專案管理法:12 個熱門架構

Asana 團隊撰稿人圖片Team AsanaNovember 16th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
專案管理法文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

專案管理一領域不斷沿革改進,為了獲致成功需要使用各種方法。學習最熱門的專案管理法可協助您成為業界的翹楚。 

專案管理法是由眾多原則、技巧和程序所構成的一套系統,供某個領域的人員運用於工作。頂尖的方法不僅在結構組織的方式上有所差異,更要求不同的交付項目、工作流程,甚至專案管理軟體開發。 

除了成為最出色的專案經理外,分別瞭解這 12 個架構,可找到最符合您團隊需求的選項。 

1. 敏捷

介紹:敏捷專案管理法是最常見的專案管理流程之一。但實際上,敏捷法就技術上而言並不是一套方法,而最適合將其定義為專案管理原則。

敏捷法的基本內容是:

  • 協作

  • 快而有效

  • 可疊代,以資料為後盾

  • 重視個人勝過流程

若宣佈實施敏捷法,團隊通常會選擇特定的方法來搭配使用敏捷法。這些可能包括 Scrum、看板、極限編程、水晶管理、或甚至 Scrumban (Scum + 看板)。 這是因為搭配敏捷法與更注重細節的方法,可形成完善的專案管理哲學,以及可締造出色成果的具體方案。

誰應使用: 敏捷架構幾乎可用於任何團隊,因為其背後的原則具有普遍性。真正的困難在於要決定選擇搭配哪一種方法使用。

用 Asana 管理敏捷團隊

2. 瀑布

介紹:瀑布模型也是非常熱門的架構。不同於敏捷模型的部分是,瀑布是實際的一套方法,且相當清楚明瞭。 瀑布法又稱為軟體開發生命週期 (SDLC),是線性流程,工作會串聯下來 (如同瀑布一般),而且是有先後順序的組織安排。 

瀑布專案管理法

若要達成此方法,每個工作任務都要透過相依性相互連接。這表示每個任務必須完成後,下一個任務才能開始進行。這麼做不僅確保工作進度保持正常,更能在整個過程中促進清楚的溝通。 

儘管此法被部分現代化組織視為傳統方法,卻是建立可預測、且可徹底規劃專案計劃的好方法。 

誰應使用:由於瀑布專案管理法如此鉅細靡遺,因此對於有多個不同專案關係人的大型專案負責人而言,是絕佳的選擇。因為整個專案期間各個步驟分明,且相依性可協助追蹤需要的工作,以便達成目標。 

3. Scrum

介紹:Scrum 法採用簡短的「衝刺」活動,而這些衝刺活動則用來建立一個專案週期。專案週期一次橫跨一至兩週,且由 10 人 (或以下) 的團隊所組織而成。這和瀑布法有所差異,瀑布法中個人的任務會拆解成相依任務。

基於許多原因,Scum 非常獨特。其中一項是此法需要一位 Scrum 主持人。換句話說,就是一位帶領每天召開 Scrum 會議、演示、衝刺和每次衝刺完成後進行衝刺回顧的專案經理。這些會議的目的是聯繫專案關係人,並確保任務準時完成。 

儘管 Scrum 就技術上而言確實是真正的專案管理法,卻最常與敏捷法架構聯想在一起。這是因為它們的原則類似,例如協作,以及重視個人勝過流程。 

誰應使用:使用敏捷法的團隊應該也要使用 (或至少應該也要嘗試) Scrum 方法。由於衝刺活動被拆解成小團隊,因此小型及大型團隊都可以使用這個方法。 

閱讀:瀑布法、敏捷法、看板與 Scrum:各有何差異?

4. 看板

介紹: 看板法使用可視化元件 (特別是白板) 來呈現專案的待辦項目。敏捷團隊會使用這個方法加強可視化工作流程和專案流程,同時減少發生瓶頸的可能性。它也經常以軟體工具的形式呈現,以便讓您完美地在專案內變更及拖曳看板,不過這並非必要的規定。 

由於此法並不像其他方法有一套定義的流程,因此許多團隊使用的方法各異。主要的概念是要記得,看板的目的是專注於最重要的專案任務,讓整體的架構變得簡單。

誰應使用:工作流程看板對各種規模的團隊都是理想選擇,特別是優先以遠距方式工作的團隊。這是因為工作流程看板的可視化功能可協助團隊成員無論身處何地,均能維持進度正常。 

用 Asana 建立工作流程看板

5. Scrumban

介紹:您可能已經猜到,Scrumban 是靈感來自 Scrum 和看板 (Kanban) 架構的一個方法。有些人將此視為整合兩種方法優點的混合法。 

Scrumban 專案管理法

Scrumban 類似 Scrum 使用衝刺週期,但如看板一樣允許個別任務歸屬於計劃之中。這可讓最重要的工作優先完成,並確保專案計劃維持簡易好管理。Scrumban 也使用 Scrum 會議來加強協作,並始終將目標視為首要之務。 

誰應使用:若您喜歡將專案拆解成較小任務,但同時也想在視覺上以簡單的方式呈現,Scrumban 可能就是您的理想選擇。它是簡單和明晰的完美結合。  

閱讀:看板與 Scrum:有何差異?

6. PRINCE2

介紹:PRINCE2 又稱為 PRojects IN Controlled Environments (受控環境下的專案管理),它使用全方位瀑布法來定義專案內的階段。最初是由英國政府為了 IT 專案而建立,現在依然適用於大型 IT 新案,更勝於傳統的產品或市場為主的專案。 

PRINCE2 有七個主要原則,包括:

  1. 開始專案

  2. 指揮專案

  3. 啟動專案

  4. 控制專案

  5. 管理產品交付

  6. 管理階段間的界線

  7. 結案

這七個原則徹底建立完整的專案流程,綜合起來就成為有效的企業專案管理方法。它旨在定義角色和反向管理。不僅如此,還可將 PRINCE2 用來簡化眾多個別專案管理任務,例如控制某個階段、管理產品交付,以及啟動專案和結案。 

誰應使用:有鑑於 PRINCE2 專案管理法的特殊性質,因此最適合用於具有許多 專案關係人的大型企業專案。將它用於小專案可能會產生過於冗長、複雜的流程。 

用 Asana 追蹤 PRINCE2 專案

7. 六標準差

介紹:有別於其他專案管理法,六標準差是用於品質管理,經常稱之為一套哲學而非傳統的方法。通常將它和精實法搭配或敏捷架構搭配使用,而得名為精實法六標準差和敏捷法六標準差。 

六標準差的主要目的是持續改善流程並去除瑕疵。透過現場專家維護、定義並控制流程來持續改進,從而辦到這一點。

若要進一步延伸這個方法,可使用六個標準差 DMAIC 流程,此方法具有不同階段,包括:

  • 定義:建立一個專案範疇商業計劃,以及啟動站立會議。

  • 測量:收集有助告知改善需求的資料。

  • 分析:指出問題的根本。 

  • 改善:解決找到的根本成因。

  • 控制: 致力使解決方案具永續性,以便適用於未來的專案。 

誰應使用:六標準差最適合用於大型組織,通常是員工數百人 (或以上) 的組織,這時消除專案浪費的需要已開始對您的組織有較大的影響。

8. 關鍵路徑法 (CPM)

介紹:關鍵路徑法致力於找出關鍵任務,並將其安排在專案排程中。包括任務相依性、追蹤專案目標與進度、安排交付項目的優先順序,以及管理截止日期,這一切都與工作細目結構相似。

此方法旨在妥善、成功地管理大型專案,使 里程碑和交付項目可對應正確。 

誰應使用:關鍵路徑法最適合小型、中型專案及團隊,因為大型專案需要許多交付項目,且有多位專案關係人,而關鍵路徑法之設計並非針對複雜專案之管理。 

9. 關鍵鏈專案管理 (CCPM)

介紹:關鍵鏈專案管理架構與關鍵路徑法非常相關,但甚至更重視細節,因而成為最全方位的選項之一。 

關鍵鏈專案管理法

連同 CPM 這類工作細目結構一併實施,CCPM 包括對各項任務的特定時間要求。這有助進一步推展任務追蹤,讓任務在分配的時間進行情況變得一目了然。它還使用資源調配,力求透過在所有可用資源間分配工作來解決大量工作負荷的問題。 

這一切不僅有助提高生產力及效率,更有助連結必須與專案目標一起完成的工作。許多專案管理工具甚至透過可視化元素來強化顯示這些目標,為團隊成員建立井然有序的藍圖。 

誰應使用:CCPM 對小型和大型團隊而言都是絕佳選擇,但多半用來協助解決專案效率問題。用它來向領導階層報告進行中的工作也很實用。 

10. 精實

介紹:精實專案管理法旨在減少浪費,以及針對專案需求建立簡單的架構。說到底,就是用更少的資源完成更多的工作,從而使效率和團隊合作獲得最大化。 

儘管減少浪費原本指的是實體產品 (可回溯至亨利福特以及其後 Toyota 和 Motorola 當年使用的方法),現在則是指產生浪費的做法。可用三個以字母 M 開頭的字來表示此概念:

  • Muda (浪費):消耗資源但並未增加價值的做法

  • Mura (不均):過度生產時會發生,進而留下廢棄物 

  • Muri (負擔過重):當資源太過勞累時會發生 

身為專案經理,您的工作室避免這三個 M 發生,以便更順利地執行專案並簡化流程。這與統一軟體開發過程 (RUP) 相似,後者旨在減少浪費。兩者的差異在於 RUP 注重降低開發成本,而非產生浪費的做法。 

誰應使用:由於精實法主要強調的是減少浪費,因此最適合苦於效率問題的團隊使用。儘管這會對大型組織造成較大的衝擊,但對各種規模的專案團隊來說卻可以相當有幫助。 

11. 美國專案管理學會 PMBOK® 指南

介紹:儘管很容易將美國專案管理學會 (PMI) 的專案管理知識體系指南 (Project Management Body of Knowledge) 聯想為一種專案管理法,但它其實更接近一套最佳做法,會考量各種開發流程。 

此架構著重實施五個專案管理階段,每個階段均有助透過系統性的階段方法,自始至終輕鬆管理專案。這五個階段包括:

  1. 專案啟動

  2. 專案規劃

  3. 專案執行

  4. 專案績效

  5. 專案結案

儘管這是值得謹記的良好根基,PMBOK® 指南不見得像其他方法一樣足夠具體。也就是說您會需要決定每個階段中要完成哪些任務。 

誰應使用:PMBOK® 指南可單獨使用於小型團隊的標準專案,但搭配更注重細節的方法 (例如 CPM) 應用於處理複雜專案的大型團隊,也是不錯的做法。 

12. 極限編程 (XP)

介紹:顧名思義,極限編程是用於期限緊迫的快節奏專案。此法運作方式是透過建立簡短的開發週期,以及許多發行版次。這使得整備時間得以加快,並且提高生產力。 

極限編程 (XP) 專案管理法

極限編程有幾個核心價值,包括:簡單、溝通、回饋、尊重及勇氣。此外,還包括一套具體的極限編程規則,納入自規劃至測試的所有階段。 

誰應使用:極限編程可用於期限緊迫的個別專案,最常用於小型與中型團隊。由於 XP 是快節奏的方法,應酌量使用,以免發生過勞。 

如何為您的團隊選擇對的專案管理法

沒有一套全部通吃的專案管理法,各種方法都提供獨特的原則,引領開發專案從初始計劃一路進展至最終執行。 

主要值得留意的層面是您團隊的規模,以及您團隊偏好的工作方式。以下是一些值得考量的額外提示:

  • 您的產業:思考您是否處在一個變化頻繁的產業。例如科技公司就是隨時變化的產業。這會影響專案的一致性,以及是否應搭配彈性還是固定的方法。 

  • 您的專案重心:思考您專案的目的。您是否重視人員勝過效率?這將有助您找到滿足相似目的的合適方法。 

  • 專案的複雜性:您的專案相對較複雜,或是通常簡單明瞭?在組織複雜任務時,有些方法不如其他方法出色,例如 CCPM。

  • 角色專業化:思考您團隊內角色的利基如何?可否讓多名團隊成員互換相同類型的工作,或您需要一套專注於專業化的方法?

  • 您組織的規模:決定使用哪種方法時,應仔細衡量您組織和團隊的規模。如看板這類的方法通用於各種團隊規模,但如 CPM 這類的選項,就比較適合小型團隊。 

無論您的團隊成員偏好如看板法這類的可視化流程 ,或是如瀑布法這類較傳統的專案管理法,每個類型的團隊都可以找到適合的選項。若要進一步發揮專案管理法的威力,不妨考慮使用工作管理工具,加強追蹤並更有效地執行開發專案。 

為您的團隊選擇對的專案管理法

有助您更具意識地管理專案的方法

有了對的專案管理法在手上,您就能將專案的效率提升至嶄新層次,並實施對團隊、組織以及您自己而言正確的流程。

在尋找更好的方法管理專案嗎?請瞭解 Asana 的專案管理軟體。 

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

相關資源

網路研討會

How Asana uses Asana for IT and technical program management

Project management methodologies: 12 popular frameworks

Team Asana contributor imageTeam AsanaJuly 28th, 20218 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Project management methodologies article banner image

Project management is an ever-evolving field that requires a number of approaches to be successful. Learning the most popular project management methodologies can help you become an industry expert. 

A project management methodology is a system of principles, techniques, and procedures used by those who work in a discipline. Not only do the top methodologies differ in how they’re structurally organized, but they also require different deliverables, workflows, and even project management software development. 

In order to be the best possible project manager, learn about each of these 12 frameworks to find the one that best fits your team’s needs. 

1. Agile

What it is: The Agile project management methodology is one of the most common project management processes. But the reality is that Agile isn’t technically a methodology. Instead, it’s best defined as a project management principle. 

The basis of an Agile approach is:

  • Collaborative

  • Fast and effective

  • Iterative and data-backed

  • Values individuals over processes

When it comes to putting the Agile manifesto in place, teams often choose specific methodologies to use alongside Agile. These could include Scrum, Kanban, extreme programming, crystal, or even Scrumban. That's because connecting Agile methodology with a more detailed approach produces a well-rounded project management philosophy and a tangible plan for delivering great work. 

Who should use it: The Agile framework can be used for just about any team. This is because the principle behind it is rather universal. The real trick is deciding which methodology to use with it.

Try Agile software with Asana

2. Waterfall

What it is: The waterfall model is also a very popular framework. But unlike Agile, waterfall is an actual methodology that is rather straightforward. The waterfall methodology, also known as software development life cycle (SDLC), is a linear process in which work cascades down (similar to a waterfall) and is organized in sequential order. 

Waterfall project management methodology

To achieve this approach, each work task is connected by a dependency. This means each task must be completed before the next task can be started. Not only does this ensure that work stays on track, but it also fosters clear communication throughout the process. 

While viewed as a traditional approach by some modern organizations, this method is good for creating a predictable and thoroughly planned-out project plan

Who should use it: Since the waterfall project management methodology is so detailed, it’s great for working on large projects with multiple different stakeholders. This is because there are clear steps throughout the project and dependencies that help track the work needed to reach goals. 

3. Scrum

What it is: The Scrum methodology involves short “sprints” that are used to create a project cycle. These cycles span one to two weeks at a time and are organized with teams of 10 or less. This is different from the waterfall approach where individual tasks are broken down into dependencies.

Scum is unique for a variety of reasons, one being the use of a Scrum master. Or, in other words, a project manager that leads daily Scrum meetings, demos, sprints, and sprint retrospectives after each sprint is completed. These meetings aim to connect project stakeholders and ensure tasks are completed on time. 

While Scrum is technically a project management methodology in its own right, it’s most commonly associated with an Agile framework. This is because they share similar principles, such as collaboration and valuing individuals over processes. 

Who should use it: Teams that use an Agile approach should use, or at least try, the Scrum methodology as well. Since sprints are divided into small teams, this approach can work for both small and large teams. 

4. Kanban

What it is: The Kanban methodology represents project backlogs using visual elements, specifically boards. This approach is used by Agile teams to better visualize workflows and project progress while decreasing the likelihood of bottlenecks. It’s also usually in the form of a software tool that allows you to change and drag boards seamlessly within projects, though it’s not a requirement. 

Since this method doesn’t have a defined process like others, many teams use it differently. The main concept to keep in mind is that Kanban aims to focus on the most important project tasks, keeping the overall framework simple.

Who should use it: Kanban boards are great for teams of all sizes and specifically remote-first teams. This is because the visual capabilities of Kanban boards help team members stay on track no matter where they are. 

Try boards with Asana for free

5. Scrumban

What it is: As you may have guessed, Scrumban is a methodology that draws inspiration from both Scrum and Kanban frameworks. Some think of this as a hybrid approach that incorporates the best of each. 

Scrumban project management methodology

Scrumban uses a similar sprint cycle as Scrum but allows individual tasks to be pulled into the plan like Kanban. This allows the most important work to be completed and keeps project plans simple. Scrumban also uses Scrum meetings to enhance collaboration and keep goals top of mind. 

Who should use it: If you like the idea of breaking down a project into smaller tasks, but likewise want to keep it visually simple, Scrumban might be for you. It’s the perfect intersection of simplicity and clarity.  

Read: Kanban vs. Scrum: What’s the difference?

6. PRINCE2

What it is: PRINCE2, otherwise known as PRojects IN Controlled Environments, uses the overarching waterfall methodology to define stages within a project. It was initially created by the UK government for IT projects and still primarily suits large IT initiatives over the traditional product or market-focused projects. 

There are seven main principles of PRINCE2, which include:

  1. Starting a project

  2. Directing a project

  3. Initiating a project

  4. Controlling a project

  5. Managing product delivery

  6. Managing a stage boundary

  7. Closing a project

These seven principles create a thorough project process and make for an effective enterprise project methodology altogether. It aims to define roles and back management. Not only that, but PRINCE2 can be used to streamline a ton of individual project management tasks, like controlling a stage, managing product delivery, and initiating and closing a project. 

Who should use it: Due to the particular nature of the PRINCE2 project management methodology, it’s best suited for large enterprise projects with a number of project stakeholders. Using it for small projects may create a longer and more complicated process than necessary. 

Try PRINCE2 software with Asana

7. Six Sigma

What it is: Unlike the other PM methodologies, Six Sigma is used for quality management and is frequently described as a philosophy rather than a traditional methodology. It is often paired with either a lean methodology or Agile framework, otherwise known as lean Six Sigma and Agile Six Sigma. 

The main purpose of Six Sigma is to continuously improve processes and eliminate defects. This is achieved through continuous improvements by field experts to sustain, define, and control processes. 

To take this method one step further, you can use a Six Sigma DMAIC process, which creates a phased approach. These phases include:

  • Define: Create a project scope, business case, and initial stand-up meeting.

  • Measure: Collect data that helps inform improvement needs.

  • Analyze: Identify the root causes of problems. 

  • Improve: Solve the root causes found.

  • Control: Work to sustain the solutions for future projects. 

Who should use it: Six Sigma is best for large organizations, usually those with a few hundred employees or more. This is when the need to eliminate project waste starts to have a larger impact on your organization. 

8. Critical path method (CPM)

What it is: The critical path method works to identify and schedule critical tasks within a project. This includes creating task dependencies, tracking project goals and progress, prioritizing deliverables, and managing due dates—all of which are similar to a work breakdown structure.

The objective of this methodology is to properly manage successful projects at scale so that milestones and deliverables are mapped correctly. 

Who should use it: The critical path method is best for small and mid-size projects and teams. This is because large projects require many deliverables with multiple stakeholders and the CPM isn’t built to manage complex projects. 

9. Critical chain project management (CCPM)

What it is: The critical chain project management framework is closely related to the critical path methodology but is even more detailed, making it one of the most comprehensive options. 

Critical chain project management methodology

Along with implementing a work breakdown structure like CPM, CCPM includes specific time requirements for each task. This helps take task tracking one step further, making it clear when tasks are going over their allotted time. It also uses resource leveling which aims to resolve large workloads by distributing work across available resources. 

Not only do these help both productivity and efficiency, but they also help connect the work needed to be completed with project goals. Many project management tools even have visual elements to better visualize these goals, creating an organized road map for team members. 

Who should use it: CCPM is a great method for both small and large teams, but it mostly helps solve project efficiency problems. It can also be a great way to report work in progress to leadership. 

10. Lean

What it is: The lean project management methodology aims to cut waste and create a simple framework for project needs. This ultimately means doing more with less in order to maximize efficiency and teamwork. 

While reducing waste originally referred to a physical product (which dates back to the method used by Henry Ford and later by Toyota and Motorola), it now refers to wasteful practices. There are three Ms that represent this:

  • Muda (wastefulness): Practices that consume resources but don’t add value  

  • Mura (unevenness): Occurs through overproduction and leaves behind waste 

  • Muri (overburden): Occurs when there is too much strain on resources 

As a project manager, your job is to prevent the three Ms in order to better execute projects and streamline processes. This is similar to the approach of rational unified process (RUP), which also aims to reduce waste. The difference is that RUP aims to reduce development costs instead of wasteful practices. 

Who should use it: Since lean is all about reducing waste, it’s best suited for teams struggling with efficiency issues. While this will have a greater impact on large organizations, it can be helpful for project teams of all sizes. 

11. Project management institute’s PMBOK® Guide

What it is: While the PMI’s Project Management Body of Knowledge is associated as a project management methodology, it’s more closely related to a set of best practices that take into account various development processes. 

This framework focuses on implementing the five project management phases, all of which help easily manage a project from start to finish in a structured phase approach. The five phases include:

  1. Project initiation

  2. Project planning

  3. Project executing

  4. Project performance

  5. Project closure

While this is a good foundation to keep in mind, the PMBOK® Guide isn’t necessarily as specific as other approaches. This means you’ll need to decide which tasks to complete in each phase. 

Who should use it: The PMBOK® Guide can be used on its own for small teams on standard projects, though it’s a good idea to pair it with a more detailed methodology (like CPM) for large teams handling complex projects. 

12. Extreme programming (XP)

What it is: As the name suggests, extreme programming is used for fast-paced projects with tight deadlines. The approach works by creating short development cycles with many releases. This makes for quick turnaround times and increased productivity

Extreme programming (XP) project management methodology

Extreme programming has a few core values, which include simplicity, communication, feedback, respect, and courage. It also includes a specific set of XP rules which includes all phases from planning to testing. 

Who should use it: Extreme programming can be used for individual projects with tight deadlines, most commonly with small to midsize teams. Since XP is a fast-paced method, it should be used lightly in order to prevent burnout

How to choose the right project management methodology for your team

There is no one-size-fits-all approach when it comes to project management methodologies. Each one offers unique principles to take a development project from an initial plan to final execution. 

The main aspects to keep in mind are the size of your team and how your team prefers to work. Here are some additional tips to consider:

  • Your industry: Consider if you’re in an industry that changes frequently. For example, a technology company would be an industry that is ever-evolving. This will affect project consistency and should be paired with either a flexible or stagnant methodology. 

  • Your project focus: Consider the objectives of your projects. Do you value people over efficiency? This will help pair you with a methodology that matches a similar objective. 

  • The complexity of projects: Are your projects on the more complex side, or are they usually straightforward? Some methods aren’t as good as others at organizing complex tasks, such a CCPM.

  • The specialization of roles: Consider how niche the roles within your team are. Can multiple team members alternate the same type of work, or do you need a method that focuses on specialization?

  • Your organization’s size: The size of your organization and team should be weighed heavily when deciding on a methodology. Methods like Kanban are universal for team size, while options like CPM are better suited for small teams. 

Whether your team members prefer a visual process like Kanban or a more traditional project management approach like the waterfall method, there’s an option for every type of team. To take a project management methodology one step further, consider a work management tool to better track and execute development projects. 

Choose the right project management methodology for your team

Methods to help manage your projects mindfully

With the right project management methodology in place, you’ll be able to take your projects to new levels of efficiency and implement processes that are right for your team, your organization, and yourself.

Looking for ways to better manage projects? Check out Asana’s project management software. 

Try project management with Asana

Related resources

Article

The beginner's guide to Agile methodologies