計劃經理與專案經理:需要瞭解的主要差異

Asana 團隊撰稿人圖片Team Asana
January 2nd, 2024
facebookx-twitterlinkedin
檢視範本

您或許知道專案管理是什麼,但您可曾聽過計劃管理一詞?兩者雖然乍聽之下很相似,但您可能會訝異於它們的諸多不同之處。 

不論您是在為您的團隊尋找合適的角色,或是想要改善您的工作管理流程,我們都將會幫助您瞭解計劃經理與專案經理之間的區別。您不僅會知道這兩個工作的職責為何,還會明白哪個角色最適合您的團隊。現在,讓我們深入瞭解專案與計劃的差異吧。 

什麼是專案?什麼是計劃?

若要全面瞭解計劃經理與專案經理的區別,必須先明白專案與計劃的不同之處。簡而言之,專案是暫時的,而計劃則是專案之下的根本策略。不過,還有一些關鍵的差異和相似之處需要留意。

理解這兩個角色的一個簡單方法,是明白現行的計劃乃是由多個專案所組成。意即每個專案都有特定的目標,這些目標構成了更廣泛的計劃目標。專案帶有明確的時間軸和交付項目,而計劃則是由具有多重相依性的長期業務目標所組成。

儘管兩者之間存在許多差異,但它們確實也有一些雷同之處。專案和計劃皆有四個要素:規模、困難度、關係和不確定性。不同的是兩者的複雜程度。專案通常規模較小,不確定性也較低。而計劃的規模往往較大,部門之間的關係錯綜複雜,且涉及更多的不確定性。

計劃經理與專案經理

現在您已經對計劃與專案的差異有了更清楚的瞭解,讓我們一起看看計劃經理與專案經理這兩個角色的比較吧。明白兩者的差異將有助您瞭解團隊中每項工作所扮演的角色,以及如何針對您自己的角色進行改進。

計劃經理與專案經理

計劃經理負責領導由多個不同專案所組成的長期計劃策略,而專案經理則負責領導個別的專案。以下是計劃經理與專案經理之間的一些其他區別。

  • 管理專案:有別於監督個別專案的專案經理,計劃經理監督的是一整群的專案。換句話說,他們專注於跨越多個小專案的大型計劃。這使得管理多個專案成為這項工作的一大部份。

  • 管理日常任務:另一方面,專案經理專注於每日的專案管理職責,包括協調工作與追蹤時間軸。這通常是在專案管理軟體的幫助下完成。 

  • 資歷:計劃經理的資歷通常比專案經理深。雖然並非所有情況都是如此,不過由於計劃經理負責監督更廣泛的策略,他們通常較專案經理來得資深。  

  • 職責:計劃經理與專案經理合作,但前者不一定直接管理后者。您可以使用 RACI 表幫助您判別兩者的角色與職責。 

  • 內部角色:專案經理和計劃經理扮演非常不同的角色,但兩者對於組織的成功都是不可或缺的。 

閱讀:工作管理與專案管理:兩者差異為何?

什麼是計劃經理?

如您所見,計劃經理負責處理長期的計劃策略及成功指標。他們的任務範圍從定義成功到監督協作,還有這之間的眾多事務。

當您想在現有的系統中實施計劃時,計劃經理的角色便很重要。他們還可以協助監督專案經理,並將日常專案連結至更大型的計劃。

以下的範例勾勒出計劃經理的一日工作。 

您的早晨時段將用於完成來自公司整體目標與關鍵結果 (OKR) 的年度基準目標。在下午時段,您會與各部門的專案經理會面,確保專案進度正常並達成計畫目標。在這一天的結尾,您將會參與高階主管會議,向領導階層報告每月的專案指標。若有時間,您會提前開始準備下個月的預算報告。 

嘗試用 Asana 進行計劃管理

什麼是專案經理?

另一方面,專案經理負責處理日常專案與任務。他們不但協助團隊保持井然有序、進度正常,同時還有助於簡化職場溝通。 

專案經理很適合用以確保實現目標且團隊成員有明確的方向。雖然他們的工作著重於專案任務,但他們也與計劃經理合作,以確保專案確實達成既定目標。

以下的範例勾勒出專案經理的一日工作。 

在一天的開始,您會審視您團隊正進行的兩個專案。由於有個交付項目似乎已經過期,因此您會聯絡團隊主管以提供支援。在下午時段,您會與計劃經理會談,審視將至的專案,確保它們按照每月目標推動進度。在這一天的結尾,您將會召開事後會議審視您團隊上週完成的任務,然後封存專案材料。 

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

計劃經理的工作是什麼?

計劃經理是一個非常有價值的角色,其身負許多職責,包括大方向的計劃。計劃經理負責處理跨越較長時段的複雜專案、對應更廣大的公司目標,並協調專案團隊和預算需求。 

計劃經理角色與職責

計劃經理和專案經理的職責差異歸結為誰專注於日常任務、誰專注於整體專案計劃。話雖如此,雙方合作是很常見的。 讓我們深入瞭解計劃經理的重要職責及其扮演的關鍵角色。 

計劃經理角色與職責

雖然計劃經理與專案經理的角色不同,但他們確實有一些共同的職責,例如監督專案和協調溝通。計劃經理的角色和職責因公司而異,一些常見職責包括專案策略、品質控管、績效報告變更管理風險規劃

一個優秀的計劃經理應該具備所有這些 (甚至更多其他) 技能,並且是有能力協調多個團隊的出色領導者。以下是計劃經理的一些其他角色和職責。 

實施策略

計劃經理負責協調較小型的專案,這些專案的目標必須符合公司整體的目標。也就是說,計劃經理必須與專案經理合作,確保日常專案目標確實達成,更大方向的計劃也進展順利。

計劃經理也負責簡化內部流程、為一系列的專案定義最佳做法為何。這讓專案經理在管理專案時能有明確的方向,同時避免因欠缺溝通和作業時間而發生錯誤。

其他的策略性職責包括與專案經理協調專案,以確保交付項目保持一致。

監視協作

專案經理通常專注於為一次性專案引入協作,而計劃經理則確保不同部門之間的協作確實進行。雖然挑戰性十足,但這也是此份工作中最有價值的部份之一。

計劃經理通常也專注於替高階的公司目標建立計劃藍圖。這與專案經理建立個別的專案藍圖略有不同。 

計劃經理可以透過引進可簡化溝通的新工具 (例如計劃管理軟體或團隊凝聚遊戲) 管理協作。雖然這些方法不盡相同,但它們的目的都是鼓勵團隊合作與提升可視度。

閱讀:超過 100 則有助於激勵並啟發協作的團隊合作語錄

定義成功指標

儘管專案經理與計劃經理都應該針對投資報酬率 (ROI) 進行分析與報告,但確保全公司的投資報酬率與高階目標一致是計劃經理的職責。

也就是說,計劃經理必須與專案經理會談,確保一次性的專案確實達成最初設定的目標。在向公司高階主管報告投資報酬率指標及整體計劃績效時,計劃經理通常會是聯絡窗口。 

技能與經驗

計劃經理應該具備全面性的綜合技能,並擁有專案管理和工作流程管理的經驗。儘管有些專業人士選擇正式研讀計劃管理並取得認證,但這不一定是必要的。

若想替您的團隊添加一位計劃經理,以下這些是您需要尋找並牢記於心的技能。

計劃管理技能

優秀的計劃經理應具備的主要技能包括組織、規劃、排程、計劃策略、報告、提案撰寫,以及預算規劃。這最終將取決於您的組織需要的是哪些職責,以及它們將如何與任何現有的團隊成員合作。

除了所需的任何特定技能之外,計劃經理也必須在計劃管理角色中具備人際交往的能力。 這將有助於他們協調協作並激勵隊友督促自己取得最佳成果。

計劃管理經驗

優秀的計劃經理應該具備專案管理的經驗,或曾經勝任其他專注於管理和組織專案的角色。

雖然所需的年資各不相同,但計劃經理平均有大約五年的經驗。這與專案管理不同,後者根據特定工作的複雜程度所需的經驗較少。

常見挑戰

無論是要解決時間軸延誤或預算問題,計劃經理都必須像團隊中的其他角色一樣克服阻礙。事實上,計劃經理身處一個很獨特的位置,他們必須同時管理來自上級與下級的期待。

以下是一些計劃經理經常面臨的常見挑戰。 

  • 目標不同步和欠缺溝通,這類的跨部門挑戰可能對長期目標造成負面影響。   

  • 若沒有直接的下屬,計劃經理可能會面臨授權和影響力方面的挑戰。 

  • 由於計劃的時間軸很長,因此很難確保短期專案進度正常而得以實現年度目標。  

閱讀:計劃管理終極指南

專案經理的工作是什麼?

儘管專案經理與計劃經理的角色同具價值,但兩者的差異在於日常任務。專案經理的主要職責是將計劃經理的策略轉化為能夠達成既定目標的個別專案。這包括了組織、規劃、追蹤和執行工作。

專案經理角色與職責

專案經理經時常與計劃經理合作或向計劃經理報告。這是因為他們大部分的工作都是基於現行的計劃策略。其他職責包括指派專案任務、保持專案井然有序、建立時間軸和追蹤進度。所有這些都有助於專案和團隊維持進度正常,以便實現公司目標。

專案經理角色與職責

專案經理的主要作用是幫助團隊保持井然有序和溝通同步。這讓工作期限和計劃層級的目標得以順利進展。其他角色和職責包括了指派任務和追蹤專案進度,確保能夠按時完成工作。

在衡量計劃經理與專案經理之間的差異時,您需要考慮以下這些額外的職責。

協調工作

專案經理負責將專案任務指派給合適的專案關係人,並確保他們擁有完成工作所需的所有資訊。這對於避免浪費時間搜尋資訊尤其重要。由於許多團隊都是以虛擬的方式進行工作,加上他們有 60% 的時間是花在協調工作而非實際的工作上,也讓這成為了最困難的任務之一。

雖然團隊成員之間的協調可能是一項艱鉅的任務,但如果做得正確,它可以提高生產力和團隊效率。這讓您的團隊得以專注於進行手頭上的交付項目。

閱讀:提高生產力的 12 個秘訣

組織專案

專案經理同時也負責組織專案。這不僅需要與團隊成員聯繫,還需要管理專案資訊和專案關係人的交付項目。

雖然看似容易,但有效地組織專案涉及許多事項。其中一些關鍵的職責包括為團隊成員提供準確的資訊,推動交付項目的進展,以及在整個專案的生命週期中領導團隊會議。 

追蹤進度

追蹤專案進度是專案經理負責的另一項重要任務。這需要使交付項目確切對應任務時間軸,並確保它們與專案期限保持同步。

為了對應進度,專案經理還需要與團隊成員溝通進度,藉而建立專案可視度並改善協作。這個任務可能很棘手 (尤其是在虛擬工作時),故需要耐心和解決問題的能力。 

技能與經驗

相較於計劃經理需要五年左右的經驗,專案經理不見得需要同等的經驗。主要尋找的標準是組織能力、溝通技巧和工作協調經驗。

請查看這些專案管理技能,以更深入地瞭解專案經理所需的經驗。

專案管理技能

專案管理技能與計劃管理技能十分類似,卻又存在幾個重大的差異。組織、規劃、排程等技能都是這兩個角色所不可或缺的。兩者之間的區別在於專案經理需要處理緊湊的工作期限,且必須能在快節奏的環境中工作,而計劃經理的工作則不會依據如此具體的時間軸。正因如此,合適的專案經理人選應該偏好快節奏的工作環境。

與計劃經理的角色類似,重要的是持續學習可助您脫穎而出的新方法和工具。您可以利用國際專案管理學會 (PMI) 等組織所提供的工具提高您的技能水準,並學習可引進至您的團隊的新方法。

專案管理經驗

成為專案經理所需的必要經驗將根據角色的複雜程度而有所不同。大多數職位需要大約兩年的經驗,而有些職位則幾乎不需要經驗。

就如同計劃經理,專案經理所需的經驗將取決於您組織的需求。經驗較少的專案經理可能適合在專案規劃方面需要幫助的小型團隊,而經驗豐富的專案經理則可替具有複雜專案交付項目的大型團隊帶來優勢。

常見挑戰

計劃經理面臨的是策略挑戰,而專案經理則不同,其面臨的是溝通與生產力問題這類的日常阻礙。

以下是專案經理每天都會遭遇的一些最大挑戰。  

  • 若專案關係人之間欠缺溝通,則交付項目可能會發生遺漏,更糟糕的是執行不當。

  • 若專案偏離原定的時間軸,則範疇潛變便可能會成為挑戰。這種情況有可能在缺乏組織或合適的工具時發生。 

  • 在追蹤目標和機會時,缺少成功指標也可能成為一項挑戰。 

閱讀:專案管理的優勢為何?

何種角色最適合您的團隊?

專案經理一角對於執行專案和管理團隊工作負荷及溝通來說至關重要,而計劃經理更是成功的專案策略所不可或缺的。讓我們一起看看您可以利用哪些方式判定何種角色最適合您的團隊。 

何種角色最適合您的團隊:計劃經理還是專案經理?

請先考慮需要改進的領域,接著衡量最能勝任該項工作的是專案經理還是計劃經理。評估現有的角色是否有被妥善利用也很有幫助。在許多情況下,專案經理會承擔計劃經理的職責。這可能會導致個別專案中的過勞和更多出錯。您還可以查看公司整體的目標與關鍵結果 (OKR),以瞭解何種角色最貼近公司的長期目標。

以下是您的團隊可能面臨的範例情境,以及如何判斷哪個角色有助於解決各個情況。 

情境 1:您的團隊是否按時完成任務,但在衡量績效和實現公司目標方面卻很費力?

  • 解決方案:計劃經理可以設定績效指標並擬定策略,讓較小的專案目標得以符合公司整體的目標。 

情境 2:您的團隊是否需要很費力才能按時完成工作,且被手頭上的任務壓得喘不過氣?

  • 解決方案:專案經理可以監控期限和團隊工作負荷,確保在截止日期前完成工作並進行清楚的溝通。 

情境 3:您的組織是否期望達成大幅成長,但在實現可交付成果和衡量績效方面卻很費力?

  • 解決方案:在您的團隊中加入一位計劃經理或專案經理可能會有所幫助。專案經理將能替長期目標制定策略,並幫助專案實現那些目標。專案經理則將有助於管理每日的時間軸、交付項目和團隊溝通。 

從專案到計劃經理

專案經理及計劃經理對於任何高績效團隊來說皆不可或缺。無論兩者是以何種方式管理專案,他們都能替日常營運帶來不同的觀點。畢竟,我們總是可以藉助更多幫助來管理工作和策略。

若您正在尋找有關計劃管理的額外資訊,請閱讀我們的什麼是計劃管理指南。

Program manager vs. project manager: Key differences to know

Team Asana contributor imageTeam AsanaJune 9th, 202110 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Program manager vs. project manager

You may know what project management is, but have you ever heard the term program management? While the two sound similar, you might be surprised to learn there’s a lot that sets them apart. 

Whether you’re searching for the right role for your team or want to improve your work management processes, we’ll help you understand the differences between a program manager vs. project manager. Not only will you learn the responsibilities of each job, but you’ll also learn which role is right for your team. Now, let’s get into the differences between a project and a program. 

What is a project vs. a program?

To fully understand the difference between a program manager and a project manager, it’s important to first know the difference between a project vs. a program. In short, projects are temporary and programs are underlying strategies. But there are a few other key differences and similarities to note. 

An easy way to conceptualize the two is to consider the fact that multiple projects make up the programs in place. This means that each project has specific objectives that make up broader program objectives. While projects have clear timelines and deliverables, programs consist of long-term business objectives with multiple dependencies. 

Though there are many differences between the two, they do share some similarities. Both a project and a program consist of four components: size, difficulty, relationships, and uncertainty. What’s different is the degree of complexity. Projects tend to be smaller in size and run into less uncertainty, while programs tend to be larger, have many complex relationships between departments, and involve more uncertainty. 

Program manager vs. project manager

Now that you have a better understanding of the differences between a program and a project, let’s look at how the two roles compare. Learning the differences will help you understand the role of each job within your team and how you can make improvements in your own role. 

Program manager vs. project manager

While a program manager leads long-term program strategy which consists of multiple different projects, a project manager leads individual projects. Here are some additional differences between a program manager and a project manager. 

  • Managing projects: Unlike a project manager who supervises individual projects, a program manager supervises a group of projects. In other words, they focus on large programs that span a number of small projects. This makes managing multiple projects a large part of the job. 

  • Managing daily tasks: A project manager, on the other hand, focuses on daily project management duties which include work coordination and timeline tracking. This is often done with the help of project management software

  • Seniority: A program manager often has more seniority than a project manager. While this isn’t the case in every scenario, program managers are most often senior to project managers since they oversee broader strategies.  

  • Responsibilities: Program managers work alongside project managers but may not directly manage them. A great way to help identify roles and responsibilities is by using RACI charts

  • Internal roles: A project manager and a program manager have very different roles, but both are necessary for the success of an organization. 

Read: Work management vs project management: what’s the difference?

What is a program manager?

As you can see, a program manager handles long-term program strategy and success metrics. Their tasks range from defining success to overseeing collaboration and many things in between. 

A program manager is important when you’re looking to implement programs into your current systems. They can also be helpful for overseeing project managers and connecting day-to-day projects with larger programs. 

Here’s an example of a day in the life of a program manager. 

Your morning will be spent finishing up yearly baseline goals that stem from company-wide OKRs. In the afternoon, you’ll meet with project managers from various departments to ensure projects are on track to meet program goals. You’ll finish the day off with an executive meeting where you’ll be reporting monthly project metrics to leadership. If you have time, you’ll get a head start on the budget report for next month. 

What is a project manager?

A project manager, on the other hand, works on daily projects and tasks. They help keep teams organized and on track, while also helping streamline communication in the workplace

Project managers are great for ensuring goals are met and team members have clear directions. They also work with program managers to ensure projects are hitting target objectives, though most of their work is focused on project tasks. 

Here’s an example of a day in the life of a project manager

You’ll start the day by reviewing the progress of the two projects your team is working on. A deliverable looks overdue, so you connect with the team lead to provide support. In the afternoon you’ll chat with the program manager to review upcoming projects and make sure they’re on track for monthly goals. You’ll finish the day off by running a post-mortem meeting to review the project your team completed last week before archiving project materials. 

What does a program manager do?

A program manager is a very rewarding role. There are many responsibilities a program manager is in charge of, including big picture initiatives. A program manager handles complex projects that span long periods of time and align with larger company goals and also coordinates project teams and budgeting needs. 

Program manager roles and responsibilities

The difference in duties between a program manager and a project manager comes down to who’s focusing on the daily tasks vs. overarching project plans. That said, it’s common for both to collaborate. Let’s dive into some key roles and responsibilities of a program manager. 

Program manager roles and responsibilities

While the roles of a program manager vs. project manager are different, they do share some responsibilities, such as overseeing projects and coordinating communication. Program manager roles and responsibilities vary from company to company, but some of the universal duties include project strategy, quality control, performance reporting, change management, and risk planning

A good candidate will have all of these and more, as well as be a good leader who can coordinate with multiple teams. Here are some additional roles and responsibilities of a program manager. 

Implement strategies

Program managers are in charge of coordinating smaller projects with objectives that measure up to company-wide goals. This means working with project managers to ensure daily project goals are being met and bigger picture programs are on track.

Program managers also streamline internal processes and define best practices for a collection of projects. This allows project managers to have clear direction when managing projects. It also prevents errors due to lack of communication and time spent on work. 

Other strategic duties include coordinating projects with a project manager to make sure deliverables are aligned. 

Oversee collaboration

While project managers tend to focus on introducing collaboration for one-off projects, program managers make sure collaboration is happening cross-departmentally. While challenging, it is one of the most rewarding parts of the job. 

Program managers also tend to focus on creating program roadmaps for high-level company goals. This is slightly different from a project manager who will create individual project roadmaps

A program manager may manage collaboration by introducing new tools that streamline communication, such as program management software or team-building games. While different, these methods are designed to encourage teamwork and increase visibility.

Read: 100+ teamwork quotes to motivate and inspire collaboration

Define success metrics

While both a project manager and program manager should be analyzing and reporting on ROI, a program manager is in charge of ensuring that company-wide ROI aligns with high-level objectives. 

This means meeting with project managers to ensure one-off projects are hitting initial goals. Program managers will often be the point of contact for reporting ROI metrics to company executives and overall program performance. 

Skills and experience

A program manager should have a well-rounded skill set and both project management and workflow management experience. Though some professionals formally study program management and receive credentials, that's not always necessary.

If you're looking to add a program manager to your team, these are the skills to look for and keep in mind.

Program management skills

Top skills that a strong program manager should have include organization, planning, scheduling, program strategy, reporting, proposal writing, and budget planning. This will ultimately depend on the duties your organization is looking for and how they’ll work with any existing team members. 

Beyond any specific skills needed, it’s also important for a program manager to have people skills in a program management role. This will help them coordinate collaboration and inspire teammates to push themselves to do their best. 

Program management experience

A strong program manager will have previous experience in project management or another role focused on managing and organizing projects. 

While the number of years of experience needed varies, the average program manager has around five years of previous experience. This differs from project management which requires less experience depending on the complexity of the particular job. 

Common challenges

Whether tackling timeline delays or budgetary issues, program managers have to overcome obstacles just like other roles within a team. In fact, program managers are in a unique position where they must manage expectations from both above and below them.  

Here are some common challenges that program managers often face. 

  • Cross-departmental challenges like unaligned goals and lack of communication can have a negative impact on long-term objectives.   

  • Without direct reports, program managers can face challenges around authority and influence. 

  • With long program timelines, it can be difficult to ensure short-term projects stay on track in order to meet annual goals.  

Read: The ultimate guide to program management

What does a project manager do?

A project manager differs from a program manager based on daily tasks, though it is just as rewarding as a program manager role. A project manager’s main responsibility is to translate the program manager’s strategy into individual projects that meet set objectives. This includes organizing, planning, tracking, and executing work.

Project manager roles and responsibilities

Project managers often work alongside or report to program managers. This is because so much of their job is based on the program strategies put in place. Other duties include assigning project tasks, keeping projects organized, creating timelines, and tracking progress—all of which help projects and teams stay on track in order to meet company goals.

Project manager roles and responsibilities

A project manager’s main role is to help keep teams organized and communication aligned. This keeps deadlines and program-level objectives on track. Other roles and responsibilities include assigning tasks and tracking project progress to ensure deadlines are met. 

Here are some additional responsibilities to consider when weighing the differences between a program manager vs. a project manager.

Coordinate work

Project managers are responsible for assigning project tasks to the right stakeholders and ensuring they have all the information they need to complete the work. This is especially important to avoid wasting time searching for information. It’s also one of the most difficult tasks considering many teams are working virtually and 60% of their time is spent on work coordination instead of actual work. 

Although coordinating between team members can be a difficult task, it can improve productivity and team efficiency if done correctly. This allows your team to focus on their deliverables at hand.

Read: 12 tips to be more productive today

Organize projects

Project managers are also responsible for organizing projects. Not only does this require connecting with team members, but it also requires managing project information and stakeholder deliverables.

While that may seem easy enough, there’s a lot that goes into effectively organizing projects. Some of the key duties include providing team members with accurate information, keeping deliverables moving forward, and leading team meetings throughout the project lifecycle. 

Track progress

Tracking project progress is another important task that project managers are responsible for. This requires aligning deliverables with task timelines and ensuring they are on pace with project deadlines. 

Progress mapping also requires the task of communicating progress to team members in order to create project visibility and improve collaboration. This can be tricky, especially when working virtually, and requires both patience and problem-solving skills. 

Skills and experience

Unlike a program manager that requires around five years of experience, a project manager doesn’t necessarily need the same amount of experience. The main criteria to look for are organizational skills, communication skills, and work coordination experience. 

Take a look at these project management skills to get a better understanding of the experience needed.

Project management skills

Project management skills are similar to those of program management, with a couple of big differences. Skills such as organization, planning, and scheduling are essential for both roles. The difference between the two is that project managers work on tight deadlines and need to be able to work in a fast-paced environment, whereas program managers don’t work on such concrete timelines. Because of this, the right person should prefer a fast-working environment. 

Similar to a program manager role, it’s important to continue learning new methods and tools that can help set you apart. Organizations like the Project Management Institute (PMI) offer tools to grow your skill level and learn new methods to bring back to your team. 

Project management experience

The necessary experience needed to be a project manager will differ depending on the complexity of the role. Most roles require around two years of experience, though some require little to no experience. 

Just like a program manager, the experience needed will depend on what your organization is looking for. Small teams that need help with project planning may be suited for a project manager with little experience, while large teams with complex project deliverables may benefit from a project manager with more experience. 

Common challenges

Unlike a program manager who faces strategic challenges, a project manager faces daily obstacles like communication and productivity issues. 

Here are some of the biggest challenges project managers face on a daily basis. 

  • If communication is lacking between stakeholders, deliverables could be missed or, worse, done incorrectly.

  • Scope creep can become a challenge if a project is going over the planned timeline. This can happen if there is a lack of organization or the right tools aren’t in place. 

  • Lack of success metrics can be a challenge when tracking goals and opportunities. 

Read: What are the benefits of project management?

What role is right for your team?

While project managers are essential for executing projects and managing team workload and communication, program managers are also essential to a successful project strategy. Let’s look at ways you can determine which role is right for your team. 

What role is right for your team: Program manager vs project manager?

Consider areas that need improvement, then weigh whether a project manager or program manager is the best fit for the job. It’s also helpful to evaluate whether or not your current roles are being utilized correctly. In many cases, project managers take on program manager responsibilities. This can lead to burnout and more errors within individual projects. You can also look to company-wide OKRs to get an idea for which role aligns most closely with long-term objectives. 

Here are some example scenarios your team may be facing and how to determine which role can help solve each. 

Scenario 1: Is your team meeting deadlines but struggling to measure performance and meet company objectives?

  • Solution: A program manager can set performance metrics and strategize ways smaller project goals can measure up to company-wide objectives. 

Scenario 2: Is your team struggling to meet deadlines and feeling overwhelmed by the tasks on their plate?

  • Solution: A project manager can oversee deadlines and team workload to ensure due dates are met and communication is clear. 

Scenario 3: Is your organization aiming for huge growth but struggling with both meeting deliverables and measuring performance? 

  • Solution: It may be beneficial to add both a program manager and a project manager to your team. The program manager will be able to help strategize long-term objectives and help projects meet those goals. A project manager will help with the daily management of timelines, deliverables, and team communication. 

From project to program manager

Both project managers and program managers are an essential part of any high-performing team. While they both manage projects in one way or another, each one brings a different perspective to daily operations. After all, we could all use a little more help managing work and strategy.

If you’re looking for additional information on program management, read our guide to what is program management.

Related resources

Article

The beginner's guide to Agile methodologies