矩陣式組織是什麼、如何運作?

Asana 團隊撰稿人圖片Team AsanaAugust 26th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
矩陣式組織文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

矩陣式組織是一種公司架構,其中的團隊向多位領導者匯報。矩陣的設計讓團隊之間保持開放溝通,可幫助公司創造更多創新的產品和服務。使用這種架構,團隊無需在每次開始新專案時重新調整。

您如何能使團隊快速推動複雜的專案,而不會因等待專案關係人的審查和核准而陷入困境?組織架構或許是正解所在。大多數工作環境都具有定義明晰的階層等級,以便每個人都清楚瞭解決策權威。 

執行長位於階層式組織圖的頂部,營運長和財務長就在執行長的正下方。頂層的領導角色的下面為部門經理,部門經理再往下則為專案經理

矩陣式組織不同於這種經典結構,因為其團隊成員同時向專案經理和部門負責人匯報。在以下的指南中,我們將討論什麼是矩陣式組織,以及如何將它用於複雜的專案。 

什麼是矩陣式組織?

矩陣式組織是一種工作架構,其中的團隊成員向多位領導者匯報。在矩陣式組織中,團隊成員 (無論是遠端或內部成員) 向專案經理及其部門負責人匯報。這種管理架構使您的公司在開發新產品和服務時無需重新調整團隊。

矩陣式報告架構

矩陣式組織如何運作?

矩陣式組織具有兩個或兩個以上的管理匯報架構。雖然這在一開始可能讓人很困惑,但團隊成員通常會有一名主要的部門經理。 

向部門經理匯報的方式類似於傳統的工作架構。例如,從事 IT 工作的團隊成員會向 IT 部門負責人匯報。IT 部門負責人向其部門的副總裁匯報。最終,所有的匯報關係都導向執行長。

矩陣式架構的不同之處在於團隊成員同時也向專案經理匯報。專案通常需要 IT、行銷和財務等各部門的成員一起進行工作,正因如此,為個別專案指派單獨的經理是有其道理的。

矩陣式管理的類型

矩陣式管理分為三種類型,每種類型都賦予專案經理或多或少的權限。您可以將這些管理類型想像成將專案經理和部門經理分別放在天平的兩端。 

矩陣式架構的類型

弱矩陣

與其他矩陣式管理類型相比,弱矩陣中的專案經理擁有的決策權最少。由於專案預算和時間軸掌握在部門負責人手中,當專案經理對專案的權力有限時,矩陣便會變弱。制定溝通計劃可以防止溝通在弱矩陣中變得雜亂無章。

平衡矩陣

在平衡矩陣中,部門負責人和專案經理擁有同等的權力,團隊成員同時向雙方匯報。這讓擔任領導角色的成員之間都能保持開放的溝通,並使專案能夠順利推進。 

強矩陣

在強矩陣中,專案經理對專案擁有大部份的決策權,而部門負責人的權力則較為有限。由於專案經理對專案擁有完全的所有權,這建立了一個強大的組織架構。部門負責人可以監督專案,但不能做出關鍵決策。

閱讀:團隊架構:組織團隊的 10 個有效方式

矩陣式組織架構的優勢

矩陣式組織的優勢與缺點

矩陣式組織架構比階層式架構來得複雜,但它具有許多優點。矩陣設計的優點包括明確的專案目標、有效率的資源利用、自由的資訊流動以及對專案經理的培訓。 

明確的專案目標

矩陣式的組織設計可以確保專案目標更加清晰。當您的團隊向專案經理和部門負責人報告他們的進度時,強化專案目標至重關要。當專案經理感覺自己得到其他高階管理人員的支持時,專案組織便會成為優先事項。

場景:假設您的團隊正在進行一個應用程式開發專案。由於您使用的是矩陣式架構,故 IT 開發人員會向作為專案經理的您以及 IT 部門的負責人進行匯報。該專案的目標是打造一個關鍵字搜尋應用程式,供行銷人員隨時隨地使用。當 IT 部門負責人和專案經理向 IT 開發人員傳達明確的專案目標時,應用程式的開發速度便會更快。 

有效率地利用資源

由於矩陣式架構的團隊囊括了來自不同部門的專家,故這種結構能夠有效率地利用資源。這降低了間接費用和完成專案所需的時間。在階層式結構中,每個團隊只向一位經理匯報,且每個團隊的經理人數較少。由於這些團隊欠缺不同專業背景的成員,故他們可能需要更多時間才能實現專案交付項目。

場景:關鍵字搜尋應用程式的開發團隊可能包括來自 IT、財務和行銷部門的專家。當這些團隊成員確實向其部門主管和專案經理匯報時,他們可以提高團隊生產力、節省時間,並更有效率地完成專案。 

矩陣團隊式有助於降低成本,因為如果沒有一個專家群,公司便必須重組團隊,且每次開發新產品或服務時都可能得聘雇新的團隊成員。

使用 Asana 改善團隊溝通

自由的資訊流通

由於團隊向多個領導者報告,在矩陣式結構中工作可以在團隊之間建立自由的資訊流。相較於團隊成員必須層層傳遞資訊的階層式系統,矩陣式的系統講求的是訊息的流動。向多位領導匯報資訊可能很乏味,但藉助適合的專案管理系統,團隊成員幾乎不需要進行任何額外的工作。 

場景:如果關鍵字搜尋應用程式的開發團隊只向專案經理匯報,便可能遺失有關錯誤修復的資訊。然而,矩陣式團隊的成員不會忘記將資訊傳達給 IT 部門負責人,因為那是矩陣流程的一部份。

為專案經理提供訓練

矩陣式組織的獨特架構賦予了專案經理重責大任。專案經理必須帶領他們的團隊完成專案的生命週期。這種架構對專案經理而言挑戰十足,並可鍛鍊那些想在其他部門中成為跨職能經理的人。

場景:在此專案期間,您的團隊碰到了一些錯誤修復和專案時間軸的延遲。作為專案經理,您有責任與 IT 部門負責人一起妥善解決所有問題。在這個過程中,您發現了自己對 IT 的興趣以及未來潛在的職業機會。 

團隊留任率

矩陣式組織在團隊成員留任率方面有著良好的記錄,因為當專家聚集在一起時,產品團隊可以持續壯大。這些團隊成員在職能部門負責人的領導下工作,然後再被指派給專案經理。專家們經常喜歡一起共事,這麼做可以提高專案的績效。 

場景:在關鍵字搜尋應用程式的專案期間,專案團隊由各種 IT、行銷和財務專家組成,因為這些成員對於為手機使用者開發應用程式的細節瞭若指掌。 這支專家團隊很可能會在未來共同進行許多專案。

矩陣式組織架構的缺點

與階層式匯報架構一樣,矩陣式組織也有其缺點。大多數缺點來自其複雜的架構。雖然複雜的設計在工作時可以帶來好處,但也有可能引起衝突並使事情變得混亂。

複雜的匯報風格

矩陣式組織的複雜性可能是個劣勢,因為團隊可能難以確定該向誰匯報以及何時匯報。雖然矩陣的目的是使團隊受益,但它也可能會使專案複雜化,並使整個過程變得混亂。 

解決方案:防止匯報失敗的最佳方法,是確保矩陣中的每位成員都瞭解該向誰匯報以及如何匯報。使用便於跨團隊工作的直觀專案管理平台,可以降低矩陣式結構的複雜性。

回應速度緩慢

矩陣的複雜性會導致反應時間變慢,從而使專案發生延遲。反應時間慢是因為需要向多人匯報資訊。讓更多人參與是件好事,但其缺點是向更多人傳遞資訊需要花費更多時間。

解決方案:使用專案管理系統可以解決矩陣式架構回應時間慢的問題。Asana 可作為一個集中事實來源,防止重複工作並提高團隊和領導者之間的可見度。

互相矛盾的領導

如果專案經理和部門負責人沒有取得資訊同步,便會出現互相矛盾的領導。雖然矩陣式架構旨在鼓勵團隊合作,但它也可能基於成員的個性而產生相反的作用。

解決方案:為避免出現相互矛盾的指示,請建立一個讓管理人員可以直接相互交流的系統。如果經理們可在專案目標上取得共識並保持資訊同步,團隊成員便不會被夾在中間左右為難。

潛在的摩擦

矩陣式和階層式架構的主要區別在於前者的團隊成員同時向兩位經理匯報。這種做法使得矩陣式組織更加複雜,且團隊成員身負更多責任。雖然兩位經理可以提供團隊成員更多回饋和指導,但也有可能導致摩擦。

解決方案:為防止潛在的摩擦,部門主管和專案經理之間的溝通是不可或缺的。發生衝突時,團隊不應該被迫在兩位經理之間做選擇。無論是面對面或是透過虛擬系統,管理人員都可以在一開始就設定明確的專案目標並共同努力打造成功的產品,從而防止摩擦的產生。

兼顧優先事項

在矩陣式架構中,如果經理們無法合作,團隊成員便可能無法兼顧優先事項。如果部門經理和專案經理都認為自己的任務是最重要的,那麼團隊便會難以決定應該優先聽從哪個經理的領導。 

解決方案:當團隊成員因為經理之間溝通不順暢而無法確定任務的優先層級時,請由經理來討論團隊的任務並確定首先應該做什麼。大多數矩陣式架構可能引起的問題都可以透過跨團隊的強大協作、溝通和明晰度加以解決。

藉助專案管理工具改進矩陣式架構

使用專案管理工具是確保矩陣式架構運作良好的最佳方式。藉助專案管理,專案經理和部門負責人可以就專案目標達成共識、共同規劃工作,並建立清晰的溝通管道。當這些事項就緒後,團隊成員便會擁有高效工作和實現專案目標所需的明晰度。

您是否需要釐清團隊成員之間的角色與職責?請嘗試使用 RACI 圖表。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專案管理

相關資源

文章

How to implement a strategic management process

What is a matrix organization and how does it work?

Team Asana contributor imageTeam AsanaAugust 26th, 20216 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Matrix organization article banner image

Summary

A matrix organization is a company structure where teams report to multiple leaders. The matrix design keeps open communication between teams and can help companies create more innovative products and services. Using this structure prevents teams from needing to realign every time a new project begins.

How can you empower teams to move quickly on complex projects without getting bogged down by stakeholder reviews and approvals? Organizational structure may be the answer. Most work environments have chains of command in place so that everyone has clarity around decision-making authority. 

A hierarchical organizational chart has the chief executive officer at the top. The chief operating officer and the chief financial officer are right below them. Department managers then branch off from the top leadership roles, with project managers branching off from there.

A matrix organization differs from this classic structure since team members report to both a project manager and a department lead. In the guide below, we’ll discuss what a matrix organization is and how you can use one for complex projects. 

What is a matrix organization?

A matrix organization is a work structure where team members report to multiple leaders. In a matrix organization, team members (whether remote or in-house) report to a project manager as well as their department head. This management structure can help your company create new products and services without realigning teams.

Matrix reporting structure

How do matrix organizations work?

Matrix organizations have two or more management reporting structures. While this may seem confusing at first, team members typically have a primary manager for their department. 

Reporting to a department manager functions similarly to a traditional work structure. For example, team members working in IT report to the IT department head. The IT department head reports to the vice president of their division. Eventually, all reporting relationships lead to the CEO. 

The difference in a matrix structure is that team members also report to project managers. Projects often require work from members of various departments like IT, marketing, and finance, which is why having a separate manager for individual projects makes sense. 

Types of matrix management

There are three types of matrix management, with each type giving more or less authority to the project manager. You can visualize these management types on a scale with the project manager on one end and the department manager on the other. 

Types of matrix structures

Weak matrix

In a weak matrix, the project manager has the least amount of decision-making power compared to the other matrix management types. When the project manager has limited authority over the project, the matrix becomes weak because the project budget and timeline is in the hands of the department head. Creating a communication plan can keep communication from getting lost in a weak matrix. 

Balanced matrix

In a balanced matrix, the department head and the project manager have equal authority and team members report to both of them. This keeps communication open between everyone in leadership roles and allows the project to move forward smoothly. 

Strong matrix

In a strong matrix, the project manager has most of the decision-making power over the project, while the department head has more limited authority. This creates a strong organizational structure because the project manager has full ownership over the project. The department head can oversee the project but doesn’t make key decisions.

Read: Team structure: 10 effective ways to organize your team

Advantages of the matrix organization structure

Advantages vs disadvantages of matrix organization

The matrix organizational structure is more complex than the hierarchical structure, but it has many advantages. Some advantages of the matrix design include clear project objectives, an efficient use of resources, free-flowing information, and training for project managers. 

Clear project objectives

The matrix organization design can ensure greater clarity on project objectives. When your team reports their progress to both the project manager and the department head, solidifying project goals is critical. When the project manager feels supported by other members of senior management, project organization becomes a priority.

Scenario: Let’s say your team is working on an app development project. Because you’re using a matrix structure, the IT developers report to you as the project manager and the IT department head. The project objective is to create a keyword search app for marketers to use on-the-go. When the IT department head and the project manager communicate a clear project objective to the IT developers, the app gets developed quicker. 

Efficient use of resources

The matrix structure allows for an efficient use of resources because teams include specialists from various departments. This reduces overhead costs and the amount of time needed to complete a project. In a hierarchical structure where every team reports to only one manager, there are fewer managers per team. These teams may require more time to create one project deliverable because they don’t have members with different specialities.

Scenario: The team creating the keyword research app may involve specialists from the IT department, the finance department, and the marketing department. When these team members successfully report to their department heads and their project manager, they increase team productivity, save time, and get the project done more efficiently. 

The matrix team reduces costs because without a combined group of specialists, companies would have to restructure teams and potentially hire new team members every time a new product or service is developed. 

Try collaboration software from Asana

Free-flowing information

Working in a matrix structure creates a free-flow of information between teams because the team reports to multiple leaders. While team members must remember to relay information in a hierarchical system, the matrix makes information flow a requirement. Reporting information to multiple leaders may seem tedious, but with the right project management system in place, it requires little or no extra work from team members. 

Scenario: If the development team on the keyword research app only reported to the project manager, information about a bug fix could get lost. However, relaying information to the IT department head is easy to remember when it’s part of the matrix process. 

Training for project managers

The unique structure of the matrix organization gives project managers a large amount of responsibility. Project managers must lead their team through the project lifecycle. This structure challenges project managers and trains those who want to be cross-functional managers in other departments.

Scenario: During this project, your team encounters some bug fixes and a delay in the project timeline. As the project manager, it’s your responsibility to work with the IT department head to successfully handle all issues. In doing so, you discover a personal interest in IT—and a potential career opportunity in the future. 

Team retention

The matrix organization has a great track record from team member retention because when specialists are placed together, the product team stays strong. These team members work under functional department heads and are then assigned to project managers. Specialists often enjoy working together, and it can improve project performance. 

Scenario: During the keyword research app project, the project team consists of various IT, marketing, and finance specialists because these team members understand the ins and outs of creating an application for phone users. This team of specialists will likely stick together to work on many projects in the future.

Disadvantages of the matrix organization structure

Like the hierarchical reporting structure, the matrix organization also has disadvantages. Most of the disadvantages stem from this structure being complex. While complex designs can have benefits when they work, they also have the potential to cause conflict and make things messy.

Complex reporting style

The complexity of the matrix organization can be a disadvantage because teams may have trouble knowing who to report to and when. While the intention of the matrix is to benefit teams, it may complicate projects and muddy the overall process. 

Solution: The best way to prevent a reporting failure is to ensure every member of the matrix understands who to report to and how to do so. Using an intuitive project management platform that facilitates cross-team work can make the matrix structure less complex. 

Slow response time

The complexity of the matrix can lead to slow response times, which can delay projects. Slow response times come from the need to report information to multiple people. Having more people involved is a good thing, but the downside is that relaying information to more people takes time. 

Solution: Using a project management system will solve the issue of slow response times with the matrix structure. As a central source of truth, Asana can prevent duplicate work and increase visibility among teams and leadership. 

Conflicting guidance

Conflicting guidance occurs if the project manager and department head aren’t on the same page. While the matrix structure is meant to encourage teamwork, it may do the opposite depending on the personalities involved. 

Solution: To prevent conflicting guidance, establish a system that allows managers to interact directly with one another. Team members can avoid feeling like they’re caught in the middle if managers are aligned on project goals and stay on the same page.

Potential friction

The main difference between the matrix and hierarchical structure is that team members report to two managers in a matrix structure. This makes the matrix organization more complex and puts more responsibility on team members. Having two managers can give team members more feedback and guidance, but it can also result in friction.

Solution: To prevent potential friction, it’s essential for the department head and the project manager to communicate. It shouldn’t be the team’s role to choose between managers when conflict occurs. Whether in person or through virtual systems, managers can prevent friction by setting clear project objectives from day one and working together to create a successful product. 

Juggling priorities

It can be difficult for team members to juggle priorities in a matrix structure if managers don’t work together. If the department head believes their tasks are most important and the project manager thinks the same, the team may have trouble determining which manager’s guidance to prioritize. 

Solution: When team members have trouble prioritizing tasks because of miscommunication among managers, it’s up to the managers to discuss the tasks of the team and determine what should be done first. Most issues that have the potential to arise from the matrix structure can be solved with strong collaboration, communication, and clarity across teams. 

Improve the matrix structure with project management tools

Using project management tools is the best way to make the matrix structure work well. With project management, the project manager and the department head can align around project goals, plan work together, and create a clear line of communication. And when these pieces are in place, team members have the clarity they need to work efficiently and achieve your project objectives

Do you need to clarify roles and responsibilities among team members? Try using a RACI chart.

Try project management with Asana

Related resources

Article

How to build expert power (and become a better leader)