帕金森定律:如何克服它以提高生產力

Asana 團隊撰稿人圖片Team Asana
May 9th, 2023
facebookx-twitterlinkedin
帕金森定律文章橫幅圖片
檢視範本

摘要

帕金森定律是指為工作分配時間后,人們便會不自覺地完用所有分配的時間才能將其完成。一種可能的情況是您比必要的時間花費更長的時間,才完成一項任務,另一個可能是您有所拖延,直到截止日期就要到了才完成工作。本指南將說明帕金森定律運作原理,並提供讓您以較少時間完成工作的提示。

您是否曾拖延某個專案直到其最後一分鐘,即便您知道只需要花幾個小時就可以完成它?這算情況最好的拖延症了,不過也是帕金森定律的一種表現表式。當您有時間時,您就會花完它。您可能早早運用這些時間來慢條斯理地完成任務,您也可能拖延直到截止日期就要到來之前再匆忙應付。 

很遺憾地,期限不一定總能提高生產力,若能瞭解帕金森定律並找到方式克服它,就能提高生產力。本文將說明帕金森定律如何運作,並提供可讓您以較少時間完成工作的提示。

什麽是帕金森定律?

帕金森定律是指工作必須佔用所有預先分配的時間才能完成。當您疲於應付幾個工作的期限,或管理多個專案時,此定律就會起作用。

什麽是帕金森定律?

舉例來說,您被交代為期兩週要完成的專案提案。由於知道有許多時間,您可能很放心。然而,由於到達期限之前還有很多時間,您也因此花費 (比必要時間) 更長的時間完成手上的工作,或是拖延到截止日期幾乎要到了才完成工作。也就是說,任務的執行會延伸到填滿您的所有可用時間。

帕金森定律最早由誰提出?

西里爾·諾斯古德·帕金森 (Cyril Northcote Parkinson) 是英國航海歷史學家,1955 年在他為《經濟學人》所撰寫的諷刺散文中最早提出此概念。他後來又撰寫了名為帕金森定律:對於進度的追求 (Parkinson’s Law: The Pursuit of Progress) 一書。散文中的故事談到一位女士如何在一整天中只做了一件事:寄送明信片。

因為這位女士有一整天的時間可以完成這個任務,她就花了一個小時尋找卡片、半個小時找眼鏡、90 分鐘寫卡片,諸如此類,直到她花了一整天的時間。她的故事旨在說明工作如何會延伸,直到填滿所有可用的時間。儘管帕金森的事例聽起來可能很極端,但我們都曾或多或少有過類似但沒那麼極端的經驗。

為什麼工作會延伸直到填滿可用的時間?

研究指出我們接獲一個任務時,會思考有多少可用的時間來完成任務,而不是我們實際需要多少時間。這種心態會導致時間被浪費、工作流程效率不彰。因此即便任務其實不需要那麼多時間來完成,身為一般人的我們仍經常感到必須花掉可用的所有時間來完成任務。

為什麼工作會延伸到填滿可用的時間?

帕金森定律範例

帕金森定律幾乎適用於一切事物。在個人對其有所瞭解並找到方法克服之前,沒有人能對帕金森定律免疫。您可能會在行銷或設計等各種團隊中發現帕金森定律的例子,也可能看見它正以更大的規模在企業組織中浮現。

儘管有各種克服帕金森定律的方法,您所執行的具體工作仍可導引您如何戰勝帕金森定律。參閱以下三個範例以及針對這些特定情境的解決方案。

行銷簡報

假設您是正在製作新客戶簡報的行銷經理,您有一個月的期限可以收集所有簡報必要的素材。這個期限讓您擁有許多準備時間,但因為您手上還有其他幾個急迫的任務,因此就把簡報擱置一旁。接著,期限就悄悄逼近,而您則在最後一分鐘慌忙地完成簡報。

試想另一個不同情境,您手上任何沒有其他任務,因此您花了整個月的時間製作簡報。儘管經過最初的兩週之後,簡報似乎接近完成,但因為您還有額外的時間,因此就繼續在簡報的各處添加細節,直到期限來臨。這時,您的工作就是延伸到填滿所有分配的時間了。

可能的解決方案:行銷團隊成員可以一起合作,根據實際狀況決定專案應該花費多久時間,而不是設定一個任意的期限。若專注於專案所需的時間量而非期限,就能提高生產力、避免效率不彰。

設計型錄

如果您是設計師,這個例子就很適合您。想像您要在兩週內完成一本型錄。身為創意人員,您對自己的工作感到自豪,而您的目標是要讓每個專案看起來極盡完美。您可能從未有過專案完全結束的感受,因為您總能找到一些可以修正或改進之處。

期限對您而言很實用,因為有期限,您才能確保一切如期完成;儘管如此,您卻總是讓工作延伸到最後一分鐘,因為您陶醉在每個專案的內容。

可能的解決方案:若您儘早讓客戶參與設計流程,就能避免自己在設計上花費不必要的時間。在期限外加上客戶的基準或經理查核進度的時程,由他們提供回饋,如此一來,您就知道自己的進度如何,以及何時應該停止。

40 個工時的工作週

多數公司的營運都是以一週 40 小時的工時模式為基礎。這種模式預先認定對大多數工作而言,每週需要用來完成任務的時間量是相同的。

但把行銷領域和醫療領域的工作時間均設想為一天 8 小時是否不切實際?這些工作難道一樣複雜嗎?簡單來說,答案是否定的。環顧四週,帕金森定律無處不在。有些人一週要忙碌 40 個小時,有些則運用時間管理技巧,讓自己在較少的時間完成任務,並因而從中得益。

可能的解決方案:不妨使用帕雷托法則,根據此法則,大致上 80% 的結果都是來自 20% 的成因。專注在具高度影響力的工作,並重視花費在工作上的時間將能帶來更高的生產力。

閱讀:助您完成出色工作的 18 個時間管理提示、策略和速成技巧

如何克服帕金森定律

您可以使用具體策略來克服帕金森定律,善加利用您的時間。當您不再讓工作延伸到填滿所有時間,您就能更快完成工作,並使用剩餘的時間放鬆或轉而從事別的任務。

克服帕金森定律的 5 種方式

1. 策略性地規劃您的工作

當您提早進行工作的策略性規劃,您就比較不會拖延,而更可能以有效率的方式工作。建立一個計劃有助管理您的時間、評估任務需時多久,再據此加以詳細規劃。

您應在計劃中概述:

您也可針對公司內的長、短期目標建立更宏大的策略計劃。這樣做可促進自己工作時有更高的生產力

2. 設定自我約束的期限

克服帕金森定律的第一步是設定自我約束的期限,與其以「我有多少時間?」的心態來面對,不妨開始思考您實際上需要在每個任務花費多少時間,並且據此為自己設定期限。

若要確認您需要針對某項任務實際花費的時間,應先:

  • 瞭解專案需求:您需要更瞭解自己需要執行哪些工作,才能判斷專案需要多少時間來完成。在此步驟中,您必須考量所屬的較大專案,然後建立包含所有子任務和活動的清單。

  • 據此安排活動和任務的優先順序:一旦列出專案需求清單,您就能安排待辦清單的優先順序,決定哪些任務最為重要以及/或最複雜。您應將需時最久的任務置頂於清單中。

  • 決定您需要讓哪些人參與:若專案某些部分需要同仁協助,您就需要衡量由誰參與專案。若能在專案之初就連繫、編整您的團隊,之後就能為自己節省時間。

  • 進行時間的預估工作:您現在應詳知將至專案會涉及哪些人與事,以及他們將如何參與專案。接下來就能根據您的工作負荷和個人所能提供的生產力,針對完成工作預估實際所需要的時間。

將任務視為待完成的短期目標,即您愈快完成任務,您就有愈多時間可用來處理其他事。

藉助 Asana 管理任務並安排優先順序

3. 嘗試時間箱法

時間箱是具高度生產力的工作策略,可協助您對抗拖延症、奪回喪失的生產力,並專注於重要的工作。

使用時間箱時,必須設定在特定時間範圍內要完成某個任務的目標。若您在開始執行任務前,先規劃任務應花多少時間完成,您對工作的目的性就會更強。時間箱可用來安排個別任務的時程、協助團隊變得有條不紊,也可更有效地管理會議。

推薦閱讀:如何安排,才能讓最重要的工作取得最高的優先順序

4. 嘗試番茄工作法

番茄工作法是與時間箱類似的概念,區分專心致志的工作段落與頻率較高的短暫休息,其目標在於提高生產力,同時減少心智疲勞。此技巧結合 25 分鐘的工作段落和 5 分鐘的休息時間,從而將專注力提高到最大程度。

使用番茄法技巧來管理時間,可區分為五個階段,包括:

  1. 按照重要性排序任務並據此建立清單

  2. 設定以 25 分鐘為單位的計時鬧鐘

  3. 在計時期間致力執行任務

  4. 休息五分鐘

  5. 在四個番茄法循環後,休息 15 至 30 分鐘

5. 使用任務管理工具

使用任務管理工具是組織一天工作、安排個人工作期限和確保有足夠時間管理優先事項的絕佳方法。無論是團隊合作,或執行個人專案,您都能 製作待辦清單,從而確保專注於專案進度。

若您想要掌控自己的時間、增加自己能完成的工作量,克服帕金森定律就很必要。在期限前完成任務,就能用多餘的時間直接進入下一個工作或休息一下。目的是要更有效率,而不是讓自己過度工作。

使用帕金森法則在更短的時間內完成更多工作

您瞭解帕金森法則的內涵以及運作的方式之後,就能加以利用並從中獲益。有了既定的正確策略 (如主動排程、個人應遵守的期限及任務優先順序),您就能在較短的時間內完成更多工作,並且更能取得工作/生活間的平衡。

使用任務管理軟體可以補足您已制定的策略,協助您達成目標。

藉助 Asana 管理任務並安排優先順序

Parkinson’s Law: How to overcome it to increase productivity

Team Asana contributor imageTeam AsanaSeptember 22nd, 20216 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Parkinson's law article banner image

Summary

Parkinson’s Law is the idea that work expands to fill the time allotted for its completion. This may mean you take longer than necessary to complete a task or you procrastinate and complete the task right before the due date. In this guide, we’ll explain how Parkinson’s Law works and provide tips for getting work done in less time.

Have you ever put off a project until the last minute even though you knew it would only take a few hours to complete? That’s procrastination at its finest, but it’s also Parkinson’s Law in action. When you have time, you take it. You either use the time to complete the task more slowly or you procrastinate and complete the task right before the due date. 

Unfortunately, deadlines don't always increase our productivity, but understanding Parkinson’s Law and finding ways to overcome it can. In this guide, we’ll explain how Parkinson’s Law works and provide tips for getting your work done in less time.

What is Parkinson's Law?

Parkinson’s Law is the idea that your work will expand to fill the time allotted for its completion. This law can come into play when juggling work deadlines or managing projects. 

What is Parkinson's law?

Say, for example, you’re given a two-week deadline to complete a project proposal. You may be relieved knowing you have ample time. However, the distant deadline causes you to take longer than necessary to complete the task at hand, or you procrastinate and complete it just barely before the due date. In other words, the task expands to fill the time you’re given.

Who introduced Parkinson’s Law?

Cyril Northcote Parkinson was a British naval historian who first introduced Parkinson’s Law in a satirical essay written for “The Economist” in 1955. He then went on to write a book titled, Parkinson’s Law: The Pursuit of Progress. His story in the essay involves a woman whose sole task for the day is to send a postcard. 

Because she has the entire day to complete this task, she spends an hour finding the card, half an hour finding her glasses, 90 minutes writing the card, and so forth until she fills her day. His story is meant to explain how work expands to fill the time allotted. While Parkinson’s example may sound extreme, we’ve all experienced this at a smaller scale.

Why does work expand to fill the time available?

Studies suggest that when given a task, we think of how much time is available to complete the task instead of how much time we actually need. This mindset results in wasted time and inefficient workflows. This is often why we, as humans, feel the need to take all the time we’re given to complete a task even if it doesn’t require that much time. 

Why does work expand to fill the time available?

Examples of Parkinson’s Law

Parkinson’s Law applies to pretty much everything. No one is immune to Parkinson’s Law until they recognize it and find ways to personally overcome it. You can recognize examples of Parkinson’s Law across teams in marketing or design, and you can also see it rearing its head on a larger scale in enterprise organizations. 

Though there are ways to overcome Parkinson’s Law, the specific work you do will direct how you combat Parkinson’s Law. Take a look at three examples, as well as the solutions to those particular situations.

Marketing pitch

Say you’re a marketing manager working on a new client pitch. You have a one-month deadline to gather all of the materials necessary for your presentation. This deadline gives you plenty of time to prepare, but because you have a few other urgent tasks on your plate, you put the pitch off. The deadline then creeps up and you scramble to complete the pitch at the last minute. 

In a different scenario, you have no other tasks on your plate, so you take the entire month to work on the pitch. Although the pitch feels complete after the first two weeks, you have the extra time, so you continue adding details here and there until the deadline approaches. Your work has now expanded to fill the time allotted. 

Potential solution: Marketing team members can work together to realistically determine how long a project should take, instead of setting an arbitrary deadline. Focusing on the amount of time necessary for a project instead of the due date can increase productivity and prevent inefficiency. 

Design lookbook

If you’re a designer, this example is for you. Imagine you have a lookbook to complete within two weeks. As a creative, you take pride in your work and your goal is to make every project perfect. You may never feel like your projects are fully finished because you can always find something to correct or improve.

Deadlines come in handy for you because they help you stay on track; however, you always allow your work to expand until the last minute because you become enthralled in every project. 

Potential solution: If you involve the client early on in the design process, you can prevent yourself from spending unnecessary time on your designs. Adding benchmarks for client or manager check-ins can give you feedback so you know how much progress you’ve made and when to stop. 

The 40-hour workweek

Most companies operate under the 40-hours-a-week model. This model assumes that the majority of jobs require the same amount of time to complete tasks each week. 

Is it realistic to think that work in the marketing field and the medical field both require eight hours a day? Are these jobs equally complex? The short answer is no. Parkinson’s Law is active all around us. Some people are busy 40 hours a week, while others use time management to their advantage to complete tasks in less time.  

Potential solution:  Consider using the Pareto principle, which states that roughly 80% of outcomes come from 20% of causes. Focusing on impactful work vs. time spent on work can result in increased productivity.

Read: 18 time management tips, strategies, and quick wins to get your best work done

How to overcome Parkinson’s Law

You can use specific strategies to overcome Parkinson’s Law and better utilize your time. When you stop letting your work expand to fill your time, you can finish your tasks quicker and use your leftover time to relax or move on to other tasks. 

5 ways to overcome Parkinson's law

1. Plan your work strategically

When you strategically plan your work ahead of time, you’re less likely to procrastinate and more likely to work in an efficient manner. Creating a plan can help you manage your time, assess how long tasks will take, and plan them out accordingly. 

In your plan, you should outline:

You can also create a broader strategic plan for your short- and long-term goals within your company. This may motivate you to be more productive at work.

2. Set self-imposed deadlines

The first step in overcoming Parkinson’s Law is to set self-imposed deadlines. Instead of thinking in the mindset of “how much time do I have?” start thinking about much time you realistically need for each task and set your own deadlines accordingly. 

To figure out the time you actually need for a task, first: 

  • Understand the project requirements: You’ll need a broad sense of what’s required of you to determine how long you’ll need for a project. This step involves creating a list of all the subtasks and activities within the larger project. 

  • Prioritize activities and tasks accordingly: Once you have a list of your project requirements, you can prioritize your to-do list and determine which tasks are most important and/or complex. You should place the tasks that take the most time at the top of your list.

  • Decide who you need to involve: If parts of your project require help from coworkers, you’ll need to assess who to involve. Reaching out to your team at the beginning of your project can save you time later on.

  • Make your time estimates: You should now have a solid understanding of the who, what, and how involved in your upcoming project. You can now make realistic time estimates for completion based on your workload and your personal productivity level. 

Think of your tasks as short-term goals to complete—the faster you complete them, the more available time you’ll have to use for other things.

Try Asana for task management

3. Try timeboxing

Timeboxing is a productive work strategy that can help you fight procrastination, reclaim lost productivity, and focus on the work that matters. 

Timeboxing involves setting a goal to finish a task within a certain time frame. When you plan how long a task should take before starting it, you become more intentional about your work. You can use timeboxing to schedule individual tasks, help your team get organized, or manage meetings more effectively.

Read: How to prioritize your most important work

4. Try the Pomodoro Technique

SImilar to timeboxing, the Pomodoro Technique involves focused work sessions with frequent short breaks, with the objective of boosting your productivity while reducing mental fatigue. This technique uses 25-minute work sessions and five-minute breaks to maximize focus. 

The five-step approach to managing your time with the Pomodoro Technique includes:

  1. Create a list of tasks ordered by importance

  2. Set a timer to 25 minutes

  3. Work on a task for the duration of the timer

  4. Take a five minute break

  5. After four pomodoros, take a 15-30 minute break

5. Use task management tools

Using a task management tool is a great way to organize your workday, schedule personal deadlines, and ensure you have enough time to manage your priorities. You can also make to-do lists and stay on track with projects, whether through team collaboration or for personal projects. 

Overcoming Parkinson’s Law is essential if you want to take control of your time and increase the amount of work you’re able to complete. If you finish tasks before the deadline, you can use your extra time to get ahead on work or take a break. The goal is to be more efficient, not to overwork yourself. 

Accomplish more in less time using Parkinson’s Law

Once you understand what Parkinson’s Law is and how it works, you can use it to your advantage. With the right strategies in place like proactive scheduling, personal deadlines, and task prioritization, you can accomplish more work in less time and achieve better work-life balance.

Using task management software can complement the strategies you put in place and help you accomplish your goals.

Try Asana for task management

Related resources

Article

Self-management: 7 skills to become a better leader