devCAT 藉助 Asana 改善其端到端遊戲製作

Asana 案例研究 - devCAT - 專案經理
  • devCat 標誌
  • 位置
    • 韓國、全球

Asana 影響力

  • 每個人都能看見所有工作內容,因此顯著減少了遺忘或遺漏的任務數目
  • 工作內容置於一處地方後,改善了團隊之間的協作
  • 使用單一事實來源,更順暢地進行季度規劃

Mabinogi 是一款非常熱門的大型多人線上角色扮演遊戲,遊玩 Mabinogi 時,一切事情都有可能會發生。愛爾琳 (Erinn) 是一處歷經百年戰爭肆虐的地方,在這片神秘土地上,玩家可以選擇將自己塑造成英雄、惡棍,甚或是派對動物。豐富無窮的選擇也是構成遊戲魅力的一環。韓國遊戲 Mabinogi 可在全球不同國家或地區的電腦上遊玩。遊戲開發公司 devCAT 是遊戲巨頭 Nexon Korea 旗下的子公司,於 2004 年開發出 Mabinogi。因此,當這個深受數百萬人喜愛的故事需要有一個行動版本時,devCAT 也便順理成章肩負起這一重要使命。

將電腦版遊戲轉換為行動版本並非易事,尤其是在粉絲的熱切期盼之下。沒有人會比 devCAT 的專案經理主管 Kyungha Kim 更明白這一點。Kyungha 帶領其他五名專案經理,透過連結團隊、組織工作流程並維持品質保證,監督著遊戲的開發。Kyungha 及其團隊協助將大約 200 名員工大致上分為 30 個團隊,為其組織工作內容。專案經理負責讓遊戲開發順利推進,當管理工作遇到困難時,團隊便尋求解決方案。

防止遺忘任務

若有某些工作內容被忽視或被遺忘時,Kyungha 和她的團隊會把這部分內容稱為「black boxing (黑盒子)」。以不同方式和不同工具來管理工作,導致 devCAT 不時出現黑盒子現象。若使用試算表,專案經理便難以同時追蹤多個任務,因為需要詢問到每個人的進度才能得到更新。這意味著專案經理無法一次評估並報告多個任務的狀態。

雖然 devCAT 曾有兩種可使用的工作管理工具,但其中一種過於複雜 (因此採用率較低),另一種則只能用於組織文件。除了被遺忘的任務以外,也難以實現最佳工作可視性,因為所有內容都分散在各種不同的工具中。這導致規劃季度里程碑和管理團隊工作變得更困難、更費時。

Kyungha 和她的團隊需要一種既簡便又足夠強大的解決方案來管理其開發流程。最理想的狀態會是:

  • 可一眼查看工作進度,改善規劃
  • 任務可以明確指派,防止發生黑盒子
  • 針對工作負荷提供深入解析,以便更好地分配工作
  • 提升可視度,以便更好地進行跨團隊協作

試用過多種工作管理平台後,Asana 脫穎而出成為最佳選擇。像是規則和時間軸等功能都能改善專案管理,而直觀的介面則可以確保員工真正用上這一平台。

Kyungha 和她的專案經理團隊引入了 Asana 這樣一款開箱即用的平台。他們建立了一些規則,用以將專案分配、任務指派和截止時間排定等事務自動化。每個團隊都經過訓練,瞭解如何透過可以隨時再次查看的分步投影片,管理他們在 Asana 中的工作和專案。有了這一清晰的實施計劃,加上 Asana 易於使用,整個 devCAT 團隊得以迅速採用。

「相比我們嘗試過的其他平台,Asana 更易於使用,因此我們的組織更快採用了 Asana。」
- 專案經理主管 Kyungha Kim

藉助 Asana 管理端到端生產

現在,從設計圖形到組建遊戲功能,Asana 都能用於管理整個遊戲生產流程。從開發到設計,每一個團隊都使用 Asana 專案來管理其工作。若任務與更大型的專案關聯,像是季度目標等,這些任務就會新增到關聯專案中,這樣每個人都能夠運用相同的資訊進行工作。專案管理團隊也能藉此清楚掌握整家公司所進行的全部工作內容,並透過時間軸檢視來深入洞悉更大型的專案進展。規則的設定也使已經完成的任務可以自動移動到「已完成」區段,從而更便於查看未完成的任務。

「從設計圖形到評估使用者體驗,我們都可以使用 Asana 來管理整個遊戲製作流程。Asana 可針對整個公司範圍內的所有工作,為我們提供清晰的檢視,這是我們以前從未有過的體驗。」
- 專案經理主管 Kyungha Kim

跨團隊工作變得清晰透明後,「黑盒子」的問題也隨之顯著減少。現在,人們使用一種工具,無需將精力過度投注於協調工作,從而節省了時間,整家公司也能夠更好地進行協作。devCAT 並非唯一特例,2021 年工作剖析指數中,員工的時間裡有 60% 花費在工作協調上。藉助 Asana,devCAT 從內部降低了這一比例,工作效率因而得以提升。

「現在,我們所有任務都在 Asana 中進行分類。被遺忘的、未完成的任務數目因此顯著減少。」
- 專案經理主管 Kyungha Kim

展望未來

devCAT 的團隊將繼續努力,讓 Mabinogi 行動版成為現實。不久後,人們就能夠直接在行動裝置上感受 Mabinogi 的魅力。Asana 也將繼續為團隊管理流程及其未來專案的每一步盡心協助。

devCAT improves end-to-end game production with Asana

Asana Case Study - devCAT - project manager
  • devCat logo
  • Locations
    • Korea, Global

Asana Impact

  • Significantly reduced tasks being forgotten or missed because all work is visible to everyone
  • Improved collaboration across teams thanks to work in one place
  • Smoother quarterly planning using one source of truth

When you play Mabinogi, a very popular massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG), anything is possible. Set in the mystical Erinn, a land where a century-old battle rages, players can choose to craft themselves as heroes, villains, or even party animals. The choices are infinite and that’s part of the magic. A South Korean game, Mabinogi is available on desktop in different countries around the world. Game developer devCAT, a subsidiary of gaming giant Nexon Korea, developed Mabinogi in 2004. So, when the need for a mobile version of the story loved by millions arose, it made sense that devCAT be tasked with the important mission.

Converting a desktop game to a mobile version is no easy feat, especially when fan expectations are high. No one knows this better than Kyungha Kim, Head Project Manager at devCAT. Kyungha, who leads five other project managers, oversees game development by connecting teams, organising work processes, and maintaining quality assurance. Overall, Kyungha and her team help organise the work of around 200 employees who are split into 30 teams. Project Managers are trusted to keep game development on track, so when managing work became difficult the team sought a solution.

Preventing forgotten tasks

When a piece of work is unaccounted for or forgotten, Kyungha and her team call it “black boxing”. Work managed in different ways and in different tools resulted in occassionalblack boxing at devCAT. Using spreadsheets made it hard for project managers to track multiple tasks at once because documents were updated by asking each individual about their progress. This meant project managers could not assess and report on the status of more than one task at a time.

While devCAT had two work management tools available at the time, one was too complex (and so had low adoption rates) and the other was only specialised for organising documentation. Along with forgotten tasks, top-level visibility into work was difficult to glean because everything was scattered across different tools. This made planning quarterly milestones and managing team workloads challenging and time consuming.

Kyungha and her team needed a solution that was simple, yet powerful enough to manage their development processes. Ideally it would:

  • Show work progress at a glance to improve planning
  • Allow tasks to be clearly assigned to prevent black boxing
  • Provide insight into workloads for better work distribution
  • Improve visibility for better collaboration across teams

After trialling several work management platforms, Asana became the top choice. Features like Rules and Timeline would improve project management and the intuitive interface ensured staff would actually use the platform.

Kyungha and her team of project managers introduced Asana as a ready-to-use platform. They created rules to automate steps for things like project distribution, task assignation, and deadline scheduling. Each team was trained on how to manage their work and projects in Asana through step-by-step slide decks that could be viewed again at any time. This clear implementation plan, plus Asana’s ease-of-use, led to rapid adoption by the entire devCAT team.

“Asana was easier to use than other platforms we’d tried so it was adopted faster by our organisation.”
- Kyungha Kim, Head Project Manager

Managing end-to-end production with Asana

Asana is now used to manage the entire game production process–from designing graphics to building game features. Every team from development to design uses an Asana project to manage their work. When tasks are relevant to larger projects, like quarterly goals, they are also added into those projects so everyone is working off of the same information. This gives the project management team a clear view of all work happening across the company and insight into how bigger projects are tracking with the Timeline view. Rules are set up so completed tasks are automatically moved into a “Completed” section which makes spotting unfinished tasks much easier.

“We use Asana to manage our entire game production process–from designing graphics to assessing user experience. It gives us a clear view of all work happening across the company, something we never had before.”
- Kyungha Kim, Head Project Manager

The result of this new transparency into work happening across teams is that “black boxing” has been significantly reduced. The entire company now collaborates better because they are using one tool and time is saved because people are no longer so focused on coordinating work. devCAT wasn’t alone in this; the 2021 Anatomy of Work Idex found 60% of employee time is spent on work coordination. With Asana, devCAT has reduced this statistic internally so they’re working more efficiently.

“All our tasks are now categorised in Asana. As a result, the number of forgotten, incomplete tasks has decreased significantly.”
- Kyungha Kim, Head Project Manager

Looking to the future

The team at devCAT will continue working hard to bring Mabinogi Mobile to life. Soon enough, people will be able to enjoy the magic of Mabinogi right from their mobile device. Asana will continue to help the team manage the process, and their future projects, every step of the way.