不只是流行語:如何建立團隊協同作用

Julia Martins 撰稿人特寫照片Julia MartinsJune 12th, 2022
facebooktwitterlinkedin
不只是流行語:如何建立團隊協同作用文章橫幅圖片
立即試用 Asana

流行語的名聲不佳,尤其是商業流行語。從免費增值超本地化,這些詞彙的使用如此頻繁,基本上已喪失了所有意義。在 Google 上快速搜尋,便可找到「前 100 個最糟糕的商業流行語」清單,幾乎所有版本的清單都包括了協同作用 (synergy) 一詞。 

如同許多其他的商業流行語,「協同作用」一詞的使用如此氾濫,已經不再具有以往的意義。但每個詞彙的創造背後都有其目的,「協同作用」也不例外。在本文中,我們將深入探討「協同作用」的真正定義,以及如何使用這個詞——它不是流行語,而是團隊成長和影響力的驅動力。

什麼是協同作用? 

當兩個或兩個以上的組織、部門或甚至團隊共同合作以實現有價值的結果時,就會產生協同作用。這個經常被誤用的流行語取自古希臘的哲學思想:「事物的整體大於其各個部份的總和」。事實上,協同作用一詞來自拉丁文 synergia,而這個拉丁字詞又來自希臘文 synergos,意思是「一起工作」或「協作」。

協同作用的核心是幫助您與跨職能夥伴有效地交流、溝通和協作。那麼,為什麼這個詞經常受到嘲諷呢?

使用 Asana 改善團隊溝通

協同作用的流行語起源

商業界的協同作用概念在 1990 年代開始流行起來,當時企業高階主管和投資銀行家利用企業協同作用來取得對併購提案 (M&A) 的支持。

企業協同作用描述的是公司透過合併所獲得的預期附加價值。換句話說,兩家公司透過合併或收購進行合作時,可產生的價值會大於它們各自的影響力總和。主要的原因是規模經濟。合併後的大型企業不僅可以互相支持,還能實現成本縮減,最終提高盈利能力。

有時,企業協同作用描述的不僅是併購過程。例如,當一家公司交叉銷售另一家公司的工作,或出借團隊成員進行跨業務產品開發時,也會使用到企業協同作用。

企業協同作用在實務上很難做到,尤其是財務協同作用,即兩家公司的財務合併。整合兩個業務和這些業務的所有內容 (包括財務、員工、產品、文化和作法) 需要花費大量的時間和精力。如果沒有妥當的變更管理流程,併購流程可能無法實現其預期收益。這種情形稱為負協同作用。

由於有關併購的企業協同作用受到炒作,加上聯合行動成效不彰時可能會產生負面影響,導致「協同作用」一詞現今被視為一個流行語。

請閱讀:什麽是變更管理?建立成功變更管理流程的 6 個步驟

協同作用與團隊合作的關聯

根本上,協同作用描述的是一種共同合作以實現出色成果的方法。雖然這個詞是由企業高階主管共同採用,但它通常不是指合併和收購。畢竟這個詞源自古希臘時期,且早在 1600 年代就已被使用於實務上。

團隊協同作用汲取了「事物的整體大於其部份的總和」的想法,將之應用在團隊合作上。這種正面的協同作用可讓團隊成員在工作上完全展現他們獨特的生活經驗、觀點、才能和溝通風格。事實上,每位成員獨具的觀點正是他們能夠完成最出色工作的原因。藉助每位團隊成員的優勢,同時給予他們互相學習的機會,可讓您的團隊共同實現比他們單獨工作來得更多的成果。

使用 Asana 改善團隊溝通

多元性與協同作用之間的差異

多元性指的是您團隊成員的異同程度。團隊所具有的經驗、背景、觀點和信念愈多樣化,其多元性就愈高。

但我們知道,僅僅重視多樣性是不夠的。這就是多元性及包容性計劃 (D&I) 等業務計劃發揮作用的地方。致力於多元化的團隊意味著努力建立更平等、更具包容力的環境

團隊協同作用的重點在於多元性的「實作」部份。為了實現團隊協同作用,只有一個多元化的團隊是不夠的,您還需要為團隊成員之間的協作和溝通注入能量,以便共同創造美好的成果。當團隊成員可在工作上完整地展現自我時,便能開啟更好的協作和協同作用。

閱讀:Asana 的多元、包容與平等方法

建立團隊協同作用

團隊協同作用可為整個團隊造就有效的團隊合作和高影響力的成果。但就如同所有的人際關係技能,建立團隊協同作用需要時間和努力。為建立團隊協同作用,請嘗試以下三種策略:

1. 由溝通開始做起

溝通是任何強大工作團體的核心所在,對於多元化的團體而言更是如此。多元團隊的價值來自於團隊成員提出的不同意見和經驗,但團隊成員需要能自在地表達自我,以便分享這些經驗。透過有效的工作場所溝通,團隊成員可以自由且準確地表達自我,並更輕鬆地實現協同作用。 

為培養建立良好的工作場合溝通技能,請這麼做: 

  • 確定團隊進行溝通的地方和溝通的主題。當團隊成員知道該在何處溝通時,溝通障礙便會降低。若您還沒有制定溝通計劃並與整個團隊分享,請先進行之。

  • 將雙向溝通視為首要之務。協作式團隊成員 (尤其在多元化的團體中) 的部份工作是傾聽他人的想法,而非只是發表自己的意見。為了培養這些技能,請鼓勵團隊成員練習積極聆聽。

  • 區分事實和故事。區分事實與故事是一種有意識的領導技巧。「事實」是可以觀察到的細節,例如會議的參與者有誰。另一方面,「故事」是您對某個情況的詮釋。藉由區分事實與故事,您可以避免在故事被驗證之前便對其採取行動。

請閱讀:職場有效溝通的 12 個提示

2. 培養信任與協作

團隊成員除了需要知道如何有效溝通之外,還需要在進行溝通時感到自在。請依循團隊協作的最佳作法,為團隊成員保留空間,讓他們得以在工作上完全展現自我。 

若要培養協作:

  • 邀請成員共同創造。團隊協同作用的一個關鍵部份是一起工作,以產生個人無法獨自實現的成果。為此,請不要只是告訴團隊成員一起進行某個專案,而是舉行腦力激盪會議、邀請成員參與討論,並對反對的意見抱持開放態度。共同創造意味著一起構築某個想法,而不是單槍匹馬地朝目標前進。

  • 鼓勵開放式溝通。團隊成員應該要能夠自在地表達他們的感受、針對專案提出意見,或不同意其他隊友的想法。我們時常將意見分歧視為壞事,但健康的反對意見其實是良好團隊協作的關鍵所在。 

  • 透過以身作則來領導建立團隊協作需要時間,而最好的起步方法是仿效您希望在團隊中看到的行為。請確保您總是邀請成員共同創造並鼓勵他們提出新的意見,您會漸漸看到團隊開始仿效同樣的行為。

延伸閱讀:加強團隊協作的 10 個簡易步驟

3. 有意識地制定團體規範

團體規範是指導團隊成員如何互動的潛規則。即便您不制定團隊規範,它們也會隨著您的團隊一起工作而自然發展。如果任其發展,團體規範可能會形成一些不良作法,使團隊成員感到不舒服,最終導致不良的團體互動形態。 

然而,透過積極制定團體規範,您可以讓團隊更輕鬆地進行協作。將這些「潛規則」開誠布公可以減少猜測和不確定性,故團隊成員花在擔心的時間會減少,從而有更多時間完成協作和高影響力的工作。

為避免這種情況,請積極地制定團體規範。若想取得團隊領袖如何制定團體規範的範例,請閱讀我們的透過來自 7 位 Asana 經理的範例,瞭解如何為高績效團隊建立團體規範一文。

再見了,流行語

協同作用不僅僅是每日一詞或無聊的流行語。藉助有效的團隊協同作用,您可以為多元化團隊灌注能量,讓他們豪不費力地合作,並完成最具影響力的工作。 

欲取得如何實現出色團隊合作的提示,請參閱我們的 45 款改善溝通、加深情誼的團隊凝聚遊戲一文。

使用 Asana 改善團隊溝通

相關資源

文章

將冒充者症候群轉變為自信:給經理人及個人的 15 個提示

Beyond the buzzword: How to build team synergy

Julia Martins contributor headshotJulia MartinsJune 25th, 20215 min read
facebooktwitterlinkedin
Beyond the buzzword: How to build team synergy article banner image

Buzzwords get a bad rap—especially business buzzwords. From freemium to hyper local, these terms are used so often that they essentially lose all meaning. A quick Google search yields list upon list of “the top 100 worst business buzzwords”—and nearly all of the lists include synergy. 

Like so many other business buzzwords, synergy has been used so frequently that it doesn’t always pack the punch it used to. But every word has a purpose behind its creation—and synergy is no exception. In this article, we’ll dig into the true definition of synergy, and how to use this term—not as a buzzword—but as a driver for team growth and impact. 

What is synergy? 

Synergy is when two or more things—organizations, departments, or even teams—work together to produce something of value. This commonly misused buzzword takes inspiration from the Ancient Greek philosophy that “the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.” In fact, the word synergy comes from the Latin synergia, which was derived from the Greek word, synergos. Synergos means “to work together” or “to collaborate.”

At its core, synergy is about helping you effectively connect, communicate, and collaborate with cross-functional partners. So why is this word so often ridiculed?

Collaborate in Asana for free

Origins of the synergy buzzword

The concept of synergy in business achieved popularity in the 1990s, when corporate executives and investment bankers used corporate synergy to gain buy-in for proposed mergers and acquisitions (M&As). 

Corporate synergy describes the expected additional value companies achieve by merging. In other words, two companies working together under a merger or acquisition can produce more value than the sum of their individual effects. This is largely due to economies of scale. Larger, merged businesses not only support one another, but they also achieve cost reductions that ultimately lead to higher profitability.

Sometimes, corporate synergy doesn’t just describe the M&A process. It’s also used when a company cross-sells another company’s work, or lends team members for cross-business product development, for example. 

In practice, corporate synergy—and especially financial synergy, which is when two companies merge finances—is hard to achieve. Integrating two businesses and the entirety of what those businesses represent—including finances, employees, products, culture, and practices—takes a lot of time and effort. Without the right change management process, the M&A process can fall short of its intended benefits. This is called negative synergy. 

The hype for corporate synergy in relation to mergers and acquisitions—combined with the potential negative effects when combined action didn’t work out—contributed to the modern-day association with synergy as a buzzword. 

Read: What is change management? 6 steps to build a successful change management process

How synergy relates to teamwork

At its core, synergy describes a way to work together to produce great results. Though this term was co-opted by corporate executives, it doesn’t refer to mergers and acquisitions as a rule. After all, the term comes from ancient Greek and was used in practice as early as the 1600s.

Team synergy takes the idea that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts and applies it to teamwork. This positive synergy enables team members to be their full selves at work—with their unique life experiences, perspectives, talents, and communication styles. In fact, each individual’s unique perspective is exactly what enables a team to get their best work done. By leaning into each team member’s strengths—while also giving them opportunities to learn from one another—your team can achieve much more together than they would be able to do on their own. 

Collaborate in Asana for free

The difference between diversity and synergy

Diversity describes how similar or different your team is. The more varied experiences, backgrounds, perspectives, and beliefs you have on your team, the more diverse your team is. 

But we know that simply valuing diversity isn’t enough. That’s where business initiatives like Diversity and Inclusion programs (D&I) come into play. Committing to a diverse team means doing the work to build a more equitable and inclusive environment.

Team synergy focuses on the "doing the work" part of diversity. In order to achieve team synergy, you can't just have a diverse team, you also need to empower collaboration and communication between team members in order to build something amazing together. When team members can be their full selves at work, they can unlock better collaboration and synergy.

Read: Asana’s approach to Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity

Building team synergy

The team synergy effect leads to effective teamwork and high-impact results across the team. But like all interpersonal skills, building team synergy takes time and effort. To build team synergy, try these three strategies:

1. Start with communication

The core of any strong working group is communication. This is especially true for diverse groups. The value of a diverse group comes from the differences of opinion and experiences that team members bring to the table—but team members need to feel comfortable expressing themselves in order to share those experiences. With effective workplace communication, team members can express themselves freely and accurately, and more effortlessly achieve synergy. 

To start building good workplace communication skills: 

  • Establish where your team should communicate, and about what. When team members understand where to communicate, the barrier to doing so is lower. If you haven’t already, set and share a communication plan with your entire team.

  • Prioritize two-way communication. Part of being a collaborative team member, especially in a diverse group, is listening to other people’s ideas instead of just trying to put your own ideas out there. To build these skills, encourage team members to practice active listening.

  • Differentiate between facts and stories. “Facts vs. stories” is a conscious leadership technique. “Facts” are observable details like who attended a meeting. A “story,” on the other hand, is your interpretation of the situation. By separating stories from facts, you can avoid acting on stories until you’re able to validate them.

Read: 12 tips to effective communication in the workplace

2. Foster trust and collaboration

In addition to knowing how to communicate effectively, team members also need to feel comfortable doing so. Make sure you’re making space for team members to bring their full selves to work by modeling team collaboration best practices

To foster collaboration:

  • Invite co-creation. A key part of team synergy is working on things together to produce something each individual wouldn’t be able to do on their own. To do this, don’t just tell team members to work together on a project. Instead, hold brainstorming sessions, invite discussion, and open the door to disagreement. Co-creation means building an idea together, not chipping away towards a goal separately.

  • Encourage open communication. Team members should feel comfortable saying what they feel, giving their opinion on projects, or disagreeing with other team members. We often treat disagreements like a bad thing, but healthy disagreement is actually key to good team collaboration. 

  • Lead by example. It takes time to build team collaboration—but the best way to get started is to model the behavior you want to see in your team. Make sure you’re always inviting co-creation and welcoming new opinions, and you’ll start to see your team do the same.

Read: 10 easy steps to boost team collaboration

3. Set group norms intentionally 

Group norms are the unspoken rules that guide how team members interact. Even if you don’t set group norms, they will naturally develop as your team works together. Left unchecked, group norms can lead to some bad practices that make team members uncomfortable and, ultimately, lead to bad group dynamics

But by proactively setting group norms, you make it easier for your team to collaborate. Bringing these “unspoken rules” out into the open reduces guesswork and uncertainty, so team members can spend less time worrying and more time getting their collaborative, high-impact work done.

To avoid that, proactively set group norms. For examples of how team leads set group norms, read our article on tips to create group norms for high-performance teams, with examples from 7 Asana managers

Bye, bye, buzzword

Synergy isn’t just the word of the day or a boring buzzword. With effective team synergy, you can empower a diverse team to work together effortlessly—and get their highest-impact work done. 

For more tips on how to enable great teamwork, read our article on 45 team building games to improve communication and camaraderie.

Collaborate in Asana for free

Related resources

Article

Group vs. team: What’s the difference?