提升記憶:10 個最佳記憶技巧

Asana 團隊撰稿人圖片Team AsanaMay 16th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
記憶技巧
立即試用 Asana

人類大腦是一個很神奇的東西。有時候它可以記住您的朋友 17 年前和您分享的一件隨意且語焉不詳的事,讓您不禁好奇大腦到底有多少儲存空間 (趣味事實:大約 2.5 位元組)。而有時候,當您走出辦公室,或是結束工作時登出 Zoom,感覺就好像您的記憶在那一刻起就被抹去了一樣。

無論您更常遇到哪一種情況,都會明白:透過正確的記憶技巧,任何人都能提高其大腦處理資訊的能力與速度。您不需要經常翻閱資料或查閱待辦清單,因為您已記住這些資訊,而且能夠提高生產力

如何記住資訊:4 個步驟

擁有好的記憶力,不僅能夠讓您記住家人最喜愛的燉肉食譜,同時也是工作中的重要技能。無論是要記住您在會議上遇到的人員名稱,還是和團隊開會時需要回憶數字或日期,良好的記憶力對於日常工作都很有好處。

如何以 4 個步驟記住資訊

好在,對於那些目前自認為「好吧,我就是不擅長記住東西」的人而言,您的大腦就像肌肉,是可以訓練起來的。您的大腦會以 4 個步驟記住資訊:注意、編碼、儲存和提取。以下是每一個階段的過程:

  1. 注意:假設您在開會,您的一位同事提出了一個行銷構想。資訊透過感覺接受器進入您的大腦。當您的大腦篩選資訊且希望將其視為重要資訊時,才會保留這些資訊數秒數間。只有當您有意識地感知資訊時,它才會傳遞到下一步驟中。

  2. 編碼:您同事的報告似乎很精彩,因為您的大腦現在正在對資訊進行編碼。在這一步中,資訊會移入您的短期記憶或工作記憶中。您的短期記憶只會將資訊保留幾秒鐘,而在工作記憶中,則可以保留 20 分鐘。這一機制在處理數學問題或整理 Excel 試算表時會很有幫助,但無法幫助您在下週四的客戶視訊會議中回憶起同事的簡報內容。

  3. 儲存:將資訊從短期記憶移入長期記憶是一個主動的過程。您的大腦無法為您做決定,您必須運用適合自己的技巧來記住這些內容,稍後我們會介紹這個部分。

  4. 提取:您注意、編碼和儲存資訊的方式都會影響您在以後某個時間點進行提取的效果。最後兩個步驟 (儲存和提取) 之間經過的時間越長,就越有必要重新回憶和回顧,以便能夠在大腦中保留這些資訊。

上述內容介紹了記憶過程的基礎知識,現在來深入瞭解如何讓您的大腦記憶力更上一層樓。依據您的思維方式,您可能會發現,口頭或視覺記憶技巧有助於更好地記住資訊。

口頭記憶技巧

如果您不確定自己是口頭記憶者還是視覺記憶者,可以問自己以下問題:相比請別人為您展示完成方法,您更喜歡自己閱讀說明嗎?您是否有記憶歌詞或提升詞彙流利程度的訣竅?如果您的答案是肯定的,則表示您可能可以從以下的口頭記憶技巧中收穫更多。

口頭記憶技巧

1. 團塊法

團塊法指的是一種將項目組合在一起便於記憶的記憶技巧。雖然手機能夠為我們記住很多事情 (但說實話,現如今誰還記得住伴侶的電話號碼?),但記住身分證字號或者購物清單這類資訊對日常生活很有幫助。

如果您需要管理多個專案或身處不同地區的團隊,團塊法就是一個記住所有資訊的絕佳技巧,而且能夠讓您免於頻繁查看這些資訊。按區域、部門、團隊規模或首字發音 (邁阿密、明尼亞波里斯、曼非斯等) 分解地區,每一個部分中需記住的項目數字不應超過 7 個 (這是一個神奇的數字)。嘗試記住每一個類別中有多少個項目,您會發現,使用團塊法儲存這些資訊要輕鬆得多。

2. 拼寫記憶術或頭韻法

與團塊法類似,拼寫記憶術是幫助您記住清單或分組的絕佳工具。只需以每個單詞的第一個字母來建立一個縮寫字,比記住每一個獨立的部分更容易。您聽說過 SMART 目標嗎?藉助首字縮寫詞,可以更輕鬆地記住步驟內容 (specific-明確、measurable-可衡量、attainable-可實現、relevant-密切相關、time-based-有時間範圍),對吧?如果您在人力資源、物流或會計部門工作,您可能已習慣於使用首字縮寫詞,記住這些縮寫字詞的含義可以讓您的生活更輕鬆。

若您不擅長編造首字縮寫詞,不妨嘗試字首組合詞吧!兩者概念非常相似,但它不使用詞的首字,而是創作一首小詩,例如:

  • Always there for you (隨時為您效勞)

  • Small stuff to big stuff (聚沙成塔)

  • Automate your work routine (將工作日常自動化)

  • Not just your to-do lists (不只是一份待辦清單)

  • Any part of your project workflow (專案工作流程中的任一段落)

您還可以使用頭韻法來記住資訊。難以記住名稱時,這個方法尤其實用。如果有一位新同事以 Andrew 這個名字介紹自己,假如您第一次見到他時使用「analytical Andrew (擅長分析的 Andrew)」或「amazing Andrew (優秀的 Andrew)」之類的頭韻,下次在餐廳碰到時,您就會更容易想起他們。不妨試試吧!

3. 唱出來

想像一下:您下班開車回家,收音機里傳來一首已經很多年沒聽過的歌。您將音量調大,跟著唱,記住每一個字。如果這種情況不時發生在您身上,說明您的長期記憶可以很好地儲存音樂!

記憶資訊時,您可以利用歌詞和旋律的力量。在腦海中編出一首朗朗上口的順口溜或歌曲,將無趣或複雜的事情變為有趣的曲調。

此舉在需要記住用於會議中的公司成長數字時會很有幫助,只需要盡量避免在重要視訊會議中突然出現歌曲即可。

4. 押韻法

押韻可能是最簡單的記憶技巧之一了,例如童謠!童謠非常簡單,就算是小孩子也能記得住。無論您是在社交活動中運用押韻來記住一個人的姓名 (害羞的李存秀),還是要將產品名稱和產品線聯繫在一起,這種方法都能幫助您更好地記住資訊。

也許不是經常有機會能夠為事物加上押韻,但是出現這種機會時,押韻能夠使記住某些事物變得更輕鬆。

5. 搭建技巧

顧名思義,您可以藉由這個技巧,在您已經知道的事情上進行搭建。這一技巧運用關聯和連結手段,擴展您對於某個主題的專業知識和瞭解。這個技巧的關鍵不僅在於記住事實,而且需要理解並與您的邏輯網路建立聯繫。

假設您是一名招聘經理,您工作的一部分是要記住、背誦與公司相關的資訊。當然,您也可以寫在備忘錄中,以便在面試時參考這些重要的日期和數字,但如果您已經記住這些資訊,而且能夠自在地回憶,您和您尋找的目標人才都會覺得這樣的情境更加自然。

6. 重複

一遍又一遍地重複某件事 (也稱為機械學習) 既乏味且無效。您需要讓您的大腦編碼和儲存資訊,這個過程需要時間。這就是間隔重複是其中關鍵的原因!

Pierce Howard 是一位心理學家,也是《The Owner's Manual for the Brain (大腦使用手冊)》一書的作者,他建議涉及大量腦力的工作應該「加以間隔,以便鞏固新的神經連結」。

下次您聽取網路研討會時,請記下您想要記住的事情。在網路研討會結束後,花點時間處理其他任務,然後再回到您的筆記上再次閱讀。如果您重複這個日常流程 (學習、工作、休息),並且預留足夠的時間讓您的大腦在各個學習段落之間編碼和儲存資訊,您就更有可能記住這些資訊。

可視化記憶技巧

如果口頭記憶技巧對您來說效果不佳,則您可能是一個視覺學習者。如果您經常以心像或以畫面思考,而且想像力非常豐富,可能證明了您確實如此。以下是一些運用可視化記住資訊的記憶技巧。

可視化記憶技巧

7. 故事敘述或串連

如果您很有創造力,而且需要記住一長串項目,則這一技巧就會非常實用。這個技巧又稱之為串連技巧,因為您需要將某個項目與下一個加以連結,創作一個能夠幫助您記住一整串項目的故事。好處是什麼?只需要記住第一項,就可以透過這種串連,將其與所有其他項目聯繫起來。

請記住,故事中誇大的程度越高,就越容易回憶起來。演員 Barry Reitman 分享過一個很棒的影片範例,介紹了如何運用串連或故事法記住待辦清單。

8. 抽認卡

寫下來有助於更好地將資訊可視化。您可以使用不同的顏色、標題和副標題,使資訊更易於記憶。抽認卡可將資訊分解為更便於記憶的團塊。

這些抽認卡是與間隔重複配合運用的絕佳工具。理想情況下,相比容易回憶的事物,您會更常學習困難或新穎的事物,以此加強知識中較薄弱的範疇。若您不喜歡在實體抽認卡上書寫,不妨嘗試 Brainscape 這一類應用程式,使用虛擬抽認卡進行學習。

抽認卡是準備簡報或演講時的絕佳工具,還可以兼作提供安全感的安樂毯,因為這些卡片可以輕鬆手握而不被他人察覺,同時又能在您忘詞時掃掠參考。

9. 心智圖

心智圖是一種神奇的工具。不僅適合與團隊進行構想腦力激盪時使用,同時有助於將資訊可視化,便於稍後記憶。

您可以使用腦力激盪範本,或在白板、紙上建立實體心智圖。由於不同的資訊是依照部分 (團塊) 組織的,而且您可以運用顏色增加更多結構,因此記住這些事實對您來說會更輕鬆。您還可以透過記憶哪些路徑彼此連結來運用串連技巧,為您的大腦搭建橋樑。

10. 位置記憶技巧

您可能看到過 Benedict Cumberbatch 在 BBC 電視節目中扮演 Sherlock Holmes 時使用這個技巧。在節目中,他將這個記憶技巧稱為記憶宮殿,而且看起來像是只有天才偵探才能運用的技巧。

好在,又稱為記憶宮殿的位置記憶技巧,遠沒有節目中演繹的那麼複雜。這個技巧最適合用於儲存面部、清單或數字這類資訊,而且和故事敘述技巧類似,可以透過串連與關聯實現。

想像一個您從裡到外都非常熟悉的地方,例如您的臥室或廚房。想像這個地方有一系列物件或位置,例如睡前習慣動作或是早上煮杯咖啡。然後,將您需要記住的每一個項目與物件或位置彼此關聯。當您需要回憶資訊時,可以想像這個空間 (也就是前往您的記憶宮殿),然後進行提取。

越常使用位置記憶方法,您就越容易擴大您的記憶宮殿規模。最後,您就可以運用整座房子來儲存和提取資訊了。

如何提升記憶力

好消息是,您的大腦像是一塊肌肉,而記憶是一種技能。透過練習,花點時間,任何人都能夠提升記憶力。

如何提升記憶力

就像健身需要照顧身體一樣,您也需要讓您的大腦有力量去執行任務。適當的睡眠、定期鍛煉和堅持健康飲食,都是培養大腦健康的重要方式。健康即尋求平衡,就像平衡專案管理三角之於工作者一樣。休息對於讓大腦能夠有時間進行編碼和儲存資訊也十分重要。

如何卸除多餘資訊

雖然可以透過鍛煉大腦來提升記憶力,但沒有人能一直記住所有事情。值得慶幸的是,您可以運用適合的數位工具,卸除多餘的資訊,而無需讓您大腦中的電腦不堪重負。

  • 待辦清單軟體可協助您追蹤所有任務,讓您得以依照優先順序進行組織,將其與重要文件加以連結,並且和您的團隊成員分享。最棒的是,您可以選擇提醒將至的待辦事項,這樣您就不會遺漏任何事務了。

  • 若您的團隊需要深度協作,且依賴不斷往來推動待辦事項的進展,任務管理軟體可以幫助您追蹤自己的任務和其他任務。無論您在記憶自己的任務方面做得多出色,擁有一個可以和同事彼此連結的地方,以便通知、委派和追蹤待辦事項,都有助於按時完成任務並實現目標。

一起實現完美記憶吧

隨著您職業生涯的不斷進步,您會發現敏捷的記憶力和頭腦是一種寶貴的資產。除了提高您的工作效率 (因為您不必翻查所有內容) 以外,較好的記憶力還可以改善您的工作流程和與他人的關係,甚至惠及您的領導風格。持續鍛煉您的大腦,而對於任何無需牢牢記住的事務,不妨使用適合的工具 (例如我們的專案規劃軟體) 來儲存多餘的資訊。

相關資源

文章

Inbox Zero: What it is and how to achieve it

Boost your memory: Top 10 memorization techniques

May 13th, 2021
Memorization techniques

The human brain is a curious thing. Sometimes it will remember a random and out-of-context fact your friend shared with you 17 years ago and make you wonder how much storage space you have up there (fun fact: about 2.5 petabytes). Other times you walk out of your office or log off Zoom for the day and feel like your memory was wiped the second you do. 

Whichever scenario you relate to more, know that with the right memorization techniques, anyone can improve the capacity and speed in which their brain processes information. Not having to constantly look up data or check your to-do list because you’ve remembered this information will also boost productivity.

How to memorize information: 4 steps

Having a better memory isn’t just helpful to remember your family’s go-to pot roast recipe, it’s also an important skill to have at work. Whether it’s remembering the name of someone you met at a conference or recalling figures or dates during a meeting with your team, a good memory is good for business. 

How to memorize information in 4 steps

Fortunately for anyone who now thinks to themselves, “Well, I’m not good at memorizing anything,” your brain is a muscle and can be trained. Your brain memorizes information in four steps: attention, encoding, storage, and retrieval. Here’s what happens in each stage:

  1. Attention: Let’s say you’re in a meeting and one of your colleagues pitches a marketing idea. The information enters your brain through sensory receptors. They will hold on to this information for mere seconds while your brain filters it and hopefully deems it important. Only when you consciously perceive information, will it be passed onto the next step.

  2. Encoding: It looks like your colleague’s pitch was good because your brain is now encoding the information. In this step, it will either be moved into your short-term memory or working memory. Your short-term memory will hold the information for a few seconds, while in your working memory, you can retain it for up to 20 minutes. This can be helpful when solving a math problem or cleaning up an Excel sheet but it won’t help you recall your colleague’s pitch during the client call next Thursday. 

  3. Storage: Moving information from your short-term memory into your long-term memory is an active step. Your brain can’t make this decision for you, you’ll have to memorize it using a technique that works for you—but we’ll get to that in a minute.

  4. Retrieval: How you pay attention, encode, and store information will affect how well you can retrieve it at a later point in time. The more time that passes between the last two steps, storage and retrieval, the more important it is to revisit and review the information frequently so it stays fresh in your mind.

This covers the basics of the memorization process but let’s dive into how your brain can get better at memorizing. Depending on how your mind works, you may find that either verbal or visual memorization techniques help you better retain pieces of information.

Verbal memorization techniques 

If you’re not sure whether you’re a verbal or a visual person, ask yourself the following questions: Do you prefer reading instructions instead of having someone show you how it’s done? Do you have a knack for memorizing lyrics or advanced fluency with words? If your answers are yes, you’re probably going to benefit the most from the following verbal memorization techniques.

Verbal memorization techniques

1. Chunking  

Chunking refers to a memory technique where you group items together so they’re easier to remember. Although our phones can do a great deal of memorizing for us (let’s be honest, who remembers their partner’s phone number these days?), remembering things like your Social Security number or a grocery list can be helpful in everyday life.

If you’re managing multiple projects or teams across different locations, chunking is a great technique to memorize all of them and can save you from constantly having to look up this information. Break the locations up by area, department, team size, or first letter (Miami, Minneapolis, Memphis)—each section should contain no more than seven items to remember (that’s the magic number). Try to memorize how many items are in each category and you’ll find it much easier to store this information using chunking. 

2. Spelling mnemonics or alliteration

Similar to chunking, spelling mnemonics are great tools to help you remember lists or groups. Simply use the first letter of each word to create an acronym that’s easier for you to remember than the individual parts. Have you heard of SMART goals? The acronym makes it much easier to remember what the steps are (specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and time-based), right? If you work in HR, logistics, or accounting, you’re probably used to working with acronyms—remembering what they stand for will make your life a lot easier. 

If you can’t make up an acronym, try an acrostic! The idea is very similar but instead of using the first letter of every word, you create a little poem, like this:

  • Always there for you

  • Small stuff to big stuff

  • Automate your work routine

  • Not just your to-do lists

  • Any part of your project workflow 

You can also create alliterations to retain information. This is especially helpful when you struggle to remember names. If a new colleague introduces themselves with the name Andrew, you’re more likely to recall it the next time you run into them at the cafeteria if you used an alliteration like “analytical Andrew” or “amazing Andrew” upon meeting them the first time. Try it out!

3. Sing it out

Picture this: You’re driving home from work and a song comes on the radio that you haven’t heard in years. You turn up the volume and sing along, remembering every single word. If this happens to you on occasion, your long-term memory stores music very well!

You can use the power of lyrics and melodies to your advantage when memorizing information. Make up a catchy jingle or song in your head and turn boring or complicated things into fun tunes.

This can be helpful when remembering your company’s growth numbers for a meeting—just try to avoid breaking out in song in the middle of an important call.

4. Rhyming

Rhyming may just be one of the easiest memorization techniques—think about nursery rhymes! They’re so easy, even little kids can remember them. Whether you use a rhyme to remember a person’s name at a networking event (Romana from Asana) or to link a product name to a product line, it’s definitely going to help you retain the information better.

The opportunity to make something rhyme may not always arise but when it does, it’s going to make remembering something a lot easier.

5. Building technique

Much like the name suggests, this technique allows you to build on facts you already know. It uses associations and connections to broaden your expertise and knowledge on a topic. The key to this technique is to not just memorize facts but to learn them and connect them to your web of logic.

Let’s say you’re a hiring manager and part of your job is remembering and reciting information about your company. Sure, you could write down a cheat sheet to reference important dates and numbers during interviews but if you’ve memorized these facts and can recall them freely, the setting will feel much more natural to both you and the person looking to work for you. 

6. Repetition  

Repeating something over and over again (also called rote learning) is not just tedious but also ineffective. You need to allow your brain to encode and store the information which takes time. That’s why spaced repetition is the key! 

Pierce Howard, psychologist and author of the book “The Owner’s Manual for the Brain” advises that work involving lots of brainpower should “be spaced out to allow new neural connections to solidify.”

The next time you’re listening to a webinar, take notes of the things that you want to remember. Let some time pass after the webinar and work on other tasks before you return to your notes and read them again. If you repeat this routine (study, work, break) and leave enough time for your brain to encode and store the information between study sessions, you’ll be much more likely to remember it.

Visual memorization techniques

If verbal memorization techniques don’t work for you, you may be a visual learner. This is likely true if you often think in mental images or pictures and have a great imagination. So here are some memorization techniques that use visualization to retain information.

Visual memorization techniques

7. Storytelling or linking

This technique is great if you have a creative mind and need to remember a long list of items. It’s also called linking technique because you’re linking one item to the next to create a story that will help you remember the full list. The beauty of it? You only have to remember the first item and you’ll be able to connect it to all the others through linking.

Remember that the more you exaggerate in your story, the easier it will be to recall it. The actor Barry Reitman shares a great video example of how to use the link or story method to remember a to-do list. 

8. Flashcards

Writing things down can help you visualize information better. You can use different colors, titles, and subtitles to make the information more memorable. Flashcards break the information down into chunks that are easier to remember. 

They’re a great tool to combine with spaced repetition. Ideally, you’d study difficult or new things more frequently than things that are easy to recall to challenge the weaker areas of your knowledge. If you don’t like writing on physical flashcards, try an app like Brainscape to study with virtual flashcards.

Flashcards are a great tool to use when prepping for a pitch or a speech and they can double as your security blanket because they’re easy to hold discreetly and scan through when you’re lost. 

9. Mind maps

Mind maps are wonderful tools. They’re not just great for brainstorming ideas with your team but they can also be helpful in visualizing information to remember later on. 

You can use a brainstorming template or create a physical mind map on a whiteboard or paper. Because the different pieces of information are organized by sections (chunks) and you can use colors to add more structure, retaining these facts will be easier for you. You can also use the linking technique by remembering which paths are connected to one another and build bridges for your mind.

10. Loci technique

You may have seen this technique used by Benedict Cumberbatch portraying Sherlock Holmes in the BBC television show. In the show, he calls it his mind palace and it sure doesn’t look like a technique that’s accessible to anyone who’s not a genius detective. 

Fortunately, the loci, or memory palace, technique is a lot less complicated than the show makes it out to be. It’s best used to store information like faces, lists, or digits and works similarly to the storytelling technique—through linking and association.

Think of a place that you know inside and out, like your bedroom or your kitchen. Visualize a series of objects or locations in this place like doing your bedtime routine or making your coffee in the morning. Then associate each item that you want to memorize with the object or location. When you want to recall the information, visualize the space (go to your memory palace) and retrieve it.

The more you use the method of loci the easier it will get to expand the size of your memory palace. Eventually, you may be able to use your whole house to store and retrieve information.

How to improve memory

The good news is that your brain is a muscle and memorization is a skill. With practice and time, anyone is capable of improving their memory.

How to improve memory

Just like you’d tend to your body when you workout, you need to give your brain the power to perform. Getting proper sleep, exercising regularly, and sticking to a healthy diet are all important aspects in fostering a fit and healthy brain. Taking breaks is also essential in giving your brain the time to encode and store information. 

How to offload excess information

While you can improve your memory over time by exercising your brain, no one can remember everything all the time. Thankfully, instead of overwhelming the computer in your head, you can offload excess information with the right digital tools.

  • To do list software helps you keep track of all your tasks and allows you to organize them by priority, link them to important documents, and share them with your team members. The best part: you can opt in for reminders on upcoming to-dos so nothing falls through the cracks.

  • If your team relies heavily on working together and pushing to-dos back and forth, task management software can help you keep track of your own and other tasks. No matter how good you are with memorizing your own tasks, having a place to connect with your colleagues to inform, delegate, and track to-dos will help you stay on schedule and hit your goals.

Let’s get to memorizing

As you progress in your career, you’ll find that an agile memory and mind will be valuable assets. Besides increasing your productivity because you don’t have to look everything up, a better memory will also improve your workflow and your connections with others. Keep exercising that brain of yours, and for anything that doesn’t stick, use the right tools, like our project planning software, to store excess information.

Related resources

Article

Turn your team into skilled problem solvers with these problem-solving strategies