Goals privacy FAQs

Who can see a private Goal?

Only the Goal owner and Collaborators can see a private Goal.

Who can edit a private Goal?

There is currently no access control for Goals, so any user who can see a Goal (public or private) may edit it.

If I am not an owner or Collaborator on a public Goal, and I make it private, will I lose access?

In this case, you will be added as a Collaborator when you make the Goal private. If you remove yourself as a Collaborator, you will lose access to the Goal and need to be re-added by the owner or a Collaborator to regain access.

How do I remove myself from a private Goal?

To remove yourself, first remove yourself from the owner field (if applicable). Then, remove yourself as a Collaborator.

Once removed from a private Goal, you will need to ask the owner or a Collaborator to re-add you.

How do I regain access to a private Goal?

Ask the owner or a Collaborator to re-add you.

How does a private Goal appear to a user who cannot access it?

If you do not have access to the Goal, you will not be able to see it in Goals. It will not appear on the list view, on the Goal details page (as either a sub-goal or a parent Goal), or on the progress page of a Project or Portfolio.

It will not be counted toward the sub-goal count of a parent Goal. You will not be able to find it in search. If a link appears in a Task or Comment, you will only see “Private link” as the name of the link. If you paste in the URL, you will see an “Access Denied” screen.

Sorry, we don't support this browser

Asana doesn't work with the internet browser you are currently using. Please sign up using one of these supported browsers instead.

Choose your language

Selecting a language changes the language and/or content on asana.com