Task actions

Tasks are the basic unit of action in Asana. You can; create new tasks, duplicate an existing task, merge two tasks together, print a task or delete a task.

Task names are listed in the main pane. Click any task to load its details load in the task details pane.

Create Tasks

Create tasks quickly by typing them in a list in the main pane or by using our shortcut called Quick Add. You can also create tasks by sending a message from any email address associated with your account or via your iOS and Android devices.

Task names are often the calls to action for the task, while more specific information resides in the task description, an editable field in the task details pane, and in the comments.

Type Tasks in a List

Think of Asana's main pane as a text editor. Create and edit tasks by typing text in the main pane.

To create a new task:

  1. Select any existing task in the main pane
  2. Press Enter on your keyboard
  3. Begin typing the task name

A task will automatically delete itself if you do not name the task. If you would like to keep an empty task, simply add a space in the title field.

Add Task from List View

To add a new task from List View:

Click the + Add new button near the top right of the main pane.

Use Quick Add

Use Quick Add to easily create a task from anywhere in Asana.

To create a task using the Quick Add button:

  1. Click the Quick Add button in the top bar
  2. Select Task
> Press `TAB+Q` on your keyboard to open up the quick add task dialog.

New Quick Add

From the Quick Add Task window, you can:

  1. Name the task
  2. Assign the task
  3. Associate the task to a project
  4. Add a task description
  5. Upload a file
  6. Set a due date
  7. Add collaborators to the task

Available custom fields will show in your Quick Add menu when you add the task to a project that uses them.

Task Permissions

Learn more about task permissions and how to adjust them in the Permissions section of the Guide.

If you forget to give the task an assignee or project, it will default as assigned to you so you can find it easily in your My Tasks list.

Task Actions

To take action on a task:

  1. Click the three dot icon in the task details pane and select from the task action menu

From here, you can:

  1. Enter full screen mode
  2. Add to projects
  3. Mark as Milestone
  4. Make dependent
  5. Add tags
  6. Duplicate task
  7. Create follow-up task
  8. Make task public
  9. Print
  10. Access advanced actions

Duplicate Tasks

To duplicate a task:

  • Click the three dot icon from the task details pane
  • Select Duplicate Task
  • Identify the components of the task you want to see in the duplicate
  • Select Create New Task

You can only duplicate one task at a time.

Merge duplicate tasks

If a task closely resembles another, you can merge the two in the task details pane.

To merge a duplicate task:

  1. Click the three dot icon from the task details pane and select Merge duplicate tasks
  2. Begin typing the task's name you wish to merge with or select one in the dropdown
  3. Locate the duplicate task and click

You will be navigated to the other task (its project will load in the main pane) and you'll see an undo option at the top of the main pane.

The tags, collaborators, and likes of the duplicate task will be added to the master task. The duplicate task will be marked complete and you will see the word [Duplicate] affixed to its name.

We will notify the following people about the merge via email (if they have email notifications turned on) or Inbox:  

  • The collaborators of the duplicate task
  • The creator and task assignee of the master task

Attachments from the duplicate task will not be added to the master task.

Copy the task URL to easily share it with your colleagues.

To copy a task link:

  1. Click the Copy task link icon at the top of the task details pane

Convert task to project

task to project

To convert a task into a project:

  • Click the three dot icon from the task details pane
  • Navigate to Convert to and from the drop-down menu choose Project
  • Enter the project's name
  • Select the team you would like to add the project to
  • Select Blank project or Use a template
  • Select Convert

In Organizations, you also select what team the project should be created in. By default, the project will be created in the same team as the original task.

Your new project

After a task is converted into a project, many of its details will convert over to the new project:

Original field:New field:
Task nameProject name
Task assigneeProject owner
Task CollaboratorsCollaboratorsRead moreProject members
Subtasksparent tasks

Additionally, a link to the original task will be included in the project description.

Task files and task comments do not convert over and will remain in the original task.

The original task

A link to the new project will be included in the original task's right pane.

Permissions

After a task is converted into a project, the new project will inherit the original task's permissions.

A task private to a group of Members will convert:

  • To a public project in a free Workspace, team, or Organization
  • To a project private to a group of Members in a premium Workspace, Team, or Organization

How to add a Task to a Project

add task step 1

To add a task to a project:

  • Click the three dot icon from the task details pane
  • Hover over Add to another project and click through
  • You now have the option to Add to a project
  • Select the project you would like to add the Task to

You can also use the shortcut Tab + P to add Task to another project

from task details

From task details:

  • Click the + from the task details pane under Projects
  • Hover over Add this task to another project and click through
  • A list of Project options will appear as before to choose from

Print a task

You have the option to print out a specific task and its details.

To print a single task:

  1. Click the three dot icon from the right pane
  2. Select Print

Learn how to print an entire list of tasks here..  

Full Screen Mode

Enter full screen mode if you'd like to focus on a single task or presenting in a meeting.

To enter full screen mode:

  1. Click the three dot icon from the right pane
  2. Select Full screen

Delete tasks

If you create a task in error or decide it's unnecessary, you can delete it.

There are two ways to delete a task:

  • From the main pane: click into the desired task and press Tab+Backspace on your keyboard
  • From the task details pane: click the three dot icon and select Delete task from the drop-down menu

delete task

To delete a task from the task details pane:

  1. Click the three dot icon from the task details pane
  2. Select Delete task

Deleted Items View

Deleted Items view allows the person whom created or deleted the task, subtask, or message to restore it. This is the equivalent of a trash can or recycle bin on your computer.

To view and restore deleted items that you created or deleted:

  1. Click Show more… in the sidebar under Favorites and select Deleted Items
  2. To restore a deleted task, click the trash can icon
  3. To delete a task permanently, click on the task and then click Delete Permanently in the tasks details pane

Items that you deleted or created will load in the main pane.

You'll also find deleted messages in the Deleted Items view.

Deleted Items in Search Views

You can include or exclude deleted items from any Search View.

To search for delete items, start by creating a Search View, then:

  1. Click + Add Filter
  2. Select More > Deleted...

Sorry, we don't support this browser

Asana doesn't work with the internet browser you are currently using. Please sign up using one of these supported browsers instead.

Choose your language

Selecting a language changes the language and/or content on asana.com