如何使用長期目標成就大事

Caeleigh MacNeil 撰稿人特寫照片Caeleigh MacNeilJune 20th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
如何使用長期目標成就大事文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

長期目標是您希望在未來數月或數年內實現的目標。設定這種類型的目標可賦予工作目的性、幫助您做出更明智的決策,並為每一天提供充盈的動力。在本文中,我們將透過範例說明如何利用長期目標在既定時間內成就大事。

當您為工作設想一個理想的未來時,您看到的是什麼景象?也許您會設想自己推出一項新的全球性產品並達到破紀錄的銷售數字,或是成功招聘您領域中最優秀的人才。不過,這些夢想場景雖然很容易想像,但實際達成又是另一回事。這就是長期目標可以提供幫助的地方。 

設定長期目標有助於將您的夢想轉變為具體目標,讓您可以有意識地努力實現之。除了幫助您完成困難的事情外,它們也是一種有用的工具,可用以確定工作的優先順序並對成功進行定義。 

什麼是長期目標?

長期目標是您希望在未來數月或數年內實現的目標。它們很難完成,需要提前規劃並長期、持續地付諸努力,例如將初創公司轉變為具營利能力的企業、改造組織文化或成為團隊領導者。  

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

長期目標與短期目標

長期目標可為您的工作帶來方向和目的性。長期目標通常由較小的短期目標組成,這些目標是幫助您實現更大目標的墊腳石。長期目標是指引方向的北極星,而短期目標則可將長期目標分解為可行動的步驟,使工作不再那麼令人卻步。 

例如,假設您和您的團隊建立了一個新的應用程式,並設定了在兩年內達到 100 萬次下載的長期目標。該目標將指導您的決策,並為您的應用程式定義成功指標。現在,請考慮您需要採取哪些較小的行動來實現較大的目標,這些較小型的行動即是您的短期目標。例如,您可以設定「在下個月建立一項電子郵件推薦活動」這樣的短期目標。 

閱讀:設定短期目標的重要性

設定長期目標的重要性

長期目標可以幫助您在工作和個人生活中實現大型目標。以下說明其進行方式。 

有意地進行工作

根據 2020 年的一份報告,約有 86% 的領導者表示定義目標對於成功的成長策略至關重要。畢竟,當您明確知道自己想要什麼時,便更有可能達成之。 

長期目標有助於使目的更加明確,因為設定長期目標會鼓勵您有意識地決定該為什麼樣的未來而奮鬥。長期目標可讓您專注,並確保您的日常工作有助於完成真正重要的事情,而非漫無目的地埋頭工作。

定義成功

當您設定長期目標時,您就是在決定成功對您而言是什麼樣子。您的目標為您提供了具體基準,供您衡量進度並判定目標是否成功實現。 

例如,若您設定了「增加銷售收入」這樣的模糊意圖,將很難衡量進度和成功。若將您的長期目標清楚定義為「在未來五年內達到 200 萬美元的銷售收入」,則可以為您的團隊提供明確的成功目標。 

做出更明智的決策

想像一下:您在市區漫無目的地徘徊,前面的道路開始分歧,您該向左走還是向右走?由於您心中沒有一個目的地,因此更難做出決定。當您有一個欲前往的特定地點時,選擇便很簡單,只需選擇會通往該地點的那條路即可。 

雖然許多決定並不如向左走或向右走那麼簡單,但長期目標仍然可以成為您的指南針。當您面臨選擇時,您可以評估每個選項如何幫助您實現目標。例如,如果您團隊的長期目標是使網站首頁的行動網頁流量翻倍,便可以該目標為由,將「最佳化桌面版首頁」的請求延後進行。

保持動力

長期目標也是一種強大的激勵工具。當心理學家測試不同的激勵方法對團隊績效所產生的影響時,他們發現目標設定是最有效的方法之一。只需設定一些具體、弘大的目標,參與者的表現便會提高至第 80 個百分位數以上。

具體來說,長期目標有助於提升內在動力。成功的動力來自於您自身,而非表揚或酬勞等外部因素。這是因為當您努力實現長期目標時,您的日常工作便擁有明確的目的性。 

閱讀:工作缺乏動力背後的罪魁禍首

設定並實現長期目標的 6 個步驟

制定最好的長期目標需要一些規劃。以下是制定目標並長期堅持下去的方法。 

1. 將您理想中的未來可視化

在制定目標之前,您必須先確定想要實現的事情為何。請記住,長期目標是一項重大承諾。為了建立可以堅守的目標,請確保它們對您具有真正的重要性並符合您所相信的價值。這麽做可以幫助您保持動力並避免發生過勞。 

若要為您的企業設定長期目標,請參考您的使命願景聲明公司價值觀。若要設定個人的工作目標,請先試著確定您所重視的面向為何。問問自己,什麼對您而言最重要、過去有哪些事情最讓您感到滿足,例如,您重視的可能是創意、客戶互動或組織。  

2. 編寫 SMART 目標

目標應該具有明確的定義並可證偽,您才能擁有一條通往成功的具體道路。幸運的是,SMART 目標架構可助您輕鬆制定明確且可衡量的目標。SMART 是一個縮寫詞,代表: 

  • 明確 (Specific)

  • 可衡量 (Measurable)

  • 可實現 (Achievable)

  • 切實可行 (Realistic)

  • 有時間限制 (Time-bound)

以下是一個 SMART 目標的範例:「今年,工程團隊將會推出一個以行動裝置為優先考量,並針對 iOS 和 Android 設備進行最佳化的公司網站。」此目標具體指明了網站的類型及其應具備的特質,可讓您根據網站是否已發佈、是否可以實現 (假設您有足夠的工程資源) 以及是否可以在指定的時間範圍內實際實現來衡量成功。 

延伸閱讀:利用這些提示及範例,撰寫出色的 SMART 目標

3. 安排目標的優先順序

現在您已設定好目標,是時候確定它們的優先順序了。一次解決所有目標雖然很誘人,但這種做法通常不切實際。您必須考量有哪些資源可供使用,其中包括您自己的個人負荷能力。 

若要確定優先順序,請先列出您所有的長期目標。標示出哪些目標對您最重要。請針對每個目標記下想要達成的時間,並估計其所需時長。根據這些因素,決定哪些目標需要立即關注、哪些應先行擱置,直到能力上有餘裕再開始進行。 

推薦閱讀:如何安排,才能讓最重要的工作取得最高的優先順序

4. 將長期目標拆解為短期目標

長期目標需要付出努力才能實現,故一開始會讓您感到有些卻步是很正常的。這就是短期目標發揮作用的地方。這些較小的墊腳石可將工作分解為小型任務,讓您可以在較短的時間 (例如一天、一週或一個月) 內完成。 

若要設定短期目標,請寫下您需要完成的所有任務,以實現您的長期目標。請將這些目標視為相互依賴的依存項,達成這些目標可以為您打開通往最終長期目標的道路。接著,請將其中的每一個依存項轉變為一個獨立的 SMART 目標。 

例如,假設您的團隊設定了「在未來六個月內建立一個新的客戶服務流程」的長期目標。您可以將其分解為以下步驟: 

  • 本週,收集客戶服務團隊的回饋和想法。 

  • 本月,審核目前的流程並識別機會領域。

  • 在兩個月內,收集客戶回饋並找出常見的痛點。 

  • 在三個月內,向主管級專案關係人提交一份商業企劃案,概述您所提議的變更。 

  • 在四個月內,分析您的專案計劃

  • 在五個月內,對客戶服務代表進行新流程的培訓。

  • 在六個月內,向所有客戶服務團隊推出新流程。 

5. 制定進度追蹤計劃

長期目標必須與您的日常工作連結起來方能發揮作用。也就是說,請計劃好定期查核進度並更新您的進度 (例如一天或一週結束時),而非制定了目標後便將其忘卻。藉助您設定的短期目標,您可以更輕鬆地衡量進度,並確定長期目標是否進展順利。 

使用專案管理工具有助於簡化此流程。例如,當您在 Asana 中建立長期目標時,您可以設定截止日期,並建立更新目標進度的自動提醒。您可以在每個長期目標中建立短期目標,將工作分解為易於管理的各個部份,其中每個部份都具有自己的時間範圍和預先設置的提醒。 

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

6. 保持彈性

事情會有變化,這沒關係。當您計劃在數月或數年內實現某個目標時,有意外事件使事情偏離軌道,或者您自己的觀點和目標發生轉變,這些都是正常的。請記住,您的長期目標並不是一成不變的。相反地,它們是動態的文件,您可以隨著時間的推移進行調整。 

當出現意想不到的機會時,保持目標的彈性也會有所幫助。有時候,如果執著於特定的結果,便很容易忽略前景看好的成長機會。例如,假設您公司設定的長期目標是打入某個新的國際市場,但競爭對手卻搶先做到。這時,您可以考慮調整目標,而非繼續追求相同的目標。您可以將專注力放在將您的產品與競爭對手區隔開來,以便瞄準該國際市場中的不同受眾。 

40 個長期目標範例

長期目標可為生活中的各個領域提供幫助,包括您的職業生活和個人發展。一起來透過範例瞭解 40 個不同類型的目標。 

長期業務目標

長期業務目標可以有多種形式,包括策略目標宏偉、艱難和大膽的目標 (BHAG)。您的長期業務目標可以聚焦於以下這些領域:

1. 提高收入

2. 取得或保持盈利能力

3. 改善特定部門的功能,如客戶服務

4. 擴大您的客戶群

5. 推出新產品或服務

6.擴展到新的國家或地區

7. 改進招聘作法

8. 重塑您的公司

9. 改善營運效率

10. 提高員工滿意度

閱讀:設定商業目標:成功企業的第一步

 長期團隊目標

長期目標還有助於塑造團隊文化、提高生產力並鼓勵協作。例如,您可以將長期團隊目標設定為: 

11. 聘用具有出色技能的新團隊成員

12. 發展跨職能協作的流程

13. 在團隊中達到特定的營收或銷售目標

14. 定期舉辦工作外的活動,以促進團隊凝聚

15. 記錄和分享重要的團隊流程

16.為直接下屬建立定期的回饋循環週期

17. 為新員工啟動指導或夥伴計劃

18. 為已完成的專案制定事後分析流程

19. 在團隊中建立新的責任領域

20. 為直接下屬識別新的職業發展機會

長期職業目標

「您認為自己五年後會在哪裡?」是最常見的求職面試問題之一,而這不是沒有原因的。長期的職業發展目標有助於塑造和發展您的職業生涯。為此,以下是一些可以考慮的職業目標範例: 

21. 找到您夢想的工作或職業

22. 自行創業

23. 成為一名團隊經理

24. 學習一項困難的新技能,例如新的程式語言

25. 找一份充實的副業

26. 攻讀新的證書或學位

27. 改善工作與生活的平衡

28.發展您的專業人脈

29.領導一個部門

30. 推銷及管理一個新專案 

個人與財務方面的長期目標

長期目標對您的個人生活而言亦十分有價值。以下這些長期目標範例有助於改善您的健康、財務、技能等方面: 

31. 學習一門外語

32. 學習演奏一項新樂器

33. 擴展您的社交網路

34. 參加有難度的比賽,例如馬拉松

35. 學習一項運動

36. 生育或領養孩子

37. 尋找伴侶

38.增加您儲蓄帳戶的餘額

39 提升您的信用分數

40. 買下您的第一間房子

藉助目標取得成長

無論您想達成什麼目標,長期目標都可以幫助您實現之。設定長期目標可為過去似乎遙不可及的夢想提供結構,並使您能夠隨著時間的推移策略性地解決它們。藉助這些步驟和範例,夢想將不再只是夢想,您可以開始規劃並實現所有宏大的目標。 

無論您設定的目標是什麼類型,請確保您有辦法追蹤實現目標的進度。若您能夠看到您的短期目標是如何為長期目標做出貢獻,您的動力便會提高,也更有可能保持進展順利。請嘗試使用 Asana 來制定和實現策略目標。 

藉助 Asana 設定並實現目標

相關資源

文章

25 professional goals to advance your career

How to accomplish big things with long-term goals

Caeleigh MacNeil contributor headshotCaeleigh MacNeilSeptember 29th, 20217 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
How to accomplish big things with long-term goals article banner image

Summary

Long-term goals are objectives you want to achieve months or years down the road. Setting this type of goal gives your work purpose, helps you make better decisions, and offers a hefty dose of daily motivation. In this article we explain how you can use long-term goals to accomplish big things over time, with examples.

When you think of an ideal future for your work, what do you see? Perhaps you envision yourself launching a new global product, hitting record sales numbers, or recruiting the best talent in your field. But while it’s easy to imagine those dream scenarios, actually getting there is another story. That’s where long-term goals can help. 

Setting long-term goals helps turn your daydreams into concrete objectives that you can work towards with intention. Aside from helping you achieve difficult things, they’re also a useful tool to prioritize your work and decide what success looks like for you. 

What are long-term goals?

Long-term goals are objectives you want to achieve in the future, months or years down the road. They’re difficult to accomplish and require advance planning and consistent work over a long period of time—like turning a startup into a profitable business, revamping your organizational culture, or becoming a team leader.  

Achieve strategic goals with Asana

Long-term goals vs. short-term goals

Long-term goals give your work direction and purpose. They’re usually made up of smaller short-term goals, which are the stepping stones that help you accomplish your larger goals. While long-term goals are your north star, short-term goals make the work feel less daunting by breaking it up into actionable steps. 

For example, imagine you and your team created a new app and set a long-term goal to reach one million downloads within two years. That objective guides your decisions and defines what success looks like for your app. Now, think of the smaller actions you need to take to reach your larger objective—those are your short-term goals. For instance, you might set a short-term goal to create an email referral campaign within the next month. 

Read: The importance of setting short-term goals

The importance of setting long-term goals 

Long-term goals can help you tackle big objectives at work and in your personal life. Here’s how. 

Work with intention

According to a 2020 report, some 86% of leaders say defining a purpose is essential to a successful growth strategy. After all, when you’re clear about what you want, you’re much more likely to get it. 

Long-term goals help with that clarity, because setting them encourages you to intentionally decide what kind of future you’re striving for. Instead of working aimlessly, long-term goals give you focus and ensure that your daily work is chipping away at something that really matters. 

Define success

When you set a long-term goal, you’re deciding what success looks like to you. Your goal gives you a concrete benchmark to measure progress and determine whether or not you’ve achieved your objective. 

For example, if you set a vague intention to “increase sales revenue,” it’s difficult to measure progress and success. By clarifying your long-term goal to hit 2 million dollars in sales revenue in the next five years, you give your team a clear vision of success to aim for. 

Make better decisions

Picture this: you’re walking aimlessly around town, and are faced with a split in the road. Do you go left or right? Since you don’t have a destination in mind, that decision is much harder to make. When you’re headed to a specific location, the choice is easy—just take the road that leads where you want to go. 

While many decisions aren’t as simple as left or right, a long-term goal can be your compass. When you’re faced with a choice, you can evaluate how each option might help you reach your goal. For example, if your team’s long-term goal is to double mobile web traffic to your homepage, you can point to that goal if you need to push back on requests to optimize your homepage for desktop. 

Stay motivated

Long-term goals are also a powerful motivational tool. When psychologists tested the impact of different motivational techniques on group performance, they found goal setting was one of the most effective. Just setting a handful of specific, ambitious goals boosted the participants’ performance into the 80th percentile.

Specifically, long-term goals help with intrinsic motivation—the drive to succeed that comes from within yourself, rather than external factors like praise or compensation. That’s because when you’re striving towards long-term goals, your day-to-day work has a clear purpose. 

Read: The secret culprit behind your lack of motivation at work

6 steps to set and achieve your long-term goals

The best long-term goals take a bit of planning. Here’s how to create goals and stick with them for the long haul. 

1. Visualize your ideal future

Before you create your goals, you have to decide what you want to achieve. Keep in mind that long-term goals are a big commitment. To create goals you can stick with, make sure they really matter to you and align with your values. This helps you stay motivated and avoid burnout

If you’re setting long-term objectives for your business, this means consulting with your mission, vision statement, and company values. If you’re setting personal work goals, try to identify your values first. Ask yourself what’s most important to you and what has fulfilled you most in the past—for example, you might value creativity, customer interaction, or organization.  

2. Write SMART goals

Goals should be clearly defined and falsifiable, so you have a concrete path to success. Luckily, the SMART goal framework makes it easy to create clear and measurable goals. SMART is an acronym that stands for: 

  • Specific

  • Measurable

  • Achievable

  • Realistic

  • Time-bound

Here’s an example of a SMART goal: “This year, the engineering team will launch a mobile-first company website optimized for iOS and Android devices.” It specifies the type of website and what qualities it should possess, allows you to measure success based on whether or not the website has launched, is attainable (assuming you have sufficient engineering resources), and can realistically be achieved within the specified time frame. 

Read: Write better SMART goals with these tips and examples

 3. Prioritize your goals

Now that you’ve set goals, it’s time to prioritize them. It can be tempting to try and tackle all your objectives at once, but that’s usually not realistic. You have to take into account what resources are available—including your own personal bandwidth. 

To prioritize, start by listing out all your long-term goals. Highlight which ones are most important to you. Make a note of when you want to achieve each goal, and estimate how long it will take. Based on those factors, decide which goals you want to focus on right away, and which ones you’ll put on hold until more bandwidth opens up. 

Read: How to prioritize your most important work

4. Break your long-term goals into short-term goals

Long-term goals take hard work to achieve, so it’s normal for them to feel a bit daunting at first. That’s where short-term goals come into play. These smaller stepping stones break the work down into bite-sized tasks you can tackle within a shorter time frame, such as a day, week, or month. 

To set short-term goals, write down all the tasks you need to accomplish in order to reach your long-term goal. Think of them as dependencies—hitting these goals unblocks your ultimate, long-term goal. Then, turn each of those dependencies into its own SMART goal. 

For example, imagine your team has set a long-term goal to create a new customer service process in the next six months. You could break it up into the following steps: 

  • This week, collect feedback and ideas from the customer service team. 

  • This month, audit the current process and identify areas of opportunity.

  • In two months, collect customer feedback and identify common pain points. 

  • In three months, submit a business case to executive stakeholders that outlines your proposed changes. 

  • In four months, finalize your project plan.

  • In five months, train customer service representatives in the new processes. 

  • In six months, roll out the new process to all customer service teams. 

5. Make a plan to track your progress

In order for long-term goals to be effective, they should be connected to your day-to-day work. That means instead of setting and forgetting your goals, make a plan to regularly check in and update your progress—for example, at the end of each day or week. And with the short-term goals you’ve set, it will be easier to gauge your progress and determine if you’re on track for your long-term goals. 

Using a project management tool can help streamline this process. For example, when you create a long-term goal in Asana, you can set a due date and create automated reminders to update your goal progress. And within each long-term goal, you can create short-term goals to break work down into manageable chunks—each with its own timeframe and scheduled reminders. 

Try goals with Asana for free

7. Be flexible

Things change, and that’s okay. When you plan to achieve something months or years down the road, it’s normal for unexpected events to knock things off track—or for your own perspective and goals to shift. Keep in mind that your long-term goals aren’t set in stone. Rather, they’re a living document that you can adjust over time. 

Staying flexible with your goals can also help when unexpected opportunities arise. Sometimes if you fixate on a specific outcome, it can be easy to overlook promising growth opportunities. For example, imagine your company has set a long-term goal to enter a new international market—but a competitor gets there first. Instead of pursuing that same goal, you might consider adjusting your objective. You could focus on differentiating your product from the competition in order to target a different audience within that international market. 

40 long-term goal examples

Long-term goals can help in every area of your life—including your professional life and personal development. Take a look at 40 different types of goals, with examples. 

Long-term business goals

Long-term business goals can come in many forms, including strategic goals and big hairy audacious goals (BHAGs). Your long-term business goals might focus on these areas: 

1. Increase revenue

2. Become or stay profitable

3. Improve the function of a specific department, like customer service

4. Grow your customer base

5. Launch a new product or service

6. Expand to a new country or region

7. Improve hiring practices

8. Rebrand your company

9. Improve operating efficiency

10. Increase employee satisfaction

Read: Setting business goals: The first step to a successful business

 Long-term team goals

Long-term goals can also help shape your team culture, increase productivity, and encourage collaboration. For example, you could set long-term team goals to: 

11. Hire skilled new team members

12. Develop a process for cross-functional collaboration

13. Reach a specific revenue or sales target within your team

14. Organize regular offsites to promote team building

15. Document and share important team processes

16. Establish a regular feedback cycle for direct reports

17. Start a mentorship or buddy program for new hires

18. Develop a post-mortem process for completed projects

19. Create new areas of responsibility within your team

20. Identify new professional development opportunities for direct reports

Long-term career goals

There’s a reason one of the most common job interview questions is: “Where do you see yourself in five years?” Long-term professional development goals help shape and grow your career. In that vein, here are some example career goals to consider: 

21. Find your dream job or career

22. Start your own business

23. Become a team manager

24. Learn a difficult new skill, like a new programming language

25. Find a fulfilling side-hustle

26. Pursue a new certification or degree

27. Improve your work-life balance

28. Grow your professional network

29. Lead a department

30. Pitch and manage a new project 

Long-term personal and financial goals

Long-term goals are just as valuable for your personal life. Here are some examples of how long-term goals can help improve your health, finances, skills, and more: 

31. Learn a foreign language

32. Learn to play an instrument

33. Expand your social network

34. Compete in a difficult event, like a marathon

35. Learn to play a sport 

36. Have or adopt a child

37. Find a partner

38. Grow your savings account balance

39. Improve your credit score

40. Buy your first home

Grow with goals

Regardless of what you want to achieve, long-term goals can help you get there. Setting long-term objectives gives structure to dreams that may have previously seemed out of reach, and empowers you to strategically tackle them over time. And with these steps and examples, you can stop dreaming, start planning, and tackle those big goals once and for all. 

Regardless of the type of goal you set, make sure you have a way to track progress towards your goals. When you can visualize how your short-term goals are contributing to your long-term objectives, you’re more motivated and more likely to stay on track. Try goals with Asana to set and achieve strategic goals. 

Achieve strategic goals with Asana

Related resources

Article

10 questions to ask before finding a mentor