無法做完事情嗎?使用以下 5 個步驟助駕馭儘管去做法

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJune 12th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
無法做完事情嗎?使用以下 5 個步驟駕馭儘管去做法文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

一個沒什麼爭議的觀點:您的大腦不是用來儲存資訊的。這是因為,當您的大腦中充斥著待辦事項和提醒時,也就沒有足夠的腦力可以花費在真正需要執行的工作上。

這就是儘管去做 (GTD) 法背後的核心原則。透過將待辦事項從您的大腦中移出,放入待辦清單工具中,您就可以有更多的腦力來處理重要的工作。開始方法如下。

什麼是 GTD 法?

GTD 法即儘管去做法,其運作理念是您精神上追蹤的資訊越多,生產力和注意力就會越低。GTD 法不需依賴您的大腦,而是鼓勵您將所有工作資訊儲存在組織好的外部事實來源。這樣,您就能始終掌握「接下來需要做什麼?」,而無需擔心工作發生遺漏。

GTD 代表什麼?

GTD 即 Getting Things Done (儘管去做) 的首字母縮寫字,這是一種由 David Allen 在 2001 年首次提出的生產力方法。Allen 在其書中這樣描述 GTD 法:「儘管去做:毫無壓力的生產力藝術。」

GTD 是非常熱門的時間管理策略,因為實施方法簡單,且發揮的效果強大。即便您不會意識到,但您的大腦會在背後不斷「默默工作」,來回奔波、重新安排您的各種即將到來的待辦事項,確保無一遺漏。每當您向這些混雜的事項中加入新的任務,大腦都需要考慮這個備忘錄上的所有事項,並且根據這項新任務重新確定您的工作優先順序。

閱讀:助您完成出色工作的 18 個時間管理提示、策略和速成技巧

藉由工作管理實施 GTD 法

藉由 GTD 法,不需試圖將所有專案資訊儲存在大腦中,而是運用五步驟系統,擷取您的待辦事項並且分類編入外部來源,例如工作管理工具。您的大腦不是為儲存大量組織好的資訊而生,這是工作管理工具的職責。透過將資訊外部化為可行動的項目,您就能夠更好地為長期的成功做好準備。

您所使用的工具非常重要。應尋找一款可讓您擷取並組織個人、專案和計劃層級資訊的工具。GTD 法不僅可以幫助您組織個人待辦事項,而且也非常適合用於協助您擷取非可行動的參考工作內容,即其他團隊成員需要完成的工作內容,以及與您手頭上的工作相關的目標。

與將資訊儲存在各種位置不同,GTD 法可協助您將資訊置入工作管理工具這樣的單一工具中,並且加以整理。自然,我們認為 Asana 就是一個不錯的選擇。Asana 可透過組織您的工作內容,緩解精神緊張,以此實現 GTD 法,從而讓您及時完成高影響力的工作。

免費試用 Asana

GTD 法的優點和缺點

儘管去做法只是一種時間管理策略。如同所有其他時間管理技術,這個方法也有其利弊。您選擇實施的策略,很大程度上取決於您希望藉由時間管理提升何種技能。

優點

GTD 法易於設定,且運用靈活。它可以:

  • 減輕和緩解來自於試圖記住手頭上一切事務帶來的認知負荷和精神緊張。

  • 消除多工處理,讓您有更多時間專注於心流

  • 為所有資訊 (其中包括非可行動資訊) 組建集中來源。

  • 讓您清楚掌握手頭上的工作,以便在必要時輕鬆重新確定優先順序或重新排程。

缺點

開始使用 GTD 法之前,也需瞭解它的一些限制。GTD 法:

  • 設定需時。如果您尚未使用任務管理系統,請建立一個系統,記錄您的所有工作內容。

  • 過於靈活。GTD 法僅能協助您組織任務,而無法幫助您安排每週或每日工作。有些人會難以適應這種程度的開放式靈活性。如果您也是如此,可將 GTD 法搭配其他時間管理法使用,例如時間段時間箱

閱讀:請嘗試時間箱法:目標導向的時間管理策略

入門:在 GTD 工作流程中嘗試以下 5 個步驟

儘管去做法的 5 個步驟可讓您為成功做好準備。這些步驟可協助您在 Asana 這樣的外部工具中將您即將到來的工作進行編目與組織,這樣您就不再需要用大腦記住這些即將要進行的待辦事項了。然後,當您的工作已在 GTD 法中組織妥當後,您就可以開始執行這些任務了。

1. 擷取

組織您的工作前,首先需要進行擷取,即在您大腦以外的地方進行。無論您使用的是什麼工具,David Allen 都稱這個地方為收件匣。這是因為所有任務、資訊片段或提醒 (或者如 Allen 習慣的說法「東西」) 都會直接進入您的收件匣。不要將其想像為電子郵件收件匣,而應是稍後需要處理的資料任務清單。

從何處擷取資訊

如果您嘗試要提升個人生產力,不妨考慮使用待辦清單來追蹤您的工作。或者,如果您與團隊一起工作,可嘗試使用工作管理平台,不僅可以擷取和追蹤您自己的工作內容,也可以組織和管理團隊的工作。

重點在於擷取,而非組織

如果您擷取的工作內容尚未組織好或記錄妥當,請別擔心。第一步只需要讓這些東西從大腦中離開,進入到外部來源即可。擷取是將待辦事項組織成更好的生產力系統的第一步。

請務必使用可以輕鬆擷取資訊的系統。GTD 法的一個關鍵原則是在資訊進入您的大腦後立即擷取資訊。這樣可以立即減輕負擔,而且有助於確保避免發生遺漏。在適當的時候,請務必新增其他情境,如文件、協作者、截止日期或重要詳細資料。

[清單檢視] Asana 我的任務專案中雜亂無章的 GTD 法 (步驟 1)

使用線上系統

擷取所有這類東西的最佳方式,就是使用線上系統,而不是類似的替代品。手寫的待辦清單會讓人在劃掉清單上的事項時,產生一種非常滿足的感受,但這卻也是追蹤待辦事項時最糟糕的方法。實際上,手寫的待辦清單往往雜亂無章,也容易出錯或遺失,效率十分低落。

因此,我們推薦 Asana。Asana 是一款用於組織工作的工作管理系統,讓您的團隊瞭解需完成的工作、工作為何重要的原因,以及完成工作的方式。

深入瞭解

2. 釐清...

擷取好所有事項後,接下來需要進行釐清。在釐清步驟中,您需要將擷取的資訊轉為可行動任務、詳細的備註或是健全的情境。釐清步驟與組織步驟息息相關,進行釐清時,也相當於將工作組織到適當的專案中。

若要進行釐清,請確保您收件匣中每一個項目都具備充足的資訊,其中包括:

  • 可行動的標題 (我們建議以動詞開頭)。

  • 所有需要納入到工作中的情境、文件、檔案或協作者。

  • 關聯的專案計劃、待辦清單或項目所屬的目標。

  • 所有關聯的情境,例如工作所處階段、相關的預算、工作小時數估值或優先順序。

  • 工作內容是否遭其他交付項目阻擋,或需要等待其他資訊。

暫時不要急於移動這些待辦事項。您會在組織步驟中將這些待辦事項從收件匣移動到適當的專案。

[清單檢視] Asana 我的任務專案中的 GTD 法,附帶專案層級的資訊 (步驟 2)

優先順序非常重要

進行釐清時,請為每一個項目新增相關的優先順序。事情會發生,截止時間會改變,優先順序也會變化,這些都無可避免。清楚瞭解每個任務的優先順序後,您就可以在必要時重新安排截止日期,以便確保完成最高影響力的工作,而且也能在需要時知道需延遲或委派何事。

閱讀:管理緊迫排程並切換優先順序的 4 種方式

快速任務

有時候,快速完成工作比進行分類和釐清更輕鬆:

  • 如果完成某個項目需時不到兩分鐘,請立即完成。這樣不僅可將它從您的腦海中移除,而且也可以從您的待辦清單中移除。

  • 如果某些事務不屬於您的職責範圍,請將工作委派給適合這項工作的人員。

如有需要,將項目分解為多個任務

您可能已經記下表示多於一個任務的項目。例如,假設您得到了創作一本新電子書的靈感,而且在您的收件匣中新增了一個快速提醒。創作電子書需要很多步驟,也會涉及到很多專案關係人。因此在釐清步驟中,需要將計劃分解為多個獨立的任務。建立一個名為「列出電子書大綱」的任務、一個名為「審查大綱」的任務,以及「起草電子書」的任務等。

或者,如果您擷取到的項目表示的是整個專案或計劃資訊價值,則需要使用專案管理工具來擷取計劃中所有不停變動的部分。例如,如果您正在處理一次新產品發佈,可使用專案管理工具來追蹤這次發佈的不同部分,如工程與產品開發部分、上市策略、新聞稿等。

3. ... 與組織

釐清的同時,也應進行組織。在組織步驟中,請將項目移動到工作管理工具的適當專案中。您可以將專案看作是線上的資料夾,用於儲存重要的相關資訊。透過組織與移動待辦事項到相關專案,您就可以將這些待辦事項轉為可行動的工作內容了。

閱讀:讓工作步入正軌的 11 個專案範本

設定組織架構

每當有項目進入到您的收件匣時,經過釐清並新增所有其他情境後,可將之移出收件匣,進入到適當的專案中。如果您還沒有專案,可設定多個專案,用於儲存不同計劃。我們建議設定:

  • 一個儲存所有可行動工作內容的專案,並且依優先順序排序

  • 一個儲存備註或參考材料的專案

  • 一個追蹤個人和團隊目標的專案或工具

  • 一個儲存目前沒有時間處理但未來需要重新審視的計劃的專案

  • 一個儲存遭阻擋工作的專案或區段

  • 一個儲存共用資訊與會議日程的團隊專案

組織是 GTD 法中的關鍵環節,但選擇設定哪一種組織系統則是取決於您。在 Asana 中,每一件指派給您的事務都會自動進入「我的任務」。這是一種檢視所有您需要完成的工作內容的方式。您可以在「我的任務」中建立其他區段,用以組織今天截止的優先事項、本週截止的工作以及其他長期工作。

[清單檢視] Asana 我的任務專案中妥善組織的 GTD 法,附帶優先順序、日期和專案層級資訊 (步驟 3)

清除您的收件匣

我們都會在收件匣中將待辦事項儲存為「未讀」以備後續使用。但這些事項佔用了精神空間,而且實際上並沒有什麼成效。不妨將每個待辦事項轉為可行動的任務,並且立即將其轉移到適當的專案中。

在釐清與組織步驟的尾聲階段,您的收件匣應是清空的。每一件事都應移動至適當的專案或工作文件,這樣下次檢查收件匣時,您就可以分類全新的任務了。

4. 回顧

GTD 法並非設定完就可以拋諸腦後的方法。相反,您需要經常審查您的任務,並且在必要時重新安排優先順序。這就是瞭解每一個任務的優先順序至關重要的原因。如果新任務的優先順序高於舊的工作,瞭解每一個任務的相對優先順序有助於重新排定工作,而且可以從容應對不斷變化的優先順序。

何時回顧

回顧步驟可能會演變為滑坡效應,您最不想發生的就是要不斷檢查您的收件匣,因為這樣會減少潛在的專注時間。

我們建議一天回顧兩次,即一天開始及一天結束時。將回顧作為您晨間習慣的一部分,然後在一天結束時再次進行分類,讓明天的工作更有條理。這樣,您就可以頭腦清醒地度過每一天,而且無需檢查您的待辦事項清單,也無需重新組織您的日常行事曆。請記住:GTD 法旨在減輕精神負擔,因此務必避免過於經常回顧,因為這樣與初衷背道而馳。

然後,對您在過去幾天完成的工作和下週即將完成的任務進行更徹底的每週回顧。確保沒有遺漏任何事項,並且在必要時釐清優先順序,以便準備好開始下一周的工作。

5. 著手進行

著手進行步驟即運用 GTD 法完成大部分工作。您可以在 GTD 方法中完成大部分工作。您已經理清了思路,並且組織了所需完成的一切事項。此時剩下的就是,動手,把事情做好。

何時做何事

對於何時做何事,並沒有嚴格的規則或準則。如果您習慣這種架構,可將 GTD 法與其他時間管理技術搭配使用,如番茄工作法。

著手進行時 4 件要注意的事

如果您不確定從何處著手,在開始之前,請先瞭解四個著手進行的注意事項。然後,選擇最適合您目前情況的任務。

  1. 優先順序:哪些任務的優先順序最高?今天必須完成哪些任務?

  2. 情境:如同大腦無法進行多工,最好的做法還是在同一段時間裡執行類似的任務。這是一種以時間段為基礎的方法。一次處理所有電子郵件,而不要在任務、電子郵件等之間來回切換,這樣有助於更快完成,因為大腦已進入情境之中。如果您正考慮接下來要做什麼,不妨嘗試在一個時間段內完成所有相似的工作。

  3. 可用的時間:現在有多少時間?理想情況下,選擇您能夠在可用時間內完成的任務,這樣就不必中途停下來了。

  4. 可用的精力:現在感覺如何?不僅要考慮理論上的工作量,還要考慮您的實際工作量,這一點很重要。可能您現在真的沒有心情去寫要完成的部落格。您可以強迫自己去做,但會花費平常兩倍的時間。不妨看看您是否可以做些其他的事情,可以是優先順序稍低的事情,讓自己振作起來、精力充沛。

閱讀:您是否需要將行事曆進行時間分段?此處介紹您應立即著手的理由

完成一切事項

儘管去做法是一種易於實施且靈活的方法,可以減輕您大腦的壓力,並且幫助您完成更高影響力的工作。雖然這種方法需要付出前期努力,但投入時間和進行練習,它就會成為一種後天的本能。

若要著手使用 GTD 法,不妨試用 Asana。此外,可下載 Asana 行動應用程式,隨時隨地捕捉一切所需。

相關資源

文章

Inbox Zero: What it is and how to achieve it

Tired of not Getting Things Done? Master the GTD method in 5 steps

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJune 25th, 20218 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Tired of not Getting Things Done? Master the GTD method in 5 steps. article banner image

Not-so-controversial opinion: Your brain isn’t made to store information. That’s because, when your mind is cluttered with to-dos and reminders, you have less brain power to spend on the work you actually need to do.

That’s the central principle behind the Getting Things Done (GTD) method. By moving your to-dos out of your brain—and into a to-do list tool—you have more brain power for the work that matters. Here’s how to get started. 

What is the GTD method? 

The GTD—or Getting Things Done—method operates with the belief that the more information you’re mentally keeping track of, the less productive and focused you are. Instead of relying on your brain, the GTD methodology encourages you to store all of your work information in an external, organized source of truth. That way, you always know the answer to “What do I need to do next?” without worrying about work falling through the cracks. 

What does GTD stand for?

GTD is an acronym that stands for Getting Things Done, a productivity method first developed by David Allen in 2001. Allen describes the GTD method in his book, "Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-free Productivity."

GTD is a popular time management strategy because of how simple it is to implement and how powerful it can be in practice. Even if you aren’t aware of it, your brain is constantly “on” in the background, shuffling and rearranging your upcoming to-dos to make sure nothing falls through the cracks. Whenever you introduce a new task to the mix, your brain needs to think through everything you have on the docket and reprioritize your work relative to this new task.

Read: 18 time management tips, strategies, and quick wins to get your best work done

Implementing the GTD method with work management

Instead of trying to store all of your project information in your brain, the GTD method uses a five step system to capture and catalogue your to-dos into an external source, such as a work management tool. Your brain isn’t built to store large bodies of organized information—but work management tools are. By externalizing this information into actionable items, you’re better set up for long-term success.

The tools you use matter. Look for a tool that lets you capture and organize personal, project, and program-level information. The GTD method doesn’t just help you organize your personal to-dos—though it’s great for that—it can also help you capture non-actionable reference work, work that other team members need to complete, and goals related to the work you’re doing. 

Instead of storing that information in different places, the GTD method helps you input and organize it into one tool such as a work management tool. Naturally, we think Asana is a good option. Asana brings the GTD method to life by organizing your work and reducing your mental strain so you can complete your high-impact work on time.

Try Asana for free

The pros and cons of the GTD method

The Getting Things Done method is just one time management strategy. Like all time management techniques, it has its pros and cons. The strategy you choose to implement depends largely on which skills you want to improve with time management. 

The pros

The GTD system is easy to set up and flexible to use. It:

  • Reduces the cognitive load and mental strain that comes from trying to remember everything that’s on your plate.

  • Eliminates multitasking so you have more time to be in the flow

  • Builds a central source for all information—even non-actionable information. 

  • Provides a clear sense of the work on your plate so it’s easy to reprioritize or reschedule if necessary.

The cons

Before you get started with the GTD method, here are some limitations to keep in mind. The GTD method: 

  • Takes time to set up. If you’re not already using a task management system, create one to document all of your work. 

  • Can be too flexible. The GTD method only helps you organize your tasks—it doesn’t help you schedule your weekly or daily work. Some people struggle with this level of open-ended flexibility. If you’re one of them, pair the GTD method with another time management method, like time blocking or timeboxing

Read: Try timeboxing: The goal-oriented time management strategy

Getting started: Try these 5 steps in the GTD workflow

The five steps of the Getting Things Done method set you up for success. These steps help you catalogue and organize your upcoming work in an external tool like Asana, so you’re no longer mentally keeping track of upcoming to-dos. Then, once your work is organized in the GTD method, you can start executing on tasks. 

1. Capture

Before you can organize your work, you first need to capture it—in a place outside of your brain. David Allen calls this your Inbox—regardless of what tool you’re using. That’s because any task, piece of information, or reminder (or, as Allen likes to call it, “stuff”) goes directly into your Inbox. Think of this less as an email inbox and more as a task list of data to be processed later.

Where to capture information

If you’re trying to improve personal productivity, consider using a to-do list to track your work. Alternatively, if you work with a team, try a work management platform to not only capture and track your own work, but to organize and manage your team’s work as well.

Focus on capturing, not organizing

Don’t worry if the work you capture isn’t organized or well documented. The first step is simply getting your stuff out of your brain and into an external source. Capturing is the first step towards organizing your to-dos into a better productivity system. 

Make sure you’re using a system that makes it easy to capture information. A key tenet of the GTD method is capturing information as soon as it enters your brain. That immediately lightens the load—and helps ensure nothing falls through the cracks. Where applicable, make sure to add additional context like documents, collaborators, due dates, or key details. 

[List View] Disorganized GTD method in My Tasks project in Asana (step 1)

Use a virtual system

The best way to capture all of this stuff is to use a virtual system—not an analogue one. Written to-do lists provide the wonderfully satisfying feeling of crossing something off, but they’re also the worst way to keep track of your to-dos. In reality, a written to-do list is often disorganized, prone to mistakes, easy to lose, and ineffective.

Naturally, we recommend Asana. Asana is a work management system that organizes work so your team knows what to do, why it matters, and how to get it done. 

Learn more

2. Clarify...

Once you’ve captured everything, it’s time to clarify. During the Clarify step, you’re turning the information you’ve captured into actionable tasks, detailed notes, or robust context. The Clarify step and the Organize step go hand in hand—as you Clarify, you also Organize this work into the appropriate project. 

To Clarify, make sure each item in your inbox has enough information, including:

  • An actionable title (we recommend starting with a verb).

  • Any context, documents, files, or collaborators that need to be looped in on the work.

  • The associated project initiative, to-do list, or goals the item is attached to.

  • Any associated context, like the stage the work is in, the associated budget, estimated working hours, or priority.

  • Whether or not this work is blocked by other deliverables, or waiting for additional information.

Don’t worry about moving these to-dos just yet. You’ll move to-dos from your Inbox into the appropriate project during the Organize step.

[List View] GTD method in My Tasks project in Asana with project-level information (step 2)

Priority matters

As you Clarify, add an associated priority to each item. Inevitably, things come up, deadlines shift, and priorities change. With a clear sense of every task’s priority, you can rearrange due dates if necessary so you’re always getting your highest-impact work done—and you know what to delay or delegate if needed. 

Read: Four ways to manage tight schedules and shifting priorities

Quick tasks

Sometimes, quickly completing work is easier than triaging and Clarifying it:

  • If an item takes less than two minutes to complete, do it right away. That not only removes it from your mind—but also from your list of to-dos. 

  • If something doesn’t fall under your responsibilities, delegate the work to the right person for the job.

Break items into multiple tasks if necessary

You may have jotted down items that represent more than just one task. For example, imagine you got inspiration to create a new ebook, and you added a quick reminder to your Inbox. Creating an ebook takes many steps and involves many stakeholders. So during the Clarify step, break that initiative out into several, separate tasks. Create a task for “Outline ebook,” a task for “Review outline,” a task for “Draft ebook,” etc. 

Alternatively, if the item you captured represents an entire project or program’s worth of information, use a project management tool to capture all of the moving pieces of that initiative. For example, if you’re working on a new product launch, use a project management tool to track the different pieces going into the launch—the engineering and product development side, the go-to-market strategy, the press release, and so on.

3. … and Organize

While you Clarify, you should also Organize. During the Organize step, move items into the appropriate projects in your work management tool. You can think of projects like virtual folders to store important, related information. By organizing and moving to-dos into their relevant projects, you turn these to-dos from notes into actionable work. 

Read: 11 project templates to start your work on the right track

Setting up an organizational structure

Each time you arrive at an item in your Inbox—after you’ve Clarified and added any additional context—move it out of your Inbox and into the appropriate project. If you haven’t already, set up projects to house your various initiatives. We recommend:

  • A project for all of your actionable work, sorted by priority 

  • A project for notes or reference materials

  • A project or tool to track personal and team goals

  • A project for initiatives you don’t have time for but want to revisit in the future

  • A project or section for blocked work

  • A team project for shared information and meeting agendas

Organizing is a critical part of the GTD method—but the exact organizational system you set up is up to you. In Asana, everything that’s assigned to you automatically goes into your My Tasks. This is a view of all of the work you need to complete. You can create additional sections in your My Tasks to organize high-priority work that’s due today, work that’s due this week, and longer-term work. 

[List View] Organized GTD method in My Tasks project in Asana with priority, date, and project-level information (step 3)

Clearing your Inbox

We’ve all saved to-dos as “unreads” in our inbox to get back to later. But these things take up mental space and aren’t actually productive. Instead, turn each to-do into an actionable task—and immediately move it into the appropriate project.

At the end of the Clarify and Organize steps, your Inbox should be empty. Everything should have been moved to the appropriate project or working doc so that the next time you check your Inbox, you’re triaging brand new tasks. 

4. Reflect

The GTD method isn’t a set-it-and-forget-it method. Instead, you need to frequently review your tasks and reprioritize if necessary. That’s why it’s critical to understand the priority of each task. If new tasks are higher priority than older work, understanding each task’s relative priority helps you reschedule your work and easily juggle shifting priorities.

When to Reflect

The Reflect step can be a slippery slope—the last thing you want is to constantly be checking your Inbox, since that cuts into potential focus time. 

We recommend Reflecting twice a day—at the beginning and end of each day. Make Reflecting part of your morning ritual, then triage again at the end of the day so you’re more organized for tomorrow. That way, you approach each day clear-headed, without feeling like you need to check your to-do list and reorganize your daily calendar. Remember: the GTD method is designed to lighten the mental load, so make sure you aren’t Reflecting too often, because that defeats the purpose. 

Then, do a more thorough weekly review of the work you completed in the past few days and the tasks that are upcoming next week. Ensure nothing has fallen through the cracks, and clarify priorities if necessary so you start the next week ready to go. 

5. Engage

The Engage step is where you get the bulk of your work done within the GTD method. You’ve cleared your mind and organized everything you need to do. Now all that’s left is to, well, get things done. 

What to do when

There are no strict rules or guidelines for what to do when. If you prefer this sort of structure, pair the GTD method with other time management techniques, like the Pomodoro method.

Four considerations for Engaging

If you aren’t sure where to get started, run through the four Engagement considerations before getting started. Then, select the task that’s most appropriate for your current situation.

  1. Priority: Which tasks are the highest priority? What do you absolutely have to get done today? 

  2. Context: Similar to the way our brains can’t multitask, it’s also best to do similar tasks at the same time. This is the methodology behind time blocking. Getting all of your emails done at once—rather than switching between tasks, email, and back—helps you get things done faster, because your brain is already in that context. If you’re thinking about what to do next, try doing all similar work in a time block. 

  3. Time available: How much time do you have right now? Ideally, select tasks you can do in the time you have available, so you don’t have to stop halfway through.

  4. Energy available: How are you feeling? It’s important to consider not only your theoretical capacity, but your actual capacity. Maybe you’re really not feeling up to writing that blog you need to do. You could force yourself to do it, but it would take double the time as usual. Instead, see if you can do something else—maybe something slightly lower priority—to get you in the spirit and get your energy up. 

Read: Are you time blocking your calendar? Here’s why you should start now

Got things done 

The Getting Things Done method is an easy to implement, flexible method that reduces the strain on your brain and helps you get higher-impact work done. Although this method requires up-front effort, it’ll become second nature with time and practice. 

To get started with the GTD method, try Asana. Plus, download the Asana mobile app to capture everything you need on the go.

Related resources

Article

Self-management: 7 skills to become a better leader