Air France KLM 透過 Asana 維持全球各地的營運順利進行

Air France KLM
  • Air France KLM 標誌
  • 員工總數
    • 84,000
  • 退款請求與詐欺偵測數目
    • 25 萬
  • 位於布達佩斯的員工數目
    • 200

Asana 影響力

  • 使 6 人團隊能夠為 1,500 名來自全球各地的員工高效實施新的業務工具和流程
  • 協助團隊執行可逐年提高 Air France KLM FSSC 效率的專案,從而降低其提供服務的單位成本。
  • 讓分佈於全球各地的員工可遠距工作,同時跨辦公室無縫協作。

2004年,Air France 與 KLM 合併,成為歐洲最大的航空公司。雖然這兩家來自法國和荷蘭的航空公司將其強大的民族品牌特徵保留了下來,但它們現在已將部分業務整合於一地。

「兩家航空公司聯合的成果之一,就是建立了一個聯合金融服務中心,以此作為兩家航空公司的會計中心,」Air France KLM FSSC 業務發展經理 Tamas Kadar 說道。聯合金融服務中心位於布達佩斯,擁有 200 名員工。Tamas 解釋:「整個 Air France KLM 組織都在努力提高效率和生產力。在布達佩斯設立服務中心,我們就能夠利用這幾個競爭優勢:位置、基礎設施、人員配置和經濟性。」選擇布達佩斯是因為它在地理上靠近阿姆斯特丹並且處於同一時區。這也是招聘受過高等教育的多語種勞動力的好地方。這就意味著他們可以利用規模經濟,相比在不同城市營運大量獨立的財務中心,其營運可以更高效、成本更低。

對於布達佩斯辦公室的工作人員和工作負荷,最大和最全面的擴展就是 Air France 會計業務的遷移。從銷售管理、新的收入和會計系統的變化開始,並隨來自大約 150 個國家/地區的會計活動遷移而持續。除了財務營運,布達佩斯辦公室還為大約 25 萬筆退款請求的退款計算和欺詐偵測提供服務。

Tamas 的職責是管理業務開發團隊並接管其他全球團隊的活動,業務開發團隊需負責開發應用程式,以提高會計流程和其他業務營運的效率。例如,他的團隊需負責監督 KLM 退款處理系統的持續改進事務。

小團隊,大力量

在將兩家航空公司轉移到同一平台上的同時,維持一切順利運作也是一項不可小覷的壯舉。而更不可思議的是:包括 Tamas 在內,業務開發團隊僅有六個人。這個團隊在布達佩斯工作,但他們的工作可能會對整個航空公司 84,000 多名員工和全球 500 名專門從事財務和會計工作的員工產生影響。

為如此龐大的員工群體服務需要進行大量協作:分佈於布達佩斯和巴黎/阿姆斯特丹的業務開發團隊與創新團隊及應用程式支援團隊需要密切合作。其工作性質意味著他們需要在來自不同地點和專業領域的多個團隊之間進行協調。他們正尋求一個可靠的系統,幫助有效地管理和協調他們的所有專案,讓每個身處不同地點的人員都能維持資訊同步,並且讓他們可以快速報告進度。他們還需要輕鬆組建甘特圖,並且要能夠與其他應用程式整合。對於 Tamas 和他在 Air France KLM 的團隊來說,這個系統就是 Asana。

高效開發應用程式以利提高效率

在業務開發團隊中,很大一部分職責是透過技術滿足員工的需求。例如,Tamas 的團隊實施了一個內部員工應用程式,透過電子學習、線上模擬和集中培訓材料來為新同事處理入職和培訓。以前,這些事務都是以非標準方式單獨完成,且需要穿插在工作中,材料也分散在 FSSC 的伺服器上。現在,員工可以更輕鬆地透過標準學習路徑獲得指導,以便利用這一應用程式取得其工作所需的特定知識。

雖然完成所有這一切事務的軟體是現成的,Tamas 表示:「我們有一些非常具體的需求,因此應用程式需要自訂化。」這一團隊與英國的開發人員進行合作,對應用程式進行自訂。

對特性與功能的想法通常來自於最常使用應用程式的人:員工。當他們對應用程式變更有了想法時,他們可以透過表單提交請求。Tamas 解釋道:「這會變成一項 Asana 中的任務,可以確保我們在定義、記錄和指明新功能的過程中追蹤到每一個步驟,然後進行組建。」

他們還使用 Asana 分流透過不同管道接收到的請求:電子郵件、面對面討論等。運用 Jotform 整合,Tamas 的團隊得以將所有接收到的請求彙整為 Asana 專案,並為其安排優先順序。

從收集改善的構想、組建功能到進行測試與錯誤修復,Asana 透過這每一個步驟,協助 Air France KLM FSSC 不斷改善其應用程式與整體體驗。Tamas 說道:「這些工具讓他們的生活變得更輕鬆、更高效、成本更低、壓力更少,而 Asana 也讓我們可以高效地進行應用程式改進。」

大型專案也能化繁為簡

Tamas 的團隊還需對他們稱之為創新專案的事務進行管理,或者需要在為 FSSC 處理影響中央營運的大型專案。這些專案的構想通常來自於營運團隊,或是位於巴黎和阿姆斯特丹的總部。業務開發團隊往往需要同時處理多達十個不同的創新專案。

這方面的一個很好的範例,就是 Air France KLM 為支付發票,在全球範圍內實施了新的 OCR 解決方案,實現了發票識別和轉送的自動化。

由於系統升級過程中遺失了範本,他的團隊需要負責處理大量資料遷移和嚴格的使用者測試。

Tamas 說道:「我們的第一個想法就是在試算表中管理遷移,但文件過於繁瑣,我們無法進行即時協作。因此,我們將任務匯入到 Asana 中。」他解釋說。這是一項不小的壯舉:為了完成這個專案,需要將 11,000 多個任務指派給 40 個人處理。

Air France KLM 照片

管理如此龐大的專案,運用 Asana 即可讓一切井井有條,任務可以明確分配並指派給團隊成員,而且易於追蹤進度。快速查看 Asana 儀表板,可讓團隊瞭解是否已取得進展,或是否存在讓他們放慢步調的挑戰。

除了提供明晰度並且實現即時協作以外,「團隊真的很喜歡使用 Asana,因為這樣可以輕鬆追蹤他們的進度,確定事情發生滯後的地方或存在的問題。」Tamas 說道。透過查看儀表板,他們可以快速瞭解自己距離實現目標還有多遠,而且「他們喜歡把慶祝任務完成的圖騰動物作為額外的動力來源。」

除了讓員工可以追蹤自己的進度以外,Tamas 還可以從 Asana 快速匯出資料,向他的經理展示團隊所取得的進展。例如,當他需要向他的老闆匯報專案的進展情況時,就可以輕鬆地將資料從 Asana 匯出至 CSV,然後製作成一份透視表。「我可以輕鬆地向老闆展示我們的進度,以及在年底前可以實現的目標。」他說。

複雜的報告,精心地策劃

對於 Air France KLM FSSC 而言,資料對於制定決策和執行營運方面至關重要。收集資料並管理報告請求是業務開發團隊工作的關鍵部分。Tamas 說道:「在如此規模的組織中,即時資料和效能評定報告非常重要,以便能夠將資源轉移到最需要的地方,或針對流程確定出可進一步改善的領域。」營運報告可幫助管理層做出更明智的決策,例如更好地瞭解待辦項目。他們可以使用報告進行評估,如是否因夏天假期而導致人員不足,致使產生某些臨時待辦項目,或是由於工作負荷增加而導致永久性問題發生。

Tamas 的一部分職責是要為上層管理人員提供這些複雜的報告。但是為了讓報告達到必要的水平,需要向眾多資料來源進行諮詢,並將其提供給營運經理和最高管理層,以獲得月度和年度報告。所產生的報告非常複雜:每份報告可能需要兩到三個月的時間來準備。而透過 Asana,Tamas 的團隊可以追蹤哪個團隊請求了報告、每個報告的資料來源是什麼、篩選資料的變數以及所涉及的人數。

「我們在 Asana 中使用自訂欄位來幫助我們為報告請求安排優先順序,並且明確誰正在處理何事,從而產生報告。」Tamas 說道。透過將任務明確指派給團隊成員,他們可以有效地規劃工作負荷和報告的交付日期。有了及時、準確的報告,管理層就可以反過來為整個組織做出以資料為依據的決策。

更高效地工作

藉助 Asana,Tamas 的團隊得以瞭解實現目標所需完成的事務,從而能夠追蹤正在進行的所有工作內容、查看進度,並且在更短的時間裡完成更多事務。

Tamas 估計,若他們不曾在有 11,000 個任務的會計遷移專案中運用 Asana,「可能會需要至少再多兩個月才能完成。」而藉助 Asana,他們得以在短短三個月內就完成 OCR 最佳化專案。

「就速度而言,我們確實看到 Asana 在管理專案上為我們所帶來得巨大的效率優勢。」Tamas 說道。憑藉其易用性,Asana 已成為 Tamas 團隊工作方式中不可或缺的一部分。「它使用起來非常直觀,而且易於學習,團隊無需進行培訓就可以開始使用。」Tamas 和他的團隊還有什麼意外收穫? 運用智慧型手機應用程式,就能在休息區喝咖啡時,輕鬆討論任務和專案。

Air France KLM FSSC keeps operations running smoothly worldwide with Asana

Air France KLM
  • Air France KLM logo
  • Total number of employees
    • 84,000
  • Number of refund requests and fraud detection
    • 250 thousand
  • Number of employees in Budapest
    • 200

When Air France and KLM merged in 2004, they became the largest airline in Europe. Although the two airlines retained their strong, national brand identities—French and Dutch—they now house some of their operations under one roof.

“One of the fruits of marrying the two airlines was establishing a joint financial services center, which serves as an accounting center for both airlines,” says Tamas Kadar, a Business Development Manager at Air France KLM FSSC. The joint financial services center is located in Budapest and staffed by 200 people. “The whole Air France KLM organization strives to be more efficient and productive,” explains Tamas. “Having our service center in Budapest allows us to leverage several competitive advantages: location, infrastructure, staffing, and the economy,” he says. Budapest was selected because it’s geographically close to Amsterdam and in the same time zone. It’s also a great place to recruit a highly educated, multilingual workforce. This means they can take advantage of economies of scale and make operations more efficient and less costly than running a slew of separate financial centers in different cities.

The largest and most comprehensive addition of both staff and workload to the Budapest office was the migration of the Air France accounting operations. This began with a change in the sales administration, new revenue and accounting systems, and continued with the migration of accounting activities from approximately 150 countries. Besides running financial operations, the Budapest office also provides refund calculation of the 250 thousand or so refund requests and fraud detection.

In his role, Tamas manages the business development team, which develops applications to improve efficiencies in the accounting process and other business operations, as well as taking over activities from other global teams. For example, his team oversees the continuous improvement of KLM’s Refund Processing System.

A small team with a big impact

Keeping everything running smoothly while moving both airlines onto the same platforms was no small feat. Even more incredible: consider that the business development team only has six people on it, including Tamas. The team works out of Budapest, but their work may affect a workforce of more than 84,000 across the entire airline and 500 people working specifically in finance and accounting worldwide.

Serving such a large workforce necessitates a lot of collaboration: The business development team works closely with the innovation team and the application support team, who are in Budapest and in Paris/Amsterdam. The nature of their work means that they need to coordinate across multiple teams at different locations and professional areas. They were looking for a reliable system that would help them effectively manage and coordinate all their projects, keep everyone in different locations on the same page, and give them the ability to quickly report on their progress. They also needed to be able to easily build Gantt charts and integrate with other applications. For Tamas and his team at Air France KLM, that system is Asana.

Effectively developing apps to improve efficiency

A large part of the Business Development team’s responsibility is serving employee needs through technology. For example, Tamas’s team implemented an internal employee app for onboarding and training new colleagues through e-learning, online simulations and centralized training material. These were done individually and on-the-job before in a non-standard manner and materials were scattered around on the server of the FSSC. Employees can now more easily be guided through a standard learning path to acquire the specific knowledge needed for their job with the app.

Although the software to accomplish all of this is off-the-shelf, “the application needs to be customized because we have some very specific needs,” says Tamas. The team works with developers in the UK to customize the app.

Ideas for features and functionality often come from the people using the app the most: employees. When they have ideas for changes to the app, they can submit a request through a form. “This becomes a task in Asana where we can ensure that every step is tracked in defining, documenting, and specifying a new functionality—and then building it,” explains Tamas.

They also use Asana to triage request they receive via several channels: email, in person discussions, and more. Using the Jotform integration, Tamas’ team can route all incoming requests to an Asana project and prioritize them.

Asana helps Air France KLM FSSC constantly improve their apps and general experience through every step of the way, from gathering ideas for improvements and building out the features to testing them and fixing bugs. “The tool makes their lives easier, more efficient, cheaper, and less stressful,” says Tamas, “and Asana makes us more efficient at delivering on app improvements.”

Large scale projects, simplified

Tamas’s team also manages what they call innovation projects, or representing the FSSC in large projects that affect central operations. Ideas for these projects usually originate from the operations team or head offices in Paris and Amsterdam. The business development team typically works on up to ten different innovation projects at once.

A prime example of this was when Air France KLM implemented a new OCR solution for payable invoices on a global scale, automating invoice recognition and routing.

Due to a loss of templates during a system upgrade, his team was charged with the migration of tons of data and rigorous user testing.

“Our first thought was to manage the migration in a spreadsheet, but the document would have been too cumbersome and we wouldn’t be able to collaborate on it in real time,” says Tamas. “So instead, we imported the tasks to Asana,” he explains. Doing so was no small feat: Completing the project required more than 11,000 tasks assigned to 40 people.

Air France KLM photo

Using Asana to manage such an expansive project meant that everything was organized, tasks were clearly distributed and assigned to team members, and progress was easy to track. A quick look at the Asana dashboard let the team know if they were making progress or if challenges had slowed them down.

In addition to providing clarity and enabling real-time collaboration, “The team really loved using Asana because it was easy to follow their progress and identify where things were lagging or there were issues,” says Tamas. Looking at their dashboards gave them a quick snapshot of how close they were to reaching their goal, and “They loved the celebration animals as an added source of motivation.”

In addition to employees tracking their own progress, Tamas can export data quickly from Asana to show his managers the progress the team has made. For example, if he needs to update his boss on how a project is going, he can simply export the data from Asana into a CSV and make a pivot table out of it. “I can easily show my boss where we are and where we can be by the end of the year,” he says.

Complex reporting, carefully planned

For Air France KLM FSSC, data is paramount when it comes to making decisions and running operations. Gathering data and managing report requests is a key part of the business development team’s work. “In an organization of this size, real-time data and benchmark reports are very important, to be able to shift resources where they are needed the most or to pinpoint areas where a process can be further improved” says Tamas. Operational reports help management make more informed decisions, such as better understanding a backlog. They can use reports to evaluate whether something is a temporary backlog because of understaffing due to summer holidays, or a permanent issue because of increased workload.

Part of Tamas’ role is to provide these complex reports for higher management. But to achieve the level of reporting necessary, there are many data sources that need to be consulted and made available to operational managers and to top management for monthly and annual reports. And the reports generated are complex: Each report can take two to three months to prepare. With Asana, Tamas’ team keeps track of which team requested reports, what the data source for each report will be, the variables to filter the data, and how many people are involved.

“We use custom fields in Asana to help us prioritize reporting requests and to give clarity on who is doing what to generate them,” Tamas says. With tasks clearly assigned to team members, they can effectively plan their workloads and the delivery dates of the reports. And with accurate reports in their hands in a timely manner, management can in turn make data-driven decisions for the entire organization.

Working more efficiently

With Asana, Tamas’ team can track all of the work they’re doing, see their progress, and accomplish more in less time because they know what needs to be done to achieve their goals.

Tamas estimates that if they hadn’t used Asana for their 11,000-task accounting migration project, it “would have taken at least two months longer to finish.” With Asana, they were able to complete the OCR optimization project in just three months.

“In terms of speed, we really see that Asana brings us huge efficiency wins when managing a project,” says Tamas. With its ease of use, Asana has become an indispensable part of the way Tamas’ team works. “It’s very intuitive to use and easy to learn—the team was able to start using it all by themselves without the need of a training.” An added bonus for Tamas and his team? The smartphone app, which makes it easy to discuss tasks and projects while having a coffee in their lounge area.

Read more Asana Success Stories

Explore Asana

Asana is the easiest way for teams to track their projects and tasks, so they can get results.

Marketing Campaign

Marketing Campaign

Product Launch

Product Launch

Company Goals

Company Goals

Mission to the Moon

Mission to the Moon

Organize your work

Set clear tasks and milestones to give your team clarity on what needs to be done.

Organize your work

Help your team hit their deadlines

Let each marketer know exactly what work they’re responsible for with clear assignees and due dates.

Help your team hit their deadlines

Hit your deadline

Map out your campaign plan to visualize how all the pieces fit together, spot potential issues, and keep work on track.

Hit your deadline

Have actionable conversations

Ask questions or give updates with the work that’s being done, so conversations turn into actions.

Have actionable conversations

Attach files to your work

Tie shared docs, design files, and budget spreadsheets together so your team isn’t searching for info.

Attach files to your work

View work at a glance

Look at work on a calendar to keep an eye on timing and rally around important dates

View work at a glance

Track your progress

Keep up to date on project progress and quickly spot when things are off track.

Track your progress

Work on the go

Whether you’re meeting with a vendor, at a conference, or out of office, stay connected with Asana for mobile.

Work on the go

Run successful programs, every time

Asana helps marketing teams plan, manage, track, and launch initiatives that engage their audience.

Run successful programs, every time

Map out each step

Map out critical steps—from development to launch—so everyone has clarity on the roadmap.

Map out each step

Know who’s got the ball

Give clear owners and due dates for each piece of the launch, so you can release on time.

Know who’s got the ball

Launch on time

See how the pieces of your plan fit together so you can make adjustments and keep work on track.

Launch on time

Keep everyone up-to-date

Make sure important updates and conversations don’t get buried in email threads by connecting them to your work.

Keep everyone up-to-date

Store work in one place

Attach files to your project, so everyone knows where to find the correct info.

Store work in one place

Track dates and milestones

Keep an eye on important dates by viewing launch plans on a calendar.

Track dates and milestones

See what’s on track, and what isn’t

See how work is progressing to make sure you’re on track to hit your deadlines and goals.

See what’s on track, and what isn’t

Stay connected, wherever you are

Stay up to date on how your launch is progressing no matter where you are with Asana for mobile.

Stay connected, wherever you are

Ready, set, launch!

Asana helps product teams hit deadlines—so they can launch great products.

Ready, set, launch!

Map out priorities

Create tasks for each goal so everyone has visibility into company-wide objectives.

Map out priorities

Determine the right point person

Assign each goal to the appropriate person, so everyone knows who’s responsible, and who to go to with questions.

Determine the right point person

Make a plan to hit your goals

See how each milestone ladders up to your goals so you can feel confident you’ll hit your targets.

Make a plan to hit your goals

Share info and give updates

Keep stakeholders up to date on the latest info and progress, with updates and comments tied directly to your goals.

Share info and give updates

Attach important files

Integrate Asana with your file sharing tools to keep all your important docs in one place.

Attach important files

Keep an eye on important dates

Look at your initiative deadlines and milestones on a calendar to make sure you’ve nailed the timing.

Keep an eye on important dates

Track company progress

Understand what objectives are on track, and what needs your attention so you can hit your goals.

Track company progress

Stay in the loop

Get updates and weigh in on important decisions wherever you are, with Asana for mobile.

Stay in the loop

Hit your goals

Asana gives your team visibility into your organization’s goals, so everyone stays focused on what matters most.

Hit your goals

Get ready for the mission

Map out each step of your mission, so you don’t forget anything as you shoot for the stars.

Get ready for the mission

Know who’s in charge

Assign clear owners for each task, so your pilot, commander, and flight engineer know what they need to do.

Know who’s in charge

Map out each step

Create a launch plan so you can chart your course from start to finish, share it with your team, and modify it as conditions change.

Map out each step

Make sure all systems are a go

Ask important questions, have conversations, and give status updates to get your crew ready for launch day.

Make sure all systems are a go

Tie it all together

Connect Asana to the other tools you need for your mission, so all your information lives in the same place.

Tie it all together

Keep your eye on the prize

View each milestone on a calendar, so you can track important dates leading up to takeoff.

Keep your eye on the prize

Track your progress

See what’s on track, and what isn’t, so you can be sure you’re ready for launch day.

Track your progress

Work from anywhere

Keep up to date whether you’re in the office or on the moon, just make sure you have internet connection!

Work from anywhere

3, 2, 1… blastoff!

With Asana, your crew can shoot for the moon, and get there. All it takes is one small step…

3, 2, 1… blastoff!