如何在 12 天內打造數位行銷策略

Jenny Thai 撰稿人特寫照片Jenny ThaiJuly 26th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
數位行銷策略文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

數位行銷發展迅速。從社交媒體和電子郵件到客戶深入解析與分析,現今的數位行銷提供了比以往更多的機會。

您需要協助建立一套數位行銷策略嗎?每個出色的數位行銷計劃背後都有強大的數位行銷策略作為支持。令人驚訝的是,49% 的組織沒有明確定義的數位行銷策略。若沒有明確的策略,您的計劃便會方向不清,團隊成員也會難以瞭解他們的任務是如何與更廣大的目標連結起來。

請不要成為那準備不全的 49%。不論這是您第一次或第一百次建立數位行銷策略,我們的提示都將幫助您為您的行銷團隊奠定堅強的基礎。

什麼是數位行銷策略?

數位行銷策略包含一系列的線上行銷活動,是您用以實現目標的行動計劃。其重點在於說明您想達成的目標是什麼,以及背後的原因。舉例來說,在制定數位行銷策略時,您需要問問自己以下幾個問題:

  1. 我的目標是什麼?

  2. 我的目的是什麼?

  3. 誰是我的目標受眾?

  4. 我的關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 有哪些?

  5. 我的時間範圍有多長?

試用為行銷團隊打造的 Asana

這些只是您在制定數位行銷策略時應該自問的其中幾個關鍵問題。我們將在下面更詳細地介紹這幾種類型的問題。

您的數位行銷策略不僅是用以充實計劃的框架,同時也能協助判定您需要哪些數位平台、媒體、資訊和科技。如果您正在考慮執行一項數位行銷活動或規模較大的計劃,那麼制定一套策略對其成功將有關鍵性的影響。

數位行銷組合

在一頭深入研究如何建立數位行銷策略之前,讓我們先探究數位行銷組合。若不先瞭解數位行銷組合的關鍵構成元素,您就無法建立自己的策略。

聽說過數位行銷三要素嗎?數位行銷三要素所凸顯的不同領域有助於發展您的數位行銷策略。這些要素一共分為三類:贏得的媒體、自有媒體和付費媒體。

  • 贏得的媒體包括文章提及、社交媒體分享、轉發貼文,以及評價。

  • 自有媒體包括網站、行動裝置網站、部落格和社交媒體管道。

  • 付費媒體包括點擊付費廣告、展示型廣告、再行銷廣告、付費網紅、付費內容推廣,以及社交媒體廣告。

現在您已經熟悉了數位行銷三要素,是時候進一步瞭解數位行銷組合了。數位行銷組合包括以下內容:

1. 搜尋引擎最佳化 (SEO) 與搜尋引擎行銷 (SEM)

搜尋引擎最佳化 (SEO) 和搜尋引擎行銷 (SEM) 決定了您的網站和網頁內容在搜尋引擎中的排名。前者能為您的網站帶來自然流量,後者則是透過廣告和線上行銷帶來流量。若您正在尋找有助於研究和報告 SEO 的工具組,請查看 SEMrush 的網站。

2. 內容行銷

內容行銷涉及您所製作的所有線上內容,包括您在線上發表的影片及您所撰寫和設計的部落格貼文和電子書等。各種規模和類型的公司 (包括 Discovery Digital Studios 在內) 都在透過數位管道傳遞新的內容。

3. 社交媒體

每天都有超過一百萬的新人加入社交媒體。社交媒體涵蓋了各種類型的社交網路 (像是 Facebook、Twitter、LinkedIn、Instagram 和 Snapchat 等),這些平台都能作為分享資訊用的線上社群。

4. 電子郵件行銷

相較於傳統的蝸牛郵件方法,電子郵件行銷是更快速的替代方案。利用電子郵件進行行銷,能讓您以快速且低成本的方式觸及您的潛在客戶和現有客戶。

5. 線上廣告

線上廣告所費不貲,但它們能有效地替您的網站和網頁內容帶來流量。使用線上廣告時,您可以選擇要展示什麼內容,以及使用哪些管道展示。

6. 網站與網頁設計

您的公司網站乃是您在網路上的據基點。它應該盡可能得到關注,且需要具備獨特的網頁設計才能脫穎而出。您的網站直接反映了您的品牌和公司。當潛在客戶想要更深入瞭解您的公司和產品時,這就是他們首先造訪的地方之一。

7. 數據分析

您可以透過各種不同的數位管道收集數據分析,以獲得寶貴的資訊和解析。這些洞見能幫助您改進現有和未來的數位行銷策略。

8. 行動裝置體驗

有高達 70% 的網路流量來自行動裝置,因此我們特別不能忘記行動裝置體驗。每當您打算進行任何有關數位行銷的事情時,請考慮它在行動裝置上會呈現的外觀和感受。您的行動裝置體驗應該要和電腦版體驗一樣完美無瑕。

現在您已經對數位行銷組合有所掌握,讓我們開始打造您的數位行銷策略吧。

在 12 天內打造您的數位行銷策略

準備好從頭到尾建立一套數位行銷策略了嗎?以下的逐步指南將帶您瞭解如何在 12 天內打造您的數位行銷策略:

第 1-7 天:建立策略

定義您的目標、受眾及定位

建立數位行銷策略最重要的第一步是確定您的目標、受眾和定位 (GAP)。您制訂這套數位行銷策略的目的是什麼?您的目標如何與更廣大的公司目標相互連結?您需要清楚瞭解此數位行銷策略將如何有助於達成大方向的目標。在寫下目標後,您得要決定您的目標受眾是誰,以及您的定位是什麼。以下是一則如何撰寫高階 GAP 的範例:

  • 目標:有效潛在客戶 (MQL) 成長 20%

  • 目標受眾:北美科技產業的銷售經理以上層級

  • 定位:透過競爭力定位策略凸顯我們的關鍵差異點,並重新定位我們在目標受眾心中的競爭優勢。

設定您的投資報酬率 (ROI) 和關鍵績效指標 (KPI) 的目標

請開始計算您的總花費和投資報酬率 (ROI) 會是多少。您應該仔細比較投資與報酬,確保您的數位行銷策略值得實施。分析完數字後,請開始為您的 KPI 設定目標。問問自己:「我希望每項活動達成哪些 KPI 目標?」、「我們要測試什麼、何時測試?」。這些 PKI 目標將會引導您如何衡量和追蹤數位行銷策略的成功度。

詳細說明您的投資

執行您的數位行銷策略需要多少花費?您是否會需要任何代理機構或供應商的外包服務?請盡早詳細說明投資項目,以便快速確定需要合作的供應商有哪些,並加快文書處理和創意簡報的進行。您必須瞭解哪些工作會由公司內部完成,哪些則會外包,這樣才能在規劃時妥善分配資源。

進行研究和分析

在採取任何行動前,請盡可能多研究。透過研究和分析,您可以更好地準備和制定您的數位行銷策略。研究對象包括了您的公司、業界,甚至競爭對手。

對競爭對手進行確切的研究能為您帶來許多好處。藉由查看他們的行動,您可以找到富有創意的方式來區別您的品牌並主導競爭。當涉及到競爭對手時,研究得越多越好。如果您好奇您的競爭對手在做什麼,請查看 Moat,此工具能讓您一窺他們的廣告長什麼樣子。

建立客戶旅程

您是否曾經設身處地為您的客戶著想?請建立一份客戶旅程以記錄他們的完整體驗。客戶旅程概述了客戶在與您的公司或品牌互動時所經歷的每個步驟。

建立客戶旅程能讓您描繪出他們從 A 點移動到 B 點的過程。請確保客戶旅程無縫銜接且易於完成。在描繪旅程的每個部份時,請務必找出能夠改善體驗的機會。首先,請問問自己:「此客戶旅程涉及那些管道和內容?」這個問題有助您判定想要投資的管道有哪些,以及哪些管道需要優先考慮。

以下是一則客戶旅程的範例。假設您是 Apollo Enterprises 這家公司的客戶。

  1. 您看到一則 Apollo Enterprises 的線上廣告

  2. 您在 LinkedIn 上追蹤了 Apollo Enterprises

  3. 您造訪了 Apollo Enterprises 的網站

  4. 您提交了電子郵件地址以下載 Apollo Enterprises 的電子書

  5. 您閱讀了 Apollo Enterprises 的電子書,覺得內容很有趣

  6. 您收到 Apollo Enterprises 的宣傳電子郵件,有機會報名參加該公司的產品展示會

  7. 您報名了 Apollo Enterprises 的產品展示會

  8. 您參與了 Apollo Enterprises 的產品展示會,並且非常喜歡該產品

  9. 您購買了 Apollo Enterprises 的產品

  10. 您對新購買的產品感到非常興奮,並在網路上留下正面評價

我們剛才從頭到尾經歷了一趟客戶旅程。從看見公司名稱的第一步到購買產品的最後一步,我們可以看到顧客會採取什麼樣的確切行動。建立客戶旅程能協助您設想如何實現您的數位行銷策略。

客製化您的數位行銷組合

我們已經瞭解了數位行銷組合的內容,現在是時候選擇合適的部份加入您的計劃了。事先確定您的數位行銷策略會涉及哪些活動非常重要。在確定數位組合中的哪些部份能幫助您達成目標後,您需要問自己兩個問題:「每個部份包含什麼內容?」和「每個部份發生的頻率為何?」。

舉例來說,您是想要專注於電子郵件行銷和線上廣告,或是納入數位行銷組合的所有元素?如果要納入全部元素,您需要計劃好每個部份在時間軸中的位置,以及這些部份如何相互整合。

第 8-11 天:實施策略

取得報價

請務必取得報價以確定您的預算。若不能先確定預算和報價,就無法推進您的數位行銷策略。這些重要的細節可以確保您的預估準確,且可以利用現有的預算達成目標。一旦您與您的團隊確信能以現有預算完成每項活動,便可以著手制定實施計劃。

使用工作管理工具清楚制定所有事項

請使用進階的工作管理工具實行您的整個行銷流程,從而為您的數位行銷策略制定明確的行動軌跡。

您可能已經在使用電子郵件和文檔等電子工具,但您有用過工作管理工具嗎?合適的工作管理工具能為您帶來競爭優勢。它能讓團隊的步調更一致,並且提高生產力。以試算表或文檔等現有工具制定所有事項可能讓人很頭痛,因為這些工具無法反映工作的最新狀況,也很容易被遺忘。有了工作管理工具,您便可以利用時間軸、行事曆或工作流程看板等各種方式對整個數位行銷策略進行規劃和檢視。將整個數位行銷策略和計劃存放於同一個平台,讓您與團隊的工作和協作變得更加輕鬆。

數位行銷策略在 Asana 這類工作管理工具中的實際運作情形為何?

  • 請將任務指派給合適的任務所有者,以便每個人都清楚誰負責什麼事項。例如,您可以將特定的設計任務指派給合適的設計師,而最終的設計則交由主要的簽核人員負責。

  • 請列出流程中的每個步驟,並說明所有的步驟是如何相互連結。例如,您可以建立時間軸,以查看任務和工作期限之間的關聯。

  • 請為任務設定時間範圍和期限。例如,製作電子郵件將會花費四天的時間,期限為週五。

每個人都將能夠監控進度、取得對每項措舉的可視度,並在期限前按照進度完成工作。在一個位置制定好整個數位行銷計劃之後,請納入關係人以便促進協作。您的整個團隊都會感受到他們與計劃的連結、知道該優先進行哪些事項,以及看見他們的工作如何為更廣大的目標做出貢獻。

改善與代理機構的協作

若您需要管理代理機構,請專注於改善團隊之間的協作。您的行銷團隊會與代理機構密切合作,故請確保在您的工作管理工具中妥善地委派任務。讓每個人都能查看哪些任務會在內部完成、哪些外包,便能清楚掌握誰正在進行什麼工作。

簡化團隊之間的創意製作不一定要是痛苦的差事。請藉助工作管理工具輕鬆進行協作。您可以利用 Adobe Creative Cloud 和 Litmus 的整合改善回饋和校訂流程、建立流暢的核准工作流程,並使用容易填寫的表格管理請求。

請使用我們的免費代理機構協作範本

第 12 天和之後:管理策略

定期監控與追蹤

在執行您的數位行銷計劃時,您必須盡可能做好準備。請確保每項活動的進度正常,且每位團隊成員都對自己的工作負責。在整個行銷計劃的生命週期中持續監控事前、進行中到事後的所有工作,以確保計劃按照進度進行。

隨著工作推進,請記得更新您的專案狀態,並視需要調整截止日期。請根據不斷變化的需求持續完善您的策略和調動優先順序。透過定期監控與追蹤工作,您便可以立即解決任何瓶頸,從而加快行動速度。

衡量成果

數位行銷最大的好處之一,是能夠取得隨之而來的所有資料。您可以即時瞭解計劃的執行狀況並做出調整。每次推出新的活動、發表或專案時,您都不必摸黑前進。藉助觸手可及的分析資料,您便能隨時將工作最佳化以改進結果。

還記得我們在第 1-7 天設定了 KPI 目標嗎?現在是時候報告那些 KPI,並將結果與最初設定的目標逐一比較了。這麼做可以幫助您查看您的成效是否達標。

若您未能實現目標,請問問自己「是哪部份沒有奏效?」。而若您高分通過,則問自己「是什麼原因導致績效飆升?」請將您學到的關鍵知識應用於未來。Asana 的績效行銷總監 Sarah Charlton 在此提供了一則專家提示:

「請為專案關係人整理深入解析,以協助揭開這個黑盒子的面紗,讓此流程不再複雜難解。與他們分享哪些措舉有效、哪些成效不彰,以及您需要進一步測試什麼以更深入瞭解情況。瞭解無效和有效的做法同樣有用,兩者都能幫助您在下次制定更好的數位行銷策略,同時也有助於與您的專案關係人建立信任與透明度。」

數位行銷核心工具

市面上有近 7,000 種行銷技術 (martech) 工具可供選擇,您只需要專注於選擇能為您的數位行銷策略和目標提供支持的工具。

有哪些數位行銷工具是必備的?首先,請使用內容管理系統 (CMS) 建立和管理數位內容,或使用分析平台追蹤資料。從電子郵件行銷自動化和社交媒體管理,到影片託管和網站測試,數位行銷組合的每個部份都有相應的工具能提供支援。工作管理平台是您會需要的一項關鍵工具,它可以協助您從頭到尾建立數位行銷和創意流程,這會是您完成出色行銷工作的秘密武器。

開始使用數位行銷計劃範本

準備好啟動實施階段後,請使用我們的免費數位行銷計劃範本。您可以根據自己的確切需求輕鬆自定每個範本。無論您是在計劃數位行銷活動或是構建編輯行事曆,我們都有適合您的範本。請選擇免費的數位行銷計劃範本並開始規劃:

  1. 行銷活動計劃

  2. 代理機構協作

  3. 創意請求

  4. 編輯行事曆

  5. 產品行銷發行

  6. 行銷專案計劃

預備、就緒、開始

藉助我們的逐步指南,您便可以在 12 天內建立一套數位行銷策略。請切勿忽略建立、實施和管理這三個主要階段。完成所有三個階段後,您就會擁有強大的數位行銷策略。同時,請別忘了利用行銷技術工具和我們的免費數位行銷計劃範本推動工作的進行。有了這些協助,從傳統行銷轉換到數位行銷的過程變得更容易了。

請使用 Asana 執行您的數位行銷策略,將策略轉換為能夠締造成果的活動和計劃。請註冊免費示範,深入瞭解 Asana 的工作管理平台是如何專門為像您這樣的行銷和創意團隊所打造。

相關資源

電子書

The ultimate guide to managing marketing campaigns with Asana

How to build a digital marketing strategy in 12 days

Digital marketing has evolved rapidly. From social media and email to consumer insights and analytics, digital marketing provides more opportunities than ever.

Do you need help building a digital marketing strategy? Every great digital marketing initiative starts with a powerful digital marketing strategy behind it. Surprisingly, 49% of organizations don’t have a clearly defined digital marketing strategy. Without a defined strategy in place, your plan loses purpose and team members will have difficulty understanding how their tasks tie to the larger objective.

Don’t be a part of the 49% that is unequipped. Whether it’s your first time or one hundredth time building a digital marketing strategy, our tips will help you build a strong foundation for your marketing team.

What is a digital marketing strategy?

A digital marketing strategy is your plan of action to achieve a goal, which includes a series of online marketing activities. It focuses on explaining the what and the why behind what you’re trying to accomplish. For example, when determining your digital marketing strategy, you want to ask yourself the following questions:

  1. What are my goals?
  2. What are my objectives?
  3. Who is my target audience?
  4. What are my Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)?
  5. What is my timeframe?

These are just a few of the key questions that you should be asking yourself when building a digital marketing strategy. We’ll get into more detail on these type of questions below.

Not only is your digital marketing strategy the framework that informs your plan, but it also helps you determine which digital platforms, media, data, and tech will be required. If you’re thinking about executing a digital marketing campaign or larger initiative, having a strategy in place is critical to success.

The digital marketing mix

Before diving straight into how to build a digital marketing strategy, let’s first walk through the digital marketing mix. You can’t build your strategy without first understanding the key components that contribute to it.

Have you ever heard of the digital marketing trifecta? The digital marketing trifecta highlights different areas that contribute to your digital marketing strategy. The trifecta is broken down into three categories: earned, owned, and paid media.

  • Earned media includes article mentions, social media shares, reposts, and reviews.
  • Owned media includes websites, mobile sites, blog sites, and social media channels.
  • Paid media includes pay per click ads, display ads, retargeting ads, paid influencers, paid content promotion, and social media ads.

Now that you’ve familiarized yourself with the digital marketing trifecta, it’s time to dive deeper into the digital marketing mix. The digital marketing mix includes the following:

1. SEO and SEM

Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Marketing (SEM) determines where your website and web properties rank in a search engine. SEO brings in traffic organically whereas SEM brings in traffic via ads and online marketing. If you’re looking for a toolkit to help with SEO research and reporting, check out SEMrush.

2. Content Marketing

Content marketing encompassses all the online content you produce. This includes everything from the videos you host online to the blog posts and e-books you write and design. Companies of all sizes and types, including Discovery Digital Studios, is delivering new content across digital channels.

3. Social media

More than one million new people are joining social media every single day. Social media includes any type of social network (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, and Snapchat to new a few) that acts as an online community to share information.

4. Email marketing

Email marketing is the faster alternative to the traditional snail mail approach. Marketing by email is a quick and low-cost method to reach your prospects and customers.

5. Online Ads

Online ads can get expensive, but they’re effective for driving traffic to your website and web properties. With online ads, you can choose what to display and on which channels.

6. Website and web design

Your company website is your home base on the internet. It deserves to get as much attention as possible and needs to have a unique web design to stand out from the crowd. You website directly reflects your brand and company. It’s one of the first places prospects visit when they want to learn more about your company and product.

7. Analytics

Analytics can be gathered from various digital channels to provide valuable data and insight. These learnings can help you improve both your current and future digital marketing strategies.

8. Mobile experience

We can’t forget about the mobile experience, especially when up to 70% of internet traffic comes from mobile devices. Any time you’re thinking about doing anything digital marketing-related, always think about how it looks and feels on mobile. You want your mobile experience to be as flawless as your desktop experience.

With the digital marketing mix in your back pocket, let’s get started on building your digital marketing strategy.

Build your digital marketing strategy in 12 days

Are you ready to build your digital marketing strategy from beginning to end? Below is a step-by-step guide on how to build your digital marketing strategy in 12 days:

Days 1-7: Create

Define your goals, audience, and positioning

The most important first step to building any digital marketing strategy is identifying your Goals, Audience, and Positioning (GAP). What are your goals for building this digital marketing strategy? And how do your goals tie back to the larger company objectives? You need to have a clear understanding of how your digital marketing strategy contributes to the bigger picture. Once you write out your goals, you want to determine who your audience is and what your positioning is going to be. Below is an example of how to draft a high-level GAP:

  • Goal: Increase Marketing Qualified Lead (MQLs) by 20%
  • Audience: Sales managers and above in the tech industry located in North America
  • Positioning: Use a competitive positioning strategy to highlight our key differentiators and reposition the competition in the minds of our target audience.

Set your ROI and KPI targets

Start number crunching and determine what your total amount spend and Return on Investment (ROI) will be. You want to take a close look at how your investment matches up against your reward to ensure your digital marketing strategy is worth pursuing. After breaking down the numbers, begin setting your KPI targets. Ask yourself, “What KPI targets am I trying to hit for each activity? What are we going to test and when in the year?” These KPI targets will guide how you measure and track the success of your digital marketing strategy.

Detail your investment

How much money will you need to execute your digital marketing strategy? Will you need any outsourcing, such as agencies or vendors? Detail your investment early on so you can quickly determine which vendors you’ll need to work with and get the gears moving on paperwork and project briefs. It’s important to understand what will be made in-house and what will be outsourced so you can allocate resources appropriately when it comes to planning.

Perform research and analysis

Research as much as possible before taking any action. By performing research and analysis, you can better prepare and formulate your digital marketing strategy. Research includes looking at your company, industry, and even competitors.

There are numerous benefits to looking at your competitors specifically. By seeing what your competitors are doing, you can find creative ways to differentiate your brand and dominate your competition. The more research the better when it comes to your competitors. If you’re curious about what your competitors are up to, check out Moat, a tool that gives you a peek at what your competitors’ ads look like.

Create a customer journey

Have you ever put yourself in the shoes of your customers? Document their full experience by creating a customer journey. A customer journey outlines every step the customer goes through when they interact with your company or brand.

By creating a customer journey, you’ll be able to map out what it’s like for a customer to go from point A to point B. You’ll want to make sure the customer journey is seamless and easy to walk through. When mapping everything out, make sure to find opportunities to improve the experience. To get started, ask yourself, “Which channels and content are along the path?” This question helps you determine which channels you want to invest in and which ones take priority.

Below is an example of a customer journey. Let’s say you’re a customer of Apollo Enterprises.

  1. You see an Apollo Enterprises online ad
  2. You follow Apollo Enterprises on LinkedIn
  3. You visit the Apollo Enterprises website
  4. You submit your email address to download an Apollo Enterprises e-book
  5. You read the Apollo Enterprises e-book and find the content engaging
  6. You get an Apollo Enterprises promotional email with an opportunity to sign up for an Apollo Enterprises product demo
  7. You sign up for the Apollo Enterprises product demo
  8. You walk through the Apollo Enterprises product demo and love the offering
  9. You purchase the Apollo Enterprises product
  10. You’re so excited about your new purchase and leave a positive review online

We just walked through a customer journey from beginning to end. We’re able to see the exact path a customer would take, from the first step of seeing a company name to the final step of purchasing a product. Building a customer journey will help you envision how your digital marketing strategy can come to life.

Customize your digital marketing mix

We walked through the digital marketing mix together, and now it’s time to pick and choose what pieces make sense to include in your plan. It’s important to establish which activities will be involved in your digital marketing strategy beforehand. After determining which pieces of the digital mix will help you accomplish your goals, you’ll want to ask yourself two questions, “What will each piece encompass? What will the frequency of each piece be?”

For example, do you want to focus primarily on email marketing and online ads, or do you want to include every piece of the digital marketing mix? If you want to include every piece, then you need to map out where each piece fits in your timeline and how everything integrates with one another.

Days 8-11: Implement

Get price quotes

Make sure you solidify your budget by getting price quotes. You can’t move forward with your digital marketing strategy without first securing your budget and price quotes. These major details can ensure you’re on target and that you can accomplish your goals with the current budget in hand. Once you’re confident you and your team can accomplish every activity with the current budget, then you can move towards building an implementation plan.

Map everything out with a work management tool

Set your digital marketing strategy on a clear path of action by running your entire marketing process in an advanced work management tool.

You might be taking advantage of digital tools such as email and docs already, but what about work management tools? The right work management tool can be your competitive edge. With a work management tool, you can improve team alignment and increase productivity. Mapping everything out with existing tools, like spreadsheets or docs, can be a pain; they don’t stay up to date and can be easily forgotten. With a work management tool, you can plan and view your entire digital marketing strategy in various ways, whether as a timeline, calendar, or kanban board. Housing your entire digital marketing strategy and plan on one platform will make work and collaboration much easier for you and your team.

What does a digital marketing strategy look like in practice in a work management tool like Asana?

  • Assign tasks to the right owners so everyone knows who is responsible for what. For example, you can assign specific design tasks to the appropriate designer and all final designs to the main approver.
  • List out every step of the process and map out how all your steps tie together. For example, create a timeline to see how tasks and deadlines connect.
  • Set time frames and deadlines to tasks. For example, email production will take four days and the deadline is set for Friday.

Everyone will be able to monitor progress, get visibility into each initiative, and stay on track when it comes to deadlines. Once your entire digital marketing plan is laid out in one spot, loop in stakeholders to encourage collaboration. Your entire team will feel connected to the plan, know what to prioritize, and see how their work contributes to the larger goal.

Improve agency collaboration

If you’re managing agencies, focus on improving coordination between teams. Your marketing team will be collaborating heavily with agencies, and you want to make sure tasks are delegated appropriately in your work management tool. By seeing which tasks will be completed in-house versus outsourced, everyone can see whos’ working on what.

Streamlining creative production between teams doesn’t need to be a pain. With work management tools, it’s easy to collaborate. You can take advantage of integrations with Adobe Creative Cloud and Litmus, improve the feedback and proofing process, build a smooth approvals workflow, and organize requests with easy-to-fill forms.

Start mapping out how your team and agencies will work together on your next digital marketing strategy with our free agency collaboration template.

Day 12 and beyond: Manage

Monitor and track regularly

You can never be too prepared when it comes to executing your digital marketing strategy. Make sure every activity stays on track and each team member takes accountability for their work. Always monitor your marketing initiatives before, during, and after their life cycles to ensure plans are moving as planned.

Remember to update your project status as you go and adjust due dates if needed. Always refine your strategies and shift priorities based on changing needs. By monitoring and tracking work on a regular basis, you can address any bottlenecks immediately to move faster.

Measure results

One of the best perks of digital marketing is having access to all the data that comes with it. You can get real-time insights on how your initiatives are performing and adjust as you go. You don’t have to walk in the dark every time you push out a new campaign, launch, or project. With analytical data at your fingertips, you can optimize as you go to improve results.

Remember when we set KPI targets on days 1-7? Now is the time to report on those KPIs and compare your results side-by-side with your initial targets. This can help you see if your results are hitting the mark.

If you missed the targets, ask yourself, “What didn’t work?” If you shot above and beyond the mark, ask yourself, “What contributed to the spike in performance?” Take your key learnings and apply them in the future. Sarah Charlton, Head of Performance Marketing at Asana, offers a pro tip:

“Package your insights for stakeholders to help demystify what can otherwise seem like a complex ‘black box’ process. Share what worked, what didn’t, and what you need to further test to learn more. Knowing what didn’t work is just as useful as what did to help you improve your next digital marketing strategy, and it helps create trust and transparency with your stakeholders.”

Essential digital marketing tools

With nearly 7,000 marketing technology (martech) tools to choose from, you need to focus on selecting tools that will support your digital marketing strategy and goal.

What are the must-have digital marketing tools? For starters, create and manage digital content with a Content Management System (CMS) or track data with an analytics platform. There are tools to support every piece of the digital marketing mix, from email marketing automation and social media management to video hosting and website testing. One critical tool you’ll need is a work management platform to help you build your digital marketing and creative processes from start to finish; this is your secret to standout marketing.

Get started with digital marketing plan templates

Once you’re ready to start your implementation phase, use one of our free digital marketing plan templates. You can easily customize each template according to your exact needs and wants. Whether you’re planning a digital marketing campaign or building out an editorial calendar, we have the right template for you. Choose a free digital marketing plan template and start planning:

  1. Marketing campaign plan
  2. Agency collaboration
  3. Creative requests
  4. Editorial calendar
  5. Product marketing launch
  6. Marketing project plan

Ready, set, go

With our step-by-step guide, you’re on your way to building a digital marketing strategy in 12 days. There are three major phases you can’t lose sight of: create, implement, and manage. Complete all three phases and you’ll have a strong digital marketing strategy ready to go. Don’t forget to take advantage of martech tools and use one of our free digital marketing plan templates to get things rolling. Transitioning from traditional marketing to digital marketing just got a little bit easier.

Execute your digital marketing strategies with Asana, and turn strategies into campaigns and programs that deliver results. Learn more about how Asana’s work management platform is made specifically for marketing and creative teams like yours by signing up for free demo.

Build your digital marketing strategies in Asana