Task Basics

Tasks are the basic unit of action in Asana. You can follow tasks, assign them to yourself or others, add notes for context, or comment on them.

Task names are listed in the main pane and the task details (like due date, notes, and comments) load in the right pane.

Create Tasks

Create tasks quickly by typing them in a list in the main pane or by using our shortcut called Quick Add. You can also create tasks from any email address associated with your account or via your mobile device.

Task names are often the calls to action for the task, while more specific information resides in the task description, an editable field in the right pane, and discussion in the comments.

Type Tasks in a List

Think of Asana’s main pane as a text editor. Create and edit tasks by typing in the fields in the main pane.

To create a new task:

  • Select a line in the main pane
  • Press Enter on your keyboard
  • Begin typing the task name

Quick Add

Use Quick Add to easily create a task from anywhere in Asana.

To call up and use the Quick Add menu:

  • Click the + button in the top bar and select Task
  • Fill in all the task details and click Ok
  • If you forget to give the task an assignee or project, it will default as assigned to you so you can find it easily in your My Tasks list

Press TAB+Q on your keyboard to open up the quick add task dialog.

Task Actions

Take actions on a task by clicking the three dots in the right pane and selecting from the task action menu.

Do each of the following from this menu.

Copy Tasks

If you need a copy of an existing task, find the task action menu as mentioned above, and:

  • Select Make a Copy…
  • Select the components of the task you want to see in the copy
  • Click Create New Task

You can only duplicate one task at a time.

Merge Tasks

If a task closely resembles another, we’ll suggest that you merge them. If you believe a task has been created before and we don’t prompt you to merge, you can do it yourself:

  • Click the task action menu mentioned above
  • Select Merge Duplicate Tasks…
  • Type the name of the task you think it might be, or if you know the task, enter its URL
  • Click Merge Tasks

You will be navigated to the other task (its project will load in the main pane) and you’ll see an undo option at the top of the main pane.

The tags, followers, and hearts of the duplicate task will be added to the master task. The duplicate task will be marked complete and you will see the word “[Duplicate]” affixed to its name.

We will notify the following people about the merge via email (if they have email notifications turned on) or Inbox:

  • The followers of the duplicate task
  • The creator and assignee of the master task

Attachments from the duplicate task will not be added to the master task.

Convert Task to Project

If you’d like convert a task into its own project, use the following steps.

  • Click the task action menu and select Convert to a Project
  • In the next window, indicate the project’s name and what fields you would like to convert†
  • Click Convert

In Organizations, you also select what Team the project should be created in. By default, the project will be created in the same Team as the original task.

Your new project

After a task is converted into a project, many of its details will convert over to the new project:

Additionally, a link to the original task will be included in the project’s description.

Task attachments and task comments do not convert over and will remain in the original task.

The original task

A link to the new project will be included in the original task’s right pane.


After a task is converted into a project, the new project will inherit the original task’s permissions.

  • A public task will convert to a public project
  • A task that is private to you will convert into a project that is private to you

A task private to a group of Members will convert:

  • To a public project in a free Workspace, Team, or Organization
  • To a project private to a group of Members in a premium Workspace, Team, or Organization

Print Tasks

You have the option to print out a specific task and its details:

  • Task Name
  • Assignee
  • Due Date
  • Description
  • Comments
  • Subtask names

To print a task:

  • Click the three dot icon in the right pane
  • Select Print

Delete Tasks

If you create a task in error or decide it’s unnecessary, you can delete it:

  • Click into/select the desired task
  • Press Tab+Backspace on your keyboard
  • Or, select Delete Task from the down arrow menu at the top of the right pane
  • Or, drag the task onto the Deleted Tasks icon in the sidebar

Deleting a task deletes it completely - no one will have access to it.

Deleted Tasks View

Deleted Tasks view allows the person whom created or deleted the task or subtask to restore it. This is the equivalent of a trash can or recycle bin on your computer.

Only tasks deleted by one of the methods described in the Deleting Tasks section above will appear in Deleted Tasks view. If the task description or name was deleted, check that task’s activity feed.  

To view and restore deleted tasks or subtasks that you created or deleted:

  • Click Show Recents and more… in the sidebar, near your Favorites
  • Click Deleted Tasks

Tasks and subtasks that you deleted or created will load in the main pane.


To undelete a task:

  • Click Show Recents and more… in the sidebar, near your Favorites
  • Click Deleted Tasks
  • Tasks and subtasks that you deleted or created will load in the main pane
  • Click the trash can icon next to the left of the task name in the main pane. Or:
  • Select the task and click Undelete at the top of the right pane

Delete Permanently

To permanently delete a task:

  • Click Show Recents and more… in the sidebar, near your Favorites
  • Click Deleted Tasks
  • Tasks and subtasks that you deleted or created will load in the main pane
  • Click Delete Permanently at the top of the right pane

Deleted Tasks in Search Views

You can include or exclude deleted tasks from any Search View:

  • Click the down arrow in the Search box in the sidebar
  • Enter your desired search criteria
  • Click Search by Another Field
  • Select Deleted
  • A new option to filter by “Non-deleted tasks” or “Deleted tasks” will appear