Conseils d’experts : 4 chefs d’équipe partagent leurs bonnes pratiques en matière de plan de gestion des ressources

Vous avez du mal à affecter vos ressources pour votre prochain projet ? La plupart des responsables rencontrent des difficultés à bien répartir le travail au sein de leurs équipes. Vous avez peut-être la sensation de jouer avec vos ressources sans vraiment savoir où vous allez, mais heureusement, il existe des solutions pour y voir plus clair. Grâce à un plan de gestion des ressources, vous pouvez à tout moment visualiser la charge de travail de vos collaborateurs individuels et de votre équipe. Ainsi, vous équilibrez efficacement toutes vos ressources et bénéficiez d’une perspective sur la voie qu’empruntera votre équipe pour atteindre ses objectifs.

Qu’est-ce qu’un plan de gestion des ressources ?

On utilise un plan de gestion des ressources pour gérer et allouer tous les types de ressources utiles à un projet. Un plan efficace doit énumérer les ressources (notamment humaines, financières, techniques et physiques) et activités nécessaires à l’avancement d’un projet ou d’une initiative. Ce plan est conçu pour vous guider, grâce à un aperçu global de la charge de travail de vos équipes et à la centralisation de tous les éléments au même endroit. Rien de plus facile pour gérer, planifier et allouer toutes vos ressources tout en optimisant votre productivité ! Apprendre à bien répartir vos ressources de gestion de projet vous permettra de gérer vos projets efficacement aux côtés de votre équipe.

Quatre chefs d’équipe vous conseillent sur la gestion de vos ressources

Quoi de mieux que de consulter un guide pour apprendre à allouer vos ressources ? Et si nous laissions la parole à quatre de nos responsables d’équipe ? Chacun évolue dans sa sphère d’activité et fait face à ses propres défis, mais tous sont unis par une pratique quotidienne approfondie. Lisez la suite et découvrez leurs astuces pour concevoir un plan de gestion des ressources, exemples inclus. Nous vous présentons Jenny, Ariel, Reigan et Eric.

Jenny Thai, responsable du contenu, équipe marketing

Quel est le plus gros défi auquel vous devez faire face en matière de gestion des ressources, et quelle solution avez-vous trouvée ?

Le plus gros défi auquel je suis confrontée lorsqu’il s’agit de gérer et d’allouer des ressources, c’est de parvenir à obtenir une vue d’ensemble sur la charge de travail de mon équipe. Je dois pouvoir anticiper l’arrivée de chaque nouveau projet avec précision.

Pour ce faire, je commence par jeter un œil à la stratégie des prochains lancements et campagnes de produit, avant de m’atteler à déterminer nos besoins en personnel tant au niveau des projets que des livrables individuels. Je fais appel à un outil de gestion du travail pour bien gérer l’ensemble de mes activités. J’y ai créé un portefeuille contenant tous les projets sur lesquels mon équipe travaille chaque trimestre. Pour les petits projets de rédaction et les activités ponctuelles, j’ai mis en place dans ce même outil un processus permettant aux utilisateurs de déposer des demandes d’assistance à la rédaction. Je récupère ainsi très facilement les nouvelles demandes et identifie les échéances, priorités et besoins correspondants.

Pour ce qui est de la répartition des effectifs et ressources au sein des différents projets, cela tient autant du domaine de l’art que de la science. Je fais de mon mieux pour que les disponibilités de chacun concordent avec l’étendue du travail attribué, sans oublier de prendre en compte les compétences et objectifs de carrière individuels lors de l’attribution des projets.

Quelles sont vos trois meilleures astuces pour bien concevoir et gérer un plan de gestion des ressources ?
  1. Prenez les devants et identifiez les projets en préparation. La plupart des projets traités par mon équipe sont lancés par d’autres équipes. Il est donc essentiel de s’adresser à nos partenaires des différents services pour avoir une vue d’ensemble sur le travail à venir.
  2. Assurez-vous d’attribuer au moins un gros projet (par exemple une campagne marketing) à chacun des membres de l’équipe et de compléter le reste de leur charge de travail par des tâches à échéances journalières et hebdomadaires. Ainsi, vous leur permettez de varier les plaisirs tout en limitant les changements de contexte.
  3. Faites régulièrement le point avec votre équipe afin de connaître les disponibilités des uns et des autres et effectuer des ajustements au fil de l’eau. En cas d’imprévu, maintenez toutes les voies de communication ouvertes pour être sûr que la répartition de vos ressources reste équilibrée.

Ariel Ross, productrice créative intégrée, équipe de conception

Quel est le plus gros défi auquel vous devez faire face en matière de gestion des ressources, et quelle solution avez-vous trouvée ?

Pour la gestion des ressources, mon plus gros défi consiste à avoir une vision précise de ce sur quoi travaille mon équipe, de nos disponibilités et du statut de nos projets. C’est un travail tout en nuances, dans la mesure où chaque contributeur individuel a ses points forts et avance à son propre rythme. Je dois identifier la personne la mieux adaptée à chaque projet avant de le lui attribuer.

La clé, c’est de constamment faciliter la communication entre les membres de l’équipe. Je m’assure que tout le monde est sur la même longueur d’onde en les contactant régulièrement, en organisant des réunions et en les rencontrant en personne. Je m’efforce aussi d’avoir une idée générale des tâches de chacun pour que nos discussions soient plus efficaces. La conception de chronologies pour visualiser le processus de production de l’équipe me permet d’identifier clairement les différents responsables et d’anticiper les prochaines étapes.

Quelles sont vos trois meilleures astuces pour bien concevoir et gérer un plan de gestion des ressources ?
  1. Demandez aux participants issus des différentes équipes de vous donner leur avis concernant votre rétroplanning. Vous vous assurerez ainsi que votre équipe est en phase avec les objectifs attendus et vous définirez des attentes et échéances réalistes dès le départ.
  2. Suivez votre progression en utilisant un outil de gestion du travail (notamment votre chronologie). Visualisez les tâches confiées aux membres de votre équipe et faites appel à la Chronologie pour repérer les points de blocage à résoudre.
  3. Étudiez l’usage que fait votre équipe de votre outil de gestion du travail. Certains membres ont peut-être une perspective plus large de leurs activités, tandis que d’autres se focalisent sur une seule et même tâche. Adaptez vos méthodes de travail au fonctionnement de votre équipe.

Eric Pelz, responsable technique, équipe produit

Quel est le plus gros défi auquel vous devez faire face en matière de gestion des ressources, et quelle solution avez-vous trouvée ?

La gestion des ressources représente un défi dans la mesure où tout le travail de mon équipe se fait en parallèle. Je cherche donc à maximiser la valeur générée par mon équipe technique et je dois parvenir à trouver un équilibre entre nos objectifs et les risques de travail.

J’organise des réunions d’équipe, au cours desquelles je présente une liste des tâches attribuées à chacun devant toute l’équipe. Grâce à cette liste, nous savons ce qui nous attend dans les prochaines semaines et nous recueillons les retours des membres de l’équipe sur le travail à faire. Les nouvelles connaissances acquises sont ensuite intégrées à notre outil de gestion du travail. Nous mettons un point d’honneur à regrouper toutes les informations au même endroit.

Tous les éléments sont suivis dans notre outil de gestion du travail, notamment les avis de congé. Les ressources disponibles sont visibles à tout moment, ce qui nous permet de prendre des décisions stratégiques en termes d’échéances. Nous évitons donc de lancer un gros projet juste avant le week-end ou lorsque plusieurs personnes sont absentes.

Quelles sont vos trois meilleures astuces pour bien concevoir et gérer un plan de gestion des ressources ?
  1. Prenez note de tout projet ou tâche à risque. Ainsi, vous vous protégez face à tous les scénarios catastrophes ou risques auxquels vous pourriez vous retrouver confronté.
  2. Faites preuve de flexibilité. Vous ne devez pas voir l’élaboration de votre plan de gestion des ressources comme une tâche ponctuelle à rayer de votre liste, mais comme un processus à optimiser au fur et à mesure, en fonction de vos expériences, réorganisations et ajustements.
  3. Faites de la réflexion d’équipe une activité de collaboration. Vous devez inciter tous les membres de l’équipe à partager leurs opinions, à formuler des recommandations et à prévenir leurs collègues lorsque leur emploi du temps est serré. La gestion des ressources ne se fait pas seule, c’est un travail de groupe.

Reigan Combs, directrice du marketing cycle de vie et des campagnes internationales, équipe marketing

Quel est le plus gros défi auquel vous devez faire face en matière de gestion des ressources, et quelle solution avez-vous trouvée ?

L’un de mes plus gros défis en ce qui concerne la gestion des ressources, c’est de bien évaluer les demandes et de déterminer qui dans l’équipe sera le plus efficace sur telle ou telle tâche, tout en tenant compte des disponibilités de chacun. Je me retrouve souvent à me demander qui est la personne la mieux préparée et la plus apte à traiter une demande donnée.

Tous les mois, je demande à chacun de définir ses cinq priorités principales, de façon à évaluer les disponibilités au sein de l’équipe. L’objectif est d’identifier quel projet est le mieux adapté à chaque personne. Par exemple, un projet comprenant une initiative déjà existante correspond mieux à une nouvelle recrue. En revanche, il est peut-être préférable de confier un projet plus complexe à un employé plus expérimenté.

Récemment, j’ai créé un projet au sein de mon outil de gestion du travail qui me permet d’afficher un calendrier éditorial. Je peux y visualiser toutes les campagnes d’e-mailing sur lesquelles travaille mon équipe et repérer d’un seul coup d’œil les campagnes bientôt diffusées et leurs responsables.

Quelles sont vos trois meilleures astuces pour bien concevoir et gérer un plan de gestion des ressources ?
  1. Rationalisez votre processus de travail. Gérer plusieurs demandes à la fois peut représenter un véritable défi. Essayez donc de simplifier votre processus en utilisant des formulaires numériques.
  2. Mettez en place une réunion d’équipe hebdomadaire. C’est un excellent moyen de savoir ce que pensent les membres de votre équipe de leur charge de travail actuelle et d’avoir une idée claire de ce qu’ils se sentent capable de gérer.
  3. Gérez les priorités. Repérez les cinq grandes priorités de votre équipe pour bien identifier sur quel type de travail se concentre chacun. Suivez les priorités de votre équipe d’une semaine à l’autre pour repérer d’éventuels changements et apporter des ajustements si nécessaire.

Prêt à concevoir un plan de gestion des ressources ?

Lorsque vous cherchez à concevoir un plan de gestion des ressources efficace, trouver le bon outil (qui vous permettra de recueillir toutes les informations au même endroit) revêt une importance capitale. Grâce à votre outil de gestion du travail, vous bénéficiez d’une vue d’ensemble sur votre travail et pouvez vous adapter si nécessaire. Cet outil est là pour vous aider à bien maîtriser vos ressources et à éviter les retards. N’oubliez pas de fixer des échéances et d’attribuer des responsables à chaque tâche pour plus de transparence et éviter de surmener les employés. Prenez conscience qu’adapter votre plan aux différents changements n’a rien de problématique, tant que vous assurez une communication régulière avec votre équipe.

Une fois votre plan de gestion des ressources en place, et après avoir réparti les tâches, pensez à repérer les accomplissements des employés et à les mettre en avant. Célébrer la réussite de votre équipe poussera vos employés à rester impliqués et performants.

Tout comme Jenny, Ariel, Reigan et Eric, faites vous aussi appel à Asana pour travailler plus vite.

Gérez votre plan de gestion des ressources avec Asana

Words of advice: 4 team leads share best practices on how to tackle a resource management plan

Are you struggling with how to allocate resources for your next project? Making sure your team doesn’t feel overworked or underutilized is a challenge most leaders experience. Although it may feel like you’re blindly navigating resource planning in project management, it doesn’t have to be that way. Developing a resource management plan gives you ongoing visibility into the workloads of your individual contributors as well as your team. It allows you to balance all your resources effectively and see the full picture on how your team will achieve its goals.

What is a resource management plan?

A resource management plan is used to manage and allocate every type of resource you need for your project. An effective plan outlines the specific resources (including human resources, financial resources, technical resources, and physical resources) and activities necessary during the course of a project or initiative. It guides you by giving a holistic view of the workload across teams, and keeps everything in one place. You can easily manage, schedule, and allocate every resource, while maximizing productivity. Learning how to allocate resources in project management will empower you (and your team) to run projects effectively.

Resource management advice from four team leads

What’s better than reading a guide on how to allocate resources in project management? How about hearing from four team leads—with different backgrounds and challenges—who are immersed in the practice every day? Read on as they weigh in on how to tackle a resource management plan and give real examples. Meet Jenny, Ariel, Reigan, and Eric.

Jenny Thai, Head of Content, Marketing

What is the biggest challenge you face when it comes to resource management and what’s your solution?

A big challenge I face when it comes to resource management and allocation involves getting a high-level view of my team’s workload. I need to have an accurate look at every project coming down the pipeline.

I tackle this by first looking at the roadmap of upcoming product launches and campaigns and then figuring out staffing needs at the project level versus individual deliverables. I manage everything in a work management tool where I have a portfolio of all the projects my team is working on each quarter. For smaller copy projects or ad hoc work, I’ve set up a process in the same work management tool for people to request copy support. Now, I can easily manage new requests that come in and identify what the needs, deadlines, and priorities are.

When it comes to staffing projects or allocating resources, there’s both an art and a science to it. I try to make sure that someone’s available bandwidth matches the scope of work assigned and I also think about assigning projects that align with individual skills and career goals.

What are your top three tips for building and managing a resource management plan?
  1. Be proactive about finding out what projects are in the pipeline. Most of my team’s projects are kicked off by other teams, so it’s important to reach out to cross-functional partners and get a holistic view of what’s coming up.
  2. Make sure each team member has at least one big project (e.g., a marketing campaign) on their plate and round out their workload with week-to-week and day-to-day tasks. This minimizes context switching while giving some variety.
  3. Check in frequently with your team so you know each person’s bandwidth and make adjustments as you go. If something unexpected comes up, keep the lines of communication open to ensure that your resource plans stay on track.

Ariel Ross, Integrated Brand Producer, Design

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to resource management and what’s your solution?

The biggest challenge I face when it comes to resource management is having an accurate view of what my team is working on, what our bandwidth is, and what the status of projects are. There’s a lot of nuance that comes with this because each individual contributor has their own pace and strengths. I need to identify who is the best person to assign to each project.

It’s key to constantly improve communication with team members. I make sure everyone is on the same page by having regular check-ins, stand-up meetings, and face-to-face discussions. I also try to get a high-level overview of everyone’s tasks so I can better approach conversations. By building timelines for the team’s production process, I get a clear view of who’s in charge and what their next steps are.

What are your top three tips for building and managing a resource management plan?
  1. Get cross-functional stakeholder input on your workback schedule. By doing so, you can ensure your team is aligned and set realistic expectations and timing upfront.
  2. Follow progress in your work management tool (in particular, your timeline). See what work is delegated to your team members and use your timeline to determine if you can help with any roadblocks.
  3. Understand how your team uses your work management tool. Some team members might look at the bigger picture, while others will focus on viewing one task. Adapt your working style to accommodate how your team operates.

Eric Pelz, Engineering Manager, Product

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to resource management and what’s your solution?

One challenge is that my team does work in parallel. I need to ask myself, “How can I maximize value with my engineering team?” I have to focus on achieving a balance based on our goals and the risk of the work.

I have team meetings and use the time to collectively lay out everyone’s work in a list. The list helps us see what we’re doing in the next few weeks and understand how team members feel about the work. Then we take what we’ve learned and apply it in our work management tool. We make it a priority to clearly document everything in one spot.

Everything is tracked in our work management tool, including out of office notifications. We can always see what resources will be available. This gives me the opportunity to be strategic about timing. We’ll avoid starting a big project right before the weekend or when multiple people are out of the office.

What are your top three tips for building and managing a resource management plan?
  1. If you have a project or task that is risky, immediately write it down. By keeping these type of notes, you are protecting yourself and avoiding any worst-case scenarios or risks.
  2. Be flexible. Don’t think about your plan as a one-off task that you can simply check off your list. Always be learning, replanning, and recalibrating; optimize your resource management plan as you go.
  3. Make team thinking a collaborative activity. Every person on your team should be encouraged to share their opinions, make recommendations, and let others know when they’re bandwidth is tight. Resource management is not one person’s job; it’s a group effort.

Reigan Combs, Head of Life Cycle Marketing and Global Campaigns, Marketing

What’s the biggest challenge you face when it comes to resource management and what’s your solution?

A big challenge I face when it comes to resource management is getting a clear understanding of a request and knowing who on my team is the most suited to take on the work, given their current bandwidth. I often ask myself, “Who is the most equipped and knowledgeable to take on this specific request?”

I have my team map out their top five priorities every month so I can evaluate their bandwidth. It’s all about identifying which projects make the most sense for each person. For example, a project involving an existing initiative might be a better fit for a new hire. Whereas, a more complex project might make more sense for a longer tenured employee.

Recently, I created a project in my work management tool that gives me an editorial calendar view. I can see all the email campaigns my team is working on and get a quick glance of when one is going out and who is responsible for it.

What are your top three tips for building and/or managing a resource management plan?
  1. Streamline your work process. It can be overwhelming when multiple requests are thrown on your plate. Try simplifying your process by using digital forms.
  2. Have a meeting with your team on a weekly basis. Understand how your team members are feeling about their current bandwidth and get a clear understanding of how much workload they feel comfortable with.
  3. Manage priorities. Look at your team’s top five monthly priorities to see what type of work each person is focused on. Monitor your team’s priorities on a weekly basis to see if anything has changed and reprioritize if needed.

Ready to build a resource management plan?

Finding the right tool to build your resource management plan—where everything can be housed in one spot—is critical to its success. Using a work management tool will allow you to see an overall view and adjust as needed. It will help you stay on top of resources and avoid delays. Be sure to include timelines and assign owners to each task, which will help create transparency and minimize employee burnout. Realize that it’s okay to adjust your plan as things change; just be sure you’re constantly communicating with your team.

Once your resource management plan is in place and you’ve allocated resources, always remember to identify and highlight employee wins. Celebrating the success of your team helps keep your employees engaged and productive.

To use the same tool Jenny, Ariel, Reigan, and Eric are using, take a look at Asana and get work done faster.

Tackle your resource management plan with Asana

Explore Asana

Asana is the easiest way for teams to track their projects and tasks, so they can get results.

Marketing Campaign

Marketing Campaign

Product Launch

Product Launch

Company Goals

Company Goals

Mission to the Moon

Mission to the Moon

Organize your work

Set clear tasks and milestones to give your team clarity on what needs to be done.

Organize your work

Help your team hit their deadlines

Let each marketer know exactly what work they’re responsible for with clear assignees and due dates.

Help your team hit their deadlines

Hit your deadline

Map out your campaign plan to visualize how all the pieces fit together, spot potential issues, and keep work on track.

Hit your deadline

Have actionable conversations

Ask questions or give updates with the work that’s being done, so conversations turn into actions.

Have actionable conversations

Attach files to your work

Tie shared docs, design files, and budget spreadsheets together so your team isn’t searching for info.

Attach files to your work

View work at a glance

Look at work on a calendar to keep an eye on timing and rally around important dates

View work at a glance

Track your progress

Keep up to date on project progress and quickly spot when things are off track.

Track your progress

Work on the go

Whether you’re meeting with a vendor, at a conference, or out of office, stay connected with Asana for mobile.

Work on the go

Run successful programs, every time

Asana helps marketing teams plan, manage, track, and launch initiatives that engage their audience.

Run successful programs, every time

Map out each step

Map out critical steps—from development to launch—so everyone has clarity on the roadmap.

Map out each step

Know who’s got the ball

Give clear owners and due dates for each piece of the launch, so you can release on time.

Know who’s got the ball

Launch on time

See how the pieces of your plan fit together so you can make adjustments and keep work on track.

Launch on time

Keep everyone up-to-date

Make sure important updates and conversations don’t get buried in email threads by connecting them to your work.

Keep everyone up-to-date

Store work in one place

Attach files to your project, so everyone knows where to find the correct info.

Store work in one place

Track dates and milestones

Keep an eye on important dates by viewing launch plans on a calendar.

Track dates and milestones

See what’s on track, and what isn’t

See how work is progressing to make sure you’re on track to hit your deadlines and goals.

See what’s on track, and what isn’t

Stay connected, wherever you are

Stay up to date on how your launch is progressing no matter where you are with Asana for mobile.

Stay connected, wherever you are

Ready, set, launch!

Asana helps product teams hit deadlines—so they can launch great products.

Ready, set, launch!

Map out priorities

Create tasks for each goal so everyone has visibility into company-wide objectives.

Map out priorities

Determine the right point person

Assign each goal to the appropriate person, so everyone knows who’s responsible, and who to go to with questions.

Determine the right point person

Make a plan to hit your goals

See how each milestone ladders up to your goals so you can feel confident you’ll hit your targets.

Make a plan to hit your goals

Share info and give updates

Keep stakeholders up to date on the latest info and progress, with updates and comments tied directly to your goals.

Share info and give updates

Attach important files

Integrate Asana with your file sharing tools to keep all your important docs in one place.

Attach important files

Keep an eye on important dates

Look at your initiative deadlines and milestones on a calendar to make sure you’ve nailed the timing.

Keep an eye on important dates

Track company progress

Understand what objectives are on track, and what needs your attention so you can hit your goals.

Track company progress

Stay in the loop

Get updates and weigh in on important decisions wherever you are, with Asana for mobile.

Stay in the loop

Hit your goals

Asana gives your team visibility into your organization’s goals, so everyone stays focused on what matters most.

Hit your goals

Get ready for the mission

Map out each step of your mission, so you don’t forget anything as you shoot for the stars.

Get ready for the mission

Know who’s in charge

Assign clear owners for each task, so your pilot, commander, and flight engineer know what they need to do.

Know who’s in charge

Map out each step

Create a launch plan so you can chart your course from start to finish, share it with your team, and modify it as conditions change.

Map out each step

Make sure all systems are a go

Ask important questions, have conversations, and give status updates to get your crew ready for launch day.

Make sure all systems are a go

Tie it all together

Connect Asana to the other tools you need for your mission, so all your information lives in the same place.

Tie it all together

Keep your eye on the prize

View each milestone on a calendar, so you can track important dates leading up to takeoff.

Keep your eye on the prize

Track your progress

See what’s on track, and what isn’t, so you can be sure you’re ready for launch day.

Track your progress

Work from anywhere

Keep up to date whether you’re in the office or on the moon, just make sure you have internet connection!

Work from anywhere

3, 2, 1… blastoff!

With Asana, your crew can shoot for the moon, and get there. All it takes is one small step…

3, 2, 1… blastoff!