Viessmann führt die digitale Arbeitsplatz-Transformation mit Asana durch

Kollegen bei Viessmann
  • Viessmann-Logo
  • Hauptsitz
    • Allendorf, Germany
  • Gegründet
    • 1917
  • Anzahl der Mitarbeiter
    • 12.100+

Asanas Wirkung

  • Die Geschäftsführung von Viessmann steuert ihre gesamte Kommunikationsstrategie mit Asana. Durch die Zentralisierung unternehmensweiter Ankündigungen sind sie in der Lage, die Mitarbeiter in Echtzeit und ohne großen Aufwand über wichtige Vorhaben zu informieren.
  • Produktionsteams nutzen Asana, um bereichsübergreifende Projekte zu optimieren und die Effizienz zu steigern. Dafür schaffen sie Standardprozesse zur Verbesserung des Datenaustauschs und der gesamten Koordination.
  • Durch Asana sind alle Mitarbeiter weltweit in der Lage, über Zeitzonen und Standorte hinweg zusammenzuarbeiten.

Vor hundert Jahren waren Heiz- und Kühlsysteme neu in der industriellen Welt und ein Luxus für diejenigen, die sie in ihren Häusern hatten. Heutzutage können Verbraucher ihre Thermostate vom Urlaub aus, tausende von Kilometern von zu Hause entfernt, steuern, und Wohn- und Industriegebäude können ihre eigenen Temperaturen anhand der Wetterverhältnisse regulieren. An der Spitze der digitalen Transformation von Heizungs-, Industrie- und Kälteanlagen steht das hundertjährige Unternehmen Viessmann mit Sitz in Allendorf (Eder), Deutschland.

Gegründet 1917, produziert Viessmann Heiz- und Kühlsysteme, darunter hocheffiziente Öl- und Gaskessel, Steuerungen, Warmwasserspeicher, Solaranlagen, Hydronikgeräte, Fernwärmenetze und mehr. Ihre über 12.100 Mitarbeiter haben ihren Hauptsitz in Allendorf, einem ländlichen Ort im Norden von Hessen, und erwirtschaften einen Umsatz von 2,37 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr (2017).

Vor einigen Jahren haben Professor Dr. Martin Viessmann und sein Sohn (heute Co-CEO) Max erkannt, wie wichtig es ist, sein Unternehmen in das Zeitalter der intelligenten Geräte, des Internet der Dinge und damit in das Zeitalter der effektiven Zusammenarbeit unter Business- und Operation-Teams von Viessmann zu führen. Extern gehen die Verbrauchertrends für Heiz- und Kühlsysteme in Richtung höherer Effizienz und Zugänglichkeit, egal ob es sich um intelligentere Systeme handelt, die sich an Wettertrends anpassen, oder um ein ferngesteuertes Thermostatsystem.

Diese Veränderungen erforderten die Digitalisierung der Viessmann Geräte. Intern, während mehr und mehr Mitarbeiter Technologie unterwegs, außerhalb des Büros, oder im Laufe Ihrer Karriere verwenden, ist es wichtig, dass es Systeme und Tools gibt, die die Zusammenarbeit unterwegs vereinfachen und den Wissenstransfer und die wachsende Verantwortung unterstützen. Für Max ist die „Digitale Transformation ein Kernbestandteil der nächsten hundert Jahre des Unternehmens.”

Verantwortlich für die Planung und Umsetzung des „Arbeitsplatzes der Zukunft” bei Viessmann ist Alexander Pöllmann, der Smart Office und Collaboration Manager, und sein Team. Seine vor drei Jahren geschaffene Aufgabe ist es, die Zusammenarbeit aller Viessmann-Mitarbeiter unternehmensweit und reibungslos digital zu transformieren.

Alex ist neu in der Branche, aber als selbstbenannter Produktivitätsfanatiker und Technophiler, bietet er eine neue Perspektive, wie man neue Technologien in einer traditionellen Branche einführen und eine Umgebung schaffen kann, in der Mitarbeiter leicht miteinander kommunizieren, zusammenarbeiten und mehr zusammen erledigen können. Alex und seine Teamkollegen arbeiten eng mit der Geschäftsleitung und dem gesamten Unternehmen zusammen, um zu verstehen, wie die Zusammenarbeit bei Viessmann abläuft und um den Prozess der Auswahl neuer Technologien voranzutreiben, mit denen das Unternehmen das digitale Zeitalter einleitet.

Digitale Transformation: Was Warmwasserbereiter und Arbeitsabläufe gemeinsam haben

Der Fokus von Viessmann auf die digitale Transformation ist ein aktueller und kontinuierlicher Prozess, der sowohl für die Produkte als auch für das Unternehmen gilt. Für ihre Produkte bedeutet dies, Smart Tech und das Internet der Dinge in ihren Fahrplan zu integrieren. Um der Konkurrenz immer einen Schritt voraus zu sein und ihre strategischen Partner mitzuziehen, haben sie Integrationen, mobile Anwendungen und energieeffiziente Lösungen entwickelt.

Beispielsweise sind ihre Heizkessel jetzt in Gebäudemanagementsysteme integriert, um die Temperaturregelung zu vereinfachen, und sie haben sich auf alternative Energiequellen wie die Solarenergie ausgeweitet, um sich auf erneuerbare Ressourcen zu konzentrieren und „grün” zu bleiben.

Intern hat eine digitale Transformation ihrer Produkte zu einem großen kulturellen Wandel in der Zusammenarbeit der Teams geführt. Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich ihr Team immer weiter verstreut, ebenso wie die Informationen im gesamten Unternehmen. Beispielsweise ist das Entwicklungsteam (das Hard- und Software zur Anbindung von Kesseln an eine App entwickelt) über mehrere Länder verteilt. Als ihr Team wuchs, hatten sie keinen Ort, an dem alle Information klar abrufbar waren.

Da sie sich auf mehrere Standorte ausdehnten, brauchten sie eine Möglichkeit, Informationen zu zentralisieren und über Zeitzonen hinweg zusammenzuarbeiten. Ohne einen Ort, an dem alles verfolgt werden kann, und ein System der gemeinsamen Kollaboration für die Arbeit an verschiedenen Standorten, stieß das Team auf Schwierigkeiten beim Zugriff auf notwendige Informationen, wodurch sich die Entwicklungszyklen verlangsamten.

„Mit Asana gehört das Wissen unserem Unternehmen und nicht nur den Menschen, die es erschaffen.”

Neben der zunehmenden Unzugänglichkeit beim Informationszugriff war die Software, auf die Viessmann angewiesen war, nicht benutzerfreundlich. Zum Beispiel benötigten Programme bis zu mehreren Minuten zum Hochfahren, was bedeutet, dass Manager jede Woche wertvolle Zeit verloren, weil sie nur darauf warteten, dass ihre Technologie hochfährt. Die Mitarbeiter hatten Mühe, die Tools zu übernehmen und tatsächlich zu nutzen. Das Fehlen einer benutzerfreundlichen Software führte zu Effizienzverlusten.

Mobilität war auch ein Thema: Der Zugang zur Arbeit unterwegs und die Kommunikation mit den Mitarbeitern, egal wo sie sich befinden, ist mit dem Wachstum des Unternehmens wichtiger geworden. Das Entwicklungsteam benötigte zum Beispiel Technologie, die es auf Reisen mitnehmen konnte. Und andere Teams im gesamten Unternehmen brauchten Technologie, die nicht nur mobil war, sondern auf die Partner oder Niederlassungen lediglich über eine Internetverbindung zugreifen konnten.

Alle diese Punkte deuten auf die Notwendigkeit hin, die Arbeitsweise von Viessmann digital zu verändern, um seine Produkte weiterzuentwickeln.

So wird’s gemacht: Die Einführung von Best-in-Class-Kollaborations-Anwendungen

Die Erkenntnis, dass eine digitale Transformation notwendig war, war der erste Schritt zur Umsetzung. Als er anfing, Veränderungen herbeizuführen, war Alex’ erster Schritt, die Bedürfnisse des Unternehmens zu verstehen, um die beste Software auszuwählen, die die Anforderungen erfüllt.

Er analysierte die in dem Zusammenhang stehenden Schmerzpunkte der Mitarbeiter im gesamten Unternehmen – mangelnde Mobilität, nicht benutzerfreundliche Software, Zeit für das Aufspüren von Informationen, eingeschränkte Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit und eine hohe Eintrittsbarriere für Partner oder Tochterfirmen. Dann suchte er nach Lösungen, die es nicht nur den Mitarbeitern ermöglichen, besser zusammenzuarbeiten, sondern die es Viessmann auch erlauben, schneller bessere Produkte zu entwickeln.

Da die tägliche Arbeit der Teams bei Viessmann so unterschiedlich ist, war es eine Herausforderung, Lösungen zu finden, die für alle Mitarbeiter des Unternehmens geeignet sind. Viessmann wählte G Suite und Asana als Hauptbestandteile seiner Betriebssoftware. G Suite fungiert als zentrale Drehscheibe für Dateien (Google Dokumente, Tabellen und Folien), Kommunikation (Google Mail, Hangouts Chat, Hangouts Meet) und Terminplanung (Google Kalender), und Teams verlassen sich auf Asana, um alles an einem Ort aufzubewahren. Für Alex erfüllt Asana drei Schlüsselanforderungen des wachsenden Unternehmens:

  • Asana hält Informationen an einem Ort und sorgt für Transparenz und Zugänglichkeit.
  • Asana ist benutzerfreundlich und einfach zu bedienen
  • Asana ist mobil: Mitarbeiter können jederzeit und überall auf Asana zugreifen.

Zudem läuft die Software nicht ausschließlich auf Unternehmens- oder Nicht-Unternehmensgeräten, so dass die Mitarbeiter jederzeit von jedem beliebigen Gerät aus auf die G-Suite und Asana zugreifen können. Anstatt mehrere Minuten auf das Einschalten eines vollständigen Systems zu warten, können nun alle Mitarbeiter schnell auf Informationen im Web zugreifen und mehr Zeit mit der Arbeit verbringen, die für das Endergebnis des Unternehmens wichtig ist, wie z. B. die Verbesserung von Berichten oder das Testen von Hard- und Software. Das Ausführen von Software, die auf mehreren Geräten funktioniert, hat den Wissenstransfer für das Team erheblich erleichtert, sowohl von einem Gerät zum anderen als auch zwischen den Mitarbeitern.

„Einer der größten Vorteile für unser Unternehmen ist die benutzerfreundliche Software, die von jedem Ort, zu jeder Zeit und von jedem Gerät aus genutzt werden kann.”

Effizienzgewinne: Prozesse digital mit Asana transformieren

Viessmann stellt Asana in den nächsten Monaten unternehmensweit für über 2.500 Mitarbeiter bereit. Bis heute haben sie in drei Bereichen Wirkung gezeigt: IT, Forschung & Entwicklung (F&E) und Berichtswesen.

  • Das Viessmann IT-Team nutzt Asana zur Verfolgung von Sprints: Mit Hilfe von Boards verfolgt das IT-Team den Verlauf der Migration. Sie planen die Arbeit, die während eines Sprints zu erledigen ist, weisen diese jedem Mitarbeiter zu und überprüfen den Fortschritt jede Woche.

  • Das Viessmann F&E-Team verwaltet den Produktentwicklungsprozess mit Asana: Um den Ablauf der Service-Tests zu verfolgen, verwendet das F&E-Team Asana. So können sie jede Testphase jedes einzelnen Produkts verfolgen. Sobald ein Gerät getestet wurde, geht die entsprechende Asana-Aufgabe in die nächste Phase über.

  • Die Führungskräfte von Viessmann nutzen Berichte, um sich einen Überblick über das Geschehen im Unternehmen zu verschaffen: Wenn Führungskräfte spezifische Details über ein Projekt benötigen, weisen sie dem wichtigsten Beteiligten eine Aufgabe zu. In der Fortschritts-Ansicht kann dieser dann problemlos eine Statusaktualisierung vornehmen.

Digitale Transformation: Eine Notwendigkeit, kein Luxus

So wie Heiz- und Kühlsysteme im Alltag vom Luxus zur Notwendigkeit geworden sind, so hat sich auch die digitale Transformation für Unternehmen wie Viessmann entwickelt. Die digitale Vernetzung von Produkten und Mitarbeitern ist entscheidend für den Erfolg des Unternehmens während es weiter wächst. Deshalb ist eine digitale Transformation so zentral für den Erfolg von Viessmann und Tools wie Asana und G Suite werden sie in die nächste Ära der digitalen Produkte und Zusammenarbeit katapultieren.

Lesen Sie weitere Asana-Erfolgsgeschichten

Viessmann is leading the digital workplace transformation with Asana

Colleagues at Viessmann
  • Viessmann logo
  • Headquarters
    • Allendorf, Germany
  • Founded
    • 1917
  • Number of employees
    • 12,100+

One hundred years ago, heating and refrigeration systems were new to the industrial world and a luxury for those who had them in their residences. Nowadays, consumers can control their thermostats from vacation thousands of miles from home, and residential and industrial buildings can regulate their own temperatures based on weather patterns. At the forefront of the digital transformation of heating, industrial, and refrigeration systems sits Viessmann, a hundred-year-old (and counting) company based in Allendorf (Eder), Germany.

Founded in 1917, Viessmann manufactures heating and cooling systems, including high-efficiency oil and gas-fired boilers, controls, domestic hot water tanks, solar systems, hydronic air handlers, district heating networks, and more. Their workforce of over 12,100 employees is headquartered in Allendorf, a rural town in northern Hesse, and brings in an revenue of 2.37 billion Euros per year (2017).

A few years ago, Professor Dr. Martin Viessmann and his son (now Co-CEO), Max, realized the importance of moving his company into the age of smart appliances, internet-of-things, and along with it, what he calls the age of effective collaboration across Viessmann’s business and operational teams. Externally, consumer trends for heating and cooling systems are moving towards greater efficiency and accessibility—whether they’re smarter systems that adjust based on weather trends or a remotely controlled thermostat system.

These shifts have all necessitated the digitalization of Viessmann’s appliances. Internally, with more and more employees using technology on the go, working remotely, or advancing in their careers, it’s important that systems and tools exist to facilitate collaboration on the go, knowledge transfer, and growing responsibilities. For Max, “Digital transformation is core to the company’s next hundred years.”

Responsible for planning and implementing the “future workplace” for Viessmann is Alexander Pöllmann, their Smart Office and Collaboration Manager, and his team. His role, created three years ago, is to ensure a smooth, organization-wide digital transformation of how all Viessmann employees work together.

New to the industry, but a self-described productivity nerd and technophile, Alex offers a fresh perspective on how to introduce new technologies to a traditional industry and create an environment where employees can easily connect, collaborate, and do more together. Alex and his teammates work closely with the executive team and across the company to understand how collaboration happens at Viessmann and to drive the process for selecting new technologies that the organization will use to usher in the digital age.

Digital transformation: What water heaters and workflows have in common

Viessmann’s focus on digital transformation is a current and ongoing process that applies to both their products and their company. For their products, this means incorporating smart tech and the internet of things into their roadmap. To stay ahead of the competition and lead their strategic partners, they’ve been developing integrations, mobile-friendly applications, and energy efficient solutions.

For example, their boilers now integrate with building management systems to make temperature regulation easy and they’ve expanded into alternative energy, such as solar, to focus on renewable resources and staying green.

Internally, a digital transformation of their products has prompted a huge cultural shift in how teams work together. As they have grown over the years, their team has become increasingly dispersed, and so has the information across the company. For example, the development team (that builds hardware and software to connect boilers with an app) is distributed across several different countries. As their team grew, they didn’t have a single source of truth.

Further, as they spread out to more locations, they needed a way to centralize information and collaborate across time zones. Without a source of truth and shared collaboration system for working across different locations, the team encountered trouble accessing necessary information, slowing down their development cycles.

“With Asana, the knowledge belongs to our organization and not just to the people who are creating it.”

In addition to a growing lack of accessibility to information, the software Viessmann depended upon was not user friendly. For example, programs could take up to several minutes to power up, which meant that managers were losing precious time every week just waiting for their technology to boot up. Employees struggled to adopt and actually use the tools. Not having user-friendly software was leading to losses in efficiency.

Mobility was also an issue: accessing work on the go and communicating with coworkers, no matter where they might be, has become more important as the business has grown. The development team, for example, needed technology they could take with them when they traveled. And other teams across the company needed technology that was not only mobile, but that partners or subsidiaries could access with nothing more than an internet connection.

These pain points all pointed towards a need for a digital transformation in how Viessmann was working in order to advance their products.

Making it happen: Rolling out best-in-class collaboration apps

Recognizing that a digital transformation was necessary was the first step to making one happen. When he started working on bringing about change, Alex’s first step was to understand the organization’s needs in order to select the best software to meet them.

He analyzed the pain points people across the organization were feeling—lack of mobility, non user-friendly software, time spent tracking down information, limited possibilities to collaborate, and a high barrier to entry for partners or subsidiaries. He then explored solutions, settling on software and hardware that not only enables employees to work better together, but also helped Viessmann develop better products, faster.

Because teams at Viessmann vary so widely in their day to day work, choosing solutions that suited people across the organization was a challenge. Viessmann chose G Suite and Asana as the main parts of their operating software. G Suite acts as a central hub for files (Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides), communication (Gmail, Hangouts Chat, Hangouts Meet), and scheduling (Google Calendar), and teams rely on Asana to keep everything in one place. For Alex, Asana serves three key needs of the growing organization:

  • Asana centralizes information and provides transparency and accessibility
  • Asana is user friendly and easy to adopt
  • Asana is mobile: Employees can access Asana wherever and whenever they need to.

Finally, the software isn’t restricted to use on corporate or non corporate devices, allowing employees to access both G Suite and Asana from anywhere with any device at any time. Instead of waiting several minutes for a full client to turn on, now all employees can access information quickly on the web and spend more time doing the work that matters to the company’s bottom line, like supporting their reports or testing hardware and software. Running software that works on multiple devices has made knowledge transfer much easier for the team, both from one device to another and between employees.

“One of the biggest benefits to our company has been having user-friendly software that can be used from any place, at any time, from any device.”

Efficiency gains: Digitally transforming processes with Asana

Viessmann is rolling out Asana company-wide to over 2,500 employees over the next few months. To date, they’ve seen an impact in three areas: IT, R&D, and reporting.

  • Viessmann’s IT team uses Asana to track sprints: Using Boards, the IT team tracks how their migrations are going. They’ll map out the work to be done during a sprint, assign it out to each employee, and check in weekly.

  • Viessmann’s R&D team uses Asana to manage the product development process: To track the flow of testing services, the R&D team uses Asana to track the stage of each product in testing. For example, once a device has been tested, the task representing it will move to the next stage, then on to testing, and so forth.

  • Viessmann’s executives rely on reports for a high-level overview of what’s happening across the company: When executives need to know specific details about a project, they’ll assign the key stakeholder a task. Then, using dashboards and progress reports, the key stakeholder can easily share an update.

Digital transformation: A necessity, not a luxury

Just as heating and cooling systems have gone from a luxury to a necessity in our everyday lives, so has digital transformation for companies like Viessmann. Keeping both products and employees connected digitally is essential to the success of the organization as it grows. This is why a digital transformation is so central to Viessmann’s success, and why tools such as Asana and G Suite will help catapult them into the next era of digital products and collaboration.

Read more Asana Success Stories

Explore Asana

Asana is the easiest way for teams to track their projects and tasks, so they can get results.

Marketing Campaign

Marketing Campaign

Product Launch

Product Launch

Company Goals

Company Goals

Mission to the Moon

Mission to the Moon

Organize your work

Set clear tasks and milestones to give your team clarity on what needs to be done.

Organize your work

Help your team hit their deadlines

Let each marketer know exactly what work they’re responsible for with clear assignees and due dates.

Help your team hit their deadlines

Hit your deadline

Map out your campaign plan to visualize how all the pieces fit together, spot potential issues, and keep work on track.

Hit your deadline

Have actionable conversations

Ask questions or give updates with the work that’s being done, so conversations turn into actions.

Have actionable conversations

Attach files to your work

Tie shared docs, design files, and budget spreadsheets together so your team isn’t searching for info.

Attach files to your work

View work at a glance

Look at work on a calendar to keep an eye on timing and rally around important dates

View work at a glance

Track your progress

Keep up to date on project progress and quickly spot when things are off track.

Track your progress

Work on the go

Whether you’re meeting with a vendor, at a conference, or out of office, stay connected with Asana for mobile.

Work on the go

Run successful programs, every time

Asana helps marketing teams plan, manage, track, and launch initiatives that engage their audience.

Run successful programs, every time

Map out each step

Map out critical steps—from development to launch—so everyone has clarity on the roadmap.

Map out each step

Know who’s got the ball

Give clear owners and due dates for each piece of the launch, so you can release on time.

Know who’s got the ball

Launch on time

See how the pieces of your plan fit together so you can make adjustments and keep work on track.

Launch on time

Keep everyone up-to-date

Make sure important updates and conversations don’t get buried in email threads by connecting them to your work.

Keep everyone up-to-date

Store work in one place

Attach files to your project, so everyone knows where to find the correct info.

Store work in one place

Track dates and milestones

Keep an eye on important dates by viewing launch plans on a calendar.

Track dates and milestones

See what’s on track, and what isn’t

See how work is progressing to make sure you’re on track to hit your deadlines and goals.

See what’s on track, and what isn’t

Stay connected, wherever you are

Stay up to date on how your launch is progressing no matter where you are with Asana for mobile.

Stay connected, wherever you are

Ready, set, launch!

Asana helps product teams hit deadlines—so they can launch great products.

Ready, set, launch!

Map out priorities

Create tasks for each goal so everyone has visibility into company-wide objectives.

Map out priorities

Determine the right point person

Assign each goal to the appropriate person, so everyone knows who’s responsible, and who to go to with questions.

Determine the right point person

Make a plan to hit your goals

See how each milestone ladders up to your goals so you can feel confident you’ll hit your targets.

Make a plan to hit your goals

Share info and give updates

Keep stakeholders up to date on the latest info and progress, with updates and comments tied directly to your goals.

Share info and give updates

Attach important files

Integrate Asana with your file sharing tools to keep all your important docs in one place.

Attach important files

Keep an eye on important dates

Look at your initiative deadlines and milestones on a calendar to make sure you’ve nailed the timing.

Keep an eye on important dates

Track company progress

Understand what objectives are on track, and what needs your attention so you can hit your goals.

Track company progress

Stay in the loop

Get updates and weigh in on important decisions wherever you are, with Asana for mobile.

Stay in the loop

Hit your goals

Asana gives your team visibility into your organization’s goals, so everyone stays focused on what matters most.

Hit your goals

Get ready for the mission

Map out each step of your mission, so you don’t forget anything as you shoot for the stars.

Get ready for the mission

Know who’s in charge

Assign clear owners for each task, so your pilot, commander, and flight engineer know what they need to do.

Know who’s in charge

Map out each step

Create a launch plan so you can chart your course from start to finish, share it with your team, and modify it as conditions change.

Map out each step

Make sure all systems are a go

Ask important questions, have conversations, and give status updates to get your crew ready for launch day.

Make sure all systems are a go

Tie it all together

Connect Asana to the other tools you need for your mission, so all your information lives in the same place.

Tie it all together

Keep your eye on the prize

View each milestone on a calendar, so you can track important dates leading up to takeoff.

Keep your eye on the prize

Track your progress

See what’s on track, and what isn’t, so you can be sure you’re ready for launch day.

Track your progress

Work from anywhere

Keep up to date whether you’re in the office or on the moon, just make sure you have internet connection!

Work from anywhere

3, 2, 1… blastoff!

With Asana, your crew can shoot for the moon, and get there. All it takes is one small step…

3, 2, 1… blastoff!