAGs vs. strategic planning

A strategic plan is a tool to define where your organization is going in the next three to five years. This form of long-term planning helps your organization achieve big goals with clarity and focus.

While larger in scope than OKRs, strategic plans are smaller in scope than BHAGs. Depending on your BHAG, create a strategic plan to get you part of the way towards your goal. Once you’re ready to update your strategic plan three or five years down the road, you can create another strategic plan to get you one step closer to your BHAGs.

Read: New to strategic planning? Start here.

BHAGs vs. vision statements

In practice, BHAGs and vision statements are pretty similar. They’re both inspiring goals that look at the long-term success of your company. 

The main difference between a BHAG and a vision statement is the audacity of the claim. Some vision statements are bold and exciting, but they don’t defy belief the way a true BHAG does. Sometimes, doing a good job and serving your customers is more than enough. 

Take TED, the host of TED Talks, for example. Their vision statement is to spread ideas. This isn’t a BHAG because it isn’t something revolutionary—but they’re still producing amazing content and inspiring people around the world every day. 

Read: 7 steps to write the perfect vision statement

Track and complete your Big Hairy Audacious Goals

You’ve set your BHAG. Next step: accomplishing it. To make progress towards success, make sure you’re using a goal-setting tool. Goal-setting tools help you align your company goals to the work that supports them—all in one place. That way, you can keep your teams on track and inspired.

Try goals with Asana for free

Related resources

Article

22 types of business objectives to measure success