如何以 7 個步驟建立您的批判性思考能力 (附範例)

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsSeptember 29th, 2021
facebooktwitterlinkedin
如何以 7 個步驟建立您的批判性思考能力 (附範例) 文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

批判性思考非常重要。透過建立這類技能,您就可以提升分析資訊的能力,盡可能做出最佳決策。在本文中,我們會涵蓋介紹批判性思考的基礎知識,以及您可用於實施完整批判性思考流程的 7 個步驟。

批判性思考即提出適當的問題,從而盡可能得出最佳結論。強而有力的批判性思考者可從多種角度分析資訊,從而確定出最佳行動方案。

若您認為自己並非強大的批判性思考者也請別擔心。在本文中,我們將協助您建立批判性思考的基礎,這樣您就可以汲取、分析資訊,並做出明智決策。

什麼是批判性思考?

批判性思考是一種收集、分析資訊以便得出結論的能力。能夠進行批判性思考在幾乎所有行業中都非常重要,而且在各種各樣的職位中都能發揮作用。這是因為批判性思考並非針對特定學門,而是一種透過分析資訊、資料、統計數字以及其他細節確定出讓人滿意的解決方案的能力。

發展批判性思考技能可提升解決問題能力,激發以資料為基礎做出決策的能力,還能針對複雜問題提供解決方法。出色的批判性思考者能夠自在應對模稜兩可的情況,而且樂意挑戰其假設,得出最佳結論。

8 種最重要的批判性思考技能

如同絕大多數軟技能,批判性思考並非能夠在課堂上學習到的知識。相反,這類技能包含了各種人際交往與分析能力。培養批判性思考更需要的是學習擁抱開放的思維,將分析思考帶入您的問題應對過程中。

以下是 8 種最重要的批判性思考技能,重要程度不分先後:

  1. 分析性思考:批判性思考的其中一環,就是評估來自多個來源的資料,以便得出最佳結論。藉由分析性思考,人們可以摒棄偏見,努力收集、運用資訊,從而得出最佳結論。

  2. 開放性思維:這項批判性思考技能有助於分析和處理資訊,從而得出無偏見的結論。批判性思考的其中一環就是擺脫您的個人偏見,綜合所有資訊得出結論。

  3. 問題解決由於批判性思考強調以所有可用資訊為依據得出最佳結論,因此這是解決問題的關鍵環節。若運用得宜,批判性思考能夠幫助您解決任何問題,從工作場所中的挑戰到日常生活中的難題都能一一應對。

  4. 自我調節:自我調節即調整自己的想法,同時拋開任何個人偏見,得出最佳結論的能力。若要成為有效的批判性思考者,您需要對您手頭上的資訊和您喜好的決策作一番質疑,只有這樣,您才能得出最好的結論。

  5. 觀察:觀察技能有助於批判思考者尋找超越表面價值的事物。若要成為批判性思考者,您就需要接受多方觀點,並且能夠運用觀察技能識別潛在問題。

  6. 解釋:並非所有資料都是平等的,批判性思考者理應瞭解這一點。除了收集資訊以外,評估哪些資訊重要且與您的情況相關也非常重要。這樣,您就可以從所收集的資料中得出最佳結論。

  7. 評估:嘗試回答一個難題時,很少會有顯而易見的答案。雖然批判性思考強調的是放下偏見,但您仍需要能夠依據現有的資料自信地做出決策。

  8. 溝通:做出決策後,您還需要將決策與其他關係人分享。有效的工作場所溝通需要提出證據並支持您的結論,在有著多種不同的可能解決方案的情況下,尤其如是。

使用 Asana 改善團隊溝通

進行批判性思考的 7 個步驟

批判性思考是一項能夠透過以下 7 個步驟培養的技能。批判性思考的 7 個步驟有助於確保您從正確的角度處理問題,思考每一個替代方案,並且得出公正的結論。

閱讀:聚斂性思考對比擴散性思考:尋找最佳平衡

第一件事:何時運用這個 7 步驟批判性思考流程

完整的批判性思考流程中內容龐雜,並不是每一個決策都需要經過深思熟慮。有時候,拋開偏見並以合乎邏輯的方式處理流程就已足夠。在更為複雜的情況中,確定理想結果的最佳方法是完成整個批判性思考流程。

7 步驟批判性思考流程對於在您不太熟悉的領域中做出複雜決策非常實用。這 7 個批判性思考步驟還可以幫助您從不同角度看待您熟悉的問題,而不產生任何偏見。

若您需要做出較為簡單的決策,不妨考慮另一種問題解決策略。決策矩陣是一種在多個不同選擇中確定最佳選項的絕佳方式。請參閱我們的建立決策矩陣的 7 個步驟文章內容。

1. 識別問題

施展批判性思考技能之前,您首先需要識別出您目前需要解決的問題。這一步驟涵蓋了從幾個不同角度看待問題並提出以下問題:

  • 發生了什麼事?

  • 發生的原因是什麼?

  • 我作出了哪些假設?

  • 乍看之下,我們可以如何解決這個問題?

發展批判性思考能力的重要環節,在於瞭解如何得出公正的結論。為此,首先需要承認目前存在的偏見。您團隊中是否有人認為他們已經掌握答案?您所作出的假設是否不一定正確?確定這些細節,對於往後的流程很有幫助。

2. 調查研究

在這個階段,您可能對於問題有一個大致的看法,但為了得出最佳解決方案,您需要更深入地探尋。

在調查研究的過程中,需要收集與問題相關的資訊,其中包括資料、統計數字、歷史專案資訊、團隊意見等。務必從多方來源收集資訊,當這些來源與您對問題所在或如何解決問題的個人想法背道而馳時,尤應如此。

收集各種資訊對於運用批判性思考流程的能力而言至關重要。若您並未獲得充足的資訊,您做出最終決策的能力就會受到影響。請記住,批判性思考的目的在於幫助您確定出客觀的最佳結論。不能跟著感覺走,而是進行調查研究,找到最佳選項。

3. 確定資料關聯性

確定不同資訊來源關聯性的重要程度,和收集各種資訊相當。畢竟,擁有了資料不等於資料彼此相關。

收集所有資訊後,需去蕪存菁並確定哪些資訊相關、哪些資訊不相關。綜合所有資訊並確定其重要性,有助於權衡不同的資料來源,在之後的批判性思考過程中得出最佳結論。

若要確定資料關聯性,不妨問自己:

  • 這些資訊的可靠程度如何?

  • 這些資訊的重要程度如何?

  • 這些資訊是否已經過時?是否只在特定領域適用?

4. 提問

批判性思考流程中最有幫助的環節之一,就是作出公正的決策。為此,您需要抽身回頭審視,並且挑戰自己所作出的假設。

我們都有各種偏見,但這並非全然壞事。無意識的偏見 (又稱為認知偏誤) 往往是簡化問題解決和幫助做出決策的心理捷徑。但即便偏見本身不是壞事,您也必須意識到自己的偏見,以便在必要時將之拋開。

得出解決方案前,問自己:

  • 我是否針對這些資訊作出假設?

  • 是否有任何我並未納入考量的其他變數?

  • 我是否已經評估過來自每一個觀點的資訊?

  • 我是否錯過任何觀點?

閱讀:克服這 19 個無意識偏見以助提升包容性。

5. 確定最佳解決方案

在尾聲階段,您已準備好要得出一個結論了。若要確定最佳解決方案,需要在成因和影響之間建立聯繫。請運用您所收集到的事實來評估最為客觀的結論。

請記住,解決方案可能不止一種。您所面臨的問題往往是錯綜複雜的。批判性思考流程不一定能得出一刀切的解決方案,相反,這個過程可以幫助您瞭解不同的變數,從而做出明智決策。

6. 展示解決方案

溝通是批判性思考者需掌握的重要技能。只有自己思考是不夠的,您還需要與其他專案關係人分享您的結論。若有多種解決方案,請一一展示。可能存在這種情況,即您實施了某一個解決方案,然後在實施另一個解決方案之前,測試其是否有成效。

7. 分析您的決策

7 步驟批判性思考流程產生出結果後,您需要實施所得的解決方案。實施決策後,請評估其是否有成效。這個方案是否解決了最初的問題?您從這次經歷中學到了什麼正面或負面的經驗教訓,可以在下一次用來提升您的批判性思考?

依據您的團隊分享資訊的方式,不妨考慮在一處集中事實來源記錄所學到的經驗教訓。這樣,將來需要做出類似或相關決策的團隊成員就可以瞭解您做出決策的原因以及結果會是什麼。

藉助 Asana 跨團隊和專案進行報告

工作場所中進行批判性思考的範例

設想您要進行使用者經驗設計 (UX)。您的團隊需專注於定價與包裝,同時確保客戶清楚瞭解您的公司提供的不同服務。以下是如何以 7 個步驟在工作場所中運用批判性思考流程:

從識別問題入手

您目前的定價頁面並沒有達到您理想的效果。您從客戶處聽到的意見是您的服務並不明確,而且定價頁面也無法回答他們的疑問。這個頁面對您的公司而言非常重要,因為這是您的客戶註冊使用您的服務之處。您與團隊對於目前的頁面表現不佳已有一些推測,但您決定運用批判性思考流程,確保您可以針對這個頁面做出最佳決策。

收集關於問題如何產生的資訊

識別問題的其中一環包括瞭解問題如何產生。定價和包裝頁面非常重要,因此在團隊最初設計這個頁面時,他們肯定有過諸多考量。在開始研究如何改進頁面之前,問自己:

  • 當時為何採取這種方式設計定價頁面?

  • 決策流程中需納入哪些關係人?

  • 使用者在這個頁面的哪些方面遇到問題?

  • 目前是否有哪些功能運作良好?

然後,進行研究

除了瞭解定價和包裝頁面的歷史以外,瞭解哪些部分有效也非常重要。這項研究的其中一環,就是瞭解競爭對手的定價頁面是什麼樣子。

問自己:

  • 我們的競爭對手如何設定其定價頁面?

  • 是否有任何定價頁面最佳作法?

  • 顏色、位置和動畫對於導覽的影響是什麼?

  • 是否有任何客戶期望看到的標準頁面版面配置?

組織並分析資訊

您已收集全部所需資訊,現在需要加以組織和分析。是否觀察到什麼趨勢?是否需要考慮任何特別相關或重要的資訊?

提出開放式問題以減少偏見

在批判性思考中,盡可能處理和拋開偏見非常重要。問自己:

  • 我作出了哪些假設?

  • 我是否錯過了什麼?

  • 我是否與正確的關係人建立了聯繫?

  • 是否還有任何我需要考量的其他觀點?

為您的團隊決定最佳解決方案

現在您已掌握設計最佳定價頁面所需要的全部資訊。依據設計的複雜程度,您可能需要設計幾種不同選項,向一小群客戶展示,或在即時網站上進行 A/B 測試。

向關係人展示您的解決方案

批判性思考對於生活的各個層面都能有所助益,但在工作場所中,您還須納入重要專案關係人。專案關係人可協助您確定後續步驟,例如是否需要先進行頁面的 A/B 測試。依據問題的複雜程度,不妨考慮主持一場會議,或者分享狀態報告,以便大家可以資訊同步。

分析結果

要完成流程,必須對結果進行評估。新的頁面上線一段時間後,需評估其是否較之前的頁面效果更佳。哪些方面做得好?哪些方面做得不好?此舉還有助於之後做出更好的批判性決策。

致勝關鍵

批判性思考能力需要時間來建立,但只要付出努力和耐心,在任何情況下您都可以運用這種公正的分析性思維。批判性思考是使您能夠成為有成效的團隊成員、經歷和員工的眾多軟技能之一。若您希望進一步磨練自己的能力,請閱讀我們的獲致成功的 25 項專案管理技能文章。

相關資源

文章

Persönlichkeitstest: Diese Methoden stehen zur Verfügung!

How to build your critical thinking skills in 7 steps (with examples)

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsSeptember 29th, 20218 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
How to build your critical thinking skills in 7 steps (with examples) article banner image

Summary

Critical thinking is, well, critical. By building these skills, you improve your ability to analyze information and come to the best decision possible. In this article, we cover the basics of critical thinking, as well as the seven steps you can use to implement the full critical thinking process. 

Critical thinking comes from asking the right questions to come to the best conclusion possible. Strong critical thinkers analyze information from a variety of viewpoints in order to identify the best course of action.

Don’t worry if you don’t think you have strong critical thinking abilities. In this article, we’ll help you build a foundation for critical thinking so you can absorb, analyze, and make informed decisions. 

What is critical thinking? 

Critical thinking is the ability to collect and analyze information to come to a conclusion. Being able to think critically is important in virtually every industry and applicable across a wide range of positions. That’s because critical thinking isn’t subject-specific—rather, it’s your ability to parse through information, data, statistics, and other details in order to identify a satisfactory solution. 

Developing your critical thinking skills improves your problem solving skills, boosts your decision making ability, and gives you a methodology to tackle complex problems. Good critical thinkers are comfortable with ambiguity and are willing to challenge their hypotheses in order to come to the best conclusions.

Top 8 critical thinking skills

Like most soft skills, critical thinking isn’t something you can take a class to learn. Rather, this skill consists of a variety of interpersonal and analytical skills. Developing critical thinking is more about learning to embrace open-mindedness and bringing analytical thinking to your problem solving process. 

In no particular order, the eight most important critical thinking skills are:

  1. Analytical thinking: Part of critical thinking is evaluating data from multiple sources in order to come to the best conclusions. Analytical thinking allows people to reject bias and strive to gather and consume information to come to the best conclusion. 

  2. Open-mindedness: This critical thinking skill helps you analyze and process information to come to an unbiased conclusion. Part of the critical thinking process is letting your personal biases go and coming to a conclusion based on all of the information. 

  3. Problem solving: Because critical thinking emphasizes coming to the best conclusion based on all of the available information, it’s a key part of problem solving. When used correctly, critical thinking helps you solve any problem—from a workplace challenge to difficulties in everyday life. 

  4. Self-regulation: Self-regulation refers to the ability to regulate your thoughts and set aside any personal biases to come to the best conclusion. In order to be an effective critical thinker, you need to question the information you have and the decisions you favor—only then can you come to the best conclusion. 

  5. Observation: Observation skills help critical thinkers look for things beyond face value. To be a critical thinker you need to embrace multiple points of view, and you can use observation skills to identify potential problems.

  6. Interpretation: Not all data is made equal—and critical thinkers know this. In addition to gathering information, it’s important to evaluate which information is important and relevant to your situation. That way, you can draw the best conclusions from the data you’ve collected. 

  7. Evaluation: When you attempt to answer a hard question, there is rarely an obvious answer. Even though critical thinking emphasizes putting your biases aside, you need to be able to confidently make a decision based on the data you have available. 

  8. Communication: Once a decision has been made, you also need to share this decision with other stakeholders. Effective workplace communication includes presenting evidence and supporting your conclusion—especially if there are a variety of different possible solutions. 

Try team communication with Asana for free

7 steps to critical thinking

Critical thinking is a skill that you can build by following these seven steps. The seven steps to critical thinking help you ensure you’re approaching a problem from the right angle, considering every alternative, and coming to an unbiased conclusion. 

First things first: When to use the 7 step critical thinking process

There’s a lot that goes into the full critical thinking process, and not every decision needs to be this thought out. Sometimes, it’s enough to put aside bias and approach a process logically. In other, more complex cases, the best way to identify the ideal outcome is to go through the entire critical thinking process. 

The seven-step critical thinking process is useful for complex decisions in areas you are less familiar with. Alternatively, the seven critical thinking steps can help you look at a problem you’re familiar with from a different angle, without any bias. 

If you need to make a less complex decision, consider another problem solving strategy instead. Decision matrices are a great way to identify the best option between different choices. Check out our article on 7 steps to creating a decision matrix.

1. Identify the problem

Before you put those critical thinking skills to work, you first need to identify the problem you’re solving. This step includes taking a look at the problem from a few different perspectives and asking questions like: 

  • What’s happening? 

  • Why is this happening? 

  • What assumptions am I making? 

  • At first glance, how do I think we can solve this problem? 

A big part of developing your critical thinking skills is learning how to come to unbiased conclusions. In order to do that, you first need to acknowledge the biases that you currently have. Does someone on your team think they know the answer? Are you making assumptions that aren’t necessarily true? Identifying these details helps you later on in the process. 

2. Research

At this point, you likely have a general idea of the problem—but in order to come up with the best solution, you need to dig deeper. 

During the research process, collect information relating to the problem, including data, statistics, historical project information, team input, and more. Make sure you gather information from a variety of sources, especially if those sources go against your personal ideas about what the problem is or how to solve it.

Gathering varied information is essential for your ability to apply the critical thinking process. If you don’t get enough information, your ability to make a final decision will be skewed. Remember that critical thinking is about helping you identify the objective best conclusion. You aren’t going with your gut—you’re doing research to find the best option

3. Determine data relevance

Just as it’s important to gather a variety of information, it is also important to determine how relevant the different information sources are. After all, just because there is data doesn’t mean it’s relevant. 

Once you’ve gathered all of the information, sift through the noise and identify what information is relevant and what information isn’t. Synthesizing all of this information and establishing significance helps you weigh different data sources and come to the best conclusion later on in the critical thinking process. 

To determine data relevance, ask yourself:

  • How reliable is this information? 

  • How significant is this information? 

  • Is this information outdated? Is it specialized in a specific field? 

4. Ask questions

One of the most useful parts of the critical thinking process is coming to a decision without bias. In order to do so, you need to take a step back from the process and challenge the assumptions you’re making. 

We all have bias—and that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. Unconscious biases (also known as cognitive biases) often serve as mental shortcuts to simplify problem solving and aid decision making. But even when biases aren’t inherently bad, you must be aware of your biases in order to put them aside when necessary. 

Before coming to a solution, ask yourself:

  • Am I making any assumptions about this information? 

  • Are there additional variables I haven’t considered? 

  • Have I evaluated the information from every perspective? 

  • Are there any viewpoints I missed? 

Read: 19 unconscious biases to overcome and help promote inclusivity

5. Identify the best solution

Finally, you’re ready to come to a conclusion. To identify the best solution, draw connections between causes and effects. Use the facts you’ve gathered to evaluate the most objective conclusion. 

Keep in mind that there may be more than one solution. Often, the problems you’re facing are complex and intricate. The critical thinking process doesn’t necessarily lead to a cut-and-dry solution—instead, the process helps you understand the different variables at play so you can make an informed decision. 

6. Present your solution

Communication is a key skill for critical thinkers. It isn’t enough to think for yourself—you also need to share your conclusion with other project stakeholders. If there are multiple solutions, present them all. There may be a case where you implement one solution, then test to see if it works before implementing another solution. 

7. Analyze your decision

The seven-step critical thinking process yields a result—and you then need to put that solution into place. After you’ve implemented your decision, evaluate whether or not it was effective. Did it solve the initial problem? What lessons—whether positive or negative—can you learn from this experience to improve your critical thinking for next time? 

Depending on how your team shares information, consider documenting lessons learned in a central source of truth. That way, team members that are making similar or related decisions in the future can understand why you made the decision you made and what the outcome was. 

Try Universal Reporting

Example of critical thinking in the workplace

Imagine you work in user experience design (UX). Your team is focused on pricing and packaging and ensuring customers have a clear understanding of the different services your company offers. Here’s how to apply the critical thinking process in the workplace in seven steps: 

Start by identifying the problem

Your current pricing page isn’t performing as well as you want. You’ve heard from customers that your services aren’t clear, and that the page doesn’t answer the questions they have. This page is really important for your company, since it’s where your customers sign up for your service. You and your team have a few theories about why your current page isn’t performing well, but you decide to apply the critical thinking process to ensure you come to the best decision for the page. 

Gather information about how the problem started

Part of identifying the problem includes understanding how the problem started. The pricing and packaging page is important—so when your team initially designed the page, they certainly put a lot of thought into it. Before you begin researching how to improve the page, ask yourself: 

  • Why did you design the pricing page the way you did? 

  • Which stakeholders need to be involved in the decision making process? 

  • Where are users getting stuck on the page?

  • Are any features currently working?

Then, you research

In addition to understanding the history of the pricing and packaging page, it’s important to understand what works well. Part of this research means taking a look at what your competitor’s pricing pages look like. 

Ask yourself: 

  • How have our competitors set up their pricing pages?

  • Are there any pricing page best practices? 

  • How does color, positioning, and animation impact navigation? 

  • Are there any standard page layouts customers expect to see? 

Organize and analyze information

You’ve gathered all of the information you need—now you need to organize and analyze it. What trends, if any, are you noticing? Is there any particularly relevant or important information that you have to consider? 

Ask open-ended questions to reduce bias

In the case of critical thinking, it’s important to address and set bias aside as much as possible. Ask yourself: 

  • What assumptions am I making? 

  • Is there anything I’m missing? 

  • Have I connected with the right stakeholders? 

  • Are there any other viewpoints I should consider? 

Determine the best solution for your team

You now have all of the information you need to design the best pricing page. Depending on the complexity of the design, you may want to design a few options to present to a small group of customers or A/B test on the live website.

Present your solution to stakeholders

Critical thinking can help you in every element of your life, but in the workplace, you must also involve key project stakeholders. Stakeholders help you determine next steps, like whether you’ll A/B test the page first. Depending on the complexity of the issue, consider hosting a meeting or sharing a status report to get everyone on the same page. 

Analyze the results

No process is complete without evaluating the results. Once the new page has been live for some time, evaluate whether it did better than the previous page. What worked? What didn’t? This also helps you make better critical decisions later on.

Critically successful 

Critical thinking takes time to build, but with effort and patience you can apply an unbiased, analytical mind to any situation. Critical thinking makes up one of many soft skills that makes you an effective team member, manager, and worker. If you’re looking to hone your skills further, read our article on the 25 project management skills you need to succeed

Related resources

Article

Building a cross-functional team: 9 tips and benefits