瀑布專案管理法全攻略

Sarah Laoyan 撰稿者特寫照片Sarah LaoyanOctober 5th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
瀑布專案管理法全攻略文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

瀑布專案管理法是講究先後順序的專案管理法,區分為截然不同的階段。每個階段只會在上個階段完成後才開始。本文說明瀑布專案管理法的各階段,以及它如何能協助團隊達成目標。

專案經理可從許多類型的專案管理法中做選擇。包括:敏捷專案管理、看板專案管理Scrum,以及更多您可使用的疊代流程。

但若專案需要更線性的方法該怎麼辦?瀑布法就是線性專案管理法,有助您和團隊達成共同目標,而且是一次完成一個任務或里程碑。

什麼是瀑布專案管理法?

瀑布法是講究先後順序的專案管理法,把專案區分為截然不同的階段。每個階段只會在前一個階段完成後才會開始。

這種專案管理法源自於製造和營造業,每個里程碑都必須先完成,然後才能再推動下一個生產流程。例如:若地基還沒完成灌漿流程,就無法建造房屋的牆壁。

即便是從製造業開始使用的,瀑布專案管理法此後卻為滿足許多不同產業的需求而有所調整,包括軟體開發。舉例來說,以下範例就可說明瀑布專案的大致外觀:

瀑布專案管理法

瀑布法經常以流程圖或甘特圖的視覺化形式呈現。此方法稱為瀑布法,因為每個任務會串連至下一個步驟。您可在甘特圖中看到前一個階段「流向」下一個階段。

瀑布專案管理法的 6 個階段

任何團隊都能實施瀑布專案管理法,但此方法對於需要按照順序發生的流程最有助益。若您執行的專案,其任務可以同時完成,不妨試著使用其他架構,例如敏捷法

若一切就緒,可開始執行瀑布專案管理了,請依循這六個步驟:

1. 需求階段

此為初始規劃流程,由團隊儘可能收集最多的資訊,從而確保專案能成功。因為瀑布法中的任務依存於前導步驟,因此必須事先仔細思考。這個規劃流程階段是瀑布法模式的關鍵環節,也因為這樣,通常大部分專案時程的時間都用於規劃。

若要順利運用此法,可編纂詳細的專案計劃,藉此說明專案的各個階段。這包括需要哪些資源、由哪些特定團隊成員執行專案等所有資訊。此文件通常稱為專案需求文件。

需求階段結束前,應會對專案自始至終的概要內容非常清楚,包括:

閱讀:如何建立一個可讓您進展順利的專案計劃

2. 系統設計階段

在軟體開發流程中,設計階段是指專案團隊指名團隊要使用哪些硬體,以及程式語言和使用者介面等其他詳細資訊的階段。

系統設計階段可細分為兩個步驟:高階設計階段和低階設計階段。團隊在高階設計階段會建構軟體如何運作以及資訊如何存取的骨幹。而在低階設計階段,團隊則會建置軟體較具體的部分。若將高階設計階段想像成血肉之軀的骨幹部分,那麼低階設計階段就是專案的「器官」。

使用瀑布法進行開發工作的團隊成員應該用文件記錄每個步驟,使團隊能夠在專案向前推進後,回來參考已完成哪些內容。

3. 實作階段

這是指實現一切構想的階段。根據第一步驟的需求文件和第二階段的系統設計流程,團隊就可開始完整的開發流程,按照需求階段和系統設計階段概述的內容來建置軟體。

閱讀:什麼是實施計劃?建立實施計劃的 6 個步驟

4. 測試階段

開發團隊在此階段會將專案移交給掌管品質保證 (QA) 的測試團隊。QA 測試人員會先尋找所有錯誤或無法有效運行之處,以利修正,然後才部署專案。

測試人員應用文件清楚記錄 QA 階段找到的所有問題,若另一位開發人員發現類似的錯誤,就能參考之前的文件,幫助修正錯誤並解決問題。

5. 部署階段

對開發專案而言,這是指將軟體部署至終端使用者的階段。而對其他產業而言,這則是指發佈最終的交付項目,並將其交付給終端客戶。

6. 維護階段

專案部署之後,可能會發現執行個體有新的錯誤,或者需要更新軟體。這就是所謂的維護階段,而軟體開發通常會持續執行這個階段的工作。

瀑布法的使用時機

瀑布法是常見的專案管理形式,因為它能徹底而詳盡的規劃和記錄。儘管如此,此架構卻並非適用於所有專案。以下這些範例說明何時是使用此專案管理類型的理想時機。

專案具有清楚定義的終點目標

瀑布法的優點之一就是可允許從 A 點至 B 點規劃出清楚的路徑。若不確定您的 B 點是什麼,那專案可能較適合使用如敏捷法這類的疊代式專案管理

專案若具有易於定義的目標,則最適合使用瀑布法,因為專案經理可以透過回溯方式,從目標開始建立清楚而詳細的路徑,納入所有必要的需求。

閱讀:如何撰寫高效的專案目標 (附帶範例)

沒有預算或時間的限制

若專案沒有預算或時間限制,團隊成員就可以儘可能多花時間在需求和系統設計階段。他們可以修正並調整工作,以便儘可能滿足專案的需求,直到制定一個設想和定義周全的專案計劃為止。

建立可重複執行的流程

瀑布模式幾乎要求在每一個流程步驟均製作文件記錄。這樣一來,就能輕易讓新團隊成員複製您執行專案的方式;由於每個步驟都清楚闡述詳細資訊,因此可以重建整個流程。

建立可重複執行的流程後,訓練新團隊成員的工作也變得簡單,可以輕易地讓他們確切瞭解在類似的專案中必須完成哪些工作。因此瀑布流程,是成效卓著的專案管理方法,可用來將流程標準化。

閱讀:改善團隊工作流程的 5 個專案管理階段

瀑布專案管理法的優點

一致的文件記錄把工作回溯變得簡單

實作瀑布專案管理流程時,您會在過程的每個步驟建立文件記錄。這樣做可能很有幫助,尤其是若團隊必須回溯之前的流程,您就能輕易地找到錯誤。若要建立新團隊成員可使用的可重複流程 (如上所述),這麼做也很有幫助。

輕鬆追蹤進度

在甘特圖繪製瀑布專案後,您就能輕鬆追蹤專案進度。時間軸可當作進度列,如此一來,就能始終清楚掌握專案處於哪個階段。

[時間軸檢視] Asana 中的行動應用程式發佈專案

團隊成員能有效管理時間

由於瀑布法在需求和設計階段投入很多規劃心力,因此專案關係人可以輕易估計各自的特定瀑布流程部分將會花費多少時間。

閱讀:助您完成出色工作的 18 個時間管理提示、策略和速成技巧

瀑布模式的缺點

途中的阻礙可能嚴重影響時程

瀑布法屬線性性質,因此若途中出現障礙或有任務被延誤,則整個時程就會有所變動。例如,若有第三方協力廠商遲交特定的零件給製造團隊,整個流程就得暫停,直到取得該特定零件為止。

線性流程可能會讓回溯變得極具挑戰性

瀑布法的其中一個主要挑戰是,一旦完成,就很難返回某一個階段。例如,若有人已經開始粉刷房屋的牆壁,就無法再加蓋房間,把它的空間變大了。

QA 設置於流程的後段

相較於疊代屬性較高的專案管理法 (如看板和敏捷法),瀑布法的審核階段是在流程的相對後期階段才展開。若在流程的初期犯錯,那麼要返回修正錯誤,就可能極具挑戰性。瀑布流程的運作方式未留下任何空間讓團隊進行疊代,或尋找最佳解決方案。

閱讀:瀑布法、敏捷法、看板與 Scrum:各有何差異?

管理瀑布專案

執行瀑布專案時,有許多必須持續追蹤的變動部分,以及不同的團隊成員。要讓大家資訊與目標一致的其中一個絕佳做法是使用工作管理軟體,將工作流程、時間軸和交付項目全都保存在同一位置。

若覺得準備好在團隊中嘗試使用瀑布專案管理法了,不妨試用 Asana。您可透過數種方式檢視 Asana 專案,包括時間軸檢視,它會以線性的時間軸方式呈現您的專案。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

相關資源

文章

Six Sigma: All you need to know about the lean methodology

Everything you need to know about waterfall project management

Sarah Laoyan contributor headshotSarah LaoyanOctober 5th, 20215 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Everything you need to know about waterfall project management article banner image

Summary

Waterfall project management is a sequential project management methodology that's divided into distinct phases. Each phase begins only after the previous phase is completed. This article explains the phases of waterfall project management and how it can help your team achieve their goals.

Project managers have many different types of project management methodologies to choose from. There's Agile project management, Kanban project management, Scrum, and many more iterative processes that you can use. 

But what if your project requires a more linear approach? Waterfall methodology is a linear project management methodology that can help you and your team achieve your shared goals—one task or milestone at a time. 

What is waterfall project management?

Waterfall is a sequential project management methodology in which a project is divided into distinct phases. Each phase begins only after the previous phase is completed. 

This project management approach originated from the manufacturing and construction industries, where each milestone needs to be completed before the production process can move forward. For example, you cannot build the walls of a house if foundation has not been poured. 

Even though it began in manufacturing, waterfall project management has since adapted to fit the needs of many different industries, including software development. For example, here’s what a waterfall project might look like:

Waterfall project management methodology

The waterfall methodology is often visualized in the form of a flow chart or a Gantt chart. This methodology is called waterfall because each task cascades into the next step. In a Gantt chart, you can see the previous phase "fall" into the next phase.

The 6 phases of the waterfall project management methodology

Any team can implement waterfall project management, but this methodology is most useful for processes that need to happen sequentially. If the project you’re working on has tasks that can be completed concurrently, try another framework, like the Agile methodology

If you’re ready to get started with waterfall project management, follow these six steps: 

1. Requirements phase

This is the initial planning process in which the team gathers as much information as possible to ensure a successful project. Because tasks in the waterfall method are dependent on previous steps, it requires a lot of forethought. This planning process is a crucial part of the waterfall model, and because of that, most of the project timeline is often spent planning.

To make this method work for you, compile a detailed project plan that explains each phase of the project. This includes everything from what resources are needed and what specific team members are working on the project. This document is commonly referred to as a project requirements document. 

By the end of the requirements phase, you should have a very clear outline of the project from start to finish, including:

Read: How to create a project plan that works to keep you on track

2. System design phase

In a software development process, the design phase is when the project team specifies what hardware the team will be using, and other detailed information such as programming languages and user interface. 

There are two steps of the system design phase: the high-level design phase and low-level design phase. In the high-level design phase, the team builds out the skeleton of how the software will work and how information will be accessed. During the low-level design phase, the team builds the more specific parts of the software. If the high-level design phase is the skeleton, the low-level design phase is the organs of the project. 

Those team members developing using the waterfall method should document each step so the team can refer back to what was done as the project progresses.

3. Implementation phase

This is the stage where everything is put into action. Based on the requirements document in step one and the system design process in step two, the team begins the full development process to build the software as outlined by both the requirements phase and the system design phase.

Read: What is an implementation plan? 6 steps to create one

4. Testing phase

This is the stage in which the development team hands the project over to the quality assurance testing team. QA testers search for any bugs or errors that need to be fixed before the project is deployed. 

Testers should clearly document all of the issues they find when QAing. In the event that another developer comes across a similar bug, they can reference previous documentation to help fix the issue. 

5. Deployment phase

For development projects, this is the stage in which the software is deployed to the end user. For other industries, this is when the final deliverable is launched and delivered to end customers. 

6. Maintenance phase

Once a project is deployed, there may be instances where a new bug is discovered, or a software update is required. This is known as the maintenance phase, and it's common in software development to be continuously working on this phase.

When to use the waterfall methodology

The waterfall methodology is a common form of project management because it allows for thorough planning and detailed documentation. However, this framework isn’t right for every project. Here are a few examples for when to use this type of project management. 

Project has a well defined end goal

One of the strengths of the waterfall approach is that it allows for a clear path from point A to point B. If you're unsure of what your point B is, your project is probably better off using an iterative form of project management like the Agile approach. 

Projects with an easily defined goal are well-suited for the waterfall method because project managers can work backwards from the goal to create a clear and detailed path with all of the requirements necessary.

Read: How to write an effective project objective, with examples

No restraints on budget or time

If your project has no restraints on budget or time, team members can spend as much time as possible in the requirements and system design phase. They can tweak and tailor the needs of the project as much as they want until they land on a well thought out and defined project plan.

Creating repeatable processes

The waterfall model requires documentation at almost every step of the process. This makes it easy to repeat your project for a new team member; each step is clearly detailed so you can recreate the process.

Creating repeatable processes also makes it easy to train new team members on what exactly needs to be done in similar projects. This makes the waterfall process an effective approach to project management for standardizing processes.

Read: 5 project management phases to improve your team’s workflow

Benefits of waterfall project management

Consistent documentation makes it easy to backtrack

When you implement the waterfall project management process, you’re creating documentation every step of the way. This can be beneficial—if your team needs to backtrack your processes, you can easily find mistakes. It's also great for creating repeatable processes for new team members, as mentioned earlier. 

Tracking progress is easy

By laying out a waterfall project in a Gantt chart, you can easily track project progress. The timeline itself serves as a progress bar, so it’s always clear what stage a project is in.

[Timeline View] Mobile app launch project in Asana

Team members can manage time effectively

Because the waterfall methodology requires so much planning during the requirement and design phase, this makes it easy for stakeholders to estimate how much time their specific part of the waterfall process will take.

Read: 18 time management tips, strategies, and quick wins to get your best work done

Downsides of the waterfall model

Roadblocks can drastically affect timeline

The waterfall methodology is linear by nature, so if there's a bump in the road or a task gets delayed, the entire timeline is shifted. For example, if a third party vendor is late on sending a specific part to a manufacturing team, the entire process has to be put on pause until that specific piece is received.

Linear progress can make backtracking challenging

One of the major challenges of the waterfall methodology is that it's hard to go back to a phase once it's already completed. For example, if someone is painting the walls of a house, they wouldn’t be able to go back and increase the size of one of the rooms. 

QA is late in the process

In comparison to some of the more iterative project management methodologies like Kanban and Agile, the review stage in a waterfall approach happens later in the process. If a mistake is made early on in the process, it can be challenging to go back and fix it. Because of how the waterfall process works, it doesn’t allow for room for iteration or searching for the best solution.

Managing your waterfall project

With waterfall projects, there are many moving pieces and different team members to keep track of. One of the best ways to stay on the same page is to use work management software to keep workflows, timelines, and deliverables all in one place. 

If you're ready to try waterfall project management with your team, try Asana. You can view Asana projects in several ways, including Timeline view which visualizes your project as a linear timeline.

Learn more about Asana for project management

Related resources

Article

What is a project sponsor? (Role + duties breakdown)