看板與 Scrum:有何差異?

October 29th, 202000
facebooktwitterlinkedin
「看板與 Scrum」Asana 文章橫幅圖片

您已經聽說過看板Scrum 這兩個字眼。但它們實際上是怎樣的工具?「Scrum」不是橄欖球術語嗎?

每個團隊使用看板和 Scrum 時都有不同的流程,因此您可能會根據情境而有不同的策略。這兩個架構都是從可視化專案管理工具衍生出來的,因此它們非常適合用於團隊協作。但是在比較這兩種工具之前,我們必須先瞭解以下這些關鍵字的意思。

看板

看板通常指的是一種可視化專案管理策略,以分欄列出的看板檢視顯示工作。在看板當中,個別的任務會分階段呈現進度,直到完成為止。

閱讀:工作流程看板初學者指南

看板的濫觴

看板工具最初是由 Taiichi Ohno 在任職於 Toyota 期間開發作為精實生產架構使用。在日文中,「看板」一詞就是「符號」與「板子」的結合,而 Ohno 的看板最初是使用紙卡追蹤 Toyota 工廠的需求。他的看板工具並非用於預計需求並提供相應的產量,而是按照客戶的需求進行產品的生產與再生產。

今天的看板

Taiichi Ohno 所開發的看板框架已經經過數十年的數位化改編與改良,成為了我們今天所知的敏捷專案管理系統。現代看板框架的核心是線上的視覺化工作管理工具。時至今日,人們說起「看板」時,通常指的是工作流程看板,也就是看板工具的可視化專案管理檢視版本。

在工作流程看板中,欄代表工作的各個階段。在每一欄中都會有可視化的卡片代表個別的任務,這和 Ohno 最初放在工廠地板上的紙卡相當類似。

錯誤追蹤用工作流程看板

工作流程看板是最流行的可視化專案管理方法之一。就像其他同類型的工具一樣,工作流程看板有時候可以為專案提供簡單明瞭的分析,因而是最有效率的工具。

閱讀:讓專案計劃可視化的 3 個方法:時間軸、行事曆和看板

工作流程看板的優勢

當您使用看板進行可視化專案管理時,您可以為團隊提供許多可一目了然的資訊。如果您在工作管理工具中建立了工作流程看板,那麼您用於代表個別任務或交付項目的卡片,便也將會記載指派對象、截止日期,以及許多相關的標籤,例如優先性或任務類型。有了任務管理工具,您也可以將卡片展開為任務檢視詳情、情境資料、相關檔案等頁面。

工作流程看板提供您的團隊一種有彈性的方式,能將進行中的工作可視化。傳統上,工作流程看板的欄顯示的是工作的各個階段 (例如分為「待辦」、「進行中」、「完成」),而這正是為何對於需要執行如創意請求錯誤追蹤等持續性流程與專案的團隊而言,它會成為受歡迎的可視化專案管理工具。然而,您也可以為自己量身打造專屬的工作流程看板欄,用於代表任何您想要呈現的內容。任務指派對象、流程圖、職責或截止日期,都可以是建立欄的依據。

由於工作流程看板能非常有效律地將工作可視化,因此它成為了大部分專案管理工具的重要元件。如果您正想為自己的團隊選擇正確的專案管理工具,請務必確定它提供看板檢視。更好的情形是,尋找一種讓您可以用多種方式檢視工作的工具。例如,Asana 除了看板檢視,還提供時間軸、行事曆與清單三種檢視方式。

閱讀:Asana 將工作可視化的四種方式

Scrum

Scrum 和看板一樣都是協作架構,能讓工作更有效率。它和看板不同之處在於,看板幾乎完全就是 Taiichi Ohno 所設計的專案管理工具的可視化版本,而 Scrum 則是一個完整的架構,可以用來「運作團隊」。

Scrum 的濫觴

「Scrum」這個字眼最初是由 Hirotaka Takeuchi 和 Ikujiro Nonaka 在 1986 年發表於《哈佛商業評論》的〈The New New Product Development Game〉(最新新型產品開發遊戲) 一文中用於產品開發。他們在這篇文章裡是如此介紹「scrum」:

「企業愈來愈體認到,在開發新產品時,採用舊有的線性流程無法達成目的,因此日本與美國的公司開始使用整全式的方法。就像在打橄欖球的時候,球會在隊友之間傳遞,而整支球隊以一個整體的形式在場上活動。」

Ken Schwaber 和 Jeff Sutherland 在 1995 年出版了《SCRUM Development Process》(Scrum 開發流程),概述了現代 Scrum 的技術與原則。Schwaber 和 Sutherland 繼續研究並改良他們的 Scrum 方法,其中最著名的成果就是《Scrum Guide》(Scrum 指南),這是一份由他們不斷定期更新的文件。《Scrum Guide》將 Scrum 定義為「並非專指某種流程、技術或確切的方法。它是一種可以容納各種流程與技術的架構。」根據 Schwaber 和 Sutherland 的說法,Scrum 可以幫助團隊持續改良產品、團隊與總體工作環境。Scrum 達成這些效果的方法是鼓勵團隊審視其工作技術的效率,並向其提出持續演進與改良的挑戰。

今天的 Scrum

在今天,產品、工程、軟體開發及其他敏捷團隊都採用 Scrum 讓他們的工作更迅速、更有效率。要執行 Scrum,團隊通常會指派一位 Scrum 主持人負責推動 Scrum 的三個階段,並確保所有人都跟上進度。 Scrum 主持人可能是團隊領導者、專案經理、產品所有者,或是對執行三個傳統 Scrum 階段最感興趣的人。這三個階段是:

  • 第一階段:衝刺規劃Scrum 衝刺通常為期兩週,不過團隊可以執行更快或更短的衝刺。在衝刺規劃階段,Scrum 主持人會檢視團隊的工作待辦項目,並選擇要在衝刺期間完成的工作。

  • 第二階段:Scrum 日常站立會議在 Scrum 的過程 (也稱為 Scrum「週期時間」) 中,團隊通常每天都會舉行快速的會議,查看進度並確保工作指派狀況合宜。

  • 第三階段:衝刺回顧Scrum 結束時,Scrum 主持人會主持一場衝刺回顧會議,評估有哪些工作已經完成,並且將未完成的工作放回待辦項目當中,然後準備下一次衝刺。

閱讀:運用 Asana 進行敏捷與 Scrum 管理

Scrum 的目標並不是在兩個星期之內完成目標、交付成果,然後就把專案封存。Scrum 所採取的心態是「持續改善」,因此團隊在其中會採取多個小的步驟,逐漸完成更大的目標。藉由將工作細分為較小的項目,Scrum 可以幫助團隊更有效地排出優先次序,並且更有效率地完成工作。

Scrum 的優勢

執行 Scrum 的團隊擁有清晰的規則、儀式行程,以及職責。此外,您的每日 Scrum 會議加上衝刺規劃與衝刺審查 (或「回顧」會議) 可以幫助團隊持續確認現有的進度,並做出相應的改善。

由於 Scrum 以工作待辦項目為基礎,並且以規劃衝刺為開端,因此它內建有易於執行的結構,讓團隊領導者或專案所有者得以管理並支援團隊最重要的工作。內建的優先順序層級配合了業經明確界定的職責。在 Scrum 當中,您的團隊在每次衝刺期間,所經手的工作都經過事先規劃,且份量和時間有所限制。

等等,什麼是「敏捷」?

我們在談論看板與 Scrum 時,經常談到第三個詞,也就是敏捷

敏捷團隊通常都會執行 Scrum 並運用工作流程看板,然而較合適的理解還是將「敏捷」解讀為一個更為廣泛的傘狀概念。就像您可以使用工作流程看板而不執行 Scrum 一樣,您也可以擁有不執行 Scrum 或使用工作流程看板的敏捷團隊。請將敏捷視為一種專案管理思維。採用敏捷管理法便是相信反覆來回的疊代式發展能夠幫助團隊因應變化與不確定性。看板與 Scrum 都是敏捷管理法的子集。

深入瞭解:以更好的敏捷管理工具管理您的敏捷專案

看板與 Scrum 之間的差異

現在您已經對看板和 Scrum 有了更清晰的認識,以及這兩個架構的由來,因此現在我們探討這兩者間的差異,讓您能夠瞭解這兩者各自適合的使用時機。

Scrum 比看板更為細緻

Scrum 是一個精心制定的框架,包含一組特定的「規則」供團隊遵循。您可以根據自己的團隊需求修正或改寫任何的 Scrum 規則,然而在基礎的層面上,所有的 Scrum 都包含:一位 Scrum 主持人、一組工作待辦項目、一段衝刺期間、定期站立會議,並且每次衝刺都會有明確的截止時間。

另一方面,看板最常見的用途是將工作可視化,並且任何工作都可以透過它可視化。實際上,有許多團隊都使用看板執行 Scrum,不過此時他們仍然是在執行 Scrum 而非看板。請不要將看板視為設有一套規則的「方法」,最好是將其作為一種將工作可視化的媒介。

Scrum 具有時間限制

Scrum 是由多次的衝刺組成,而每次衝刺為期兩週。在一個 Scrum 週期當中,您的團隊會從工作的待辦項目開始著手。然後,在衝刺結束時,無論是何種類型的工作,總之您會有一些工作得到完成。雖然這並不保證所有團隊都能夠在 Scrum 期間完成受指派的所有工作,然而 Scrum 的目標正是在衝刺「結束」時能夠產出交付項目。

事實上,以工作流程看板 (或有時候會被稱為「Scrum 看板」) 執行 Scrum 的團隊,通常都會為每一次的 Scrum 衝刺建立新的看板。這樣做有利有弊:

  1. 為每次衝刺建立新看板的團隊可以重新開始每個循環。這讓 Scrum 主持人以及 Scrum 團隊可以更輕易地將每次衝刺所需完成的工作可視化。

  2. Scrum 主持人可使用過去的 Scrum 看板追蹤每個 Scrum 週期完成的工作。因為團隊採用 Scrum 的重要理由之一便是流程的改善與效率,因此這有助於回顧已經完成的事項。

看板與 Scrum 不同之處在於,它不一定有開始或結束日期。在 Asana,工作流程看板最常見的用途,其實是用來呈現進行中的流程。因為這種可視化看板有相當高的彈性,因此非常適合用於管理沒有確切時間表的工作接手流程創意請求專案

工作流程看板的欄能夠以多種方式整理

您執行 Scrum 時,追蹤工作在各個階段的推展至關重要。從定出待辦項目到完成的交付項目,評估工作流程是讓衝刺得以持續受到追蹤的關鍵手段之一,並且也是您的 Scrum 日常站立會議的主要內容。

另一方面,非 Scrum 性質的工作流程看板的欄可以呈現各式各樣的工作屬性,而不只是工作狀態。例如,您可以建立有「泳道」欄的工作流程看板,讓團隊中的每一位成員都能追蹤自己正在進行的工作。或者,工作流程看板可以使用不同的欄來代表將在各個月份完成的工作。又或者回顧性的工作流程看板可以記錄先前在特定月份完成的工作。工作流程看板的欄能夠呈現任何您需要呈現的內容,而不像 Scrum 那樣必須遵守較為嚴謹的規則。

創意請求工作流程看板

看板和 Scrum 都鼓勵團隊持續改進

敏捷管理法的核心原則之一就是彈性與持續改進,而這也是為什麼眾多產品、工程與軟體開發團隊如此看中敏捷思維的主要理由之一。持續改進對於看板和 Scrum 而言都是一大重點。

團隊在執行 Scrum 時,並不是長期處理一項產品,然後在產品盡善盡美後將之交付。持續改進的流程採用的是「漸進式趨向完美」的思維。在一次衝刺期間,團隊會開發並交付新的產品、功能或工具,然後持續進行必要的改善。

使用看板時,持續改進的原則較大程度是應用於整個團隊及其工作流程,而非個別任務。看板向團隊提出的挑戰是持續尋找能漸進地帶來改變、改善,並最終帶來演進的方法。

看板和 Scrum 都有助於團隊協作

儘管根據所選擇的架構,協作在各個團隊之間看起來可能大不相同,然而看板和 Scrum 基本上都是能加強團隊合作的方法。

在 Scrum 架構中,嚴謹的規則非常適合讓團隊就彼此的工作取得可視度。預先設定的角色、排定的會議,以及有規律的衝刺能讓 Scrum 團隊的每位成員都能迅速瞭解每一位團隊成員正在經手的工作、該工作的流程,以及每次衝刺結束時的預期成果。更棒的是,如果您的公司有多個團隊採用 Scrum,則因為 Scrum 看板之間相對近似,因此跨職能團隊可以迅速地建立並理解 Scrum 看板。

與此類似的是,看板鼓勵在協作者之間建立可見性,因此一旦您決定了工作流程看板所要呈現的內容,整個團隊便可以輕易而迅速地藉由檢視看板獲得一目了然的詳細資訊。

使用看板的時機

何時該使用看板、Scrum 或其他可視化專案管理工具,並沒有明確的規則。然而,如果您的團隊符合以下情境,就很適合使用看板:

  • 您的團隊需要可視化專案管理系統

  • 您希望有一目了然的方法可以理解專案狀況

  • 你不是產品、工程或軟體開發團隊

  • 您正在執行流程或專案

  • 您大部分的工作都不是在短期內完成

即使您選擇不使用 Scrum 架構,仍然可以從中汲取概念。例如您或許不想要讓工作受限於兩週的衝刺,但是使用待辦項目來管理工作可能有助於您的團隊更好地理解任務,並為其排定優先順序。看板最值得稱道的一點,就是您可以抽取出自己關注的方面,而忽略其餘的內容。

使用 Scrum 的時機

Scrum 是整理整個流程並排定優先順序的強大法寶。雖然並不是每個團隊都能靠 Scrum 取得重大成功,然而如果您符合以下的情境,就很可能可以藉之得益:

  • 您是產品、工程、軟體開發,或敏捷團隊

  • 您認為自己的團隊需要較為嚴謹的框架

  • 您有較多工作待辦項目需要完成

  • 短促的期限與交付項目能激發您的團隊

  • 您的團隊中有人精通於擔任 Scrum 主持人

請記住,您始絡可以透過看板執行 Scrum。為了有效率地主持日常站立會議,以及主要的衝刺規劃與回顧,您需要強而有力的工具將各個階段的工作可視化,並追蹤所有進行中的工作。工作流程看板可以幫助您在衝刺期間處理衝刺待辦項目,以及整理工作流程,讓每個 Scrum 週期都能獲得成功。

看板與 Scrum:孰優孰劣?

好消息是,您不需要就此做選擇。如果您覺得 Scrum 適合您的團隊,那麼您可以運用工作流程將 Scrum 的工作流程可視化。如果您覺得自己不需要完整的 Scrum 架構,也沒關係。您可以使用看板讓團隊運作得暨敏捷又井井有條。

最重要的是找到適合您的架構與工具。因此,無論您使用 Scrum 還是看板架構,請確保您的工作管理系統具有足夠的彈性,能支援您的團隊,讓您可以獲得最佳的工作成果。

相關資源

文章

How to improve operational efficiency

Kanban vs. Scrum: what’s the difference?

You’ve heard these terms before: Kanban and Scrum. But what, exactly, do they mean? Isn’t scrum a rugby term?

Every team runs their own Kanban or Scrum processes differently, so you might encounter different strategies depending on where you go. Both frameworks stem from visual project management methodologies, and they can both be great ways for teams to collaborate. But before we can compare and contrast the two methodologies, we first need to understand what we mean when we say each of these things.

Kanban

Kanban most commonly refers to a visual project management strategy, where work is displayed in a board-like view with columns to represent stages of work. In a Kanban board, individual tasks progress through stages until they are completed.

[Read: A beginner's guide to Kanban boards]

History of Kanban

The Kanban method was initially developed as a lean manufacturing methodology by Taiichi Ohno during his time at Toyota. In Japanese, Kanban is a combination of two words: 看 (Kàn), meaning sign and 板 (Bǎn) meaning board. Initially, Ohno’s Kanban system used paper cards to track demand in the Toyota factory. Instead of attempting to anticipate demand and produce for that anticipated demand, his Kanban method produced and re-supplied products as a result of consumer demand.

Kanban today

The Kanban framework Taiichi Ohno developed has been digitalized, adapted, and refined over several decades to become the Agile project management system we now recognize today. At its core, the modern Kanban framework is an online, visual method to manage work. Today, when people say “Kanban,” they are frequently referring to Kanban boards: the visual project management view that brings the Kanban methodology to life.

In a Kanban board, columns represent the various stages of work. Within each column, visual cards—similar to Ohno’s initial paper cards on the factory floor—represent individual tasks.

Bug tracking Kanban board

Kanban boards are one of the most popular forms of visual project management. Like other types of visual project management, Kanban boards are sometimes most effective for providing easy, at-a-glance insight into a project.

[Read: 3 ways to visualize a project plan]

Benefits of Kanban boards

When you use a Kanban board for visual project management, you provide your team with a wealth of at-a-glance information. If you build your Kanban board in a work management tool, your Kanban board “cards”—which represent individual tasks or deliverables—will also capture task assignee, due date, and any relevant tags like priority or task type. With a work management tool, you’ll also be able to expand the card to view task details, context, relevant files, and more.

Kanban boards are a flexible way for your team to visualize work in progress. Traditionally, Kanban board columns display the stages of work (e.g., To do, In progress, and Done), which is why they’re popular visual project management tools for teams that run ongoing processes and projects like creative requests or bug tracking projects. But you can also set up your own Kanban board columns to represent anything you’d like. You can create columns based on task assignee, “swimlane” and responsibility, or due date.

Because of how effective they can be for visualizing work, Kanban boards are a key component of most project management tools. If you’re looking to choose the right project management tool for your team, make sure it offers Kanban as a view. Better yet, look for a tool that allows you to view work in multiple ways. For example, in Asana, Boards View (or Kanban) is one of four ways you can view work, in addition to Timeline View, Calendar View, and List View.

[Read: The four ways to visualize work in Asana]

Scrum

Scrum, like Kanban, is a framework to collaborate and get high-impact work done. Unlike Kanban, which is based almost exclusively on the visual form of project management that Taiichi Ohno pioneered, Scrum is a full framework, and you can “run teams” on Scrum.

History of Scrum

The term “Scrum” was initially used in product development by Hirotaka Takeuchi and Ikujiro Nonaka in their 1986 Harvard Business Review article The New New Product Development Game. In the article, they introduce scrum:

“Companies are increasingly realizing that the old, sequential approach to developing new products simply won’t get the job done. Instead, companies in Japan and the United States are using a holistic method—as in rugby, the ball gets passed within the team as it moves as a unit up the field.”

Then in 1995, Ken Schwaber and Jeff Sutherland published the SCRUM Development Process, where they outlined the techniques and principles of modern Scrum. Schwaber and Sutherland would go on to research and refine their Scrum methodology, most famously in their Scrum Guide—a living document they update on a regular basis. The Scrum Guide defines Scrum “not as a process, technique, or definitive method. Rather, it is a framework within which you can employ various processes and techniques.” According to Schwaber and Sutherland, Scrum helps teams continuously improve their product, their team, and their overall working environment. Scrum does this by encouraging teams to take a look at how effective their work techniques are, and challenges teams to continuously evolve and improve them.

Scrum today

Today, product, engineering, software development, and other Agile teams run Scrum to execute their work faster and more effectively. To run a Scrum, teams typically assign a Scrum Master, who is in charge of running the three distinct Scrum phases and keeping everyone on track. The Scrum Master can be your team lead, project manager, product owner, or the person most interested in implementing the three traditional Scrum phases:

  • Phase 1: Sprint planning. A Scrum sprint is usually 2 weeks long, though teams can run faster or shorter sprints. During the sprint planning phase, the Scrum Master and team take a look at the team’s backlog of work and select work to accomplish during the sprint.
  • Phase 2: Daily Scrum standups. Over the course of the Scrum (also known as the Scrum “cycle time”), teams traditionally meet quickly every day to check in on progress and make sure the amount of assigned work is appropriate.
  • Phase 3: Sprint retrospective. When the Scrum is over, the Scrum Master hosts a sprint retrospective meeting to evaluate what work was done, route any unfinished work back into the backlog, and prepare for the next sprint.

[Read: Asana for Agile and Scrum]

The goal of Scrum isn’t to build something in two weeks, ship it, and never see it again. Rather, Scrum embraces a mindset of “continuous improvement,” where teams take small steps towards bigger goals. By breaking work into smaller chunks and working on those chunks, Scrum helps teams better prioritize and ship work more efficiently.

Benefits of Scrum

Teams that run Scrum have clearly established rules, rituals, and responsibilities. Additionally, your daily scrum meetings, combined with sprint planning and sprint review (or “retrospective” meetings), help teams continuously check in and improve on current processes.

Because it draws from a backlog of work, and begins with a sprint planning meeting, Scrum offers an easy, built-in structure for team leads or product owners to manage and support their team’s most important work. This level of built-in prioritization is combined with clearly defined responsibilities. During a Scrum, your team has a pre-set and limited amount of work and amount of time for each sprint.

Wait, so what is Agile?

When we talk about Kanban and Scrum, there’s often a third frequently-used term: Agile.

Agile teams often run Scrum and use Kanban boards—but it’s helpful to think of Agile as a larger, umbrella term. Just like you can use a Kanban board without running Scrum, you can also have an Agile team that doesn’t run Scrum or use Kanban boards. Think of Agile as a project management philosophy. To follow an Agile methodology is to believe in iterative and incremental development to help teams respond to change and deal with uncertainty. Both Kanban and Scrum are subsets of the Agile methodology.

[Learn more: Manage your Agile projects with a better Agile management tool]

The difference between Kanban and Scrum

Now that you have a better sense of what Kanban and Scrum are and where the two frameworks come from, let’s talk about the difference between the two, so you know which one to use when.

Scrum is more defined than Kanban

As a defined framework, Scrum includes a specific set of “rules” for teams to follow. You can choose to modify or adapt any of the Scrum rules depending on your team, but at a basic level every Scrum will have: a Scrum Master, a backlog of work, a sprint period, regular standup meetings, and a defined end to each sprint.

Kanban, on the other hand, is most frequently used to visualize work—any work. In fact, many teams run Scrum on a Kanban board—but in those cases, they’re still running Scrum, not Kanban. Think of Kanban less as a “methodology” with a set of rules, and more as a way to visualize work.

Scrum is time-bound

Scrum runs on sprints, which are two-week work cycles. During a Scrum cycle, your team starts with a backlog of work. Then, at the end of a sprint, you have a collection of finished work—no matter what that work is. That isn’t to say every team will finish every task assigned during a Scrum. But the goal of Scrum is to have a deliverable at the “end” of your sprint.

In fact, for teams that run Scrum on Kanban boards (or, as they’re sometimes called, Scrum boards), they frequently create a new board for every Scrum sprint. The reason for this is twofold:

  1. Teams that create new boards for every sprint can start with a clean slate. This makes it easier for the Scrum Master and Scrum team to visualize the new work they have to do for each sprint.
  2. Scrum Masters use past Scrum boards to track what work was accomplished during each Scrum cycle. Since a big reason teams implement Scrum is process improvement and efficiency, it can be helpful to look back and see what you’ve accomplished.

Unlike Scrum, Kanban boards don’t necessarily have to have a beginning or end date. In fact, at Asana, we most frequently use Kanban boards to represent ongoing processes. Because of the flexible nature of these visual boards, they make a great way to manage work intake processes or creative request projects, with no specific timeframe.

Kanban board columns can be organized in different ways

When you’re running a Scrum, it’s important to track work as it moves through stages. From the product backlog all the way to a completed deliverable, measuring the flow of work is one of the key ways to keep the sprint on track—and a huge part of your daily standup Scrum meetings.

But within a non-Scrum based Kanban board, board columns can represent a variety of work, not just work status. For example, you could create a Kanban board with “swimlane” columns for each member of your team to track the work they’re doing. Alternatively, a Kanban board could have columns representing the work that will be accomplished each month—or a retrospective Kanban board that captures the work that was previously accomplished in a set month. Kanban board columns can be whatever you need them to represent—unlike Scrum, which has more defined rules.

Creative Requests Kanban board

Both Kanban and Scrum encourage teams to embrace continuous improvement

One of the core tenets of Agile methodology is flexibility and continous improvement—in fact, it’s one of the reasons product, engineering, and software development teams are so drawn to Agile philosophies. Continuous improvement is a big part of both Kanban and Scrum.

In Scrum, instead of working on a product for a long period of time and then shipping it once it’s perfect, the process of continuous improvement embraces “process over perfection.” During a sprint, teams work on and ship new products, features, or tools—then they continuously improve them if needed.

In Kanban, continous improvement applies more to the team and their processes than to individual tasks. Kanban challenges teams to always look for ways to incrementally change, improve, and—ultimately—evolve.

Both Kanban and Scrum can help teams collaborate

Even though collaboration might look different depending on the framework your team chooses, both Kanban and Scrum are, fundamentally, a way for teams to work better together.

In a Scrum framework, the strict rules are a great way for teams to gain visibility on each others’ work. The set roles, established meetings, and regular sprints make it easy for any member of the Scrum team to gain quick insight into what each team member is working on, the progress of that work, and what they can expect to accomplish at the end of each sprint. Better yet, if multiple teams at your company run Scrum, cross-functional teams can quickly orient and understand a Scrum board, since they’re all relatively similar.

Similarly, Kanban encourages visibility between coworkers. Once you decide what your Kanban board represents, teams can quickly and easily get at-a-glance insight simply by looking at the board.

When to use Kanban

There’s no exact rule for when your team should use Kanban, Scrum, or another form of visual project management. However, a good way to decide if Kanban is right for you is if:

  • Your team needs a visual project management system
  • You want an at-a-glance way to understand where a project stands
  • You’re not on an engineering, product, or software development team
  • You run ongoing processes and projects
  • Most of your work isn’t produced in short periods of time

Even if you choose not to run a Scrum framework, you can still pull inspiration from it. For example, maybe you don’t want your work to be limited to two week sprints—but keeping a backlog of work would be helpful for your team to better understand and prioritize tasks. The best part of Kanban is you can pull what works for you, and discard the rest.

When to use Scrum

Scrum can be a powerful way to organize and prioritize your entire process. Though not every team thrives on Scrum, you might benefit from Scrum if:

  • You’re on an engineering, product, software development, or Agile-based team
  • You think your team could benefit from a slightly more rigid structure
  • You have a large backlog of work to get through
  • Your team is motivated by quick deadlines and deliverables
  • Someone on your team is committed to being the Scrum Master

Remember: you can always run Scrum on a Kanban board. In order to host effective daily standup meetings and stellar sprint planning and retrospectives, you need a strong way to visualize work through stages and track all of your work in progress. Kanban boards can help you tackle your sprint backlog and organize the flow of work during a sprint, so every Scrum cycle is a success.

Kanban vs. Scrum: which is better?

The good news is—you don’t have to choose. If Scrum feels right for your team, you can visualize your Scrum workflow in a Kanban board. Alternatively, if you’re not confident you need the entire Scrum framework, that’s ok too. You can use a Kanban board to keep your team organized and agile.

The most important thing is to find a framework—and a tool—that works for you. So, whether you’re using a Scrum or a Kanban framework, make sure your work management system is flexible enough to support your team, so you can get your best work done.

Learn more about Asana for Agile teams

Start managing projects in Asana today.