30-60-90 天計劃:如何輕鬆引導新僱員到職

Caeleigh MacNeil 撰稿人特寫照片Caeleigh MacNeilJune 16th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
30-60-90 天計劃文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

摘要

30-60-90 天計劃中列出了新團隊成員到職的前 90 天以及熟悉公司政策、團隊工作及目標的過程。這份行動計劃有助於團隊成員在適應新的工作環境時查核必要項目。在本文中,我們將列明 30-60-90 天計劃的關鍵組成部分,並解釋擁有這份計劃為甚麼大有裨益。

眾所周知,加入任何公司的前 90 天都是讓人忐忑不安的。這並非任何人或安排的錯。新團隊成員需要學習很多東西,其中包括使用不同的工具、瞭解團隊規範以及調整自己的期望值。但是,若您可以為新僱員提供引導和預期,他們就能從第一天開始投入工作。

30-60-90 天計劃是一種透過到職流程完成的新僱員指導。這份行動計劃可以幫助團隊成員設定可實現的目標,並且在其適應新角色時查核必要項目。在本文中,我們將列明 30-60-90 天計劃的關鍵組成部分,並解釋擁有這份計劃為甚麼大有裨益。

什麼是 30-60-90 天計劃?

30-60-90 天計劃中列出了團隊成員新到職的前 90 天,以及讓其熟悉公司政策、團隊工作以及學習目標的過程。閱讀 30-60-90 天計劃後,新僱員就能瞭解他們在前 90 天中的預期里程碑和交付項目,以及長期 SMART 目標

什麼是 30-60-90 天計劃?

基準可能會是這樣:

  • 1–30 天:前 30 天中,包含針對工作角色進行的強化訓練。這是新僱員盡可能瞭解公司政策、團隊結構和工作職責的時機。

  • 31–60 天:接下來的 30 天是新僱員透過執行新任務將所學內容付諸實踐的機會。這是一個關鍵的學習時期,不過,在此期間也會有犯錯和成長的空間。

  • 61–90 天:到職的第三個月是新僱員掌握工作技能的時候,意即他們能夠開始實現 30-60-90 天計劃中列出的 SMART 目標。至此,新僱員應能滿足您所設定的期望值。

30-60-90 天計劃的目的,在於確保每一位新僱員都能感受到公司的熱情歡迎,同時瞭解他們的職責是什麼。對於全體新僱員而言,30-60-90 天計劃中可能會有一些相似的部分,例如公司政策和資源,但計劃中也有許多部分會因每個人的角色和職責而異。

免費的新員工到職範本

新僱員在前 90 天中應該完成哪些內容?

您的新僱員在其前 90 天應聚焦於融入公司文化並掌握其職位描述內容。雖然在初始階段有時間讓新僱員幫忙完成一些除到職以外的任務,但新團隊成員仍應以基礎的適應為初始目標。

您可能會需要新僱員在前 90 天內完成的部分事項包括:

您應在新僱員的前 90 天結束時進行成效審核,以便瞭解其進度。在此期間,您可以針對他們所完成的事項以及他們可以如何繼續改進其角色,提供建設性的回饋。

如何撰寫 30-60-90 天計劃

通常,您需要在新僱員到職或在他們開始工作後立即撰寫 30-60-90 天計劃。因此,您可能還未瞭解新僱員的個性或長處。與其依據團隊成員的能力制定個人 30-60-90 天計劃,不妨利用您對其新角色中的期望值來制定每一份計劃。

如何撰寫 30-60-90 天計劃

步驟 1. 提問

僱用新員工後,可從大局著手、評估您的新僱員對此的適應情況來開始您的 30-60-90 天計劃。問自己任何關於工作角色、到職流程和團隊的問題。部分可用於腦力激盪的問題包括:

  • 您希望這位人員滿足哪些需求?

  • 您需要讓這位人員解決什麼特定問題?

  • 這位人員需要為成功做哪些知識準備?

  • 新僱員的日常職責是什麼?

  • 新僱員需要如何參與專案開發?

最後,您的新僱員可透過 30-60-90 天計劃清楚瞭解前三個月的情況。儘早回答這些問題有助於他們獲得成功,並且幫助他們掌握角色所需的技能。

步驟 2. 設立切實可行的預期

您的 30-60-90 天計劃並非新僱員需要進行的日常活動清單。相反,您的目標在於讓新僱員全面瞭解他們進入這家公司的目的。

在建立 30-60-90 天計劃時,您還需記住,新團隊成員在到職的前幾個月可以做到和學到的內容有限。雖然您可能有一些需求亟待解決,但請儘量不要太快地將太多工作交托給新僱員。

請考慮合理的工作量應是多少,且至少在前 30 天儘量減少這期間的工作量。應預料到會存在一個學習曲線,然後,若您發現有團隊成員能夠快速上手,您可以酌情增加其工作量。

閱讀:在工作空間進行協作:提升團隊績效的 11 種方式

步驟 3. 建立 SMART 目標

根據 BambooHR 2014 年的研究,平均而言,一家公司在新僱員到職的前三個月中,會有六分之一的新僱員流失。在新僱員加入團隊時為其設立 SMART 目標,可以透過為團隊成員提供可衡量的目標來提高其留任率。

您為新僱員設定的具體目標取決於他們在公司中的特定角色與所在層級。請參閱針對不同員工職位的 90 天 SMART 目標範例:

  • 文案撰稿人:為我們的其中一位客戶成功發佈三篇文章,其中包括針對每篇文章完成從品質保證到內部編輯、客戶編輯和最終編輯的整個發佈流程。

  • 客戶支援:與團隊成員合作處理完成 30 張支援單,其中包括學習內部電腦系統及解決一系列意外的技術問題。

  • 代理人員:專案關係人協作撰寫一份推廣文案。然後將文案推廣至部落格主,並成功地將其發佈在至少三個與客戶相關的網站上。

雖然在新僱員的前 90 天中應專注於幫助他們適應新角色,但在他們的行動計劃中增加可衡量的目標,能夠為他們提供一個可以執行的專案,這樣他們就能避免覺得自己存在的唯一目的只是跟隨他人。

嘗試用 Asana 進行專管理

步驟 4. 為其提供指導

30-60-90 天計劃不是一份只要交給新僱員然後就能輕鬆讓他們上手完成職責的文件。當您的新僱員與您和其他團隊成員協作完成任務時,這份文件應作為其參考。

撰寫計劃時,為您的新僱員指派一名導師,提供他們可能需要的任何建議或指導。在最初的幾週內,導師將會是僱員解決任何問題的首選指引。一個好的導師有助於引導新僱員,這樣他們就能避免對新的工作環境茫然無措。

請務必為新僱員安排一位非經理的導師。這樣,他們需要解決與團隊協同工作和團隊規範有關的問題時可以有求助的對象。作為經理,您應專注於提供與長期目標和團隊協作最佳作法有關的全盤指導。

步驟 5. 設定定期的進度查核

建立 30-60-90 天計劃時,需要記住的要點是保持靈活性。即使您覺得您的計劃已經準確描繪出您希望新僱員完成的工作,也無法保證前 90 天會按照預期進行。

例如,另一個團隊可能會需要到職一週後的新僱員提供幫助,此舉可能會破壞您最初為其設定的 SMART 目標。您的新僱員學習速度也可能會比您預期的要慢或快。因此,您需要明白這份計劃只是一份大綱,而非排程時,這樣您對自己所投入工作的感覺會更良好。

30-60-90 天計劃的必要組成部分

30-60-90 天計劃的內容對於加入您組織的團隊成員而言是獨一無二的,但計劃的架構則會是相似的。30-60-90 天計劃的必要組成部分包括:

30-60-90 天計劃的必要組成部分
  • 公司使命:在 30-60-90 天計劃的開場處簡要說明您公司的使命,讓您的新僱員瞭解貴公司的立足之本。

  • 指導的要點:指導的要點中包含您的公司文化資訊並且詳細說明您的企業的核心價值。例如,這些要點可能包括:「提出疑問......重視關係......有團隊意識......把您的健康放在第一位......」

  • 認識團隊:在這一節中,需包含您的新僱員即將與之密切合作的人員圖片和簡介。這對於新僱員來說是一個很好的參考,因為他們需要瞭解姓名和團隊角色。

  • 第一天概述:第一天概述是 30-60-90 天計劃中唯一列出新僱員詳細排程的部分。雖然這份排程可能會發生變化,但請盡最大努力讓您的新僱員知道他們在工作的第一天會發生什麼,包括登入資訊或電子郵件和電話/語音信箱的設定方法。這樣,他們就不會茫然無措、不確定該做什麼或去哪裡。

  • 最重要的優先事項:在計劃的最重要優先事項部分中,包含對新僱員工作職責的概述,以及所有您希望他們滿足的新角色需求。

  • SMART 目標:如前所述,您在 30-60-90 天計劃中所列的 SMART 目標,應是您希望新僱員能夠在這前 90 天中實現的可衡量、與職位相關的目標。

  • 資源:在資源部分中,需列出公司手冊、職位描述、團隊目錄和其他相關資源的連結。您可以將任何您認為團隊成員在熟悉公司和工作時會派上用場的資源加入到這一部分。

以這份 30-60-90 天大綱作為架構,為您需要引導的每一位新僱員組建並自訂計劃。

利用工作管理工具簡化引導流程

如果您需要面對面工作,也可以將您的 30-60-90 天計劃列印出來,在新僱員上班的第一天交給他們。但是,若您要進行遠距到職引導,則需要線上分享您的 30-60-90 天計劃。透過專案管理軟體進行是一種有效的方法。分享計劃後,您可以使用這個軟體追蹤並監控團隊成員的進度。

您還可以藉由專案管理軟體,利用日常行動項目簡化引導流程。這樣,當您的新僱員完成前 90 天的工作後,他們就可以無縫接軌地過渡到現行的團隊角色中。若要讓您的新團隊成員取得成功,請參閱我們的免費僱員到職引導範本。

免費的新員工到職範本

相關資源

文章

將冒充者症候群轉變為自信:給經理人及個人的 15 個提示

30-60-90 day plan: How to onboard new hires with ease

Caeleigh MacNeil contributor headshotCaeleigh MacNeilJune 16th, 20227 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
30-60-90 day plan: How to onboard new hires with ease article banner image
Try Asana now

Summary

A 30-60-90 day plan outlines the first 90 days of a new team member’s employment and familiarizes them with company policies, team work, and goals. This action plan helps your team members check off essential items as they adjust to their new work environment. In this piece, we’ll outline the key components of a 30-60-90 day plan and explain why having one is beneficial.

It’s universally acknowledged that the first 90 days at any company can be intimidating. This isn’t any one person or program’s fault, either. There’s a lot for your new team members to learn—including using different tools, navigating team norms, and adjusting their own expectations. But when you provide new hires with guidance and expectations, you empower them to hit the ground running from day one.

Read: Employee handbook: How to inform and inspire your team (with examples)

A 30-60-90 day plan is a new hire’s guide through the onboarding process. This action plan helps your team members set achievable goals and check off essential items as they acclimate to their new role. In this piece, we’ll outline the key components of a 30-60-90 day plan and explain why having one is beneficial.

What is a 30-60-90 day plan?

A 30-60-90 day plan is an outline of a new hire’s first 90 days on your team. It lays out exactly what your new employee should accomplish, from their first week to the end of their third month in a new job. The goal of a 30-60-90 day plan is to give team members a concrete plan for getting up to speed and accomplishing their learning goals. It helps ensure every new hire feels welcomed into the company and understands the responsibilities of their role.

30-60-90 day plans often include the following milestones for each month of onboarding: 

  • 1–30 days: The first month involves intensive training for the employee’s new position. This is when the new hire learns as much as possible about company policies, your company’s products, team structure, and job responsibilities. 

  • 31–60 days: The second month of employment is the new hire’s opportunity to put what they’ve learned into practice by taking on new tasks. This is a key learning period, so it’s ok if your direct reports make mistakes as they get familiar with how things are done. 

  • 61–90 days: The third month of employment is when the new hire starts mastering the skills of their job. This means your employee can now fully meet job expectations and start achieving long-term performance goals.

[Inline illustration] What is a 30-60-90 day plan? (infographic)

A 30-60-90 day plan may have similar sections for all new hires, such as company policies and resources. That said, you should also tailor many parts of the plan to fit each individual’s specific role and responsibilities.

Free employee onboarding template

What are the benefits of a 30-60-90 day plan?

Creating a 30-60-90 day plan helps improve your onboarding process and set new employees up for success. Onboarding can make or break someone’s experience at a new company, so it’s worth investing in. In fact, research shows that a strong onboarding process can improve employee retention by 82% and productivity by over 70%.

With a 30-60-90 day plan, you can: 

  • Set goals and create clear expectations for an employee’s first three months on the job.

  • Space out training sessions and introductions so new hires don’t feel overwhelmed. 

  • Ensure new team members have the knowledge, resources, and skills they need to be successful in their new role. 

  • Take time to communicate your core company values

  • Build trust with effective feedback throughout the onboarding process. 

Proactively creating a 30-60-90 day plan can also benefit your hiring process and interview process. Candidates often want to know what their first few months on the job will look like. Having a plan already in place helps hiring managers and recruiters paint a concrete picture for applicants during job interviews. 

What should new hires accomplish in their first 90 days?

Your new hire’s focus in the first 90 days should be to integrate into company culture and master their job description. While there’s time during this initial period for new hires to help with tasks outside of onboarding, your new team members’ initial objectives should revolve around basic acclimation.

Some accomplishments you may ask your new hire to achieve in their first 90 days include:

You should hold a performance review at the end of a new hire’s first 90 days to assess their progress. During this time, you can offer constructive feedback about what they’ve accomplished and how they can continue to improve in their role.

How to write a 30-60-90 day plan

Typically, you’ll write a 30-60-90 day plan before your new hire onboards or immediately after they begin their job. As a result, you probably don’t know a lot about your new hire’s personality or strengths. Instead of making your 30-60-90 day plan personal to the team member’s abilities, use your expectations for what you want them to become in their new role to customize each plan. 

[Inline illustration] How to write a 30-60-90 day plan (Infographic)

Step 1: Ask questions

Once you’ve hired someone new, start your 30-60-90 day plan by looking at the big picture and assessing how your new hire fits into that picture. Ask yourself any questions that come to mind about the job role, the onboarding process, and the team. Some questions to begin brainstorming include:

  • What need do you hope for this person to fill? 

  • What specific problem are you bringing this person in to solve?

  • What should this person know in order to be successful?

  • What will the new hire’s daily responsibilities be?

  • How will the new hire take part in project development?

Ultimately, your 30-60-90 day plan will give your new hire a clear idea of what the first three months will look like. Answering these questions early sets them up for success and helps them build their skills for the role.

Step 2: Set realistic expectations

Your 30-60-90 day plan isn’t a day-to-day list of activities your new hire will be working on. Rather, your goal is to give your new hire an overview of their purpose within the company. 

You should also keep in mind when you create your 30-60-90 day plan that a new team member can only do and learn so much in their first few months of employment. While you may have some dire needs to address, try not to throw too much on your new hire’s plate too fast. 

Consider what a reasonable workload should be and minimize that workload for at least the first 30 days. Expect there to be a learning curve. Then, if you find that the team member catches up quickly, you can add work to their plate as appropriate. 

Read: Collaboration in the workplace: 11 ways to boost your team’s performance

Step 3: Create SMART goals

According to a 2014 study by BambooHR, the average company loses one-sixth of their new hires each month for the first three months. Setting concrete goals during onboarding can boost retention, especially if those goals are SMART—specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and time-bound. SMART goals help clarify expectations and give team members clear stepping stones to follow. That way, new hires are less likely to feel overwhelmed or unengaged. 

The specific goal and success metrics you set for your new hire will depend on their particular role and level within the company. Check out some example 90-day SMART goals for different employee positions:

  • Writer: Successfully publish three articles for one of our clients, which includes taking each article through the entire publishing process from QA to internal edits, client edits, and final edits. 

  • Customer support: Work with team members to close 30 tickets, which includes learning the internal computer system and solving an array of unexpected tech issues. 

  • Agency: Collaborate with stakeholders to write one promotional piece. Then promote the piece to bloggers and successfully get it published on at least three websites relevant to the client.

While the new hire’s first 90 days should focus on helping them get comfortable in their new role, adding measurable goals to their action plan can give them a project to work on so they don’t feel like their only purpose is to shadow others. 

Try Asana for project management

Step 4: Give them a mentor

A 30-60-90 day plan isn’t a document you’ll hand over to your new hire and then simply send them on their way to complete their duties. This document should be a reference for your new hire while they collaborate with you and other team members to accomplish tasks. 

When writing your plan, assign the new hire a mentor to give your new hire any advice or guidance they might need. This person will be their go-to guide during the first few weeks for any questions. A good mentor can help orient your new hire so they don’t feel so overwhelmed by their new work environment.

Make sure to set your new hire up with a mentor who isn’t their manager. That way, they have someone they can turn to with questions about team synergy and team norms. As their manager, you can focus on providing bigger picture guidance about long-term goals and team collaboration best practices.

Step 5: Set up regular check-ins

An important thing to remember when creating a 30-60-90 day plan is to stay flexible. Even if you feel like your plan outlines exactly what you hope for your new hire to accomplish, there’s no guarantee that the first 90 days will go as expected. 

For example, another team may need help from your new hire a week into their employment, which can derail the SMART goals you initially set for them. It’s also possible that your new hire will learn at a slower or faster pace than you expected. When you understand that the plan is an outline and not a schedule, you’ll feel better about the work you’ve put into it.

Essential components of a 30-60-90 day plan

The contents of a 30-60-90 day plan are unique to the team member joining your organization, but the framework of the plan should look similar. The essential components of a 30-60-90 day plan include:

  • Company mission: Briefly state your company’s mission at the top of the 30-60-90 day plan to give your new hire an idea of what your company stands for. 

  • Guiding points: Guiding points may include information about your company culture and elaborate on your business’ core values. For example, these points may include things like: “Ask questions… Value relationships… Have a team mindset… Put your health first…”

  • Meet the team: In this section, include pictures and blurbs of the people your new hire will work with closely. This can be a good reference for the new hire as they try to learn names and team roles. 

  • First day overview: The first day overview is the only section of the 30-60-90 day plan that lists out a detailed schedule for the new hire. While this schedule may change, do your best to let your new hire know what to expect on their first day of work, including log-in information or how to set up their email and phone voicemail. That way, they don’t come in feeling lost and unsure about what to do or where to go. 

  • Top priorities: In the top priorities section of the plan, include an overview of the new hire’s job responsibilities and any needs you hope for them to fill in their new role. 

  • SMART goals: As mentioned above, the SMART goals you list in the 30-60-90 day plan should be measurable, job-related goals you hope the new hire will achieve within their first 90 days. 

  • Resources: In the resources section, list links to the company handbook, job description, team directory, and other relevant resources. You can add any resources to this section that you think the team member will find useful as they familiarize themselves with the company and the job.

30-60-90 day plan example

Not sure where to start? Check out our example 30-60-90 day plan template below for inspiration on how to optimize your onboarding process.

[Inline illustration] Essential components of a 30-60-90 day plan (Example)

Use this 30-60-90 day outline as a framework to build and customize a plan that works for each new hire that you onboard.

Streamline the onboarding process with work management tools

Printouts and documents quickly become out of date. Keep your onboarding process flexible by creating your 30-60-90 day plan with project management software. Once you share the plan, you can easily monitor your new hire’s progress—plus assign day-to-day action items to keep things on track.

Free employee onboarding template

Related resources

Article

Unmasking imposter syndrome: 15 ways to overcome it at work