Comment-only projects

Comment-only permissions for projects allow users to view or comment on projects without giving them access to edit them. This makes it easier to share the information in a project with anyone that needs it, while preventing any accidental or unnecessary changes. Capture feedback on projects and update stakeholders, while keeping the structure of your projects intact. Comment-only permissions are perfect for company wikis, templates, points of reference and processes that have been solidified and shouldn’t be changed.

Change a project to comment-only

You can access permission settings through the Share button on the project page.

Only project members who have editing permissions can modify a comment-only project. Those who are not project members may still have access to the project as a whole or to any of the individual tasks within it, but will only be able to access the project with comment-only permissions.

project member access settings

To change the permission settings of the project to comment-only:

  1. Navigate to the Share button beside the search bar in your project to open the project members & permission settings menu
  2. Choose which project member you want to restrict to comment-only and select can comment from the menu

From here you can choose to share the project with the team or make it private to project members, and restrict what these members can do within it.

Once you change this setting, your public project will be comment-only for people who are in your team, division, or organization, but not those who are project members. Making this change will not affect the project access settings for existing project members.

Change permission settings for individual project members

The project owner and project members with editing permissions can give other project members editing access by changing their individual permission settings to Can edit.

change member access settings

To change a project member's permission settings:

  • Click on the dropdown menu beside the name of the project member you are changing the settings for
  • Select Can edit to give them full project permissions, or Can comment to limit permissions to comment-only
  • The project owner can assign project ownership to another project member
  • Close the menu to save your changes

comment only view

Project members will see what permissions they have in the task view over the project name in a highlighted bar.

Individual user project permissions

Project members can be given individual permissions regardless of the project's default setting. On the project level, members with comment-only permissions or members who are assigned a task with comment-only permissions, can only post project messages and project status updates.

The table below outlines the capabilities of project members with editing permissions, those with comment-only access and those with comment-only access who have also been assigned a task in that project.

Can edit:Can comment:Can comment with task assigned:
Complete tasksComplete tasks
Change assigneeChange assignee
Change due dateChange due date
Modify task title and description
Add/remove tags
Add/modify subtasks
Add/modify task dependencies
Edit/view forms
Modify custom field valuesModify custom field values
Add/remove attachmentsAdd/remove attachmentsAdd/remove attachments
Comment on a taskComment on a taskComment on a task
Modify task collaboratorsModify task collaboratorsModify task collaborators
Like tasks or commentsLike tasks or commentsLike tasks or comments

If you have comment-only access and are assigned a task, subtasks of that task must also be assigned to you in order to be able to action them. In this case, you would have comment-only access to the subtasks.

Tasks associated with multiple projects

If a task is multi-homed, project members who have access to every project the task lives in will inherit the greatest permissions.

For example, anyone who has full editing access to a task in one project, will not lose that access if the task is multi-homed to another project in which they have comment-only access. This means you won't lose editing privileges on tasks if they are multi-homed into projects you have comment-only access to.

This also means that anyone with comment-only permissions in one project will gain the ability to edit a task that is multi-homed into another project in which they have Can edit permissions.

Maaf, kami tidak mendukung browser ini

Asana tidak berfungsi dengan browser internet yang saat ini dipakai. Daftar menggunakan salah satu browser yang didukung ini.